Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Taanilinna Hotel 3 stars

Uus 6, Tallinn City-Centre, 10111 Tallinn, Estonia

#22 of 99 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1655 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved everything

    Perfect location !!!! You cannot get lost. One block from public transportation,; half block from Viru gate, the flower market; close to market, stores, etc. Easy check in and check out. Help to order the taxi. Cozy room and shower with great water pressure. Very quiet, great balcony and nice common areas. Good breakfast. Felt like being at home.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    In the heart of Tallinn old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a little bit expensive for Tallinn, and the room could be a little bigger. Apart from that, we can't think of anything else we didn't like!

    The location was excellent within the old town of Tallinn. The hotel was small but very beautiful and the rooms was very cozy. The breakfast was good as well. The staff was very helpful with everything. We loved our stay there and would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Very central & ideally situated for exploring Tallinn.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really!

    Very central & ideally situated for exploring Tallinn. Staff were very friendly & accommodating & the rooms were a decent size. Lots of character with oak beams & old pieces of furniture etc.. The beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    3.3
    A hotel which is not in good conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old hotel, not in very good conditions. The room is tiny for 2 persons The partitions between rooms are so thin you can hear everything from your neighbors: toilets noise, and even telephone calls !!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    The hotel has nice tiles and design.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for a single room for 1 night was €270. The room was very small with 1 small bed. I have to pay €270 immediate after the arrival at late evening without receiving an invoice. I asked for the invoice but was told that I could get the invoice the next day when I check out. I never pay for a hotel without receiving an invoice. Then I asked for the book for complaints and the answer was that the book of complaints was full and removed by the manager. Breakfast was similar to the breakfasts in the cheapest hotels, no fresh juice and no water. Absolutely not worth the value for money. There are many other hotels in the old town that offer better comfortability and better value for money.

    The hotel has nice tiles and design. It's also very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel to stay in Tallin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no airconditioning and the room was very warm the whole time. We have to leave windows open all the time to be able to stay in the room.

    I really liked the decoration of the hotel, it is very classic and allows the guests to have a good time outside the room as well. The breakfast was also very good and had good variety. The location also very good, close to the Viru gate but not in the middle of the bars, which allows more silence at night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, but quite plain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 2 things the hotel could improve and the impression would be much better. First: the staff could smile and say nice things like welcome and ”it was great to have you here!”. We had a nice holiday, but these phrases and small talk create warm and friendly atmosphere. Second: The breakfast could be better. There could be e.g. a tasty selection of fresh bread or buns.

    The hotel has old charm. The room was silent and bed was wide enough. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    Very unfriendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unfriendly staff. Room was unbelievably hot - no aircon so do not go in hot weather ! Not attempt to cool anywhere with fans. Mediocre breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Super nice hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym could have a bit heavyer equipment (heavyer barbells and a bar+weighs for a full workout) Pretty standard for hotels dough, overall pleased

    Just great 👍 good sized modern rooms, great breakfast, lovely spa

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Cosy little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit soft for our taste, but that might be a very personal opinion ;-)

    Friendly staff, awesome location right in the old town. Very quiet, nice room. Cosy little hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Be aware that some economy rooms are in the roof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that some economy rooms are in the roof. This means the bed is jammed under the sloping ceiling. Quite dangerous if you sit up quickly at night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    3.3
    Awful stay at a very run down hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is good but there are plenty of hotels in the area. The room was awful with a bad smell. Small, overused pillows, which were lumpy. We asked for another pillow but this was "not possible" as they were fully booked. Do they not have any spare ones? The furniture is VERY tired. The room only had a very small window at the top of the room which didn't let it any light as it was below floor level so it was more like staying in a cellar. The bathroom was redone at some stage but smelt of bad drains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls between the rooms are very thin so you can hear everything from neighbouring rooms.

    The location is perfect, within easy walking distance of everything but far enough away from the main tourist areas to be quiet. The hotel is beautiful and the room is well laid out and very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    We received a very warm welcome from the young man on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very basic and the hotel did not provide butter for the toast which we found most unusual. They also ran out of yoghurt on our second morning.

    We received a very warm welcome from the young man on reception when we arrived. The hotel is very conveniently located in the old town. The rooms were comfortable and the wifi is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, easy to find & get to and I'd definitely stay again if I was going back to Tallin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing much.

    Great location in the old town itself - very easy to get to from the tram stop. Very freindly staff who couldn't do enough to help. Very clean room and a nice breakfsat. I would recommend this hotel for anyone satying in the old town of Tallinn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, vintagefurniture, bathrooms to be improved
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit smelly and the offer could have been better (include tissues, more expensive toilet paper).

    Great location at the edge of the old town, very atmospheric room with vintage furniture. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Good access to old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com says this hotel has also restaurant, but it was closed and not available.

    The hotel locates out side of the old town wall, so it was silent. Of course access to the old town was good. Building was old but well cleaned.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    2.5
    Worst. Service. Ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst. Service. Ever. From the very minute we entered the hotel, even the smallest requests were met with either a no or I will have to ask someone. Is there some place where we can feed our baby before check-in? no!?! Can we sit here in the lobby then? no, it is only for guests!?! We are out of toilet paper, can we have some? No, I will have to ask someone?!? Can we have a kettle, so we can feed our baby during the night? no!?!?!? Such a bad experience, can't recommend it to anyone. Just stay away.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    nice for short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's an old town and maybe they are trying to maintain the pattern but furniture needs to be renewed. no fridge in the room. also, staff with me was great, but there was a guest asking for help and they weren't eager to help, they had this cold answer "house is full, we can't help you". that was sad.

    Great location, especially if you are tourist. simple but delicious breakfast. nice terrace for smokers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location, OK for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was not as clean as we would have liked and the water pressure in the shower was not good. There was a very strong smell of sewer in the room for some part of our stay. The breakfast could have been better, but it was sufficient.

    The location was great and easy to walk to from the port terminal. The staff was friendly. The room was quiet, especially considering the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice smaller style hotel in the Old Town with a great location. Lovely interiors, and immaculate room and bathroom. Breakfast room is cosy and atmospheric and the breakfast buffet spread is excellent, loved the porridge! As you are literally right in the old town there are plenty of restaurant choices close by. Very enjoyable 2 night stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Tallinn Trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same breakfast food appeared morning after morning. Not freshly cooked. Ended up going out for breakfast.

    Excellent location!! Easy walking distance to all touristic sights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    It is a hotel with style!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a hotel with style! So if you are looking for a romantic atmosphere in heart of medieval city, this place is it, no doubt. Great breakfast and good strong coffee is bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.4
    Below expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited offer for breakfast. Fruit not edible. Internet wifi included in the price but practically not usable - weak signal (temporary absent) and very low speed. Strong smell of sewer in the lobby and on the ground level (where breakfast is served)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Value for money, great location, pretty interior and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price we paid it had all we expected. It is not 4 star but definitely value for money.

    The staff/management was really nice for giving us 50% discount on the first night. Our flight got cancelled so we could not get to Tallinn on the planned date. I called and they agreed to keep our reservation and give us discount on the first night (which we missed due to delayed flight), even though they were not at fault for our problem with late arrival. I could sort out everything in few minutes so we really appreciated it! Hotel itself is very pretty and cosy. The room was a bit small but we did book the cheapest one. Breakfast was decent, not a lot of choice but enough for everyone to find something. They have floor heating in the bathroom which is awesome! Room had old style furniture which we loved. Location is absolutely amazing since you are literary in the city center, just few meters from Viru doors/towers so everything is in a walking distance. They also have parking lot, but we did not use this. There is a terrace on top floor and you can buy drinks at the bar. Internet works fine, as it does almost everywhere in the city (free wi-fi!).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.8
    Unpleasant stay in well located place.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed preference was arranged incorrectly, we found old food leftovers in the minibar, staff didnt know how to issue and invoice to a company.

    Location is perfect right in the city center with a comfortable parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Our room wasn't cleaned every day. And, even when the room was cleaned, we had to ask specifically for 2 clean towels and 2 clean cups for the 2 people who were sharing the room. The breakfast lacked variety and, instead of replacing the honey jar once it was empty, the kitchen staff put out the same empty jar of honey for several days.

    The hotel was in a great location. Quiet, and easy access to the tram and everything in old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Really good location just inside Tallinn old town, so great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit of a tight squeeze in the twin room we had. Minor quibble.

    Really good location just inside Tallinn old town, so great for exploring. Lovely unique, quirky decor in this hotel - gives it a boutique feel. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Cozy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast selection is quite limited, especially if you go late. A small plate of smoked fish and some smoked meats, some hot foods, fruits.

    Clean and cozy hotel in an old building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommended for Tallinn sightseeing - close to port & ferries
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - No water kettle in the single room.

    + Clean and comfortable rooms. + Water kettle in double room (unfortunately not in single room). + Very central location, perfect to sightseeing around the city. Also very comfortable to access Tallinn port and ferries in 15 minutes by walk. + Excellent price-quality ratio. + Nice and rich breakfast in a cozy dining room. + Almost direct public transport connection to Airport with tram #4 (~20 mins)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    A great place to stay either as a tourist to discover the city or for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t work in the afternoon/night propably because everyone was in-they should improve that-also they should also do something about the pipes(I understand they’re old as the hotel is in the oldest part of the town but the smell can be horrible)

    Great location-very clean- nice and cozy room- tasteful breakfast and a great price for that part of the town-also really warm inside (important as it was -17 outside!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel and room. Deluxe room bed was huge and comfy. Location right next to Old Town gates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room got a bit cold as it was very cold outside, but that is not the hotels fault.

    Location is very good for tourists, located very close to Old Town gates. Deluxe room was large and beautiful. Heated floor in bathroom was great as it was cold outside (winter). Hotel looked very nice inside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Good value for the money, while breakfast had no plant-based alternative choices.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No vegan or lactose free choices available for breakfast. Meaning that a person with allergy or other food preferences would have nothing to eat. Even no plant based butter or alternative yogurt. Very disappointing.

    Great location and very nice room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    Early check in allowed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got an attic room so bumped my head several times. Wifi connection was weak in the room. Cold air from outside could be felt coming into the room via a panel of electrical sockets on the wall which made the room cold. Shower hose was faulty for the first 5min.

    Early check in allowed. Friendly staff. Was also offered to have luggage brought up to the room since there were no lifts. Room looked clean and loved the bathroom even though it was small. Good breakfast provided. Late check out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    Very nice room, excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast hasn"t high quality. Coffee was poor and porridge watery. Personnal was a bit unpolite and serious.

    Very nice room, excellent location! Fresh fruits!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Great old town hotel, if you have a car this is a great place for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit load in our room at night I think the window was next to a smoking area.

    Great place in old town has parking (paid) which is on site. Room was bigger then others in old town. breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    4.2
    Not to be repeated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On arrival on 06/01/18, we were asked for payment in advance – this was a first for me. When I pointed out that we hadn’t even seen the room, I was told that, as we had not cancelled before 03/01/18, we would have to pay anyway!! The clear message was “like it or lump it”. We stayed. (This was not a card validation – the full payment was processed through my account before we had left the hotel. I saw nothing in the terms and conditions to this effect) One entering the hotel, there is an unpleasant smell of drains. The same smell was very evident in our bathroom. Our room was not properly cleaned during the 4 days we stayed. On checking under the bed before leaving, there was a thick layer of dust underneath – it clearly had not been swept for several weeks. An incongruous champagne cork rested among the detritus - it is probably still there. There was a broken hinge from the arm of a pair of spectacles on the floor. The dressing table had a layer of dust for the duration of our stay as did the floor underneath it, TV etc. There was a garment left in the wardrobe from a previous guest. The wash hand basin in the bathroom was not properly cleaned. To describe our room as “elegant” as stated in the hotel description provided by Booking.com is a perversion of the English language. There is nothing elegant about dirt. With one exception, I found the staff unfriendly to the point of sullenness. Breakfast was passable if uninspiring. The coffee is served in flasks and was consistently too cold. Given that we paid €87.75 per night, I would expect better. (We had a better breakfast in the Holiday Inn in Stansted for €80 per night) I did not feel in the least welcome in Taanilinna. I will never go there again and would not recommend it to anyone. I now understand why they demand payment in advance.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay in Tallinn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very centrally located close to the main street and touristic points. Breakfast was OK. The bed was confortable and the hotel decorated old fashion way adding a nice touch. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Lauren and Antonio visit to Estonia December 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a kettle in the room however there was no milk and only 2 English tea bags. Everytime I wanted tea I had to go down and ask for a jug of milk and tea bags, as the cleaner did not replace the tea bags. The staff did not speak very good English and this was a little bit frustrating at times.

    The breakfast was very tasty. The bedroom was spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was big enough for two people. The design of the hotel was very cosy. The location was amazing, it was near to everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Very good location, good breakfast, very nice design,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I arrived to Tallinn airport at 0.30 a.m.. I ordered taxi by hotel reception per 20 EUR to hotel. I was very suprised, I paid only 6 EUR when I went from hotel to airport when I finish my accommodation. Little bit noisy from next to room was heared.

    Very good location, good breakfast, very nice design, friendly staff. Near to accommodation is main street, many restaurant and coffee, department store and central square. It was beautifull to be there

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location for all that old town had to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If breakfast is important to you the hot Breakfast items were cold and half hearted butt other items were available. and the price paid for the room we will be back.

    Perfect location for old town Tallinn

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location, just outside the old town wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room. Breakfast on the borderline of OK and not OK. Fruit juice was bland and selection of bread poor.

    Good location, just outside the old town wall. Quiet neighborhood. Comfortable bed. Small refridgerator.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    great place to stay, took our own kettle as we knew before hand. would definatly stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No plug in the bathroom sink, no tea making facilities in the room and 2 single quilts on a double bed.

    Fantastic location, lovely staff, great room, lovley breakfast, room cleaned each day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    3.8
    The matteress was 2" thick, staff very rude, no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matteress was 2" thick, staff very rude, no breakfast at 10.45am and its supposed to finish at 11am, charged me 20 euros from airport and when I had a return fare it cost me 4.50 euros they completely ripped me off, I would never recomend to anybody

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    great location ,easy walk up into heart of old town .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls on the ground were very thin ,could here conversations of guest next door. Staff not that approachable and reluctant to restore Breakfast items.

    The bed was very comfy .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay but would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not very good ,the hot food was cooked but was supposed to be kept warm by a candle but it was cold. The superior bedroom WE had was in need of refurbishment.

    The beds were comfortable and the location good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Adventure in the fog and deep , wet snow. Funny enough for Tallinn! 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought I asked for an airport shuttle, but maybe it was only an impression. I used the public transportation, it was fog and wet snow, on late November. There was no indication, no sign, no direction to the hotel on the streets. Not even on the corner of the building which should tell you that you've just missed the entrance to the hotel. Even if the hotel is near the tram stop, I found it with diff iculty and with a lot of help from locals. Now I think it was quite an adventure, but at the time, with luggage, in the fog and snow, without umbrella, in a new and strange town, I felt completly lost. Maybe it would be a good idea to send some map and some directions to the future guests, few days before the trip. They could only help.

    Friendly staff. Breakfast ok for one day stay. Friendly and helpful staff at the restaurant for breakfast. Perfectly clean room. Good location, right in the old town. Looking old and historical inside the hotel and also inside the room. The most important thing was the heating. After wandering in the old town through snow and rain, a warm , cosy and lovely room waited for me. Happy me, because this was exactly my ideea about comfort:.Good value for money, in my opinion. Not far from public transportation from airport, but a little bit tricky. In conclusion: : First recommandation: if you stay only one night, pack the most important things you need separately. There is no elevator ( lift) so maybe you do not need all luggage. If this is the case, you could take the necessary things with you on the second or third floor, and let the rest of the luggage in the special room near the reception. Second recommandation: if you take public transportation from airport, take tram 4 to the stop Viru. After getting off the tram, look right to some medieval construction ( tower). Head that tower, find on your left a Mc Donalds. Go further (There you will actually find 2 towers. Do not go through the towers. Keep the direction, and let Mc on your left. ) From one of the towers and very far away, you will see another tower. Head to that 3rd tower.but pay atention to stop after few minutes at your hotel, the 3rd tower is very far away. 😊 ;Other way, using the map: after nr 4 you should take Valli str.; after that take Vana Viru str. untill you reach an y intersection; take the left side of the y, which should be Uus street. Pay attention not to miss the hotel, which is not right on the street. Other way, the tough one, on the fog and snow: after Nr 4, ask some local where is the entrance into the old town, and near Mc Donalds ask about Uus street. It works also. The better , I think, is an GPS, but I hadn't any.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.7
    Location excellent, hotel disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated and needed freshening up decor wise. It was small and dark. The hotel stair ways smelt of drains, I am sure they had a problem with the plumbing. It also smelt of mothballs around reception and some of the communal areas. Maybe they use these in Estonia !! We have stayed here before no never noticed these issues so this time we were very disappointed. We wouldn't stay here again.

    the location was excellent and the communal parts of the hotel were nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice + Central Point for a wonderful time in Tallinn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast could have been larger

    The location of the hotel is fantastic - directly at the gate to the old town - very friendly staff - free parking - perfect price-permance-ratio

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.0
    Hotel largely over-ranked
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ... internal noise due to wood floor : you hear people walking in the room above yours Poor breakfast : scramble eggs, bacon, sausage and potatoes nearly cold. If you arrive at the end of the breakfast time there is no more fruits and croissants. You have to deeply insist to get a cup of hot milk. Smiling staff would be nice.

    Excellent location downtown, large room, good bed, but this is not sufficient for sleeping well ...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.1
    good experience but it could have been better
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no elevator available (because it's an historical building but if you have heavy cases it could be a little bit difficult to get to your floor, also because stairs are not so large) Breakfast could be more rich and varied

    cozy hotel in a historical building, nice room on the third floor, clean, quiet, very close to the old town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.0
    The last time I ever buy those fake super deals .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was supposed to be a double twin room but I was given a single room , the size of my toilet. the bed occupies 90% of the room space. It was rather claustrophobic. Their breakfast is very basic so better not to try and go somewhere else. It was promoted as a bargain deal but actually it is a normal price for this location and season .

    It was clean and warm . The staff was friendly .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.1
    Location superb only a short stroll into hear of old city. Breakfast very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was poor with not enough tables so had to go into town. Hotel room very worn around the edges although comfortable. The advert seemed to portray a more plush hotel. Hotel staff not particularly freindly

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    Location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was cold, no heating option. And breakfast was terrible - came one hour before the end-almost everything was empty, nothing was added. Very poor choice of food.

    Location was perfect!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    A charming, small and historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel met all our needs and expectations. The facilities and overall features of the hotel are very much in harmony with its environment, so no concerns or complaints.

    The hotel is well situated in Tallinn's old town. It is an older, historic building with good facilities, a very helpful staff, a relaxed atmosphere, and a great breakfast. Access to the old town's attractions is easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work so fast in the room.

    The hotel was at a walking distance from the railway station and from all the highlights in Tallinn. It had a cosy atmosphere. It was quiet although in the old city center. The dining room was nice. They provided a vegan option for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Super quiet hotel in the historical centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One cannot wish for a better location - right in the historical centre of Tallinn and very, very quiet at the same time (situated in a court yard, behind a taller building, thus blocking any noise from the street). The staff are friendly, welcoming, always ready to assist. Very near to public transport as well. The hotel offers good complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    A cozy and beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhere nearby there was a late night party (or bar) and we heard that noise from outside to our room in the middle of the night. Breakfast was a quite simple.

    Great location! Beautiful hotel, friendly staff. The room has a fridge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    good location for old town, good breakfast choices,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel must have made an overbooking (on economy rooms) and despite admitting their mistake on check-in, were initially reluctant to give us one room for two nights (as booked) without getting an extra "upgrade" payment.

    good location for old town, good breakfast choices, furniture and fittings were in keeping with the period style of the hotel (bathroom plumbing a bit old-fashioned).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely room in lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door lock was tricky!! Locked ourselves in!

    This was our second night but we had to upgrade our room as standard rooms booked out, so we got deluxe room and enjoyed the luxury offered

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Well located in a nice town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift and if you are staying in the second floor taking your luggage to the room may be complicated

    Good location, inside the old town but on a quiet street

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furniture, lack of a luggage rack, prior info that there was no lift and I was on the 3rd floor, something to keep window open.

    View from window, breakfast room, building, location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Great location, staff friendly, good value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    all good

    The location was excellent, right in the middle of the old town. Lots of places to eat within a 5 minute walk. Staff very helpful and friendly. Decent breakfast served. Bed comfortable and room warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    Pity the breakfast was of low quality as the place was rather good and location was excellent. Bathr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was low average; eggs not boiled/ cooked. well; hot food was cold; forget the bacon! Could improve hot breakfast & keep up supply of other things instead of asking and then waiting 10 minutes to receive it.

    Location; reception staff very helpful; General deco of hotel very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel to stay in the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is very repetitive, but it is fairly good.

    The room was very cozy and the staff very friendly, 24 hour reception allows you to stay out late in the Old Town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.8
    Bad experience. Please booking.com you should be more specific
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like it at all. Its not a hotel !! No way i 3 stars hotel you cant find ice. You find only 2 girls at night. No clean services.very bad Breakfast , no air condition in this hotel, only fan system...i an so sad, i payed 346 euro for 3 bad nights

    Location is good. Anyway all hotels are good because Tallinn is small old town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel. Quaint but clean room. Located close to old town wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra charge for parking although probably worth to keep the vehicle off the street. Breakfast unimpressive.

    Location just outside the city. Parking outside the front door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Perfectly located and modest place, ideal for exploring old Tallinn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no lifts in the building. We parked our car in the hotel front yard and charged 15 Euro per day. It seems too expensive for a narrow space, difficult to manoeuvre. Next door public parking fees are the same.

    The hotel is located in the old town. Location is the main feature of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Great Location in Pleasant Surrounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No important concerns. We like more window space than we had.

    The location of this hotel was great; right beside the wall to the old city. Everything was very clean and the breakfast dining room was very pleasantly decorated. Breakfast was good and we could park our car right outside the hotel under surveillance cameras.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic location in the heart of town. Old world charm and a large comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was full of old world charm right in the center of town. They head good parking as well. The breakfast was filling, and it was surprisingly quiet at night considering we were in the center of everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location for visiting Tallinn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young man on duty at night was very unfriendly and rude. A very drunk man was trying to get into the hotel one night. This was right below our room window. I went down to the lobby to ask what was going on. I was concerned about the poor man who could barely stand up. The night manager just blew me off, telling me no one was there. Handled situation very poorly. I almost packed my bags to find another hotel. Did not sleep very well that night! If not for the lovely young lady named Olesja, very friendly and helpful, we may not have stayed longer.

    The young ladies that worked at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.5
    Cost cutting as hotel deteriorates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a property in crisis; the cost cutters have been at work, and customer service has been affected badly. Outside my room on a deck were ancient piles of cigarette butts, which remained untouched during my three day stay. On arrival, I opened the door to my room, to find another guest in it. He showed his key, which was for the room next door. The very pleasant young man on reception tried his correct key in my door, and it worked for both rooms! We were upgraded to deluxe, a better room. The breakfast was a disgrace. Being there three days, we had the same - and I mean same - food served up day after day, including some unappealing cut fruit, fully brown on all cut edges. This was also true of the hot food as well. Apparently, the restaurant had been closed, and there were also no bar facilities. On departure, I had a 4PM flight, and asked for a one hour extension, refused immediately by the young receptioniste. I know she was entitled to do this, but this meant that as there were no lounge facilities, we had to sit in the reception for ages awaiting our taxi. The area is a difficult part of the Old Town, and the fresh bloodstains of a violent assault were still on the roadway outside for the three days we were there.....I think that a change of management and attitude is way, way overdue

    It was just in the Old Town, right on the edge, but in a poor area. Hotel charges in this area are very high, and, if it had provided proper service, it may have made the value for money side of things

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    A very comfortable hotel - ideally situated for the old town, yet away from any noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was large and well decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, and allowed us to keep our car in the car park for a few hours after check-out, which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    A Tallinn Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing which could be improved. Even the guests were friendly.

    The staff were wonderful - uniformly professional, helpful and very friendly. The hotel had character & was well maintained; the restaurant food was excellent; the location was very convenient & all sites I wanted to access could be reached by walking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.7
    An overpriced 3-Star Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotelroom is very overpriced. It is more expensive then many 4-Star Hotels in scandinavic lands, but does not have that accomodation comfort. 1. The bathroom is at middle-priced 3-Star hotel level, with shower curtains 2. The room has no Airconditioner. No problem in winter, but bad in summer. It was only 16°C outside, an it was warm in the room, wenn you had a Single T-shirt. Thankfully there is a small window, that you can open. 3. The breakfast was very insufficient for that price.

    Excellent located, within a few minutes you can reach every important sight by foot. The room was big enough and styled in an interesting old fashion

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Taanilinna Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: