Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hestia Hotel Barons 4 stars

Suur-Karja 7/ Väike-Karja 2, Tallinn City-Centre, 10140 Tallinn, Estonia

#39 of 99 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1413 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of late night bars in the alley next to the hotel and very little sound insulation. In fact, earplugs are even supplied to the guests on top of the water glasses in the bathroom.

    Location is excellent. Clean and comfortable, but very basic rooms. Breakfast is ok, but don't go too late, the staff will stop replenishing the foods at after 9.30am or so.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't so good, and at breakfast the better bread was ended at 10 am... Soundproofing was bad - we heard everything from neighbor.

    The location was very good and room was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom facilities a bit old and leaking, simple breakfast and some potteries didn't look very clean, all together very overpriced.

    Perfect position, 1 minute walk from Tallinn Old Town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being as old as it was, there were one or minor things - like the room door needing an extra shove to close properly - but nothing worth complaining about.

    The main charm is the hotel building and interior: authentically and picturesquely antique - even with a very old-style cage elevator. All very atmospheric and enjoyable. The location in the Old Town very near the main square is ideal. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee maker in the room would have been a nice touch but not too upset by the fact this wasn't available. We were disappointed to see that although there was a vast display of flags representing so many countries there was not a British flag to be seen either inside or outside . Perhaps there will be one next time we visit.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room although a little small was perfect for our needs. This is an old building and therefore the creaking floorboards were to be expected , we didn't mind but not sure everyone would feel the same. Breakfast was excellent, good varied choice . Perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevators are old fashioned: noisy, dangerous, shaky, inconvenient. Showers: no light (only a small spot near the washbin), old two-faucet system, water temperature changed every several seconds from freezing to very hot. Floors squeaked with each step. Windows: from XIX century and ventillation isn't possible. Rooms are small. There is a table and a chair but due to the lack of space you aren't able to sit and work with notebook normally.

    Location. Parking is nearby. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff exceptionally friendly. Rooms clean. Location is excellent. The hotel is old, and charming, so as a result facilities are naturally limited. It had everything we needed but some visitors may want more. Lovely hotel, excellent location. Very pleasant stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The junior suite was very small and bathroom was small "poor".

    Position, at few meters from the main square. The kindness of staff. The breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beds are strangely soft and bouncy, little move and you are going up and down, plus 2 beds that are put together were coming apart, which makes it hard to sleep with a spouse

    awesome position in the heart of the old city, good breakfast and friendly stuff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect.

    We loved this hotel and everything that was offered. Since the staff until the breakfast, everything was outstanding, but the best is still the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and very dated. The mattress felt old and very soft. Overall it was Nan chic but without the doilies.

    The hotel was located right in the old town within minutes of town hall square. The property has character, with a lift which is more than 100 years old!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a pleasure to stay in Barons hotel. We couldn’t choose better accommodation option. Great place, in the heart of old town in Tallinn, polite staff and extraordinarily clean! We recommend to anyone who wants to see the old town on foot! For sure we will be there again ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we were given had no windows, only a skylight which was dark and dingy. Wet room had cracked tiles on floor. Manager eventually changed our room after trying to make us pay more to change.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beds are way to soft, very easy breakfast (just expected more)

    good location in the old town, the hotel has a charming character. The stuff is very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was way too soft and since we were a couple, the division of beds makes it uncomfortable. The view from the from isn’t so good. Hard to get wrm water from the shower. Quite small room.

    The location is perfect, very easy to find and right in the heart of the old town. The breakfast was great, there’s a variety of choices. I personally loved the porridge (: Not bad but not the best for its price. The old elevator gives a character of the hotel and the tapestry in the corridors makes it antiquated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too dark in the shower and a bit cold in the room, despite turning the heating to max.

    A hotel with some very interesting atmosphere. I would call it a boutique one. Definitely worth staying.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    on the morning of my departure i asked young gentleman at reception to order a taxi to the airport, vehicle that picked me up was unmarked, after arriving at airport driver could not issue me a receipt and tried to overcharge me, not the best ending to the wonderful weekend I had

    Most of the staff were very nice, friendly and polite, with plenty of good ideas and advises about Tallinn. Location is second to none and you have value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t fault the place for value for money, quality and comfort. Highly recommend. In summer I can imagine it being noisy but we were visiting in winter so had a great nights sleep.

    Friendly staff from the moment we walked in, took us to our room personally to check the beds were fine, that we knew how to change room temperature and how to use the phone for any questions. The whole hotel has character and was spotless. Breakfast had a huge choice of hot and cold food, better than other 4 stars we’ve stayed in. Location is 5 stars in easy walking distance of whole old town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was excellent - right in the middle of Old Town. All the main sites (with the exception of the Open Air Museum) were within a short walking distance. The room was lavish, and a great price. We had a jacuzzi tub with jets, a skylight in the bedroom, and an extra cozy bed. Fantastic value! And the included breakfast was very tasty as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast selection not to my taste - more my problem than the hotel's no tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    Spacious room, warm, good double glazing Excellent location in the old town Robes & slippers provided Comfy bed Helpful reception staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were extremely polite and very helpful. The location was incredible, the breakfast had a wide variety of options. The beds were comfortable and the room was spacious with adjustable heating. The shower was a little cramped but pretty of hot water and pressure was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast variety - could be better with a toaster. Small and inaccessible windows.

    Location, helpful and friendly staff, a century-old lift that still works in order.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got a surprise 40€ bill for parking for 2 nights. No warning during the booking nor checking in. Booking.com webpage has very bad UX of bringing such things out (it is understandable, money needs earning) and on the hotel webpage, could not find such info. I'm sure it is there, but not highlighted. Such a surprise can ruin the weekend, knowing that there are 2 or 3 times cheaper parking possibilities nearby.

    Very cosy and romantic hotel. A bit worn off. Needs some interior refreshment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is not a 4* hotel. There are no facilities in the room (no tea/coffee etc.) and limited toiletries (one combi shower gel/shampoo/soap unit on the wall). Rooms were not cleaned every day. Very basic (sauna no longer functioning etc.). Very expensive for what is provided. Felt very dated - door was fixed with masking tape, shower came away from the wall - in need of TLC!!!

    Very nicely decorated with some lovely features, including the antique lift, cigar room and bank vault style security boxes. Fantastic location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs to the 4th and 5th floor but building is an old bank and the history makes up for this.

    Bed super comfy, good breakfast but the excellent staff and location made this hotel ideal for us. Will stay here again on our next visit to Tallinn

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only window in the room was roof window. The problem was that the system with curtains was broken so half of the window was covered. They could not fix it. The feeling was a bit claustrophobic. The breakfast was ok but maybe I had too high expectations for a 4 star hotel. The overall impression was old style elegance, yet slightly tired.

    Junior suite. Very large. Jacuzzi and nicely decorated bathroom. Old style elegance in the hotel. Nice reception and service to carry luggage to room etc so very attentively received.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy because the hotel is surrounded by pubs and bars.

    The breakfast was sooo good especially the meatballs. The interior and elevator is very vintage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower drain was clogged, maintenance guy managed to clear it. Beds were very uncomfortable, resulted in a sore back for both occupants.

    Breakfast and location are very good, the staff is helpful and friendly. Nice restaurants are within walking distance, quiet neighborhood if you want to have a good rest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit to soft for us...

    Brilliant location 3 mins walk from town square. Our room had great views of the town hall spire. Would heartily recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location right in the centre near to all touristic attractions. Large size room with good size bed. Good breakfast. The right place to stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shame on the owners and managers. If I had such an asset in the center of beautiful Tallin I would definitely refurbish everything. Choose Barons as a place to stay only if you are obsessed with really old, vintage staff, if you don't care about the size of the room and sleeping facilities. We payed around 150 euros per night which is 100% not worth it. Perhaps one of the worst experiences in Europe in terms of accommodation.

    The location is really nice. Unfortunately this is the only advantage of Barons Hotel. If you think it is an authentic/boutique/designer hotel? No, it's simply old, shabby and stinky.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for me everything was as i wanted,may not suit someone looking for an ikea kind of look.

    the staff were very helpful and friendly,the hotel was full of old world charm,revolving entrance door,sweeping stairs and a lift from an agatha christie story.Breakfast was particularly good with a choice for the varied nationalities staying at the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor is creaking and the bars in the neighborhood were the source of noise to the level to wake you up.

    Close to the center of old downtown. Old but stylish.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy plumbing, old but with character, not to spacious rooms

    Central location in the old town but awkward for taxi to reach and not too good for business purposes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel, great location - be aware that its in the centre of the old town near to a number of (very good) bars so is noisy at night. Hotel does provide earplugs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was on the 5th floor and even tough I have asked 1 large bed, I have received 2 small beds together. The mattress topper was too large and was actually moving away from the mattress. The bed was not comfortable AT ALL. I have this fear of bed linen not being properly clean, that is why I particularly look at the bed covers and bed in general. I have found some dried body liquids on the other half of the bed. In the bathroom some other people's hair was on the basin and the bathroom had a heavy smell which worsened in the morning. It made me feel seek. I had to ask the reception to come over and have a look. I was given immediately a different room which was better. Will I stay again here? Probably not.

    Location was perfect and Polina was very helpful in finding a solution to move me to a different room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noice from the nearby disco.

    The old fashioned elevator. Service from the desk. Breakfast was good . The best however was the situation of the hotel. Just 100 meters from the Hansa restaurant and the main square.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rich in history & character. Staff was very accommodating with our curiosity about the history of the hotel & showed us the old original vaults of the property. If you don't like staying in vintage , European hotels, this is not for you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast food selection was good, however quality of the food was quite poor. Sausages had a bad taste, beans were blend, dried fruits for my muesli looked old. However meatballs were fine, cold food selection was ok too. While checking out, hotel administrator (Polina) took her time and had a pleasant chat with someone for a few minutes, we were rushing and she did not paid any attention to the waiting guests. Biggest lowlight of the stay.

    This is a historic hotel with just an amazing interior of the beginning of XIX century. Really vintage lobby, elevator and rooms will bring you back to those mighty times. Probably the best hotel interior I have ever seen so far. Another advantage - location, hotel is based in the heart of the old town with plenty of restaurants nearby. Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no dresser/drawers though ample closet space.

    Gracious hotel very central to sites in old Tallinn. Fabulous European breakfast. Good sized room with usual amenities. You will love the quirky, and safe, elevator.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location right in the heart of the old town and walking distance to major tourist sites. Staff were first rate and could not be more helpful, lovely breakfast room with nice view from window seats. Breakfast was great and the elevator really olde world charm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is in old town which one would think is great, but unfortunatelly its just next to a bar, and the windows are not really soundproof. There is a reason why they put earplugs in the room. :)

    The place is really nice, I liked the traditional elevator.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was dated but comfortable.

    Location was as good as it gets. We were 200 feet from the old City Hall. Breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. This is a very affordable place. We arrived by high speed ferry from Helsinki and walked to the hotel-an easy walk. It was an easy walk to the tram and then to the bus station for our trip to Riga.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture and woodwork could use refinishing

    Spacious room. Excellent, helpful staff. Booked restaurant reservations and taxi reservations for us. Gracious and welcoming. Amazing high ceilings everywhere. Quiet unless the window was open and we could hear drunks in the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dingy looking around the edges of the corridors and rooms

    Very comfortable and quiet room. Lovely decor in the common areas and nice art nouveau touches including the original lift. The staff matched the charm of the hotel by being very attentive and helpful. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Sadly we missed out on this on the last morning when we needed to check out early; however, we were immediately offered a breakfast box to take with us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell from drains a bit overpowering at times in the bathroom of the hotel room.

    Impressive art nouveau details in hotel lobby. We arrived early because of a re-scheduled boat trip from Helsinki but our room was ready 2 hours before normal check-in. Very impressive range of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service closes early

    This hotel is special! It's not always easy to find a hotel that combines history, quality, and simplicity so well but this place does. It doesn't feel overly renovated but still has all the modern comforts that you need when traveling (fast wifi and a good breakfast), plus the rooms are spacious and quiet with historical charm. Tue bathroom sauna is a plus! The building also couldn't be more central and is a good walking distance to all sights in the old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room get a bit hot at night because I had trouble adjusting the air con.

    The position could not be better. The staff are very friendly. It is an old hotel experience and some of the building is getting a bit tired but one must hope that they keep the ambiance if they decide to renovate. Breakfast was great with some local food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It should be noted that unfortunately there are several nightclubs and bars nearby where all night drinking may take place, accompanied by drunken singing and manic laughter. This is not the hotel's fault and fortunately, if you close the windows and switch on the air conditioning you can enjoy a comfortable, quiet night. They even provide earplugs, but we didn't need those once the windows were closed.

    Superb location right in the middle of the charming Old City, friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfasts, small but comfortable room. Air conditioning a great help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was positioned on the 4th floor but even then (and with the windows closed and with ear plugs that the hotel provided) it was difficult to get some sleep due the street noise (amongst others from the aptly named "bar that doesn't close" (or similar). We didn't get any good sleep on any of the 3 nights that we stayed

    Hotel is positioned centrally and is an historic building with a lot of charm. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had pre paid for a 3 night stay, but left after the first. We were put up in a tiny room, 14m2 (includes bathroom etc). Very little space, could barely open our suitcases. The double bed also seemed much smaller than usual. The hotel provided earplugs but even then, we were woken up in the night by people screaming down the street (mind you we were on the top floor already!). Management couldn't do anything for us so we decided to take our loss and leave the hotel. I don't recommend staying here, this hotel is really past it's glory days. You'll get much better value for money elsewhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints at all!!!

    The hotel is so charming in an old fashioned way, but with a modern bathroom. It suits its location in the "old town" perfectly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no ventilation in the bathroom which when I first arrived had a very 'sour sewage' smell. The mattress was way too soft for my liking

    I liked the room that I was given, Why, because it had a nice outlook and doors that opened onto a balcony and the decorating was in keeping with the age and style of the hotel. The staff were both pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some chopped fresh fruit at breakfast would not have gone amiss - there were only slices of watermelon. I did ask for a room on a higher floor and as usual a request send via booking.com was ignored. Then again the room was lovely !

    High ceilings, quiet, very comfortable bed. Atmospheric with old fashioned lift and large leather armchairs in the lounge. Really helpful staff, they even phoned up and booked me on to a tour of the KGB museum at the Viru hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and rooms needed refurbishment like 10 years ago (and running). The staff should also pay more attention to cleaning. The bathroom was quite stinky and dirty. The whole hotel had a smell of burning clutch (for automatic gear users - it is a device that allows you to change the gears manually) mixed with burned cabbage. To make the long story short - it was a really bad smell. No good value for money and aesthetics for sure.

    Breakfast and location were really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is very soft. Hotel is boutique but still needs an upgrade and modernization. Was probably awesome in the 80s.

    Fantastic location. Staff is friendly and speaks good English. Breakfast is standard fare for Northern Europe. Lots of fish for fish eaters amongst other stuff. Solid internet. In room fridge is very convenient. Bathtub is roomy and jetted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Staff helpfull and friendly Premises needed someTLC Bathroom and toilets in restaurant etc stank with smell of drains Air conditioning inadequate in.the room and bathroom likewise as no extractor fan Been a Grand Hotel I suspect at one time but now a bit sad and tired

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little on the small side but comfortable enough.

    Very good location, right in the middle of the old town. It has a real old-world feel to it, with a beautiful creaky old cage lift in the centre. The breakfast ia good and the staff are very nice. Very quiet indeed - no noise from outside at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived, the greeting was very cold and unfriendly and unfortunately staff were unsmiling and indifferent most of the time. Even in the breakfast room, the one staff member on duty spent most of her time texting/surfing on her phone and had to be asked to replenish the coffee, milk, etc. - customer service definitely needs work! The free wifi advertised wasn't available most of the time (we got about 20 minutes half the evenings we stayed). We reported this to staff but nothing changed. Wash basin plug in bathroom was full of hair and even when I had cleaned this out the basin didn't drain properly. It took 2 days for this to be looked at. Room service was advertised on the booking site but there was no room service menu in the room, so it appears that you can only order breakfast in your room. The room felt cramped and the clothes cupboard was so narrow that the coat hangers provided had to be pushed in at an angle so that the cupboard door could be shut. The carpet looked tired and the mattress was way too soft. All in all, not much to recommend this hotel apart from the excellent location.

    Very good location. Reasonable breakfast and nice dining room. The historical details in the hotel (original lift and bank deposit boxes) were interesting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was just perfect and the employees very friendly and helpful Bed was just too soft for me Bathroom and shower had a heated floor that was very convenient Location and view from the room was just perfect We had a room upgrade to junior suite after an issue with the window shutters of our initial room. Personnel was quite friendly and helpfull indeed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of it is a bit dated (notwithstanding my comments about it having character). Very squeaky floor boards, just not used to that these days. Room was comfortable, but sparse.

    Location was good. Very old fashioned feel to the place which gave it a lot of character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds/mattresses were too soft for our taste. Also, it would have been nice to empty the rubbish and give us some more toilet paper. But these are minor things. The place is a bit old - one could call it charming or slightly run down. Due to two public holidays in a row, the bar closed at 9.00 p.m. which I found unusual. But again, not a real problem.

    On our request, we got a quiet room on the fifth floor which was really peaceful. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ample and I loved the warm porridge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of people have commented on the breakfast but I'm not sure why people think it's so good. It was fine but nothing amazing! Staff were helpful but didn't seem very cheerful. Overall a good hotel, not the best I've ever stayed at, but does the job.

    Great location and a beautiful building

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was inconvenient (need a porter to let me in) and 20 euros and the single bed was ridiculously soft. It was an effort not to roll off it.

    Great location, nice period charm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old-style hotel, comfort just above to the level of survival. Rooms small, diffcile to move in the room, even for agile and lean people. Ordinary breakfast. Very noisy in the night (drink and leisure area)

    Position, very central, atmosphere is good, nostalgic, like in USSR time. Staff super, very gentle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    People are writing in reviews about squeaky floors and soft mattresses. Well, both are true in a way. But floors in my room (and the room above mine) were ok, only stairs were really squeaky. And soft mattress wasn't a problem for me. Right after check-in there was a slight smell in the bathroom from sewerage but it went of as I start using water. There are plenty of AC sockets all over the room but it also would be nice to have at least one near the working table.

    First of all I need to mention that I'm sort of Art Nouveau fan so I may be a little biased in my ratings. The hotel is located in building which was built in 1912 for a bank. You still can find and old safe on the 2nd floor (follow "201-" rooms signs). It's located in the Old Town. City Hall is just few hundred steps away from the front door. There are a lot of bars and cafes nearby. Can be a bit noisy with open windows but overall soundproof is good and I slept very well. Polite and welcoming personnel, gave me a pack of useful advises. Breakfast is very good. The hotel is rather small so there are no crowds and you can calmly enjoy you morning meal. Wi-fi is strong and fast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheet had a hole in it, the bathroom sealing around the bath needs repair, the towels are very thin, the curtain in the bathroom needs replacement. Bedroom curtains do not back out the early morning sun.

    We spent 2 nights at Baron, it is located in the old town. The bed was comfortable, breakfast buffet extensive. Staff friendly. Email directions to the hotel were excellent. Lots of cafes and restaurants close to hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room located on noisy side of hotel- pub located closely with customers very noisy thru the night until 4am. Receptionist not concerned but we were moved the next day to the quieter side of the hotel but noise still evident. Therefore beware if you like a good nights sleep. Also no tea making facilities in the room.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of kettle / in room coffee etc. Double bed was not a double, it was 2 singles pushed together.

    Generally very good hotel, very good location, helpful staff, overall very good value

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee is from a drip system and it was awful, very very weak. they just need to serve at least one very strong coffee at the buffet. you can order a latte or espresso for an extra fee.

    great location, easy walk 10 mins from where the bus drops you off to the hotel. 15 mins to port also very easy to walk, small quaint town. they didn't charge for our small dog which was very nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress in the Baron's Suite needs to be replaced.....

    Cute almost heritage ambience! Terrific location at the heart of the walking streets and next to the old town square. Tons of restaurants and bars in the neighbourhood. Very helpful staff. The girl at reception must be particularly mentioned for he smiling appearance and extremely helpful attitude.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The brekfast could be a little more exciting. The taxi driver from the airport to the old city cheeted us and that is really annoying and upsetting. Should be a note to other tourists arriving Tallinn. Stay away from the black taxis and pro-active taxi drivers. We paid EUR 55 for a EUR 13 trip. It was nothing we could do to argue once we arrived.

    The location was excellent and the hotel is very charming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor is squeaking heavily. I was sleeping with open window because there is no ventilation in the room, only air conditioning. Around 2 am there was noise from the street. It seems that people were going home from the party and they were shouting. I was not able to get sleep for a long time. Then, about 5 am someone in nearby room started to move and squakening of the floor was so loud that my sleep ended.

    Perfect location, rich breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not exciting. A variety of fresh fruit, real yogurt and good coffee would make a huge difference. Freshly baked bread was, however, delicious.

    Our room.... a standard room, had a fantastic view of Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and the Town Hall Square. Position superb. . Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Has a rather dated interior, so could do with an interior re-fit. Food could be better (no one was using the restaurant in the evening).

    Great location, pleasant old style building; helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hestia Hotel Barons traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: