Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru 4 stars

Viru 11, Tallinn City-Centre, 10140 Tallinn, Estonia

#63 of 99 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1376 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We originally booked a diffrent hotel in Tallinn but changed to this one on last minute. The thing which made us change was that the description of the booking offer was that if we will choose to have breakfast at the hotel the fee would be only 25 shekels per day (=about 6 Euro). In realty the price was 12 Euro per dinner per meal - which is double and if I had known that we would have never booked this place. There was also no room to sit and work - the lobby is too small to have a sit done for work (this was a business trip). We asked for an extra chair for our room so we could work from there but the reception said they can't/don't have extra chairs. Sound weird. What if a chair got broken?

    I like the location, the size of the room was nice for too people. It was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude. Cold and expensive breakfast. Bathroom bin had not been emptied before our arrival. Booked double with walk in shower, ended up with two single beds and a bath was dangerously too high to access.

    Location and coffee shop

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 215 was noisy.

    Location is inside the old town gate. Small hotel and rooms. Room 215 was a bit noisy at night because the main trash shoot was just below the room. The whole night people kept on throwing trash there. Room was small but the bathroom was big. It was not so bad but quite pricey, I feel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No teapot in the room.

    The situation - inside old town, on the central street, main walking area, just near all oldtown sighteens. At the same time close to the gate off to new town with modern shopping centers and supermarkets. The personnel was very helpful and really interested to help in any need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The other side of the location is, that it is very noisy. Unfortunately you can hear all night the noise from streets, other rooms, even a music from the restaurants near. Then of course as it was a weekend, the people celebrating throughout the night caused lot of noise into the room. Could not sleep!

    Location is very nice in the old town. Nice, clean basic hotel. Breakfast was good and parking space on the front of the hotel, 20e per day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked everything. Best of luck for them.

    Most liked point about Hotel is Location. It is very well connected with Bus, Tram and Taxi. Heart of Old Tallinn City. Thanks for service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about To have breakfast included in the basic rate would give it a 10 definitely

    Location is perfect, just a couple of minutes away from the main square Comfortable room and large bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    ...but it is super noisy at night and I had on the lower Floors a room heading bars/ night Clubs and had I was happy I could after all Change the room at 01:30 since it was impossible to sleep (even with Windows closed)

    The Hotel is in the City Center at the pedastrian Zone; that is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and centrally located hotel in the old town of Tallinn. The room was adequately equipped and the bed was comfortable. WiFi worked fine. Staff was friendly and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is good Was problems with the WIFI (it didn't work on the whole floor) so in middle of the night I was moved into another room in another floor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast should be included at room rate. It was 12 euro per person paid extra and that affected the final price we had to pay. For our group of 6 it was a significant amount of money. Sometimes there was a smell of cooked food in hotel s corridors, I suppose from restaurant at ground floor. Also, there are rooms facing a wall, so limited daylight- ask for room on upper floors

    The location is unbeatable! Bed extra comfortable. Clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi worked poorly (at least in my room). The room may have had an electric kettle and some tea/coffee.

    Excellent location. Polite and helpful staff. The room had a large bed and an excellent view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have like tea making facilities in the room Breakfast expensive

    The hotel is located just inside the old city walls and as such is the perfect location for exploring Tallin as everywhere can be reached easily on foot. All of the main attractions, plus many restaurants and bars are very close by. The hotel itself is fairly basic, but has everything you need except maybe tea making facilities in the rooms.The underfloor heating in the bathrooms is a real bonus in winter too. the staff are typical Eastern European, polite and efficient without being overbearing. Maybe not to everyone's taste, but we find it much more appealing than some of the over the top false friendliness you get in some hotels. We cannot comment on breakfast as at 16 euros each we didn't bother. Personally, I wouldn't bother with a taxi from the airport as the tram is only 2 euros, takes about the same time and drops you 2 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard room is very basic, my husband found the bed not so comfortable. We were dissapointed there was no coffe/tee in the room, no safe inside the room and only basic shampoo/soap, no conditioner or lotion. Also, after ordering a cab to the airport a whole day before, they remembered to say there is a problem due to holiday only in the morning and that we have to go to the main road for the cab(-15C february with a kid), not only that but the cub did not stop and ride away. The receptioninst had to tell us about this a day before and insist on a cub coming directly to the hotel(the roads were not closed). Also, the breakfast is very expensive, we went to the mall near by and ate at half of the price.

    The location is great, we had a great view of the city fro mthe window. They have parking which is nice. place is very clean and the reception was very good most of the time- the cleaning lady came imidiatly when we needed cleaning. They also supplied crib for the baby as we asked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the smell in the hallways (carpet floor, hasnt been cleaned in a while i guess) the bed was really uncomfy the lift takes ages

    Great location, in the middle of the old town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very basic and my room was near the main street in old town. Some street musicians was playing guitar there until 02.00 both nights i stayed there. It was alot of noise and in the morning around 06-07 the trucks started to beep (backing) newar to my room :(

    The price per night was good as most hotels were fully booked. The location is perfect in old town if you are looking for a great price for a super location. Its IN old town, near to harbour, shoppingcentres etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really did not like to give my bank card numbers to the staff at the registration for "mini bar" as we never use it and I don't like to give my card numbers for fraud. The hotel is trying to show like high level standards but overall quality does not match.

    We were very suprised there was a bath (I guess we forgot when we booked). Location is really next /in Tallinn old town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were two single beds pushed together to make a double & the room was quite small but manageable. We asked to book a taxi to the airport at 4.30 am the reception said she would do this but didn't so when we went to check out at 4.15am it was only then ordered and the guy on reception was finding one hard to find at that hour and we had to wait 30mins for this leaving us have to rush through the airport which is thankfully small and was not too busy .

    Location was really great and hotel was warm, bright & clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only things not responding to the expectation: 1. I called from Finland to ask if we were getting a double or twin bed and I was told that it was double, but actually it was a twin bed room. 2. When we arrived to Tallinn we used Google map to find the place and it took a while to find the entrance because of the missing signs. The hotel is called only Vana Viru, without the word Baltic.

    Location in the centre and hotel premises

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vana Wiru is very good and silence hotel, it is in the best place in Tallinn, rooms are always good, the breakfast very good etc. Probably we are coming again next summer ..... as always. Also ...it is very important that we can drive to your parking-place and stay our car there. Thank you very much !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel info made it sound like the Sauna was available all the time, but it seemed like it had to be organised before hand and booked or something (so I never used it).

    Excellent location, in the old town. Many tourist locations very close by, plenty restaurants to eat at etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The addition of a heater in the bathroom might help in winter - stepping out of a warm shower into a cold bathroom is a little off-putting. Tea and coffee in the room would be nice too.

    Location is good and the room was clean and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no kettle or coffee making facilities. The room did smell stale and a tad funny - fortunately i brought a mini room re-freshener spray. Breakfast is expensive, but there are many choices outside anyway, so not a problem.

    Excellent location, within minutes from the Viru gates. Taxi from airport costed only 8 euros, and took less than 15 mins. Easy access and walking distance to the old town, as well as to get to the newer part of the city, and shopping mall. No problems at all in finding good restaurants around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing we disliked

    It is a very well located hotel convient to shops, museums, trams and buses. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel and very well run and all our needs were catered for the food was delicious. We really enjoyed our stay in the Baltic and we will stay there next time we visit Tallinn.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Have the right room given to us from the very beghinning

    The location was very good and convenient. Excellent restaurant. Poor administration and reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too soft. The room was cold. Facilities in the bathroom not so good (hair dryer was poor)

    The location was excellent. Room was peaceful. Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is at the perfect location. Right at the heart of the old city. Room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The front desk was very helpfull.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast might be included in room rate

    excellent location in walking distance wherever in the city centre wifi very efficient (so Estonian standard)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Most of the staff don't seem very happy to be there. Rooms were quite cold (early september). Could feel and hear the springs in the bed.

    Location is great. Wifi works great and nice and big windows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was perfectly situated, comfortable and pleasant. The best thing though was the massage therapists. We enjoyed our massages so much we went back the next day for more. Really fantastic treatments. I'd recommend the 'after work' massage if you like form pressure and my mum really recommends the aromatherapy massage. Both were first class. It is also worth booking the sauna, although I personally thought this was a little expensive (€25)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During all my stay there was a bad smell in toilets. The staff was not very friendly, I had to leave at 4 am to take the plane and the administrator was quite unpleasant, making clear that it was because of me he could not sleep. I don't think I would book this hotel again.

    The location is very good and the room was comofortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reaching the parkinglot by a car is very tricky. The noise from the rooftop cafe in a building 3-4 metres away was disturbing. So was the constant clicking of some airconditioner probably.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room probably needs modernising, the style looked quite dated. Bed wasn't the comfiest bed ever. Didn't have air-con and the room was very warm in the night and on a morning.

    Brilliant location, shocked us how central and in the old town it was! Amazing views from the room, could see part of the old medieval wall and some of the churches and buildings. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great price for the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Situated brilliantly in the old town of Tallinn. Everything else okay to super with just slight Chance for improvement. Tallinn itself is ranked in the upper third of my TopTen-beloved cities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a burning smell in the elevator and in the corridor.

    Great location, very close to the city center. The view from the room was very beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would like to be able to make a cup of tea/coffee in room. Wifi was not available for half the time we stayed there.

    Excellent location and friendly staff. Good room size.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the rooms is very small and walking around was a challenge.

    Excellent location to go around in the wonderful old town of Tallinn. The hotel is very good and offers all that is needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room windows gives to a very narrow courtyard against the wall of the next building. Charging 2 euro for a little sewing kit is ridiculous

    The location in the old town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the room is a little dated but fine for a few nights none the less....

    Fantastic location just inside from the old fortress wall. Great cafe/restaurant with outside seating for people watching, and i recommend the traditional ,bottled cider !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is very basic. No blinds so during summer you get light trough the windows at 4am. No Room-control of heating/air conditioning but centralized. Anyhow it was not working, so window open to get some cool air. No water kettle. No safe.

    Location is great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lower price of alcohol!

    Sauna. Having a sauna in the chalet was a treat. We cycled from the train station to the property. We were worried about finding it, or our way back to it from the town centre late at night in the dark. Ha! Don't laugh. There aint no dark in Rovaniemi at mid-summer. Beginner mistake! It was great. Cycling around, bright very late. Wonderful cycling infrastructure. Separate lanes. Great, really great. Well signposted too. It's one of these places where you think that if you could find a job it'd be great to live. And if I knew how to ski. Or walk in snow. Or if I could ski jump. I've been to Hakubo, you know! We met a very friendly Finnish teacher while we were watching the sun not set. Good local info.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room wasn't clean enough. The floor carpet was dirty and one set of towels were in stains. I think it doesn't worth its money and it's not 4* for sure. Not clear how to find the entrance,the address that is shown on google maps leads you to back door where nobody replies when you call the bell. Would be nice to have info about how to find them in the description of the property.

    The location is great, it is in the heart of old city. Everything is super close.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was constantly some weird (and not pleasant) smell in the bathroom.

    The hotel is located right in the Old Town, so its very easy to get to all the sights, as well as restaurants, bars and cafes. My room was small, but comfy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaint

    Fab location right beside the old town and it has immediate access to the restaurant/cafe. Walking distance of the old town, to the shopping centre and to the airport bus stop.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the Old Town of Tallinn. Basic, but clean rooms. Breakfast was not included, but it was ample and delicious, and the atmosphere in their restaurant very charming. Overall good value for the money, and would definitely go again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms are a bit small and very "basic" - others are quite the opposite. That said, you have the choices, and prices are fixed accordingly. Unlike the breakfast, which is superb, the coffee is terrible - only one choice and often not hot. A small kettle in the room to make tea/coffee would be superb.

    The location makes this hotel what it is - in a "back courtyard" of Viru street, located at the very entrance to Tallinn's Old Town, yet quiet and somewhat removed from the noise and crowded areas of the Old Town itself. Within a 2-3 minute walk, there is everything you need - a wide variety of places to eat, drink, or sing, shops, a small grocery, public transport, a major shopping centre, taxis, etc., - yet once inside the courtyard of the hotel, there is perfect peace and quiet. Excellent WiFi connection. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room small and little bit old style and the worster thing that i have asked from them in prirore for a late check out and they said to me that we can do it ther and when i asked them they said to me that i can postpone it by one hour free of charge and by the end i payed this hour with 6.4 euros very bad not for the money but for the way the asked it.

    the only valuable was the location on old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds felt homemade. The mattress was very thin and it felt like I was sleeping on the wooden base.

    The hotel had a funny atmosphere. I can't say it was warm and inviting. Hushed tones and almost sterile.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Other than that the personal are not to friendly. I asked for an iron and they brought it but the iron had a very short cable and they don't have ironing boards and it was impossible to iron on the bed because of the cable and also because the mattress was too soft

    The only good thing about this place is the location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Most of the reception staff were very nice and helpful with the exception of the blonde woman that checked me in and I would say she is a little cold if not rude, not really someone that you would want in a customer facing, hospitality position. Upon arrival the room was absolutely sweltering hot. the bed was not the most comfortable.

    location is great right in the old town and you can easily walk to many attractions. The café connected to the hotel is great and friendly staff. very large room (double superior) and large bathroom. The room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    personnel was very unfriendly. room was ok, but a lot of noise in the hallways at night, and very light curtains so impossible to sleep in the 'white nights' of Tallinn

    location in the middle of the centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room on side where is shopping centre and night club on the roof. Without ear plugs wouldn't have slept as well I did.

    Location is really good. Rooms are clean, Bed comfort and wifi works okay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel seems rather overpriced for what it offers. The rooms are clean and in good condition, but rather spartan: no toiletries beyond soap and shampoo are provided, and there is no coffee maker. Water pressure in the shower was low. Breakfast was not included, and the buffet that was on offer was rather expensive for the quality.

    Rooms were clean. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    - breakfast was poor. Very limited sortiments and high price. Not worth of money it costed - Very passive staff - not very helpfull atmosphere. - Noisy room!

    - suite was clean and cozy - good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Old windows do not insulate noise at all. Our room was in the fifht floor but still noise from street level was wery strong. There are many bars close to the hotel and music and customer screaming and shouting was really loud - did not sleep that much during my stay. - because of the room roof type allmost 1/3 of the room surface was not usable due to low seiling hight. - breakfast was not worth of money. Breakfast costed 16€ but there was very limited sorts offered, for example no butter or jams, no toaster, no eggs etc. Second day we chose to go to next hotel for breakfast. - Very passive staff. - We had a superior room with and recuested one wide bed. We got two narrow bed pushed together. The beds were probably from hostel or from used furniture store - one does not expect to see that in superior level room. In fact - this was clearly worst superior room I have ever been to.

    The location of the hotel is fantastic - just few meters and you are in the heart of the old town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is in the old town, which is very nice. It is also clean and the staff is professional. They also kept our bags for the day while we were visiting the old town, which was very practical.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The music from the corridors was so loud, it was impossible to sleep in. Also, the fact that you need to write down your credit card number on a piece of paper.

    Professional staff, good location, and it was possible to checkin late at night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are average or little bit below it, but they are clean. Beds - I have sleep in better ones. Room walls are so thin that you literally can hear neighbors actions and talking. For example on the second morning I woke up because next rooms phone alarm. There are two big windows in the room but only beneath one is the radiator. I can imagine that in the winter it could be a problem. In the bathroom there was no socket for shaver. In short - you mostly pay because location. Breakfast is slightly overpriced according to local prices. Breakfast is average but price is like it should be something more. Also on Sunday at 10 am there was quite big mess in the dining room. Some foods were finished and you should wait for plates and cups. Also they allow to smoke right in front of the main door. In the evening you enter through smoke cloud and there are cigarette butts in the flower pots.

    Location is great if your destinations is Tallinn old city and you also want to stay there. View from the window is beautiful. You can see only old buildings and roofs and not even a single new building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The evening staff seemed like they'd rather be somewhere else. Not Unfriendly, just not especially friendly or helpful. Our room, #511, had a fantastic view of the rooftop machinery. Although I requested one bed (my husband and I like each other enough to share a bed), what we got was two pushed together. Mattresses were thin. The elevator had a large brownish splat of something on the wall. It remained there during the three days of our stay. Someone must have noticed it besides me!

    The location is excellent for walking around Old Town. Also excellent was the door into the Rukis café allowing easy access for breakfast, lunch, dinner and/or late evening pastries (on sale after 9pm!). Room temperature was also warm (it was cold outside). Room itself was reasonably clean with some stains here and there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rude staff entrance of the hotel in the back and needed to go through a very messy road to get inside long waiting time at check-in bad matrass low ceiling room not much daylight 2 small beds looks like the standard...

    location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there's no kettle in the room therefore no hot water

    location ,just near the entrance of old town. Through the gate there's stop for tram 2 and 3 ,and Viru shopping centre is in the opposite of the street

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is NOT a 4 star hotell. It says "luxury" on the booking site, but there is no luxury at this hotell. Do not use the hotel massage. They use old equipment and if it brake you have to replace it. The headpart of the bench broke during mye massage and sceared me. It ruined my massage and than I had to pay for the broken part and the massage afterwards. My daughter an I had the massage at the same time and the masseuses keept on talking to each other during the massage. What a terrible experience. The beds and pillows where terrible. The pillow was as it was washed several times, and the blanket was heavy. At the end we was asked to pay for a phonecall we never took. We denied, and the Staff startede to argue to make us pay.

    Nothing. Several negativ tings made it a totalt negativ experience. I WILL never selekt this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although not in a busy area, still, it was somehow noisy. Reception staff: I arrived by car at night. 1 hour before arriving I called the reception for information regarding street and hotel parking. Although I was replied that everything was Ok, in the end I could not arrive to the hotel because the road was closed. Even worst, the staff acted as it was something just happened (at Saturday 1am) and they had no clue nor reason to help me sort it out.

    Location: In old town

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice hotel overall, but the extra high charges would prevent me staying there again.

    On arrival we were informed that breakfast would €16 extra EACH. They also charged €20. to park the car in front of the hotel. The carpet in our room was filthy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a good stay and I would suggest the hotel to anyone. So the following is just couple of things that could have made the place 10 point worthy for me :) For a superior double I was expecting a bigger room. Small attic windows on top floor, bit dark in the room. No still water in the minibar.

    Great central location. Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. Amazing food at the restaurant Farm downstairs. Very happy with the choice of pillow sizes in the room. Amazing Old Town view from top floor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The double bed could have been a little bit more comfortable

    Central location, very quiet. Good and reasonably priced restaurant and kohvik (cafe) within the property.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room size could've been better/larger, i mean, having a pillow next to the fridge was new to me. also room temperature adjustment is a placebo.

    well, the location for one is great, albeit the view from the window is rather nonexistant oh, and it was 60something euros(no breakfast), so i cant be a partypooper about it :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms themselves are a different standard to the expectations that the reception area set. I saw 2 rooms on 2 separate floors (there are 4 floors of rooms) and they were 3 star standard at best. The double beds are tiny and friends who were couples were given twin beds. The hotel is very noisy with noise travelling through the vents in the room. It is not a hotel that provides a romantic experience.

    The reception area is really nice, the restaurant and cafe are great. The bathrooms are spacious. Location is great and if that is a priority, then this hotel is a great option.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fire alarm woke us in the morning (4-5 am) of 30.10. We and some other guests got dressed and ran downstairs - as we should. The staff didn't know what was going on, neither did we get any info nor instructions on the situation. The fire bell stopped after ringing on and off approx 15 mins but again - no info anywhere. We would have appreciated an explanation latest when we checked out (or now, for that matter).

    The hotel was good and the restaurant very comfortable. Our group enjoyed the prolonged weekend stay (except for the nightly fire alarm).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I searched booking.com I used "Breakfast included" as a filter and when I placed the booking breakfast was still included. When I arrived at the hotel I was told that breakfast was not included and when I queried this at Reception I was told "You cannot expect breakfast for the price you paid" - I booked a special deal which mentioned nothing of breakfast being excluded. I've been using booking.com since 2007 and never encountered such a scenario. Other negatives: Rudely woken by the elevator-type music playing all day in the hotel corridors. No lie-ins here! The bed was uncomfortable as I could easily feel the springs protruding through. The curtains didn't fit the window so bring an eye-mask if you don't want to be woken by early morning light.

    Spacious bedroom & bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced breakfast

    Excellent location: inside old town; close to Viru street (main street); less than 5 min walk to main square; restaurants, pubs and supermarkets all around Staff very informative and friendly Excellent facilities, sauna, heath club

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotels sauna is to be reserved and charged as extra. Since the sauna is small, availability is limited. If you desire breakfast, it's to be taken in the adjacent restaurant.

    Perfect location for a city trip. Clean and comfy room with great shower. The hotel is easy reachable by public transportation. (Line 2a drops you at 400m for only €2) Good value for your buck.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heater in the room was not working and we been asking and reminding for 2 days. On the 3rd day evening, a portable heater set was sent into our room. The next morning we were already checking out at 6 am. Even so, the overall experience staying in this hotel has been wonderful.

    Hotel is nice, location is perfect. Our room was fine though the heater didn't work, I would recommend first time visitors to Tallinn to stay here as you can practically reach all the attractions, find your food, buy your souvenirs and come back to your cozy room conveniently by walk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Possibility to make a tea or coffee in the room would be great, especially as the hotel has no separate bar/cafe facility.

    Location is ideal - and especially as the hotel is not situated on a main busy street or square, but tucked away in an easy to reach cul de sac just metres from one of the main Old Town streets. Perfect for Old Town Tallinn. Breakfast is superb - food in general at the attached restaurant/hotel breakfast site absolutely superb. The restaurant itself has a high reputation for quality in Tallinn. Attached photo view from front of hotel on 3rd floor. Sixth floor rooms have skylights and high ceilings. Very good value for money - third time here and look forward to returning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    They asked us to pay the whole staying in advance at check-in. Legal, but unusual and unpleasant. No open space available, whole area monopolized for car parking. Room without balcony.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: