Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Marhaba Palace Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Cornich Elnil, Aswan, Egypt

#19 of 25 hotels in Aswan

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 82 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They definitely need to upgrade this place! It's outdated and starting to look unclean. The plugs were also specific to Egypt not European or British like Cairo and Giza and instead of suggesting borrowing a plug they suggested buying an adapter for our two day stay.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    8.3
    Sweet, green and calm after Cairo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No problems experienced.

    Perfect lovely location overlooking a park and the river Nile. Nice balcony too. Friendly and kind young woman at reception. Very good boxed breakfast prepared for my early morning departure. Quite easy to visit the interesting Nubian village on the island nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    6.7
    Convenient location. Very good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Nile View - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place has seen better days. I hope they get good business to bring back the good days.

    The staff is very good. The lady managing the reception is very helpful, courteous and speaks good English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    2.5
    Wifi in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old and falling into pieces. Noisy as you hear traffic horns 24h. Bathroom way too small. Hotel needs a major restoration. Only worth it if you pay less than 10USD per night.

    Wifi in the room. They provide booking to Abu Simbel for 200LE on a shared van.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    10
    Good hotel in Aswan
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the breakfast has to improve.

    The staff in the reception was really helpful and nice, they upgrade for free...i really appreciated everything. The room has a beautiful view and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    5.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Through booking.com website, I requested airport pick up. When arrived the airport, no one from the hotel was there. I called the hotel to ask for a transportation, but they didn't answer the call. I had to use an over priced taxi. The bathroom is small. Rooms are a bit dark.

    location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel, Expensive service cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    expensive ben price for abusimbel I paid 200pound but the other's paid 100pound at the same ben....

    very good river view cool air-conditioning near good restraunt

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2017

    5.8
    Old hotel. nice location. poor staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No good staff. Receptionist didnt want to give my passport back in the moment. She said that when I come back she will give my passport back. And the bellboy wanted to sell his own tours independently of hotel.

    The views to the nile were great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    6.7
    Average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old and need renovation. Staff is dishonest, different staff quoted different rate for transport arrangement. Restaurant only serves breakfast. Not many choice of food for lunch and dinner.

    Hotel location is good, very near to the main train station and tourist bazaar. Many restaurants around.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    5.4
    The location is excellent - a short walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room in general was just really run down. There was no top sheet, just a blanket, which is rather disgusting. There were a couple of hairs on the sheets. The shower head was no longer fixed properly to the pole, so it had to be held and the pressure was low, but at least there was always hot water. If the room was half the current price, it would be in the correct price range.

    The location is excellent - a short walking distance from the train station and to the Nile.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2016

    5.0
    Staff was friendly, they even offered to pick up food for my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was TINY. We weren't told that we had to manually turn on a hot water heater and when it came time to give the kids a bath, the water was cold. We figured out what to do, waited for an hour and ran the water to try to get it hot but it didn't work. We had to check out at 8 pm on the same day that we checked in because cold baths or no baths at all just weren't options.

    Staff was friendly, they even offered to pick up food for my family from a local restaurant and bring it to our room for us.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2016

    9.6
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant menu was a little short but delicious.

    Location is perfect, view from the room was mesmerizing.. staff always helpful, Room was spacious and clean. Rooftop view at night is a must.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    7.9
    Right next to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's no hot water in shower.

    Right next to the train station. Close to restaurant and shops. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel let us check out at 2pm.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    4.2
    Not so happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room cleanness specially urine left over toilet

    Arranging tour

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    5.0
    Thanks
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with City View - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Internet connection

    No wifi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    7.1
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Used hotel, mosquitoes were an issue

    Close to railway, KFC and Mcdonalds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    5.0
    bad accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Nile View - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    v.expensive compared to level and quality of service , bad room,bad breakfast,v.small hotel,no entertainment

    location only

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    8.8
    The stuff are very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Nile View - Egyptians and Residents Only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stuff are very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    7.5
    Small hotel with attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was affordable but not great.

    The staff were very accommodating and eager to make sure I had everything I needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    8.3
    Best location and reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    8.3
    Best location and reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff.

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2017

    9.6
    Location, comfy large room, friendly staff and that amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast only ok not brilliant and coffee awful

    Location, comfy large room, friendly staff and that amazing view from our balcony.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2017

    2.9
    Probably the worst hotel i stayed in Egypt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Probably the worst hotel i stayed in Egypt. It was dirty,old and uncomfortable.It s definetly not worth it s price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2017

    5.8
    Good location for easy access
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room needs to be renovated. Food is not for an international traveller but more for the local market

    The yoghurt and honey

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2017

    4.2
    With a little maintenance, fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor breakfast

    3 minutes on foot from the train station and the market (ElSouk)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2017

    6.7
    The view from the room and the rooftop is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms and the building is dilapidated

    The view from the room and the rooftop is great

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2017

    6.3
    Nice location, the rest is pretty run-down
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool and the health club are not working, in general everything looks quite neglected

    Great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    7.9
    Good location from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location from the train station. Close to local souk market. Spacious comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2016

    8.8
    Quite near the aswan railway station and the river nile .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Quite near the aswan railway station and the river nile . You can easily find restaurant and convinient store next to the hotel . Very good wifi signal inside the room and the breakfast is acceptable.

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2016

    6.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The waiter was too late serving breakfast. it is if he did not wake up. he did not even show up when summoned by his colleague to attend to guests at restaurant. I had to leave to catch my flight.

    location

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    3.8
    The location was good, great views from the balconies on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel has been sorely neglected, it is very run down and shabby. Housekeeping was very poor, one room had used sheets and towels when we arrived, another was not serviced on one day, another was provided with soiled towels. In one room the shower did not work, In another the door to the balcony was broken and was blown open by the wind. The breakfast was nothing to write home about, pastries and croissants stale.

    The location was good, great views from the balconies on the Nile side. The hotel building and infrastructure has great potential but needs proper management.

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2015

    3.8
    Only thing I can say as good point is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Employee were unkind; kept me waiting for long time to check in. Also attitude were the worst ever. Bathroom was not cleaned up enough.

    Only thing I can say as good point is the location. It takes only a few minutes to Aswan station on foot.

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2015

    4.6
    Location Is very central in Aswan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Wifi was broken all 3 days. They made no effort to fix it. It took literally 30 minutes to check out. The morning staff did not even know how to run the credit card machine (I had to do it for them) Breakfast was 3 pieces of bread and some prepackaged cheese portions. Really over priced for what you're getting. The building and rooms are very run down, furniture is like classroom furniture at a school . Maybe this was a palace 30 Years go but not today.

    Location Is very central in Aswan.

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2015

    7.9
    Location is fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was poor...coffee very diluted...artificial juice, etc. One of the staff in the night shift is sarcastic and unfriendly. Not helpfull at all. Wifi in the rooms is poor. Excursions to Abu Simbel a bit overpriced.

    Location is fabulous. Day staff is friendly and helpfull. Beautiful sunset from the roof top.

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2015

    5.8
    Great location for train station, corniche and the souk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The hotel decor is a little tired

    Great location for train station, corniche and the souk. Staff really friendly and helpful Great views of the Nile from the roof terrace and balcony

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2015

    9.2
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The restaurant could do with some English speaking staff. We did get help when we asked for it, but initially the persons attending could communicate only in Arabic. Also the lighting at the reception could be brighter. This is not a serious issue for the people staying in their rooms, more lightsat the reception certainly helps to give the reception a more bright look.

    Location is excellent. Very close to station and also to ferry crossing from where you can cross over to the West Bank. We had taken Nile View rooms, and the views were superb. The front office staff were also very helpful.

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2015

    6.3
    Quarto espaçoso e confortável, localização excelente.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    O banheiro é um ponto fraquíssimo. Muito apertado e box incrivelmente mal pensado. Atendimento na recepção também deixou a desejar. Recepcionista tinha um ar debochado, trocou dólares por um valor acima das taxas de todos os outros lugares e parecia sempre ter má vontade pra dar informações

    Quarto espaçoso e confortável, localização excelente. Internet funcionava muito mal no quarto, boa conexão apenas na recepção. O terraço do hotel tem uma linda vista para o Nilo, mas as condições de conservação revelam a situação de decadência do hotel e da cidade. Café da manhã preparado para levarmos para o passeio de Abu Simbel (lunch box) foi excelente.

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2015

    6.7
    The location is excellent, the rooms are fair, in general...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    One of Marhaba front desk clerk was very unpleasant and rude because I made arrangement to travel from Aswan to Abu Simble on my own instead of using their service which was too much for the trip cost compared to my own arrangement, I had to report him to his superiors simply because he turned abusive and rude, the other staff were very friendly and helpful.

    The location is excellent, the rooms are fair, in general Aswan trip worth every penny I spent.

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2016

    3.8
    Breakfast really bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall

    Breakfast really bad

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff in a well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Friendly staff in a well located hotel

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2015

    7.5
    reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing

    reasonable price

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2015

    5.0
    location 3minutes from the city centre and literally by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the breakfast was appalling

    location 3minutes from the city centre and literally by the Nile.

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2015

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Location

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2015

    3.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very very old, not very clean, bathroom horrible, breakfast not good

    Good location

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2015

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2015

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff

    Nothing

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: