Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Steigenberger Cecil Hotel Alexandria 4 stars

16 Saad Zagloul Square, Raml Station, 99999 Alexandria, Egypt

#7 of 65 hotels in Alexandria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 740 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The was strange chemical smell in the rooms due to refurbishing and dying the room and bathrooms doors. It was terrible and hazardous.

    The Old Historic Building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private beach is very small...only place for 3 families..it is rocky not sandy one...only for sitting not swimming....just sea view ..the sea water is not clear or even clean so if u choose the hotel u will miss a good beach experience...they should arrange with other large sandy clean beach even if far away in monatzah or mammoura .....

    Superb location. .. nice hospitality. ... great staff. .. very good breakfast. ..... clean hotel......nice sea view from room...authentic hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I told before everything is by money and everything is out of deal No respect at all to the deal only they are smile. Service always you asked for Upgrading of the hotel is not equal to the price No beach No gem

    Persons are good but the hotel not respect the deal done they want to give me a bad and told us it is the room we reserved no sea no view at all and we asked to give a room to see the sea they asked to give them more money . More 3000 pounds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Direct Sea view - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise but the balcony doors are noise free thankfully.

    Comfortable room. great direct sea view. Helpful housekeeping. Very good breakfast with lots of varieties including healthy foods and very good chef. And a smiling luggage porter at the arrival and departure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- As you enter the hotel, the security guard seems to act like the police and integrate you! The issue is that this happens after you checkin and in a very rude way. 2- They decide to renovate the lower floors without notice or consideration to guests. So at 8 am on Saturday I was woken up by hammering and drilling! 3- The rooms where dirty and looked like they have been cleaned or serviced in weeks with a real stall smell. 4- The front desk staff where happy to congregate and chat but when it came to helping guests they were too busy! To the point that on check out, they just took my room key without even a goodbye or thank you for staying!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite that my booking price was clearly mentioned it’s including breakfast; they didn’t accept to provide the breakfast stating that my price include only Suhoor meal not breakfast meal which is unacceptable violation and I’m hereby reserve all contractual and legal rights related to the same.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Direct Sea view - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    when i booked on booking.com the rate was 1900LE when i checked in they said there is 27% extra that i have to pay.. so i ended up paying 2550LE.. your website should have been accurate or the hotel needs to abide by the rate sold on your website.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a bit disappointing for the value of money. Another thing was the private beach of the hotel ,there was a 50 L.e entry fee per person per day ,which i found ridiculous !

    the best things about the hotel is the cleanliness and its location . It was just in the middle of alex and near almost every attraction ! Staff were super friendly and everything went smoothly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Direct Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How come such fancy hotel does not serve complimentary water in the rooms?! Very cheap for such historical hotel.

    The style of the hotel that is properly maintained

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast coffee - they always tell that special coffee (e.g. latte or cappuccino) is extra charges which should not be the case in a 5 star hotel. Other than that the breakfast buffet is fresh and clean.

    staff service and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is fully equipped ; but it is a little small

    Good location to downtown and Historical places. Friendly staff Excellent restaurant Historical beautiful building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff has very Professional & friendly communication style. They keep the elegant ancient elevator style which is great with high level of treatment, cleaning and very near from public transportation. If you need special taxi service, if is available within acceptable payment value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in room 405 had a bad rotten smell , the hotel is not safe for children : the elevators & stairs

    The location & keeping the historic nature of the hotel ,also the staff was very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Direct Sea view - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No flexibility since emergency operation to my roommate occurred she could not ,they refuse to compromise On cancellation or update room . Give us a horrible room next to busy hotel offices.. v old furniture needs updating.. lower level horrible street noise. No restaurants or seating even to get a good look of the sea.. v bad Experience ..

    Breakfast was the only good thing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get the air conditioner to work - room 514

    The breakfast, the room, the view, the location, the staff were all excellent! We really enjoyed our stay. Loved the cool old fashioned elevator too. Looking forward to returning when the top floor terrace restaurant is open again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Direct Sea view - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room window was air leaking which made noise all night. The water tub in bath room was somehow blocked (water is going difficultly from it). They don't have normal room with one queen bed.

    The staff was responsive and polite. The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The room & toilet was too small, I asked for a bigger one, they undergraded room category despite of upgrade it! - More than 3 hours to find a proper room! - Insecticide smell in the 5th floor! -Sewage smell from the toilet in my room! -Roof top resturant isn’t yet ready! -Smoking smell is everywhere! -I asked at reception how to go to the hotel’s beach? They described to walk it for around 15 min or take a taxi. I couldn’t reach, 2nd day I told the same person at reception that I couldn’t reach yesterday and I want to go today, he said there is available car lift for the beach!! I’m shocked!! Why you didn’t say so yesterday?!!

    -Breakfast -Friendly staff, housekeeping, all breakfast team, specially the smiley lady “Gehad”. Special thanks to the bakery chefs, Khaled & Ashraf who made a wonderful feteer! -Clean beach with reasonable prices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is so noisy, because of the main square nearby, hotel furniture and style is classic and cosy, breakfast is amazing and stuff are so kind and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It will be nice to have a piano or live music in the lobby.

    I used to go to Alex. twice a year . Everytime I insiste to stay in Steigenberger. It is old classic hotel with a very good maintenance . The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the room wasn't bearable (it smelled like Insecticide & the A/C filter wasn't clean )

    The view from the balcony, the furniture & the room service was excellent 🙂

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Square Sea View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Election time and as the hotel is next to a public square it was very noisy however not the hotels fault. They moved me to a quieter room however I had to give up the view

    Great location, excellent knowledgeable & extremely helpful staff. Room was nice, bed comfy. The breakfast buffet was wonderful right down to the honey comb! For walkers an easy walk to the library and the Citadel aka fort and many other sites. Note: When I stayed March 2018 the Chinese restaurant, rooftop view was closed with renovations due to start in April.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although obviously renovated and kept in perfect condition slight plumbing odours are detectable at times of high usage. But not enough to create a real problem for me.

    The breakfast is superb, staff very friendly, location in center of the city is convenient, ambience and old Alexandria feel is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a king size bed instead of the two single beds at the time of the reservation but this request was not met and the room had a two single beds.

    The hospitality of the team was very good and the breakfast was excellent .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is slow. Parking is a bit expensive because it is not the hotel's property. Why not making an agreement with the parking operator to give the hotel guests some discount? Why not installing a hand luggage X-ray machine at the entrance rather than the manual search?

    Beds are very comfortable. Breakfast buffet is excellent and its service is excellent. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many parts of the hotel need to be renovated

    Location,the view from the balcony of the square sea view room,and the staff was perfect the WiFi was super Special thanks to amany in reservation and mohamed ahmed and the trenee girl in the reception

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - When we asked for an extra keycard to the room (we're two people and naturally each person needs a key) we were told that there weren't any spare keycards available. Seriously? - The staff are friendly but require more training, especially in terms of grooming. - The pictures show a rooftop restaurant/cafe/sitting area. This is currently closed, so the profile needs to reflect this. - The breakfast is below average. Lots of stale, tasteless items. You'll find something to eat if you're hungry, but it's nothing to look forward to. - The lack of parking is a hassle. There should at least be some kind of deal with the parking lot opposite the hotel.

    - Friendly, courteous staff - Clean room - Comfortable beds - Old-world charm - Great view from restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I came early and the front desk/a young man Mohamed Elsameny was incredibly helpful and professional by accommodating my request. Also, the guest relations assistant/a charming Nesma Elbahrany was delightful in assisting my transportation back to the Cairo airport. It is so nice that these young people obviously like their jobs and take so much proud in their work.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ergonomics of bathroom, overlooking side lane and square was noisy. The restaurant was fantastic in that I had a small banquet there which worked out wonderfully. F and B staff first class.

    I got two different rooms in a two day stay as the two night price was 100USD higher than the two individual nights! The first room had a sink that overhung the commode so even though I am thin I could barely squeeze under it. The second room was better over the square but noisy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good.

    Great location, elegant historical decor, large room, great selection in buffet breakfast, corteous, friendly, accomodating and helpful staff - has been a pleasure to stay there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More attention need to be paid to the following Food quality Cleanness ( fornt office desk is not clean, PCs Tel sets etc ..) More care for customer help , I.e in room instruction for safe box is different from type installed

    Location is good and Hotel old structure is good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival i requested and upgrade and was told it would cost me 444EGP per room so total of 888. When i was checking out i was told i had to pay an extra 888 because that was only for 1 night and i stayed 2 nights. But i wasn't told that i was paying for 1 night i was told i was paying for 2 nights the first time i payed 888EGP. I think that was very unprofessional and didnt expect such a move from Steigenberger.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff treated us as like we should be glad they are accommodating us in the hotel. No double bed , rather 2 single beds pushed. The flush and ventilation in the bathroom weren’t working . I had to go twice to the front desk till they solve the problem. The balcony door doesn’t lock properly.

    Location and the building are amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Group
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their was someone from the security who stands by the main entrance side to side with the police man and he was to rude in asking "where I am going?", "Are you a guest?", "Which room?" And still make a rude eye contact till I got onto the elevator

    The location was amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking provided though you can park in a public parking lot in front of the hotel and managed by the Governatorate.

    Absolutely fantastic location, staff and value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking for the hotel

    Old building which is completely renovated. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good and restaurant staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an hotel with an "historical" style; the atmosphere is very nice. People there always help you even if you arrive during the night. Bedroom are very "king size"; restaurants very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night club music is loud and you can hear it if your room is in the same floor so i recommend don't book a room in the same floor and my advice for the hotel make the walls more thick like in studios

    The stuff are very helpful i love them

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sound proofing of the room and more specifically the poor quality of the aluminum windows. They are too old and of very poor quality. They have to be replaced with a tight and double glazed quality. Hotel and parking have no deal and the cost of parking is quite expensive

    Facility and authenticity

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the guest relations officer was very kind and helpful, we had a nice room with partial sea view, breakfast is nice and the historic elevator is fascinating especially for kids

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Direct Sea view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A la carte restaurant doesn't quite live up to the standards of these settings.

    Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, excellent service and perfect view and location. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the room and WC was awful! It was suffocating! I had to wash all my clothes at home because they caught the bad smoky smell of the room! I had to close my nose to stop breathing when I entered the bathroom! I will definitely not repeat this experience again in this hotel!! The only good thing is the location of this hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are some small annoyances that might not noticed by everyone but if fixed would definitely add to the quality of the stay at the hotel. The lobby is small and there are just a few seatings available in it. Also, the carpets in the lobby are very old and worn and should be replaced. The wooden window frames of the Le Jardine restaurant (where we had our breakfast) have a lot of cracks and need to be repaired. In the room's bathroom, the white cement finish around the bath tub looks bad and is stained. The balcony fence is dangerously short and you do not feel safe standing very close to it (especially that we were on the 5th floor). Also, there is no dedicated beach but you can enter an affiliated external beach with 50 EGP/person paid at the reception. Other missing facilities are a pool and a gym. Also, the hotel has no parking area. I knew this before the reservation and I was OK with parking the car somewhere a little far from the hotel. However, when leaving, I found the car very dusty and dirty which was not surprising as it was parked in the street in a very crowded area. Also, the list of the TV channels on the room's TV is considerably poor which was surprising actually since it was missing a lot of good free-to-air channels while including several unknown channels. No paid channels are on the TV. Another thing that I found annoying a bit is that although the check-in is at 3 pm and the check-out is at 12 pm which gives 3 hours to the housekeeping team to make up a room, we arrived at 2:50 pm and had to wait until 4 pm to enter our room. (However, the reception team allowed us to check-out at 1 pm as a compensation).

    The location is great and the hotel is close to all downtown shopping areas. The staff are friendly and cooperative. The breakfast is very good and contains a very good variety of food although it didn't change during our 4-night stay. We reserved a classic room in a non-smoking area. It came up to be on the side of the hotel on the 5th floor; second row from the sea. The view from the room was still breathtaking although this is not a sea-view room as per the hotel's definition. We had a great sea view and the Qaitbay citadel can be seen easily. We requested a large bed instead of the default twin beds. The bed was very comfortable and you can easily sleep well in it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Square Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pictures that are posted for hotel on booking is deceiving. Rooms are so small, the balcony that I paid more because it partially oversees the sea is too small and contains compressor of the AC Bed was too hard to sleep on, Tub bath is plastic and have cracks The rate is too much expensive for room. We are paying for the historical reputation of hotel only. Breakfast was basic

    The hotel is next to old Alexandria market , not far from the Citadel of Qaitbay or from Bibliotheca Alexandria. its directly next to the beach, Wi-Fi service is good, There is coffee and tea inside room Staff are helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some concerns regarding clean cups and spoons . Management should think about upgrading that wonderful hotel to 5 stars and manage for private beach and free shuttle

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy at night from the traffic and people in the square and on the corniche Bathroom is not well furnished and small, not very clean and smelled bad Some staff were very rude, and one night they told us we couldn't sit in the outdoor seating area, cause it was reserved for someone. However, there wasn't a reserved sign on the table, which is something basic for a four star hotel. Staff had to be tipped to do their work properly, or even do it in the first place Breakfast didn't taste good and the bread wasn't fresh.

    Location was good The view from the square sea view ( do not book the classic view not worth it better to upgrade).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised upon arrival that the room I booked was single although I had booked a double room . We paid the difference of money at the hotel . The rate is very high the hotel needs to consider going down With their prices .

    Bedroom was very clean and comfortable .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too tight for 3 adults Noise at the bar which you can hear Very high sound of air condition because it is too old

    Breakfast was good and the staff was helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location's room was extremely bad and inconvenient as the sound of the ACs on the surrounding buildings were very loudy and we couldn't open the balcony at all. The AC inside the room was broken and has a very loud sound. When we asked the reception to send us a van, they said they don't have accordingly, we could not sleep at all because it two reasons 1 the noise inside the room because of the broken AC inside the room and the noise outside when we open the balcony because of the sound of the ACS on the sorrounding Building.

    The old theme of the hotel, the location is good The breakfast,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Square Sea View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel's location is excellent for business trips and reminds me with old gold days Nearby old Alexandria with its rich history Building and rooms with old luxury style and very clean People are friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Direct Sea view - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool or private beach for property. (the beach was shared .Rating for the beach could be 4/10 compared to other normal steigenburger resorts accross egypt)

    Staff, architectural style for hotel is unique. Location was nice, breakfast was nice too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Parking is offered by the hotel and parking was not even allowed outside it. The reception staff is not professional nor friendly at all The room is very noisy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are hard. The breakfast is not very appetizing.

    I liked going to the Steigenberger beach. I liked the old-fashioned elevator in the hotel. The restaurant serves good food for lunch and dinner - although I did not like the breakfast options, which are served buffet style.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bar ... the music was very noisy and loud The singers too Very old Arabic songs

    It was great and amazing I had so much fun Staff were friendly, professional and quick. The bed was very comfy and all the street noise was blocked out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a problem with the parking, no place to park your car except the public parking which will cost you a lot, so it is better to come with taxi. The breakfast is normal and does not have a lot of varieties but it taste very good.

    The hotel is very good it has a perfect location at down town Alexandria, it is preferable if you do not come by car and use taxis.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Direct Sea view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room cleanliness was poor. Toilet smiles bad all the time. No Parking. No Valet. I'll rethink twice before reserving there again.

    Nice big rooms. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Exceptional location but not in national holidays (crowded).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some of reception staff are trainees and don't have any experience about dealing with their guests. the hotel searches for its rights only and don't care about guests at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balconies, having the AC in the balcony instead of having chairs to enjoy the view is a bit annoying. External Shatafa was also a bit annoying :)

    from the moment you enter the hotel you feel you are home. The staff were super nice and decent , the room was clean , the breakfast was just perfect. Room service is really good, I stayed in many hotels in alexandria but for me this is by far the best hotel in town. The only thing missing is having chairs in the balcony to enjoy the view :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a queen size bed before arriving to the hotel, but when we arrive we found 2 single bed in the room, we asked for a queen size bed they said sorry then they put the 2 beds together which it turns very uncomfortable.smell of fresh paint in the hotel lobby and somehow in rooms too.. we thought that the jounior suite will be more comfortable

    The hotel is quit nice and good with all of the antiqus around, breakfast is fairly good. Rooms got an amazing view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Direct Sea view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was too poor as it was Ramadan we had Iftar at the hotel we had to choose from 4 different menus how the food was far from being delicious also there was no consistency about the sohour one day u get 2 boiled eggs the other just one one day few pieces of cheese the other a full plate!

    The friendly and hospitable staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some rooms needs maintenance, and the AC compressor is taking too much place from the balcony. No free access to the beach!

    Location is very unique, as it's in Alex downtown, beside all the famous locations and restaurants. Hotel style is very fabulous, since 1929, same design, with amazing board of honors.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are starting to be a little outdated. But apart from thar, highly recommended.

    Excellent accomodation with fantastic sea views! Staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no parking in the hotel , but you have a lot of places for parking around the hotel

    it was excellent , the staff are very helpful and the food was also good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Car Parking Situation. Had to depend on public parking space which was sometimes packed with cars (and costs 5.25LE/hour)

    Great Hotel in a great location at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    I lost my earrings in the room and asked for some help if they had a metal detector but they didn't have and it was very strange for me. I could hear the people in the rooms beside me, sometimes no privacy.

    A boutique hotel in Alexandria's charming historic area. I loved the view of my room, partial sea view and partial square view. Breakfast was really good with a selection of pastries. The chinese restaurant on the last floor is very good with an amazing sea-view. The room was very comfortable. I loved the elevators !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a hotel that's slightly limited by its infrastructure and history - I think it's changed hands a number of times over the years but I doubt it's changed hugely, which is probably a good thing overall. It does mean that it can feel slightly dated and past its prime in parts - while the two old lifts are charming, for example, they can mean a wait sometimes. I also think the hotel is missing a trick with regard to a roof-top bar (the views are spectacular but there's a rather dated Chinese restaurant there instead) and the actual bar is disappointing. If you don't expect modern decor and total 5-star luxury, and you appreciated slightly faded grandeur and a sense of history, you'll be more than happy with the Steigenberger Cecil.

    I stayed here a few years ago when it was the Sofitel Cecil and I thought then what I think now - it's got a fantastic location right in the heart of the Corniche, the staff are lovely, and there's a charming quaintness to it all which reminds you of its illustrious history. Breakfast isn't vast but it's more than adequate, the free wi-fi is great, and many of the staff will go out of their way to help you. Special shout out to the ladies - Iman on guest relations and Nahlia (I may have the spelling wrong) in reception - for going above and beyond to help us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tub cracked in the junior suite and hotel manager when informed his answer was we know that there is a big crack. Instead of replacing that bathtub they are allowing guests to stay there and get exposed to big injuries .. other room all of a sudden the drainage generated dirty water into the bathroom floor at 2 am and maintenance and cleaning team had to come to clean the area which was not done properly and had to keep the balcony door opened the entire night to get rid of the bad smell in the room .. will never repeat this experience and ideally the hotel of professional should refund the full money .. totally disappointing ..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were hard and we woke up with bites so I am sure there were bed bugs. We arrived 3.40pm and the rooms were not ready and by the time our rooms and check in was over it took about 40 mins! Very disappointing.

    The design was nice and the Chinese restaurant on the roof

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's little to complain about here and it is very good value.

    It's always good to be welcomed back to the Cecil, a hotel with a past, but very much in the present. The staff are well trained and always willing to help. The location and the views are great, as is the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is expensive. I really liked it but it could have been cheaper. Rooms are tiny but very clean and the bathroom is very nice. Location is also at the heart of the city and close from everything. It over looks the sea and the city it is really beautiful

    The location is fantastic is just great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Direct Sea view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could be sometimes expensive, depends on the season. You need to know that you are in the downtown, that's mean it is not always quite outside.

    I used to visit Alexandria 2 times every year. Steigenberger hotel is my only destination. The staff.. the staff .. the staff is the most important element in the hotel. They are very helpful & friendly. The hotel has a perfect old atmosphere, very classic luxurious place. It is very well maintained & clean although it is an old hotel.. Food is very good & delicious. I wish that there is a piano & a pianist (live music) to complete the old atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    The style of the hotel is undeniable and the view is breath-taking. I really thought that I was someone special and the value is excellent. Food was very good, well prepared and well served.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    almost the whole stay, starting with no parking available for guests, although close by hotels with lower category (4 stars) provide parking fro their guests at the parking lot that is across from Cecil. Breakfast area is too small and hard to find a table, staff is not very friendly, beds are horrible, pillows are not comfortable, bathroom needs major renovation. I had a sea front room with a tiny balcony that is not big enough for a single person to stand ...... etc.

    not much to say about what I liked, other than the weather was nice and Alex is a very beautiful city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Square Sea View Room - Egyptians And Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room picture is misleading No private parking (manageable though) Late communication from booking for king size bed unavailability

    Location is excellent Room is clean Staff is friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Direct Sea view - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Parking ! + I had to upgrade to a junior suit with extra cost cause they keep the first floor for the reservations online, noting that there is a discotheque in the ground floor and by all means, you CANNOT SLEEP cause of the loud music

    The view, the suite, the breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Square Sea View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor stuff like a leftover hair on the toilet seat cover but it was obviously cleaned and just overlooked. Otherwise I was only disappointed the roof terrace restaurant only open in summer.

    The staff were exceptional from the front office manager who gave me his tie pin when I complimented him on it to the lady who checked me in and was really friendly to the bell boys to the housekeeping staff and the restaurant staff. Everyone was exceptionally friendly and I even got an early check in and late check out. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Steigenberger Cecil Hotel Alexandria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: