Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of King Hotel Cairo 3 stars

20 Abdel Rehim Sabri Street, Dokki, Dokki, 99999 Cairo, Egypt

#122 of 173 hotels in Cairo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 131 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    4.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning in the room does not work for heating. Not broken, just does not have this function. But, at the reception offered extra blankets for us. ;) Bathroom and furniture need renovation.

    Hotel location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is very hit and miss in rooms. Not very clean inside and quite out dated. Doors are difficult to navigate and don't shut properly. Toilet doesn't always flush proper.

    Fairly cheap hotel, with friendly staff. Usually quite happy to point out things and give you information.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible facilities, even door had hole around door knob, no internet and bathroom knob was broken. Only reason I stayed was due to tour pick up location and I arrived late at night from 12hr flight !

    Not a 2.9 but maybe a 1.5 star. Just because nobody broke in room and I made it out safely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very basic.

    A had a basic room with a nice view in the 7th floor. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great rooftop restaurant. Good location in a quiet neighborhood with restaurants and shops within short walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They falsely advertise free airport shuttle. i tried to contact them through you and also directly to arrange this. I received no response. My friend stayed at the hotel a couple of days before we arrived and arranged with them to pick us up. We then understood that it is not free, but $15. We were ok with that. However, no one was at the airport to get us. We took a taxi which was also $15. When we asked them at the hotel why they advertise free shuttle, they replied it is for 3 or more days. This should be stated in their info with you. Also, when I told them that our friend had arranged with them to pick us up, they disavowed all knowledge.

    Relatively quiet. Wifi ok in lobby. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was a stuff up, told me I couldn’t pay in GBP or with card which was what it said on booking.com, rooftop bar was under construction so loud banging all day and evening, shower didn’t work and no hot water, wifi only works in lobby and bad connection, breakfast was inedible, not the best location, if you need a cheap place to stay it’s okay but otherwise wouldn’t recommend.

    It’s cheap and staff tried to accommodate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is poor Elevators not always work Too much cigarettes smoking that caused me having difficulty to breathe and having chronic coughing while I stayed in the hotel The breakfast is of the worst quality

    The staffs are very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very basic, the shower room is the smallest I have seen in a hotel, just 2X2 ft! The Wifi works but speed is slow and the breakfast is almost bare so better go somewhere else.

    Location was perfect to go to Kahlili market and local streets and hotel is in a quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast variety was not sufficient. It was not for all kind of tastes. Wi-fi is available only at the lobby but I knew it from the previous comments, so used the hotel only to sleep. Dogs outside was very loud all night long.

    Definitely value for money! Great location. Especially bathroom was really clean. Size of the room and the bathroom was ok.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No response to emails prior to arrival regarding free shuttle service pick up, which is a taxi - one way only). The fact that there is smoking throughout the hotel when it states this to not be the case. The room is not thoroughly cleaned (hairs in bed, dirty floor mats, sink with many cracks). Hotel needs refurbishment. I paid upfront and was later told service charge etc had not been paid. I gave them my card a second time on leaving thinking all was settled. My husband who left after me was told that there was still an amount outstanding. I refused to hand over my card a third time, also bearing in mind there were 3 nights I'd paid for a double room when I was not there to use resources. I will not choose this hotel again. People are pleasent in the main, but be very wary of the pushy locals.

    The nearby metro and some places of interest

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i dont like dont have extra water for customer to bath, or clean myself, actually hotel must to prepare extra water for guest when happend. not water at the city 😡

    i like for all

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was only bread/ 1 egg/ 3 cheeses on the first two days. Stained cutlery, need to wipe them after washing to avoid water stains. Be expected to wake up each morning at 05:00 by the local mosques' extra loud speakers or generally any other street noise (there is a market nearby and many dogs) as the rooms are not sound proof. The Wi-fi rarely worked in the lobby or was really slow.

    The staff was very polite and the location was right next to the Dokki Metro station which allows for quick travels. The hotel is clean enough for its prices/category. The breakfast was poor during the first 2 days (1 egg, 2 cheeses and bread only) but improved later on with a bigger selection.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel offers free airport pickup service. I wrote to them to book this service but got no reply whatsoever from the hotel. I know this service is not guaranteed (which is not a problem), however, in my opinion, replying to the client's email is a must.

    - Great location: close to the Nile, The Cairo Tower and the Egyptian Museum. There are many, many shops and restaurants close to the hotel; - Helpful stuff; - Clean and quiet room; - Furniture nice, but needs refurbishing; - Comfortable bed; - Nice city view (2 balconies); - Breakfast OK.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower cubicle in the bathroom is tiny, but usable with care. The quality of the free breakfast wasn't very good, but it was free so we weren't expecting too much.

    We have stayed here before and love the location, perfect for what we want to do. Our room was spotlessly clean as always. The hotel provided an airport transfer, which was brilliant, especially as we were delayed and arrived late in the evening.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Failure to answer to email re. meeting me at airport ( I sent a complaint email after 7 days of no response).Eventually answered (more than 24hrs later) AFTER I had left home on day of arrival at King Hotel - I had to phone them from UK, kept on saying hold on, took ages to get answer (10 mins) so missed train to airport. No maps available to show location. Failed to get taxi for given time so man went out to get one for us when we arrived in reception.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WiFi only available in reception, not in bedrooms. Our fridge was ancient and froze everything we put inside, but we were there for a week and maybe if only staying one or two nights you wouldn't notice. No kettle facilities in room and cost of drinks in the cafe area next to reception was quite expensive, as was the bar on the roof, but probably the same as in most hotels.

    Spotlessly clean room with comfortable bed and effective air-conditioner. En-suite good size but shower cubicle tiny (but usable). Lots of hot water. Great location with supermarket only 2 mins walk away, the main street less than 5 mins walk and the fruit/veg souk just along the road. The hotel is in a side street, just off the main road through Dokki, which is a very busy local area. We enjoyed our week at the King Hotel and would definitely stay there again when visiting Cairo.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Bathroom has only unknown liquid soap and it looks very cheap. - I asked to get real soap and they gave me 3 pieces of unknown small soap brand!

    Location and roof_top bar

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor facilities, air conditioner was not good, poor room design, small TV, limited channels low quality

    Stuff very welcome and responsive,calm,good food, responsive maintenance man, kind people

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were months worth of accumulated dust under the beds but only noticed by accident when something fell. Ac wasn't working well kept alternating between heating and cooling. They did offer us a different room though. We had to pay for boiled water as the rooms had no boiler.

    Area was safe and close to most locations we needed to go to (very far from malls if thata what youre into) we got uber service within 1-5 minutes everytime. The beds were comfy and clean. The cleaning girl (samira) was so lovely and helpful. They picked us up from airport as promised and were keen to be on time that they (mr. George) called us before our flight even departed our city which was wonderful. Most Staff were welcoming throughout the trip.TIP: if you have hot water problems aim at showering at night.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stinky, filthy hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    to much money for this poor area $ 41

    no

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the room were dirty. But all employees were so kind!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The policy of the airport shuttle, the heating system

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very near to metro station Dokki. Very friendly staff. Clean room. Now there is WiFi also in the rooms. Very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No save box and bad restorant

    Apoisition

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    but not good breakfast

    Good bed, good location,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, Breakfat and Services

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. . 9 month ago it was open buffet. This time it was not..

    Location was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fair and normalà

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No WIfi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's Price was cheaper than booking's price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heater in the room, the sink was blogged

    The staff are really good and there is a cafe on the roof top

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The AC unit of the room without heating . -The water in the bath was off two times,,,!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was a good stay room was good , clean , the same as pics on the website

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no heating it was so cold at night that I had to wear my winter jacket.

    I like it because it has a terrace and a view.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very good position near metro station Dokki. Clean. Good staff. Good price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not particularly comfortable. Didn't like the smokers in the lobby. No internet except in the lobby.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came back after few years to this hotel, possitive suprised :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great and I really enjoyed my stay. Everything was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was yummy. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Window AC is noisy, breakfast and coffee needs improvement.

    price, location, stuff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early checkout despite genius booking

    According to prize accepted

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Old building, seriously out of repair. Generally quite dirty. Not even toiletries in the bathroom. Shower stall so narrow you can't even stand properly. Pathetic breakfast; cracked crockery, unclean food.

    Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well, breakfast was appealing mostly to Egyptian guests....

    I was welcomed with a smile when I came with a (trashy) free shuttle from the airport. (no smiles when left though).

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff are extremely unhelpful, they would not organise a taxi unless it was through one of their friends which takes time and is expensive. WiFi is only available in the lobby and even there reception was poor.

    Rooms are basic but clean and reasonable value for money.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was very old, one room we stayed in there was black dots everywhere maybe from the roof?

    Great staff, big rooms, good location, great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Please, improve a bit the quality of cofee of breakfast. No Wifi in the rooms. I had to go to the ground floor.

    Staff is very good and simphatic. It's basic hotel if you don't look for luxurious. A/C really works Ok. Quite centric. It's Ok in general terms.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Services are bad Cleaning not good at all Room is very old style and not properly equipped Breakfast hall is dirty by all mean Dogs parking during day and night no mental peace and cannot relax Horrible location and dirty

    Nothing interesting

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    While I was told breakfast would be available from 7 on, when I went there at 7 there was nothing set up one morning, and the next morning I was told it wouldn't be ready until 7:30, which was too late to eat before I started the day's tour

    Location was quite, room was lovely, staff was helpful

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed here before our Gecko's trip commenced. It is a very basic, budget hotel. By Egypt standards it's good. The location is good but staff weren't very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    No wifi in upper floors, hot water is poor or either not existed at sometimes, the air conditioner was loud and noise at some times, they require full deposit at check in despite the fact that site mentions they don't, and you have to pay each time for any extra service you ask as if they don't have a system to sum all the extra service on your bill at checkout.

    The room service stuff are friendly and helpful. The location is convienient for easy access to cairo center. Very safe. Reception lobby is nice.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish it had free wifi in rooms.

    Very helpful and nice staff. Location is excellent, neighborhood feels very safe. Loved dining everyday at their rooftop bar Nomad, with a nice view, atmosphere and great people. Room was very comfortable and clean. Their private car+ spanish guide tour to Giza, Saqqara and Dashur was excellent and convenient. We would definetely go back!

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The staff is friendly and helpful, and I like that you can get anything from just a cup of tea to a full meal in the cafe. Love the location! The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, but the Metro and main roads are just a few blocks away.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shower is too small.. Like seriously ... If you're above the average built you wouldn't fit in !! No heaters.. Breakfast is not good

    Staff is friendly.. Location is very good.. Felt completely safe there..

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Smokers everywhere, even guy behind the hotel desk went behind his curtain to smoke. WiFi better then we had in Aswan and Luxor in our hotels, but still slow and a bit spotty.

    Rooms looked pretty. Porter was wonderful, kind, and helpful. Good location, five minute taxi ride (if no traffic) from Tahir Square and Egyptian Museum.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All over experience

    Staff very poor

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It wasn't clean, a lot of dust and bad smells.

    The location is fine, you can use the metro to go to any place you want.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi.

    Modest staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast Parking on the street (though secured).

    Reception staff in particular Mr. Adel. Facilities are very basic (3-Star hotel).

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old furniture.not satisfied breakfast

    Helpful staff.calm location

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    noise in corridors in the mornings

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast is the worst ever. And the room is so cold and dusty.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Charged extra above rate posted. Dirty. Poorly maintained

    good location

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi not in rooms ... Need to go to lobby or restaurant for accessing internet

    Staff is good, clean hotel

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just bad

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Thank you

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Every thing

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV was not working bath is way too small

    staff are helpful room are clean

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    I was expecting much better , Breakfast set up and variety are very poor

    may be the best is the cleaners job who tie the rooms they do their best

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good location

    very good location very near to metro station

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    they advertise a free pick up from airport but I tried to contact them by e mail to arrange it and I didn't receive any answer.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: