Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rocca al Mare 4 stars

Vabaõhumuuseumi tee 11/ Lillevälja 2, Haabersti, 13522 Tallinn, Estonia

#62 of 99 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2430 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was a bit impolite, restaurant was super-slow (had to wait one hour for a simple skewer) and also usage of spa/pool is very limited (only 7am-11am). Usually ppl go to spa after a long day of sightseeing, not in the morning.

    The room was big and there was an amazing breakfast. Also price was reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad restaurant, we waited for 20 minutes just to be informed that the dish we ordered can`t be prepared. tablecloth was dirty. Food was below expectations, while prices are high enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was extremely unfriendly, escepially at the restoran but also at the reseption .During breakfast- the staff members do not speak Estonian neither English Dishes were badly washed- you could see wastes from previous use!!!! Breakfast itself was good Hotel room was really noisy- some kind of machine (ventilator) worked 24/7

    The location was that I was looking for

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Impolite staff. It is disrespectable and disgusting, when staff members are smoking in front of the hotel main door. Decent spa center with minimum facilities, jacuzzi was out of order. And as a hotel guest, you have to pay for the spa facilities, if you go there after 12 o'clock, this is absurd. Poor value for the money i paid for the accommodation. Poor breakfast (how can such a rated hotel serve cheap FISH FINGERS and uneatable sausages for breakfast, it's disgusting). The wifi area was very poor and i had to use my cell-phone to get quality wifi

    Quiet hotel, cozy rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is good but the choice of dishes is limited.

    Good and small hotel quite far from city center but in the calm place close to sea side. Free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor and the staff did not take care of the buffet table quickly enough (no plates available had to ask, no serviettes available had to ask, the salmon slices had a written sign saying "apple pie" and the pie had a sign saying: Salmon, yoghurt was finished, had to ask for more and in the meanwhile the staff was gladly chatting in the kitchen (I know 'cos I had to put my head in there and ask for service to the buffet table...)

    The double room was tidy, the bed was confortable and there was an aircondition in the room. Also a parking space at the yard and short walk to the shopping centre. The room was totally ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could confront the client honestly, eye to eye contact, a smile, even a forced one would not hurt. We didn't ask them for anything, we only left them our money.

    A bit of a sour staff, from check-in to check-out. We didn't take them to our room, so it didn't bother us all the time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs some investment to modernize the rooms. Staying there felt like staying at a grandma's house (very old styled rooms) and they had a wedding reception downstairs what made us hear loud music until 11pm of a Saturday night. When we booked the hotel one of the selling points was the swimming pool and then upon our arrival we were informed that it is for free only until 12 in the afternoon and then you need to pay 8EUR per person for 2 hours anytime after 12. This is not ideal as check in is after12 in the afternoon and next morning we had to leave to the airport so we couldn't use the swimming up on the set hours 8-12 as our plan was to use it in the evening. Wouldn't recommend anyone staying there as for the same price you can find much better alternative.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunatly, you should pay (8 euro) for the using of the sweeming pool for the evening time, what wasn't mentioned in informational note. It is free only in the morning when people is going to see the city or packing belongings. Also, one can think that the hotel is in the park and serounding by the greens, as it on the picture. But in reality the hotel is near the road without own green space.

    Ingeneral the hotel is good for those who travels by car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning didn't work well. We stayed in two rooms; in the first room the A/C kept blowing cold air no matter how we adjusted the temperature. In the other room it was the opposite, the A/C gave only warm air.

    Location is nice, the sea and outdoor museum are closeby. Breakfast was good. Rooms were basic but ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in pool was too cold for me, only one sauna, no steam sauna and awful bubble bath, very weak bubbles. Also I would like espresso in the morning

    Close to Saku Suurhall where we attended to concert

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was fully open but there was a problem with orders. First, the food was mixed up and somebody didn't get his order at all, Then waitress refused to bring more food as she claimed to be exhausted and that chef is also exhausted by workload of the previous week. It was strange since those were open hours of the restaurant and also no warnings were given during our initial order.

    Value for price is in good combination. Rooms are not big, but comfy. We had parking space for big bus. Tallinn center is quite close if you travel by car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to open window as the smoking area was below my room. Put on the air conditioning to freshen the room and clearly someone was smoking by the inlet and the room smelled awful.

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor breakfast, missing roll of bread and was not enough drinking glass => lack of staff separate saunas for women and men

    Cosy bed, nice view to Tallin bay from the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Otherwise was good, but since there was a bigger event nearby and hotell was full in off season the breakfast room was a bit small for all the people to feel comfortable and the staff had a bit trouble serving all the people. Coffee machine was slow and needed refilling often.

    Location is near Saku Suurhall and it is a good place to stay after a concert

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When there was more people on the breakfast, the plates got empty very quickly. And one waitress could`t manage it so fast.

    room was quiet, stuff friendly, free parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A good place if you have things to do around the Saku Hall, a bit far from the old town

    I've had a concert at Saku Surhall and it was really close to the venue. All the area has many shops, including Prisma store and Mc Donald. Just in front of the hotel, a suggesting view of the iced ( I went on February) river. Amazing breakfast. Tried Vana Tallinn they've took in the minibar, I really suggest it (3,50 euros per piece).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire escapes were restricted by a cot on the 4th floor. Chairs were blocking the fire escape on the ground floor.

    Comfy bed, underfloor heating in bathroom, rooms and general areas were clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need vodka to get the breakfast down! The coffe was the only thing that was ok. Non sympathic staff With absolutely no sence of service-mind!

    The outside environment was nice!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel needs major renovation to eliminate bad small coming from the pipes in bathroom 24*7

    This is the nearest hotel to the ice skating rink Skoda, big shopping mall just behind the corner. Staff is frendly, willing to help, nicely flexible for later departure time, good taxi arrangements

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sea view room is looking on sea side, but in reality it has only small part of harbor visible, not worth it. Also window in our room was right near the stairs (which are outside of building wall) - so everyone was able to look inside - had to have curtains always closed. Room is rather small, but comfy. Road to the city center by public transport takes ~10mins or so, back trip takes way longer. Consider using bar-code tickets - it will save 1 euro (out of 2) per ride. Breakfast is simple, with small selection of food. Spa is free until midday - after that it costs 8 Euro, and dressing room there has some swfull smell

    Overall comfy place, but more like 3*

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything was terrible. But the food topped everything - was one of the worst breakfast experiences ever. I thought it’s impossible to beat horrid coffee I had in Ibis but they somehow managed. Rooms are old, dark and smelly. Blocked shower drain. They list themselves as 4 stars, I’d barely give it a 3.

    Nothing really.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is more 3 star hotel. Room is very usual, nothing much. On the bathroom, there was only one small soap. Room was clean, nothong to say. Breakfast was quite good. Lady in reception was very frendly. Therefore in the restorant was new girl and she was tottaly lost. Big mall walk away. Good place for shopping. Citycenter far away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV set was out of order; it does not work at all, except for turning on and off without picture. Bathtub (jacuzzi) water distributing knob on the tap moves very hard, it was hard to switch it between tap and shower positions. There were possible to notice strange red little splashes like a blood on the bathroom ceiling, what could cleaned up before next guests. Some breakfast dishes (filled eggs) seemed a little bit “tired”. Our suite (on the second floor) allocated right above dining hall and kitchen, so it was possible to hear all early morning activities taking place in dining hall. Advice for those who plan to book suite- please ask for third floor room, there should be exactly same kind of room as it is on the second floor.

    Spacious room (suite), comfortable sofa and bed, interesting room placement.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was rather cold and noisy in the room due to central air conditioning which is not possible to switch off in particular room. But we received extra blankets.

    Hotel is nice and clean, located at the seaside. Easy to reach from the city center. Nearby is a large shopping mall with several restaurants. Zoo is in 10 minutes walking. Tasty breakfast, wide selection of food. Nice swimming pool with sauna.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi connection could be a bit better and more stable for the rest no complaints.

    Great breakfast, if you have the right room you will have a great view over the sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only reason to stay in this hotel is that it is very close to Saku Arena. We came to see Sting show. Hotel was overcrowded and expensive. We stayed in a small room with window like in a u-boat. Breakfast was terrible because of lack of staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its my second visit to this hotel. Now there is a large parking with lots of parking places in front of the hotel, its a big advantage! Good value for money. I would highly recommend you to order a taxi from the hotels reception, they will provide you a fixed price taxi, just for 7 eur from hotel to old town and back. It's much cheaper. Good WiFi. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed for a wedding party which we could have been pre warned about. Breakfast standard of food was very poor, cold food, bread hard, complained on the second morning.

    Location great for Arena and shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist should smile and be more service minded. The jacuzzi in the sauna was broken, but they tried to charge us 80 euro for a short visit. We refused to pay, and they agreed to that.

    We were late for brakfast but they let us eat anyway

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet speed was terrible, I can say there is no internet. Terrible place if you should have conference call, or couple megabytes PPT should be sent.

    Staff, location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise out side the window was annoying. It was facia or something like that. In wind it all time struggling against the wall and and sleep was uncomfortable.

    Nice place, good price, clean and good service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful. I'd rather starve then eat this plastic food ever again. Staff could be more friendly. And bathroom got this horrible smell.

    Its near Rocca Al Mare shopping center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no security box in the room. The hotel is situated far from the center.

    Breakfast and the way everything is organised at the hotel. All receptionists were good but Alexander was the friendliest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel outside of Tallinn, but not too far from city center (cca 4 EUR with Uber) with good breakfast, small swimming pool and sauna. Easy and free parking in front of hotel with nice view on the see.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Should check what is written as information for guests (regarding towels for sauna/pool in reception...), jacuzzi bath do not work properly, key for wardrobe should ask twice and then take time to get the right key for it ...

    Good staff; great opportunity to have breakfast on terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel didn't informed that there are road works next to the hotel. It was loud and bad smell. My fresh washed car was covered by road construction dust. Breakfast coffee was terrible - looks like tea, taste like coffee mixed with 2 liters of water. First morning oat flake porridge was prepared from sour milk. I was closed to nausea.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were staying in the hotel many times in the past as well as this year during our trip down to Central Europe three months ago. The change in the quality of the service and staff behaviour was substantial. We recognised that the staff is new and not so well cooperating as the old one, but it was not the language problem because my wife and I we both speak fluently English and Russian. Repairing works of the street in front of the hotel makes it difficult to reach the hotel too. Very poor breakfast, cold coffee, a hair in the omelette, tasteless dishes. The selection of breakfast courses was too poor in the relation to the price of the overnight.

    The localisation of the hotel is good, close to shopping centre, the coast and walking paths. Nice exterior decorations as well as a lot of flowers makes the hotel cosy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor in the hotel seemed very dull (dark brown everywhere) and the hotel was in need of some repair. The staff seemed quite disinterested except to book taxis which at least was very quick. We stayed for three nights and our room was not serviced once despite asking at reception to have the room serviced. Three days without a change of towels or bedding I found a bit strange and not very good for a holiday. The location is far from perfect. The road in front of the hotel was closed for resurfacing so there was building noise throughout our stay. Some taxi's refused to drive up to the hotel which wasn't good. We went for a walk along the sea front outside the property but we met with gangs of lads drinking cans of beer and a few people smoking joints down by the beach. All a bit seedy really and meant we couldn't really relax around the hotel (or outside the Old Town). The swimming pool and sauna was not available after 11am in the morning so it wasn't an option for us to use. I wasn't aware of this prior to booking and maybe I didn't read the descriptions properly but overall was quite disappointed by this. The breakfasts were very poor and quite lacking in choice. All in all, not a pleasing experience and I would not book again at this property. While it was possible to get into and out of the Old Town of Tallinn quite easily, I think it would have been better to have paid a bit extra and stayed in the Old Town itself.

    The taxi service from the hotel was excellent taking on average about 7 minutes to wait for a taxi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast! Bad coffee and food trays were all the time empty and it took so long time to fill them again. The staff in the restaurant side didn't really understand Estonian/English and was really slow.

    Comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel was marked as a "beach hotel" and that is the reason why I chose it. What a disappointment to see that there is no beach at all, not even near! the location was good to reach Tallinn by bus (bus stop 20 meters away) and right on the back of a big Mall with all kind of shops and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were clean, not especially stylish, but functional. Even though shower in the room fulfils its purpose, it is not a very enjoyable experience. Garden facing rooms are relatively quiet, but the level of insulation on the windows are somewhat poor, so I can simply assume that sea-view rooms might get a little road noise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast. Comfortable bed. Quiet place. Perfect option for a trip to Tallinn in the summer time. There are a lot of greenery around the Hotel and a seaside with a promenade. Taxi to the Old Town will cost you only 6 euros.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was falling down, and speed was too low. Better to use mobile one (3g/4g)

    Truly nice view from room to the sea, of course if you book a suite room :) And Jacuzzi in room was good bonus for two of us to have some fum :D Hotel is situated remotely from town, but good connection for public transport to city to avoid driving a car. If would choose this hotel again for the next stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite it was my visit number seven to this hotel and despite my stay was guaranteed with the credit card via booking.com and despite in the booking confirmation was written “No prepayment is needed”, the clerk at reception desk demanded immediate payment for the stay. To my comment on the situation he answered in an arrogant way that he does not care what booking.com wrote in the confirmation. I have got impression that he is considering me as a potential cheater. He just showed the communistic mentality that still exist widely in Estonia. Rest of staff was pretty nice and professional.

    Very good cuisine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location if you need to go to Saku Suurhall for an event. 5-7 min to walk. As well for shopping in Rocca al Mare mall. Rooms are nothing exceptional, but quiet and clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude reception staff Very rude restaurant staff The entry to the hotel was so dangerous walking from car to main door . They could not be bothered to clear the ice and snow. This would have taken them 20 mins max to do .Horrendus. Then got out of shower laid on bed and wow another client opened my door and walked straight in . Very embarrassing for both parties . Went straight to reception she said oh sorry my fault put your room on there card key .

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was too warm in rooms. Swimming pool and sauna area were humble / basic, but the cost of one-night stay was very low, and I did not expected luxury.

    location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    bad wifi access, it was still disconnecting and connecting, low speed. I was quite angry about that. Hope that next time it will be better.

    really nice view and clean sheets. Awesome swimming pool and sauna at the morning, before breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some 'computer says no' attitude-type staff, bar shuts early, info in welcome pack not up-to-date (purchase of drinks at reception, bar opening times and massage times), and had no plasters in their first aid kit when I cut myself.

    Great location for Skoda Ice Rink, some very friendly and helpful staff, clean, free spa in morning and they kindly let me have late check out at 3pm.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    designed by someone having no idea os convenience and practicality - counter-intuitive planning, useless navigation, steep steps, no proper heat curtain making staff block the entrance making impression you come the wrong place, tiny uncomfortable lobby, room full of sharp corners and exess furniture lobby bar closed early but this does not prevent guests from partying noisily all aroung the place (no soundproofing in the room), no drinking water available in the rooms paid breakfast makes for really obscure take-away if you leave early really unfriendly staff with grim faces and little language skills

    location facing the sea

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very very bad like tomato and cucumber not fresh and I book room different then give to me first day different room jakuzi doesn't work and some staff restaurants side they really rude they can speak English service really bad

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean and nice rooms, good breakfast selection. As well the location of this hotel is close to city center. Good place where to relax after working day.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfriendly staff, breakfast is very poor, a coffee cups had a brown stains from insufficiently washing, trash in the room floor (chocolate foil). There were no room cleaning during my stay in this hotel. A reception lady informed me wrong how to go to City Center. I had to pay taxi instead of to take a bus, that costs ten time less than a taxi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive, cold water in jacuzzi, additional peyment for using spa in the evening

    Good location, parking, not super-rich, but ok to eat breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free sauna/pool is offered just for time gap normal business guest should be far away from hotel. Brown drink named coffee from pot is definitely far from 4* standards. Breakfast is good, average, acceptable, OK, etc. Still that is not clear who pays to booking.com to range such breakfast as /Very good/. Visible signs of deterioration at reception area. Dirty smelly bay in front of hotel could be hardly valued as /sea view/.

    Comfortable silent sleep at opposite to /sea view/ street/ side. Excellent positioning and appearance of building in nice area. Slice of salmon included in breakfast menu list. As well as good herring matches well with /al mare/. Parking in front of building is the best option. Nice design and architecture.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personel was not friendly or even did not looked like that they are interested in something what is going on almost at all. Quality of breakfest could be better as well.

    Location is the hotel is good if Your travel for bussiness or have something to do on this area but otherwise it is away from city center. Rooms are clean and overall impression about this small hotel is nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have shuttle service. Had to pay 8 euros per person for only 1 hour and 30min to use the pool and sauna

    The mall was two mins away. Really enjoyed the sauna and pool. Room was nice and clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wedding in restaurant and sitting area meant no choice but to leave hotel in the evening, or stay in room. In the morning being Sunday, breakfast started at 8 which was understandable but could not even get a cup of coffee. Sitting area was still a mess from the night before although was being cleaned outside was still empty bottles, glasses and old food on the tables at 7am

    Location was ok but stayed here due to full hotels closer to city

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Misleading information. In the booking information was said that the pool is included in the price, but we had to pay extra: EUR 8,- for an adult and 6,- for the child.

    The location was quiet, easy to find, breakfast was very good. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I must say the view was great! We enjoyed to take a walk in the park and sit on the terrace - it's a lovely quiet place not far from the center. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. The breakfast buffet was not the biggest, yet everything one might want was there. I tried some of the wellness treatments and I was very pleased. :) We would definitely recommed the hotel for a holiday in Tallinn!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small room, the SPA facilities were hard to operate, no one even helped us to warm the Jacuzzi bath. No electric kettle in the room (for 4 stars hotel it's unbelievable).

    The location was good, as I born in this city and neighborhood. 10 minutes by car to the old town. The staff were good, clean room. Very good massage at SPA, but not a SPA itself. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect - beautiful quiet place, great view on the oldtown and the sea. There is a large mall 4 min away. It's really easy to get to the center, it takes around 15 min with the public transport. The staff was really nice, they even contacted us on the same day, letting us know we forgot our glasses. That was really kind! The breakfast was fresh and the orange juice wasn't mixed with water!! You don't get much of that in these days. The parking and the internet was free of charge. In a few words - we had a great time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioner was noisy.

    Location was good when visiting the shopping center and the zoo (whitch I dont recommed). Hotel was nice and clean and all went well for us.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast felt quite limited even to me, and I am not a picky person. But overall we left happy and can say that price matches the service and quality of the hotel. Improve the breakfast quality/choice and it will be perfect!

    The hotel is located close to the shopping mall and Tallinn Zoo. As well as old city is easily reachable with public transport (takes ~16min). Free of charge internet as well as monitored car park is available free of charge. As well as free pool and sauna in the morning. It was empty, so we had all the pool by ourselves :) And jacuzzi in the room! Worked perfectly!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very limited and not good at all. There is only one iron available in the hotel which was not convenient. The bar and the kitchen closes at 10:00pm and it was not possible to get even a cup of tea or coffee after that time.

    We liked the pool and sauna. The hotel is located very close to the open air museum and the big Rocca Al Maare shopping center and there is also a bus which can take you to the old town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very dirty. One of the babies toys fell under the bed. I would say the floor hadn't been cleaned for months, the amount of dust and hairs was unreal. Somebody had spilled coke behind the small side cupboard, the inside shelf was sticky and so was the floor. It would have been so easy to notice, if somebody would have bothered to look in.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no free toiletries and no slippers. Our car broke down on the way to Tallinn and we called to let them know we will arrive later than we planned. The lady at the front desk said she will make us a discount, which was super comforting since we lost 12 hours with the broken car not to mention the cost. When we got to the hotel the guy at the front desk said that there is no such thing, seemed very rude to me and made us pay. I know they are not obliged to make discounts and all, but DO NOT mention them if you are not going to deliver.

    The bed was super sized and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beaty center was closed all the time. When did booking for next morning and went for appointment, noone was there reception did not inform me that they did not manage to get staff to Salon. The room was clean but little outdated and dark decor.

    Location near sea,big shopping mall and Zoo was good.Not too far from Tallin centre

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brekfast; too much sweetened meals, for example oatmeal, only white toast bread and dark bread with suryp, only fresh thing was melon. Far away from health meal. Cleaning was not well done. The shower sewer didin't work. To find the way to the hotell was quite challengin.

    The bed was ok.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. While at home, we inquired about the sea view room but didn't confirm the room change on the website. When we arrived, it turned out that "they thought we did", and we had to pay extra for the sea view room. Well, that was not a problem for us, but I can hardly call it the "sea view" :) I attached a picture. 2. We asked for two single beds, but when we arrived there was a large double bed. Oops :) So, we had to wait until the room maid separates it into two single ones. 3. When we checked out and asked how to get to the Central Bus Station at the reception, the guy gave us wrong directions. He told us to take bus 41 to Vabaduse Väljak and then take bus 135, which actually goes to nowhere :) Fortunately, we could read the bus schedules :P 4. Water in the swimming pool and in the jacuzzi was cold 5. 4 star hotels should provide shampoo, there was only shower gel...

    Very delicious food and a cozy bed. Room maids keep rooms clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain

    Excellent choice during summer season if you are not keen on downtown.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel in lovely, quiet area. Rooms are ok, wide choice on breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath in SPA was not working properly.

    Nice and clean place. And a very good location and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind personel 😀

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Rocca al Mare traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: