Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Viru Backpackers Hostel

Viru 5, Tallinn City-Centre, 10133 Tallinn, Estonia

#25 of 99 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1223 hostel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    3.3
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Very run down place - Our double room was immediately beside dinning area so you opened your door and guests around table. - Door did not seal when closed you can see the light and hear outside. - Paper thin walls no privacy - Take your shoes off at the door but floors filthy. - Place especially bathrooms and toilets not cleaned in time we were there. Hair on wall there for 4 days. - Handles broken on toilet door...couldn’t get out one time. - Tiny Toilets open directly into common area and beside staff desk. Toilet pedestals loose. - Lift does not - operate from that floor - Mattress old/cheap so sag and springs stick into you. - Kitchen not functional so you couldn’t actually cook food and disconnected from dinning table. - Not good value if you are not comfortable. - Stay out of old town for around same price and short walk in. - One staff person put out breakfast for guests leaving at 5AM which meant they were sitting immediately beside our room chatting until I had to get up and say something. (Supposed to be quiet time 11-7)

    Not much location in old town Room size OK

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    I willcome her
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is the best thing regarding this property. Also, value for money. In general, you have there everything you can expect from this kind of property. The staff is welcoming and helpful; however I would expect more guideness (at least on the phone or via email ) when a guest arrives later in the evening/at night, since getting there from the level of street is not that straightforward and the sigh for the hostel is very small/almost invisiable. The walls inbetween the rooms are very thin - better to have headfones in supply if you are a kind of an owl person. In the morning Guests are treated with pancakes in addition to a regular breakfast - an exclusive feature! Oh, and do not forget your slippers - no outer shoes rule in common arreas is very strict in this hostel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets have no washing bashin You can feel the springs in the matress, seems bad Strange no-shoe policy There are no rel walls, just pseudo- made walls, which means you hear everything, even people in the.toilet -which is btw next to the reception girl. The public areas have a soviet-commune feeling. It might sound cosy,but in Estonia of 2018 it seems out ot place. Having families with kids sharing the facilities, no sound isolation, removing shoes, using old furniture and dishes, is not my style of hostel

    Excellent central location Value for money Very clean toilets Quiet, private place Cosy room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could feel the springs of the mattress. definitely passed it's prime. The girl at the reception is not very helpful. Guests asked if there was any bread left for breakfast at 9am, where breakfast lasts until 11am. She simply said, none left.

    great location. Robert the reception is very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Basic and friendly
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shared bathroom was very hot and a bit sweaty after having a shower. Also the water did not run away very well. The double bed was repaired but not very well

    I had a 5-people bedroom to myself. Friendly reception, simple breakfast with pancakes and bread.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    Ok. Its cheap and excellent location but do need to think about beds and broken toilet !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken bed. This was really bad that not fixed !!

    the bed was broken and one toilet was not working. rooms at front suffer from street noise though mine was at the back and fine in this respect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice, but extremely noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to know when arriving in the room and seeing free earplugs on the bed. The amount of noise from the street was extreme. Even with earplugs in. This hostel is perfect if you don't want to sleep.

    Rooms are spacious and the location is really central. The included breakfast with pancakes is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.8
    Heart of Tallinn
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff seemed unfriendly and unwilling to help, didn't explain much about the facilities. I wish there had been another toilet.

    Perfect location and easy to find. The silent hour (23:00-8:00) lets you sleep well, though it could be noisy outside the hostel (ear plugs provided). The room I got was colorfully decorated and kept clean. The kitchen is available, and there is a Rimi, a small supermarket, within one minute walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Good service, breakfast, comfortable bed but noise from main walking street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a lot of noise from outside main walking street during sleep. In the early morning (around 4:30) garbage collecting machine was working at the street so in was noisy and earplugs did not help(did not fit my ears).

    Hostel is in the center of Tallinn. Bed was comfortable. Welcome candy was in our bad. Reception girl prepared for us milk and granola to have very early breakfast at 7 am(breakfast starts at 8 am in the hostel). We got earplugs for free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance is little hard to find. It's a hostel so everything outside your room is shared. So that means breakfast items like pancakes and butters and likewise shower-cum-toilet may not always be available when you want it!

    Nice comfortable room. You can get a private room with a comfortable bed. Great location in the heart of Old Tallinn and very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.8
    I can not understand the logic of putting an late arrival...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not understand the logic of putting an late arrival family with a toddler to a streetfront room in a ++30 degree celsius so that they have no escape from an incredibly loud nightlife noise or the oppressing heat. Also I would have appreciated a lot If we would have had some earlier information that the elevator didnt serve our needs. We ended up carrying the strollers to the fourth floor with a sleeping kid. We didnt sleep well at all and were dissapointed for the money we lost. Also the place we were supposed to pick up the keys from was really hard to spot from the street and the reception guy was not helpful or cheery at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Staff was really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better information about the rooms in booking. Booked a private presuming that it would have a bathroom but it did not and there was no information about that on booking.

    Staff was really helpful. Property is modern and confortable. Breakfast is good with pancakes. Good value of money and location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One shower did not drain well.

    I really enjoyed my two nights at Viru. The staff were very friendly and helpful whenever I asked any questions or for recommendations. The room I had was basic with beds and a desk. I can't remember if there was a tv. A smal breakfast was provided, but enough to get your day going. The bathrooms were ok, a bit tight. One of the two showers I used didn't drain well, but were otherwise fine. The location was great, really close to the town hall square and other attractions/museums. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for a short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom seemed a bit dirty, but overall wasn't bad.

    Room was very large and bed was comfortable and big. The staff was great! Since I was arriving late they contacted me before to give me instructions on how to pick up the key. They also left a note at the front door of the hostel to remind me where to go so I wouldn't get lost- very thoughtful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    The staff is really nice, and they provide enough shared...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room is close to the main road, the noise outside is a little bit loud.

    The staff is really nice, and they provide enough shared bathroom and toilet The accommodation is on the main street of the old town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money given central location in a very touristy city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy on Saturday night. Toilets - these were very cramped and washbasins were in with showers rather than toilets, so less convenient for washing hands afterwards. Communal area didn't have any windows so got hot and stuffy.

    Really good location and good price for central Tallinn. Inside hostel was very quiet. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Book this hostel with no doubt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noise on the street (but there are earplugs for everyone! sad that we noticed them only in the morning).

    the cleanliness, the location, the breakfast, the design of hostel - this hostel is wonderful, I'd love to stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location but not professional management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ★The breakfast was included in the accommodation but the staff who was supposed to make a preparation for the breakfast overslept at home and did not show up(on the morning of 29th of April). I was very disappointed with their management. No compensation, no apology. ★Shower room is very stink.

    Good location, in the center of Talin's old city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    quite place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I traveled alone, so I would like to make friends from different countries. But, they have small lounge and strict rule for noise.

    quite place. great place to take a rest. They provided pancakes every morning. It locates in old town of Tallinn, just right after of Olde Hansa, which is popular restaurant for tourists. Almost everything is close from this hostel. They do not allow to make noise after 11pm, so great place to have a rest but not good to make friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator to the third floor could be a problem for some people, not for me.

    Great location, easy to find and close to everything. Altough some negative reviews regarding the curtains not enough to block the sunlight i did not find any difficulty to sleep, as well as street noise, very calm. Free all-you-can-eat pancakes are great, along with the breakfast, simple but delicious. High standards for cleaness (ensuite bathroom), nice staff, confortable beds, major value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Basic but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast as advertised first morning and no staff in hostel until 1030 am!! 50 plus spiral stairs, very hard to climb with luggage. Only one bathroom with sink, one other has toilet only! No place to wash hands! Second day breakfast was horrible . Stale bread and both peanut butter and Nutella were empty. The honey was so granulated it was unusable. People were quite upset. We all had to buy breakfast elsewhere both days with no compensation.

    Location, right in the action. Price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Very uncomfortable bed and mattress ruined my good impression
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The bed was extremely uncomfortable and bumpy!!! And this is coming from a person that never usually complains about beds. I wanted to stay at a medieval location, but I didn't expect the bed to feel medieval too. Old wooden rickety bed that should have no place in any hostel or hotel! The mattress was too thin and felt uneven as it fell through the bed base in some parts. I had back pains for days afterwards. On top of it, the bed was squeaky every time I made a tiny move. Because of this, I would not choose to stay in this hostel again. - There's no sound isolation of the rooms, so I could hear every single step and word of people in the common area from my room (even though they were talking quietly), especially at night. So although there was no noise coming from the street, there's noise from inside. - The toilet "room" barely has enough space to sit on the toilet. No sink to wash your hands next to the toilet, have to use a sink in the shower room which is separate. - The pancakes for breakfast are nice, but they have to be since there is no other breakfast option. It's either pancakes with jam, or bread with jam. And a bit of cereal. For the price I would have expected a bit of diversity in the breakfast offer as in other hostels around the world.

    - Location is superb, right on the main street in Old Town, close to everything. - Staff was polite. - Not a party hostel, only a few people in it, mostly quiet families and respectful solo travellers, so it felt home-y, clean and peaceful. No annoying and loud teenagers. - Lovely common area (living room + kitchen), it felt comfortable and looked trendy. Felt like home. - Strong wi-fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice hostel which is a tad noisey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey - bad acoustics No reception after 12pm

    Excellent location Helpful friendly staff Breakfast (cereal, toast , pancakes tea and coffee). Nice hot shower Quiet time enforced during night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not the first time I stayed at Viru. A very nice place. Perfect location. Amazing staff and a very good price especially for me as a student 💙👌

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Recommended for single travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfeast could be just a BIT more diverse (there was no juice, fruit, cheese, eegs)

    Comfortable hostel in the heart of Tallinn's old town! Clean, basic but cozy rooms, friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    on the 2nd floor, no lift to the floor itself.

    in a great location in the old town. very basic, but warm and comfortable. staff are very friendly and helpful. breakfast is a choice of cereal and bread. with as much coffee as you like.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Warm place to stay in welcoming city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed lumpy until I figured out boards that held up mattress weren't evenly spaced. No sink in shared bathroom and need to use one near shower or in kitchen.

    Location was great. Introduction to Tallinn by staff along with restaurant picks helpful. 24 hour access.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    It was very noisy because of a large group of badly behaved...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy because of a large group of badly behaved adults with their children. The staff were good when I complained but not effective at managing the situation - despite there being many signs saying about keeping quiet and being considerate

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location, walking distance from everything in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    As i left early (8.30!) didnt get pancakes only toast with jam and coffee, the hall was tiny and all visitors left shoes there so it was messy, noisy at evening, no reading lamp in room

    Good location, walking distance from everything in citycentre, not expencive, clean big room with big window to sit on and watch busy street. If to come from trainstation hostel sign is tiny and difficult to notice, need to push doorbell and wait for answer, then metallic gate will open. Didnt notice that kind of information when i was booking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    It was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is very good, in the old town. The staff was very friendly, everything was clean. This hostel was very cosy and quiet ( we were in March).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location, nice room and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no free space at breakfast table, so was no help from sraff to feedvus :( But we've arranged some spot and meal after a while, when others were done with theirs breakfast :)

    Great location, nice room and price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely staying and yes definetly back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the sewer in the toilets that sometimes comes up in the morning and the fact that are little bit smaller.

    Lovely breakfast and the pancakes are so good! Friendly staff and perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Near the old town and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative. I guess the drain of the shower was a bit clogged?

    Beds were comfortable, towel was provided and breakfast! Don't need to mention lovely staff of course. She was really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.4
    Bathroom on our arrival was not clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom on our arrival was not clean. They cleaned it, after we complained. From 6 bulbs in bathroom only one was working. Certainly not enough. Except for one small cupboard no furniture in the room. Rooms with 3 and more beds, but only one key per room, and because there is no reception working during night, it lead to situation when somebody in neighbouring room broke the door waking everybody up at 2am.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommended! Will definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms could have been a tad cleaner and the room - a bit warmer. To be fair though - I did go during one of the coldest spells of 2018 which was brutal for even the Baltics, so I am not sure this counts.

    I LOVED the fact that there was quiet time after 11 pm - it was strictly observed and I really enjoyed it. Pancake breakfast was a definite bonus :) I was a fan. Pleasantly surprised that there were families with well-behaved children staying there as well - so I guess it's not a bad place for that kind of travel either.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable living room area, spacious room, more than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no lockers in the room to lock our personal belongings, If you share a room with strangers, this issue can cause uneasiness. Also, the information provided for the reservation should be used only for professional purposes, and nothing else.

    Comfortable living room area, spacious room, more than helpful staff, pancakes in the morning. There is always tea and coffee available with no extra charge. The breakfast included in our price was very nice. The location was perfectly convenient, we could walk to most of the places we wanted to go to.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Good hostel in the heart of Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy (thin walls, rooms close to common area where e.g. people eat breakfast), not so much choice for breakfast (milk, toast, pancakes), no privacy - rooms very close to common area, not so easy to find

    Perfect location in the heart of Tallinn's Old Town, quite comfortable bed, breakfast included, it was really warm inside so no worries in winter, good communication with staff before coming to the place, quite clean in common areas, clean room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Love our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some unpleasant smell in our room, maybe beds could have blankets over sheets, a little cold, but there was a heater in our room.

    Location in old town, everything is walking distance, half an hour walk from bus station. Amazing staff, we came earlier and left our stuff, got tea and coffee. Cosy environment, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    I would definetly stay here again and recommend the hostel to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, design, staff - everything was just perfect. It's right on the main street of the old town next to all attractions, bars and sights. The room was very clean and nice, comfortable bed and an armchair. The seperate bathrooms are clean. There is also free tea and coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Free and good breakfast, awesome pancake,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the bathroom is really small Toilets situaded next to the kitchen: not really convienient.

    Free and good breakfast, awesome pancake, really kind staff, good welcome Bedroom confortable Perfectly located.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    Everything was good and price was reasonable. Just make sure the staff really understand you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - It was a little bit hard to find because the sign was so small. We walked pass two times before we decided to ask the people. If we hadn’t asked, we wouldn’t have found it. - One of the staff we met was NOT listening to us AT ALL. We asked her to book a ghost tour for us (walking tour in old town Tallinn), but she said she was new and didn’t know what to do or if she should book it etc. So we asked to borrow the hotel’s phone instead. She didn’t lend us. She said there was another staff coming and that she would tell her to organize everything. I didn’t think she understand us well at that point so I try to explain further, yet she WOULD NOT listen and kept telling us with a “friendly” voice that oh no problem everything’s gonna be fine. So I wrote all the details I wanted, the time, meeting place, phone number, and hoping when she gave it to the other staff, it would be organized. When we came back in the evening, we were very frustrated. The other staff said she got a brochure and the details that I wrote, the first staff told her if there’s any guest ask for a ghost walking tour, just give them this brochure. WHY would we need that brochure... we were the one who give her that! So in the end, we missed that walking tour.. and it was our only night in Tallinn.

    The place was cleaner than expected. Location was great in the middle of old town. There was variety of breakfast, cereal, toast, pancakes, coffee, etc. Bathroom was good. We have a chance to meet two hotel staff - one of them was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Made us wish we could extend the holiday and just stay there for like a week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nope, it was great!

    Wonderful staff, both very friendly and very professional. Large comfy beds for me and my partner, natural fabrics in bed, lots of fresh air, quiet, great breakfast (bonus: some nice conversations with people from Netherlands). Accessible, because we could use elevator to the 4th floor. Felt better than home, did not wish to leave. Been there before and definitely will visit again and recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    3.8
    Overpriced, old and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is overpriced. I would pay 30% less at least. Dirty, mold in the bathroom. Furniture in the room is very old and some of it just fixed with the tape. For example, the lamp had a crack but they put a piece of tape on it, pretending to be fine. Electricity cords under the bed were also fixed with the tape, which was actually scary. The breakfast table is straight behind the door, so when the breakfast time had started not possible to get any sleep anymore (8 am). Not everyone can find the place at this breakfast table though. Toilets are very tiny, my husband touched the door with his knees while sitting.

    Location was ok, in the Old Town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Best location in Tallinn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    old decrepit plumbing Lack of water сooler

    Personal -responsible and careful Rooms - everything you need Location -exactly in old town Kitchen -breakfast and pancakes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.9
    excellent location, just 3 mins walk from Viru gate, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the light in the room is dark, not good for reading and the bed is little small in single room the sound poof is really poor, I stayed in single room for 3 nights, the first 2 nights were really good (common room's lighting will be switched off at 23: 00 and cannot make noise), the third night is a nightmare for me! someone checked in late and make noise at the next room, that is OK, but ........he starts to talking at 04:00 midnight, and keep talking to himself, non-stop!!!!!!!! until the next morning, everyone waked up , he kept talking !!!! I have used the earplug, but that is not comfortable. If he talked in the common room, I can stop him for the rules and regulations, but he kept talking in his room and the sound just like a ghost talking next to me, what can I do? I feel annoyed and drive me crazy! That is such a selfish man and did nor care about the others. I understand that this is not the fault of the hostel, for the hostel itself, it is really good and good to stay, but it left me a nightmare at the last night

    excellent location, just 3 mins walk from Viru gate, and near the square, actually, old town is small nice and helpful staff, you can have pancake in the morning

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hostel
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very good hostel. Location is the best- on main street of old town and close to everything. Slept very well, I usually have sleeping problems at the hotels. Breakfast was good, I liked these pancakes very much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location & breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - A bit difficult to find at 1st time. The entrance gate is located before Salamander shoe shop.At the entrance gate, you have to press number 2 to contact the hostel staff to open the door.

    - Located in the old town area, close to everywhere (sightseeing places,shopping, restaurants) - From Viru gate, walk only few minutes to the hostel, no problem with large luggage - Staffs are very friendly - I like pancake time in the morning! Delicious!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.7
    For early sleepers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out from 11:00. From 22:00 cant use the living room. Very small kitchen, i cant imagine how its possible to cook there. . Not enough number of wc and showers. Not 24 hours reseption.

    Appartrment in an old building, the location is great thats the only good. If you travelling with kids maybe isnt so bad. You cant seat at leaving room after 22:00, after 23:00 you must be silent. I had a private room but if you leaving in a share one, sure it is strange if you dont want to sleaping so early. I asked "late" check out at 12:00. the refused.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    All. All of staffs were kind and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single room is good size for me but it might be small for some people. There is enough space to unpack and pack things for single traveler.

    All. All of staffs were kind and nice. Breakfast was good too. Other guests were gentle. Here was not the party hostel that is what I like. All of area was cleaned really well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Personal was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like spring bed. But it was quite good.

    Personal was perfect. Very kind, responsive. Room was clean, breakfest was good, bathroom was clean. Very good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    The location is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound insulation is not very good. The heater didn’t work very well since I feel a little bit cold when I stay at room.

    The location is really good. I like the breakfast especially the pancakes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    Perfect option for a short stay in the city centre with homemade pancakes for breakfast :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would recommend to fix the ventilation in the smaller bathroom as it was pretty damp.

    Perfect location in the city centre, close to public transport as well. My room was clean and the bed was OK. Staff is friendly and helpful, Wi-Fi worked without any issues. Homemade pancakes for breakfast as bonus :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the shared bathroom is a minus.. and the general disposition.. we were in room 1.. just outside our door is the breakfast table.. not so good for privacy

    location.. is right in the centre.. and u have a rimi just next to it if u want to buy coffee to go or anything else

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.7
    The Location was excellent and that's what i wanted , so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Finding the location was a bit difficult as there was no board around pointing me to the entrance , It was a residential building which can be missed out easily , i rang the bell quite some time , no one picked up .. it was cold and took me 10-15mins to finally get in ( After calling on the number mentioned on the booking ) once i could manage to get in every thing else went pretty smooth .

    The Location was excellent and that's what i wanted , so no complains . Room was big enough and breakfast was decent as well . The place was clean, value for money . it was a bit noisy at times but since it was a hostel so i expected it , they gave me ear plugs in advance so, that was thoughtful .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay, staff really friendly and an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view of the room was not great as it was towards the interior square, meaning that you could only see the windows of the other rooms. You might have some problems unlocking the front door of the building as it necessitates a few trials before finally managing to open it (it's a bit rusty).

    The staff has been very friendly and helpful. The number of bathrooms and showers were in sufficient number. The whole hostel was well-cleaned, including the kitchen and the bathrooms (the room as well). I really enjoyed the breakfast provided which was really diverse (they even prepared pancakes). The location is excellent, you are in the middle of the old town and close by restaurants, both local ones and international chains (McDonald's).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    For this price it's excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs but we can't have it all ;)

    Beds were extra comfortable, amazing breakfast (including the pancakes, receptionist made them especially for us earlier than she should THANK YOU! :)), the location in plain old city, size of the bathroom. I like the idea of leaving shoes at the door which made the place a lot cleaner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole apartment is a bit small. Eating table is just in fron of the room door so it is noisy sometimes. There is no lift to the apartment so heavy luggage will be a dilemma.

    Location was great. It was just 2 mins walk from the entrance gate of the old town. It is close to every attraction and tourist spots in the old town. Room is spacious. Staffs are friendly and helpful. It is the best value to the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    perfect for single traveler and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    perfect for single traveler and great value for money. The location is inside the old town on a Main Street which is very convenient for sightseeing. Staff are always there and attentive to your needs. The only minor thing is not that easy to find the hostel. If staff could send an instruction of how to find the place by separate mail, I could rate this place 11 out 10. Great place and great time there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Good localization, good hostel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    about the breakfast : no water bottle and they told us that there will be pancakes at the breakfast but it was only one pancake per person.

    Good localization, good hostel !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    Good access but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was next to the Main Street, and there was club or bar nearby. Music and voice never stop until very late night. I normally do not have problem with sleeping, but I had to put my earphones to listen to something nicer to sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Good value, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable, it had a big dip in the centre and we felt like it might collapse. It could get a little noisy from the street. In particular there was a lot of heavy metal music playing each night.

    Good value, central location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Best accommodation on my trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint I have about the property is that it's located 2 floors up, and the lift only goes to the 1st and 5th storey. Be prepared to lug your luggage up.

    Pancakes were provided for breakfast! Friendly staff helped recommend things to do in Tallinn. Clean and spacious rooms and common areas! Love the atmosphere, other residents were really friendly too. :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud in the morning and when someone has late (after midnight) check in. Was woken a few times. Also a lot of stairs to drag luggage up and no balcony for smokers.

    Great location, nice hostel and accommodating staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Great and central location, family friendly hostel accommodation with nice and free(!) pancakes :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the toilet was tiny, but not a problem for me. Another one was available. Noisy street, so our room was not very quiet and we had to open the windows to get some fresh air, however they provide earplugs.

    Breakfast is nice, the pancakes were delicious. Good place for a family. Very family-friendly. The breakfast table was great to meet other couples/ families and chat about their impressions of Tallinn. Overall very very satisfied.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location and silence stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast (5 euros) wasn't that great as there are only cereal, bread, and pancake. I could get it in RIMI market with less than 2 euro. Others were fine.

    The bed is good, very comfortable. It is a silence hostel, I would say it is a very private hostel. Relevant to those people who wish to enjoy silences and good rest during the trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is only two small WC and wash room and is just next to the living room. If the hostel is fully occupied, it is need to wait to utilize the resource.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    great location, just in the old town and the bus station is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location, just in the old town and the bus station is so close. many good restaurants nearby. room is big and private. morning pancakes is amazing. can feel the warmness of the hostel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.8
    Ok, if you like dust and sweet food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was dirty. I am not a cleanliness freak, but as I am allergic to dust, I had to notice at one moment that whole beautifully painted wall is covered in dust. For the breakfast there was only sweet things (honey, bread, nutella, etc). At least ONE type of cheese or ham would be enought for me. Oh, and maybe 8 o`clock in the morning is not the best time for the staff to start to play music.

    Location of course was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable and memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift. Traveller with big luggage has to climb 3 level of stairs.

    Big, clean and neat room and toilet. Location is near to town square and market.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Probably the cheapest place I've ever stayed at and...
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably the cheapest place I've ever stayed at and absolutely not the worst! Great location and you even get breakfast. Awesome place for a backbacker, tho during our stay, there were mainly only families with kids.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    We would definitely recommend this location! <3
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the noisy Street-side, so it was a bit noisy at night. But as we were on the 3rd floor - it wasn't such a problem and we had a good sleep.

    Everything was very very nice: perfect location, friendly staff, tasty breakfasts, beautiful room, clean bathrooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Absolutely amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was technically provided but was extremely limited in variety (some bread, jam, coffee with milk and pancakes), we also had to wash the dishes ourselves after it.

    Absolutely amazing location. Big size of the room. A great place for a short stay in the Old Town if you are on a budget.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location, in one of the main streets but was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared bathrooms, that were a bit too small. Breakfast from 8 to 11, our flight was early in the morning and could not have anything except coffee and tea.

    Perfect location, in one of the main streets but was not noisy. Fast access by taxi from the airport for little money. Helpfull staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Very good quality for money, really cosy and very conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a bit small. Can be a bit noisy in the room (from the corridor and common space), but earplugs are provided )

    It was a very modern room, clean and cosy, really couldn`t expect this quality from a hostel ))) Very clean showers and toilets. The location is just perfect, really can`t be better ) Just right in the Old Town, with all its restaurants at hand, as well as a shop nearby and MacDac for those who like it ) And quite near big department store, and a bus station where bus to airport goes to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Good choice for your pocket
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom has a bad smell of old clothes that made me feel uncomfortable when having a barh.

    The hostel is on the greeting gate to the old tơn. Its good location is very convenient for tourist to explore the beauty of the ancient town during the day time as well as night time. The hostel is near the Tourist Information center. If anyone would like to check more information or buy Tallinn card, then walk to that place.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Viru Backpackers Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: