Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rixwell Old Town Hotel 3 stars

Lai 49, Tallinn City-Centre, 10133 Tallinn, Estonia

#65 of 99 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2870 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of storage space, only a few clothes hangers, one wardrobe but o other storage space provided. Mean with tea bags and no milk for tea unless you asked

    The view from the room was lovely the reception staff were helpful and the breakfasts enjoyable. the bedroom was cleaned regularly and a good shower

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little bit cramped. But then, it is an old renovated building; apparently one couldn't make the rooms bigger.

    Nice location on the fringe of the fabulous Tallinn's old city. Convenient public transportation: a tram stop within a 5 minutes' walk, with a direct connection to bus station (15 minutes). to railway station (5 minutes), and to the airport (the latter requires one tram route change, but the whole travel won't take more than half an hour). Very good breakfast, with the presence of famous Estonian curd, and with a hot oatmeal milked porridge. The staff is very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms have small windows and can be stuffy.

    Excellent Location in the old town. Do not expect large rooms and big beds...it is an old building with a lot of charm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Basic amenities. When we asked for additional pillows, we had to put the pillow sheets in ourselves. Just a small thing but could have improved our impression of the hotel.

    Located in quiet part of old Town, but walkable to all the sights within.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, could only get into double bed from one side. Breakfast very chaotic, need second coffee machine No internet reception in room.

    Reception very good Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the staff who were helpful and courteous, the breakfast selection was varied and of a high quality-the ideal start for a day of sightseeing. The location of the hotel within the old town was perfect for viewing the quaint old streets-something tourists from all over the world come to see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd like there to be more vegan options at the breakfast. And access to free drinking water for the guests in the lobby.

    Perfect location, easy to walk and explore the lovely Old Town. Comfortable bed. Helpful and sweet staff. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was vague, staff new beginners? Reservation information false. Had to ask for a receipt- the printer was not working? Don't believe that...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is in the entrance of the old town but along a noisy main road so you can hear noise and vibration of cars and trucks all the night. Bad wifi connexion, very slow. Disgusting smell in the bathroom from the sewage pipe. Bad communication with the team about a second reservation the second night.

    Well situated in the entrance of the old town. Classic but good breakfast. Good bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi from our toom was a bit erratic

    The staff were pleasant and very helpful. We left for the airport very early on the day of our departure.The hotel supplied us with 2 boxed breakfasts,which were most acceptable! ( a boiled egg, ham snd tomato slices..a cheeses sandwhich, a croissant and an apple) The hotel is brilliantly located for exploring Old Town in Tallinn!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed.

    I particularly liked the fact the hotel is in the old town but far enough away from the centre to avoid the tourist crush. I would use it again but next time hope for a better quality of room. The bed was not good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, when we checked in and asked about the breakfast serving time, the receptionist told us that being that we are leaving early she will put a letter for the kitchen staff to prepare two take-away boxes for us. However, when asked in the morning about it, as we expected, we didn't get our "boxes."

    Location was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds not the most comfortable but its subjective , rooms to rear back onto busy road so can be noisy with window open , helped by fan supplied with room , but still warm ++

    Well situated and easy to find , handy for tram stops . good breakfast. Free to use internet in lobby helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our twin room was tiny, furniture was old and, for the most part, not very clean, there was only one chair for two people

    good choice of the food during breakfast, excellent location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly a bigger choice of breakfast but as I am not a big eater in the morning I was happy.

    Small room and bed comfortable .everything that a traveller on a short break needs ,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was upgraded for free but very small. Basement room we actually booked was probably going to be very tiny.

    Good hotel breakfast was also alright.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small, but I believe is also due the antiquity of the hotel.

    Locate in the old town has a terrific location to visit and wall this marvelous city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not received the room we reserved. The room keys did not work. The bed was small and the matress poor. The bathroom was so small that only one person could brush the teeth at one time.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But I don't like the curtain, not wide enough to cover the light from outside. Besides, the reception at midnight is not considerate, I arrived the hotel was around 1am, very tired and wanted to sleep immediately, but her action is slow without smiling.

    The reception at daily time is really great, she can answer my questions patiently, and also give me the map with some notes to find the way easily. The room is OK for that special price. The breakfast is OK well, I like the jam for bread, really tasty good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to hot water to make tea during the night except by bothering the reception staff. We are often awake at all hours. We would ha e gappily

    Position in old tallinn. Hotel was built onto old wall and structures.very cool!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi did not run properly inside my room. I spent 3 nights at this hotel, and not 1 did WiFi worked...

    Perfect location! In old town, walking distance to everywhere within the walls and even close to the harbors for ferry’s to Helsinki. I arrived by bus to the station which is a bit more than a 35 minutes walk to the hotel. The Front Desk staff was kind. The Breakfast staff was not so attentive. Breakfast is quite complete! My room was very small, but enough for only 1 person. Bed and pillow are good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel! Clean and close to old Town. Check in was easy and the room was perfect for a few nights. A bit smaller than what you're used to in the States but a good size for the cost. Bed was comfortable. Mini fridge in the room was a plus. Breakfast was really good( I'm not sure why others had a negative experience.) They served sausage, eggs, toast, ceral, fruit, and some deli meat. Would definitely recommend staying here while in Tallinn!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Of course I missed the floor heating in bathroom and the lightning in my room was not the best, also the beds were really narrow, but for this price it was ok.

    For this price the hotel has an excellent location and my room was absolutely clean and nice. Also, it is a quite corner of the old town but still only 10 minutes to the crowdy part of it. The breakfest was ok, nothing special, but you had some warm choices, salads etc. The coworkers were quite and not much communicating but did their job. I even had tea and coffee making oppurtunities in my room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom a bit small-spotlessly clean,but had a very slight "musty" smell.Difficult to avoid flooding it as the shower curtain was short-but thanks to the underfloor heating,it dried quickly

    The bed was so comfortable,it actively discourages getting up early! Nice small bar at reception.Helpful staff.Beautiful location . Lovely old building. Unpretentious small hotel with a relaxed atmosphere.Underfloor heating in bathroom.I slept very well and would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast but only one toaster on site which means we had to always que to get some toast and then wait. Room was a bit small, but comfortable none the less (we had the "economy" room).

    Very good location, in the heart of the old town. Friendly staff. Clean. Very good value for money. Bed was so comfortable!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and tea is not at the rooms and you should deliver it by yourself in case of needed.

    Perfect hotel, perfect location, good breakfast, perfect service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was perfect, warm and cozy. There was minibar, hair-dryer and many other stuff. Room was clean, bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was tasty, well-balanced and fresh.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better ventilation in the bathroom.

    Everything. We had a room upgrade... the room was comfy and nice. The breakfast is good, there is a lot of choices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhappy and unhelpful breakfast staff. Check in took far too long and complications with rooms.

    The daytime receptionist was efficient and happy. The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had dirty towel and some bed lining. The breakfast could be better, specially for gluten free options

    The location is really good. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was really friendly and the room was really clean and beautiful. Also the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was really clean. And in generally the hotel's inerior was really beautiful and cozy. I loved it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small. A bit dated. Had a weird smell in the room. Pretty basic hotel, but still more than sufficient if all you're looking for is somewhere reasonable and easy to stay in a brilliant location in the old town

    Perfect location. Everything is easily reachable including the Linnahall tram stop only a couple of minutes walk. Nice and quiet at night. Good breakfast to set you up for the day

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind and friendly staff. The hotel is in a good location, not so far from the Town Hall. Also near to one of the public saunas in Tallinn (Kalma Saun). I really loved my stay.. I’m missing that atmosphere already. Aitäh

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were too small. There was literally no space for luggage. We had to change our room with paying extra money on the same facility. Furtniture and the interior design should be changed. It is too old.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is amazing, the communication, location, breakfast excellent. All the demands we requested the hotel was excellent in meeting us. I recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is good, but meeting only minimal standarts and no improvment or any visiable effort on developing a better service over last two years. Just standard.

    Location, value for money, reception staff excellent/gold standart of 5 star hotel , can work in hilton or raddison no problem ( languages, customer focused, early check-in if available etc. ) In brief : i am a returning/regular happy customer ! IMHO

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely kind and helpfull, specially -Jessica-(if im not wrong about her name). She recommended us a restaurant with live music and inside our budget and even called the place to check if there was a table available for us. The location is just perfect, you can reach most of the places within a short walk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in economy room and the room was really small, if you want a larger room, prefer standard room. And also the room was a little old.

    First of all, location is perfect, close to everything and in a quiet spot. The hotel is good enough, if you want to stay in Tallinn for a few days and visit the old town and around. Breakfast is just ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming from Finland, I would have really appreciated filter coffee at the breakfast table🙈

    Especially big thank you to the nice lady working at the reception on the day of our arrival - she was very welcoming, had organised a suprise for us on our anniversary, and took immediately care of the issues with our key card!! She really made our stay memorable! Please reward her for her excellent customer service and warm smile!! =)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We first booked a standard room that turned out to be really tiny. We could not even find a place on the floor to place our luggage. The breakfast was quite modest, I expected a bit greater variety for an old town hotel. The hotel was changing the locks in the rooms, so our room's key did not work. We had to use reception's masterkey each time we wanted to get into our room. Not hotel's fault per se, still a small inconvenience.

    We went straight to the reception in order to change our room and we got an upgrade to a superior room. The price offer was decent and the new room was comfortable in every aspect (as a superior room should be). The staff was super helpful, for which we are grateful. Location is excellent, if you are willing to walk all around the old town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is only one lift. I would be good if there were stairs you could use to access all floors but the only stairs we could find were to only be accessed in an emergency. It would be nice if there was a kettle in the room, but I think maybe this is a British thing so it's just an extra really.

    Good value and great location within the old town, and 10-15 minutes walk from Balti Jaam (the main train station), and also good restaurants and shops, both in the Old Town and also outside of the city walls. The room was quite small and a little old fashioned, but was clean and comfortable and you can book bigger (more expensive ones). It suited our needs perfectly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress imo was way to soft and we could hear the pipe noises coming from the heating. Other than that, the night was quiet

    It's well located inside the old town. Basic old hotel but the price value was very good for 1 night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was simple: "orange juice" was made of syrup, no greens to put on the sandwich (tomatoes/peppers/cucumber etc.), one choise of every dish, e.g. one type of ham, one type of cheese...

    The historic building, open fire place, friendly blond receptionist.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another pillow would have been a nice touch and slightly larger room, but overall very pleased with our stay here.

    Breakfast buffet was very nice and served at reasonable times. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fruits and vegetables were missing from the breakfast. There was only apples and one salad.

    Beds were good, room was warm, clean and cosy (it was really cold weather during our stay). Very good value for money. Staff was very helpfull and friendly. Location was perfect for us. Good value for the money!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell in the bathroom, a bit poor level of cleanliness in the room: dust, spiderweb on the ceiling, poor Wi-Fi connection, no slippers

    Really good location, delicious breakfast, comfortable bed, big bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Receptionist's attitude I am not satisfied, indoor slippers, I do not know the economy room need to pay 2 euros, the actual room and photos do not match, smell poo in the room, and vomiting, want to change other room, but she does not let me change. A person with 1 year old children is very inconvenient,can't get good service. never will book the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I can remember, I didn't expect a huge room so I was pleased with the small room, a soft bed and some English TV channels in the evening.

    Great breakfast, very good location, quiet place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the room was really too small. The window of the room was situated to very busy street and I could not call it "silent surroundings".

    The breakfast was rich and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The suits are quite small, even the superior ones. There is no free parking, however some toll parking at tolerable price are nearby.

    The staff was welcoming and we even got a free upgrade for the room. The breakfast offer was fulfilling, and let's not forget the great view to the old city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Hotel's location was great. 2. Easy access to the tram station, that brings you to Bus Station (international departures). 3. Room were comfortable and toilet were spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet small

    Really good in terms of position (old town) and for few days there is all you need. I was there alone. Room standard but clean, breakfast is ok. Jessica at reception really professional and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room (306) was very noisy (next to a busy road) The sink smelled (the first day) i needed to have my room keys re-activated multiple times

    Very good breakfast, good wifi, luggage room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room (204) was next to a very busy road. It would be easier to sleep on the highway. Traffic was a little better on sunday night

    The hotel is located in the old town area Free wifi was available, breakfast good (although a wider meat selection would not be a luxury)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not very similar to the pictures posted online, the ventilation in the toilet didn't work and the wall was slightly coming apart, with pieces of it on the carpet. I asked for an extra pillow in the reception at nighttime, and was told it will not be possible to get it since the housekeeper has left. The breakfast was not suitable for vegans or lactose/gluten intolerant.

    The location is very good. The staff was mostly very nice and polite. The Breakfast was very good, and had a variety of dishes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extra small, so you needed to touch the wall to get to your bed. But the most awful was the complete absence of the Internet in the room. I needed to go down to the lobby with my laptop to check the emails because of work, which was not great because the property announced the Internet in the rooms. That was really frustrating.

    The location was perfect, as well as the woman at the reception. She was very kind to call the cab for us to the airport and spoke our native language.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel receptionists didn't understand us, because of the language barrier we faced communication. And we asked for a double bed, not 2 single beds, 5 months prior to the visit ... I thought that was enough to notify them ... it seems it wasn't

    The breakfast was to die for ... almost quite literally. It was amazingly cooked and the quality was excellent. And the room-service was good as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a misunderstanding regarding the room I booked. For me, it was clear I have booked a room with double bed and when we arrived we got one with two twin bed. I was explained I should have made a comment, but God...I was sure I have picked the right one on the list displayed by booking. So at the end, they agreed on giving us a "superior room" with no extra cost. This second room was normal, while the first one was small and dark...I keep the feeling the girls on the reception did it to show they were nice to clients. This is way I don't give a higher score to the staff, but the rest was very good.

    The room was very silent and the bed and pillows comfortable, these things is what I value the most. We hesitated to pick this hotel because of the comments regarding breakfast, but it was much better than expected, there was fruit and variety of things. At least we did not get bored for the 2 times we took it. Room and rest of facilities are clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a double bed on booking.com, but got two separate beds instead. The receptionist said they never guarantee a double bed, so this might be good to know. Breakfast was only ok, not that many choices and low quality.

    Great location, nice and historic building, great atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard double room was tiny and minimal furnished (no second bedside table, no second chair). The decorative condition was shabby. Three star hotels should provide free drinking water. That was missing and is an absolute no-go for us.

    The location was very suitable for city exploration. Upon arrival in the lobby the hotel appeared appealing. The breakfast was o.k.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was a little too thin. Bedrooms are really very small. Bedrooms are not soundproof so we heard the people talking next to us in the morning.

    Excellent location. In the Old Town, but away from the centre so you get a fantastic location by choosing this hotel. You are within walking distance from all that matters without losing any sleep from next-door noisy neighbours. Toilets were spotless.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel overall could do with a little refurbishment. Bed (matress) was a bit soft / worn out Breakfast a bit disappointing

    Great location, easy walk to the main square Very friendly and helpful staff Rixwell Hotels sometimes give an upgrade on the room, which is always a very pleasant surprise!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room (4th floor) would need a refurbishment, old and poor furniture and sanitary in the bathroom. Wi-fi connection was very poor and unstable, even though I asked to have a room with a good signal as I needed for working reasons.

    Charming historical building in a good location, big and yummie breakfast, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is well located and built around the ancient city walls. We actually slept beside 1000year old stonework! It was quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our family had two rooms, the first room had very nice scent, but the second room had a bit bad smell on the bathroom.

    Very nice little hotel in a peaceful corner of the old town near the Northern entrance to the old town. Nearby road didn't bother us at all in the fourth floor, corner rooms might have some noise though. 15-20 minutes walk from the harbour. Very clean, comfortable and sweet little rooms, warm colour scheme. We had a beautiful arched window in our room. At first it was a bit cold in the room but we adjusted it from the device on the wall and then it was fine. Extremely friendly service in the recepcion (in English), good enough breakfast with variety. A free luggage room. Full points for a mid-range hotel, good value for the money, we would certainly go again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilets are warm. Don't think the hotel has air conditioning.

    Small hotel in a great location at the fringe of the old town. It's value for money accommodation with a simple good quality breakfast. The café is small, so be early to ensure a seat. Front desk staff recommended a heritage restaurant "The olde Hansa". A must go to for an authentic Estonian meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked tea and coffee-making facilities in the room but, apart from that, all was good.

    The beds were comfortable, the rooms warm and cosy, bathrooms well furnished with soap, shampoo, conditioner etc. The hotel was very well located for both the Old Town and for walks by the sea. The breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor. No orange juice.very poor choice of bread only 2 and the boiled eggs were cold. The display very poor it was all calmed on one table. Broccoli, and boiled potatoes were in baymarie with porridge. There coffee machine was only able to make one coffee it was that small and the hot water you could only get from the same machine so it would be10 to 15 minutes before you get your tea or coffee the hotel was full ,also toaster was small only two slice at a time. Waited again 20 mins.The room I could not rate it was very small and smelly . this hotel is rated 3 star I don't think it should be. I have stayed in lower rated and got better food and services better and room standard better you need to improve all round needs painting and cleaner rooms .

    The locations was good that's the only thing that I could say was good .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was a really nice hotel for the price. The rooms were simple, but everything was really clean and the beds were comfy. The wifi worked really and the staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good with lots of foods to choose from. Best of all was the location. The hotel is in the historic city center right up against the medieval city wall and you actually eat breakfast in one of the old towers. In a few minutes, you can walk to the old city square or to a tram station, which provides easy connections to the bus station and other parts of Tallinn.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedroom very small. No safe provided. Breakfast was hopeless. Imagine, juice consisted of water;; water with lemon,;, and (wait for it) water with raspberry cordial! Main course was an egg, fried some hours earlier, and (wait for it again) mixed vegetable!! Dreadful attempt at food.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The worst thing - there was no hairdryer in the room... I came for a whole week so I had to buy one (didn't want to be stressed if there would be one free at the reception every morning). I Also didnt like the curtian in the shower, it's not nice when it sticks to your body when taking a shower :( I also had to wait for available iron.

    Location is very convinient, Staff was always helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor and old facilities, not properly cleaned (there were stains on the bed), old towels. My room had only a super small window that couldn't be opened, so no way to change the air. No air system, and the room had an unpleasent smell.

    Good Location, not far from the old center and close to the outside too

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building work.

    Receptionists spoke fluent english and were very helpful and knowledgeable about what attractions to visit. Also no problem in getting taxi services on time and reasonable cost.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and bathroom were quite small. No tea making facilities in the room although you could get hot water in the foyer.

    There was a lift for my elderly mother. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a double bed in our booking.com reservation but we got 2 single beds. Breakfast is ok, nothing special.

    Great location and nice facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rixwell Old Town Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: