Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Safir Hotel Cairo 5 stars

Midan El Missaha Square, Dokki, Cairo, Egypt

#34 of 212 hotels in Cairo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4432 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is very good , in center area , the staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just old hotel but all works very well inside

    This hotel is very good , in center area , the staff are very friendly and lovely, exelente breakfast ,and so clean , i do recomend to you this hotel!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.3
    Second stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being called at 10 pm, waking us up to ask when we were leaving!!!??? Location is not the best for restaurants (unless you are a fast food junkie) and there is no alcohol served in the hotel, if you so desire. Streets around the area are very dirty and can be dangerous with sidewalks cracked and broken and with cars, vans, trucks, motorcycles crowding everyone to get by (because no one walks on the dangerous sidewalks).

    Great breakfast. Reception staff were very professional and efficient. Close to Dukki Metro.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Staaff and Staff and Staff from beginning the reception and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staaff and Staff and Staff from beginning the reception and check in staff were excellent. I was on medical trip and made operation and spent 4 days to recover the housekeeping lady name Amal Abdulraheem I charge of my floor was so kind checking on me and providing me with any requests I needed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.1
    Dukki stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Take care when booking with hotel’s travel desk. Better service in the Blue Pool café.

    Easy walk to Metro Dukki. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Good, generous breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    The wake-up service: so I didn't miss the breakfast) It...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is not that large. A single XL one I guess?

    The wake-up service: so I didn't miss the breakfast) It is clean and has swimming pool. It does match the 5-star standard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    It was a Nice Experience
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Lobby Lounge was hot, It needs to be a little bit cooler

    The Room was good beds were comfortable and the bathrooms well cleaned The Breakfast was excellent everything fresh and tasty The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    3.8
    I'll come back only for the bread!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Balcony door broken, Room not very clean, undies hanging on my room balcony on my last night.

    Variety of options for breakfast. Bread and Coffee for Breakfast are nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.7
    Good room , sickening and horrible food/buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After having the breakfast at the hotel , I felt extremely sick and I was vomiting for hours , I even had to get an injection to calm my stomach down , abosulotley horrendous , DO NOT eat at the hotel , and FYI I had nothing to eat the day before or even after , which is why i am even more sure it was the breakfast I had , from eggs to sausages and more

    The room is nice and comfortable and I enjoyed the balcony .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.3
    Love the place - will come back - have been here many times!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Housekeeping does not interest when you want your room to be made - they do it at their own timing. Some staff ignore one. Internet was terrible - even though I paid extra for higher rate - didn't change anything. Additional payment is NOT worth it. Hotel must improve their internet!!!

    Love this place - especially the breakfast. Some of the staff need training from customer relations :-) Seem to ignore one. But majority is very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    I'll come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My check in took long time

    Overall everything was nice the reception was so nice specially Kareem such nice guy and well trained .Breakfast was amaizing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We specifically booked a non-smoking room and when we checked in we were asked to take a smoking room because the non-smoking rooms weren't ready. Of course we refused. We wer put into a non-smoking room with a different bedding configuration than we requested, not a big deal, but the room had no towels. Again, not a big deal but it took until 8.00pm that night and 3 calls to reception to get them. Housekeeping did not come to our room for two days and again it took 2 trips to reception to have them make up our room. Again, no towels and another 3 calls to reception to get them. It's not the end of the world but at a 5 star hotel this should not be an issue.

    The rooms are quiet and clean. The pool facility was good and there are plenty of bathrooms around the hotel. We were allowed to check out late and use the pool while we waited for a late flight out of Cairo.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast buffet was very rich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast area was a bit too cool.

    Breakfast buffet was very rich. The pool on top of first floor was clean and about medium size. The receptionist promisd to bring our post cards to the post office. Guest relation manager was contacting us about the stay. We got an upgrade to a bigger room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    It is my fourth stay in the Hotel and it was great as usual ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water drainage in the toilet.

    It is my fourth stay in the Hotel and it was great as usual , hence I woul like to take this opportunity to express my special thanks to Mr. Ashraf , Mrs. Eman and Mr. Yahya in Front Office for their hospitality & professionalism as well as special thanks to Mr. Ahmed Omar in Food and Beverage Management and his team in addition to the Executive Chef for the great food as well as the excellent service in the Restaurant during the Breakfast ( the variety, quality & the taste of the food have been compined to make it the best breakfast in comparison to many five stars hotels) And to not forget the whole staff in the Hotel for their kindness.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location.. The services in the hotel is perfect.. The staff are very helpful and friendly.. Specially Mrs. Christen in the front desk.. The Break fast wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Courteous efficient staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All exc@

    Courteous efficient staff; wonderful bfasts; lovely clean swimming pool; perfect location.I just wish I cvld have stayed longer. Highly recommended esp after a long flight.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In spite off I showed up my local Egyptian ID and I,m Egyptian, they didn't allow me to pay the rate fees determined for Egyptian. The paid rate was very expensive comparing to rate in which I can obtained if I booked myself directly via telephone or direct contact. This issue should be treated as all local persons will escape from using Booking.com for booking in their countries.

    Staying generally good, staff was helpful and provide assistance

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.5
    Calm hotel with good stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have a nice rooms comfortable and good location and nice cafe at night.

    Really the managers are very nice and there meeting with us was so great and they help us so much.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    it was a great experience for me staying in this marvelous...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was a great experience for me staying in this marvelous hotel. starting from the hotel staff (Mohammed Hosni at the business center , at the reception Eman and Ahmed and Yousra the room service lady. The room was clean, the bed was totally comfortable. And the breakfast buffet was excellent. i really do recommend anyone to stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Staff, breakfast, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden taxes never been mentioned in my booking.com Swimming pool were busy and lots of ppl smoking shisha which I found it very ugly

    Staff, breakfast, location..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Most staff were attentive, wanted to make sure we were happy...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you need to use a computer during your stay, the business center would charge 40 egeyptian lounds for every 15 minutes ! Even though WiFi is freely available !

    Most staff were attentive, wanted to make sure we were happy with the stay. The massage therapist was very good. They served good coffee during breakfast. When I made a couple of complaints regarding the availability of certain items they rectified the situation swiftly and were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    The hotel good every thing is good, breakfast, cleanliness,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water temperature not steady in the path room. The hotel price and taxes are very expensive compared to other countries.

    The hotel good every thing is good, breakfast, cleanliness, staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Clean and great room services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The gym depressed me, It's very very very small and there aren't enough equipments to workout all of your muscles. In the room, some lightings do not work.

    Clean and great room services.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.2
    Will not book here until renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old hotel. Needs an upgrade urgently. Very expensive.there are much cheaper hotels and newly renovated hotels that are cheaper with more to offer for half the price.

    Staff was friendly and helpful and that was all that was good about this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    Prices need to be reconsidered.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Located in an old neighbour with many locals of different backgrounds. - The food is really bad and expensive. 280 EGP for an open buffet! While the food quality is below average. - 27% taxes. I know this applies everywhere in Egyptian Hotels, but when the room price is already high, consequently the tax amount will be high too.

    - Hot water in the bathroom. - Cleanesss of bathroom. - loby is a nice place to sit. - Availability of taxi drivers, Uber, and Careem operating in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Unexpected stay.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is very poor and the bathroom water drain from the floor need to get drained and to establish a drain hole in the floor. Otherwise nothing.

    Friendly staff and very good attitude to help guests and to present any thing for let them comfort especially Mr.Kareem & Mr.Yehya both from reception office as will as evening shift manager on duty Ms.Mona. Thank for all of 3 persons I mentioned and I appreciate your effort , thank you very much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    The place is very friendly and comfortable and feels...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very friendly and comfortable and feels relaxing. I have tried four other hotels before I go there this one is the most one I have enjoyed staying in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    We keep coming back to Safir every year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music is sometimes too cheesy. But that is ok with some people.

    We keep coming back to Safir every year. Friendly and professional staff. Mohamed and Eman are great 👌🏽

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    The hotel staff were all very friendly, and went above and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nope.

    The hotel staff were all very friendly, and went above and beyond to make sure we had a comfortable time. Always helpful, always asking if we needed anything else. Answered our questions and fulfilled all of our needs. Yehia was a great help with check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Very clean room and polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath was not able to close properly. So couldn't fill the water in the bath. And the switch for the light seemed broken so couldn't turn off the light

    Very clean room and polite staff. Comfortable place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Stay at Safir Hotel Cairo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever

    From the moment I got there staff were attentive, cordial and professional. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were excellent. I am a solo traveler and female and I felt completely safe. I had looked at other properties - and am very glad I chose Safir

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall good , but the people at the reception need to be...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall good , but the people at the reception need to be more responsive and cooperative they are moody and that much responsive, but the hotel services is good and the other staff are so nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    We found it good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it good value for money. It had a good breakfast selection. We also liked that it had a coffee shop on site, a pool and an ATM just outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    A Pleasent & Relacing Time at Safir.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Liked the hotel proxemity walking distance to the Cairo Opera. Enjoyed the Swimming Pool. Loved The Dinner by the Pool Side. Admired the Smiling Staff. Also appreciated the follow up by Mrs Abir, The Human Resources Manager.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable atmospher.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Feeling safe in the place is very important. Unfortunately I lost one valuable bag in out side hotel taxi last visit in march, so the safir hotel general manager asked the department of security to investigate to help me to return it back although it was hard mission, but they succeeded and contacted me to tell me that they caught the taxi and my bag will be in safe with them until I come back. I went to the same safir hotel this visit last week and I got my bag. I really appreciate them for their helping me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big hotel, with a very complete breakfast. Employees nice and helpful. The room was big, with a very confortable bed and a great bathroom. The temperature of the building and room was always nice and adjustable to our needs, great facilities including spa, jacuzzi and pool. The restaurant works really well with very good food. Security at the entry of the building, very fast to pass through. Everything was nice and we fully recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower had many changes on the temperature, changing between warm and cold water randomly. Everything else was great

    Big hotel, with a very complete breakfast. Employees nice and helpful. The room was big, with a very confortable bed and a great bathroom. The temperature of the building and room was always nice and adjustable to our needs, great facilities including spa, jacuzzi and pool. The restaurant works really well with very good food. Security at the entry of the building, very fast to pass through. Everything was nice and we fully recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Very good hotel in a mediocre location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could use some diversification. The hotel is located in a very crowded area, neighboring streets are not clean.

    Very good service, well trained staff. Clean and renovated bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Quiet n clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff coz some of them are noisy and disturub visitors. Oneof ladies opened the room with her card while we were inside the toom.

    Quietness and cleanliness and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Hotel were you feel home
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Worm welcome, excellent check in and check out from the hotel reception. All the Staff are excellent special thanks to Eiman, Mohammad, kareem (Reception), Ahmad Anwar (Reservation) and Najla (Housekeeping).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfort staying, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood was a bit dangerous at nights.

    It was clean and comfort. Near to metro station . Also the pool was great to drink some coffe at evenings !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    felling home. excellent service and excellent care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The warm welcome and excellent check in and check out from the hotel reception and excellent treatment from all the staff. Good clean and will organised services .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    Kinda good but need more fixes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was not all professional and nice.

    the hotel was great but the location was disturbing the place was good service was good but the treatment from some of the employees their was unbearable really.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room aircon controls needs to be fixed and updated.

    The staff is amazing. Clean and has all the facilities for a comfortable stay. Food offered across its 4+ resturants and caffees are suitable for different tastes and options to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi was not working , the spa room was old.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable the breakfast was super , the massage was great . And the price for food inside the hotel was good not expensive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Best hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was good i mean it, staff was great food was perfect or more than that, i booked breakfast only but i had dinner and lunch in the hotel i loved the food there, people are extremely helpful with a big smile always on there faces.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    a woman swimming with her clothes, although not allowed by the posted hotel policy but no one told her anything. i just did not go much to the pool with the family due to this

    Room was excellent and big - we were a family of 4 with an extra bed. Breakfast was super. hotel is very clean. if you need any more cleaning just ask for it. employees were very friendly and very helpful - we stayed for 7 nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Fun short trip to Cairo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent but lacks change for 6 days it was exactly the same. Rooms need update, the furniture is a bit old, toilet and bath tup needs update they are very dated. The security people in the entrance as some how rude and selective with checking. Some people they will not adk them to put there bags on the security machine for others they will allow them to pass!? I think it all or no one.

    Hotel lobby is still good looking, receiption desk staff, room service and breakfast area staff are wonderful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No body helped us with our luggages once we arrived. There was a pluming issue in the bathroom that wetted the carpet. The mini-fridge in the room stinks. The location is a bit far from attractions.

    The breakfast was very good. The desk staff is friendly. The resturant by the pool is really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Hey - just do not think about different place, this one is GREAT! :-)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Truly GREAT place for staying, relaxing, sleeping, eating, enjoying beautiful Cairo. I cannot complain about anything, so my rate is 10/10 or even more... :-) Come here, it is really perfect Place. You can feel here, like at home, even, when You are missing People You love, being here alone... But You can work here, because Wi-Fi is also very good. Have a good one! :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.6
    So-so
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t work well, bed uncomfortable and sheets old, towels old, housecleaning didn’t replace certain towels and soaps so had to call them. The hotel taxi guy was trying to squeeze you for money and upsell you like a street seller, not like a hotel employee and representative.

    Pretty good breakfast and nice cafe and servers

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel and facilities, maybe not so good for foreigners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was overlooked by many surrounding buildings, so as a foreigner in Cairo I felt uncomfortable there, and very stared at in general in the hotel.

    Spa has lots of facilities, all included. Great buffet breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.0
    Personell at poolbar and cleaning were nice and professional
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But staff under equipped and under paid and under staffed No vacuum cleaning And also poor ability to keep away mukkabarath / state security officials who were sneaking around to spy about our business activities. Breakfast not first class- no freshly squeezed orange juice or walnuts (for example) to offer.

    Personell at poolbar and cleaning were nice and professional

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Great service, business-like hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed to be focused more towards Arab clients taste than westerners which is perhaps understandable. Geographically central but felt a long way from anywhere, but that is Cairo.

    Nice clean room, good breakfast buffet & WiFi- free late check out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful staff and great location near to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning need to improve a bit but everything else are really good

    The rooms were really good and fair enough for the price , the staff are nice and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Everything was great it’s really my best hotel in Egypt. The business center at the hotel provided me the best service spatially Mr. Mohammed Hosny manager of business center helped me a lot thank you so much Mr. Mohammed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.3
    Just FAIR.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I booked my self and my 13 years old kid but the hotel is considering kids with 13 year old + 1 day as Adults and they charged extra money (US$15 per night) for that. My comments to the hotel was "You can ask for more money but a 13 years by is a Kid and not an Adult". They insisted that above 13 years old human are Adults !

    as the hotel is getting older the staff are doing their best. Staff are nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Not much more than staff and cleanses of rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has very limited facilities. The neighborhood is horrible and very depressing. 5 Stars rating is deceiving, as well as photos and customer reviews.

    Not much more than staff and cleanses of rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed with my wife and a 6 year old son and we were very comfortable in every means. Hotel staff was very polite and the bell boys were all very well behaved. Breakfast was great and with a lot of varieties.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Really recommend to stay if you would like to spend your holiday in Cairo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast, pool, location and room size

    This is really a five-star hotel with a very good price. It is old but perfect. Wi fi is much better than many European hotels. Good security and safe area. Rooms size are American style, maximum 30 minutes driving to Egyptian museum or 45 min walking, about one hour to Giza, 30 min to main mosques and 35 to Ibn Toloon mosque, maximum one hour to airport. If you would like to have a good price and safe food outside hotel look for "Chicken Tikka" which is 10 min walking to Hotel. A MacDoland's is just by the hotel if you are American and MacDoland's fan.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Crystal Staff were amazing and helpful as we had a business...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Price is a bit high . parking problem

    Crystal Staff were amazing and helpful as we had a business meeting there and staff were great . Special Thanks to Mr. Wael , Ahmad & Israa

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner kept acting up and it was so loud.

    The service was amazing.. The staff was very helpful and the hospitality was great. Breakfast was amazing with huge variety. the room was well lit and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    nice hotel at a peaceful location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hotel sourroundings are not good, full of dirt, not having five star facilities. they are not providing full toiletteries only a shampoo, conditioner and a soap was there. shower pressure is not good. no fruit tray as shown in the picture, not much english channels in the tv.

    like the breakfast very well. reception staff are good. location is very peaceful. security system is fantastic. plenty of taxi available in front of the hotel, but uber is cheap. wifi worked very well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    You're supposed to tip for everything, and mostly, for nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel's street and its neighbors are dirty and virtually no sidewalks. People walk in the middle of the streets getting confused with the cars, which park anywhere. But I did not feel insecure, even early in the evening, back to the hotel. As for the receptionists, the hotel is very large and the contact ends impersonally. So there is no help with trasnsfers, tourism, purchase of train tickets, etc. For this you have to go to the tourist desk in the hotel lobby. The city tour and the tour to the piramedes are reasonably priced, however transfers to / from the airport are exaggerated expensive. As for cleaning the outbuildings, it gets a bit to be desired. The biggest problem is not due to the hotel but the culture of the country. The tip culture. You're supposed to tip for everything, and mostly for nothing. Even a service hired and paid at the mentioned hotel desk, such as a city tour, you are expected to pay tips for everyone involved in your tour, driver, guides, etc.

    Good hotel, good value for money. Very good breakfast. There is an ATM and a changing desk inside the hotel as well as some souvenir shops. The hotel is within walking distance of a small square where you find a MacDonald's (remember they do not serve anything with pork) and, in a side street about 150 meters away, a grocery store (clean and presentable). You can walk from the hotel to the Egyptian Museum and Tahrir Square (something like 2.5 km).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Furniture is old especially the sofa. 2. Quality of bed sheets is average.

    Good and friendly staff. Wifi is efficient. Room cleaning was good. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nice and clean rooms with balcony. The breakfast buffet is great choice to start your day. The location is within a very crowded and busy district, hence, plan your trips and account for traffic jams.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Stayed 8 times, generally good place, good quality, but service needs some improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had asked for an early arrival (12:00 noon), did not get a negative reply, so I assume it is o.k. When I arrived, my room was not ready - had to wait over 1 hour. When room was ready, it was NOT what I had booked (first they wanted to give me a smoker-room. Had asked for NON-Smoking! It was a standard single room. Had to wait again, no welcome juice :-(. At the end I had the same room that I had booked, but not poolside as asked for... all in all, not well done.

    Location, size of room, breakfast buffet; price - quality comparison;

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar serving beer and wine. No good restaurants found nearby although hotel restaurants were good.

    Very comfortable room and nice breakfast buffet. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    there were chocolates to welcome us
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the check in time was 1400hrs. i checked in at 1700 hrs and were told to wait for another 30 minutes as the room was not ready. this was very bad

    there were chocolates to welcome us

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    the staff was very friendly & helpful, also food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just was hoping there was a Bar for a drink & some music.

    the staff was very friendly & helpful, also food was great, the hotel is quite & super clean, location was great with sheesha places around, definitely it will be my place every time i'm in Cairo.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    The Asian restaurant was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked two rooms to sleep 5 and the beds in the double room are bigger than a twin bed and smaller than a double bed. Our kids had great difficulty sharing the beds and our youngest ended up sleeping with us. If you are used to two people sharing a small "double" bed then it would be fine. Our kids were not and it caused some difficulty.

    The Asian restaurant was amazing. My family loved it. The chef took such pride in his work. The staff all around were very helpful. The breakfast was quite good. It kept all 5 of us very satisfied. The hotel was able to provide us connecting rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    -
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a massage which was absolutely awful. Absolute waste of my money and time. Someone should really train the lady who does the massages. I had to stop her several times to show her what to do. She did not have a clue on how to massage.

    Comfy bed, hotel was great overall.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    It was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't rate this hotel as a 5 stars but as a good 4 stars.

    It was clean. The breakfast was good. The staff was frienfly. The service was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    A Comfortable and Joyful experience of Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing which bothered me was their old phone sets in room which were not working sometimes as they should.

    Their welcoming and kind staffs were the most benefit of our staying. They met all our needs and its free of charge spa facility for guests was fully relaxing. Buffet breakfast was superb with two different cold and hot buffets. Rooms and their facilities were very clean and comfortable. Housekeeping team was quick to respond to our requests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    if you are looking for the relax and good location , don't hesitate to book in this great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you are looking for the relax and good location , don't hesitate to book in this great hotel , warm welcomes and supper cooperation from the front desk specially Mr. Ashraf , Ms. Merfet and Mrs. Christian , many options in the breakfast .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    if you are looking for the relax and good location , don't hesitate to book in this great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you are looking for the relax and good location , don't hesitate to book in this great hotel , warm welcomes and supper cooperation from the front desk specially Mr. Ashraf , Ms. Merfet and Mrs. Christian , many options in the breakfast .

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Safir Hotel Cairo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: