Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sanctuary Cap Cana - All Inclusive by Playa Hotels & Resorts 5 stars

Playa Juanillo, Cap Cana, 21100 Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

#16 of 97 hotels in Punta Cana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 265 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Paid WiFi

    5.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Jr Suite Ocean Front
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This property could use a couple events for night life. The day events are great, but perhaps some more events after 8pm. Wi-Fi was offered in the lobby at no charge, if you wanted Wi-Fi outside of these two areas you would have to pay a fee.

    The staff was excellent, very welcoming and accommodating. The food was great, and the beach was amazing. This property offers both kayaking and stand up paddle boarding at the neighboring beach. It was pretty cool. This property is about 20 minutes from the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The property is gorgeous! It was a great place to relax because there was fun entertainment but not a rowdy, party atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived a day early due to flight issues and the staff were nothing but kind to us! Not only did we have beautiful weather, but we had amazing seats by the pool and beach everyday, an endless supply of drinks, food, and fun! The most surprising thing to me was the fact that the hotel was at 98% capacity when we went, and you could not feel it. Nothing felt overcrowded EVER. The resort is not the biggest place in the world, so it was more surprising that we could always find seats by the water or be seated immediately at restaraunts for meals. Also, the staff are the kindest, sweetest, funniest people you could meet. Took care of every possible need! And for the most part, food was pretty good. The buffet surprisingly had some of the best food on the trip, which I feel like isn’t common. Highly reccomend for a romantic getaway that makes you feel like your investment into an all inclusive worth it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle Jr Suite Ocean Front
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occupancy is always nearly 100% which challenges them to always get the right room. They went above and beyond to make things right and made us very happy.

    The whole Staff was totally outstanding! Very friendly and eager to please. Hard to choose favorites but Connan, Nancy, Nicole and Edgar certainly earned our appreciation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Swim out Junior Suite - Adults Only
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food. Staff was either great or cold. They allowed guests to hold chairs all day and ran out. NOT COOL. Loud music at afternoon party

    GORGEOUS property. Room was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's all-inclusive so receiving a "bill" at end of every meal to encourage tipping was annoying. Gym should have cable crossover. Every two chairs at beach/pool should have an umbrella. Period. At this level, we should not need to get up early to snag some shade.

    View, room, food, staff, activities.. did I mention the view? Times 1,000 lol. Aside from a couple negatives, everything was perfect.. including weather and company :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Swim out Junior Suite - Adults Only
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plumbing issues with bathroom persisted the whole trip and were never resolved or compensated for.

    The friendliness of the staff was apparent. Not so much with the management team!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot water, housekeeping, and property spruce up - missing tiles in tub, leaking doors, ripped lounge chairs.

    The staff was VERY friendly - Roby, Gilbert, Emilio stand out. They said they were at 95% capacity but it didn't ever feel crowded. The service was generally excellent. We had a beautiful suite on the ocean. That said, for an all inclusive, certain members of the staff (Bellperson) certainly waited for cash tips. Also, we had NO HOT WATER despite 3/4 calls to maintenance so the beautiful in-suite bathtubs went unused. Also, housekeeping did not arrive without having to call and it was after 4 PM. We even had turn down service where they left the dirty room service plates etc. The food and selection was very good. Our weather was not fabulous so I can't comment on that but they staff made it enjoyable. The spa services and the spa facility was GREAT. The whole place can use a spruce up - stains on carpets and rips in lounge chairs but overall it was a satisfying vacation. Room service goes all day but they need to change the menu. At 2:30 am I want nachos and pizza or a burger, not tuna steak etc., but again, first world problems.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Because it was at an all-inclusive, I didn't expect the food to be great and it wasn't. However, it was good enough for the price. "Don't disturb" signs were not available to hang outside your room. A/C is not automatically kept on in the rooms which can cause a mold problem with the high humidity there.

    Of all the restaurants, I liked the Blue Marlin for lunch and dinner. The Steak House was also good. I also enjoyed having a pool other than the large pool with the bar. It was quiet and uncrowded. I loved the availability of espresso machines in several places. I enjoyed all the staff with a special thanks to Rubi for entertaining us, Edward E at the front desk for providing a lovely room and Jean Carlos for making wonderful omelets with a smile.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't like having to sign the meal tabs and possibly expecting additional tips, since they were included.

    The accomodations and the all inclusiveness of the resort were wonderful. There were several different venues that you could eat at all day long and the evening. The staff couldn't be more friendly. Your room was attended to twice a day. The beach was sandy, there were three pools and no children allowed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communicating with the hotel was very difficult. I was charged a large security deposit, which was supposed to be on hold. After calling various numbers, I was able to get a hold of someone who worked for the hotel, but could not explain why I was charged nor was able to confirm whether I would be refunded. Very painful and frustrating to have to deal with. I will refrain from staying at this hotel again due to their poor after-sales customer service.

    Beautiful hotel, great entertainment, polite staff and great food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Junior Suite All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food was mediocre, sometimes good and sometimes not.

    Beautiful, serene surroundings. Lunch at Casa Bella. Entertainment of some sort nightly. A quiet, sophisticated clientele, no bad drunken behavior noted. A wonderful new years eve celebration which is included in the all inclusive rate

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monarch Villa - Adults Only
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at the resort were all super friendly and helpful. They were all happy and had a great attitude. The food in the restaurants was very good. My favorite meals were the fried fish and tostones and ceviche at the Blue Marlin restaurant. The Blue Marlin also prepared a special new years eve dinner with a wonderful raw bar and other great options. Capriccio and the Steakhouse also provided a wonderful meal and setting. We had such a lovely time at this resort. The beach also has beds and cabanas so make sure you set those up for a little bit more luxury at the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked and paid through Booking.com for a junior suite ocean view and only received a room with a partial view of the ocean.

    Breakfast buffet was great! Loved that never so crowded at the pool and beach so that you always get a chair, umbrella etc. staff are amazing and accommodating!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beach was small, so you couldn't go for a long walk. The WIFI was terrible! Both, free and payed option. I was very disappointed with this... you hope that a 5 star hotel would have good internet access in all rooms... but it did not.

    Food was amazing. They have a great chef and lovely staff. They are very friendly and they will help you to have an amazing holiday with them. The room was also very nice and confortable. The Bathroom was big and had plenty of space for everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monarch Villa - Adults Only
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Sea water on the beach is awful not clear like it is expected to be on Caribbean and always full of sand and dirty. I got inflammation of both eyes. The resort is not "for adults only" but for alcoholic. Due to free of charge cocktails with alcohol in bars a lot of guests were standing around bars ( especially at swimming pool) drinking a lot and being obviously more or less drunk. I am not against normal use of alcoholic drinks but do not like to watch all day obviously drunk people and to think if my wife is safe when meets such people. Service in restaurants slow and not always qualified enough.

    Royal Vila was comfortable and food not so bad but nothing special.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food and wine/champagne were not the highest quality, and they were out of a few things we tried to order from the menu, but for the price with an all inclusive place it was still pretty great.

    Several members of the staff were very kind and welcoming, and the beach was wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool area was full of middle aged americans trying to relive their youths by recreating spring break. Which is fine, but when you're on honeymoon you'd rather not witness foam parties and thumping daddy yankee music. Distinct lack of class and taste we had expected from a "honeymoon" destination. The service staff were good enough and they tried but clearly hadn't been trained in high level service. The little things that excellent service is about was consistently missed. To me, it was all five star prices at four star quality.

    The room was very well cleaned every day and the room was sizeable with a walk in wardrobe and his & hers sinks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food was hit or miss, and the staff was very direct about wanting tips after each meal as the policy is to provide you with a "bill" for you to sign and provide gratuity (very off putting). The property was easy to navigate the people were nice. But the food and cocktails were sub-par and doesn't give you a true island experience. But, overall for the price on booking.com it was worth the flight.

    Spacious rooms and bath, the walkout balcony is nice. All the rooms come with a view of the ocean, so paying for a room view was not necessary and many guests complained because very few of rooms with an ocean view upgrade had an unobstructed view, so save the coins. The staff were nice, but service was very slow at the beach. Getting consistent service beach side wasn't an option. Beach was quiet and the hammocks were relaxing, the seaweed is kind of heavy, but they sweep it up early in the morning. They offered morning yoga overlooking the ocean - amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would say if I had to nitpick and pick anything that wasn't perfect the bed was a little hard and the food was just average in most places however it was fine for lunch and breakfast but the dinner fell little short

    The resort as a whole was perfect. It was very beautiful and very clean and the staff was very very friendly. We are a chill at the beach/pool couple so it fit our needs. The main pool was a blast, but if you wanted to be secluded there were several pools to accommodate this.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No hobie cats, paddle boards, kayaks directly available. The Japanese hibachi table was horrible. I wish there was more of a town nearby to explore.

    Staff was great. Beach and loungers very nice. Grounds very pretty. Food was good, but not excellent. We did love the lunch buffet. Golf at Punta Espalda was extraordinary.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monarch Villa Ocean Front All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The souvenir peddlers that set up in the resort on Tuesday and Friday left a bad impression. The pushy and aggressive sales tactics are something we expect when outside of the resort not on the grounds and especially not along the primary pathway from our villa. We would of preferred a bit more variety with the restaurant choices and menus.

    The ocean front villa we had was larger than we were expecting and had an amazing view of the ocean. The staff were always wonderful and in particular Sandro and Mikal (Love Bar). The resort grounds are beautiful and all things considered was a wonderful place to relax and simply enjoy the beach and the many pools.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Swim out Junior Suite - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only complaint I can even think of would be the food. I think overall it's better than what we have had in the Dominican but it wasn't great. Some restaurants like Fusion were excellent, others were just okay. Also, I minor negative would be the water activities at the main pool. The music was a little too loud and just a little obnoxious. We had a room with a plunge pool, so we stayed there most of the time.

    The property is located very close to the airport - which is unusual for Punta Cana. The resort looks like a castle and every turn you make, you discover something beautiful! The staff is amazing, the water is gorgeous! I can't say enough good things about this hotel! We will be going back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was by far the worse condition room I have stayed in over the past few years. The floor was all scraped up and very damaged. The lock to the patio didn't work. The safe didn't work. The shower didn't drain…..need I say more? I also didn't appreciate the fact the property is trying to charge me twice (at two different rates) for the night of our stay. Stay at Princess Bavaro. A much better choice for the money!!

    The lunch and dinner we had on the resort was very nice and the service was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thatched beds were removed and are now beds with cloth on all sides which doesn't provide shade. There are not enough ways to be on the beach and out of the sun Food except for the blue marlin is just fair

    Beautiful place Great staff Very clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This was our second stay at Sanctuary and very disappointing compared to our first visit. Maid Service - daily had to call for towel replacements Room - limited electrical outlets - one in the bathroom, which was not operational- reported multiple times and was never addressed Staff - staff at morning buffet - tables not cleared/cleaned, coffee/juice not served, breakfast buffet was the same everyday Pool bar - if you're over the age of 30 you don't get much attention - we often had to go to a different bar in order to get service

    Good dining options that don't require reservations to most, however, the Wok requires reservations and is not open every night. Another restaurant in the Sanctuary town is included in the all inclusive rate for first seating ONLY, after that you will be charged Quite surroundings

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We upgraded our room at a significant extra cost because on arrival the room we had booked was not as described. Consequently, we were hard sold an upgrade! In our upgraded room the shower didn't work. Together with this and the shower door which did not open and close properly this was not a good start to our holiday. The staff were not trained or attentive to assist guests finding sun beds and providing adequate parasols either on the beach or around the pool areas and were left struggling to set up parasols if they were lucky enough to find one. Guests were advised not to leave the resort because it was unsafe. The food in the restaurants was very hit and miss. Overall the standard was poor.

    Beach location. The resort itself was large and beautifully landscaped with a number of pool ares. Some but not all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Mostly, the evening entertainment was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Inclusive should mean everything! Lobster & top shelf was extra and tips were expected on the bill handed to you at every meal. Food was not that great in fact I've been having issues for almost a week now. Vendors were very aggressive and most people go on vacation to rest and relax not always be doing something I guess we could have went to the castle for peaceful atmosphere so that's ok.

    I loved the hotel except our balcony and other parts of the hotel leaked when it rained & the "pub" supposed to be a "disco" was old and run down & dated and you had to walk to it from the first set of entertainment area should have been closer to hotel or at least renovated to make it worth while to go to.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the food for breakfast and lunch was excellent. The evening fare was just average although the restaurants were beautiful.

    The staff was excellent. Service was excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monarch Villa - Adults Only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a mess. I paid for a villa and the room was infested with insects. The staff did little to fix the problem. The in room safe kept breaking. The food was also sub par and made both me and my travel partner sick.

    The staff works extremely hard to try and make your stay enjoyable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy definitely not a 5 star resort. Things needed to be repaired, mold and mildew everywhere and all you smelled was a musty smell. Definitely would not recommend this property to anyone with allergies and respiratory issues. The restaurant staff was not friendly at all and acted like they did not want to be there. This property needs a major renovation never seen so many rat traps in a property before.

    We only stayed for 1 day and then we changed hotels.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with private pool - Adults Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasnt working shower broke,water turned off all of a sudden, bathtub was cloged. The mirror was dirty, the toilet was dirty, the phone was falling off the wall the piece's from the tub was, falling in our bath water, the outside pool was freezing cold

    The property was beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite Beach Front All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are wine drinkers. Altho we understood some finer wines would not be included in the all inclusive, it NEVER occurred to us there would not be a mediocre Chardonnay, merlot, Cabernet, Pinot Grigio or Pinot noir, etc. lots of beer and liquor choices. It if you enjoy wine, you have to pay ALOT of extra money plus 28%tax to your already very expensive room. The beach is very short, it is not a walking beach and tons of seaweed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Swim out Junior Suite - Adults Only
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't realize my husband needed long pants for 2 of the restaurants so we couldn't go to those. That critical info wasn't obvious when we booked. Castle rooms are nice but smell like mildew due to waterfall. When checking in they upgraded us to an ocean view room instead of a swim out room, telling us that the swim out room had no view and the water was too cold to swim in. I was disappointed about this because I really wanted to swim out from the room. The upgraded room came with a "butler" who we saw once during our stay. Apparently that's pretty normal as other folks mentioned the same issue and we all joked about it.

    Loved the Ocean Bar in the Castle and especially Carlos the bartender. Fusion restaurant in Sanctuary Town was amazing - a must not miss. Get a reservation there early because it books for the week early! We loved hanging out at the main pool even though we were at the castle because that's where all the action is. Peaceful enough to chill out while being able to socialize and swim up to the bar when we wanted. But....snag a lounge chair there early because folk claim the best chairs when the sun comes up!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No free Wi-Fi in the room. For the price you would think the $12.00 a day would be included. Not much to do outside the property. Nothing is close. There is a beautiful but small beach...you cannot walk for miles. Maybe 1 block. The rooms thought comfortable are not a good ocean view as described...our room was ocean view with a slight view of the ocean over some roof tops :-(. Get at least 3rd floor.

    The property is amazing. They schedule many activities. You can relax or partake in any all activities. The rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monarch Villa - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Butler could have been more visible, food was average, on duty nurse was worthless

    Staff was generally friendly, facility was beautiful and setting was very nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Multiple issues 1) service was disaster - everything takes forever 2) quality of food was horrible - worse than McDonalds 3) guest is never right - there was flooding because of the pipes and ruined an expensive suitcase (a few $ks); no compensation 4) amenities not well maintained - pool is a disaster, they sealed the door towards the adjacent room with screws instead of locking it etc. 5) alcohol is the cheepeat available - spent all of my time outside of the hotel. And I can go on and on 6) the stuffed lied to us and put us in a horrible room

    The architecture was good. Quite small place which makes it very cozy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Swim out Junior Suite - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the smoking allowed outside. Maybe have a designated smoking area. During entertainment, person was smoking near me and made it unenjoyable. Also didn't like how wifi wasn't free in rooms. If you're going to make it free, have it extend out of lobby area to areas just outside lobby. Have a better assortment of non alcoholic drinks for those that don't drink.

    Loved the staff...Nicole, Rebecca, Enmanuel, Kevin, Carlos, and so many others. I loved the pool food shack and chef was great. Food was very good and sweet breads were yummy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was average. All inclusive was not true - certain food items and wines, and even certain restaurants on the property, were not included in our expensive "all inclusive" fee. Noisy repairs in the adjacent room for our entire stay

    Friendly staff and nice location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Junior Suite All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a couple of times that we came back after hours at the beach to find that our room had not been cleaned. On another occasion, it was cleaned but there were no towels.

    Sanctuary Cap Cana is an absolutely beautiful property! When we were there, it was uncrowded, quiet, and totally relaxing. It was exactly what we had hoped for.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with private pool - Adults Only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    This was a perfect honeymoon experience at the Sanctuary. We stayed at TheCastle in the honeymoon suites and the experience awesome. Perfect attention from all the staf.. the building was great. Recommended to any couple, you can enjoy the relax of the wind, beach and mamajuana. Great entertainment with babyface, blackangel and the cheef Stanley.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with private pool - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great, facilities were awesome, drinks plentiful and food was 9 outta 10, weather perfect, beaches beautiful albeit with an over abundance of seaweed/sargassum.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Junior Suite All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the service was horrible, food was horrible, our room smelled like sewage and despite multiple complaints they were completely unconcerned. we asked them to come smelled it for themselves. they finally (after we had complained that I was literally dry heaving due to the disgusting odor in the room, and had been telling them this for four very long days) moved us to another room when we had about 15 hours of vacation left. there were no apologies, no attempts at amends. we should have received our money back, it was disgusting. My husband and I can travel all the time-- I have already been out of the country twice this year and it's only been one month in 2017 so far, but I am writing this review to help others, who may not have so many travel opportunities, so they can avoid this horrible vacation spot. The staff when asked to do something-- like set up a pool chair, make a reservation, get a drink for you, are extremely unhelpful. I would go to iberostar grand bavaro or paradisus if you want to go to the DR. By the way, as it was a holiday week, our disgusting room was about 800 dollars a night. The only good thing was the new years party which they did a nice job with and had clearly put some effort into.

    the air conditioning worked and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a nightclub next door to one side of the property, which happened to be right outside our room. Stayed pretty loud, pretty late on the weekends, though I will say that the room patio doors and shades did as good of a job as you could expect of keeping the noise out. The club is probably only annoying for a handful of the rooms in the castle, so if you're worried about it you may want to ask.

    The friendliest and most helpful staff of any all-inclusive we've ever stayed at! Fantastic place to just kick back and relax. Food was good, drinks were great, room was great, property was beautiful, beach was kept up nicely, and we loved that you really never had to fight to find beach chairs, umbrellas, or that sort of thing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the wifi would be free in the rooms, you can buy it. The free wifi was available in a lobby.

    Stuff of the resort was very nice, helpful and ready to please us. A lot of food options, 4 restaurants (always 3 of them open on rotating bases) Planty of food and drinks.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent food! Never felt crowded! Always great service! I LOVE the Dominican People! Spa - excellent! Fitness room - excellent! Pools - excellent! This was the best resort we have ever stayed at! Was not able to snorkel in this location but could have taken an excursion. Beautiful sandy white beach with turquoise water but no coral.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monarch Villa Ocean Front All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed at villa, even though room was great didnt receive any VIP treatment, no butler service or anything that was promised upon booking.

    Staff at the restaurant was awesome.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite Beach Front All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Litter on beach. It was an all-inclusive but a tip was asked for at the end of every meal. The resort had a superficial clean, but a lot of stuff needed fixing. Strong incents burning in lobby which were a little over powering.

    Romantic feel throughout the resort. The staff are all hard workers.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Swim out Junior Suite - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service trays of hall left on table Outside our room daily. Refused entrance to Italian restaurant due to sandals not being closed toe, though wore the same to steak restaurant previous night. Swim out room is a very long wall with stairs and elevator just to exit the building.manager totally u responsive to issues. Butler got days off on our third day. Never saw him or replacement again. Room service very slow, cold and bad food. Steak at steak restaurant " the most popular" was worse than one I've had at Waffle House. Very very thin and fatty. Food was a joke in general. All drinks very waters down. I know I coils t have had 3 real Long Island iced teas and not felt a thing. This happened every day at every restaurant. Not sure how this hotel has a five star rating except for packaging, buildings and landscape. Would never recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No way to rent a self drive 50HP dinghy to see the corals 50miles away (this was easy, for instance, in Sardinia). No knowledge by the hotel travel agency that the ferry to Samana (a neigbouring touristic city) did not exist anymore No good non-sea food , non-chinese, non-italian restaurant for dinner (some of the lunch places were excellent) No way to walk along the beach to the nearby harbour (with its shops, restaurants, etc..).

    Large well kept garden , with may be one mile of beach. Nice pools. Many building styles, with some common touch, all looking exotic. Free drink, party atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Castle Swim out Junior Suite - Adults Only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing at all wrong with the property

    The property was clean with friendly helpful staff. The food was great. There were plenty of fun activities

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sanctuary Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative really was other guests hoarding blue floating mattresses.l and not using them. There's a better system for this they should be using.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with private pool - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not good. Pacific Wok had better food with reservation but experience shifted when they asked us to get up and move to another table while we waited on dessert because they had another party coming in soon? Staff kind but nobody going out of their way. Usually we will meet a bar tender or someone else on staff that we love going back to visit and this didn't happen on this trip. We have a time share with exotic travelers on their properties and are used to that level of treatment, food and service. I think sometimes people assume all inclusive means food will not be great and it shouldn't have to mean that.

    Location was beautiful, room beautiful, pools and drinks wonderful. The view was to die for from the honeymoon suite. Honestly if their food was made better and service had more attention, we would absolutely be coming back.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff was so friendly and amazing. The food is excellent. The Main chef tried to accommodate my allergies and made this experience a forgettable one.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Junior Suite All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i booked my caslte junior suite there was no option to choose if i want with beach view when i arrived at the hotel I discovered that i need to pay extra money to have it with beach view

    The resort was very nice place to spend the honeymoon on

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Junior Suite All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks could use a little improvement- lots of sugary slushy drinks poured from a machine. You can, however, get top shelf liquor at no additional charge, but you have to be sure to ask for it. Basically, the beverages are what you'd expect from an all-inclusive, but everything else about the resort really surpassed our expectations.

    Customer service was a top priority at Sanctuary Cap Cana and the staff really delivered! The staff truly wants you to have a great experience and they will do all they can to make sure you do, so speak up if you are not satisfied with something! The grounds were immaculate, the views were gorgeous, and the layout and style of the resort itself was just incredible! The resort had many bars, including a swim up bar, several high quality restaurants, multiple pools, live entertainment every night, no crowds, great vacation vibes, all-inclusive everything, soft white sand beach and clear-water ocean, ~10min taxi ride from airport, and the resort is situated next to a large nature park that offers tons of activities.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monarch Villa - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping can most certainly improve. It wasn't the most clean room I've stayed in, thus there's room for improvement.

    Breakfast was buffet style which included a variety of foods to choose from. The food is excellent. There are 5 restaurants to choose from and there is no long lines or ling wait for food.The bed was a king size bed which was extra comfy. Staff especially my Butler Miguel made my stay above and beyond. The hotel itself is small and sanctuary like. The grounds are meticulously groomed and beautiful. Everybody was so helpful and kind don't look any further this hotel will meet your every need. The crowd is anywhere from young to mature nice ambience at night with something special to do. It's not the party type resort but it offers a little of every thing. I am definitely returning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food selection was bad. They were cheap on the booze as well. Breakfast was awful. If your expecting great food and great drinks, stay somewhere else.

    Nice layout. Nice rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough pool umbrellas. We took a bike tour and half of the bikes were falling apart...its a first class resort..spend a couple hundred dollars a year on new bikes!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monarch Villa - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could have been better.

    The staff was fantastic. The facilities were really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Junior Suite All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food quality was just ok

    The staff and the amenities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite Beach Front All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful layout with nicely designed structures. Food was excellent. Staff was incredible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in the room was $12. Room wifi should be complementary.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle Jr Suite Ocean Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym can be a bit larger with more opti

    Simply one of the best hotels from top to bottom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Castle Jr Suite Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the above

    meals can be better bedding can be drier.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were amazing and the staff were always vibrant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some food choices were not good

    Staff was exceptional

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all restaurants were open

    Everything from the staff to the food to the properties , pools, bar and beach was phenomenal ! Would love to go again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my second stay at Sanctuary and we loved it AGAIN.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Monarch Villa - Adults Only
    • Stayed 8 nights

    didn't like the sellers that were allowed by the pool, very pushy!!!

    we stayed in the villa section which was amazing!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Monarch Villa - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the food was not very good

    my room was awesome!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with private pool - Adults Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Ocean View All Inclusive - Adults Only
    • Stayed 3 nights

    vendors on the resort one day were terrible about bugging you to buy their stuff

    we stayed in the Castle and loved the room

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: