Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of CRU Hotel 4 stars

Viru 8, Tallinn City-Centre, 10140 Tallinn, Estonia

#14 of 103 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 785 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.6
    The food at the restaurant was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish that they didn't play music in the hallway during the day. When we went back to the room to relax before dinner, it was a bit annoying.

    The food at the restaurant was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic location and very pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small but comfortable enough.

    Excellent location. Very good breakfast and the option to take teas and coffees to your room at any time - better quality than the usual instant coffee and UHT milk options in hotel rooms!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    I wouldn't recommend it - it was nice enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It lacked the comforts that I would have expected in a Western European hotel - like a chest of drawers for clothes, a kettle, and a few nice toiletries. Felt ever-so-slightly we were still in the Soviet bloc., although the staff tried to be nice. And the coffee was never hot however early one arrived for breakfast. We arrived just after 10pm to find all restaurants in Tallinn closed for the night, and the hotel had no room service whatsoever - not even a sandwich.

    It was central and reasonable value for money. It was charming. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable from finding one's way to one's room to the time we checked out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Old world charm and distinctiveness. Rooms that had character and make you realise what a poor deal many "modern" hotels are. Would happily go there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Excellent choice for a short trip to Tallinn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing I did not like much was the breakfast. But well, maybe it is a cultural question.

    Can not beat the location, it is right at the heart of the old town. But also quite close to the main avenue where you can grab an Uber. I loved the room, it was cosy and comfortable. Internet connection was super fast as I had to work during my stay. I actually had a range-extender in my room, which was convenient. Hotel's restaurant and food is just fantastic, it is nothing less than a fancy restaurant. Options in the menu are a bit limited but excellent food quality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Enjoying time in Tallinn old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been very appreciated. This was our only quibble

    The location was brilliant. The room was cosy and comfortable. The restaurant food was delcious and we can thoroughly recommend their rye bread ( with fruit and nuts). We bought some to bring home

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful Room #16
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was efficient but cool. We found this to be typical in Estonia so did not take it personally.

    Fantastic room. Lots of "best ever" were at this hotel. We were in #16, top room with a view over a main street right beyond the entrance. Close to everything! The beds were the best I have ever slept on. The breakfast was outstanding and they have free Sparkling wine. Best free breakfast I have ever had! Bathroom was great, Nice sofa and coffee table area in room. Robe and slippers for two. We had dinner in the hotel one night and the service and food were delicious! The restaurant gave us ice every day to chill sparkling wine that we bought across the street at Remi market. Very nice!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.8
    Very very little room no space to.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very little room no space to.move at all. It was a strong smell of humidity which entered into the clothes as well. Very much noise from restaurant and services during the night . Windows aremold and cannot secure sound proofing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing. Definitely not a 4 Star, for service or amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor check in service, no assistance from Staff with luggage up multiple staircases, with no lift. Staff were difficult to find, and the office closed by 10 pm. It felt as though we were inconveniencing them when asking for information or help. Not helpful in terms of tourism in the city. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, but no amenities in the room, and towels were thin and worn. Breakfast had limited selection

    Great location. Restaurant for dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    Very good restaurant and central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My room (#8) impossibly small and dark. No room to sit except on the bed, wi-fi was very weak. This room and others are above a service area, and at 2-3 a.m. some sort of very loud machine came on and off for an hour or more. An 8 x 12 room plus noise!

    Very good restaurant and central location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice historic building in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The receptionist is also responsible for the breakfast (at least the 3 mornings that we have been there), that means she won't be there all the time, or (better said) she will rarely be there. Therefore, no new food will be brought if it's finished and you will need to go to the reception if more milk, coffee, etc is needed, that's not very convenient and you really have the impression you are bothering them because you just want to have a coffee. It is not the best service at all. Breakfast is also nothing special, just the black bread is really excellent. We had always much better breakfasts (and better quality and more choices) during our 2 weeks trip in the Baltic. Beds are not very comfortable. Rooms are somewhat basic.

    Nice historic building right in the center. Staff was sometimes very nice and friendly... other times not that much...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay in the center of the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous, right in the center of the old town.

    Delicious breakfast. Friendly staff. Very quaint building. Many delightful twisty turny stairs so be careful if you have heavy or a lot of luggage.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    Great base for exploring old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was limited for someone that doesn’t eat meat. There was music being played outside from 06:30 which wasn't ideal.

    The location of the hotel was excellent for exploring the old town. The building was full of character and it was quiet (no noise from other guests).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Individual, authentic rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were a little 'off' compared to other places we have stayed in Tallin. The situation is on a very busy street. Breakfast was not as good as some others.... for example when we took ours there was no croissants ( I asked and they said they were coming but none arrived) and there was no jam ( for bread).

    Individual, authentic rooms. Lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    Lovely boutique hotel; NO PARKING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in desk only sporadically staffed; THERE IS NO PARKING. Seriously, do not be fooled by the 'local parking' option being ticked - parking in old town is an obscure nightmare, and staff were not really able to help. Your best bet is parking in one of the multistoreys just outside old town and walking in - fine as long as you don't have too many bags! If you have restricted mobility this might not be the place for you due to quirky rooms, low ceilings, tight stairs, etc.

    Lovely historic building; friendly staff; fantastic breakfast; discount (and free glass of wine) in the restaurant a real bonus as it's a really good establishment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice for going out, bad for having a rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - rooms are rather small, and the bathroom especially small - weak water pressure in the shower (almost none in the evening) - nose until 1AM from the outside restaurant (room window is right above it) and external ventilation (on all night) - breakfast is nice, but nothing special

    The hotel is centrally located, close to everything. This is, however, it's greatest disadvantage. Expect to be bothered by the outside noise until 1AM. Choose it if you want to explore the city, but don't expect a good night rest.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't so special as time. There was only on terrace on the yarb. In the reservation there was terrace or patio. The room was quite hot. There was 30 degrees outside.

    The breakfast was excellent, eith champagne. The onner yard, where we had the breakfast was extremely beautiful. Service was eccellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Could do a lot better outside the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Knew there was no elevator but didn’t realise we’d have to carry our heavy cases up so many flights and along so many corridors. No A/C proved to be a problem as we had warm weather and the attic room became very hot. This necessitated us leaving our windows open making the room very noisy, particularly from a mechanical device (extractor fan/refrigerator) outside our window. There was no extractor fan in the little bathroom so it became a sauna. Also,no electric kettle to make a tea or coffee.

    Great location in the old town and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel made of 4 different houses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs and no lift...best not to have room on street side as hotel is located in one of the most touristic street.

    Beautiful hotel made of 4 different houses. Staff very helpfull, restaurant bocuse d or and breakfast fabulous with homemade bread and pastries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location right in the heart of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location right in the heart of the old town. Very secure and beautiful rooms with character. Breakfast was delicious with a good selection, and ran until 11am. Incredibly helpful, welcoming staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    A fabulous experience in a boutique hotel and we would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel, in the heart of the old town oozed character. Staff were welcoming with no request being too much trouble. Our superior room was substantial in size and extremely comfortable with a dual outlook to street and garden. Breakfast provided everything we needed and we would highly recommend taking the opportunity to book an evening meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    The Hotel is on the main pedestrian strip through the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is on the main pedestrian strip through the old town and is very noisy all day and well into the night with outdoor restaurant noise and buskers in the street. If you are young and want to party at night this might be fine. There was no warning of this on the booking.com or hotel information and we certainly would have requested a quiet room or have booked elsewhere if we had any knowledge of this. The staff were very good in trying to find alternate room, but this was to no avail. It would have been better if we had been pre-warned that this is a hotel for those who can put up with noise at all times of the day and night - including at 4am++ when the nightclub down the road upped the volume and even through my earplugs I could feel the thump thump thump of the bass playing the same music over and over again (as I think the party-era were probably too drunk to notice that!). The room was beautiful and staff very lovely, but it does not make up for sleepless nights!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful charming hotel in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect!

    Cannot rate this place highly enough! Beautiful boutique hotel right in the middle of the old town. This place had such character to it, with modern features. Really comfortable room with a wee reading nook, great bathroom and incredibly delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyed exploring Tallinn, loved Hotel CRU, a great location made it easy to walk everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel ran out of English breakfast tea! Directions from the airport should mention the tram and the best stop to get off.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Hotel was beautiful and my single room was a good size. Excellent position for exploring the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location and comfortable nights sleep in a most spectacular town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom towels seemed to be wearing thin, but they still did the job.

    The location was fantastic. Just in the heart of the old town and most sites. The breakfast was adequate and staff quite helpful. Had good nights sleep despite being in the heart of the pedestrian area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Style over substance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was a "wet room" designed in our opinion the wrong way round. The shower was as you came in through a very heavy glass door and the toilet at the back of the room which meant that anyone using the toilet and/or basin after the shower had been used waded thru a very wet floor. The shower curtain did not reach the floor. There did not appear to be a fan to quickly dry the bathroom. We had twin beds and the lamp on the table between the beds was so big it impinged on both beds. The room safe was a metal box in the wardrobe which could be lifted out. Our room overlooked the courtyard of the restaurant and music was played loudly there until after 12 at night. Even when there were no customers eating there the music continued more loudly as staff cleared up. We had to speak to staff in the restaurant both nights after 11.45 to have the music turned off. Could do with bigger hot water jugs at breakfast.

    Young lady who let us into the hotel was very pleasant and carried our suitcases to our room for which we were thankful as there were many stairs and no lift. Fridge in the room. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely boutique hotel in the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative was that getting to our room involved labyrinthine corridors and many stairs, there being no lift.

    Great location in a medieval building in the centre of the Old Town. Great breakfast, and also an excellent restaurant with attentive service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, the hotel is right in the old town, a tram...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, the hotel is right in the old town, a tram station with a line going straight to the airport is an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel is located in an old building and every room is unique! The breakfast really is excellent, including home made bread, estonian specialities like fish and honey from estonia, salad, cheese / ham, sparkling wine, etc. The hotel also has a fabulous restraurant which is well worth a visit!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location,but needs some work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had an odor from the shower drain. Wiring was suspect - flickering lights. Only one free plug in the room - I unplugged the lamp over the bed for extra access.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Room and the breakfast were great, location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in-room coffee facilities, not even cups/kettle so we could brew tea with our preferred brand (from home of course).

    Room and the breakfast were great, location was excellent. Even had a convenient small supermarket over the street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Great building, good staff, the interior design could compliment more the amazing architecture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After seeing the hotel from outside several times and visiting their excellent restaurant, I was expecting a bit more luxury or old style feeling in the room. the bathroom seemed a bit shabby, the furniture in the room seemed to have appeared there by chance rather than by design. The interior did not pay a compliment to the excellent building and downgraded the entire experience.

    The bed was very comfortable, the pillows and the blanket were amazing. The building itself is wroth visiting, it makes you feel like on the trip to the past when you are inside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Yes to both!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs/stairways!!

    Yes to both! Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Meals for lunch/ dinner excellent and beautifully presented by the Chef

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice and cosy hotel in the historical city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was unstable and pretty much unusable, had to switch to mobile Internet access.

    Nice and cosy hotel in the historical city center. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location just 3 minutes walk from main square, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was expensive (especially wine) in the evening, but worth it as a treat

    Great location just 3 minutes walk from main square, and excellent food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Three night visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy the first night, but better the other two. There was an unpleasant smell in the bathroom which we worked out was coming through the vent in the floor, but again this was just the first night & was cured by placing a towel over the vent

    The staff were excellent, as was the breakfast, lots of choice & very well presented & tasty. The room was clean & comfortable. My husband asked about the sprats he had for breakfast as he liked them so much, & the staff presented him with a tin when we signed out!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Great small boutique hotel in the heart of Old Talinn. Charming yet modernized.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you can't walk up and down lot of stairs and small passages this is not for you.

    Great location in center of Old Talinn. Charming old building but modernized facilities. Good breakfast. Great restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good option in Tallinn old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The power outlets of room 11 are located in bad places, almost in the ceiling, so it is difficult to charge your phone and batteries. They also could install some shelf in the bathroom, so we can accommodate thing from everyday use.

    Except from that things, it was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast, perfectly relaxing bed (really comfy), very friendly and efficient staff and overall most pleasant experience. Quite many steps to climb from reception to our hotel room (both down and up), so take this into mind when having a heavy luggage. But it was not a problem for us. The room's windows were overlooking the inner restaurant yard but it was quiet at night, so no disturbance at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have enjoyed my stay in this hotel: unique and cozy rooms, friendly staff, tasty breakfast. The location is just perfect for the walks in the old town. For surely I'll know there to stay on my next trip to Tallinn!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location in old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected more from the breakfast. From a small hotel that boasts a first class restaurant I would think it better to cook a small breakfast to order so that the food was hot.

    Excellent location in old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    (1) If you travel with luggage, beware of the lack of an elevator. YOU may need to carry - not roll - luggage through many narrow staircases (as you would not ask a reception lady to help you carrying it). (2) if you have a room with a connection door at least - I hope acoustics of other rooms is better) - you would well hear your neighbours talk.

    Superb location, nice style of the old house where the hotel is located, nicely decorated corridors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Cozy, clean and super friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our beds were separate. Not very comfy when you are with two... The shower door in our first room wasn't very well constructed which caused water to spill over all the bathroom floor. Also note: no elevator!

    The cozy rooms, cleanliness and excellent service. On our second stay we had to leave early for the airport. Cru staff arranged our taxi, and made breakfast and coffee for us! Kadri from the restaurant also helped us picking the right dishes and wine, and was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyable stay - strongly recommended (but don't expect a large bedroom). A real gem!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor point - WiFi did not reliably reach room 8.

    Wonderful staff; quirky, charming (very) old building full of long narrow passages leading to private rooms (16 in all, I think). Location perfect - central and quiet. Tallinn itself is very beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful atmosphere, location and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft, too few power sockets. Facility to make tea or coffee in room not available.

    Restaurant was fantastic. Staff very friendly. Location was fabulous

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant 2 days stay for us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is located in a very old house, so there was quite many stairs. No elevator. This was not a problem for us but it´s good to know.

    Very nice small, peaceful and quiet hotel. Friendly staff! Location was excellent in a heart of old town, just 1,5 km from harbour. Room was cozy and clean. Hotel have a nice restaurant with very good menu and really friendly and helpful service. Food was delicious! Breakfast was good and even sparkling wine was available free of charge. We can recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    I enjoyed staying at Cru and I definitely come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This isn'l really a like or not like -thing but I was a bit confused because in the bathróom you first entered the shower space and behind that was the toilet area. It was a bit difficult to use the toilet after showering without getting your socks wet :) But it wasn't too uncomfortable.

    The location was great! / hotel was quiet - as if we'd been the only customers - which we weren't:) / breakfast was tasty, "home made" / staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv only showed one channel. There was dust in the room in the floor. The bathroom was cold. I expected more of the breakfast, since the restaurant is very good.

    Very good location. We liked the decoration and the unique rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, some rooms not very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not very quiet. Both suites overlook the main street of the old town, so noise from the street can be a problem. There was also a washing machine near our room that was frequently in use even on weekend mornings. Rooms in other parts of the property might be quieter.

    The location in the center of the old town was very convenient. Many attractions and restaurants were nearby. Our room was comfortable and elegantly furnished. There was plenty of variety at breakfast, and the food was delicious. In addition to brewed coffee, espresso drinks were also available upon request.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    breakfast - nice to have cappuccino instead of filter coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately double bed was two single beds connected together. I know it's common practice in hotels, but there were additional mattress pad that shifted all night. We stayed with 3y old baby so double bed was a must for us.

    breakfast - nice to have cappuccino instead of filter coffee, perfect location, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location, unique room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was easy to find, but the hotel (which is connected) was more difficult to see from the street.

    The property was beautiful. The layout of the rooms was extremely unique and very fun to explore. The breakfast was very good. Location was amazing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Very nice place, enjoyed it a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom facilities could've been better. A broken mirror, water leaking from the shower to the room...

    Location is amazing, and the staff are really nice and welcoming. Breakfast is good and the hotel itself is very nice. Outside of the hotel there is everything needed - music, pubs, restaurants and shopping centers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Location, ambience and food exemplary
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magnificent old building but renovated to a high standard. Location is unbeatable. Restaurant is deservedly world famous and they helped us celebrate a birthday with flair. Breakfast is equally good quality and classy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    The service was lovely and very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The layout of our room was rather awkward and the furniture and decorations were just sub-standard. We did not have a good sleep due to the noise from the streets and the mattress was not great quality. The hotel is in need of some TLC.

    The service was lovely and very welcoming. The lady in charge kindly kept the breakfast buffet open for us way past the allocated time. The hotel is right in the centre of the old town and therefore a great base for discovering Tallinn.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    Labyrinth hotel in the center of old town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities are clean and fine, but the narrow and labyrintic corredors and the room was very small and that brough some practical problems. No place for charging the computer near the bed, no electric socket available near the bed. Weak internet. No place t work in the room. Too little was too litle although cosy. reakfast was starting only at 8 in one day so I needed to wait

    I like the location of the Hotel in the center of town. It is easy to drop by a bar, a museum or the old square. The restaurant in Cru is excellent. Good breakfast and atenttative staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Very good impresion.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast starting just at 8 a.m. If you have business earlier, you will stay without breakfast.

    Very good location, all old town are next to hotel. You can reach all sightseeing objects very easily. Breakfast was very good, a lot of chooses of meal. Also I liked natural juices, made by hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    I will come back when I can move without limitation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs, stairs, stairs - I have a problem with my foot at the moment - it was really challenging. Somehow it should be mention that for people with limitation is not recommended. Also problem to get there with a taxi, if you are not able to walk - no chance. If you are healthy - no problem at all.

    Staff extremely nice and helpful! Breakfast very good, coffee simply perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Talinn is amazing and the Cru Hotel is the perfect accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet was a bit spotty.

    The hotel was excellent. Very funky design - not straight, boring hallways. Super location, right in the old town. Great restaurant on site. Rooms spacious and clean. Excellent breakfast. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Had great English.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.0
    Great location, pleasant stuff, brilliant breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for one double bed and they had only two singles put together so we kept sinking in between the two beds during the night.

    Breakfast was Excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    No doubts that I'll book this hotel for any occasian in Tallin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was staying with that hotel before and as the last time that was a lovely stay - location is perfect, staff - helpfull and very friendly, breakfast - very good, facilities - excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    historic building, not best service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception was overwhelmed with the help for a secure parking in the area, although in about 500m foot distance a large shopping center with parking garage is available. Information on badly designed city map is inadequate and proof of ignorance of the own environment in the city. Beds are not comfortable today (sagging).

    In the heart of the old town of Tallinn in the pedestrian zone. Small, fine restaurant. Service excellent in restaurant and always with a friendly smile.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    If you are looking for something unique in Tallinn, this is it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Wonderful hotel with a perfect location. Really unique old building and great staff. Very good breakfast in a quiet small room where you can see the lively streetlife of the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent food and very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food and very helpful and friendly staff. As it's a pedestrian road where the hotel is l9cated certain hours the taxi cannot get to the property hence one has to drag the luggage 150 metres or so. And as it's an old property there are no lifts so dragging luggage to the rooms is a bit tough if one is old.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    A fantastic weekend in Tallin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually I was satisfied with everything. The only drawback could be the narrow passages, as it is a very old building - it could be quite difficult to walk with huge luggage. But they have elevators, so I think it is no real issue.

    Fantastic staff, very heartwarming, good communication skills. Very good service, excellent breakfast. I was in a fairytale. Location is perfect - in the centre of the old town - very easy to get to the most interesting places in the City.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Great Location for the Tourist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was a little small, but functional.

    Fantastic location very close to everything and the hotel was really easy to get to via public transport from the airport. Breakfast was really good with a great selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wi-fi could be better.

    The location is the best it could be!The staff is great and very helpful with everything!They even prepared a lunch box for me to take the day I was leaving since my flight left really early in the morning and I couldn't make breakfast.Very clean room, comfy bed.Excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Food was great and Lux was the best,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower door, was heavy and difficult to open at times.

    The eggs where the best I have had in a long time for a breakfast meal on holiday. The hotel staff member,Lux,was so customer accommodating and her English was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    The décor in the room was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a café down the road which played music when we were trying to sleep. ...especially loud and late at weekends. Remedy this by asking for a back room. Since it is a 15th century building there are no lifts so if you are elderly ask for a room on the lower floors.

    The décor in the room was outstanding..... no cost spared! The location could not have been better. Helpfulness of hotel staff was outstanding and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Food in the restaurant was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I ask for a quite room, I dont want to get one above the noisy restaurant entrance with music later than midnight. Never before I had a room where the toilet paper was out. and no replacement was in the bathroom.

    Food in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    All the staff where delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful restaurant no expense spared, however the so called hot food ( scrambled egg and bacon ) was served onto cold stone wear plates. I could not eat the breakfast food !

    All the staff where delightful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location, in the heart of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking possibilities close to the hotel, but this is a problem common to the whole old town.

    Good location, in the heart of the old town. Nice interior layout

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Rustic beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately my room was right by the restaurant and so early morning and late night as they were opening and closing it was a bit noisy, but it did not spoil my experience!

    The hotel was amazing, the perfect location in the heart of the Old Town. The restaurant was fantastic I would definitely recomend eating there one night. The room was rustic and quirky but thats what made the place great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Lovely, thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Huge four poster bed and comfortable sofa. Fabulous breakfast, perfect location in the heart of the Old Town and the staff were delightful. Free wifi. Our room looked out over a courtyard and the sound of people having dinner below was very pleasant in the early evening. The hotel was quiet at night. Public transport is easy and low cost. There is free public wifi all over Tallinn which makes travel so easy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A common mistake at hotels : the shower curtain is 30 cm too short ( or the curtain bar too high up) and thus the floor is totally wet after shower. ( room no 1 )

    The location is superb in the old town. Service at the reception exceeded expectations. Breakfast was delicious and coffee customized.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    It was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The reception staff were exceptional! They were so attentive to needs and so willing to arrange what ever was needed! The whole hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Perfect location. Great restaurant. The hotel was very tastefully renovated and is run the same way.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    staff were extremely accommodating and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed quality could be better - was quite soft and the middle where the twin beds were put together was not very comfortable. could hear loud footsteps from the room above. minor comment - soap dispenser broken.

    staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. location was absolutely perfect - could not be better. very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse CRU Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: