Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pavillon Winter Luxor 5 stars

17,Cornish El Nile Street,Beside Luxor Temple, East bank, Luxor, Egypt

#7 of 42 hotels in Luxor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 600 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Old World Beauty and Charm at an Extraordinary Price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could be a little cleaner in the main great room.

    This property is amazing--it will take you back to another era when the there were many British archaeologists and their teams digging for ancient ruins. I can imagine the fine and wealthy sponsors would come in winter to see progress and have their evenings in the main grand room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Charming beautiful hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful pool, quiet and calm atmosphere, beautiful gardens, magically lit at night make this hotel my favourite place to stay in Luxor. You can use all the facilities of The Winter Palace which is a bonus. The staff are great and service attentive and very professional. I felt special and valued as a guest.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean hotel, separating you from the dirty and noisy outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Placed the order two months ago at 72USD for two nights, unrefundable. Everyone would think it ust be a very good price. However later on found 40 USD for two nights at booking. The hotel manager did not allow to cancel the 1st order. It's a gap of price and over spent 32 more USD for the two nights :(

    Clean hotel, separating you from the dirty and noisy outside world of Luxor with a lot of chaos. A good place to rest. Staff are friendly. Breakfast is ok. 5 minutes walk to Luxor Temple.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    On the fence if it's worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was terrible - about 0.8Mbps on a good day but it also very unstable. I pretty much used up all my mobile data as a substitute. Ridiculous prices for guided tours. I'm not sure who they are trying to kid. Think it was 25 euros per person to go to Luxor temple - Luxor temple is right outside!?

    Nice and clean rooms. Great location. Room service was slightly pricey for some items imo but it did not disappoint.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Best hotel in Luxor even in Egypt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but.a suggestion, the breakfast egg-cooking man with big belly should pay more attention at his attitude while talking to customers.

    Everything! Best hotel ever! Wonderful garden and pool make you forget you are in Egypt. Friendly and well-trained staffs helped a lot. They provided an extra stay of 2 hours(for free!) after normal check out time(usually at 12h) so that we could avoid the heat. Good breakfast with variety, fresh juice is a plus. This hotel saved our trip in upper Egypt.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful and affordable oasis amidst the craziness of Luxor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1) 25 euro transfer from the train station is far too expensive. 2) They charged me for mini bar items which I thought were left behind from the previous guests: 2 beers and an opened bottle of guava juice which I threw away. There was no price list or anything to indicate it was a mini bar, nor was it ever refreshed. 3) A hotel of this level and in this climate should provide free bottled water as a courtesy to guests.

    1) Staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. 2) Location is perfect. 3) Vibe of the place is very much an oasis. 4) Swimming pool is well designed. 5) I got a fantastic nightly rate on booking.com

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    The hotel is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negative comments.

    The hotel is wonderful. I do not believe there is a better option in town. Thank you very much to Mahmoud from the front desk. He is very helpful and always greets us with a smile.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was rather weak.

    Garden, Breakfast, location, price Mohamed Al Tayeb at the breakfast lounge and his colleagues were very helpful Actually all staff (reception, room service, gardeners etc) people were very kind

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic gardens and swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing information about paid drinks in fridge.

    Fantastic gardens and swimming pool. Super comfy rooms and stylish interiors. Good choice for breakfast. Excellent care for guests.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Excelent stay in Luxor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The location of the hotel is perfect. Close to Luxor temple and Nile river. The staff was very gentle with us letting us in the guest room for almost a complete extra day. The breakfast has lot of variety and everything was delicious. In conclusion i had a very nice experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds (at least in my room), Slow wifi (sometimes didn't work at all), Some religious people singing super loudly with megaphone outside hotel territory at 4AM. That sound WILL wake you up (unless you're a very heavy sleeper).

    Clean, Very friendly staff, Super close to luxor temple, Rooms look like in photos, If you get a nice discount, it's good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Great breakfast and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When you go outside the hotel, there are so many people asking if you want a horse and buggy to take you around. I know they need the work, but it gets a bit annoying.

    Great breakfast and very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    A haven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Offcourse its not all gold and silver. The hotel has some rough edges and the carpet should have been changed 4 years ago. But this can all be overlooked. We had an excellent stay in this haven, a desert oase, and would stay here again.

    Lets be honest. Luxor is a dying city, touristnumbers have dropped due to the political situation. You see everywhere that bars and restaurants have closed. That means that the local merchants are hawking you frantic and fanatical...even more than we got used to. It even comes to a point that you want to give them money just to shut up. Its a shame to say but within the walls of the hotel you find peace, rest and the remnants of a world that you can relate to. The garden is excellent, the rooms are vast and breakfast is dining with the Gods of old. The staff was sublime and made sure we could get a let check out with no extra costs! Wow!! Try the roomservice, you wont be dissapointed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    A stay well spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s just one thing that I have something to say about, is the facility itself, it’s a good thing to feel the ancient buildings but it needs a bit renovation as some light buttons doesn’t work well but it’s worth it and I didn’t even think about it

    Friendly staff, good location between everything, walkable distance to most of the most visited places and food was good but not a lot of kinds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    The property its at a good location with the exemption of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property its at a good location with the exemption of when traveling as a single female I didn’t feel too safe but the location its still good just didn’t feel safe going out by my self

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Amazing value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, amazing staff. Swimming pool is great and breakfast is excellent. WiFi in all areas even in the pool! Short walk to Luxor temple and other attractions. Didn’t want to leave.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Amazing history and location, shame about the people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most staff tried to be polite but the standard of treatment for men and women is not the same and this sexism will be unpleasant to some. The food was poor across the hotel options with the exception of the outdoor bbq which was excellent in a fabulous setting. This was a shame because leaving the hotel whether to eat or visit the town was simply an ordeal: "welcome to Egypt" apparently means "give me all your money". Our interactions with locals were almost entirely negative turning quickly from friendly negotiation into aggressive insistence and harrassment that just wouldn't stop. Despite all the talk about wishing for more tourism we certainly did not feel welcome in this town and four days is long time to spend feeling trapped in any hotel even one with a beautiful pool and garden. The location right next to the temple of Luxor should be unbeatable but in the end we didn't even visit it because the constant hassle was just too draining.

    Beautiful historic building and wonderful garden retreat in the centre of an unbearable city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    This hotel is part of the Sofitel group.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is part of the Sofitel group. It’s entrance is next to the winter palace. It’s got probably the best garden area in Luxor. The pool is large and had different areas including a swim up bar. We actually came here because our previous accommodation on the west side of the Nile was not very good. The room was 37$/night!! The first room was satisfactory but the Ac stopped working. We called reception and they moved us to a room two doors down. This room was the same but ac worked and the tv had 40 more channels. Room service was ok. Other food options outside are not to great. The location is great. 8$ from the airport. A short walk to Luxor temple. (I wouldn’t walk though) everyone trying to sell you something or harass you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome. Gorgeous garden. Professional, friendly, and helpful staff. Outstanding location. It is a lovely oasis in Luxor, a wonderful place to come back to after a long day of visiting the amazing sites.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Oasis of calm and beauty in a vibrant city a total hidden diamond of a hotel 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect 😁

    Everything the staff the pool area the whole package everything was beautiful 😊 breakfast was a delight of calm and fantastic service ☺

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Victorian grandeur, lush gardens and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mosquitoes breed in huge gardens, even if the hotel administrators do take care of fumigating. So, keep your room windows shut. Wifi is slow.

    The staff was extremely kind all over the place: at the reception, restaurant, swimming pool, gardens. Breakfast is vast, including all Western and Middle Eastern options, omelet station, fruits, in a deluxe setting. The hotel emanates Victorian grandeur, and it matches the mystique of elegance that is frequently related to Luxor. The location is ideal, flanked by the Corniche and the Nile on the Western side, and the amazing Luxor temple (ancient pharaonic) on the north side. The gardens are simply the best in town, and they are absolutely a plus. The lush greenery inside this property really makes you forget the chaos, honking and hassle outside its walls; the plants even generate a somewhat fresher environment. The swimming pool is large, almost Olympic in its dimensions, ideal for swimming or to relax. Bars, deluxe restaurant, an internal shopping mall, they're all within the hotel premises. The terrace in our room was another plus: ample, with comfy seats and unbeatable garden view. Last, but not least, there is a lot of history within the walls of this hotel. Many Victorian personalities stayed there (it was the place to see and to be seen in colonial Egypt), but for me the most appealing guest was Agatha Christie. She wrote Murder on the Nile while staying there. That was simply magnetic for someone with passion for literature like myself!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    The hotel is close to the main attractions of the center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is close to the main attractions of the center such as Karnak temple and Luxor (the rest as valley of kings and queens etc have to go by car). As Luxor is small and there is not much entertainment option for tourists besides the monunents and culture itself, you will probably stay in the hotel besides the tours. Pool very good, wonderful restaurants. Fantastic staff, super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no kettle in the room

    The location is very good.Just walk to Luxor Temple 10 minutes.The room is very big and the staff is very friendly.and the breakfast is very rich.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    The staff was very friendly and very respectful, the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and very respectful, the hotel was very well managed and well organized, that experience was amazing over all. I would definitely recomend this property to everyone

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location but needs to step up security measures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The security at the main entrance was a little lax; no checking of proof of staying or even asking for a room number. I was actually assaulted by a local not far from the hotel and upon returning the security were very reluctant to contact police or help in any manner. Very disheartening.

    The included breakfast was superb and the staff were extra friendly, going out of their way to help. The location is good as close to Karnak and Luxor Temples.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the night staff in reception. i ask him in arabic how much is the normal cost for the taxi to airport (9km) he told me 150- 200 EGP because of the expensive benzin (he talks like a classic egyptian taxi driver). Because i live in egypt i understand that he is a lier. I get the first taxi that i meet. At first he ask for 100 EGP and after he was agree for 70 EGP. So the receptionist was a lier and not at all helpful

    value for money.The best is that you can use the same facilities with the great winter palace hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel for an incredible price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I preferred when check in for the pavillion was still in the original winter palace reception, but that's not a big deal. It would be great if the breakfast offerings were a bit more diverse and better quality. The juice labeled as "fresh" clearly wasn't for example. Overall however it's a great hotel at an excellent price.

    The pavillion is part of the Sofitel Winter Palace property and while it has a separate check-in you have access to all of the facilities from the historic bar and restaurant to the lovely pool. Honestly, the price is remarkably low for what you get. The rooms are spacious modern and clean. They each come with a good sized balcony with seating and the garden of the hotel is a pleasure to walk through.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Tranquil hotel near Luxor Temple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There seemed to be some sort of leak in the bathroom, meaning that when we arrived, the bath mat was already soaking wet. We did get the bath mat replaced after a call to housekeeping.

    This is a medium-range hotel which shares the lovely gardens with the (much grander) Winter Palace Hotel. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk to the Luxor Temple, so we just popped over in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was awful and to expensive

    Very nice hotel, food ok but expensive, the air conditioning was awful we had to ask for a fan and still the room was very hot we had to leave 1 week early couldent cope with the heat couldent get comfortable in the room. They did offer to change our room but it was too late we had changed our flight and left early,and the room was non refundable so couldent get our money back but we had a free meal 2 nights before we left. The staff were ok,beautiful gardens. It was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in the perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were so pleased with our accomodation and stay at the Winter Pavilion. The hotel was perfectly located with a great swimming pool, beautifully manicured garden and lovely staff. The breakfast at the hotel had a great selection and was delicious - the best breakfast we had in Egypt. I would love to be able to stay here again and would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Luxor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location and historic hotel but I was quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run down place and dirty in the corridos of the pavilion with food left outside rooms for long time plus the reception had a particular smell which it wasn’t pleasant. You get charge more if you go to the old building to have breakfast which we tried and it was so good and then we try our one in the pavilion for two extra days and it was horrible like the left overs from the old building use for the next day breakfast at the pavilion. I think the place is overrated.

    Great location and historic hotel but I was quite disappointed at arrival after arriving from Old Cataract and the welcome that they gave you as Sofitel and here it was nothing as we booked the pavilion winter which is the same hotel in the new wing but they treat you like less important than if you stay in the old building and this don’t happen in Sofitel Old Cataract! It doesn’t matter if you stay in the new or old wing you get the same treatment as me and some friends stayed in both

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and fabulous gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is spotty. Not enough choices for casual dinner (the corniche closed for dinner while we were there). I had to ask for bath robes for use in the pool. This should be standard for a 5 star.

    Excellent location and fabulous gardens. The pool is also a great facility to enjoy. Food in 1886 is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Really great value !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complains at all!

    Very confortable hotel, great garden and pool shared common area with winter palace. Paradise in middle of caos outside. Few meters from Luxor temple. Loved it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Travel the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4 star hotel they lack the service. Staff was friendly but didn't do anything more than answer your questions. Most of the power points in my room did not work and the curtains could not fully close

    Close by to things

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Acceptable; for the money. Good breakfast. Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was almost empty and by mistake i overpaid my room online; they did not care to either upgrading me or refunding the amount extra paid.

    Just a piece of history with great food and superb facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    The location is okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no proper non smoking room. If you smoke, that's a smoking room and if not, that's a non smoking room. So the smell is really bad for me as a non smoker. And some staff was not helpful. I asked if they can arrange my train ticket. The first time when I asked, a staff said "the train station is very close" hum. And when I asked the other staff, he said "the ticket is not available now, you had to ask it earlier" So I went to the station and got the ticket easily. I am quite disappointed about their attitude.

    The location is okay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    A little oasis away from the hussle and bustle. Good value, quiet, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Being picky The in-pool bar was not in use. Nowhere in the grounds open to sit and relax in the evening. It would have been nice to have a drink and the opportunity to be sociable with other guests. The continuous "flute" music played nightly during the Egyptian Bar B Q buffet became repetitive and annoying

    The location, so central. The room, large clean and comfy. The pool and terrace area, clean and spacious with shade and comfy sun loungers. The beautiful grounds. The service, always prompt and offered with a smile. The staff, all so helpful, above and beyond expectation. The coiffure and masseuse, lovely ladies, great service and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Stunning, Stunning and Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , leaving

    After leaving a Nile cruise early due to unruly German passengers it was a sanctuary of calm and beauty. Wish we could have stayed longer

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    3.8
    A filthy run down hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very dirty. The tea and coffee facilities were a joke. They just provided a kettle with no where to plug it in and no tea or coffee! The carpets were really filthy. The lampshades in the room were disgusting as they were so dirty. The toilet was filthy. All the grout in the bathroom needed a good clean. The whole hotel is totally run down and is at best a one star! It appears to cater for large groups of Chinese/Japanese who stay for one night. They don’t have enough staff so if you try to have breakfast whilst the large group is staying it is impossible as there is very little food left.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Loved the attention of the staff, the hotel is in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the attention of the staff, the hotel is in a great location near by anything you would like to see in Luxor. It’s a beautiful oasis that make you think that that’s the way the old pharaohs used to have their gardens in their palaces. Their room service is good, and the portions and more than plenty. If you need to leave really early in the morning they could arrange for you a taxi, they even made a breakfast box for me and I left the hotel at 4 am. Mohamed, Hassan, Mahmoud with all the other staff made me feel a Queen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Well worth staying here - great access to the sites and the garden area is lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was a modern design, quite boring and maybe a little vulgar. It pales in comparison to the much nicer Winter Garden Hotel. This is factored into the price, and the shared pool and garden make up for it, but the Pavillion building is definitely a bit dated

    The pool area was particularly nice - set in an oasis-like garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, comfortable, spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff at this hotel! The room was comfortable, clean, and very spacious. The wifi was ok, but pretty average with Egyptian wifi. The pool was very comfortable to relax in after a long day in the sun - it would be nice if it was open later than 6pm. The grounds are very well taken care of and the landscaping is gorgeous. The rooms could use some updating, and the light fixtures didn't really work. Overall, a great stay, but a few improvements could make it great. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful - with a lot of options and an omelette bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Definitely I’ll come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs a little restavration - the ceiling in bathroom was in a bad condition. floor carpets needs a deep cleaning.

    Friendly kind staff, delicious buffet, beautiful garden inside and terasse with a view on it, comfy bed. Also room service food size exceed our expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    A Haven Amidst The Hustle and Bustle of Luxor City!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited Food Options and Variable Quality of food served at Pool Bar

    Fabulous Garden. Lovely spacious ROOMS. Central Location. Wonderful staff at all levels!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Amazing!! Best stay in Luxor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could be better.

    The garden. When you walk in the hotel, you walk through a beautiful green oasis and you have this amazing view from your room. It is very relaxing and there is a beautiful swimmimg pool. The rooms are very clean and comfortable! Location is perfect! Next to Luxor Temple, in front of the Nile and the National Ferry Boat to West Bank is close by. We could also walk from the train station. The staff is very nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Amazing, historic building in front of the Nile with palm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a bit more of dusting is needed in the lounge and room - however the overall presentation is neat and tidy.

    Amazing, historic building in front of the Nile with palm trees and full of green trees plants etc. Staff was friendly and very helpful, especially the concierge lady who could organize a tour for us very last minute. Swimming pool is stunning!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Best bang for the buck in all of Egypt
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The front desk never had change, and they should be better prepared for travelers who need to pay last minute bills or who want to break big bills in order to give tips--which are SO important in Egypt.

    Good breakfast buffet with real coffee, not the Nescafe so ubiquitous in Egypt. This hotel provided the best value of ANY hotel I stayed in during my month in Egypt. The room itself was very comfortable, the pool area was relaxing, and the proximity to the Winter Palace made it easy to have dinner in their fabulous restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, comfortable to stay, a bit pricey but worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. I think the price based on Luxor price levels is a bit high.

    1. Garden in the hotel is amazingly beautiful. 2. Spacious room, nice balcony. 3. Breakfast is very good, plenty of options. 4. Restaurant on site is good, very tasty food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    A fantastic place to stay in Luxor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an outstanding hotel, a newer addition which shares the same grounds as the venerable Old Winter Palace on the east bank of the Nile. We had absolutely no complaints for this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    odgy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smells badly and the view from the window was for a garbage disposal on the floor, after complaining they change the room. dodgy hotel

    This is not a 5 star hotel and no 5 star service. check in take more than 1 hour despite i presente a prepaid voucher... it was sugested by the receptionist for me to cancel the reservation and make a new one, as my reservation was not refundable I refuse and then I was told that I need to contact the tour operated because it has na international number. After a long period in the lobby I had to pay over 100usd to them allow me to check in while the prepaid voucher was not accepted. Only later they accept the voucher after I contact the operator at my own expense as they refuse to do.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    A little bit of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel has a beautiful garden and pool which is lovely to relax beside after the hubbub of Luxor. There is a wide selection of pastries, fruit, and cold meat available for breakfast A chef will prepare a fresh omlette or crepe for you if you wish. The old hotel is stunning, but bring smart clothes if you want to dine there. Casual wear is not allowed in the restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    The service is not what you expect in a 5 stars hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is not what you expect in a 5 stars hotel. They are no able to manage your reservation so if you want to stay more time you can not do it from the desk. The facilities for entertainment around the pool are quite poor as well and the pool service is so slow.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    A superb stay marred only by the quality of the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food was very disappointing, especially given the exalted status of the two principal restaurants. The choice of restaurants was limited and the standard of the food in the higher echelon restaurants was not up to par. Fillet steak should never be tough, seasoning should be applied to all food, vegetables should not be unseasoned and hard. Anybody can throw a piece of raw meat on a hotplate and overcook it, or throw some vegetables in unseasoned water. The art is to season the food to enhance the natural flavours and to cook to the accepted standard. Breakfast was not particularly to our taste and therefore disappointing, though the occasion was saved from potential disaster by the superb staff. Service is of a very high standard, but the cooks need to be taught their job.

    The hotel staff are superb. The Guest Relations Manager is to be praised for the manner in which she conducts herself and executes her role. She reacted to our requests swiftly and with great effect. The grounds are amazing, our praise goes out to the gardeners. The tranquility in an otherwise hectic city was wonderful. The staff could not have been better, efficient and courteous and always a genuine smile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful place to stay in the hear of Luxor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little stuffy but otherwise very nice. The pavilion could use some updating in the lobby and hallways. The main restaurant was very mediocre and the French restaurant wouldn't let my husband in without a dinner jacket! Really! Consequently, we found ourselves having to go out to eat most nights even when we would have preferred to stay at the hotel to dine.

    Overall, we loved the Winter Palace - which the Pavilion is part of. It was like steeping back in time. The view from the balcony over the incredible gardens was lovely. We also loved being able to have breakfast in the gardens each morning and the swimming pool was awesome! The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.4
    Not worth your money go somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a 4 star hotel, we expected so much more than what we got. No bottler water provided in room. Room carpet was extremely dusty and the bed gave you rashes probably from bed bugs. Some of the lamps wont work and some went off suddenly during the night probably due to loosen wiring. Air conditioning could not be adjusted. Old and slow elevator. This entire building needs a MAJOR refurbishment. With that kinda money you could get a better 3 star hotel. The idea of going back there just cringes me. The restaurant where breakfast set was totally understaffed. No one to remove the leftover plates so just eat among them. Just plain disappointment.

    Only the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    A lovely oasis in the heart of a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom fittings and shower were not up to the standard of the room.

    Excellent location, lovely gardens and swimming pool; breakfast was top quality and room was large and comfortable with a large balcony. The staff were uniformly helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Great location. Well-maintained property. Good value for money. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very convenient location with the proximity to the train station and is right beside the Luxor Temple; Very helpful staff - I was checked in early in the morning although my check-in time was to be in the afternoon; The room was clean and quite spacious with its own private terrace; The hotel has its own well-maintained garden and swimming pool which is a bonus plus the ATM machine & shops too;. Excellent hotel restaurant with efficient room service. Great value for money - highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful place!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    leaving

    We loved this place!!! The receptionist are helpful and friendly, our room was super comfy and clean (the gentleman that cleaned was so thorough and kind), food was delicious (especially the breakfast), the pool was nice, the gardens are so beautiful and the location is awesome, right by the Luxor Temple! But our absolute favorite is the breakfast staff, every person welcomes you and they make you feel like the most loved person there. I highly recommend staying here, you'll be happy you did!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It´s necessary to control the flies in the restaurant.

    All is perfect in the hotel, I recommend It. It has a good environment, the employers are very kindly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Central location to visit cultural sites and to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say

    Central location to visit cultural sites and to the city. The staff allowed us to do an early checkin, and the gardens-swimming pool are a plus to enjoy the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No restaurant for dinner which is a real drawback, with those at the nearby Winter Place which are outrageously priced and require formal dress (other choices in Luxor are almost non-existent)

    Helpful and caring staff, quiet location and a good breakfast. Being the new wing of the great colonial-style Winter Palace you can enjoy its fine park and the excellent swimming pool. Just a very short walk from Luxor Temple, the best local bookshop around the corner and a top choice in town - highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.7
    Do not waste your money at Winter Pavillon go straight to the Hilton at Karnak or any of the other 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Pavillion restaurant was closed apparently without prior warning, a fact that was not mentioned on any of the sites online or by reception when I checked in. Neither was there a note of apology in the room and no other arrangement or suggestions were made. The first I knew of this was when I found the restaurant doors closed and lights off as I arrived for dinner. Shameful! Because I was travelling on my own I was looking forward to meeting my fellow travellers in the more relaxed atmosphere of the dining room. As it was most of my meals were ordered from Room Service.

    The gardens and pool are exceptional, beautiful and immaculate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel at fair price set in beautiful gardens. An oasis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar has no food only drinks. Lamps wiring pretty dodgy.

    Nice room with a balcony. Great view over garden. The garden is beautiful. Smells amazing of Jasmine and Mimosa. Quiet and relaxing with orange and banana trees and hoopoe birds. Excellent buffet breakfast run by enigmatic staff. Really good value for money. Central. Right by Luxor Temple and on the Nile.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    SHERE DELIGHT
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptiobal customer service, fabulous gardens, spacious rooms and wonderful heated pool. I arrived the day before my birthday. On my birthday itself I was greeted by reception staff with Bithday wishes. In the evening i arrived at my room to find a Birthday Cake had been left by the Hotel for me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful Gardens, sumptuous breakfast options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t fault anything. If I was being picky, then the walk to reception lobby from the entrance is a little long for some people.

    Beautiful Gardens, sumptuous breakfast options. Very nice staff, centrally located. Great value. Relaxing, quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    I arrived at the hotel at 5:30am and the desk clerk could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived at the hotel at 5:30am and the desk clerk could have told me to wait until my check in time (2pm) - but he got me a great room and allowed me to move in early. Just one of many experiences of the staff going above and beyond. Everything was great, the calmness of the gardens was particularly needed after the busyness of Luxor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Slightly tired, but comfortable, peaceful, and relaxing. And very convenient for Luxor town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked three rooms. I had nothing in the minibar and no kettle or cups, our friends had a stocked minibar but no kettle or cups. My son (in another room) had a kettle but no cups. No rhyme nor reason.

    Room and bathroom were large enough for two people to live comfortably, and the bathroom had a good shower and bidet. Breakfast on the terrace was good. The pool is large and pleasantly warm on a winter's day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    This is a great place - huge and colonial.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were just here to spend the night - wish we would have had more time!

    This is a great place - huge and colonial. Nice location on the river Nile! A few minutes drive to the train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Posh and luxurios Oasis in Luxor jungle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea facilities in my room. I should have book longer stay at this hotel.

    The property got large gardens. Swimming pool is heated and staff very attentive. The room was extremely comfortable and classy. On my spacious balcony was comfortable sofa. One felt like in heaven. The bed was comfortable, I don't remember when I got such a good sleep. Very good value for money. Direct access to sister hotel Winter Pavilion. There are shops and cash machine within property. Luxor temple and McDonald's is 2 min away. Train station 10 min. walk away and Nile just across the street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.7
    The pool and garden were great as was the main and original...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The newer Winter Pavillion wing is run down and needs refurbishment. The bathrooms are very old with manky shower curtains over a bath with no plug. They require modernisation. The carpets are old and stained. There is mildew on the walls of the lobby and very dated furniture there. We were there three nights. On day one the cleaner kept banging repeatedly on the door until I got out if the shower to answer, thinking there was an emergency. The next day we went out all day and got back to at 4 pm to find no one had made the beds. There was a fridge with nothing in the mini bar, and a kettle but no tea or coffee or even cups. Not asking for high end facilities at this price but coffee making facilities and room cleaning are fairly basic and I would expect that from a Sofitel

    The pool and garden were great as was the main and original Winter Palace wing which we were able to visit and whose restaurants we dined at.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Serene peaceful quality stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A fine hotel. Gardens are kept beautifully, and tastefully decorated for Christmas. Swimming pool sparkly. Rooms in Pavillion part were good and kept clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Stay at the Winter Palace was part of a bigger trip we planned, it was always meant to be a special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could do with some low level maintainence, especially in the Door department, too many squeaky doors that could be fixed with 2 drops of oil on the hinges, a little oil applied to the door locks would avoid the need to slam doors as well, this is only common sense as not only will the doors work better, the oil also serves as damage limitation, giving a longer lifespan to the property and possibly saving on bigger repairs at a later date.

    The hotel is everything it is said to be. The best in Luxor and central to everything. The staff were as ever courteous and could not do enough for the guests, always with a smile. Choice at breakfast was totally adequate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.3
    I won't come again, though the staff deserve a special mention for excellence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with 2 Single Beds with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired, worn hotel. Dirty stained carpets. Splats of dead mosquitoes on bedroom walls. Dirty broken bathroom ceiling. Noise of Luxor close by. I moved after my pre-paid nights to the Hilton and felt like I'd been transported to Paradise in comparison.

    Staff are wonderful. Beautiful gardens. Very central in Luxor and close to Temple. Cheaper than winter palace but shared facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    A Garden of Eden on Earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    What my wife and I loved was the customer service. It was top notch. All the staff was amazing but one that stuck out above the rest was a gentleman named Rashedy Hassan Rashedy. He had a smile that could illuminate the darkest room. He was very welcoming, friendly and he complimented our stay there without exaggeration. Thank you Luxor Pavillion for giving us the privilege to meet y’all and y’all hosting us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Excellent - would certainly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with 1 King Bed with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good - but not outstanding.

    Great location. Very helpful staff. Beautiful gardens and pool. Excellent value for money - food and beverages reasonably priced. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: