Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of VIK hotel Arena Blanca 4 stars

White Sand, Carretera Arena Gorda, Bavaro, 23301 Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

Review score

Based on 210 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    The food was really good, the beverages excellent and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac it wasn’t working at the begging but late on they fixed. And also I requested 2 bed and they gave me a king bed.

    The food was really good, the beverages excellent and the shows amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    If you can pay a little more, do it for another place, but ir you don't, just go
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant called internacional, the seafood Was terrible, don't try it for your own safe. The construction vs others hotel it's cheap

    The beach ando the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    Go someplace else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi in the hotel, just in the reception area. Unfriendly staff in the restaurants Long pants mandatory for restaurants... it's a Caribbean (very hot) No AC in common areas People is trying to sell you stuff the entire day inside the hotel Beach towels are smely

    Pool, beach ando facilities are ok Food and drinks are ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    5.8
    Not bad for the money, I enjoyed my stay. If you're picky, pay more for a nicer resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Dated rooms Had a broken shower head in our room Bottom of pool is dirty Annoying venders near pool/on beach (Just give them a strict NO GRACIAS! and they'll leave you alone the rest of the trip)

    Close to beach Landscaping looks nice Entertaining performances each night Breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.1
    overall I enjoyed my stay, however the resort and some staffers were lacking.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems as if one of the workers in guest services didn’t care. My room was sprayed while I was out the room. When I came back, the stuff (blankets, sheets) was just thrown on the bed. The bed wasn’t made up. When room service came to make up the room, they were not friendly at all. Slammed the door / closed it hard when leaving

    I enjoyed the variety of food in the buffet. I loved getting up and going out on the beach first thing in the morning. The rooms were clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    2.9
    Will never recommend this resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 17 nights

    Beach polluted//food quality low...and Hygien rules not respected...Been sick from food poisionning/beach Activities over-priced/no Internet in room..only at reception with very low bandwith/Noodles under cooked/ mattresswith bedbugs.../Staff not speaking english pool not cleaned..

    Almost nothing!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.0
    need to let people know that men are required long pants at two of the restaurants. If not have thf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    some of the food at the buffet was not the greatest. Same flavor and smell. Mixed drinks were horrible!

    No pressure for tips. don't have to carry extra money around. All inclusive!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Place good for people who come to Domonicana to stay at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place good for people who come to Domonicana to stay at the beach or pool and eat. This is rather US style resort - do not chose if you wonna see Dominican Republic as it will be difficult from here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    Some good some bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the staff who asking you many times to sell the excursion and the soda with lot of sugar horrible the wi fi was poorest working only at reception

    I like the beach close and beautiful and the pizza grill started from 11h00am to 18h00 pm and some people of the staff and the garden

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.8
    Not room service, toialets and shower poor condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good Shower, not room service, lunch very poor at the Mexican restaurant , drinks not good quality and not music

    Not room service, toialets and shower poor condition

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    6.7
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very tired, food was mediocre, excursion staff were pushy

    Beach was nice, staff was friendly, pool was very nice. For the low price it was fine

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    2.5
    Do not go here !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was awful.... The food was an inedible and it was full of dirty pushy French people who acted like a band of wild animals.

    Nothing except for the oceanfront view which we had to pay under the table because of a bate & switch when we got there with our room booking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Everything was just great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was the lack of wi-fi.

    Everything was just great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Front Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check In was terrible. They try to charge me double. Room was not clean. Air Condition was not working.

    Nothing. The worst experience in my life!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Super clean and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only WiFi at lobby, and it was terrible, especially at night.

    Super clean and great location!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Ocean View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Russian music. Staff, who believe only in $$$

    Nice ocean view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.3
    Okay, but not amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds and Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and drinks. The all inclusive bar was horrible with really bad cocktails

    The Beach and pool, and the rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    5.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personell inside the hotel offering products and asking for tips all the time. This was very boring and unpleasant. Weak drinks and beer, no option for buying. Lack of attractions in the resort. Less variety of food and desserts. No internet connection in the room, only at the lobby and it was veeery slow!!!

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    5.8
    Room and facilities are pretty clean, despite needs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cost Benefit for the money we spent is way overestimated. We moved to another resort which was so much better for +20 USD/day. Very limited options of drinks and average quality of food. So many people offering tours and trying to sell all kinds of stuff. They also try to keep you for 1h in a room to offer a ridiculous "vip program". Last but not least, the average age of people staying at hotel was somewhere between 50 and 60 years old.

    Room and facilities are pretty clean, despite needs refurbushing. The breakfast at main restaurant is good. Dinner and service at Bucanero Restaurant was very good.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    7.9
    Quiet room even though close to theater, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    1st night overbooked (but took care of us), not enough fruits and light fare at buffet, hot shower took time in the morning

    Quiet room even though close to theater, friendly staff, nice size pools and beach

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    8.8
    Food, gardens, restaurant staff were excellent, good beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many sales reps at the territory, especially by swimming pool. Wifi was VERY poor and only at reception and not working 70% of time. Mosquitoes! - make sure you bring repellent. But overall it didn't affect satisfaction from our holiday.

    Food, gardens, restaurant staff were excellent, good beach with lots of chairs. Free watersports - windsurfing, catamaran, kayaks. Rooms were always clean. We especially enjoyed fresh juices and smoothies. Excellent coffee at lobby, which we enjoyed in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    9.6
    - location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - sometimes it was hard to connect to WiFi. Once you connected, it worked fine and was pretty fast though - people trying to sell excursions and bugging us on our way to the beach/pool all the time - really annoying

    - location - great variety of tasty food - there was plenty to choose from and everything I tried was good - friendly staff - WiFi only available in the hotel lobby - for most people this would be a disadvantage but I actually liked it because people were relaxing and enjoying their stay instead of looking at their smartphones everywhere around the area

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    2.9
    Location was ok but considering all negative aspects, it did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a nightmare, would never recommend anybody to stay there. Our vacation was ruined because of: Toilet did not work for first 24h, got an undervalued room (not as ordered, promised to change it twice but didn't), it was a construction site, booked people in while paint was still drying (noisy drillings, dust everywhere etc.) tv didn't work, room smelled bad, bathroom was dirty. Unprofessional staff in main desk (long waiting lines, sexist behaviour, made fun of colored people, no punctuality etc.). Food was not bad but gave us diarrhea for 2 days. Had to wait for laundry for 2 days and some clothes were destroyed. No internet access in room, only occasionally very poor in the lobby. People smoked literally everywhere. List continues. Guys, do not go there, you will regret!

    Location was ok but considering all negative aspects, it did not give any extra value

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    4.6
    Like food, location, beach staff, wheather
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Gays from Cayene beach club ( Tony) who offer "cheap"activities for expensive money. Nothing to do if raining. Repearing work noice all days till midnight.

    Like food, location, beach staff, wheather

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    9.6
    The employees are very courteous and it was from the top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet was slow at best. Only place with air conditioning was the room.

    The employees are very courteous and it was from the top down. They are incredibly attentive to your needs.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    2.9
    Food and the creative kitchen team.
    • Couple

    We booked this hotel for 5 nights. Upon our arrival we have waited for a room for 2 hours in the lobby, we used the time using the wifi internet which was very slow . The room and bathroom looked nice and clean. Food was averige, nothing spetial but no extra complaints. First morning at 8,00h the cleaning lady waked us up knocking on the door that the lamps in the bathroom needs to be changed, and has brought the maintenance housekeeper with her. So sitting in the bed, confused with maintenence team in the room the first morning. Durring the 2nd day we noticed that 1/2 of the hotel is completely renovating, near our part and near the swimming pool, so we had to listen durring our stay all the construction works, while laying and relaxing near the swimming pool. 2nd morning the cleaning lady, knocked again on our door, x15 times very loudly, till she didn't woke us up and my husband opened the door and answeared directly we do not want any cleaning at 8,00h. After that we continously held the lable on the door, DO NOT DISTURB PLEASE. 3 day the cleaning lady, pushed a peace of the paper under the door, where she informed us, that fumigation of furniture in the room with chemicals will be done tomorrow morning at 9,00h so we need to leave our room. We went to reception and askedor to change the room or to leave us to sleep another 2 days, and they can do the fumigation when we leave. We just wanted to relax for 6 days and sleep without alarm clock in the morning waking us up. Durring all our stay also our depadance had works in it. Such as painting of the walls works, so we had to jump over the papers and buckets of paintings when we were going out and in our room. 4 day in the morning, when leaving for a breakfast, my husband was loocking the door, and I leaned on the fence immdiately behind me, our door.

    Food and the creative kitchen team.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    8.3
    The food variety and restaurants' quality is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's wi-fi access only at the lobby and it becomes saturated so it doesn't work many times.

    The food variety and restaurants' quality is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.2
    All Good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All Good . Was traveling with my girl friend . Food ok . but can be more seafood . not only on friday . (i mean lobsters ,shrimps.) And but most of it its good for enjoy vacation. Kirill

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.3
    Very nice place, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Few vegetarian choices in a la carte restaurants. Some problems with the availability of some all inclusive services. E. g. Tennis, catamaran

    Very nice place, good food.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    5.0
    The entertainment was not the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the staff were not that respectful. One of them called "blondei" came to talk to my mom and I about political affairs about Haiti and DR. It was just too uncomfortable.

    The entertainment was not the best. Not that fun.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    2.9
    Nothing was impressive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The power and the water went out about 3 times. The staff was not friendly when I made the call to find out about the power and water outage. Simply unacceptable in a 4 star hotel. The sales reps were like sharks always hunting the vacation goers, always at day and night. I wouldn't go back even if my stay is free.

    Nothing was impressive

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    3.8
    The employees were very polite and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Employees very nice, pleasant. Hotel and property including reception area, outdoor bathrooms central area and pool were old, not maintained and very disappointing. The pictures on the internet were nothing like it really is. Internet even had picture of a swim up bar that is not there. Employees even admitted that the pictures were misleading just to sell. Management staff was not responsive to our requests. Every day we were there, we asked to have a sewage smell corrected in our room. After we used the toilet or took a shower, the smell filled the room thru the A/C vents. At check out the desk supervisor asked us why we did not mention this during our stay, we did every day, including this supervisor on 2 of the 4 days we were there. There is definitely a management issue there. Would not recommend to anyone at all. Room even has cockroaches.

    The employees were very polite and friendly. The food was good.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    Staff unbelievable, front desk, photo shop, cafeteria staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not many women work at the reception There is a gender gap and I really disagree with the answer they gave when I asked.

    Staff unbelievable, front desk, photo shop, cafeteria staff the AM cook make good homelette, pool area,housekeeping ladies etc. I highly recommend this property and I can wait to bring all family for vacation !

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    5.0
    food variety for kids , helpful HYPOLITO reception and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    to many problems and issues, poor guest service , just Hypolito and Braulio were helpful, beach towel guy ( DANIEL ) impolite behavior. Poor guest services manager RICARDO, advice to the management, send the staff for more training. Staff have to understand guests are paying money to stay in this resort and you have to respect them. But is just the training...

    food variety for kids , helpful HYPOLITO reception and BRAULIO bell boy.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    10
    Everything was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Programs in the evening is boring for me,and the sunbeds in the beach was not very good.

    Everything was amazing! Next to the beach,food is perfect,well equipped.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One week before we have visited 5star hotel in the area of Punta Cana and drop of quality of feeling here was clear. All inclusive drinks were mediocre. We visited the hotel during Christmas and we were obliged to pay huge surcharge comparing to confirmed price on booking.com. They said it is mistake of booking.com. We wanted to refuse this payment of surcharge and they told us that in this case we should leave, because they do not accomodate us. It was Dec.23

    Good food, nice beach, very nice natural surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.6
    everything, great beach, immaculate property, extensive food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    air conditioning in room a little cooler, but it was ok

    everything, great beach, immaculate property, extensive food selection

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.8
    LOCATION, THE BEACH
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    FOOD WAS BASIC

    LOCATION, THE BEACH

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    The service was excellent love them all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The service was excellent love them all

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.8
    Lots to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loud music by pool. Screaming French girls on the loud speaker.

    Lots to do. Nice beach. Staff are fun and interactive. Good food

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    5.0
    Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lack of service/room comfort

    Food

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    5.8
    The location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sales people on the resort and the photographers everywhere. Also taxi rides are $25 each way and are not negotiable.

    The location was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.5
    Had an ocean view room that was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No, Wifi in the rooms. Food was ok.

    Had an ocean view room that was great.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse VIK hotel Arena Blanca traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: