Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bern by TallinnHotels 3 stars

Aia 10, Tallinn City-Centre, 10111 Tallinn, Estonia

#37 of 99 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1640 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the old-fashioned shower curtain that draws in and clings to you! Would have liked a kettle in the room (we take our preferred tea with us).

    We enjoyed the breakfast, room, air-conditioning, shower and bed excellent, empty fridge provided. Large supermarket just across the road, eateries everywhere nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would've been nice if there were shades on the windows but the curtains were also good enough.

    The room was perfect for two, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom equipped with everything necessary (I liked in particular the soap fragrance!). The breakfast was super - quite varied and on Saturdays and Sundays lasting until 11:00.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we were initially given was on the first floor and facing the courtyard. On the courtyard there is also a restaurant which emits really strong greasy food smell every day and unfortunately our room smelled very strongly of it as well. Luckily the hotel staff switched us to a room on the third floor facing the other side of the street the following night and there were no unappealing smells.

    The location of the hotel is excellent and they provide really nice breakfast every day. Free WIFI is excellent, really fast and works without a complaint in the rooms. Staff speaks excellent english and they are friendly. Bathrooms are renovated but otherwise the room decor needs updating but rooms were clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there had been directions in English for using the sauna, particularly the settings and how long it takes to warm up. The spa tub and shower has only tiny "star like" lights in the ceiling - very romantic but not very bright when you’re having a shower. It would be nice to have a luggage rack available.

    I had the posh room with the spa tub and private sauna. The room was huge and had excellent WiFi. Breakfast was good with lots of choices but not amazing and it was consistently over the 4 mornings I was there, exactly the same. In less than 5 minutes walking you are in the old town and you can easily walk to most of the sites. Also very close to the port if you’re arriving by ferry.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room and most of the other rooms in the hotel face a courtyard. Residents of the adjacent hostel return and gather every night between 1.00 and 4.00 a.m , for the whole of that time there is excessive continuous noise.This is a serious issue, BE WARNED.

    The location is perfect for bars , restaurants , the Old Town and the port, plus bus stops and supermatkets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lunch package that we got at five in the morning was only a single sandwich and an apple was very little. The room where I slept on the road side was very very noisy

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell of canalization in the bathroom plus lack of ventilation made it unpleasant.

    Staff - very friendly. Breakfast - wide variety & tasty. The room we got was very quiet and the bed comfortable, so we slept really well. We used the airport shuttle when we arrived late at night. While expensive (22 EUR), it was very useful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was bloody hot and without drinks in the mini bar to cool down. Airconditioning was not working and windows couldn't be opened. Next to this, the shower is also old fashioned.

    The employees where very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This is a lovely hotel in an perfect location- close to the old town, shopping, restaurants, etc. The hotel was very good value - breakfast included. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be a little noisy on street outside if you have the window open but nothing terrible.

    Very close to the old town, shops, bars, places of interest and port. Friendly and helpful staff, happy to help in any way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the location. It is close to the old city, and everything is within walking distance: the supermarket, the traditional shops, etc.. Staff were friendly and prompt in replying to my questions, and helping me upon arrival. The room was clean, neat and it felt like home. Will definitely recommend for all travelers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible/unhelpful staff - asked for information about the town and transportation, and staff replied “they don’t know” or “it’s not with me”. Horrible beds, very expensive for what it is. We had booked a double bed and ended up with a twin room. Bathroom smelt like sewage that spread to the whole room. Shower flooded everywhere.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and the bedding; the view from my window; the absence of tea/coffee facility in the room. You need to: Improve your idea of a 'double' bed. My concept of a double-bed is one single mattress (not two separate ones as you have!). Also, only two pillows - and that also flimsy thin ones - is poor bedding.

    The property was clean, tidy and generally appeared good. The staff were polite and helpful. The restaurant and the breakfast were very good. The temperature in the room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was told the ancient main sewer of the old city has it's capacity problems, which explained the fact that the ground water smell enters the bathroom after some time. Running the shower for a few minutes takes care of that but not permanently.

    Hotel Bern offers a 5-minute walk to the charming Tallinn City Centre. The staff is very helpful and interested and the breakfast offers choice and is value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately our room had a sewer smell (apparently some renovation works were in progress). When we reported this we were immediately offered another room, and that was fine. Everyone else in our party was very happy with their rooms and the hotel. One minor incident was the Beer Garden has an entrance in the hotel's courtyard, also a hostel. One night at 2.30am there was a disturbance with loud shouting and annoying revellers leaving the Beer Garden waking me up.

    On the edge of old Tallinn close to restaurants and town hall square. The rooms are small but comfortable with mini fridge and tv. The breakfast included in the room rate was good continental style with scrambled eggs Swedish meatballs and toast. Lovely dining-room. Friendly and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room very small (smaller than expected) Unable to open window which left the room uncomfortably warm (even with radiator turned off). Portable air conditioning unit made available but was very noisy.

    Great location. Reception staff excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    May be the rooms could be more interesting in colour, but it is not so important.

    The accomodation is perfect, next to the Old Town, opposite the supermarket, 2 steps to the excursions start and all transport routes. The hotel is small, very quiet, clean, the personnel is very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have had a bigger selection, but everything that there was, was delicious.

    This place is good value for your money. Very clean and very quiet. The room had everything we needed. Also the location was very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the noise that was coming from the pub that had an outside smoking area right in front of the hotel. Very noisy and loud. The breakfast was modest and didn’t meet the expectations.

    Right in old town, no need to take a cab, everything is a short walk away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wished more choices for breakfast, especially warm foods.

    Room was very peaceful and lovely. Staff were very nice and friendly from reception :) they even bring our coffees to our room and called taxi without extra cost. Location is perfect for travellers; Old Town nearby and lot of restaurants near the hotel. Harbour is also near, only 600m away. I highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from drunk people during late night/ early morning. It took more than 10 minutes before the shower water was warm.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, close to city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit of strange odour in the room (subjective and not too big of a discomfort). The colour of the room was kind of old-school. Internet could be faster.

    Excellent price for the location and service (amenities in room are basic, but everything was clean and orderly). Quality breakfast with good selection (especially taking into account that Bern is budget hotel). Great reception - lady went an extra mile to feel welcomed (even offered to switch the booked room to bigger one).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold in the first night, because the heat is off when the guest arrives. When outside are negative temperatures and wind, this may be a problem.

    Great location, very close to the old town. Comfortable bed and pillow. Very clean room. Staff is very kind and always happy to help. I recommend it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Yes, there is a faint sewerage smell as reviewed by others. 2. The button for the elevator never worked for me. It was highly sensitive. As a result I walked up and down the stairs instead. No good if you have lots of luggage. 3. Only one pillow on the bed. 4. The shower takes a long time to warm up. The water was luke warm, not hot.

    The room was clean and the location convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When you take the shower, you inevitably wet the floor, but it is not such a big deal.

    Excellent price-quality ratio, very central position, big room, English-speaking staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first they gave us a room which smelled really bad. After I informed staff about the issue they exchanged it immediately.

    Great service and friendly staff. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I really disliked this time was the relatively strong bad smell in the room, which was located on the entry level. Therefore lower points of cleanliness and comfort.

    Hotel Bern a nice, small, simple and quiet hotel in the Old Town. Easy access with the taxi. The staff is friendly and breakfast moderate but good enough compared to the price. I have stayed here several times before, so I knew what to expect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was really well situated to where we wanted to be - a 10 minute walk max to the old town and a 20 minute walk from the ferry port. It was clean and had a nice en-suite shower room. The beds were really comfy. The breakfast in the morning had a large variety, so you didn't go hungry. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful on our arrival and departure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was literally kicked-out of the breakfast room and told to go and pay before having breakfast by some Alexei or similar. I was in a hurry so I just left and had breakfast elsewhere. The room on the ground floor had a window that would not open, so for air I had to rely on a noisy air conditioner. There were also other strange noises in the room during the night: water pumping or smth similar. The bathroom drain had a nasty smell which I fought by keeping the light and ventilation on during the night.

    The hotel is at a good location, close to public transport, excellent reception staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me it wasn't that important but it should be mentioned that comments on bathroom are right. There is a bath curtain so bathroom gets wet, but they put a wiping tool into bathroom for this :) So if you have sleepers with you I think it is not a big problem . In third floor I didn't have any problem with sound from outside but they also provide earplug :) in the room. I can say bed wasn't that comfortable but it was ok, not less than average.

    Location was perfect and the staff was really helpfull. Very close to old town (so famaous restaurant olde hansa is about 5 mins walk) there is a supermarket across the street where you can find all you need including take away food. Public transport easly accesible and airport is about 20 minutes with tram no 4. It was a perfect choice for me to easily reach touristic spots while staying in comfortoble hotel (but of course it depends on your expectation). My expectation from hotel was average and definitely met. I'd definitely choose for the next trips with this price / performance ratio.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a little bit of trouble finding it at first, so get directions from the ferry if you are walking.

    It's in a great location inside the walls but close to a main street out to the new city. Staff were exceptionally helpful: ensured absolute quiet in an upper floor room, gave me directions to everything, arranged my very early morning taxi, and prepared a gluten free breakfast-in-a-bag to take away. It is modest with small rooms, a reasonable walk from the ferry, but easy enough to roll your bags and avoid the taxi queue.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast is same everyday. After shawer, water spreads in bathroom.

    Staffs are friendly and a room has no ploblem. Breakfast is good. Location is good, next to old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was horrible! Whoever designed it probably did not take showers. There was no barrier between the shower and the toilet so the water was all over the bathroom when one took a shower.

    The location is good in the sense that it is convenient to the Old Town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced,by some distance.Good staff,helpful,but unable to move on the price,was going to book another 3 nights ...... but wanted too much.Wanted 270 euro s as i remember(cross weekend,but they'd already got me on their books,the front end cost had been warn off ).Had to us McD's for WiFi ! ! ! Up sticks & went to Tartu ....... similar standard hotel,2/3 the price.Nice city,a lot less bull.

    Good staff , helpful , engaged .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location: on the edge of Old Town but also convenient to new town, ferry docks, trams, and the bus terminal. Big grocery store across the street. Incredible breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't think of anything to complain.

    The house is located near the old town (walking distance), the staff is very friendly and helpful, our room was calm (to a courtyard), there is an elevator. Breakfast was good, everything was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a pub in the hotel yard and so it is very noisy at nights. The hotel even provides earplugs in the room :-) So you cannot leave the window open and have to turn on the air conditioner. The shower is awful, there is a curtain that doesn't prevent a water from splashing all over the floor, the hotel even provides mop in the bathroom and you have to clean all the water yourself. The mattresses are well worn out and uncomfortable.

    The location is very good and there is a supermarket nearby. The breakfast is reasonably good. The stuff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room is painted yellow and bare of any decoration, which makes to me a quite depressing impression, but it is a subjective judgment. The worst is the smell coming from the bath, and that is not due to a shortness of cleaning (indeed everything is very clean), but rather to the canalisations. A foul smell is emanating from the shower syphon, especially at night. This disgusting smell of course spreads through the room and is certainly not conducive to a good night’s rest. We informed the reception of the problem and while they assured us that they would be looking into the matter, the foul smell held on during the whole duration of our stay.

    The hotel staff is particularly friendly and the hotel’s location is excellent for visiting the old town of Tallin. The breakfast is not the best I have ever eaten, but it is OK. The room in itself has everything one needs and the bath has been renovated and looks very nice. The beds are very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    smelliness in bathroom was quite disturbing, could be improved

    Breakfast was good, especially one service guy was taking care about the guests very well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor ventilation in bathroom made whole room smell very unpleasant. No bathrobe or slippers provided. No windows which opened.

    Convenient location to Old Town and transport. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't need our towels changed every day - to save water and washing costs Bern Hotel should ask guests to leave towels on the floor if they want them washed, otherwise there's no need to wash towels every day. We asked twice, not to have them changed, and were successful once, but not the second time, probably to be fair because of language difference!

    Reception staff were really friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Good location near buses and easy walk into the old city. Right opposite Restoran Lusikas, where the food was absolutely superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like many things about this hotel, located next to a hostel where young people hang out all night drinking smoking and talking. The a/c did not work during the 4 night stay, despite me asking to have it repaired or change my room. No other rooms were available. The towels were old and threadbare. The room was noisy with no 'sitting' chairs. There was a small desk with a very uncomfortable chair to sit when using ones laptop. The carpets throughout the hotel needs replaced. Breakfast was poor and the room used was not big enough for the amount of guests.

    The staff were very nice, friendly and always smiling. The hotel is located very close to Old Town within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wall between bathroom and shower. Therefore you need to clean the floor from water after each shower. The window can not be open

    Staff was very helpfull

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed is a bit too soft for me. The bathroom sometimes has the smell.

    Perfect location (supermarket and restaurants around, next to the old town, walking distance from the Port and easy access to buses and trams), lovely and comfortable room, excellent breakfast with many choices, very good service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is superb, just 200 meters from the gate of the Old Town. The staff and facility is very nice. The breakfast was good and plentiful. The hotel is set back from the street, a quiet street, so there was no noise heard in our room. And WiFi worked great. I really recommend this spot and would be pleased to visit again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was perhaps a little limited/disappointing, but by no means terrible, and, perhaps we're a little old-fashioned, but the idea of a shower at the same level as the rest of the bathroom with no barriers between it and the rest of the floor as well as no discernible slope towards the drain isn't that brilliant!

    Great location - just within the outer fringes of the old town, but minutes away from the centre. It was also only an easy 15-minute walk from the ferry port (arrival) and a short taxi drive (less than 10 euros) from the airport (departure). A tram service from the centre of town to the airport is also supposedly opening in the near future. Staff, room and other stuff were fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not working. The baby chair at the breakfast room was broken and a bit dangerous for a baby.

    Room was quiet even though there was a road under our window.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the rooms can be noisy at night from nearby hostel but keep window closed and you won't hear it or use earplugs and you'll be fine.

    Excellent staff who gave 1st rate customer service. Rooms were spotless. Wide variety of produce at breakfast. Location is fantastic for the old town. Less than a 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the bathroom was very bad and the design of it was not well thought out. The room decor was a bit dated. However the pluses outweighed the minuses.

    The location and breakfast were the best things about this hotel. The staff were ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Overall we enjoyed our seven nights stay at the Hotel Bern. The staff were friendly, help full and obliging. The buffet breakfast was substantial and delicious. The hotel is in a great location close to the entry of the old town, all places of interest are within walking distance. A chemist and supermarket are located opposite the hotel. The bed, in the initial room we were allocated, was too soft / unsuitable for us. The next day the hotel relocated us another room on the third floor that was more comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good

    The room was nice, lady at reception polite and helpful. Helped us to understand how to get around and reach the places we needed to reach. Room was cleat, breakfast tasty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only junk food in mini bar. Why not insert the Raw Bite bars in the mini bar ?

    Breakfast very good, comfort room, location near centrum and commercial area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms on the ground floor, though it haven't affected our stay in any way.

    Located just in the Old Town with good breakfast, welcoming personnel and a cosy child crib for my little boy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a late-hours beer bar in the inner courtyard that my room overlooked and the noise, though not constant, was loud enough and frequent enough to wake me up a number of times. Bring earplugs!!

    Excellent location, a couple of short blocks to the old town (and right across the street from a supermarket open 0800-2300). Fifteen to twenty minutes on foot to the central train station, ten to fifteen minutes by taxi (5-6 euros) to the central bus station. Comfortable bed and pillow, good room temp, good water temp and pressure in the shower (but no divider or lip between the shower floor and the bathroom floor, so prepare for water when you step out), good in-room WiFi reception. Breakfast in the basement b'fast room -- eggs, variety of breads and cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, juices, coffee. Elevator to all three floors and basement. Easy check-in and check-out. I came by public transportation so I don't know about parking; also no comment on the in-room minibar or small flatscreen tv, which I didn't use.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I regret, however, that the dishes are not changed or cleaned regularly.

    A very good welcome, the staff is smiling and friendly. The rooms are decent and clean. The small tray with tea and coffee in the room is very appreciated. The breakfast was very good and varied. I keep a very good impression of this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed is good when you sleep alone. If your partner moves, the whole bed moves. Our room was on the streetside and we heard a lot of noise from the street.

    Room was clean, breakfast enough and tasty. Location perfect, between old and new citycenter. Wifi was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom seemed to be recently renovated but it gets kind of floaded cause there is no barrier between the shower and the rest. There was a funny smell coming out of the sink. At night, there was noise coming out of a disco or something which made it difficult to sleep. The bed was made up of a somier and a mattress overlay, no mattress in between, which came apart while sleeping at night.

    The property is really well located. It is not in the city center but it is walking distance from all mayor attractions. The staff is really nice and polite. They even sold me stamps and offered to post my postcards for me. Breakfast was normal. There is a supermarket just in front of it open until late, a beer garden and a pita place in the same block.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor insulation between rooms, lots of noise especially coming from the patio (there is a pub/restaurant) - we could not sleep properly before 5 am. Breakfast room is in the basement (no windows) and it is very limited.

    Close location form the Ferry terminal (Viking Line) and the old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was open, so it flooded the bathroom floor every time we showered. Curtains didn't block sunlight enough.

    Very near the city center, just outside the city walls. Has a supermarket right in front and reception is open 24h. Staff speaks good English and have a storeroom to keep your baggage if you arrive early or when you check-out but still have some time to explore the city. The room was comfortable and had free and fast WI-FI. Breakfast had enough variety and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located next to a Beer Garden, from which the noise from the revelers kept my son up most of the night. The tile floor of the shower is an extension of the bathroom floor with a slight depression for water to drain. However, the water pouring out from the shower was difficult to adjust thus, the bathroom floor was covered in water.

    Our hotel room was clean, comfortable and perfectly fuctional. The hotel staff were feindly and helpful. They took care and time to answer our questions and direct us to the elevator and breakfast room. The breakfast was good and substantial.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception, we had to fill some kind of documents with passport number etc... Hello! We are all from EU, made look Estonia like medieval country

    Comfortable bed, very very good location, everything is just at the doorstep

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Again a drunk screamer outside, but it is absolutely not the hotels fault - some people obvs can not handle their intake...

    Very practical location. Excellent choice for business and holidaying. Good room with all essentials, choose your level of extras. Grocery store opposite. Friendly staff, both front desk and housekeeping 😊

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is very expensive in this area. But do not hesitate to ask the staff where to find not an expensive parking. We found one at the intersection of Joe and Narva mnt. It's just 10 minutes to walk and costs 4.5 euro/day.

    Nice and cosy facility. Clean and quiet room. Friendly staff. Breakfast is very good. The location is perfect - just 2 minutes to walk to the old town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noiseproofing issues regarding some rooms: there was a locked connecting door to next guest room (between rooms 101 and 102), and we could hear everything that was happening in the next room. Not like the other guests were especially noisy, the door just didn't block even quiet conversation - heard every word! In otherwise good and clean hotel, this was a bit annoying.

    The location is obviously great and this is generally a trustworthy, friendly place to stay (been there several times) with reasonable prices.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing can think of.

    Staff went out of way to be helpful and provided everything asked for, including kettle, wake up call, early breakfast, taxi. All on time with no fuss. Didnt experience any noise from bar next door like others, probably because was quiet time of year and week. Is perfectly located between ferry terminal, main city and old town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no physical separation between the shower and the rest of the bathroom. This causes the water to go around most of the (tiny) bathroom. At least you have a squeezer to remove the water after showering...

    Good breakfast, great value for money. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it very hot, had to turn radiator down and couldn't open the window, but it's probably my age.

    Plenty of choice for breakfast, very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff who charged room twice and refused to refund. Breakfastroom looked more like a bombshelter with no windows and really snall

    Location and pricing was excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the shower. The bathroom is very clean, there are lotions, shampoo, plenty of towels..... the only problem is that you have water everywhere when you take a shower, but it's OK for a short holiday.

    Really very close to the centre. Staff at the reception very friendly and helpful. Very quiet room. Good breakfast. It is possible to have Italian and French channels on TV.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom shower without cab only curtain/ windows sealed maybe because standard room and ground floor.

    location very good / breakfast very good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower faucet had a broken button, but was not a problem to get hot water, like in another room.

    This time I got a good room on third floor, thank you.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms have a slope which makes the water flow all over a bit.

    The hotel was in a great location and great for the price paid (breakfast included)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows are facing bar where the music and drunkers celebrate till 7.00 am. => Expect no sleep at all. The room had the door inside and you could hear neighbors. Window goes to dark Place with bars. The description says that there will be bath robe and bath slippers, but there is none. This hotel is a joke for such price 99 euros.

    nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality check is poor, It was a bit freezing in those first days of Autumn, no heating, only I got heat after few hours when I found shower floor heating and turned to the max (the same was done by my colleague in other room), slept with two blankets, like outside. Shower faucet with thermostat was broken, I only could get poorly warm water instead of washbasin, where was normal faucet. And I was bit too tired to go and complain.

    Breakfast was good. More or less quite place in center, depends if people walk past your windows.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As Bern was packed, they offered upscale accommodation at there partner hotel. Thats terrific care for customers! One can only hope that other hotels are just as mindful as Bern! Special thanks to the staff member who worked on 24.09.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Bern by TallinnHotels traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: