Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Luxor Karnak 5 stars

El Zinia Gebly Street, East bank, Luxor, Egypt

#24 of 42 hotels in Luxor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! I could not fathom that there was such an oasis in this area! It really was a paradise! Staff are very kind, and helpful. The location is just 10 mins away from the Karnak temple.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyed my times over there...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee isn't available after certain time of night. The availability of a single room with full bed.

    How quite the place is, how the staff doing the best to make your stay pleasant at any given moment of the day, loved that Nile view, early morning and late night. In short, it's a place where you can spend your entire day without thinking of going out!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    The best place in Luxor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food can be more various

    Food delivery to room at any time:) - so fast and tasty. Fantastic location, all is clean, staff very frendful and nature.... wonderful! And the best is pool :) You have to enjoy it! I come back again 100%!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    So I travelled 23 days in Egypt and changed dozens of hotels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only suggestion is, due to the location of the hotel, that is little distant from the city, it would not be bad idea to get some bicycles for rent. It is not a big investment and it would sure pay off. Not all tourist like taxi mobility.

    So I travelled 23 days in Egypt and changed dozens of hotels in Alexandria, Kairo, Luxor and Aswan and I can honestly say i truly enjoyed beeing here and I felt relaxed like in no other hotel in Egypt. Staff is professional, facilities are more then enough, they charge you the same amount as on booking,com, no hidden tax costs. I was really satisfied. Pool is big, not just photo big. Breakfast is a buffet and is all you can eat. Lunch menu is for reasonable prices but drinks are little pricy. There is no hassle here, if you want something, you will get it. No scratching for tips here. You have to respect that. Naming appartment section in faraon's and egyptian gods is brilliant. They even have a board with prices for tours and taxi drives. If I ever return to Luxor, I know where to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Eco Friendly Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeted with such kindness and professionalism upon early arrival! The staff at reception, with special mention to Hassan and Rita, were wonderful and very helpful regarding any questions we may have. I loved the Organic farm on site and the Recycling bins located on every corner of the grounds. The room was comfortable and the hotel was in a great location, right on the Nike with a nice swimming pool and well kept grounds. Would defiantly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful and tranquil setting away from the bustle. Great breakfast and swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was a lovely, peaceful oasis after the hustle and bustle of the hot days spent touring. Fantastic breakfast and swimming pool. Was a really great place to relax and unwind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated a bit distant from main Luxor sights. No wifi in the rooms- have to go to lobby which can be quite a walk.

    Friendly helpful staff, tasty food in restaurant, good breakfast. Very reasonably priced. Beautiful gardens and view of Nile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The food at the restaurants was very good, the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food at the restaurants was very good, the breakfast was good, the Wi-Fi at the lobby was good (with the mention that in the room you don't have Wi-Fi, but that wasn't a problem for me). I didn't tried the pool, but I heard that it's great. The garden is beautiful and you have a wonderful view at the Nile River. The room was clean, the air-conditioning worked properly. Another advatage in the hotel is that you have a currency exchange and a ATM. Also, the staff was friendly and very professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.2
    Not worth 5 stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that 3 palm trees broke and fell near the pool in a couple of days and the staff didn t do anything made me go out of my mind! They could kill someone. Staff behaviour Overpriced menu A lot of hassle from the people inside the shops coming to us in the pool and trying to sell us things, which was really annoying.

    Pool , Breakfast , Spa facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Fit for a king.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WiFi only works at the reception so that area is always packed with tourists desperately trying to get some signal. It would be better if the WiFi was made available throughout the hotel. As mentioned, it would be better if people could speak English - also the translation of dishes is not accurate, for instance, what they called "jacket potatoes" should be "potato wedges" and so on. The leaflets with information about their services (massage, etc) also contain several errors. I guess I am picky as I am a translator myself so I always pay attention to these details.

    The hotel is located by the Nile River so the sunset/sunrise is mesmerising. At the same time, it is conveniently located close enough to Luxor and Karnak Temples. The food in the hotel was very good and staff friendly, albeit it would be better if more people could speak English. The hotel is like a village, it has several buildings in the complex, three restaurants, a few souvenir shops, hairdresser, massage room, kids play area, swimming pool, etc. The hotel is clean and tidy so it is definitely worth staying there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing so relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tranquil and peaceful surrounding s. This hotel is a great location to explore all that luxor has to of for from valley of the kings to the luxor temple

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall 5 stars is a bit much for this hotel (and no Wi-Fi/lack of sockets...)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the rooms - only in the lobby! No spare sockets in the room either. Bit too far out of the city for me personally.

    Really excellent staff, nice pool and gym. Nice rooms. Food was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    3.3
    Gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If this is 5* i am Mother Theresa... old not maintaned room, terrible bathroom, shower handle remained in my hand while using... breakfast buffet of real poor quality

    Gardens

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Amazing trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby furniture is not style ,looks old and unclean.breakfast is not satisfying, varieties are very limited.

    River view ,main gate is very luxurious. All amenities are very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    2.5
    If they treat me like this, I’ll not stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in this hotel for one more night about a month ago. Only today, they call me and say that there is a bill from restaurant that I didn’t pay after one month!!!! They call me and send me the bill on WhatsApp. What am I supposed to do? Give you my credit card information?!!! I sent them my card translation for the bill; the bill was already paid for!!! Terrible experience from staff!!! Never staying again! At check out, everything should be settled as most hotels do!! And the bad thing is I did pay for that bill!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.8
    Good for location value of money but needs improvement in food and facility maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities at Spa to be improved; the breakfast is really not good; it must improved; and the overall quality of food from restaurant.

    I liked the staff, location and price. It is much cheaper if you book through booking.com. Do not go and book directly from the hotel. It is almost 4 times the price they offer on booking.com I can imagine the hotel when Egypt used to receive a lot of tourists but now the hotel is almost always half empty. Overall, wonderful stay, great location and value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    I would highly recommend this hotel. It earns it's 5 stars from me. Staff was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was fairly consistent everyday without a lot of variety from the previous days.

    The staff was very nice and terrific! They constantly were smiling, asking me if I needed anything, etc. The room looked like it came from the website! The garden view room was terrific with a comfortable bed, nice size bath, and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent well positioned hotel. Facilities are wonderful with amazing sunset views over Nile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a non smoking room and got a smoking room.

    Fantastic location and wonderful having 'sundowners' overlooking the Nile. Safe, well positioned with far off views of the back side of the Valley of the Kings. Room very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    The garden
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi Reception only in lobby (literally) ^Smoking everywhere inc lobby and ‘cafe’ & bar ^ receptionists brusk and unfriendly and quite unhelpful ^ TV initially didn’t work, reception dreadful, list of TV channels most didn’t exist! ^ super thin walls and even a hole in the ceiling so I could actually hear one next door neighbour going to the toilet and the other next door neighbour every single word they said their arguments their phone conversations, one neighbour kept me awake until 1 AM ^ I say with the greatest of respect-but Muslim prayers started very very very loudly at 4 AM! ^ phone didn’t work, when it did ring for reception never once ever answered ^ absolutely no choice in purchases no diet drinks no chocolate and disgusting higher than Europe prices like £1.20 for a tiny can of sprite full of sugar ^ pool not heated and absolutely freezing and closes before sunset ! ^ tea coffee and powdered milk not replaced by housekeeping ^ Day one breakfast mediocre Day two breakfast had to ask three times just for a cup of tea, most food gone before 10 o’clock and it was supposed to be until 1030 what little hot food was there was stone cold

    The garden

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasent stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a Wonderful time in Luxor,Merure was a fantastic option,next to Nile River were tjey have the option of taking a ride on river with there boats at a great price,room was very nice,spacious and confortable with fresh fruits on your room every morning.All this combine with the great people working there,makes it as the place to stay in Luxor. A great chef, forgot his name always smiling an taking care of customers at the restaurant, visiting tables making sure everything is good.Thank you for everything!! I would recommend Mercure as the place to stay in Luxor!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Great value, comfortable staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a little bit leaking of bathtubs.

    Nice hôtel with helpful staff. The restaurant, pool and view are magnificent. Very close to Karnak temple. Will come back soon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Great value. Facility is super
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit further out of town

    Grounds were beautiful! Great. And I mean great for the price. Pool is super nice and staff will even play squash with you! Not worth the extra money to stay anywhere else

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    3.8
    Don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were old with dirty bathroom. Bathtub was leaking. The whole property is just old. Although it's quite cheap however, they should still update their facility so people can pay more and stay there. The only reason we stayed was because the original place we wanted to book was not available and we thought it was a mercure n it wouldn't be that bad. However, it was really bad. The breakfast was a joke! We could not find anything to eat except eggs and cereal.

    Pool was nice. But it looked old

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    3.3
    BAD EXPERIENCE AT MERCURE LUXOR KARNAK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Airport transfer not in time as agreed and made us to wait at the Luxor airport at midnight for one hour. One of the reception staff was found very rude in his behavior.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.1
    The peaceful, beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness. Clarity of room rate and that their system only charges in local currency so your room rate can fluctuate as much as $200 more.

    The peaceful, beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic...i would love to stay here again for a longer period...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from cruise dock..but couldn't afford to dislike it for this reason. Wifi is little poor in the room but excellent in lobby.

    Standard room is much bigger & can accommodate 2A2C. Kids can sleep on Sofa too. Dinner (buffet) is fantastic at 8$ per adult (4$ per Kid). I spent this much amount in Mc Donald for a meal for one person ;-). Next time i am definitely staying here for a longer period.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Our confirmed cab did not show up at 5 a.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our confirmed cab did not show up at 5 a.m. The poor front desk guy had to hustle to get us a new one...he succeeded and we made our flight.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Staff were amazing and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing and friendly!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    wonderful place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    needs more food selection

    cosy romantic and very beautiful scenery and atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Amazing experience.I would like to thank Mrs Mervat (receptionist) for her support, professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant and relaxing hotel. I would do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was working just in reception hall.

    Spacious room, comfy bed, nice garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Value stay with budget money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wifi in the room

    Hotel views, River Nile and garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Very poor wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Quiet Oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all bars & restaurants were available.

    Quiet. Friendly staff who looked after all our requests efficiently.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Facilities, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service

    Facilities, value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.3
    Big pool, decent size rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Big pool, decent size rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast is wonderful, and servicing stuff was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is wonderful, and servicing stuff was very good. Landscapes and nile view was also excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    5.8
    Staff very kind and correct.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 5pm you are obligated to stay in the hotel and have dinner there, if you go out is not safe and you have no choice.

    Staff very kind and correct.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.9
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor food in terms of quality, quantity and variety.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    lovely stay near Karnak temple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was below expectations.

    Absolutely lovely. The rooms, kindness of staff, beautiful pool... Great place!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    Very nice swimming pool by the river!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was poor

    Very nice swimming pool by the river!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable but a bit away from town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to keep requesting more coffee and creamers for room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Nile views, value for money, good facilities (swimming pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Nile views, value for money, good facilities (swimming pool, sundowner restaurant)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Helpful staff, clean rooms, very clean and beautiful pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    Helpful staff, clean rooms, very clean and beautiful pool, would stay here again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no wifi in the room the food isn't very different each day

    the location the staff the nile view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel likebana family stayed there for 16 months . 20012 may to July 20014 excellent

    All my friends work there that's why I wentitled there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi Room facilities is poor

    Nice and calm place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Fabulous and friendly staff. Beautiful gardens and wonderful pool. My room was lovely. I will definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Great place and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi-fi in room

    Friendly staff excellent service and great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    4.6
    The garden and swimming pool as well as the restaurant were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awful, very dirty and old. Service should improve a lot

    The garden and swimming pool as well as the restaurant were pretty nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was a bit poor

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    The hotel is located in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in an excellent location. Food was superb and the location is easy access to all the Luxor attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Amazing resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no Nile view rooms.

    Excellent place to stay and wonderful weather.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    7.1
    beautiful hotel but poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    facilities are not all working, because of lack of tourists

    beautiful rooms, nice quiet location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.1
    Okay but needs sprucing up
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi

    The grounds

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Thank you for this amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect

    Amazing facilities, the view over the Nile is incredible & the staff is really kind and available.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    6.3
    The location on the banks of the Nile and the hotels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not all the staff are professional. And the housekeeping standard was a little poor at times.

    The location on the banks of the Nile and the hotels gardens are stunning .mostt of the staff were friendly and professional and the food cooked to a high standard.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    8.3
    The staff go out of their way to ensure that you are happy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was not much by way of choice at dinner, not compared to when I have been here before but then this is understandable, given the circumstances, and the current low occupancy rates in hotels in the region (Luxor). However, that said, the food that was available was hot, well cooked and tasty.

    The staff go out of their way to ensure that you are happy with the accommodation and facilities. They are very approachable, attentive, efficient, friendly and professional. There is not the 'performance for baksheesh' that you get in other hotels in Egypt, it is a genuine desire to ensure you are enjoying the experience.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    6.7
    The pool area is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dining room is past its best and needs new comfortable chairs. The reception lobby are is looking very worn and shabby needs new furniture and lighting The Wfi is awful could never get a good signal

    The pool area is excellent

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful gardens and nile view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lack restaurant all closed for winter...only one restaurant open...more coffee!!

    Beautiful gardens and nile view..fantastic family staff....a real family feel...

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    8.8
    Very nice location and the staffs are very friendly, Lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice location and the staffs are very friendly, Lovely estate with a large swimming pool and beautiful garden by the river Nile. Had a great experience with solace and serenity.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    8.3
    It was a nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The housekeeping used to take the room service trays and leave it in the end of the corridor, overnight.

    It was a nice place to stay. The gardens and pool were very nice.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    Lovely room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Because of the lack of tourists in Egypt at the time the hotel has shut down all restaurants but one during dinner time (the buffé) which makes the eating situation a bit dull. Still we understand the hotel completly! It is fantastic that they keep so much service alive as they do considering the situation.

    Lovely room! ATM machine in the lobby. Clean and beautiful hotel and surroundings next to the Nile. Friendly staff. Come to Egypt, there is nothing to be afraid of! This might be the best time ever to visit because of the lack of tourists and because it´s cheap. We never felt afraid.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    5.8
    The best was the hotel decoration and the swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was not good, and used to the local cooking, here we were disappointed by the bad quality and price. We can eat everything and we are used to cheap travelling, but one day we had to return a dish because we were not able to eat it. The only nice persons were one barman and the guy of the sauna, the rest were not friendly at all. Everytime we asked for something it gave the feeling we were bothering, and one guy was all day talking to us and asking personal questions; one thing is to be friendly and the other one is to be too friendly. The location is also not good as it's far away from the center and makes you deal with the horrible business of the taxi drivers. There was no free wifi in the room. The worst happened one day when arriving to the room and seeing that the room service had made figures with the towels and our own clothes taken from the wardrobe! They wanted to do two figures like us but they touched our things and we find this quite creepy and not tolerable. We were sleeping in hostels and local houses around all Egypt and the only time we wanted to sleep in a nicer hotel, we had the worst experience. At least was not that expensive, including the breakfast.

    The best was the hotel decoration and the swimming pool. The room was nice but it's old and the bathroom is not very comfortable, taking in consideration the hotel standards. The views from the room and the swimming pool were beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    Fantastic service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi can be improved

    Fantastic service! 5* in every area, I would recommend this hotel with confidence, very clean with the best customer service! Breakfast was delicious staff are genuinely keen to help.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The fact that there were only 13-35 guests at the hotel during my stay should have meant their service would have been great. But there were at times no staff working at all! The GM was on holiday!! No staff to even cook breakfast eggs is totally unacceptable.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    5.4
    The location, the rooms were cleaned well!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The GM was away and you could tell this. Only 15 - 17 guests during our entire stay. But no staff at all. No one was on reception in the morning, there were no waiting staff in the restaurant and you even had to cook your own eggs. The rooms were a disaster you couldn't even open the doors onto the garden

    The location, the rooms were cleaned well!

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    The staff were very friendly and helpful will all the things...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    That the only place that the free WiFi was available at the lobby only.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful will all the things one might need during their stay there.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    I absolutely loved this hotel, it was in a great location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I absolutely loved this hotel, it was in a great location away from the hustle of Luxor centre. The staff could not possibly have been more friendly - they have become more like friends. From the guys at the pool, to the guys at the Moorish Cafe, the people at reception, the people in the restaurant, all fantastic. We are already planning to go back next year.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    7.5
    It is away from the bustle and noise and dust of Luxor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When the hotel was under the management of the Sofietel the pool was heated in March The restaurant had no Al la carte menu. The buffet was over priced and the food was awful. Bearing in mind how far this hotel is from the restaurants in Luxor I would recommend that if you like to eat you give it a miss until they improve their food choices. We also ate from the room service menu which was nice but very limited. The bar snacks were not very appealing!

    It is away from the bustle and noise and dust of Luxor

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    8.8
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool was not heated enough.. And the kids pool was not working

    The location is great. The view of the nile is wonderful and the room was good and clean

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    4.6
    The swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service really wasn't the level of a Sofitel The wifi wasn't working The buffet wasn't at all the level it should have been, big room without any music and a really limited choice of dishes We had only ONE plug in the room! I am really disappointed about this hotel and i hope it is better during the high season... Moreover the bathub wasn't clean I had book this hotel almost 6 months before and asked for a double but when we arrived they told us that they had no room with big bed available ... finally we got upgraded and had it .. but seriously which kind of hotel from this standard do that for a six month old reservation.

    The swimming pool It was quiet Lot of potential ...

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    7.5
    Good location to sites, mostly friendly staff, an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The place had the aura of an abandoned hotel--almost no guests, minimal staff--they didn't even turn the lights on most mornings! Also, the lunch and dinner buffets are incredibly overpriced.

    Good location to sites, mostly friendly staff, an excellent price.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: