Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Original Sokos Hotel Viru 4 stars

Viru Väljak 4, Tallinn City-Centre, 10111 Tallinn, Estonia

#51 of 102 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1313 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.5
    Good location for me.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location for me. 10 mintues from the airport in evening traffic. Nice view from the top floors. Good breakfast, godo selection although with large crowds.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Location, location, location, everything is around you, even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are quite soft, but a solution found by my wife is taking first mattress off

    Location, location, location, everything is around you, even in a rainy day you have plenty things to do not far or even in the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    location very good for any inner city activity
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sauna was being renovated and not available to guests. This is unfortunate, as I had selected the hotel partly due to a sauna being available. TV channels were quite limited, but not critical.

    The breakfast was excellent and had everything one could usually hope for. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Great hotel, would stay here again.

    The location is great, few steps from old town. A lot of restaurants, shopping centers are near by and right under the hotel. The room and the bathroom are clean, comfortable beds. Wonderful view from the window on 18 floor. Fantastic breakfast with a lot of choices on any taste.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed in this hotel several times during past decade and it's fairly maintained. Hotel is in optimal location, next to harbour and old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    It was a great location with a very spacious family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor was little dusty.

    It was a great location with a very spacious family room. My daughter loves the bunk beds, children cups, and bath toys. It is easy to visit old town from here and there are lots of trams nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Served our purpose great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really helpful, we had an early checkout and they sorted us out some breakfast before we went. KGB Museum is interesting and stunning views from the top of the hotel and the location is great, literally over the road from the Old town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was very good and a lot to choose from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We ordered a room for 3 adults and got a family room intended for families with young children which was a bit too small. The breakfast room was VERY crowded and we had to wander around with the food in order to find a place to sit.

    Breakfast was very good and a lot to choose from. The location in the center of town close to the old city and restaurants is VERY convenient. The hotel has luggage storage service which is also very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed it. Great position, very central and a good hotel with a well catered breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved to have seen the KGB operation centre museum. Unfortunately the English tour was right in the middle of the morning when I was out seeing the city on a hop on hop off bus. Maybe the tours should be early morning or late afternoon so as not to clash with other sceanic excursions. Maybe when one books a room on Booking.com the hotel should ask if you wish to book a KGB tour. This would mean guests of the hotel would get special preference.

    The view of the city and Barbour from the 15th floor was amazing and the hotel was very central. I could walk to the old city and the sight seeing bus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    The staff at every point of contact (i.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My room did not have a safe. I was offered an option of leaving valuables at reception - that was not, in my view, a practical alternative.

    The staff at every point of contact (i.e. cleaners, receptionists and bar staff) were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    too hot in the room and air con is not the best takes ages to cool down tiny room .

    Excellent location ! Very helpful staff and Tasty breakfast till 11am

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    It was a beautiful trip
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's Nothing not to like

    The breakfast was delicious also made by Fresh products you can tell by taste it . The bedrooms was clean And The View was breathtaking from 22 flor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not working properly especially for toilet. Price is a little high for a standart room.

    Hotel Viru has a perfect location and we had very good breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Four fun days in Tallinn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location easy walk to Medieval town with restaurants, shopping and history. Had panoramic view of the city from our hotel. Breakfasts very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    The family room was comfortable and well appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The floor we stayed on had a strange odor in the hallway.

    The family room was comfortable and well appointed. The hotel staff was helpful as well as friendly. Breakfast buffet had a lot of choices even when we arrived close to the closing time of breakfast. Hotel was very close to the Old Town and in an excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Two in tallinn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a dangerous bit going into the bathroom. Kept falling over it.

    Bedroom bigger than expected. Beds great. Kettle but no coffee! Great reception staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    THE LOCATION IS EXCELLENT AND THE VIEW FRIM THE ROO IS GREAT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE LOCATION IS EXCELLENT AND THE VIEW FRIM THE ROO IS GREAT.THE BREAKFAST IF VERY GOOD AND THE STAFF WARM AND FRIENDLY OUR CLEANING LADY WAS OUTSTANDING. THE ONE MAJOR FLAW IS THE STEP FROM THE ROOM TO THE WASHROOM WHICH IS VERY DANGEROUS

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value for the money.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not sufficient during summer Low price parking is closed but hotel does not update you about this There is a low price parking lot 5 min walk away but hotel staff inform you only if you insist Mattress not good enough for couples Cleaning staff does not clean unless given tip in advance Very little storage space

    Excellent breakfast Nice view from upper floors

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location close to the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning has some peculiar smell when you enter into the room. No tea bags in the room. Price of the hotel is high.

    Spacious family room with bunk bed and microwave. Get gorgeous view from the ferry port to the old town. Excellent location to the old town and have a shopping mall on the ground floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Worth upgrading for a decent room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room which we had for 3 nights was cramped with barely space to move round. No safe! Cleaning was poor. Needs updating. Shower gell and soap in all containers. No other toiletries. Tiled floors so can hear movement in other rooms. Adequate. Breakfast is chaotic in a theatre with tables everywhere and everyone milling about. Hard not to spill ones food and drink. The food choice is good but a strange assortment of teas. VERY NOISY. The suit we had on our return had a very odd smelling bathroom

    Next to the old town with all its attractions and excellent restaurants. 2 minutes from the tram to the main bus station (3 stops away) and the airport 19 minutes away and stops at the terminal) The suite which we had for one night was good with a safe, bath with shower over, sofa and space to move around. The room was quiet and the view over the port and old town excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Was expecting a little more, but location made up for it
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old and not really clean (for instance, we had to change the bed sheets upon arrival), quality of the breakfast is far from outstanding...., very expensive (but convenient) parking, no replacement of the soap dispenser in the bathroom.

    Excellent location right next to the old city, spacious bedroom and bathroom, good and affordable summer lunch deal; fridge in the room, little presents for the kids

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel near old Tallinn
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The "wardrobe" in the room was too small. And there was space in the room to have a bigger one. The description on Booking says that there is a swimming pool, but it's not true.

    The location is perfect to visit the old town of Tallinn and also to get to the KUMU museums. The breakfast offer is very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Very central location - just next to the old two and with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed looked very nice, but was the most uncomfortable bed I have been sleeping in for long time. It was very soft. There was no option of making coffee or tea in the room. No complementary drinking waster.

    Very central location - just next to the old two and with tram going directly to the airport. Excellent views from top floors. Good internet connection. The hotel had a green certificate, but unclear what was "green". There was an instruction to take used batteries to the reception - how often do you have used batteries at a hotel. Furthermore, disposable paper should be left on the table - I assume that toilet paper is excluded ;) There was no small single use soap, shampoo, lotion bottles- nice to see. What else?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately we couldn't get into the KGB museum unless you make an appointment as they only show the museum to groups, you can't just go on your own. We didn't have time to do that with our stay so we had to pass on it. That was the only disappointment.

    Everything else! Nice rooms were clean and comfortable, bathrooms were clean, and if you are lucky to have one of the higher floors you get a gorgeous view from the ferry docks to old town. It's just a short walk to old town. It's also connected to the Viru shopping center which has some restaurants as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Great location across Old Town on Viru square. Nice family room (Kids loved it) Good breakfast Added attraction: KGB museum on 23rd floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Everything as expected from Sokos, besides elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator! The worst thing in this hotel, during busy times you wont be able to get in, it took us some time to figure our where the stairs were. Using stairs was much faster than waiting for an elevator to fit 2 people.

    Everything was good in the room and great breakfast included!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.3
    The best thing in this hotel is the great view form the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor of the room seemed quite tired, the room itself had too much furniture for such a small room and it needs some refreshing.

    The best thing in this hotel is the great view form the room window and location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed a lot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amarillo restaurant, food not what we expected. The parking in front of the hotel; in the automat to pay all the text in Estonian language! :-/

    We enjoyed a lot! Room, bed, view all amazing! Smoking balcony: big plus! Personal was friendly, everything went smoothly. Breakfast quite regular, but good. Fruits were fresh! Parking in front of hotel was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.4
    Tollerable!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only the location!

    Rooms were cramped. I booked for a normal double bed room and I was given 2 single bed room. No moisturizer was provided even after repeated request. Bath tub had broken drain so water could not be hold.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    We would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you like your room like a sauna then its OK but in all honesty the room was so hot it made our first nights sleep very uncomfortable. It is impossible to open any windows unless you call maintenance. We complained & they up graded us to a business class room which was bigger & slightly better but not perfect.

    The location is quite central to the old part & the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.1
    Generally, it was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly - we are a family of 6. We booked 2 rooms1 family room and 1 standard room. We expected to have the rooms next to each other. On checking in, we were very surprised when this lady at the reception told us that the rooms were on 2 different floors. She even went on to tell us that its because all family rooms are on the 11th floor. We perceived It as missinfotmation coz just next to our kids room on 10th floor was a family room. We wondered why she had to say that. It would have been professional to tell us that the family rooms on 10th floor are few and are fully booked. Something like that. We took it quite personal when we took our kids to their room on 10th floor and just next to them housecleaning was working on the room before theirs and it was a family room. It was inconviniencing for us to be on 2 different floors. 2ndly - housecleaning have to do a little more. There was dust on top of the headboard in the family room. My kids and i are allergic to dust so we coughed through out the first night until we cleaned the dust Off ourselves the next day. Then the next day when housecleaning came in the morning to clean, they didnt replace the cups and glasses that we had used the previous day. They left them there. We dont know whether thats the norm.

    We liked the location and the fact that it is next door to a shopping mall. We liked the breakfast and the fries at Amigo restaurant. The lady Whose name i dont remember but who receives guests for breakfast at the entrance - was very professional and hospitable. We generally loved the ambience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.7
    ok for a conference but not for a romantic stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast quality below average, many choices but lower quality food. Bad coffee, no decent espresso. Scrambled eggs and bacon really bad. No good juice for breakfast.

    Decent facility for conference, business room comfortable, good location close to old town, nice view on 22nd floor

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.3
    Average quality hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not so big and I had difficulties to close the window therefore it was quite noisy and cold. I suppose the mechanism was broken. I called the reception but no one answered. The shower was directly on the floor with a curtain; this is the Nordic style but it's a bit odd and the water splashes all over. Good that I brought a soap bar with me because they had only liquid soap. I parked the car in front of the hotel and I announced that to the reception. Indeed I did not confirm that I will keep it there or move it into the commercial centre parking in the following days. Therefore the second day I had a fine from a parking checking company. I wonder how that the hotel did not communicate to this company that the car belongs to one of their clients. The hotel should have called me and ask whether I intend to keep the car parked where it was or not and only after that confirm to the parking company whether the parking is illegal or not. In the end the reception girl found a way to paid for all parking period and to cancel the fine. For those who want to park there it will be good maybe to pay in advance for all intended period and avoid any unpleasant fine.

    Very good location on top of a commercial centre and close to other, as well as close to the old city centre. excellent view over town and harbour from the upper floors. Varied breakfast with a lot of warm and cold treats; unfortunately not very good coffee...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.1
    Good mid-price hotel with decent facilities in Tallinn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room on floor 18 had poor wifi reception so spent most of my time in the lobby, but no power sockets there so back upstairs to charge laptop again. No in-room coffee/tea making.

    Good location near old town and convenient for airport (only 4km or so away). Decent breakfast. Had a nice and quick meal in the in-house tex-mex restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    The air conditioning system was troublesome for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The air conditioning system was troublesome for me. Even if You specify +3 degrees Celsius, the room stays around 22 constantly and won't start warming it up. Maybe 22 degree Celsius is OK for some, but in this weather I would have preferred a warmer room. Other than this issue it was OK

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Famous high rise hotel close to Tallinn Old Town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing particularly. Found that colleague paid less than I did for same nights through other accommodation booking service!

    Historical modern hotel on the edge of Tallinn old city centre - easy to get to from airport. Comfortable room with striking views across the city. Good wifi connection. Excellent breakfast, if a bit crowded. Enjoyed the historical connections with the KGB!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay especially if you stay in the upper floors for the great view over the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the lift shaft bothered a bit during the early morning as our room was close to it. The toilet was clean but bit 1990s – old.

    The view was excellent from the 19th floor and the bed was very comfortable. The room was small but we knew that and therefore found it very good. The breakfast room was great. The hotel staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Visiting family good central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key cards not working 4times . Quite expensive we stopped for one week . Would return as good location . But just checked with your site and its full for next year . Very surprised at that .

    Lovely breakfast especially the bread . Good location . Just had lots problems with the key card not working . Quite expensive . But on the whole we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    excellent location, superb views
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ventilator hum at night so took out card from reader to cut electricity but that meant I could not charge my electronic devices over night

    was given a beautiful room on the 19th floor with view of the city and the sea - perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is inside the Viru Center mall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is impossible to turn off the A/C, I had to call maintenance and they just turned off the main electrical switch to shut it down - a simple remote would be better. During the summer time it get dark very late, better curtains are required to help children sleep. The breakfast is big but not interesting. Be careful of the step when entering the bathroom.

    The hotel is inside the Viru Center mall. So it is a good place to land in, has all the shops and restaurants below. crossing the main street you reach the entrance to the old town. The view is great. The bank bed is good for 2 children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    3 amazing days in Tallinn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is a bit not comfortable, because the water is all over the floor.

    We had a special offer at reception: a room with sauna for extra 20 euros for 2 nights ( as i understood it costed much more on website). The room was amazing!! Top floor, the view was great!! Breakfast was delicious. Location is very convinient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    The new family rooms are spacious.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing what needs improvement is the way the parking is arranged. I have been using my car at day time, you have to go into the parking garage and pay every time you leave and enter. It would be good if there could be a day fee with multiple entrances to the parking house instead of having to pay every time.

    The new family rooms are spacious. We were traveling with a big dog but there is plenty of room to accommodate 2 grown ups, 2 children and a dog. We travel a lot with our fury friend and in Tallinn this is now by far my most favorite hotel to travel to with my dog.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Excellent location and a great place to bring your pet
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While Tallinn isn't a city where you'll be holed up in your room watching TV, the remote for the TV was hard to figure out. The threshold to the bathroom is high, and we stubbed our toes on it several times. The common gents' toilet by the lobby could have benefited from better cleaning. These are just minor remarks, though, and didn't detract from our experience. If we go to Tallinn again, we'll make sure to stay at Hotel Viru.

    We traveled with a cat and a 14 year old. The room was perfect for our purposes. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is great, close to a high end shopping mall, restaurants, bars, public transportation and the Old Town, all within a few minutes' walk. The Amarillo Tex-Mex restaurant was nice, our waiter friendly and attentive. The breakfast buffet was of international standard, with local touches.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    If travelling for the location this is the place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room extra small - bathroom really old -but clean

    Location was fantastic, breakfast was good and had a great variety, staff very efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.4
    Many better hotels around for the same price. Not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms, soviet style building in need of refurbishing. Soviet style service, didnt find staff being friendly or welcomming at all. Breakfast is ok, but restaurant is too packed.

    Great view from the window (given that you are on a side that is facing old town). Good location, close enough to old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Prime location for Old Town and bus connections
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more space for luggage would have been nice, but overall not bad.

    The location was fantastic. The breakfast was delicious. The staff was helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    One-night stay in Tallinn made nice and easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish hair conditioner had been provided (in the bathroom) along with soap and shampoo.

    The location is excellent, the room was great, the staff was very nice and helpful. Easy access to restaurants, pubs and bars was a huge plus, and I loved that there was a taxi stop right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    7.9
    I like this place - great location and still the soviet ghost around
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room renovation wasn't up to date but ok. cleanliness could be improved

    great breakfast, excellent location near old town. Recommended for all visitors. Very friendly and nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.3
    Greatly located,a bit old fashioned for my taste
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit old fashioned decorated,for my standards. The towels were smelling a bit awkwardly,kind of mold-like. No smart TV (something that I consider a plus and a standard nowadays) Poor Wifi. You had to pay extra 7 euros for the gym (not much but nevertheless annoying,if you consider the price of the room)

    Great location,just 100 m fron the Old town entry. Breakfast was good.I would recommend that you go as early as possible ,because the breakfast room is really (really) crowded. We had a room in the 20th floor,so the view was amazing. The staff was really friendly with huge smiles and really good English. As a welcome offer,we found a box of chocolates ,which was really cool.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.8
    Great location, good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - breakfast choice was a little too limit - cleanliness in bathroom toys could have been better look after esp children toys in bathroom (rubber ducks were filled with dirty water for centuries, it seems)

    - great room facility esp family room with extra mild kid soap - nice decoration - great location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.1
    The shower shield is very strange.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower shield is very strange...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, too many guests

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Very efficient service
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    Very efficient service

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.5
    We wouldn’t stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t as shown in the pictures. Decor was awful

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everythings was good

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Amazing place I loved it big room and huge beds good tv and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing place I loved it big room and huge beds good tv and table top and my dog a big husky also enjoyed the hotel ;)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Exellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buthtub watershield is week. Easy to get flooded floor.

    Exellent location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay at Hotel Viru.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was ok and I cant complain

    Location. Nice staff. Clean and good services.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    4.6
    The room had a bad smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a bad smell

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer didn’t work!

    Nice location. If you have room on the upper floors, you get pretty good view of the city. Breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    A beautiful trip
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I get there is Nothing not to like

    The View from the room from floor 2012 was breathtaking all that was clean and the staff Where fine an efficient

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Location is fantastic 5 min walk to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is fantastic 5 min walk to the old town. Easy parking in the shopping center next door (although expensive). Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    good location, but hotel less quality than average
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some smell in room was all the time, but was to lazy go to complain

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and too old fashion everything

    Service and view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly situated with great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's such a huge hotel and there was far too long a queue to check-in.

    Perfectly situated, great view over the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    The Aircondition was hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Aircondition was hot

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Great clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC unit was hard to control to make the room cooler.

    Great clean rooms. Very close to the old town. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Spacious family room with bunk bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is too small

    Spacious family room with bunk bed. Right in the central location. Helpful front desk staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location next to Old Town and to big shopping mall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location next to Old Town and to big shopping mall

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Family room: good price for 3 persons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family room: good price for 3 persons. Bunk bed good even for a teenager. Clean room. This is a good basic hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful staff and good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful staff and good breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    not goog...not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    price for the hotel

    extra bed was very bad....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Good location,good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location,good service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are not comfortable, there is a bad smell inside the hotel and breakfast is avarage

    Location is great,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Location and parking hall are plus.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not clean, it was and dusty.

    Location and parking hall are plus. Shopping mall fine, too.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Original Sokos Hotel Viru traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: