Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Merchants House Hotel 4 stars

Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn City-Centre, 10123 Tallinn, Estonia

#34 of 99 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1021 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower or curtain, only bathtube Dark room Noise early morning every day under the window Breakfast room like a cave

    Staff helpful Bed, pillow are good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast location very poor in the basement. Too dark and gloomy. Should be located in upstairs light room beside reception. Bedrooms a little damp.

    Perfect central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So many things disappointed. First we've been checked in room 109, semi basement. All the room is very dark, the walls dark brown, painting is broken up, close to the ceiling from humidity. In the bathroom the silicon from bath is dark black in the corners. The furniture supposed to be white, but start to become yellow, aged, with scratches. After some phonecalls from our partners, in the second day, they moved us in room 211. "Upgrade"! Room brighter, first floor, carpet broked in time and they did some sloppy repairs, dirty. Bathroom nice, with sauna, but when we arrived in the room , the room was soon checked out and toilet dirty. They have two kinds of shower gel/ shampoo for regular rooms or upgrades rooms. After two days they changed for regular room. Someday you can have hand towels, another day, surprise...you can not. PRICE! 136 euro/night with breakfast 2 pers.

    The only thing make us comfortable, was the lady during the week in the breakfast room. She was smiling natural al the time, she was fast with all the things that you need, she was super.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room: small, basic, in now way resembling the pictures on booking.com No dark curtains so earkywake up, Some Street noise

    We got a great upgrade because the double room (economy) was a bog disappointment Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issues was the bathroom; as it’s a wet room once you have had a shower if you go back into the bathroom the floor is wet

    The location in the heart of the old town is really good. The hotel is peaceful and staff are very attentive and will help whenever needed. There are several inside and outside seating areas in the hotel and the breakfast covers all options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was to be picky I would say TVs could do with an upgrade but it didn’t affect my stay.

    Super welcome on arrival, lovely room, exceeded my expectations as we booked two singles but both rooms had a really lovely comfy double bed. Nothing too much trouble for the staff reception, cleaners and breakfast. The owner is often on hand and clearly ensuring and watching that everyone has a great experience. Breakfast selection impressive and cooked to order during the week. Location is perfect as is right in the middle of the old town and you can walk everywhere you need to. Beautiful old building yet still had super efficient WiFi strong enough to stream films. I would stay here again without question if I ever had reason to visit Tallin again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I truly struggle to find things to criticise. Only slight annoyance is that housekeeping unlocked and entered our room twice without knocking, though they quickly apologised and left when they realised we were in the room.

    The staff were incredibly accommodating to all of our requests, before, during and after our scheduled stay. Location is perfect, right off of the main square. The rooms are spacious and incredibly comfortable, and the morning breakfast is superb - cold buffet and an excellent selection of made-to-order hot dishes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room but a bit stuffy at night - no window to open at the bed end. The massages we booked were not that great - quite rushed and the therapist actually answered her phone during one of our treatments!!

    Great location. Good breakfast. Nice room. Super friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big claw foot bathtub, historical atmosphere, and delicious breakfast were my favorite parts. The staff were kind and tried to help resolve problems. I didn’t have any problems with noise since it is still low season.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a shower in the bath tub was not easy, since the bath tub was placed in the center of the bath room "area", water was splashing around on floors and walls... No zink in the toilet.

    Perfect location. Close to all the good restaurants in Old Town. Clean and spacious room (executive room). Very nicely decorated room, having kept and restored some of the old features from the 15th century. Will definately return to this hotel again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room wasn’t really practical

    The location was great and the staff was really friendly and polite. We also enjoyed the breakfast a lot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A wee wiff from the bathroom at first, which went away after a few hours :)

    Fantastic atmosphere and really nice rooms. I think some of us got an upgrade - and those rooms were even better than expected. We had rooms facing the courtyard. Comfy beds. Nice breakfast, not too many buffet options, even though the a la carte options were very good with plenty of alternatives! Very cozy breafast room. Would def come again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower curtain did not stop the water from spreading across the bathroom floor. Breakfast was a little mediocre.

    Staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. Location was perfect for old town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was so helpful: mailing our postcards and alerting me that I'd left a shirt, and promptly shipping it! The location is perfect, right on the main square, and only 5mins to all of the attractions

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should have been tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    The staff were extremely helpful when we arrived as there was an incident outside the front and the road was closed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is worn. TV set is of a last century. I definitely didn’t like an awfully noisy ventilation in the bathroom.

    Location is superb. Junior suit is quite custom though overpriced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been better if I was able to select a room with a bath vs. a shower rather than leave it up to chance.

    The hotel is excellently located just next to the main square, the staff were very welcoming and friendly with great restaurant recommendations. The sauna is great (unfortunately it didn't work on the first day, but they fixed it for the second).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too soft, only one blanket instead of two single ones, very noisy until around midnight

    Location in the heart of the old city, bathroom, breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location location location. It can’t be better, right at the center, almost on market square. Friendly reception employees gave great restaurant recommendations. Nice cozy breakfast room. Very satisfied trip.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was a little disappointed with the room! had booked a superior room but t was much smaller than rooms. The beds did not have a headboard which made them seem unsubstational. We booked the sauna - had to phone for water and glasses.

    This a lovely historic hotel in the old town. The breakfasts are very good with good variety.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. This really needs to be pointed out in your description on the hotel. Whilst the staff were very helpful the stairs were daunting. Towels very thin and worn, only really suitable for putting on floor. Breakfast was adequate but limited to other places I have visited. The restaurant only seemed to open when it suited them, even the reception staff were not sure as to when it was open.

    Upgraded to a ground floor suite due to original room being on the third floor. Staff exceptional and friendly, particularly in the breakfast room. Fantastic location albeit located in pedestrian zone. (Had to take luggage by hand in street to and from taxi) Room kept warm at all times. Suite had bath, separate walk in shower and a sauna room, luxury. Had it not been for the generous upgrade in accommodation I believe this review would be slightly different. Although I have said it once, the staff are the jewel in the crown.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated and sad room, no view outside, window was blocked. Shower didn't work properly, toilet brush old and disgusting. Pretty basic breakfast

    Nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The windows are slightly retro and hard to open

    All was very nice and clean. It's just a 3 min walk from the TownHouse square with a wonderful Christmas market and comfy massage with very good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was a bit too old, the rooms on the street are noisy, the room decoration was cheap, and no hairdryer in the bathroom

    very good location in the city center

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous bath in the room and fireplace in the lounge area. Very cosy feeling all round. And so close to some fabulous restaurants - including a vegan one. Perfect location for a short weekend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It rained day but the hotel provided large umbrella's. There was nothing negative about the hotel or the staff at all.

    This is a fantastic hotel - we had large attractive rooms off the courtyard with very big bathrooms. One couple had a large elegant suite on an upper floor. The old merchants house has a maze of small passageways and staircases. Two large communal seating areas, a bar and a restaurant. Breakfast is excellent- a wide choice of cooked options plus a cold buffet. The staff are brilliant, very helpful, they organised airport transfers, a day tour and a tunnel tour as well as directing us to the many attractions Tallinn has to offer. The location is perfect, tight off the main square and a couple of minutes from the TIC. Tallinn is gorgeous , plenty of things to see and do and loads of eating places. English widely spoken, very clean, safe and beautiful environment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the old town - walking distance from the Helsinki ferry. Our room had a great bathroom. Staff were helpful - the waitress at breakfast was extremely friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a bit of old carpet / old building smell, but that’s to be expected. Showers were full wet baths, and even though there’s a curtain, the entire floor gets wet.

    Weekend breakfast buffet was nice. Receptionists were great. The best part is of course the location in old town Tallinn.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Based on the reviews we found the hotel underwhelming and so were very disappointed. The room was quite stark and while large was not particulary comfortable or welcoming. Despite rave reviews we also found the breakfast less than average and the restaurant not appealing. The breakfast staff also were definitely not attentive. For future travelers also be aware the hotel is opposite a popular beer bar and so on some nights a street facing room can be quite noisy.

    Room size was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Completely unprofessional service - I was checking in for "only" 30 minutes and the lady at the reception was hopeless. She could not help in anything and the manager was "super kind and helpful" with insisting that even my email is a must in order to be checked in - finally after checking - at 1 a.m at night the only thing the manager was able to say - "it was an unfortunate situation" and "we can cancel your reservation immediately if you wish" - at 1 a.m. at night!!! This is how they treat the customer...pure joke...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was at the front facing a Brewery pub; as it was raining there weren't people outside of it, however on pleasant summer evenings it might be noisy.

    Well-located very close to Town Hall Square. Historic building, restaurant in atmospheric cellars. Helpful staff. Good breakfast; cold and hot buffet on Sunday morning, hot breakfast to order on Monday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath room and equipment: bath tub without curtain makes water splatter all around. Not enough places to hang towels. No eco button on toilet flush. Dead trees in patio. Breakfast: jam, butter etc. was placed without cover, unprotected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too hot. It would be nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. The entry foyer is a little austere. A few flowers would not go astray.

    Great location and breakfast.interesting history of the building. The hand painted ceiling dating back to 1326.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. Pillows rathe thin Wooden steps up to room could be slippy in wet weather.

    Charming and spacious room.breakfast tasty in basement wit arched ceiling. All staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not ideal for people with mobility issues due to heritage buildings with winding staircases etc.

    This hotel is spread across some mediaeval merchants' houses on a pedestrian street between the Town Hall and Castle, only a few minutes' walk to most historic sites. Our spacious suite overlooked the inner courtyard and was very quiet. The staff were exceptionally helpful. There were good restaurants and cafes all around. The very affordable same-day laundry and dry-cleaning service was a real bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no elevator so luggage must be carried to third floor. To return to room from breakfast in the basement means walking four flights. There was also a slight sewage smell in room if door between bedroom and bath was left open. Given the description on the internet I was expecting more character in the room. It was large and airy but spartan in decor.

    The Breakfast was superb. The room was large with very comfortable beds , spacious bathroom and several windows. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The location is unbeatable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Large numbers of tourists groups in the centre, get up early to take uncluttered photos The hotel doesn't have a lift, so you get plenty of exercise getting to the top floor, however as 'Seniors' we coped well with this. We would erccommend this hotel to anyone who would like to stay in a the centre of a medieval city

    Breakfast was very good with a lot of choice. The location was superb, just short walks from most of the places of interest and very little traffic goes into the old town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom rather cramped and blinds in the bedroom would be a good idea

    It was well located and was an interesting building. Good breakfast and friendly service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and a bit spartan. there was no place in the bathroom for cosmetics. Some sort of storage would be a good addition

    The breakfast room is in the medieval cellar,so interesting and full of atmosphere! The staff are mostly young and extremely helpful.All spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had a bit of an odd smell, but it cleared out when I ventilated the room. Taxis can't come straight to the door, so you do have to drag your bag a block up the hill to meet the driver

    There is no more perfect location in central Tallinn. You are steps from the main square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although a historic property, the bath facilities have been modernized and are very clean, but are still limited by the historic nature of the building and the neighborhood, as is the case with most historic hotels. The hotel uses metal room keys instead of modern key cards.

    This is a wonderful historic hotel located a half block off the central plaza of Tallinn inside the Medieval city walls - exactly what we wanted when visiting Tallinn. The hotel restaurant and breakfast were one of the best of our Scandinavian & Estonian trip. Hotel staff were easy to communicate with and satisfied our every need, especially with the scheduling of early morning taxi travels and any language issues. The hotel was delightful and within easy walking distance of most everything we wanted to see in Tallinn. Neighborhood restaurants and museums were excellent! A great choice for your Estonian vacation!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had two rooms and the one we were in was disappointing - our friends had by contrast an excellent room. Also you cannot be driven to the door of the hotel - so for any one who has difficulty moving luggage it would be as problem

    location was perfect - right in middle of old city. staff were excellent and so helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For breakfast, the prunes were a bit chewy. More fruit salad would have been good.

    A building with its origins in the 14th Century, but modernized, in the Old Town. Close to good restaurants. Thanks to Jonathan for orientating us with good advice. Thanks to friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit too small and pretty much had to sit on the bed

    Location could not have been better. Staff friendly and helpful. Bathroom de luxe. Breakfast generous although fried eggs a bit overdone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staffs are basically helpful. but should be more precessional( I asked to catch taxi, he failed to catch , problem is he did not tell us that he failed .

    good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit of sewer smell in the bathroom. The TV could be updated.

    An old building, lovingly renovated and maintained. The location is right next to the city square, as central as it gets and right opposite to a nice microbrewery ;) Walking around from there was extremely pleasant. Decent breakfast buffet. I felt that this hotel is really fitting to Tallinn - if I come back I will select it again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In both rooms we stayed in (110, 310), the bathrooms lacked any options for placing soap, shampoo etc. anywhere within reach for using them while showering. Also, some more hangers for towels are really needed (nothing by the sink). Curtains are really light, and as the sunrise is at 4am, the room was awash with light way too early in the morning. And 2 other things about room 110, just to bear in mind, not that they actually caused a problem: 1. We thought of leaving the window open while we were away, just for fresh air - but as it is on the ground floor (albeit facing the inner courtyard), it did not feel safe. Maybe there should be an option of opening only the upper part of the window. 2. There's a bit of a safety issue: the beds are propped on some platform, and are close to its edge. someone might one day stumble off and get hurt. Also, the freestanding bath is quite tall, and for elderly people it poses some difficulty. A stool could help.

    Staff were so friendly and helpful, we asked for assistance with restaurant reservation and inquiry about rental car reservation, and were helped efficiently and with a smile. Our requests (quiet room, separate beds) which were sent through booking.com were answered promptly and fulfilled. The hotel is beautiful. Though both rooms we stayed in do not look like the photos (which are probably of the suite), they were still great and very spacious. The breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just did 18 days in Scandinavia we did not have handcream hair conditioner or shampoo until we got to the merchant house. Also liked that we each had two pillows apiece. The staff was very helpfuland giving directions and ideas for dining.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room 109 was OK - the single twin beds were quite small (and I am quite tall!) and it definitely wasn't as lovely as some of the picture of other rooms.

    Fantastic staff - extremely helpful. Really great location, just off the main square in Tallin Old Town. Very decent fully stocked buffet breakfast. Good value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be good to have more vegetarian breakfast options (including clearly labelled free range eggs).

    We had a courtyard room with a huge bathroom and roll top bath. The ice bar was lovely as we're the staff and one of the co-owners who we met. The whole atmosphere is very relaxed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To compare with previous stay of four years ago, the total situation of hotel accommodation decreased, especially staff politeness and room facility. Room rate was not valuable by considering room facility; no heating and not comfortable inside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet was a bit in and out.

    Perfect location to visit the old town of Tallinn. Very close to the centre (Town Hall Square) but Hotel itself discreet and peaceful even on a busy night in Town. Receptionist was extremely helpful in helping organise our excursions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold room. There was an extra radiator in the room, thanks for that. Some of the reception crew maybe should try to smile... Hotel bar only open untill 21.00, so if you like a late drink, make it in one of the bars around the corner.

    Location of the hotel, just 50 meters from the suare in Old Town. Several old buildings joined around a courtyard. Breakfast in old cellar vaults.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We unfortunately stayed on the ground floor and people could see directly into our room, so for privacy, we needed to have the curtains closed. The complimentary shampoo, conditioner and shower gel where not replaced when empty. But, the room was adequate and reasonably priced, so these are just minor issues.

    Great location. Perfect for visiting all the best attractions in Tallinn's old town. Breakfast was good and had a reasonable selection. A very cute hotel, set in the beautiful medieval old town of Tallinn.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View, but that's nitpicking.

    Location, excellent and very helpful staff, went out of their way to arrange porridge for our infant even though it wasn't part of the breakfast buffet. Good breakfast spread.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs some shelves, otherwise it was good and clean.

    We missed breakfast but luckily very helpful and friendly staff arranged us excellent special breakfast up to our room with minimal price. A special mention about staff, very friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    From the moment we arrived we were treated as honoured guests by an extremely friendly and competent team of staff. They seemed genuinely pleased to see us and were delighted that we were enthusiastic about their city and their hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was just a minute's walk from the main square. I would call it rustic as did not have all the mod cons of some newer hotels and there is no lift so people with mobility issues should ensure they ask for a ground floor room. However, we have now stayed there a few times and they have gone out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift (but the staff readily help you with your luggage without even having to ask). Breakfast could be better.

    Really friendly staff that go out of their way to help you. The bathroom was huge and seemed luxurious for the price I paid. And of course, the location just can't be beat. I slept well and the room was relatively quiet despite the hotel's proximity to the Old Town square (but this was during winter). Best value for money!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the hotel is in Tallinn old town, parking is around 20eur for 24h, but it's only 200m from the hotel. Had a nice stay, sauna was good in the morning. Friendly staff :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower over bathtub in open room. Not easy to take a clean shower without getting water everywhere. If you love baths the room was great.

    Location cannot get any better. Great helpful staff. Wonderful breakfast. Large open and comfy room. Charming. Price was right.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound isolation of the windows was poor as you could hear the music from the night club accross the street. Ear plugs were quite handy. As it is a historical building, there are steps between different areas and rooms as well as in the corridors - be careful. Note that there is no lift.

    Nice atmosphere, boutique style smaller hotel in a historical building. The lounge with fire place was especially unique. The location in the old town makes it really easy to reach main sights and a large variety of restaurants by foot. The bathroom was clean and matched well with the historical style. Good bathroom amenities with shampoo, shower gel, lotion and hand soap. Attentive and very friendly staff at the reception as well as in the breakfast room made you feel as a distinguished Guest. Thank You!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low height of door frame in hotel room. Bathtub instead of shower.

    Very charming elder gentleman managing the breakfast service.👏 Fantastic atmosphere of breakfast room in the hotel basement!👍

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extra blanket would have kept me warmer, however I should have asked and I am sure I could have had one. I couldn't get the heating or air conditioning to work, so I guess it is preset.

    The breakfast is amazing during the week when you have breakfast cooked to order. At the weekend it is a buffet service however the staff still kindly cooked me poached eggs to order as well which was. Much appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was large but there were no net curtains despite being open to onlookers. Bright light outside all night was annoying. Room felt Un cared for. No pictures on the walls etc. The light switch only operated all the lights no option for bedside light separate. Overall a little disapointing

    Great location. Staff were lovely and helpful. Recommend the massage also. Our bathroom was gorgeous

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel inside looks old and ramshackle (not like on the photos). Our room was cold, with terrible red walling and shabby furniture - the horror movies could be made there. The reception guy was sleepy and not welcoming.

    The only positive thing during our stay was very good breakfast and extremely friendly staff who was serving it (especially elderly man looking like the owner of the hotel).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too springy..there was no kettle in the room and no hair dryer either....the bathrooom tends to get wet any time anybody takes a shower due to improper drainage details....also there is a slight stink in the bathrooms that never really goes away.also take care ...if one has a lot of luggage it is difficult to pull it up the windy heritage stairs.also taxis will only come to the entrance of the property from 6 to 10 in the morning...otherwise u have to get dropped off or pucked up at the end of the st

    The people were very nice and the location of the property is excellent .the restaurant below is just lovely.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was quite cold in the room. There was an old, double-door window. However the insulation was very poor (there was snow in between both window doors!), therefore it was cold in the room. The radiation didn't work very well, however the staff were helpful and provided us with an additional, electric heater which solved the situation. Sauna wasn't as clean as it should've been.

    Great location! Just next to the main square and all the important sights. Very helpful staff! Sauna was a nice add on. Breakfast was tasty, selection was OK, interesting ambient for breakfast (cellar of an old building).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold plates each morning at breakfast......had to gobble really quickly before all warm food was cold (So easy to resolve with a plate warming machine like most good hotels have!) Needs kettle/ coffee making in rooms. WiFi intermittent. Otherwise all is first rate.

    Lovely staff (most friendly and helpful in all hotels and restaurants across Baltic States all week). Very comfortable rooms, in particular the beds. Great breakfast choice. Location 5 *

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water flow in the shower culd be nicer organized. The water flow was to the diferent ways.

    Excelent location. Fabulaus breakfest. Nice interior. Salmon and champain for breakfest

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit dark and located in a 0-floor. And in a booking description we were supposed to have bath in the bathroom (not just shower as it was in reality). But hotel itself is a beautiful old building so in general we have no complaints.

    Everything! And thanks a lot for our really early breakfast (we had to leave at 3 a.m. for our flight and the reception kindly organized for us nice coffee, warm sandwiches and fruits).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very dim lighting of a room. Several rooms have windows just to common balcony (it is not for everybody i think) and are situated in another part of the building - so you have to cross a small yard to get there from the main building where you have breakfast (not comfortable in a winter time). No elevator - as almost everywhere in the Old Town, but the staff helps with the luggage.

    Very comfortable bed. Good breakfast (but no porridge)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This entire hotel is amazing! Book it now! Right on the edge of the main town square. The hotel is a heritage building and our room wall (14th century) was unesco-protected. Cool stuff! Room was huge with a sofa and lots of space, bathtub was huge, the room was well-heated, there were bathrobes and a free sauna to use. Breakfast is a buffet with a choice of one hot dish (substantial) Staff were the friendliest, most attentive hotel staff ever. They talked to us about the building's history, brought us travel adaptors, booked our taxis and sauna, and even packed breakfast and coffee for us because we had a early ferry on our last day. Overall amazing!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would not recommend this hotel if you have any disabilities. It is an old building and it would be impossible to get a wheel chair in there. The cold buffet at the breakfast could be a bit better, but I love the idea that you order your hot dishes from the kitchen. It´s more eco friendly since you´re not able to put more on your plate than you actually need. A tip for the hotel: Change the light bulbs to dimmer lights! The brightness in some rooms are irritating. No, seriously!

    I have been traveling to Tallinn several times. Unfortunately, hotel staff in Estonia are too often not very service minded. At Merchants House however, I experienced the most hospitable staff I have ever met in this country! They were at your service at any time, always smiling, friendly and helpful. The room was great and the location is fantastic. Only 100 meters from the main square in Tallinn. Good bed, clean rooms and tasty decorations. Really comfortable for people 30+ (it´s not a party hotel).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was late. No staff to take luggage to the room (no elevator.)The room itself was rather tatty.

    Staff is always very polite and willing to help.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Merchants House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: