Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4 stars

Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn City-Centre, 10137 Tallinn, Estonia

#20 of 99 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1531 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it wasn't in old town as indicated by booking.com. the room sizes and views and amount of light vary a lot for the and category

    the 2nd room i had was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Zen Deluxe Junior Suite with SPA Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There didn’t seem to be a great deal of difference from when i upgraded from a standard room to a Zen Deluxe room. Zen Deluxe was very much i would have expected from a standard room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel,spotlessly clean, comfy bed. Good selection at breakfast and good coffee.It is also one of the cheapest places to have a drink.Good location just outside old city walls about 15 minutes walk from centre of town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got a smokers room offered when we arrived although we explicitly asked for a non smoking room. Young staff first contested this finding. Finally we got an upgrade for one night but next morning we needed to move our luggage (stairs up, stairs down) all by ourselves to another building. Crossing the courtyard in the morning in the rain without an umbrella was not pleasant. Staff servicing breakfast is slow in cleaning the tables and complementing food. So please management invest in customer experience. And replace the older luggage carrier because you do not ask your grandfather to carry your bags ....

    The accomodation is super: spacious room, good bed, good shower and bath, excellent extensive breakfast, excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A cosy hotel close to Telliskivi area and the city centre, everything is within walking distance. The breakfast was very good and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost everything :) 1. Entrance The hotel has 3 entrances. All with stairs. Nobody will guide you or advice what entrance/exit is better with baggage. On second day when I was already got experience with all of them it was very "funny" how guests are trying to find right door. 2. Staff Very arrogant and cold. Not proactive. Providing stupid advises, like "you must be at airport 2 hours in advnce even for EU flights". Strange thing is, that nobody speaks Russian... in Tallinn... in 4* hotel... 3. The room Room were pretty small. I had a room in the mansarde with mansarde windows. First quest wall to close them before night. I have quite big experince with this windows, due to frequent trevelling to France. But even for me (for the quite strong man) was difficult to close them, becuae closing stick was old and damaged, window furniture was also in the same condition. Then I was trying to close window blind - it was simply disaster, because it was not working... Additional "comfortable thing" was, that in entire room was just one open free power socket! Opposite to the bed. In 4* hotel! Additional hell is switching off lights. You can't do it from the bed (the switchers close to the bed can't switch off all lights). You have to do it from the room entrance. Very comfortable. Bathroom is also created only for brave youngsters. Because if you would like to take a shower you need to use additional footstep to climb. Due to enourmous height of the bath edge. 4. WiFi Slow. And never ending story of reconnectinc.

    Every week due to business reasons I'm staying in 2-3 hotels, but this is first time when it's difficult to find good things about the hotel. I can mention only following: 1. Breakfast was OK. Standard for 4* hotel. But nobody takes care about you. 2. location is good. 10 min by foot to the city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some advice, if you walk to the hotel with your suitcase go around the old town - not through it. That way it is flat and you avoid wheeling your suitcase over all the cobblestones.

    The room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was good. Hotel was immaculately clean and the breakfast was good. The room had tea and coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Zen Deluxe Junior Suite with SPA Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The party in the conference room downstairs that went on until early hours was kind of mismatched with the idea of our "Zen Deluxe" -room. Walls between the rooms also seemed to be paper thin, because you could hear when the neighbour entered his room or used the bathroom...

    Zen Deluxe room was beautiful and clean, and a complimentary sparkling wine was a nice touch. The bathroom was wonderful, not just the jacuzzi but also a huge shower with different settings. Bed was comfortable with different pillows to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 6 nights

    apart from the manager the staff was unqualified, obnoxiously rude and awfully slow - i.e. no basic intelligence to arrange bookings in the absence of the directly responsible manager (you'll hear a lot of "oooh i m only an intern here, i know nothing", absolutely no willingness to help, staff in the bar is happy to grab tips and smile at you and then you hear them gossip about you at the reception - thinking that you do not understand the Estonian language. also don't order manicure/pedicure services in the zen spa - for nearly 100 EUR payment it would have been a waaaaaaay better, shellac lasted only a few days and pedicure was not done neatly. zen-rooms with the jacuzzi are not as light/comfy as you see on the picture. in fact, my room was small and it felt crammed up...it was also very cold in the room at night, I woke up with the sore throat. massage/body therapy is satisfactory though

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a cosy little hotel with character (it is housed in an old building belonging to nobility). The staff were friendly, the breakfast was high quality with lots of choice and the spa was clean and accessible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did have higher expectations on the Zen room. The actual room is not true to the pictures at booking.com. It felt a bit small and dark cause it only had one tiny roof window. The fridge had a glass door with a very strong lamp who lighted up the hole room in the night. We had to cover it before sleeping.

    Beautiful historical hotel with a great location. The service was great and everybody really went out of there way to meet your requests. The staff in the spa is amazing and the treatments was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel, loved it. Nice and clean. Very peaceful. Breakfast simple, but very delicious. Freshly baked bread. Stuff friendly and very welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on street level and were kept awake at night by car alarms. When asked if we could move rooms the receptionist was quite rude and acted as though we were making the car alarms up. So didn’t get the most restful of stays.

    Room was compact but nicely done, good location and the spa is a really nice bonus. The breakfast was also really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The arrangements for the SPA area did not fulfill our expectations. Too complicated if you just want to go in the sauna in example. Also some people of the staff did not explained it correct at arrival. - In comparison to a 4 star hotel in middle europe, some staff members were too untrained in my opinion, the breakfast could have more fruits, and some details in the room facilities missing.

    - Great location for starting a sightseeing tour. - And regardless my negative remarks below a nice and beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Having stayed here before I could not wait to return. The hotel staff are friendly the rooms are comfortable and it has the best breakfast choice ever. Real value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking was so so. First - a little difficult to find it. When it was found free parking spaces were only in a mud.

    Good hotel for short stay. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is nicely located in between the old town and the hip Telliskivi neighborhood, so you can have a healthy 15 minute walk back after eating well in either area. Telliskivi is also worth a visit for travellers interested in design and handcrafts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room was quite small and a way to warm for me. In rush time, there are not enought tables. Normal coffee in a pan would be nice as the machine choices ( latte, cappuchino etc) are not always my favorite in the morning.

    Building is beautiful. Lovely big window in the room, high ceiling. Jacuzzi. Walking distence to the old town. More quiet side of the Tallinn, but it is exactly what I like.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were stains on the blanket, in a 4 stars hotel is quite bad...and the sauna was not free, in others hotels the use of the sauna was included.

    The breakfast is very good. The hotel is very nice and well decorated. Room was very Comfortable. Wi-Fi is good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit smaller than I had imagined. You can hear a bit traffic noise in the room.

    Very good breakfast. Nice cosy small hotel next to the Old town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have been here at least three times before. This time we got room number 106. It was at the first floor behind the reception. Holymolly it was a noisy room. We woke up pretty soon because one group from the hotel was drinking and waiting taxi behind our window. (that last over 30min). They weren't screaming just having fun but the soundproof at the room and the window was so bad. Otherwise hotel was nice and breakfast was good. Wold like to stay overnight again but not at the first floor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was not accessible as fully booked, this was partly compensated with jacuzzi bath in room. Room dis not had ventilation, somehow even opening window did not pull in fresh air. Window blinds was letting thru light.

    Excellent breakfast. Very good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noises from the traffic from outside were quite loud, but luckily I'm used to carrying ear plugs with me. Coffee at breakfast was bad.

    The interior design is very nice, the lobby bar is adorable (worked there for a few hours). Service is very pleasant. Hope to try spa services one day!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room somewhat cold and climate control not working

    Had only breakfast in the hotel and that was excellent with I big variety of choices from fresh fruits to porridge etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minus (wich was a big one) was, that our room was next to the road where there were noisy traffic all throught the night. It was ok for 1 night, but if we would have stayed longer, I would have requested another room that would be facing the inner yard.

    We got a free upgrade to a bigger room, wich was a very nice surprise! The room was nice and spacious. The bed was good and big. Beautiful bathroom with a hot tub included. Breakfast was very nice and there was lots to choose from.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful place to spend your special occasions! We had a room with zen bath and it was absolutely fantastic! the room was spacious and cozy, hotel staff helped with all questions. the sauna zone was comfortable! Liked varied and tasty breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the first floor and the view was towards a busy crossroad but fortunately the room was well noise proofed. The corridor was a bit creaky

    The staff (Kerttu) was excellent and we had a blast in the zen spa. We got the spa package for two (inc sparkling wine and snacks) but one hour was not enough!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast staffing a bit disorganised, especially when too many guests arrived at once. Low doorways, so I cracked my head a few time (my fault for being tall, I guess!).

    Good bed, good breakfast, good location. Friendly checkin, historic and attractive building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer poor, towels thin/well worn, shower screen restricted access to taps, sewerage smell in bathroom. When asked for at reception, no milk to take to room for tea. Sunday’s restricted drinks from bar-weren’t award of this.

    Bed big and comfy. Big and cosy room. Friendly staff. Superb English speaking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult parking and a bit noisy room, because of busy street right under the windows.

    Excellent service at restaurant and very good breakfast. Short walking distance to old city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First time i need to say that the staff was terrible, I always park the car outside the Hotel, and this time i get a parking ticket becuse its not belong to the Hotel anymore, no sign no informasjon from the hotel even if they now i have the car. I also ask for a late checkout (one hour) and the same man in the staff told me, no sorry but the cleaner wants home !!!!!!!!!! I think maybe its little bit better to say its full, and someone is comming after you.

    I stay at this hotel maybe 10 times, i love the room Zen Deluxe With a bathtube. Lovely hotel With lots of soul.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good. The staff were friendly and professional and willing to answer any queries. The breakfast which was included in the room rate was excellent- lots of choice and attractively presented options. We arranged for the hotel to pick us up at the airport but it would be easy to do it by taxi which actually works out cheaper, or you can use public transport. We didn't use the spa, but I imagine it would be of a high standard like the rest of the hotel. The only slight blip was a large party in the function room on Friday evening and we were a bit worried, but it all ended at midnight and within half an hour was completely quiet.

    It was a short walk to the centre of old town where there is lots to see and do. There is a bar and restaurant at the hotel and small restaurants, cafes etc across the road.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room 107 was offered as a double room, but obviously it was too small for two persons. In fact, this is a single room with double size bed, which occupies most of the space. The second negative point is quite poor sound isolation.

    Breackfast was quite nice and the bed in the room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, while decent, could use some more variety. Little bit of smell in the room in the beggining of my stay.

    Excellent bed (since I travel a lot, this first thing on my assessment list for every hotel booked), good service and nice interior design (something different from usual business hotels). Great service for the price, especially that the hotel has a very good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time I got a room just next to the road on the first floor. It was very nouisy, and I did not feel safe

    In general I like this hotel very much, especially breakfest

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -No negative comments, everything was excellent

    Very comfy bed, very quite delicious breakfast, great location- close to Old Town, very helpful & polite personal

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is between two busy streets, so try booking the room with the windows to the inner yard.

    I have booked a standard room, however after reading the reviews I decided to upgrade it to Zen room. After upgrade it appeared, that they had no Zen rooms left, so they gave us Deluxe Zen apartments without additional charge! With Deluxe room we also received free SPA package and bottle of wine, even they probably could omit it. Room was amazing, sauna and jacuzzi were great, I also enjoyed breakfast. Amazing and welcoming experience!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a walking distance from the old city unless walking a deep hill to access it.

    Very modern room but no elevator to access the room located outside the main building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really like the hotel but there are a few things that could improve. The shower in our room was tiny (one of those corner shower cabins that you couldn't even turn around in and we are not big people). Also, although they had a nice coffee machine, only the coffee option worked (no latte or cappuccino). To be fair, that's perfectly fine, but seeing the machine got my hopes up for a nice latte :).

    The location is great. It is only a short walk from old town (south edge). Breakfast was very good. The hotel lobby and courtyard are also nice. Generally, Tallinn is a very scenic town, definitely worth a 1-2 day visit. We ate at the top restaurants & they were excellent and reasonably priced (for their gourmet quality).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Gi quality could be better

    The room was nice and cozy, the bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was very big and nice. Everything was just perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the Von Stackelberg with a number of our friends and family before our wedding in Tallinn. The staff were exceptional and so was everything provided by the venue

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit noisy when we had the window open. Request a room on the back side of you like it quieter.

    Our stay at the Von Stackleberg was very enjoyable. Our room was clean and comfortable with a nice view of the old city walls. The buffet breakfast was excellent; delicious porridge, lots of fruit, cheese, bread and meats as well as boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. Good location; close to the old town, quite walkable.The staff was friendly and helpful. Nice to hear the Estonian National anthem each dusk and dawn as they raised and lowered the flag. Definitely recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was at the first floor with a view to a busy road. Luckily the traffic was not that heavy at night. It felt like we had the worst room in the hotel.

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel borders two main roads (and a crossroad): you'd better not be on the road side, and not on the ground level, especially if you consider working from your room a bit Not many services, no fitness

    Very nice rooms Small and nice hotel, within walking distance from downtown

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa var in renovation, so I got tratments in other hotel - unlucky. No possibility for food in the night ( I arrived 1 am). I coluldnt see, that was roomservice - thus no possibility for breakfast in bed.

    Service, flexibility, clean room and facilities, nice lounge, spa and restaurant. Very stylefull hotel. Beautiful area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite the large size of the bathroom there is just a small place for personal belongings near the sink.

    The room is big and cosy, the bed very comfortable, a large bathroom. A very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Hotel charges € 5,- for a bottle of still water, positioned on the desk in the room (with no price tag). The hotel deliberate tries to scam guests. - There were no towels in my room - The water pressure in the shower is super low

    - Location was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    not possible to put the car near the main door during arriving and check in and before you get know where you can put your car.

    Very good breakfast, smuzzy, tosts, fruits, etc. Fast and helpful staff. Parking is possible and very convinient. Just few steps from the main doors. The hotel is only few minutes from the city center, as well as, have their own restaurant and spa.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the spa is being renovated in August, which seems bad timing for the works and was more unfortunate as it was one of the features that made me choose this place.

    It is conveniently located just behind the main cathedral. The staff was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electricity (no lift, no light) and no information about this for about 2 hours. The spa and jacuzzi was not accessible

    Fruit and fried vegetables for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of all, our room was extremely small. Secondly I was very disappointed by the breakfast. No variety of choices, extremely small quantities of bread, something that made us to ask for a slice of bread! Also, no variety of cheeses and cold cuts (hams etc). I feel that this hotel was very cheap for what it offered.

    central located hotel very close to old town and with very friendly staff. Very satisfied from the cleanness of the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is perfectly located, close to the old town, just under the Toompea, but away from the crowd. This a very comfortable small size hotel with a nice little courtyard. I enjoyed a very quiet room overlooking the courtyard. Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Last night was a nightmare.There came russian couple and they had a very noicy evening and night.There were violence inside the room and at the hall.We saw it from the door eye.They run at the hall,slam the door several times,yelling,woman was crying,man was strangeling woman and so one.we called to the reception two times.Police came but after that the "show"continued almost whole night.Big question is why they didn`t remove those peoples away.we were very scared that they come thrue the walls.And didn`t sleep at all.It would be better if hotels have security cameras on the hall that they can see at the reception what is happening in hotel.

    Zen-room.Very nice.Quiet hotel.Very tidy.Old town near.Great bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. From the room, facilities, restaurant, breakfast, staff - I had nothing to complaint about. It was one of the best hotels we stayed in. The SPA was extraordinarily good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a bit disappointed about the size of the room. It was very very small, with not much space to put your luggage or to move. In the photos the rooms seemed bigger so we were excepting something similar. The size was more like a cabin in a boat. They should put pictures of those rooms too in their website. The Spa was out of use too.

    The room was very clean and the location good. They really made a nice gesture to put those rose pedals and sparkling vine for our anniversary (upon request, of course). The hotel itself was cosy and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warning : this hotel is located at an intersection. The room we booked was noisy and toilettes did not smell good. We had to ask for a better room (courtyard) and ... paid updrade.

    This hotel is situated near the upper old city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was much smaller and different than in photos. Toilet and shower was also very small. Doors sound insulation is very poor so you can hear everything going on in the corridor

    The double bad was perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a really lovely visit in this hotel. The staff was helpful and kind. Our room (zen) was very spacious and beautiful. The hotel is in the walking distance from the old town. We booked massages for Zen spa and it was really relaxing. The breakfast was okay, could have been more varieties but all in all good. Would definitely come back here for next time!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't always at the reception desk, cleaning staff didn't replace tea and coffee facilities, the spa area was just a small jacuzzi and a sauna which you have to pay extra for and book in advance (made to look a lot more grand on hotel photos), the kettle was too big to fill up in the sink and we had to use the shower to fill it, the shower was absolutely tiny, I'm 6 months pregnant - anymore than that and I'd probably have been touching the sides! There was also an eggy smell that seemed to rise up from the drainage at times, our room was on a main road and it was very loud, luckily i take ear plugs everywhere I go as my husband snores sometimes so I used them every night. Main square was about a 20 minute walk from hotel so not as central as we would have liked but you could reach the wall of the old town in about 10 minutes.

    Lovely decor, relaxing social areas such as the bar and court yard, staff were friendly and helpful, bed was comfortable and big, very clean hotel in all areas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you choose this hotel, you will cheated from the first moment of the room reservation. On public open source standard double room photo is false and untrue, in the photos you can see a spacious room with two windows, or the one big for attic floor. In fact, pictures show rooms are level that is more expensive, it is zen or zen delux rooms, but not standard rooms. In standard double room you will find: Room witch is has less than 15 sq.ms (lobby area is included) toilet and shower room of about 2,4 sq.ms double bed two bedsides small wardrobe with 4 hangers inside One room chair and folded second inside of wardrobe. Table with drilled hole (hole was hidden with banner) Mini bar This room is available as a standard double room, although in all 4-star hotels this room will be considered for one person according the hotel standards. So you are cheat because you are deliberately single room sold as a double. What you will not find in this 4-stars room: bathrobe slippers- do not be surprised if toenail fungus will carried out form this 4-stars hotel clean - inside the cabinet and on the top is a mountains of dust which have not been cleaned for months. In summary, the room was reserved to a month, depending only criteria: parking and 4-stars and location. Unfortunately I am disappointed that Estonia how is part of EU has entrepreneur who does not respect his name and his guests, 4 star- signs hang, but single room sold as a double. I do not think that in such a situation worth from the hotel staff to ask or expect, that they will not continue to lie to you, and will not to tell hundreds of new excuses

    Close to the Old Town but close to noisy street to

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged me after i checked out and utilize some minor charge from my visa card without my authorization.

    The wonderful place which is near the old town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms smell very badly. They say it is because of the old building structure. But I think they should find a solution. Secondly, it is a minor thing but wanted to let you know-everything is closed after 11pm. We couldn't drink cofee/tea when we came back to the hotel at night. I think 4 star is a bit too much for this hotel. This is a boutique hotel with 2-3 star (I'd say)

    Location was really good, but I'd rather stay at a 5 star hotel for the same price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 101. It was terrible. 8 meter square,almost feel in the street, trafik lights was aday 10 cm. Very noisy and small. Shower was too small impossible to move in. Nobody was in the bar 23:00 and couldn 't find a service to drink tea or coffee. Parking area is public field and charge 7 Euro Peri day. Dissappointing hotel. Never stay again. How it gets 8.5 points ????

    Breakfast Was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real issues, had a brief problem with the electronic door lock but the staff was excellent and remedied it quickly.

    Good sized rooms with desks, very comfortable. Had a room overlooking the back 'garden' area which was quiet. Good location on the western edge of old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would point out that the hotel is at the junction of 2 very busy roads. We were lucky that our room did not look onto the road and was very quiet

    When we arrived there was a problem with the room as it was not what I had requested in the booking. However the young man on reception was extremely helpful and courteous and made a couple of phone calls to his superiors to get it sorted out. The room we were then given was a twin room with bath which I had originally requested and it was lovely. It was also very quiet with very comfy bed and pillows. There was a kettle in the room too. The breakfast was great. There was lots of choice and it is a lovely dining room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff need to smile more

    Friendly staff, free parking (limited places), cosy and clean room, kettle in the room, beautiful interior, good breakfast, excellent location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only issue is that the West side of the hotel is on a main road and you can not only hear traffic, but the its within 8 feet of the bed and can be quite loud. So I recommend not being on that West side.

    The staff were amazing, we arrived earlier than our check in time but one member of our family was not feeling great and the hotel staff rejigged it so we could check in immediately. The hotel is just on the outside of the town and there are two or three nice places to eat within walking distance. Though no grocery stores. The rooms are nice, the beds are nice and the breakfast is decent. We booked the spa one night for our family and it was a fun experience. Thank you to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean, but small and uncomfortable (especially tiny washbasin and shower cabin). No bathrobes and slippers. No free water. Shabby hallway. Overall, the room was way below what you'd expect from a 4* hotel.

    Breakfast was generally nice with a good choice of food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The reception lady was very helpful and the spa is good - I had a massage there and the spa was clean and had relaxing atmosphere and the masseur was professional. If you are runner, there's a park/ and a track nearby (opposite to the train station) that you could have a good run.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna not included. Fittings and fixtures were poor need attention ie: hairdryer. Room 204 had stains on wall near bathroom side of wall beside locker. Room quality did not compare to the quality of the rest of hotel. Really enjoyed our stay these are just small things.

    Comfortable, room size good. Room facing courtyard was fab. Other rooms faced busy streets.location was great. 5min stroll from Freedom square. Good nights sleep and good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance to main door is too close/ near the main road. Pose safety issues here !!!!

    The hotel environment is quite cosy n breakfast is wonderful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Instead of a large double bed, I got twins put next to each other. Woke up in the hole between two beds. I've paid extra for a nicer, "Zen" room. The room and the bathroom were extremely small. Only 3 parking spots for hotel guests

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • ZEN Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast choice is rather limited. Very funny that in the lobby and restaurant there is very fancy decoration but on the floors self it looks like a cheap motel. ( in my humble opinion).

    Close to the city center. about 5 minutes walking (rood goes uphill) Very professional and friendly staff. modern decor in the lobby and restaurant. Jacuzzi bad. comfortable bed. Pleasant room design.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of curtains on the window. Two beds not connected to each other instead of a double bed as requested. A staff member opened the door with his key to check the toilet without permission to do so when we were in the room one hour before the check out time.

    The staff is nice but completely formal.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the reception staff could be more helpful. Rooms are more on the smallish side.

    Super Good Breakfast Good location, close to the old town but still slightly off the tourist paths. Good Spa at the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: