Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of St.Olav Hotel 4 stars

Lai 5, Tallinn City-Centre, 10133 Tallinn, Estonia

#79 of 99 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3448 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Perfect location and beautiful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in the heart of the old town, the room was spacious and I loved the decor in the hallways. Great value, and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    great location, great breakfast, but the bed is not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the administrator did not speak Estonian the queen size bed was made of two small beds and they fall apart

    the location is perfect breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.6
    The location is really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we've got was really small, the shower was like 5 ft 5 The advertisement suggested a much bigger room The price of a double room is way too high at €100 per night

    The location is really good The interior of the hotel looks nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.0
    Not happy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful receptionist. First gave us a tiny room with no windows on the ground floor facing a noisy public area. A horrible smell came from the bathroom. When we complained we were given a large room on the 3rd level that had a window on ground level! We had to haul our luggage up 3 floors! No help was offered - we are 2 ladies in our late 60s!

    Location was good. Germa was the only helpful staff member.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    A hotel with character, history, and a welcoming spirit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The space between the foot of the bed and the wall was rather tight. I didn't mind, and I'm not the slimmest person, but this might present a problem for people with limited mobility. The only source of light and air was the door to the room. There was an opaque roll-down shade for privacy, but that meant a choice between being on public view or being in the dark. I'd suggest to the owners that they provide a gauze curtain as well as the shade, so people could have light in the daytime without being exposed to public view.

    This is an old hotel in an old building in an historic district. As such, it will appeal to people (like me) who look for some character in their hotel. It will not appeal to those who want everything "perfect" in the sanitized, cookie-cutter hotel sense - better to find a business brand in the newer parts of town in that case. I, for one, liked it very much. The staff, who seem to work very long hours, manage to be friendly and helpful even at the end of a very long day. They even opened the breakfast room early for me on my departure day so I could have a leisurely breakfast before heading to the airport. The breakfast was generous, with a large variety of local breakfast fare. My ground floor room opened on a courtyard that was calm, light, and accommodating during my stay. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the bathroom large, modern, and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is in a centuries old building with lots of charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the breakfast was the worst selection we encountered in the month we were on holidays. The first person we met when we arrived at the hotel (behind the front desk) was very unfriendly and abrupt,he made us feel quite unwelcome

    The hotel is in a centuries old building with lots of charm. Our room was clean ond comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Good Location, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the receptionist was not helpful, she did not even have a wine opener. The room was under the Roof without Elevator. To Change the room costed 20€.

    Good Location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Building is beautiful and old but still clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to find our room at first. There is a lot of stairs depending where your room is located. Not suitable for all, there is no lift.

    Building is beautiful and old but still clean and modern. In a heart of Old Tallinn. I liked the breakfast and our junior suite a lot :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Excellent central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tiny and windowless, lacking proper ventilation. Our room gave on to the garden, which was noisy until late, thanks to the fact that there are tables and chairs there and people sit and chat. No reading lamps. Cramped bathroom.

    Excellent central location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.7
    Location is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you come in to hotel at door always will sit guests who smoke - it’s not nice. First floor rooms with view - yes, tou have room eith glass dor to hotell teritory, actual tou don’t have any day light if you don’t want that other guests look into your room. Also tou can hear all neighbors from other room, all what they talking or going to bathroom, maybe in other rooms is better but in first floor it is very bad, that you can hear enything an can not get your silence in mornings or evenings. If you book a room, better to reserve rooms in second or higher floors

    Location is very good. Breakfest also is ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    2.5
    BEWARE OF THE SCAM IN THE HOTEL!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BEWARE OF SCAM!!! I came in hotel at 11:43, got a reply from reception that they have the room ready but if I want o check in even 1 minute before 2 PM, I need to pay 20 euro extra! SInce 2013 I`ve booked ony through booking.com 250+ hotels, never faced this "treatment", but anyway didnt sleep the night because of a bus ride, so paid these 20 euro, but on the checkout asked for receipt - the same girl REFUSED to give me receipt, when I insisted, given only for my room price, without early checkin (so probably she has stolen this money not giving it to hotel and anyone). But anyway it is either VERY BAD policy of hotel, or VERY BAD trainings and control they have for their employees. In any case I am totally not happy, this is not what you expect from 4 star hotel. Plus add to it that there is no elevator in the building and there were no toothpaste, toothbrush or other amenties in the room...So far my FIRST negative reply on the hotel from 250+ visited with booking.com...Just for you to understand that if such person writes negative reply that means its really bad hotel I would NEVER RECOMMEND TO ANY OF MY FRIENDS OR TO ANY PEOPLE I KNOW.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    3.8
    The breakfast restaurant and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentleman at the reception was unhelpful and rather rude we had to reject the first room as it was unacceptable and the second room was only marginally better .As we were staying for only one night we did not make a fuss will definitely not recommend this hotel rooms very small.

    The breakfast restaurant and the location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt like the reception from the young woman in charge by night, rude and not helpfull at all. Room was on the last floor, lots of stairs and very very hot. I also ask for a quiet room and the window of the small double room was up from the garden , where everybody talks loud and smoke.

    I like the breakfast, it was the best. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyed the location, but the facilites were low quality & not much light in there unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the room there was not enough light and the humidity was very high as well, so you could feel the smell which reminded a bit of mold, like the smell of mold. Also we think the house is haunted & it was pretty scary.

    The location was very good, exactly in the center of the Tallinn's Old Town and everything was very close by. Also enjoyed the breakfast, which was pretty fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    The location is great, literally 2 minutes from the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has no elevator. Normally, this would not be a problem. However, due to the weird construction and structure of the building, which resembles a maze with long and steep stairs, carrying your luggage up to the 5th floor can be quite daunting.

    The location is great, literally 2 minutes from the city center. The staff was helpful and the bedroom (5th floor) was ok (although a little bit cramped).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Old pictoresque hotel in a good central position. Ok quality/price ratio. Small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ROOM was very small: to go from the entrance to the bathroom we had to walk crab-like because there were only 30 cm between the end of the bed and the wall. Big luggages might have created some problems. It was a room at the ground floor, facing a small internal garden. Which on one side was fortunate, because the hotel doesn't have an elevator and the higher you get, the steeper the stairs are. On the other side, I could smell smoke in the room, because guests smoked in the garden and it got through the door. Also, the door was glass-like, with just a thin curtain, so you really could not keep light out at night, while in the morning it was quite dark anyway. Mattresses were super soft, so not ideal for back-pain. Wifi: it was free, and my friend could connect. I had problems though: the signal was very weak and it kept disconnecting. PERSONNEL could speak English, but not super fluently. The reception style resembled more that of an hostel than of a four star hotel. BREAKFAST was also decent, with eggs, wurstel, yogurt, cereals, soft bread, ham and cheese. No fruit juices, no toster, and small tea cups.

    Good position, very close to the city center and 6-7 mins walk far from a tram stop that brings you to the airport. We arrived by ferry and it was a 45 mins walk. Probably there was a faster way with public transports. The room was pretty clean, with no moquette (upper floors'corridors and staris have moquette instead). Bathroom was decent: it was not too small and it had 6 hooks (which I often find are a lacking item in most hotels), but it lacked shelves. Shower had proper pressure and temperature. The hotel is kind of a pictoresque attraction per se, since it is old and full of corridors and stairways. Breakfast was decent, and had some choice between salty and sweet, but I found it not aligned to a 4 stars hotel standard. All in all, for the paid price it was a good solution, but the hotel itself doesn't match the international standards of a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    Bad customer service experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service of the hotel was very unprofessional and even rude. None of our requests was given any following. Our friends had requested a baby bed for their 2 year old baby and they were not given any secure bed. When we asked the staff to help us, they were very impolite and did not help us. Finally the baby slept on the floor. The customer service of the hotel restaurant was very rude and the staff didn’t know anything about the foods or drinks that they sell. We had reserved 15 rooms of the hotel and all our guests from all over the world were shocked by the level of customer service. It was bad even in the standards of Estonia. Also the rooms had zero noice isolation so you could hear everything through the walls.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    It was Friday night and the noise from night club was very...
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was Friday night and the noise from night club was very load and did not stop until 4:30 am on Saturday morning and I was not able to sleep in room 131. Staff did not even say sorry. My stay was ruined and would never stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.0
    Very average place, there are much better options in Tallinn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, strange location - inner yard with people having loud conversations and smoking directly at your doorstep at midnight, staff was attentive just enough to be polite. Nothing offered to take away when we had to leave earlier and missed breakfast (eg a cup of coffee would have been nice...). Very average and definitely poor value for money.

    Location in the city is OK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    If we slept well, it would be very good otherwise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noizy at night. People were singing and yelling under our window till sunrise. There are two restaurants next door. It was a hot day, and we had to keep our window open at night.

    Location. Design. Equipment

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    Location great but hotel needs to up its game for +€100 a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, 218 you had to climb on the desk to open & shut the window & adjust blind. Smallest bedroom ever, & I mean EVER! Double bed up againest a wall to fit in shower room. Shower curtain fell down twice! Breakfast poor, huge queues for lukewarm coffee. Machine failed regularly, hotel needs to buy 2. No fruit juice, poor fruit, & the same cooked breakfast EVERY morning. Hang over from the Soviet era where people accepted what they were given. Left room one morning by 9:30 returned 2:30 for a siesta, room stil not made up. Left 3:30 returned 5:30 .. room still unmade. All the time except the 1 hour we were in residence, ‘Make up my Room’ was on door. Reported to reception towels changed BUT left to make up room ourselves, poor for cost! Reception lady, who like the rest speaks brilliant English chose to hold the whole conversation in Estonian, she was ‘surley’ & unhelpful.. unlike the charming young man who checked us in!

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.6
    I can not recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The value for the money was very bad. You would expect to get much more for 100€ per night than only the location, especially in Estonia. I can not recommend this hotel.

    The breakfast hall was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a loud wedding party all night and we couldn't sleep for moment. The hotel should have informed us of this at the time of check-in

    Location was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is build into old property, and it is very complex. 1st time I tried to get to the lobby from 4th floor, it took almost 10 minutes. No joke. Advise fort the hotel administration: please clarify the signs.

    Location is good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.2
    The most uncomfortable 4* hotel we ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are inadequate, very small (<10 sq.mt.), without wardrobe, without air conditioning and with incredibly small bathrooms, where it is difficult to take a shower. Total absence of courtesy at the reception. A totally unexperienced staff. The worst breakfast we ate in decades. 3 weddings in 3 days going on in the common areas (a nightmare)

    The location. It's in the centre and is easy to visit old Tallinn

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    2.9
    Nothing positive about this hotel. Not a 4 Star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This should at the very most a 3 Star! Overpriced, Staff were rude, furnishings were old and unclean, breakfast was awful - really I have nothing positive to say about this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location, clean room, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking area right next to our room window (and other rooms windows too) so we could not keep the window open = very hot room. Smoking was also allowed right outside the hotel main door and as the main door was open, all the smoke was in the first floor corridors.

    Good location, clean room, nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small attic room with very small window so very confined and stuffy. No lift and we were on the 4th floor. Tiny single beds.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing and no privacy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was right next to the smoking area, so when I opened my window, the room was full of cigarette smoke. What's more, the fact it was next to a communal area meant I had no privacy whatsoever. The staff were not very polite, I couldn't check in 30 minutes early, and the coffee machine was broken in the morning.

    The house itself is very beautiful, and the decor was great. What's more, the location was superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely time- good value for money in a central spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room cramped so 1 side of double against radiator

    Enjoyed the fact the old layout of original building obvious. Shower great and breakfast buffet amazing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    Great hotel and location, but poor staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Arrived 2am. The person at the check-in could not get the key cards to work, and so we did not get into our room until 3am. This is the worst check-in experience I have ever had. Booked a twin room - got a double bed - very poor. On our 4th night an unmade put-you-up bed was dumped in the room - this did NOT make it a twin room. Person at desk was very grumpy and unhelpful when asked anything.

    The decor of the hotel was amazing. The location was fantastic. The breakfast was quite good. The coffee at breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast is fresh and yummy and served in a splendid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good night sleep is what you expect from a hotel, but this is not what you might get at St Olav. Because right in the yard of the hotel is a banquet hall used for weddings - it is on the picture, and doors of hotel rooms are visible through the glass. My experience was a Russian wedding. The hotel receptionist was a young girl, quite helpless and couldn t manage the situation. The wedding organizer was arrogant and aggressive. The noise continued - loud music till 24:00 and noisy chatting well through the night. I can only regret I didn"t call the police. I am sad that such a beautiful and othervise cosy place was smashed by noisy sound.

    The breakfast is fresh and yummy and served in a splendid dining room with Venetian chandelier. Staff is mostly very friendly and helpfull. Location is perfect - so close to all attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    A short break in Tallin enjoying the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been more varied and the hot water urn was not hot enough to make tea.

    This is a quirky hotel with lots of interesting decor, furniture and paintings. If you want something different and in the centre of the Old Town then come here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Hot and noisy room almost next to a night club entrance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying in economy room, meant room at 1st floor next to the noisy street (even at night), so keeping the windows open for a wind breeze wasn't very pleasant. Would make another choice next time.

    Bathroom was stylish and clean, the old building itself is fascinating

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    mah :(
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower on the fifth floor did not work in the morning. If you want to take a shower you have to wake up really really early or wait until the majority took shower. I had to wait for almost an hour to take a mediocre shower. When I told the staff at the reception regarding my shower problem, they were totally useless. They told me to wait. They were not helpful at all. Plus, the key card had a problem, I had to go to the reception on two occasions (mind you, there is no elevator--obviously). I wouldn't book it again.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    3.8
    rooms not as advertised, old tired hotel, no air con, no way 4-star, staff unfriendly and unhelpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    downstairs rooms have no natural sunlight, are beside a noisy courtyard and were tiny with not even a closet! no wifi signal in room. When we complained receptionist didn't want to know. finally got an upgrade to junior suite at extra cost but also no wifi there or working aircon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Really nice building with narrow corridors, crooked floors...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was below average.

    Really nice building with narrow corridors, crooked floors and walls, beautiful wooden frames and white plaster walls, nice room with super comfy bed, and very good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small, odd shape, difficult to find, had to go up to 3rd floor to access our room on 2nd, no elevator, no air conditioning, no window outside. Internet slow, often not usable. Staff is not helpful to complaints, almost rude when ask about internet not working Breakfast area has only 1 coffee machine for 100 people, long lines Stay away, not a good value for your money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    Cerafull with the hotel rooms on the first floor as you will most likely hear a lot of noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel thought it was a great idea to organize a Wedding Party downstraits infront of all first floor hotel rooms. We asked to get moved to another floor but were told there was no more room. We were promised it would finish at 11:00 PM but it they went on and off during the night so we didn't have much sleep. The room was clean but extremely small, no Airco no window and there was a bad odor in the bathroom.

    location and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    Don't go to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been more friendlier, the breakfast sucked.

    The hotel is like a labyrinth and staff don't talk at all. Our room was really dark, without a view. Not enough lights. I can't recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is always finished at the breakfastroom.

    Location is just perfect. Love the narrow corridors and stairs of this old building. We had aircon, but most of the rooms don’t. Sucks when it’s +30 in the summer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location, lots of charm, reasonable sized rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very hot, fan for room was broken and they had no extra and no ice for a member of our party’s swollen ankle. Staff did not seem overly helpful or concerned with this situation

    Great location, lots of charm, reasonable sized rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Beautiful old town but stay was ruined by hotel and rude staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the hotel did not want to know about my complaint.

    I booked this hotel several months ago and on arrival at midnight was told we didn't have a room? So we were asked to sleep in a small twin bed very hot room in the attic. They next day our room would be ready at 11am. At 3pm our new room was ready apparently in the garden. Well the room was so small, no window and small twin beds pushed together into a gap between the walls. We had to climb on the end of the beds and crawl along to get into it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.5
    I checked in a 01:30 since my flight was late;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be better if Booking.com makes it very clear that the hotel has five floors and no elevator. Though I am almost 70 I could manage the stairs with just a carry-on bag. But for those who are older or younger and have walking difficulties and are lugging big suitcases I would advise them to go elsewhere. Maybe the desk clerks helped some people but I sure did not witness this

    I checked in a 01:30 since my flight was late; desk clerk was OK and advised I had to climb 4 flights of stairs to my room. Since this is in an old mansion in Tallin in a convenient location I guess it can be accepted. Room was small as expected but also got very hot. Only a fan, one window, no AC. Breakfast was standard

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location, partially nice mood.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No promised bathtub, keys stopped working suddenly, safe not working, very thin walls upstairs (although got a quieter room when asked for it).

    Good location, partially nice mood.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    OK hotel on centre of old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom stuffy as there was no extractor fan. Lots of stairs to climb!

    Excellent location and our room was quiet even though we were in the heart of the old town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location and museum-like: a slice of mother Russia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid Room 106 - Crazy! - Light from the lounge flooded through all night, window looks out on horrible interior atrium, shower opposite loo which floods. Next they tried to move us to a baking hot, small attic room. You’ve got to get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floors.

    Great location and museum-like: a slice of mother Russia.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    I like this kind of houses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like this kind of houses. If youy are expecting a regular hotel, go to a regular one, outside the old town, pay a lot of money for taxis, lost a lot of time... it is something different

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable beds, clean, very nice staff, dog friendly, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been better with more variation.

    Comfortable beds, clean, very nice staff, dog friendly, and extremely good location. The coffee was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel in the middle of the old town, but beware of the many steps and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was beautiful but full of small stairs and no elevator, I was travelling light and still was annoying getting to my room. The bathroom was the strangest i been in a hotel. the were NO soap or shampoo (I never thought I had to check that before booking) and shower was an elevated plastic one piece that is impossible to describe and a completely accident hazzard.

    Excellent location in the heart of the Old town, the room had a sauna that was not advertised and was a nice surprise. breakfast was good, but there were no sweets in it. I like having the option to eat a croissant instead of eggs and saussages

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    We had no water in the morning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had no water in the morning. The roof in the restroom was so low that taking a shower was a nightmare. Some else entered my room in the night using his own key.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    worth to try once more, but not a budget room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Important: if you book a budget room you will not have any air, its not possible to open any window, and no fresh air can come in, they have a fan, and the personal in the reception is not really help full, a couple that should have been sleeping in two sine beds. Fun Fun but its a nice hotel.

    Its a nice and charming hotell, location is perfect. its located just a few min from the old town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room did not have a window; the door was the only way for ventilating and lightening the room. The room was accessible directly from the courtyard and there was a lot of noise during the night.

    Exceptional location. Good breakfast. Amiable staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    Location in the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn’t had a window for fresh air. Was not mentioned during the booking. Sigaret smell in the corridors. Fire exit closed. High price for such a room.

    Location in the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Experience at St Olav Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No slippers, the cosmetics in the bathroom consisted only in a no-name liquid soap. No electrical kettle...... For 4* we should have more facilities in the room.

    The location and the old, historical building. The breakfast was ok but the same every day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Very central location in the Old Town close to the square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking and the building has no elevator. Some rooms are several flights up accessible only by steep and narrow stairs.

    Very central location in the Old Town close to the square and pedestrian streets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.3
    Stressful and insecure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security very poor. Friends woke at 0430 to find someone in their room robbing them. Police were called. Hotel management were unhelpful throughout never accepting responsibility for extremely poor security where people could wander in off the streets unchallenged. On a follow up visit the police demonstrated to our friends how doors could be unlocked with a small pocket knife in seconds. Interior dead locks on doors did not work. The police were excellent visiting our friends three times. Hotel staff remained impassive even going as far as to suggest that it was an insurance scam in spite or reluctantly released video evidence of robbers.

    Area was central. Room adequate but worn.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    DON'T RECOMMEND!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nightmare!!! Nearest night club was so loud. It was nightmare. Bass and music was bouncing all night long. Walls have no sound isolation as well. You can here all your neighbors. Neighbors was drinking alcohol all night. Noise all night long. No shampoo. No toaster in breakfast. No big double bed. Just 2 small together. Very bad quality mattress. DON'T RECOMMEND!

    Room was clean sort of.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.6
    An amazing historical town, lots of restaurants and museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room at an inside court was terrible and should not be used - cold, no window and very thin walls. Never again this experience.

    Both location and buffet breakfast were excellent. Also the hotel if you are in the main building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location, needs to be updated, not for people with mobility problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no lifts in the hotel and the stairs are rather steep, for example to the breakfast room. I had been allocated a room on the 3rd floor and after looking at the stairs asked if there was an alternative as I have some minor mobility problems - the hotel is a real rabbit warren of stairs, courtyards etc and I was given an alternative room right at the back of the hotel - very basic but OK for a night. Hotel seems a bit run down.

    The location was was excellent in the old lower town - has an "olde worlde" vibe to it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.2
    Not a pleasant one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel does not deserve the rating of 4 stars. There's no lift and we were on the 4 th floor with narrow stairs. There was a low beam near the bed that you could hit your head on. Staff were not all that friendly. We were blamed for ruining a window, when there was a problem with it before going into the room. Overall, not a happy experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Price should be much lower for what you get currently.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too loud. The floors are made of wood and squeek, and squeek, and squeeeek every time someone walked by me, above me or next to me like my neighbors. The walls are paper thin too. I could hear normal conversations next to me and the TV as well. Please put better curtains on the window to block the light. The wifi in the room is non-existent so I spent hours at the lobby area to use the internet.

    Location is good if you want to be close to the Old Town. Staff was courteous and helpfull. Breakfast was good too. I have to say, at least I had a window in my room cause I heard one couple complaining and trying to change their room as soon as they checked in because they wanted a window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Very good for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window handles were broken, some loose fittings etc. There were noisy tourists in the court yard outside the room - we need the windows open as there was no air conditioning. The breakfast could have had more choice. Everyone likes orange juice!

    Breakfast was included. Very central. Room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    It's ok but we Will not stop their again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to slam the door to close it same with all the other rooms we where in the courtyard and it was vey noisy. At breakfast the water for making tea was at best tepid at best, the food try's were not kept filled you had to ask for iit.

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Old Hotel Old City Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great ambience comfy room with big shower breakfast ok close to everything in old centre was quiet when there (early May) so noise not an issue but had a back room anyway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    Confusing labyrinth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly we had a room WITHOUT window. A real attic.

    'Cosy' medieval building in Tallinn's Old Town. Several biulding form one hotel, therefore it's totally confusing and a labyrinthine inside. Not recommendable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Worn out dirty wall to wall entry foyer carpet does not give very good first impression about the hotel although the rest of the place is very nice

    Rooms, breakfast, staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location, old historical building.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not that good, poor food alternative. Internet connection was very slow, everything was looking and feeling so old. The room had not enough air and TV was not functional. Too expensive for what it offers.

    Good location, old historical building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Excellent location, for this 2 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location for us 10 persons staying in Tallin for the weekend; however Many rooms are not easy accessed (up stairs, up stairs and down stairs again and a lot of corridors to find room). Questionably escape possibilities in event of fire (staff is unwilling (laughing) when asked for an escape demo). Rooms with no window (=no ventilation) is unacceptable in a 4 star hotel... don't trust star ratings at hotels.com

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.6
    Historic building in the middle of the old town —nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were assigned a room on a high floor on the street front— it was extremely hot and the noise was unbearable on the street below —no sleep

    Historic building in the middle of the old town —nice location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.2
    The description and the photos on the website had nothing to do with actual reality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was smelly and the room was small and suffocating as there was only a tiny window on the floor of the room! Not much light either, so quite gloomy!

    Very convenient location in the old town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Only thing which was good was location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything except the location. That this hotel is rated as a 4* is really weird! 3 of these stars are definitely for location - really great location right in the heart of the city, couldn’t be better. The worst thing was definitely noise!! Due to lack of air conditioning in the rooms the window has to stay open during the night, and it was simply impossible to sleep! Life right outside the window (really loud life) 24/7! You can hear people going up and down! Also if you are more than 1,80 high you will find it difficult to go inside - the ceilings are REALLY low! Keycard to access the room didn’t work after room service was there, had to go to the reception to fix this (all 3 nights) Cleaning was not good at all either - we had a fruit plate with us upstairs first night and it was still in the room when we left 3 nights later. Breakfast was poor, and definitely not tradisjonal, however you could enjoy sparkling wine to your morning coffee.. will not stay there again! But if you choose it after all, make sure you book a top floor (so that no one could walk over your head) and windows facing the backyard - probably will be much better hotel experience!

    Only thing which was good was location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    Poor accomodation in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double bed room for 3 nights and i received a room with 2 single beds close to each other. The beds were very unconfortable and it was impossible to mantain them together. We asked for an accomodation with one big bed and the answer was: that was their standard double room! On friday night the music of the night clubs close to the hotel was very loud until 2am. The bathroom very small. Don't bring big luggage because there are a lot of stairs and no elevator.

    The hotel is decorated in medieval style and it is very centrally located. There are no other positive side, so think twice before chosing it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel hosted a private birthday party on one evening. It was so loud that we asked the reception to change our room twice. Also I heard other people complaining about it at 1am. Horrible.

    Cool medieval house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Scandinavia and Baltic cycling trip 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t have a great welcome at the reception desk with an initial query over the booking date as my details were not on their booking system for that day. I confirmed the booking details from my phone and everything proceeded as planned.

    The room opened onto a lovely internal courtyard with seating and places to store bicycles. The breakfast room was grand and airy with large tables and adequate seating. The breakfast options were very good and the coffee delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse St.Olav Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: