Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Zinc Old Town Hostel Tallinn

Väike-Karja 1, Tallinn City-Centre, 10140 Tallinn, Estonia

#45 of 99 hotels in Tallinn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 817 hostel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My window faced Sauna street which was loud with party people at night. I recommend earplugs.

    The room and shower were clean and well presented. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    The manager was pretty friendly but checking in took a while.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was actually a dorm with all the other beds empty. If it had been full of people there would have been problems plugging things in. The staff weren’t at reception much. There are a lot of taped down and trailing electrical cables, and the place is distinctly tatty. Not really enough toilets, and one adjoins the kitchen.

    The manager was pretty friendly but checking in took a while.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice basic hostel in the center of old Tallinn
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, right in the center of old town and yet quiet. Shared bathroom and shower were clean. Free tea and coffee were nice. Overall, very good value for money!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    The location is perfect--right near the tourist office but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As with any hostel, it got a little noisy. I was woken up a few times at night.

    The location is perfect--right near the tourist office but just one street away from the noise. Bathrooms and kitchen were clean. Blankets were warm, which was nice after getting caught in a rainstorm. Staff extra helpful--I would have missed my ferry without the advice of the front desk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Since its in a central location, it can be a bit noisy - just to keep in mind, though it didn't disturb me with earplugs on.

    Excellent location, nice facilities, and a clean hostel! I appreciated the kindness of the staff, who helped me organise a trip to Helsinki! Nice place to stay for a brief visit to Tallinn.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    It is overall a good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because there was no AC, windows must be open. Since my room was next to a main street, it was very noisy at midnight.

    The staff was very helpful. The location is really good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location, clean rooms and facilities, good wifi; you may hear the music from the bars outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception didn't have a lot of information on activities etc (which some hostels have displayed or available), however, I'm sure that the staff may have been able to help if we had needed it.

    Zinc Hostel is clean and well located in the old town, 1 minutes walk from the square, bars and restaurants. The reception desk is only staffed for part of the day, however, someone was available to help if you phoned them. Before the trip, the hostel was kind enough to send me late check-in instructions as we were arriving late at night. The room was clean and functional as were the bathrooms and showers. Do expect to get a little noise from the neighbouring bars on Fridays and Saturdays. Good wifi!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Hostel didn't take a cash deposit from me on check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be cool if you had a restaurant or two you could recommend for new visitors to Tallinn.

    Hostel didn't take a cash deposit from me on check-in. Good location in the old town. Easy enough to find. Don't need any keys.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    The location is perfect since it is in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    But the contact with the hostel is not good.. She did not deliver the password of the entrance before I checked in... I couldn't check in when I arrived, luckily I got some friends there and helped me to call her to ask for the password, otherwise I need to stay outside the whole night! This is very bad arrangement :(

    The location is perfect since it is in the old town. The bed and room is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Location was really, really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bad smell under shower. It could be nice to not have to pay extra for using washing machine.

    Location was really, really good. Room was big.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Location was great, staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, very loud. They are right next to a bunch of bars, so all night it is a bunch of people drunk yelling and cheering. Walls are thin as well, so before the bar crowd showed up, it was quite easy to hear your neighbors.

    Location was great, staff was friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Good place with good location to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be more convenient if there is some free food like cereals, breads, and yogurt/milk for guests as breakfast, but it's really aexcellemt hostel to stay!

    Good place with good location, it's silent at night, there are four bathrooms in the hostel, guests don't have to wait for the bathrooms too long.the kitchen is not small and has filter in case somebody doesn't want to drink tap water.it would be better if theres some free food for guests as breakfast. the staff speaks good english, and he was willing to tell me where can I buy stamps at night cause I was leaving the next morning.after all, it's a good place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.6
    Worst welcome I ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst welcome I ever had. Was described as a single bed, single occupancy... and when informei the hostel was a shared bedroom with over 12 bunkers. And when I complained about it, was extremely badly treated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and check out time could be more flexible.

    Great location in the old town. We can easily reach any place in the old town. The room, bathroom, toilets and kitchen are also clean. A good choice for people who travel on budget.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Good hostel, right behind the main square
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    really do not understand why in every bathroom and shower (also where there is a lot of space) there are those really tiny basins were it is almost impossible to brush teeth or wash the face.. except for that, all good

    location, staff, cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Good stay for the price and a great location in Tallin,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit noisy in the corridors but nothing too bad.

    Good stay for the price and a great location in Tallin, right in the heart. Rooms were spacious enough and comfortable enough. Shared facilities were useful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Call for checkin. Occasional noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in is a bit unusual because the desk is not staffed. A cell phone is required because you have to call a number for someone to unlock the door and actually check you in. Note that early morning, you can hear people walk by and talk if your room faces the street.

    Location is central and great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception or front desk doesn't open until 11 a.m.

    Everything about this hostel is phenomenal cleaningness, staff, location and facilities. Beg borrow or steal to stay at this hostel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    right where you want to be, very cosy and self-sufficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the proximity to the pub - some drunkards get a big loud on the street

    There's definitely a woman's touch in the renovation here. The staff are very helpful and friendly in a typical Estonian way (a compliment). The kitchen is well-appointed. The hostel is very handy for everything, including transport links. We would definitely recommend to other travellers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Really nice hostel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inside is a little dark and feels a bit like it could do with some paint

    The location was great and the staff very helpful. The kitchen was well equipped and spacious and the hostel felt safe. The showers were great and hot!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a lot of bars around so it was noisy late at night. My bed was top bunk and I couldn't reach plug sockets. Luggage lockers are'nt available after 11pm and they charge 2 euros after 2pm.

    Bathrooms are well cleaned, good location to access old town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Good for partying girls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a party hostel. We arrived around 4.30 am and at least 2 other rooms were still up. You will hear the noise both from the corridor and the street so remember to bring your ear plugs. They have only thin curtains so also remember to bring your eye pads. We knew this from other references so we were prepared.

    It's cheap and the location is very good. Toilets and showers were clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    The hostel is located right in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some neighbors were too noisy

    The hostel is located right in the city center. The room was clean, the staff was friendly. There is free coffee in the kitchen. Hostel is under renovation now, but still everything is ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Cozy and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are not around and the reception is closed during the day or when you need it. We booked a three beds room, but on arrival a room with six beds were allocated to us.

    Location is awesome, hostel is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. There are tea and coffee available for the guests in the shared kitchen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Very good location, nice design of our room, nice staff,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is very noisy place, we couldn't sleep to 2 am because of noise from outside and from inside. We have asked for a room in quiet part of the building and we have got a room above music club and near to the hostel kitchen... So it was really noisy and uncomfortable.

    Very good location, nice design of our room, nice staff, access to the kitchen with tea and coffee, oven and so on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Great for big groups
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were renovating when we were there, so of course it didn't look as nice as could be.

    The location was amazing right in the old town of Tallinn! The rooms were quite spacey, even though there were 6 of us in one room and 7 in the other. Free biscuits and candy in the lobby!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, clean, and nice bathrooms but don't be in a rush to check-in or check-out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was uncomfortable for me. Probably a bit old and too soft in the middle. On the second night, my back hurt. Staff is never around... We had to wait around for check in and check out (there's a key drop box but we wanted to leave our bags),and to pick up my bag. They put a note with a number to call but if you don't have an EU phone, international phone calls are not cheap...!

    Great location, in old town! Though it gets loud at night with all the pubs around it, I wear earplugs in hostels so that was not a problem for me but my friends did not like that. Room was clean, showers and toilets were good with plenty of space (showers in hostels can be tiny with no room at all to put your dry stuff).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    I will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of stairs but it was told in description and it belongs to old house circumstances.

    Cleanliness, good beds, friendly receptionist, old house athmosphere and excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Good rest during Tallinn Music Week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No double bed option, just two singles Street noise, especially if you want to leave open window

    The location - the heart of Tallinn old town, situated in old house Free coffee/tea and spacious well equipped kitchen Reception laptop free to use Simply furnished, but spacious room Old house atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Good price, you can cook yourself, Old Town
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Big kitchen, everything was clean. As I stayed during the week, I was in the room only with 2 other girls so it was very comfortable. Free tee and coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice big rooms and kitchen and perfect location in Old Town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms could be a little bit cleaner but there wasnt any problem :)

    Nice big rooms and kitchen and perfect location in Old Town, also close to Tallinn Port, If you want to go to Helsinki.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Pleasant and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lot of stairs, so i don't know how would disabled people have access. Also, my bedroom had a view to the street, so during the evening, for being so central it might be a bit noisy, but that is part of the great location, so it is not really a bad thing.

    The location is super centralized, several toilets and good facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Everything was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit overpriced for an hostel but not surprising for an europe average.

    Everything was clean and comfortable. The position is perfect in the middle of the old town. Staff very helpful and the kitchen is fully equipped, always hot shower and clean toilet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    Good location, but lacking atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess the whole property was being renovated, since it looked very unfinished. Atmosphere was lacking and there was no information on what to do in town (flyers or poster)

    Location is perfect, very central.Room and mattresses were basic, but OK.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    It was just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities for guests, really. You get what you pay for, it’s quite basic. I found the staff to not really be either around when necessary. Just kind of a weird hostel in general...

    It was just ok. Clean, cozy beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Excellent bed, quiet location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Privancy of guest details was poor. All the contact details and information of quests was seen at the reception. Please improve this. Not a big effort to have this fixed.

    Excellent bed, quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Definitely would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - windows are old, sometimes you can hear noise outside - hostel is not in the first floor, you have to bring your luggagup up the stairs (it was ok for me, but for other it may be difficult) - otherwise I have nothing more to complain about

    -the best location - very friendly and helpful staff (I was travelling with a huge luggage and even though I didn't ask for help, receptionst was very nice, took my luggage and brought it to my room. Alse when I was leaving, he helped me with my luggage again) -comfty bed -free towels to use -huge and nice rooms -huge kitchen

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Ideal location almost every attractions are within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath room sanitaries,it's kid's size.Staff come to work at 10:00 a.m.the hostel door is locked if you arrive earlier you cannot even leave your backpack.I was there before 09:a.m.on December 30, and had to call the owner five times before she picked up the phone and cannot do anything.

    Location,room,security,kitchen offers free coffee and tea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    From the beginning I met so nice people when went to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    From the beginning I met so nice people when went to the hostel and could find without any difficulty. I like polite staff, clean and comfortable place. Thanks a lot for everything! I have spent good holidays.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Really great stay with good location and nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water in the shower was not really hot, and the showerhead is a little broken

    The bed was super comfortable. I only had to share a 6 beds bedroom with one other person. I like the desk and the sofa, make us more at home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    The location of the hostel is incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hostel is incredible. Located only 200 feet from the main square, it is ideal, especially for the Christmas market there. The hostel itself is clean and rooms are large for the price and area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Location really perfect just behind the city square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find the hostel , there's no clear sigh of hostel, really need to pay attention to a small door have really not clear sing on it. No elevator.

    Location really perfect just behind the city square. Although don't have elevator in hostel but staff were really nice to help me carry my luggage but I have to carry by myself when check out. Room were really big over the average hostel 6people dom, bathroom is really clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are very thin and you can hear every sound from the corridor. The reception is close for night so there is noone to keep an eye for people who come back late and are loud.

    The lady at the reception was very polite and friendly. Straigt away she made us feel welcome. We had a triple room and it was right next to the reception. The kitchen is big with eveything you need. Location is perfect. Step away from the market square.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.4
    Just a place to spend a night, although in the center of the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be ready for high costs of parking (up to half the price of the room) payable in cash. Don't expect much help or smile from the staff

    The building is 3mins walk from the old town center square and close to public transport stops. Other than that don't expect too much comfort from a hostel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Very convenient and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location in the Old Town was excellent, just minutes to the main square. Access from the sea port was a bit of a walk but quite manageable. Access to the bus station was an easy tram ride. We didn't have a private bathroom but the shared facilities were clean and adequate. The kitchen had everything needed and was spacious with plenty of seating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was hoping they'd change the sheet daily.

    The Hostel is well located in the center of old Town of Tallinn. The public areas (shower, toilet, kitchen) are very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location! Great for a group as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the booking we checked a box saying we could have private parking, which we didn't get. The receptionist also didn't seem to know anything about this. Her English wasn't great but she tried to help us out. The shower isn't great, it's either hot or very cold.

    The location is absolutely great! Right in the old town :) there is however no parking and it's hard to find, so look it up when coming by car. The hostel was clean, had a big kitchen, several bathrooms, and it was pretty clean for a hostel! The beds were also good for a hostel.:) There was also a lot of information available about Estonia and Talinn.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic stay at a very good price .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find the building, even with google-maps, possibly nearby signs would have been helpful.

    The location of the hostel was fantastic, the staff very helpful and friendly - fantastic value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Centrally located, no-nonsense, with WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the late evening, a strange man looking (and smelling) shabby came out of my dorm, apologising in Estonian that he entered the room by mistake. I wonder how he got in, or why he was staying there.

    The hostel is located perfectly! The staff is friendly. I could leave my luggage for free until 2 pm and that was really helpful. It was nice to meet people in the big self-service kitchen during breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mouldy showers with water only running for 4 seconds and then the shower button needs to be pushed again and again, which can be very annoying. Very noisy from the streets owing to the perfect, central location. Extremely soft matresses. The rooms and showers are quite run down and could use some refurbishing. The reception only opens at 11 am, which seems quite late.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Better for families/groups than solo travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While everyone is friendly, if you're a solo traveller looking to meet up with other young travellers I would recommend somewhere else because the atmosphere is lacking here. Also the lockers are outside of the room in the bathroom area, there are cupboards in the rooms but they don't have locks.

    I really enjoyed the location of this property although be ware that there are some noisy clubs/bars near by- nothing that some headphones or earplugs can't fix though. But, the location is perfect with a mall "Solaris" near by having a big supermarket and cheap food available (average meal is 4-8 Euro) and it's right in the old town which means you can explore things easily. The staff were really helpful, the kitchen is nice and spacious and the coffee isn't bad.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.3
    Great location in old town, but taxi won't deliver you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was run down and dated. Too many stairs, steps and halls to navigate. No lift and had to ask my male roommate to help me with bag on stairs.

    Great location in old town, but taxi won't deliver you to front door, so be prepared to walk a few meters on cobblestone

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not in room. I was carefully searching for a private room with private bathroom - I could not read out from the listing that there is no bathroom in the room

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Location great, staff nice, safe place but a little expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are thin and in the weekend there was loud music coming from a club nearby. I guess i found it a bit to expensive for what you get, ( i was in double by myself for 48 euro's), besides the location which you probably pay most for. Tallinn is not an inexpensive destination. Basically you get a room with a shared bathroom in the centre, nothing fancy. There is no breakfast included, they do have a kitchen. so if a bed is all you need and you bring earplugs; there is no reason not to stay here.

    Location is perfect. Just a couple of hunderd metres outside the main square. There a several nice restaurants in this area just a stone throw away. The neugbourhood feels extremely safe and the hostel has a night guard and the door is locked at night times. It does have a hostel vibe, and it attracts younger people, but they do have individual rooms. The guy at the reception was very kind and told me to look after the group of people who were in the room opposite mine that they would keep quiet after 11pm. Also the lady who was working made effort to help out with renting a bicycle and finding the right bus to my next destination. Its all very clean and well taken care of.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor sound insulation, you can hear everything from the corridor, from the street. Ear plugs will be very useful if you want to sleep well.

    Excellent value of money! Excellent location (just around the corner from Olda Hansa), the mini market Rimi is just 3 minutes walk along Sauna street. We asked for early check-in (ar 6 am) and got it for extra 10 euro, which is totally fine. Our room on the 2nd floor was ready to crash the beds after the long night ride to Tallinn. The common areas are super clean, the kitchen is equipped with everything you need and even more (clean dishes, tea, coffee machine, salt, sugar), you can keep your food in the fridge. After the check out we could leave our bags for two more hours. All the shower stuff you should bring with you. Bed linnen& towels are included, extra pillows and blankets as well. Good wifi. Def. one of the best hostels we have ever stayed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Great Spot in Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent position in Old Town. Staff were very helpful and everything was clean. Great pizzas at Pizza Grande opposite hostel and ask staff for directions for best pancake cafe. Visit Parnu by the sea.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Good hostel with perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be noted that there is no transport traffic area (this is good!); if you are by car (bad idea), the closest parking costs 0,10€ per minute. You should use other parking (ask reception for a tip).

    Good hostel with typical service and comfort level. But excellent location! 1 nimute to center!!! Windows view!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Clean rooms, great location, but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise. I cannot sleep at nights normally because of people passing by my room and talking loudly.

    The personnel is very helpful and friendly, location is just awesome – in the very heart of Old Town. Rooms and other facilities are clean in general.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors banged clicked shut loudly so I would wake early when other guests got up

    The property was very clean, in an excellent central location and well-equipped.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    Location is very good, right in Old City Center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice to have more bathrooms

    Location is very good, right in Old City Center. Staff was nice. It is a hostel after all...so you cannot have too many expectations. But for the money you pay it is a good deal

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    Some issues to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is quite noisy at night. No one of the staff members called the attention to the people who were shouting in the corridors. The reception only opens from 11:00, so if you need to leave your baggage earlier paying the 2€ fee, you need to tell them in advance. I did not know it, so when I came back my bags were in the corridor. The explained it to me in a not very nice way.

    The location is really good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Not the best choice for quite stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows dont block noise at all. No parking.

    The location is great for city center in daytime. BUT dont expect proper sleep during weekend. It a lot of noise right out of your window. I mean huge! In the middle of the night. My travel was not for parties so this was a big downside. Also I couldnt open the window in out tiny 4 bed room. Imagine the smell!! No air!! The kitchen and staff was very nice and the bathrooms as well. Another minus- no place to park your car for an affordable cost. Go find it in a ten minute walk and make sure you have extra money for that. Its expensive in Tallinn.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.3
    Very good hostel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is only 2 showers for the whole floor, so sometimes you have to wait for a while to take a shower.

    Hostel has perfect location in the heart of the old town, so you don't have to use public transport. It's also located only 20 min walk from the port, where you can take a ferry to Helsinki. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Definitely would go back
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little bit noisy but it's an old building so that's how it is. Also the reception should open earlier because I met some tourists who wanted to at least leave their bags there but the reception wasn't open for another 3 hours.

    Everything was the way it was supposed to be. Got all the keys, our room was next to the bathroom, it was pretty calm, the receptionist did take us to our room, everything was clean and worked fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Great old town hostel for arrivals from bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hostel, clean and comfortable. Placed in a heart of an Old Town, with a lot of different cafes, bars and clubs around, 3 minutes to Lido. Big comfortable kitchen with tea and coffee. You can walk right to this hostel by moving in a straight line from bus station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location, very friendly and helpful staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was bothered by night check-in of other guests though they tried to keep quiet

    Right at the center of old town, easily accessible to anywhere in old town

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    good deal in the centre of old tallinn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit difficult to find the door (the street is easy to find)

    location, price. the hostel also has a kitchen. good for long stay as well. super convinient location. the room is simple but clean enough.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door and stages are slightly confusing. Toilet and shower are clean enough but you can tell it's an old building, so the facilities are not new, too.

    An equipped kitchen. Nice warm room. Nice English-speaking Staff. Located near to the heart of old town and tram. Very good wifi signal.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    If you want to try Tallinn oldtown night life - this is best place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin internal walls. You can hear noise from street at night (if going to bed early)

    Good price. Best place in oldtown, if you want go out at night. Bars and pubs are located just around the corner. Honest staff. Free WiFi. Has lockable parking area (costs 22 eu\night for car)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    The best Tallinn's hostel made my stay perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only weather outside -10/-14C, but I needed to accept it 😊❄️☀️

    Very honest & friendly family caring for this hostel, price unbeatable, clean, big clean kitchen, coffee/tea/towel. The towel & bed were really smelling good - cared & washed with a lot of love. It came to double charging because of Booking, the family cared and solved this one. I really recommend to stay here, we'll be chosing again this hostel next time. Location - adorable, the very heart of Tallinn's Old City. I stayed 2 nights, 1 of them - I stayed alone in the room. It was very cold outside, the family extra equipped an additional electrical oven, so the guest are not freezing. Mega!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    The best Tallinn's hostel made my stay perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only weather outside -10/-14C, but I needed to accept it 😊❄️☀️

    Very honest & friendly family caring for this hostel, price unbeatable, clean, big clean kitchen, coffee/tea/towel. The towel & bed were really smelling good - cared & washed with a lot of love. It came to double charging because of Booking, the family cared and solved this one. I really recommend to stay here, we'll be chosing again this hostel next time. Location - adorable, the very heart of Tallinn's Old City. I stayed 2 nights, 1 of them - I stayed alone in the room. It was very cold outside, the family extra equipped an additional electrical oven, so the guest are not freezing. Mega!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    10
    Booked a place in 6 bad room, but hostel provided me single...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy neighbors in the room nearby. On the booking.com was inputed that I no showed, but I stayed here =)

    Booked a place in 6 bad room, but hostel provided me single room Helpful stuff, comfortable clean room.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice hostel right in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception only works from 11 to 23, but most of the time it actually works until 21. :/

    Great location right in the old town. Not too far from the bus station nor the train station: both about 30min walking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    7.5
    Tallin after New Year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There weren't any recommodations where to go or what to do given at the arrival. Also there were no activities driven by the hostel staff

    The hostel is very good located, directly in the centre of night life of Tallin Old Town and only a few metres to public transports

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    8.8
    Good Enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the shared toilet is not really enough. And one thing is the front door key they gave me doesn't work. They explain because some criminals broke the door a little bit before, but that was after I was lock outside in the cold morning. And there's no staff to on desk. They said I can call, but I think for most tourist they don't have local number to call.

    Almost everything is good, the room is secure even is dorm. Kitchen is good. Bad is comfortable also.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: