Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of OldHouse Hostel 2 stars

Uus 26, Tallinn City-Centre, 10111 Tallinn, Estonia

#66 of 99 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1729 hostel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    exactly what you need when travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Very helpful staff, very cozy kitchen and living room, great location (within the old town, but not directly above or besides a pub, so at night it is reasonably quiet)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    It’s a beautiful kitchen, but I didn’t use it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There floor of the toilets always wet. They have some special rules, we can’t wear the shoes inside the house.

    It’s a beautiful kitchen, but I didn’t use it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable price for given service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only two bathrooms for 7 rooms with at least 4 people in each. And it's more not to the place but for the people who stayed there, after many of them it was impossible to use bathroom messy and water everywhere. Pretty comfortable rooms, clean. (we stayed in the room for 4 people)

    In the center, pretty comfortable bed nice, clean bedsheets. Towles and heating in the room. Nice heavy curtains in case of white nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    directly in the tourist area of the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast to expensive, dont' book it, just get out in the city and supermarket or bakery, it should be better

    Directly in the old town, so if you step out you are in the old Tallinn. And tourists are passing the windows all araound the clock, so we had to sleep with closed windows and no air condition. The rooms are very small and hot in the summer. Parked our motorcycles in the parking place behind the hotel, seems save, because there is no direct sight from the streets.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the showers that much. And I had bad luck with the room mates as both mornings at 7am they started talking inside the room. Inside the dorm there ain't any privacy as there are just normal beds. If I had more money to waste I would have booked a private room that was really cheap.

    It was nicely situated near to port but also in the old town. They gave a locker key for a deposit. The beds were already made and had a towel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    It's good place to stay just for night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No common area except kitchen, wont be great fit for backpacker type of stay or if want to talk to other people. Tiny walls as you can hear every single move from other guests. Also squicky doors what seems used to be squicky also 2 years ago when my friend stayed there. :D

    It's good place to stay just for night. Great location - everything on reach. Car parking available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location, nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A day before the check out very nice receptionist promised us the late check out because there was no-one coming to our rooms. On the check out day other worker woke us up and threw us out (or wanted more money, propably for herself).

    Great location, nice rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Right in the Old Town. The room is small but very cute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom is in the public corridor and right in front of TV. lounge, a bit weird coming out of the bathroom where a lot of people sitting around or walking around. I wish I could have checked in to a room with private bathroom, the stay would be perfect! I didnt remember if my room included breakfast (as I booked a lot of hotel for this trip) and they didnt inform me when checked in so I thought my room included breakfast but it actually it isnt so I was charged 6 Euros extra for 1 breakfast. I know it was my fault but should have been nicer to be informed if the room included breakfast or not.

    Right in the Old Town. I like the feeling walking back to the hotel after the day as it is so close. The room is small but very cute. Kitchen and dining area is very comfy. Staffs were nice and very helpful. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    It's worth the money, but I actually expect a little bit more than that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WC was quite dirty when I came. So I decided not to use it anymore but the one in the shower room in stead.

    Very close to one of the most famous gelato in Tallinn (just next door), and walkable distance to the harbour (or 6 euros with taxi).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Good as a place to sleep the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, but very noisy if you are staying on a Friday. The air in the rooms get stuffy very fast and the only way to ventilate is to open a window, which is a problem if the Old Town is partying. The shower rooms had an unpleasant sewer smell, maybe that is normal for Old Tallinn, not sure. They were clean, however, so it is not due to hostel's employees lack of care. The staff were really welcoming!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Value for money in excellent location in the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some weird people who were staying there at the same time as me- but there’s probably not much the hostel can do about it as they can’t know in advance people are going to be drunkards or filthy.

    Excellent location in the Old Town, perfect for exploring, and friendly stuff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location in the old town. I was very pleased with warm and helping staff members. I liked that they had no shoes in the hostel 'policy', therefore everything was clean and nice. Overall, I would say, very good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff, very responsive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Catches wi-fi only in the corridor. But everything else was pleasant.

    Very friendly staff, very responsive. A nice and good atmosphere in the hoste, i liked design -very cozy and nicely, you come to your home ( something like that). I would recommend this hostel to friends and relatives.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice place with minor problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms on the second floor were smelly. Some of the fabrics in our room had the food traces from the previous guests. There was dust in the corners; you wouldn't like to put your things on the floor.

    The best thing is location. The OldHouse is excellent for those travelers who spend most of the time walking around the city. The personnel was helpful and friendly. And wifi is also great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    A great experience. Probably will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably doesn't worth mentioning, but to me it was a problem: the matress was too soft. I had a back ache the whole next day

    Great interior, especially in the living room. Wonderful location - right in the old city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location in historic center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast cost 5 euros but is extremely limited - not worth it. Internet connection OK but was poor quality in the furthest room down the corridor

    Good location in historic center. They own two buildings next to each other. Clean bedding, toilets and rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    I like locating where the old house hostel is, this is...
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What I really did not like was that there was that there was no internet connection in the bedroom and every time i was going to get out of the room for the use the internet. Apart from the internet-related problem, the temperature was not pretty good in my bedroom. So i'd be glad if anyone could solve the actual problems! Yes, i admit that the hostel is consistent with the price but, at least nobody wants to be ill while they stay at your hostel. Thank you :)

    I like locating where the old house hostel is, this is really nice place to be explored with loved ones. Inside the hostel i liked these old atmosphere, the old fashioned chairs, and some other things as well. By the way i've been in that hostel last year in summer, apparently, stuff has changed, but anyway i respect all the nationalities. But, when i booked the room in your hostel, honestly stuff was much more friendly towards customers and i was fell in love with it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice place close to the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was really cold in the room and I couldn't make the heaters work. My bad I didn't have time to go to reception since I was out all day.

    The best thing is location: really close to the old town, nice historical area. Also a walking distance from the ferry port.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful location in Tallinn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite cold, the bathroom does not have hot water that I need to take a shower in almost cold water.

    The hostel is in the old town and has a great location with walking distance to everywhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Beds were really comfy, staff gave loads of tips of where to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were really comfy, staff gave loads of tips of where to go and what to see, it is possible to take free leaflet with map of Tallinn, showers were good enough, location was easy to find and super in terms of price/location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I recommend for the guest to make sure that they stay in the main building not the other one, where I didn’t like it like the main building , the only thing I think they need to reconsider is the beds ( the mattresses is not fixed completely to the bed)

    This Hostel is very nice, its location is very strategic where it is walking distance to everything the marine port (10 min) where you can get a boat to Helsinki in Finland, the city center where the supermarkets, and the shopping areas, and the old town and the town hall square /freedom square. At the old house hostel you feel the name it is a house with several rooms with a typical traditional old kitchen, where the basin is built in a wooden cupboard, also the style of the furniture is some areas like the living room area is old , the toilets (shared ) is nice and clean. I think it is a special experience, I like it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    Great value Hostel with gelato next door!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minimal room for luggage or to hang towels & coats.

    Simple but yummy breakfast sitting in a traditional dining room at a shared table chatting with other travellers. 5-10 minute walk to most sights on the Old Town. Lockers for hire!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    Cheap stay and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Squeaky floors everywhere and thin walls, I could hear a couple shouting in the middle of the night. Don't eat breakfast here, waste of money: there was nothing much to eat or drink, small kitchen/breakfast room.

    Nice interior and great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.1
    Fair price super close to old town and few meters away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fair price super close to old town and few meters away from public transport. Beds are a bit narrow, but not a big deal for normal fit -thin guys like me.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Felt like home far away from home . would love to come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staffs are great and helpful ...

    i love this area a lot ... just not too far from the city central and also next to the old town and not too far from the port of Tallinn and the airport as well

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    It was just for one night to catch the ferry back to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was just for one night to catch the ferry back to Helsinki. The staff was friendly and the whole property looked really nice, I didn't spend too much time there besides sleeping, but I'd consider staying there again next time I'm in Tallinn.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    Mid-range Hostel with Good Location but Not That Good Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very tiny, and the bed was awful, as it was too soft and feels more like a hammock, which is very bad for your back. One more negative thing is that the shared bathroom was far away from our room, so we needed to go through the half of the hostel to get there. Finally, the window was directed to the inner yard of the hostel where everyone was smoking. Might be a bad experience just because of this room, but still.. Had to say about my experience.

    The location of this hostel was just perfect. It is located in the old town and is very easy to access from the airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.8
    I won't stay in this place one more time. Stinky dirty toilet and the whole moving around was not ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets were stinking, people were smoking inside the hostel secretly cause it smelled too much. I had to change my room 3 times in 5 days cause they didn't reserve a proper room for the whole 5 days of my stay. The stay of my last day at the other house was the worst. The whole corridors smelled like a mixture of alcohol and cigarettes. The sheets were once with spots also

    Its very central and stuff is friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Pancakes for breakfast were superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - only two showers and two toilets so there was a line to take a shower at times. - no lockers

    Pancakes for breakfast were superb! Nice, clean, comfortable facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    Good to stay with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet and shower will need renovation, they weren't so good.

    Room was clean, staff was helpful and location was really good. Good place to stay with kids. Will stay there on next time also. Nothing extra or luxourious, just basic which I payed. It does not matter, but there is great gelato-bar in the next door from hostel. You should try it ;)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    The hostel is really nice, perfectly located, with 2 toilets...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel is really nice, perfectly located, with 2 toilets and one bathroom with 2 showers. The building where I was, wasnˇt that big- one shared number, 4 single rooms. The kitchen was spacious and great. As for the quieteness, it was fine at most of the time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    3.8
    Would not repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Staff not helpful at all, rude. - Bathrooms were disgusting, more cleaning needed. - Uncomfortable beds, old-dirty matress.

    Good location for visiting the city center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice place to stay for one night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilets and bathrooms stunk, wifi did not work in the rooms, no lockers.

    The location of the hostel is perfect - old town, close to bus stops and trams. Personel was nice, the same as dorms - clean, spacious. Wifi in common area worked fine - but only there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    3.3
    Dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hygiëne and the way the staff responded to our claim regarding bedbugs

    Our skin was and still is covered with rash and bumps which is very likely the result of bedbugs. We complained to the staff but they denied the claim. The manager was not available. We saw them later little later desinfecting the room. They had the desinfection stuff! We did not get any compensation. Not even for the night that we did not spend there. Because we left a day earlier. Showers and toilets smelled bad like a sewer system. By far the worst stay I have ever had.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location, atmosphere and price, definitely recommended to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not expect huge welcoming smile on arrival, but it is only because of local mentality. I liked the staff anyway.

    Great/fantastic Location! Hostel has unique atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.4
    Excellent Location - below average hostel - would only recommend if on a budget
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Negatives: The bathrooms have an appalling smell and are not particularly clean. The building and communal areas are very dark and therefore a little depressing Parking is achievable, but comes at a steep cost of 10 EUR per day - however it is secure The private room mattress is awful, not to mention the pubic hairs in the bed!!!

    Positives: Old Town Hostel is in an excellent location. The price is reasonable to stay within the Old Town Offering a free breakfast is nice, but it was basic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Good choice for not too picky travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you have a room on the first floor you can barely leave your window open, cause it faces the sidewalk where many passengers and tourists are passing by and it does make it quite noisy and unsafe. The walls are very thin so you can easily hear what your neighbors are up to: in this case I was very lucky to have calm and polite company behind the wall. Also, I wish there was a wifi in the rooms as well.

    I think it was a good choice of hostel for budget travellers. The location is just perfect - a pretty quiet street in the heart of Tallinn old town, with all the pubs, shops and other attractions just round the corner. A big supermarket is just 5 minutes walk. Staff were mostly students, maybe not knowing that much about the city but polite and friendly, speaking good English. Rooms were small but cozy and clean, so were the shared bathrooms (if the guests leave it messy after they use them I think it is not a hostel's fault). The hostel offers you a complimentary tea and coffee, and there are facilities you can use for making your own food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge was a bit loud and the bed squeezed a little

    The bed was very comfortable. The apt was so spacious and in an incredible location. Very happy with our upgrade.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one shower room for whole floor. Had to wake up really early to be sure can wash. Otherways would need to wait there half day until everyone will take shower. Room was chilly.

    Breakfast was good. Bed was reasonable for me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    bed bugs, yeah!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i had around 50 bed bug bites all over my arms and legs, so i had to change hostel. bed bugs may not be the hostel's fault, but they could've handled the situation better. no refund (it's the policy ... but still), not even a real apology.

    Staff was alright, good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    very close to the city center, but quite, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    in the bathroom some smell (maybe it is just plumbing is 500 years old), but The place seems to be in a mild disrepair here and there, and breakfast was a bit scanty (but ok), at the middle of the night some people were walking on the neighboring roof looking into the windows, it seems that it is a known problem.

    very close to the city center, but quite, friendly staff, everything is clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room (difficult for tall people considering the ceiling height) and very tiny window. A wedding was organized during our stay here and we hadn't been informed, it took place right under our room, horribly noisy (and I'm sorry but maybe someone has to change his career orientation, singing is not for everyone). We couldn't sleep before 1am and were awaken again at 7am because they decided to clean it up ! Very annoying and not announced... disappointing.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    The receptionist tried to make a "Female" dorm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath room is not so clean after someone use.

    The receptionist tried to make a "Female" dorm room based on my request. Also she/he kindly helped me to carry my suitecase up.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.2
    Near centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We definitely do not ever complain about our stays as usually we're happy with a few snags on your travels but this place was bad. Bed was horrific, right beside communal area therefore walking through living room in our towels. Toilets and showers were not clean. Kitchen area ok and staff very pleasant. Room not serviced when presented to us however apology and quick clean sorted this so no problems.

    Near centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Walking distance from the harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited a little long when we checked in. Two guests ahead of us with one receptionist.

    Walking distance from the harbor. Room was cozy. Nice for one night stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    I liked out
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave :'(

    For a hostel, fantastic. Really cute comfortable and clean inside. Very nice staff. Dorm room a little small, but fine. Great location, quiet. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.4
    Check in was open after midnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They booked me into a room full of people already sleeping, which meant I couldn't really get ready for bed and apparently that was the 5th time that the receptionist had come in and out of the room that night which upset other travelers in the room. This despite the fact that I had informed them that because of my plane I would be arriving at 1am. Then it turned out I was allocated a bed already spoken for in the 6 bed dormitory, which meant I was woken up in the wee hours of the morning because I was sleeping on someone else's bed. The staff member on duty clearly didn't know what he was doing.

    Check in was open after midnight.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable meeting-place for different people all over the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved this hostel. It was the greatest hostel I've ever been so far. Comfortable clean rooms and toilets/shower, good breakfast, friendly staff and a very cosy sofa (where I fell asleep before I could check in the room after an exhausting night bus right :D) - it's a a place where old and young, alone and group travellers from all over the world meet :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    In old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise. You can hear peoples footstep even i am in the single room.

    The location is within the old town. Very close to all ameneties...shops. attractions and ferry harbour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    3.8
    not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A question of security, no key to a dorm room door, not clean, very old and not working a lot of things which we need during our stay: broken shower head, broken shower room door so leaking water, broken refrigerator, broken coffee maker, not be supplied tea and coffee, not comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Rather good, but can be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've booked a twin room, but finally it was a double one. There was no apologies for inconveniences, the staff didn't even comment on this change. We were rather sad about it. We also used to ask for clean towels, it seemed like the room was not prepared upon our arrival. No Hairdryer available from reception... I was also told that coffee/tea were available all the time, but the choice was very poor: 5-7 tea bags in the big tea-box for everybody... Maybe it's my misunderstand ^^

    The location of the hostel is grеat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Cosy homely feel to the whole building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toilets were in the same room as the showers. So there would often be pools of water where your feet were. There were no separate toilets. The WiFi signal was non existent in the bedroom that I was in ( and was told by one member of staff that it could be my phone. I'm assuming he had knowledge of every other person's phone having the same problem though.

    Cosy homely feel to the whole building. It was great to share the space with travellers of all ages and nationalities. Certainly made for more interesting conversations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    4.6
    The location is fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locks in the hostel never work. There are only 2 toilets each floor and people are always trying to open the door of the toilets even though it's obviously locked and in use. There are no keys to the property nor the room. Poor security. Staff are not always present.

    The location is fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location near the old town and shopping centers, a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didin't work in the room. Soundproofing between the rooms was very poor, definitely needed earplugs. The air in the room felt a bit damp, maybe because our room was on the first floor.

    Good location near the old town and shopping centers, a walking distance from the harbor. Clean room, toilets and showers were ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice, cozy house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower drain didn't work so well, and the internet was on and off.

    Very nice, cozy house. My room was tiny but very cute and comfortable. Conveniently located right at the entrance to Old Town, but quiet at night so you get a good night's sleep. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.3
    more like for a night stop rather than for fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Too many very old people 50+ (why am I seeing this more and more in hostels?!?!?!) - breakfast isn't good - kitchen isn't so well equipped

    - beds were good - location is very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Great place to find some quiet rest and a nice breakfast in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    0Old House Hostel is a very friendly supportive place to have - and that is core - a clean and quiet bed after all the tourist hell in old town itself. The bathrooms are functional, showers are hot. You get a locker, not highly secure but enough to have the backpack stowed away. Breakfast is late, 8:15+ but very home style in a nice living room, much better then in the cafes around. Staff is friendly and available. Great place to stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    A brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two bathrooms on the lower floor are pretty cramped. Trying to go to the toilet without dropping your skirt/shorts on the wet floor from the shower was a pain. Also because they don't have any outside air entering them, they smell quite damp. The staff were helpful, but not very warm. They helped me find out everything I wanted to know, but rarely raised a smile. My wifi signal dropped out once I was in my hostel room.

    The location of this hostel is amazing. Just a short walk from the port if you arrive on the ferry from Finland, then only a couple of streets away from the old town, which is one of the prettiest places I have seen in my life. I adored staying at the hostel for that alone. Breakfast was simple, but you could help yourself to as much as you liked, so you could eat your fill. There is also an incredibly tasty gelato shop next door. Oh yum!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long, narrow room was dark and gloomy The shower drain was blocked so another guest flooded the bathroom floor No hairdryer available for guests to use More expensive than the other places I stayed but not as nice

    Nothing was really bad but nothing was good either. Just blaahhh

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Charming hostel but could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - We specifically looked for a place to stay with a 24-hours reception, because we were meant to arrive by ferry at 11:45 pm. However, when we found our way to the hostel, the main door was locked and there was no one on the reception. We rang the bell about 5 times and had to knock on a window. After about 5-10 minutes an administrator showed up. - The administrator didn't know we were coming and couldn't find our booking though we made it a month in advance. All other places we've stayed before always expected us, this time we felt very unwelcomed. - When all problems were fixed and we finally made our way to our room, it turned out it wasn't even cleaned! We had to wait for another 10-15 minutes while the administrator changed bedsheets and took the rubbish out. Of course, he couldn't vacuum or wipe floors, so it wasn't really a proper cleaning. I guess they didn't have another free room because we weren't offered anything. We were very tired, so we didn't have the energy to argue.

    + The location is nice, close to the main sights of the Old Town, and not far from a ferry terminal (10 minutes walk). + The hostel feels cosy, our bedroom seemed newly refurbished. + Double layer of curtains - a must for summer with "white nights".

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Very welcoming and traditional, in a lovely quiet part of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi signal doesn't make it down the corridor, so you have to use the shared space to get access.

    Very welcoming and traditional, in a lovely quiet part of the town with shops and restaurants nearby!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice people, good potential, but needs a little attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place just seemed to be in a state of extended disrepair. There was lots of random furniture in the hall, lights were off when I arrived and came back so it was dark every time I went to find my room. My curtain and rod fell off when I tried to open them, the refrigerator in the kitchen didn't work in the building where I stayed, but thankfully the staff accommodated my things in the main building's kitchen, and the shower drained very, very slowly.

    The staff was very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great location in Old Town Tallinn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel didn't really seem to foster much camaraderie amongst guests. I usually like hostels when I'm traveling alone as there's usually an opportunity to meet others. Not sure if I was staying on an "off" couple days but I think I saw maybe 3 other guests (from afar) while I was there.

    The location was fantastic and everything in the Old Town was walkable from the hostel. The staff were really helpful too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.7
    If I consider the value of the money and location of the hotel then I will recommend Old house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room, no ventilation system but window. Feel like suffocated. Wonder what will happen if the weather is very hot. Stayed with family so sometimes it was a bit disgusting using the shearing wet bathroom. First day there was no hand wash in the bathroom. I found that all the hotel stuffs are not very friendly but they are polite and gentle. They never keep smile on their face and don´t know much information about other things.

    Great location, clean bed sheet, comfortable bed, nice kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.3
    Excellent location, but that's all
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shartage of bathrooms, always occupied.. Cleanliness below my expectations. Low security of the rooms - no keys for the dormitories, the room can be easily accessed from outside by the window..

    Excellent location, but that's all...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was flaky in the rooms but fine in the common area.

    Great location and friendly staff. Truly like living in a shared room of a house (dorms don't have locks on the door).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location, very nice stuff , smiling and happy people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    one hair dryer for every one was too short, also toilets could be cleaner. and wifi was very bad.

    Great location, very nice stuff , smiling and happy people. ou so nice beds to sleep in. and hot water in shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful interior and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small. For weekend trip it is fine but if having more luggage it would be very difficult.

    The beds were very comfortable. The location is excellent: close to everything but at a very silent street. The interior of the hostel is cosy and unique.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Great place for a stay at oldtown!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit think walls ( I woke up because I heard snoring) and had some trouble with WC (one of them hadn't fully functioning sink)

    We loved the location - in the old town, easy to access the sightseeing points as well as ferry terminal is near. We liked the comfy beds and the view from the window - directly to the old town! And the atmosphere - old, cozy, super cute!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    4.6
    We was 3 friends staying there in 4pers room, but we get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More keys and toilet paper in toilets!

    We was 3 friends staying there in 4pers room, but we get only 1 key for the room and they didn't have any more keys even in reception😣

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent cheap Tallinn stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    The bed was comfy, the staff were amazing, the location (not on the 'party' side of town), was amazing for us. The heating was also good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    3.8
    A tale of two showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I only ask three things of a hostel and they are cleanliness, temperature reasonable and a good warm shower. I walked past the shared showers the night before and the front door was open and several bath mats were on the floor beside the right-hand shower. I waited until the next morning and found the door still open and the mats gone, but both shower stall floors were filthy. Iused a bath mat to wipe out the left shower and turned on the water, which poured out the shower head and the tubing running to the flexible hand-held shower head. After a while, I felt the water covering my feet and noticed the drain wasn't working and there were several inches of water in the stall ready to overflow the lip. And then I dropped my small bar of soap. I could not find it in the pool of water a so I got out and searched for it and still couldn't find it. Shower over. Out of curiosity I turned the cold water on in the right shower and it filled up quickly, as that drain was clogged. They were most likely connected. I next went to shave at the vanity, Lathered up and hit the light switch and nothing happened. Looked above the mirror to see there was no light, just a wire sticking out of the wall. The water faucet for the vanity was hooked up wrong, the hot and cold being reversed. Hard to shave with minimal light. I finish shaving and look one last time at the shower stalls and notice they have drained and an ugly clump of hair has risen up out of the right shower drain. Gross. I used the toilet and after flushing, noticed the water kept draining into the bowl from the tank. So much for water conservation. And then I notice why the door was open. The beautiful heavy duty lever lock was floating around in the hole in the door made for it and the solution was to put an eyehook and latch on the inside. Been there for a long time guessing by the varnish worn away in a circular pattern.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Everything was fine)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine) Very friendly staff! Funny guy is working at night) Thanks for letting us to leave the luggage before check-in and after check-out)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.3
    Great cos-benefit and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet did not really worked in the bedrooms, only in the living room. The toilets and showers are together, which sometimes led to a waiting line to use them.

    The hostel is super well located in charming street, next to everything. As far as I remember, it was a 24h reception, which I consider important. The staff was very helpful. They have a kitchen with all facilities if you want to cook or keep your food, and they offer a charged breakfast in case you want.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice a quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no border between a shower and and a toilet and sometimes water was just about everywhere making it a bit messy, but in general it was not a big deal

    The location is great, the place is close to all the main attractions but at the same time the street itself is very quiet and nice. We stayed in a double room, the bed was big and comfy. The kitchen and the common area are very big, fully equipped and beautifully decorated. The staff is super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse OldHouse Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: