Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hestia Hotel Ilmarine 4 stars

Põhja pst 21b, Põhja-Tallinn, 10414 Tallinn, Estonia

#42 of 99 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1567 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    My stay was perfect, I would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, close to Old Town and the port. The staff is friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean and updated nicely. Above all, the rooms were as quiet as a whisper!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Good room, quiet, good breakfast, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception desk were super rude and unfriendly. No words of welcome, no thanks and totally a disgusted look on the face. A real Soviet experience, 25 years after independence... Hotel was difficult to find. Is not advertised from the street under its name. There is a different name outside "pk ilmarine". We drove round and round before figuring out we had to enter a private courtyard to find the hotel. Hotel collects guests' laundry only 3 times per week and not on week end so it is not practical. After back and forth discussion, a staff agreed to call an outside laundry operator to come and collect from us.

    Good room, quiet, good breakfast, good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel, bad staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very bad, the staff did not warn me of Marathon in the city, as a result, it was difficult to access to the hotel. The adjacent streets were in repair near the hotel. It gave the cumbersome access to the hotel. There's no information on the website, nor from the hotel staff about this situation. Receptionist informed us that the hotel's parking place is busy and I have to look for parking place for my car elsewhere in the city. Next to the hotel is the city's parking place, but receptionist did not know in what way I can pay for it! I had to ask people on the street, to learn about ways to pay for parking place next to the hotel. Information about it was the only in Estonian language (next to the hotel!!!). At the room of the two people we had two cups of coffee, but only one teaspoon. On first day coffee were for two people, but on the second day it was not. I had to pay for two nights the same price! This is not a 4 star hotel! Good hotel, bad staff!

    Location, building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyed every minute looking forward to returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here four times now, this Hotel suits all our needs when visiting Tallinn.

    This is the fourth time staying at this Hotel. The rooms are adequate, very clean, well stocked mini bar if you needed anything. The breakfast had something for everyone. The location of the Hotel is great, only a short walk to the old town and all the bars and restaurants. The only thing with our stay this year is there are a lot of roadworks going on around the Hotel, so a few small detours to get to the old town are required. This however did not impact on a wonderful visit once again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Keep an eye on the time!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could be a little more friendly. There was a lot of rigidity to times eg bar shut 10pm everyone out finished or not...even on World Cup nights. Breakfast finished at 10am rigidly so if you arrived at 9.55 and put on toast they turned it all off at 10am and everyone out finished or not. Considering we were paying guests this was somewhat archaic and rude. The mini bars only stocked 1 bottle of each type of drink inc 1 plain water so in a twin room this wasn't very helpful.

    It was clean and comfortable and well located for walking into the old town or the harbour and tram and bus stops were nearby. There was a supermarket only 5 mins walk which was handy. Quite quiet area so pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent value for money. Nice old building, big rooms. Extra bonus for a "breakfast-bags" for very early check-out guests :) Third time on this hotel but not a last one. 15 minutes walk to ferry.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Overall a nice hotel but room for improvement for guests benefit. Staff were courteous, professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast average. Water from taps wasn’t recommended for drinking so a little personal touch like leaving a couple of bottles of free drinking water in the room for your arrival at least, especially when the weather was so hot! An information booklet left in the rooms, showing the hotels facilities, menu and prices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Place and conditions are perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information about parking option is missleading. "parking available" - if you are 100% with car is incorect option. We were charged 15 eur aditional for hotel parking. Public areas with parking close to the Tallin center, when you dont now estonian language is game or mission impossible.

    Place and conditions are perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Very Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place ticks all the boxes, perfect location between the old town and the ferry terminal - just a short walk either way. The room had good aircon, minibar, lots of channels on the TV, and a bathroom with everything you could need. The breakfast was good, pretty standard but plenty to chose from and nice. Very good value for money so I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel, will definitely come back
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing hotel. Arrived after midnight, staff helped to find parking. Amazing breakfast. Very close to ferry terminal. Basically in the old part of the town. I would definitely recommend to colleagues and friends.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    The location is very good, you don't have to live in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is close to the port, so one time it was a bit noisy from cruise ships, another time it smelled really bad outside. Other than that, the neighborhood is very quiet. The hardest part was finding the hotel on car, the address won't lead you to the destination, you have to notice the sign that doesn't say Hestia. The staff was very helpful though.

    The location is very good, you don't have to live in the old city, and it's only one kilometer from the ferry station. Restaurant is very good, I highly recommend trying their desserts. It's also cheaper than eating out in the old city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel that meets all your expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby area could be improved

    Very nice and clean hotel , rich breakfast with very attentive staff Less than 10 min walk to the old town and to the A terminal for the helsinki ship

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Very, very, very kind staff, at reception and restaurant too!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very, very, very kind staff, at reception and restaurant too! The waitress was especially great! :) They were helpful and friendly in all! The location is excellent, near to the sea and also to the old town. I recommend to everyone! :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay & would recommend the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    The staff were pleasant & helpful. There was a mix up with our rooms but the staff sorted it immediately & gave us chocolates for the inconvenience. The rooms were fine. The beds comfortable. There was sufficient choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    I would definitely stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service and the facilities were very good quality. Rooms very very clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was very forthcoming and kind with all the requests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable rooms, big breakfast buffet with a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A generic business hotel. Confusion about booking. Breakfast includes a lot of instant, packaged, canned, or freeze-dried crap.

    Clean, comfortable rooms, big breakfast buffet with a lot of choices. The location is a 10-minute walk from the Sea Gate of Tallinn's old town, just across the street from a big supermarket and around the corner from a tram stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    A very good location to Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed covers too hot.

    A very good location to Old Town. Comfortable room with a nice breakfast. Receptionist helpful with identifying places on the map and ordering taxi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    I will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing particular.

    Great location, just a few min walk from the old town and ca. 15 min walk from the harbour. Big modern rooms and bathrooms, clean. Awesome breakfast with a lot of choices! This was the best!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Not bad for turist without cars. Very bad who comes with a car because of additional payments..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning not working in a room and corridors. The smell is very bad because of lack of fress air.. And it's only a spring. Can't imagine how it will be in the middle of summer. No FREE parking!!! 15eur for parking per night! And if you want to reserve parking space (because the parking place is a small) you have to pay extra 10Eur!! But when you arrive the parking place is empty and there is space.. Dirty tricks to get more money from customers...

    I like the location. Close to the coast and to the old city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed at 10pm, afterwards not even a sandwich or a snack available. Breakfast. Buffet nice, could have been richer with more fresh fruit and no gluten food

    Good value for money, convenient located in a really quiet area, although I had a ground floor room! Clean, modern, bed extremely comfortable and breakfast buffet good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location, bright and comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wi-fi was not working for me all the stay (I could connect to the wi-fi, but had no internet access), and the staff told me is my problem, that it does not work. I tried modify the wifi settings, but still was not working. The sink in a room was also not working as the water did not run out and at all times it stayed full of water.

    Great location, bright and comfortable room. Breakfast was also nice. Complementary bottle of sparkling wine surprised me a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    4.6
    Good location but a lot of minuses
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had very bad rooms with windows that open to inside of the building. Ventillation bad air condition did not work. No air at night. Bad beds. We recommend to avoid such rooms. Noisy rooms. Reception guys would need more training.

    Convenient place near centre, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Hotel interior design is modern and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not as clean as we expected (stains on walls, towels).

    Hotel interior design is modern and enjoyable. We were completely satisfied with the excellent breakfast. It is easy to find free parking in the nearest courtyards.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast with numerous warm dishes, high standard of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast with numerous warm dishes, high standard of cleanliness, perfect location near port and public transport, as a booking.com genius we even got welcome drinks

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.8
    location is fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad and ignorant service. There was a (technical) problem with toalett facilities. We informed the staff but the problem was not fixed. Service at check out was really ignorant.

    location is fine

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent place to stay with a good breakfast to set me on my day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were excellent and couldn't be more helpful. The location was ideal for me, Ok it wasn't in the old town, but it was only a five minute walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was very clean, breakfast had a nice selection and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the staff told me on the first night that I did not need to pay for parking due to miscommunication. When I checked out I was charged for the parking. I informed the hotel that their representative had told me that I would not have to pay for parking the first night. Everyone had to check with the manager, who was hided in another room, before they could make any decisions. The final decision was that they would not honor the free parking. The problem was not fee for parking, the problem was lack of concern for customer satisfaction-mine- for the small fee of parking.

    The hotel was very clean, breakfast had a nice selection and the young staff at the counter were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    3.3
    Too many mistakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - dust in the room - cards opening the room demagnetized every day - wrong pay operations with my card I paid all the price for room at check-in. But on the second day 190 euro more were debited from my card. Fortunately I noticed it at the moment and had no problem with refunding by hotel staff. But on the next day after my leaving 6 more euro were debited by the hotel from my card. I called booking.com and they said that hotel had debited it because I had used minibar. But it was absolutely impossible, cause you have to get a key from minibar at the reception desk if ypu want to use it. And I did not do it. So I wrote to hotel by email. They apologized for the mistake and assured me about refunding. But almost a month has past since check-out and I still don`t see any refunding operation. To many mistakes.

    Location is not bad. Not a long walk from city center, ralway station, ferry station and the sea. Private parking. Really tasty coffee

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Walking distance to anywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was expensive, but there was room at the street.

    I liked standard of cleaning, interiour and outside feeling, breakfast buffé and locations near sea surrounded with new apartment houses.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Good for quick stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have more choice. In web it was mentioned that there is JYM but in fact it was small room with several simulators with no a/c at all.

    The room was clean and have enough space, the hotel is new and clean itself and located in modern area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    Stays in deluxe room - it was large enough and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some strange things with staff on reception - during check-in one receptionist says there're no any free parking spaces now - and second says "look, here it is". On check-out - I accidentally found that I have free parking as "deluxe room guest" in some internal brochure just in time of entering my PIN for parking payment :) Receptionist says nothing about it before my words, but, of course, reduced invoice price after that. Very small parking. We've lucky to come first and get one. I'm sure about 5 more cars had to find anything else. Poor gym - very small uncomfortable room. Have no idea how to use it. No any electrical outlets near bed. At all found only 1 non-occupied outlet in room near and only near the door.

    Stays in deluxe room - it was large enough and comfortable for family with 1-2 kids. Very quiet hotel, good soundproofing in rooms. Good breakfast, appropriate for kids. Location in 5 minutes walk to old town with private parking. Parking is free for deluxe rooms (no info on booking.com about it, and it was nice surprise). There're also some free street parking spaces on street nearby (check with road signs!) 3 minutes to near tram stop.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Really helpful staff always greet us with a smile :))...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was trash remained on the floor when we went in the room. Toiletries need to paid to be used, should have warned us. It kind of made bad first impression for the room, even though we prepared ourselves anyway.

    Really helpful staff always greet us with a smile :)) Location is very close to old town. Quiet at night

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    A bit unusual but surprisingly nice location above the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No dedicated pedestrian path to the hotel which hotel would benefit much. Cleaning service was overall ok but could be a bit better.

    A bit unusual but surprisingly nice location above the old town next to the water. Old factory building creates unique hotel atmosphere. Spacious room with great set of facilities. Friendly staff and good breakfast inc. espresso style coffee.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    Very clean and comfortable, modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Very clean and comfortable, modern hotel. A beautiful building. Customer service was swift and professional. Breakfast was good but nothing special; lots of options available. A tiny bit tucked away from both the downtown area and the old town, but, as Tallinn is a very small city, both areas could very easily be reached with a 10-minute walk. Overall a very good experience, I will likely use the hotel again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.3
    Quite basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - hollow pillows (no support for your neck); no slippers/bath robes - excessive heating system (bath floor was boiling) - nearly no pastries at breakfast (only mini croissant and 2 average cakes), no hot milk either - superficial daily housekeeping - location: 10 minutes walk to old town, 20 to terminal D (ferry to Helsinki)

    - wi-fi - large room even for standard doubles - nice and large bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.0
    Walls are from paper, so you can hear everything what...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are from paper, so you can hear everything what happens in another rooms and floor!!! Furniture is old and very modest. A lot of drunk people from Finland! On the photos the rooms are much more beautiful than in reality!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Location and fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took a day and a half to get a lighbulb replaced. Upon check in, I mentioned that I would have a very early check out on my departure day, I.e. 5:00 am. The receptionist offered a brown-bag breakfast for me to eat at the airport. On the day I left, no brown bag. A couple who was also leaving early got theirs.

    Location and fair price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    2.5
    Terrible experience . Avoid at all costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without a doubt the worst imaginable 4 star hotel. The rooms are dirty even for a 1-star hotel . There are small bugs in the carpet. The bathroom was super dirty as well. The tall lady at the front desk (who said she was the night shift manager on duty) is the least friendly I have ever encountered at a hotel reception. I wouldn't even stay here for free if I am In Tallinn again.

    There is a nice garden not far from the hotel. There are also good restaurants within walking distance. The hotel's restaurant is not good though

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    - Comfy hotel on the outskirts of the old town, close to ferry terminal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Breakfast variety wasn't ideal but doable. Quality was lacking though :( - Definitely on a further side of town.

    - Comfortable bed. - Overall, nice, new building. - Awesome global beer store / coffee shop nearby. - Great location for getting to/from ferry. - OK restaurant on premises. - Nice and close to waterline

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Weekend in Tallinn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I indicated that I wish to book a parking (in booking.com description was mentioned, that it is not possible, but I decided to try as it was important). It was not indicated ANYWHERE in the description that to book a parking space in advance costs 10€!!! In the end I paid 10€+10€ just for parking (one night). Too much.. I was really dissappointed.

    Location is the best thing about this hotel, as well as the breakfast. Room was OK, maybe too hot for us, but it's subjective opinion.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    This is a really nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a really nice hotel! It is very reasonably priced, the location is great, the interior design is very tasteful and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    Pros and cons, but fine overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from the road right next to my room (2nd floor of 3) and the view blocked by a concrete structure (like a bridge). The lack of sound-proofing, including from the corridor! Having to ask for coffee, tea and kettle for my room, and the keys for the safe and minibar/fridge!

    The location of the hotel, close to the conference centre, the port and the old historic town centre. Some of the staff members who were particularly welcoming and helpful. Comfortable bed. Nice small bar and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Good value hotel, clunky check-in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was slow and absolutely no flexibility to do so before 14.00.

    The room was very comfortable, quiet, good size and excellent bathroom. The hotel is a short walk from the old town, shoreline and culture centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Excellent location, wifi and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was decent but could be improved with more coffee options (cappuccino, cold coffee, etc).

    Excellent big rooms, cleaning and very friendly staff. Excellent location close to main train station Balti Jaam, there's a supermarket on the corner open until 11pm and walking distance to historic city. No noise at all and very good, very fast WiFi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Fat Margaret is in the near
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disgusting corridor design, parking anomalies, average staff, friendly atmosphere is missing.

    Close to the Old Town. Spacious rooms. Coffe/tea making machine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Comfy stay within walking distance to the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The entrance is a little awkward to get to if going by public transportation or walking (sharing the road with any cars coming or going) but not a huge issue. There aren't any tea or coffee making facilities, although the mini-bar is well-stocked.

    Room was nice and spacious, air conditioning seemed a bit weak to start but was working well once it got going. The minibar and safe require keys from reception but were great to have in-room. Lots of storage space in the wardrobe and the shower stall in the gleaming bathroom felt larger than most I've experienced. Great selection of foods at breakfast (try the kama!), although I didn't have lunch or dinner at the restaurant, I did notice other guests making use of their services. I was especially impressed at how frequently the staff continued to replenish the breakfast foods, even as late as 9:45 when breakfast stops serving at 10. There is a large Rimi supermarket very close by, which made it convenient for picking up snacks and other necessary items. Cute decor throughout the halls leading to the rooms. While not located within the Old Town, it's very close and within walking distance of the port (ferries and cruise ships) as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    The hotel has a very good location, basically across the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could have been a bit more diverse or with better ingredients. The bed mattress could have been a bit more firm and not that soft. BIG MINUS: too much noise from the air conditioning even if it was shut. You could hear the ac from other rooms and it was disturbing during the night when you try to fall asleep.

    The hotel has a very good location, basically across the street from the old city centre. It was close also to the Harbour (highly recommend a ferry trip to Helsinki). Appreciated very much the local breakfast items. The room was nothing spectacular, but clean and cozy. Tallinn is a very nice and special city, perfect for a city break. Don't invest too much time on it or you will be disappointed. As a recommendation: stay in Helsinki and take a day trip to Tallinn. We did the opposite and Tallinn can be seen in just one or two days.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    6.3
    Large coach tour group in the restaurant and not enough...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large coach tour group in the restaurant and not enough staff to deal with them and other guests. I was shown a small table in a corner, and then told by another waiter that I couldn't sit there because the area was for groups. When I asked for another, I was told the kitchen was very busy and it was suggested I should try somewhere else. Bad planning (the hotel must have known that the large group would be eating there) and bad customer relations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.4
    Was upgraded to "business class room", propably...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV-set did not work (antenna cable broken) and nobody was able or willing to fix it. The lady at the reception repeated " I cannot do anything". This was really annoying, after being traveling for weeks and having one free evening to watch local TV. No idea of it was fixed for the next evening - gave up and did not spend more free time in this hotel.

    Was upgraded to "business class room", propably because the other rooms were full. Business class included "free mini-bar" - which contained one bottle of beer..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location, worth to stay but there are also good alternatives
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -hotel design: Outside of the hotel, you would think the hotel is modern, but when you walk in the hallway to your rooms, you could easily see the doors of the rooms, carpets, walls wearing off. -lacking main items in the room: Unfortunately the room does not offer the guests complimentary water, tea or coffee. For a 4* hotel, we were expecting to use hotel slippers during our stay. Overall, the room provides you basic needs, not more.

    -breakfast: If you have experienced breakfasts in the northern part of Europe before, you would know that you should not expect many things. But the hotel proved us wrong, we enjoyed having variety of foods. Besides foods, orange juice was good enough, tea options were satisfying. -location: Like other comments, we loved being very close to the old town. From the hotel you can walk to reach old town gates in 3 mins. From airport, we paid only 8 € to arrive at the hotel. -staff: The staff were friendly and kindly answering all our questions. Thank you once again for this. -cleanliness: The room (and the bed) was clean, the towels were changed daily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location for old town explorers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy neighbourhood - busy street, inside yard of the living area

    Staff is very helpful. Hotel is nice and clean, good value for money, very well located close to the oldtown (5 min by foot)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location just next to old town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not possible to reserve parking through booking.com but if you need one it must be reserved in advance. Got parking penalty while I was doing check-in... hotel promised to settle... hope they will.

    Great location just next to old town. Decent room equipment including complementary hot drinks and espresso machine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Value for money, near the nice old town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I did not like in my room was the air ventilator in the bathroom, it was realy dirty.

    Hotel is a perfect stay, not far from the airport, very close to the old town, near the port. The building is transformed from a factory, into a hotel, very nice done. Rooms are quiet, spacious enough, and the bed sleeps well. The staff very friendly and helpfull, the breakfast was good and sufficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    4.2
    Disappointment.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Before I made a booking I made a phone call. We have agreed all conditions of my stay. Unfortunately when I came people from reception have said me not what we discussed. For me that was a problem. Finally we had not came to any solution. No flexibility. Staff fault became mine. I am not satisfied with all that. Oh and it was cold inside the room. I mentioned twice about that to the personnel.

    They have free Gym.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Nice place near the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some spots of dust in the room and in the bathroom; breakfast was good enough, yet the cutlery is too cheap (inconvenient), almost half of the bacon stripes were burnt, there wasn't enough fruits and drinks except the hot ones; there is another wall beyond your room's wall so there might be not enough daylight or it may be bad for the window view sensitive guests.

    Generally, a nice accommodation worth more than the money I paid, though in some considerations it's rather an advanced 3* than 4*. It is well located in the center, offers good service (can judge reception work only), standard buffet breakfast (bacon, sausages, salads, etc.) and rather a comfortable room (good bed, enough TV channels, nice bathroom, safe, minibar, etc.). Personally, I liked the reception staff's attitude of hospitality, their quick professional service and appreciate their live wake up call just in time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    Good location, poor cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above.

    Excellent location, nice hotel, but: when I arrived I found hairs in the room and some melted chocolate on the tap (I still hope it was chocolate and not something else), so cleanliness is not their strongest point. The breakfast is tasty and diversified, but I found a hair in the butter...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice contemporary hotel close to Old Tallinn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Card access system is glitchy - I had two issues with the room key card in 2 days. Rooms facing the road (a highway actually) could be a little bit noisy, so ear plugs are a must. Aircon is somewhat mysterious, but I managed to make it work for me. Uber drivers don't understand where the entrance is, so make sure you check where exactly you wait for the car. Taxi drivers know this hotel just fine.

    Location is great, very close to Old Tallinn. Everything's quite clean. Amenities are good. Bathroom is without issues. Bed is acceptable. Good quality Wi-Fi. Overall, it's a above-average-value-for-money business trip hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.7
    Could be better
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon arrival the bathroom was not cleaned and the toilet was dirty. I asked at the reception to get it cleaned and they did not do so for another 2 days. The toilet was not cleaned, the trash bins were not emptied. The only thing the housekeeping did was change the towels (i hope) and made the bed.

    Location was perfect, very near old town, city center and has all the facilities you need.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Best hotel in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking could be free, or included in the price of room. Wider variety of choises in the brakfast menu.

    Good breakfast, comfy beds, good sound insulation, good location, friendly staff, clean rooms. Everything was just great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.3
    Staff was very helpful and prepared breakfast box for us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is not soundproofing. The window is inside of the building and there is a cafe on the first floor. So if there are people talking, we can hear every word they say through window. The sound of elevator and people/cleaning staff talking in corridor are also annoying. That to say, different talking noise comes from both sides of the room, window and door.

    Staff was very helpful and prepared breakfast box for us because we left quite early when check out. We were so happy that there was a bathtub, so relaxing. Location is good, quite near to the old town, a supermarket and Viking line terminal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.7
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds. Awful - very uncomfortable.

    The location is good. The breakfast is tasty. The restaurant where we had our meals during the day is just awesome: delicious food, good value for money, friendly staff (thank you, Heigo!).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.3
    Allmost good,but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can hear trafficnoise quite well in the room. Cleaning was poor:There was used condoms under bed and in the corner,i told those in the reception,and they promised tell to cleaninstaff..One condom was taken away,but one was waiting fainder..on the floor was dust ec. In the bathroom was empty shower gel and shampoo-botlles..

    Hotel was nice.It has been a factorybefore,but now itwas nice place.Staff was very helpful and polite.Situation near harbour and old town is exellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    Convenient place to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    The bathroom was a great shower and had underfloor heating. The bedroom was quite basic but the beds were comfy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.0
    Nice location, good breakfast, comfortable room and beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, we didn't get a number with large bed upon request. Also, the sound isolation is not great. At 8 a.m., we could hear the noise from the corridor. Sounds from the toilet of neighbor room was around us as well.

    Nice location, good breakfast, comfortable room and beds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay in Talinn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel with modern and spacious rooms near old Town and seaport. Wifi worked well and breakfast was better quality than expected with a range of options. Good choice -can recommend. Free minibar in executive room is a great idea. Thank you for the upgrade- we will return.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Clean and tidy hotel, very Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't count too much on Complementary minibar. Not really a problem but just something to know

    Clean and tidy hotel, very Good location. We stayed at business class room and had no problem with street noice. Staff was friendly and everything went well, no problems or complaints. Breakfast was ok, i Have eaten better but also much worse.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    5.8
    Wifi very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is sad No complimentary bottle of water in the room, all hotelS in Estonia provide Phon is very weak I VE asked to check out at 1 pm instead 12 and they asked 20€ The gim is very small and not possible to open the door to outside to get some fresh air and not any windows

    Wifi very good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the corridor disturbed at night. Hard (old?) pillows. The 1st floor room was without view, a grey wall was opposite the room window.

    The location. The breakfast was ok and the breakfastroom was nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.1
    Cleaning staff ruined my mornings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaning staff came to my room without knocking 2 times (on both mornings when I was still sleeping) and did not even apologize. That was really annoying.

    Good location, comfortable bed. I had a business class room, so it was also quiet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.1
    It's good price & quality ratio in case you get a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered 3 double rooms for single use, on arrival got twins. After discussion at reception, only one of 3 twins was replaced with double due to no availability. I believe room availability must be seen during booking process. Twin rooms had terrible view to the wall and noise from the street. Double was decent.

    It's good price & quality ratio in case you get a good deal like us, 50€ for standard double single use. Rooms are rather 3*, still pretty ok.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    Location, good breakfast, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered room with one bad, but get with two. After discussings with staff, they got me room, which i was ordered, but is was not very funny. Parking, 10 eur from 1 car/1 night.

    Location, good breakfast, clean room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel with goodlooking interior.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Window is against the wall, no daylight. Location in not best to walk. By car is ok.

    Nice hotel with goodlooking interior. Breakfast ok. Parking in the courtyard. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    7.1
    Stylish reception - underwhelming rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are in desperate need of an upgrade because when you go from the modern and stylish reception to the rooms, the rooms are dull and outdated. The bathroom had paint peeling from the ceiling and a missing plug.

    The room was big and the bed was extremely comfortable. Also, the room was quiet and there were no noise disturbances (however we were in one of the rooms overlooking the car park - I imagine the rooms overlooking the main road are a little noiser). The breakfast was standard, no complaints but no compliments. The staff were friendly enough.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    5.0
    Really great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - staff was trying to sell you better room at 11 PM when you get back from long walk, really? - somebodies hair was on the bed. - hairdryer did not work. - no single bottle of free water, are you so greedy? - smell of the smoke in the non-smoking room. - breakfast was below the average. - way-way bellow 4 stars, way bellow.

    Really great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.3
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ordered early check-in but at arriving receptionist told us that there are no avaliable rooms of chosen category (standart, the most cheap) and we have to upgrade to business class with extra pay. The discrepancy in price was not so high and we were so tired that agreed realizing that it might be a trick to foist us a pricier room, because hotel was half empty and the day before we checked via Booking that there were available standart rooms. Not big deal but bad aftertaste remains. Also the toilet in our room was really stinky. We can't understand either it was poorly cleaned or it's about pipes, but there was a firm urine smell.

    Location is great - very close to Old Town and Lennusadam Seaplane Harbour (everything we need in Tallinn). The building is a former factory, renovated, stylish and trendy decorated - we liked it very much! Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfasts are excellent - tasty and various. Hotel restaurant is beyond all praise and became favourite place to eat in Tallin, dishes are delicious and portions are great!

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hestia Hotel Ilmarine traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: