Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Angermeyer Waterfront Inn 5 stars

Barrio Punta Estrada, EC200350 Puerto Ayora, Ecuador

#6 of 45 hotels in Puerto Ayora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 144 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wifi was quite spotty - but you are in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, so put the phone down and enjoy the trip.

    The great service and friendly staff really add to this properties amazing location and lovely spacious rooms. We had a fantastic stay and the staff assisted us at every turn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) Poor breakfasts 2) Very small room 3) No swimming pool

    1) Nice location - easy to take water taxi, close to city center, nice view, close to german beach 2) Night service - not very popular now even in 5stars hotels, in this hotel it was a pleasure to get the room prepared for night 3) The room is very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service quality was unfortunately inconsistent, ranging cfrom outstanding to disappointing which is a pity for a hotel of this category

    Fantastic location just by the sea, excellent breakfast, big room with nice bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is really high to the service level. Amenities and breakfast (esp coffee) can be better for this price

    Excellent location with best ever view in town. Clean and confortsble.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint was the WiFi service. It’s a bit spotty and not particularly strong. But then again, why do you need WiFi in paradise?!

    You have a wonderful water view of the bay. We watched birds, marine iguanas, pelicans and sea lions, all very entertaining! The rooms are all named for different sea life and they are spacious and wonderfully decorated. The food and staff at the property are excellent, especially the included breakfast buffet. Excellent croissants and cinnamon rolls!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. My entire stay was delightful!

    The best hotel in Puerto Ayora with an amazing location and even better service! The Angermeyer hotel is a unique property with a gorgeous waterfront and stellar staff. From the moment I arrived Erica went above any beyond to accommodate my many requests (laundry in a hurry, reservations for dinner, recommendations on the area, etc). Christian was able to organize a trip to Isabella island with day tours and shuttles at the last minute. Both Erica and Christian went out of there way to provide amazing service. Highly recommended for an unforgettable Santa Cruz experience. Amazing property, five star service, great spacious rooms, and delicious breakfast. Ideal location near Las Grietas + Germans Beach!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sea lions visible while we were there. Would be nice to have a pooll as beach 5 mins walk away. We swam out front of hotel but difficult to get out of the water at lower tide.

    Hotel right on the water. Accessible by water taxi. Restaurant overlooking the water. Very colourful and vibrant. Nice breakfasts. Buffet style. Good quality food at restaurants. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting to the property with luggage in tow. Hard to navigate water taxi and luggage.

    Room was spacious and clean. Very comfortable. The view from restaurant is wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They neglected to tell us the property next door had an annual mardi gras party and played club music blasting until 4:30am. So I asked them for a different room. The second room was infested with bugs. They attempted to spray them away but used mosquito spray for ants. It didn't work. I insisted on another room. They said they could move us back to the original room. I said NO to the disco room. Third room had one bed - I was with my adult son. Fourth room was fine. The problem was they had to keep checking with the manager before they moved us. Why? Ridiculously loud BOOM BOOM BOOM, red ants all over the beds? You need to check first? Really wasn't happy. Plus right next door to the hotel is the local pathway to a neighborhood beach which is not very nice. So there's constant traffic if you're unfortunate enough to get one of the rooms that border the walkway.

    View was beautiful. Food was great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay was to short

    Every possible category that the hotel had control over was 10+ The day we got caught in a brief and unexpected rain shower while entering the hotel was saved by the owner; who happened to be visiting from Europe; rushing out and personally providing use with towels to dry off and an umbrella for the rest of the day just in case.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi signal could be stronger.

    Relaxing after full days of sightseeing on our balcony overlooking the beautiful bay filled with boats watching dusk turn to night.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was charged 75$ for taxi from airport!!! Rediculous!!! the regular cost is 20$. And they charged me without me confirming this cost. Good that staff there is really nice and they helped to return part of the cost. Wi fi is slow, but it is everywhere on the island

    The great thing about this hotel is location. It is beautiful view and it is not on main island. German beach is 5 min walk and Las Grietas is 15 min walk (this is definitely must see). Room is spacious. Staff is nice. Please do not go to their restaurants - was horrible.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Manager was amazing, he got is out of a rut that another booking agency got us into. He sorted out a cruise for us literally last minute, like a couple hours before the ship left the harbor. Then he upgraded us to an awesome room when we returned. We felt so taken care of and thankful. It's also a beautiful hotel not to mention.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Building works on site ruined the peace. Service sometimes a bit slow in reception and at breakfast.

    Being away from the hustle and bustle of town and the views of the bay Staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no faults

    we have had amazing stay, staff was amazing and food was gorgeous, they were top professional, every small detail was making difference, access was only by water taxi but thsi was only 1 min from harbour so not a problem, quite nice isolated and loads to view from hotel, watching birds and walking to the beach and las grietas from there is very easy

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so tiny,we could barely move around. I'm sure there are much larger rooms,but we didn't get one!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cochon un poco blando

    vista magica al mar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit smaller than expected.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Eager to ensure our needs were met.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel just on the other side of the harbor. Receptionist Erica knows all about activities and can help you planning a perfect program!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was excellent, room view was excellent, accommodations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful waterfront location. Excellent service/staff. The water taxi to get there is fun/convenient. Pretty good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They over charge for the airport transfer

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out took a long time.

    Breakfast was incredible. The comfort of the bed and the nice bay views. Service was excellent as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu need improvements. Lunch and dinner are overpriced

    Helpful and friendly staff. Spacial thanks to Ericca Carrera!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricing NOT CLEAR and ended up paying much more than we thought for 1 room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great facilities and our room was 10/10. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a beautiful room overlooking the ocean. Very spacious, comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel. Would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great views, privacy and confort!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent service. Friendly people.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    mattress wasn't great.

    Great views from the suites; food very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was spotty at times. A bit overpriced.

    Great location. Views were amazing!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV connection not good

    Everything really! Beautiful setting, great service, great location and lots of wildlife. First class.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, beautiful rooms and fabulous service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    View, staff, location, very cute boutique hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    EVENING MEALS AT HOTEL A BIT OVER PRICED AND POOR SERVICE BUT PLENTY OF OTHER OPTIONS

    GREAT LOCATION. LOVELY ROOMS. FRIENDLY STAFF

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My santa's list: Spa Playroom for adults and kids Pool

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room

    the setting

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed extra comfy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Location ,staff ,excellent service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    take a lot boats for transfers

    amazing view oceanfront

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    absolutely nothing, all was very perfect.

    the location. the food. the size of my room. the sand outside the hotel.fresh fruit at breakfast .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room with balcony, restaurant deck a nice place to hang out and watch boats; staff friendly and helpful; food delicious!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location! Awesome building and history. I absolutely loved it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent view and accommodations! Staff was very professional and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some unpleasant odor inside the room during the stay, I think because of the moisture of the weather and near the beach , but it's minor thing no big deal

    The stunning views of the port, good foods, good size room with shared balcony, very easy transportation by boat no longer waiting , very organized tour provided by hotel

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lunch and dinner meal choices are limited. We would rate the quality of these meals as a 7 out of 10. Meal prices are in the high range. The many restaurants in town offer better prices and better-quality dinners with lots of varied meal choices. In-town dining at dinner is recommended. Check out the restaurants along the street that leads to the Darwin Research Institute.

    Probably the best hotel facility in the local area. Ideally located on the bay with convenient water taxis to take you into town...a 5-minute trip. All rooms are wonderfully air conditioned. Free buffet breakfasts. Very courteous and helpful staff. There is nothing not to like about this place. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Other than faster internet, can't think of anything.

    Staff very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Liked waterfront location. Breakfasts were good. Only problem is relatively weak internet connection (upload is slow). Android works well but MS (no surprise) doesn't. Don't know about Apple. Liked town of Puerto Ayora.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overpriced compared to other top hotels in the island. The water from the shower and sink is a mix of fresh and salt water. It would have been nice to have 100% fresh water supply! The water taxi to Puerto Ayora can be a bit scary, we used the public service about 10 times. The wifi was slow and unreliable.

    The view from the room (balcony) and from the restaurant are incomparable. The staff went out of their way... Most of the time... To help out on any requests from us (we are not an easy couple!). The location is convenient to visit Grietas and Playa de los Alemanes. Secluded and convenient location.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a great experience and a nice way to end our vacation...no issues at this hotel.

    We had a superior suite and the balcony view was well worth it. The hotel is well situated close to walking trails and 15 mins to los grietas for a morning swim before all the tours come in. Food is average for a four star. You have to take a water taxi to the shopping area across the bay but all part of the charm. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a bit more comfort.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were charged more than the price that was on booking.com, we had a credit to use at the restaurant of the hotel and they suppose to give us a credit in the card but we did not received it yet.

    The view that we had from our room.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smelly bathroom drains

    Views, wildlife watching, variety at breakfast, friendly staff, boat watching

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They do not have a pool

    The hotel is new and our room had a two person jacuzzi

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Booking.com lists this as a 5 star property. It is nothing close to that. Maybe a 3 star.

    The staff were absolutely great. The location is awesome.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room and view were fabulous!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything just great, amazing view, comfortable room, super helpful worker take care all the details for us.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ocean views were magical and the staff were very helpful. Galapogas was a great conclusion to our 4 week holiday.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just book it!

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Hotel Angermeyer Waterfront Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: