Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Happy City Hotel 3 stars

92 C Mohamed Farid St, Abdin Sq., 99999 Cairo, Egypt

#97 of 173 hotels in Cairo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 153 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    4.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    2.9
    nothing was good about that hotel and the price was not what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to like

    nothing was good about that hotel and the price was not what I reserved on your sight was 2 night of $28 by the time I checked in was charged $45 a night even though that I made a reservation with you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    good place to stay in
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    couldn't stay for breakfast becuse l had a Business date so l asked to replace it with dinner but it was not appropriate.

    good place to stay in good reception smile

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    3.8
    Hotel very expensive and terrible. A shame.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad soundproofing (in addition to the noise of the street, you could hear the noise of the doors and the people who came and went in the rooms of my floor; I could not sleep on any of the nights until late in the night). Buffet very bad: one day there was no milk. One day I had an excursion at 7:30 am, the buffet (which opened at 7:00 am) was not yet assembled; I ate little and running. There is very little food. The day I had checkout at 3:00 a.m., they prepared me a picnic and there was only Egyptian bread and some cheese. My surprise at the airport when I opened the box was spectacular. In two of my four days of accommodation, I had to ask for toilet paper because there was not. Room without wifi and they charged me a supplement at check-in, for being a foreigner, very expensive (I imagine that this was stipulated at the time of making the reservation, if so, it was not clear). Bad hotel for how expensive it is. I do not recommend it to anyone (and especially foreigners).

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    A quiet place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking despite the description has parking Same problem of the parking with the WIFI Poor breakfast

    A quiet place Clean place Perfect place to sleep not to spend a day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.4
    Never to stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think it was the worst experience ever, & I will never book there again. It started that payment in property in cash as they don't have POS terminal, this way I lost 5% cashback from booking as I had special offer if I used special credit card. They needed to keep my ID to send it for copy outside hotel (How come a hotel doesn't have All in one printer or copy machine). After I paid in cash, I didn't get a receipt or change by default, I needed to ask explicitly the counter to give me the change and a receipt !!! Hotel clean in general is not good but the room was good. Breakfast was very bad, no spoons beside salad to take some, some of the food was exposed to air, I decided not to take the breakfast there during my stay. Satallite picture was not good in most of the channels. I don't believe this hotel is worth 3 stars.

    Room cleaning. Location beside everything in Cairo.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.5
    Maybe recommend to others.
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Museum and pyramids and Alexanderia

    I was a tourist. The was located in Islamic Cairo and I could visit museum and mosques which were around and then pyramids and Alexanderia by taxi.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    2.5
    The price you get on booking.com, will be doubled when you arrive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price was 217egp, they would not check me in if I did not pay 560egp, very rude staff. breakfast is not for tourists.

    I liked leaving the hotel.its not a hotel its a hostel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    6.3
    Locaion is great..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no wi-fi in the room, only loby. Icebox was not working.

    Hotel's location is great. It is center of the city. 1km away to Egypt Museum. Staff is friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    it is good hotel in overall but the facilities not ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is good hotel in overall but the facilities not available but its very economic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Wi fi in the rooms is a must
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noises from next rooms whenever they close or open their doors

    Wi fi needed in the rooms instead of downstairs only.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    There was no wifi connection in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no wifi connection in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.3
    RUDE staff but good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    RUDE staff

    Location and price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All thing was ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    Lovely downtown hotel at Cairo fully recommended to all kinds of trip purpose
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very clean hotel , High hospitality and fresh foods they have it. Comfortable beds and rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    4.6
    The property is fair not good not bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is fair not good not bad

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    4.6
    I am sorry to stay in. There is many hotels beter in quality and lower price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is double than exest in booking site.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    3.8
    Bad experience
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff behave with gusts and asking for more money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    3.3
    The photos that they put it are fake .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos that they put it are fake . It was a very bad experience with this hotel and bad service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    reasonable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unlikely a type of food was expired

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Thank you i hope good service enter rooms Free WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thank you i hope good service enter rooms Free WiFi the Hotel very respect and good service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    I WAS HAPPY I
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ALL OK NORMAL

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    very good value by Cairo hotels standards
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect, very good value by Cairo hotels standards I hope, they will sometimes let the rooms have a wifi connection

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    5.8
    nothing special good for a 2 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no croissants for breakfast , the bedroom was smallo

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    7.5
    Wifi was working in lobby and cafe only
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was working in lobby and cafe only

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Egyptian Only - Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They took much price more than that on booking web

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.8
    Will I return - yes, for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was amazing, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooftop bar was a special bonus. Cheap and cheerful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.1
    Fair price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The streets was very crowded around the hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.9
    Worth every single cent you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no wifi in room

    Very close to metro station

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    3.8
    Nothing was good to like about this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room had bed bugs. AC and other room facilities were too old. The room size was much smaller than what they show in photos.

    Nothing was good to like about this hotel

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    6.3
    the staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the 3 restaurants advertised in the hotel were not open including the rooftop grill. Airport pickup did not arrive.

    the staff were friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast poor hygiene poor got food poisoning from kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Breakfast poor hygiene poor got food poisoning from kitchen

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    7.1
    I like its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't deserve 3 stars

    I like its location

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    4.6
    Breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were not flexible ,they asked me to pay in us dollars not in local currency as Booking's deal was.

    Breakfast and location

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    2.9
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small bedroom,crowded, not clean , staff

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    5.8
    Near to downtown
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Near to downtown

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    4.6
    Location
    • Solo traveller

    Room was small, dirty and smelly Noisy all day you could get better room for half of the price within same location

    Location Rooftop cafe Lift

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: