Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Posada del Angel 4 stars

Bolivar 14-11 y Estevez de Toral - (Azuay), 010150 Cuenca, Ecuador

#14 of 48 B&Bs and Inns in Cuenca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 133 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here two years ago and came back for the super experience. We stayed here twice on this trip. The hotel itself feels like Spanish Ecuador and the staff were always extremely friendly and helpful. Almost like a home stay. And the location is superb, just a few minutes walk from the historic centre Parque Calderon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, but too noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel has a nice athmospere, it has a few drawbacks. The room for 3 p was the smallest we had so far in Ecuador. Also the double bed was the smallest. Wash basin in bathroom is also tiny, with hardly any water pressure. Our room was on the inner court, so no window to the outside world. You cannot see whether it is day or night through the curtains. Also the hotel is very noisy. You can hear everything happening in the hotel. I also heard my neighbour in the next room snore. The main problem was that they had a huge group of schoolkids in the hotel. Of course a group like this produces a lot of noice, chatter, laughter. They had breakfast at 7 o clock. You can not have a group like this when everything is so open and noisy. It felt more like a youth hostel than a hotel.

    The people at the reception are great and very helpful and friendly. The hotel is nicely decorated and has a good look and feel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Close to town, yet private. Great rooms and beds in this friendly hotel!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee in the morning tasted pretty bad. There than that, it was great!

    I love the room and beds here at this pretty, unique hotel. It is older, like most in Cuenca, so you will get a bit of the road noise. However, that is like almost all places in the center of town. I love that its close to Plaza San Sebastian, full of wonderful restaurants and a relaxing square. There are little pictures of angels everywhere, so it feels safe and warm. Staff was great and Id stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    Ok but i wouldnt stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. All roomsvopen out onto a central space and there are no windows opening onto the outside. It was very noisy- both at night and early morning.

    Its location was good, very nice hotel staff, trafitional building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the room overlook the main eating areas so could be a little noisy.

    Lovely hotel, nice breakfast. Good location, wonderful Italian restaurant attatched to it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely great location, walking distance to main park and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the traffic could be noisy but that was because our room was right on the corner of a busy road, not a big deal though.

    Absolutely great location, walking distance to main park and restaurants. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and wonderfully decorated, a place with real character and charm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    You will be treated like family....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is an older building, the floors do squeak! It is on a busier street so there is some traffic noise as well. None of which anything can be done, just be aware!

    The hostel had a lot of charm, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The food in the attached restaurant was excellent along with the service! All the main attractions are within walking distance, and easy to find. We would stay again if ever in Cuenca!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    simply, we enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast menu should change to something typical , Ecuadorian's cousin has more to offer to the visitors

    the location of the property was excellent, the room we selected covered our expectations. the environment was great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    Homey feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi a bit weak in our room ( but strong just outside in charming courtyard balcony seating area). Breakfasts ample but would have appreciated more choices, especially different kinds of fruit.

    Homey feel. Charming ambience. Personal attention touches by staff appreciated. Easy to set up individual tours with recommended taxi drivers at better rates than tour companies. Excellent restaurant , friendly service. No problem sharing ample dishes . Nice hot shower. Complimentary Coffee and tea available all day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    great value near heart of cuenca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    because the building is older, some of the wooden floors are a bit creaky. this wasn't a problem for me, just part of the charm

    nice hot shower and the charming ambiance of the hotel. quick walk to sights of cuenca

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Memorable stay in Cuenca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada!

    The staff was wonderful and went out of there way to help with tours and transportation! Bkf was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Great atmosphere in a historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great atmosphere in a historic building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    The staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly Place was beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location. Good Italian Restaurant on site. Friendly and very helpful staff. Eggs made to order for breakfast. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Very nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice, clean, great location and a bargain
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water required a little bit of work and thin walls

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Everyone was very nice and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was very nice and welcoming. We felt at home!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place close to the city centre, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent place close to the city centre, very friendly stuff, large rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.5
    Nice safe place with kind staff. Good breakfast .Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound of the steps over the wood floor.

    Every thing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    The staff was extra helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was extra helpful. The place is beautiful, very well located. The best place I stayed in during the trip to Ecuador.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location, nice building, good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They add 20% service and tax, without mentioning it when you book via Booking.com.

    Good location, nice building, good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Great stay, you won't regret it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water was usually super hot or super cold. It was fine once though!

    Great WiFi once I figured out the password! Soo clean and great staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Nice people, nice property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking is 800: away

    Nice people, nice property

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    6.3
    Wood flor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wood flor. Very noisy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    10
    Eine wunderbare Posada, sehr nettes Personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Eine wunderbare Posada, sehr nettes Personal. Sehr zentral - 5 Minuten vom Zentrum entfernt. A very beautiful place to be! And only a five minutes walk form the main plaza!

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    10
    The beds were comfy, the breakfasts very delicious, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    The beds were comfy, the breakfasts very delicious, the dinners even more delicious, and the wise suggestions from the owners were much appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    8.8
    The hotel was a beautifully restored colonial house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was on a rather busy road, and traffic can be heard from early morning.

    The hotel was a beautifully restored colonial house. We travelled as a family and rented three rooms. All were spacious and comfortable and had polished wooden floors. We arrived on an evening flight and were glad that the hotel had a restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    9.6
    Charming decor, large comfortable room with lots of closet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    (1) Traffic noise terrible, noisy stinky buses run on Bolivar past the hotel. (2) Last morning we had an early flight and asked for breakfast at 6:30 and were told "no problem" but only coffee and bread was provided when it would have required little effort to put out the yogurt and granola that was usually available.

    Charming decor, large comfortable room with lots of closet and drawer space, coffee and tea always available, nice people, excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    10
    Close to main part of town and main bus station - stopped in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to main part of town and main bus station - stopped in this town quickly on our way up to the north and this hotel was a great place to un-wind for the night and walk around to get something to eat. Even experience our first earth quake here - will always make this place memorable!!!

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    We arrived a few hours before check in time but they kindly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    We arrived a few hours before check in time but they kindly let us store our bags there until we could check in. When we left we had to leave very early but they organized an early breakfast and taxi for us. They were helpful with any questions etc. it was also just a really nice building with the inner courtyard.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.8
    Super cute rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff could have been a bit friendlier. Since we had the last open room in the hotel, we got stuck with a room right outside of the breakfast area and it woke us up super early in the morning. I would suggest to the hotel to better sound proof the rooms.

    Super cute rooms. Very clean and very nice breakfast. Great location. 24 hour doorman

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    7.5
    Room was cleaned every day, staff helpful, and internet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms facing the breakfast room and front courtyard are not quiet as they receive noise from people eating and talking in those areas. Rooms are overpriced unless you have a special discounted rate.

    Room was cleaned every day, staff helpful, and internet worked well.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    8.8
    Lovely old building, beautifully and comfortably decorated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My son in law, who is dark skinned with long hair, was asked by one of the white staff, what he was doing in the lounge area watching the television. They obviously aren't used to having indigenous guests staying at the hostal.

    Lovely old building, beautifully and comfortably decorated with most staff very friendly. The Italian restaurant next door was also excellent.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    7.1
    Right in the centre of the old city and within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Another big old house converted into hotel but it feels much more like a hostel. Perhaps the name is right as "Hostal" but the prices are certainly at hotel levels. The floors creek with every step throughout the old part of the hotel. The walls are paper thin: you can hear the people in the next room breathe and of course, they hear you too! The reception area is in the covered old courtyard converted into a lobby and when the phone rings or when someone rings the bell to get in to the hotel, it is heard from all the rooms (yes they keep the door locked and you have to ring to get in!). Furthermore, the lobby serves as an overflow area for the restaurant operated by the hotel and many at times we had to listen to the loud conversation the diners were having from our room. This is definitely NOT a four star place and unfortunately follows in the pattern of inflated star ratings we have found in our month long visit to Colombia and Ecuador that exposed us a different hotel every three or four nights.

    Right in the centre of the old city and within walking distance to everything. The staff were helpful and the front desk agreed to our request to shorten our stay by one night without imposing any penalty.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    10
    The staff is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I'm not big on the city. It is better than Quito. I prefer Baños, Mindo and Olòn area. Essentially nothing I didn't like about the Hostal.

    The staff is amazing! Completely attentive and ready to assist your every need.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    10
    Great location, staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Great location, staff very helpful. Restaurant has great food, home made pasta. Usually eat local but happily mad an exception. You will not be disappointed staying here.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    10
    All staff, lovely comfortable room, good restaurant where we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    All staff, lovely comfortable room, good restaurant where we ate several times, quiet but in easy wlking distance of the whole centre. Lots of character. Good value for money. Best hotel we have stay in our travels through Ecuador.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    Very good place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very good place.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    7.5
    the staff was very friendly, room was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    sound and smell of the restaurant, it's underneath and inside the hotel.

    the staff was very friendly, room was good

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    Hospitality, warm greetings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    Hospitality, warm greetings

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.9
    Good location for walking the historic center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location for walking the historic center

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    10
    Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Rooms

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    9.6
    这家Hostal服务很好,前台人员都能说英语。
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    这家Hostal服务很好,前台人员都能说英语。装修风格典雅,店主对客人很热情,很有家庭气氛。房间干净,整体水平比一些星级酒店还好,是我一路住过最满意的,物超所值。

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    10
    The kindness and great service of the people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The kindness and great service of the people. Beautiful hotel, nice spacious room, hot shower, good breakfast etc. We enjoyed our stay very much!!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    The spacious comfortable and pretty rooms and internal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The spacious comfortable and pretty rooms and internal courtyard. Lovely decorations and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    9.2
    The atmosphere and location of the Posada are excellent and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The atmosphere and location of the Posada are excellent and the service was very good

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    10
    Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service Friendliness Felt at home Comfort Breakfast Mangiare: great pasta

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: