Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx 5 stars

1 Alexandria Desert Road Giza, Giza, Cairo, Egypt

#148 of 212 hotels in Cairo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 390 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.5
    Proximity to pyramids
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being confronted by late night room Service waiter questioning the value of the tip - I took it back. Front reception lady on check out - dismissive and disinterested. Downstairs gym and sauna was unattended and ghostly empty. Terrible meats for breakfast. Room not maintained and showing many signs of age and disrepair. Certainly not of Mercury international standard. Bed at an angle. Unstocked fridge and no coffee facilities.

    Proximity to pyramids Italian restaurant Lunch menu Front Reception gentleman

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.5
    The breakfast was good, plenty of variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was always busy due to the tour groups and they were always running out of bowls and spoons ( I believe the tourist industry has been quiet over the past few years ). The evening buffet was overpriced. We had issues with the safety deposit box in our room and the fridge didn't really cool down, also the room lighting was poor.

    The breakfast was good, plenty of variety. The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    We had an excellent view of the pyramids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chaos at breakfast with all the tour groups, the staff need to be better organised.

    We had an excellent view of the pyramids. The breakfast buffet has an excellent choice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Near to Pyramids and good price with no Wifi available in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No WiFi available in the rooms except lobby/restaurant areas. Lobby area like a market so many people sitting always. Restaurants have only very limited options. Breakfast too crowded and had to wait in the queue for eggs. Lady at the reception was rude and so busy to attend for customer requests.

    Location very near to Pyramids and reasonable price. Sales Officer Isra was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room was very dirty with strains everywhere.

    Great location . We enjoyed the pool and also the layout of the suite was very nice.We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    4.2
    I wouldn’t choose it again neither recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is massive and not mantained. Room with pyramid view was a joke. The standard room was smelling badly of cigaret. The staff at reception was useless and not nice in general. Wifi was terrible. The coffee machine was broken or off service everymorning. is too big, too crawded. You just dont feel cosy or well treated.

    Bed was confortable and the guy at the swimming pool was really nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    3.8
    Extremely disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Suite with 2 connected rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -There is no room service as they say -Staff at the counter were incredibly rude -They would lie to us -The wifi did not work for 2 nights and they made no other arrangements -They almost interrogated our friend because he has a professional camera (Really, it was just a DSLR). - The restaurant's food was terrible and processed -The lobby had no electric sockets -People were smoking indoors in the 5-star hotel

    The hotel claims to be 5-star. Out of all the people I encountered, only 1 was really attentive. But this was only after I was very upset about the service and she made amendments. She offered only part-refund. -There is no room service as they say -Staff at the counter were incredibly rude -They would lie to us -The wifi did not work for 2 nights and they made no other arrangements -They almost interrogated our friend because he has a professional camera (Really, it was just a DSLR). - The restaurant's food was terrible and processed -The lobby had no electric sockets -People were smoking indoors in the 5-star hotel It's ok for a hotel, if they said they were 2 stars. Hygiene was terrible. Dusty surface in the restaurant. They begged me to not review badly on Booking.com. They ended up getting "too apologetic" after they knew I was extremely upset the night before after being lied to by the staff. It was simple things like "can I get some extra coffees?" or "Why is the wifi not working?". We had to work-- so we were really affected by this stay. I would say, if you go here-- it does look good in some ways. I would personally never come here again, even after I was offered a discounted honeymoon suite for next time. Living here caused a lot of stress and I would say, only stay here if you are out and just want something that looks nice on the surface. I'm reviewing because this place really made me unhappy and ruined my mood on my holiday. They have a lot of professionalism to gain. Two things were good: -They refunded a bit. -They apologised -They made an effort to make me happy after I was upset (Especially a lady who is in management) - Close to Giza Personally, I would not stay here again. I went to discuss the problems with the head manager. He was apologetic too, but I didn't feel any generous remorse. I spoke to the people who work here too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    The place was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service. I was promised pyramids view and there was a big palm tree in the property hiding the only pyramid. Customers should know that. In Egypt smoking is allowed inside. I guess you can’t do anything about it but still it is not nice.

    The place was clean. The staff was nice even though slow. It is a convenient place to stay to see the pyramids.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.2
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another old hotel,again poor breakfast.I was supposed chick in at 2 pm,I was there at 9pm, king size bed room was not ready!!!!and as I was very tired I had to take twin room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    feeling pleasure and secure :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't say, after saving my car, I am really indebted to them

    the security was more, more than excellent, my car was about to be stolen, but due to the vigilance of the security they saved it, really thanks, the story is : because the number plate was previously stolen, I was prevented from parking in the hotel park( by law), so I parked in the street in front of the security, who kept a vigilant eye on the car, and when a winch tried to take the car, they spotted him immediately, stopped him and called me , really thanks. :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.2
    No Wifi in room and the reception is unstable in lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wifi in room and the reception is unstable in lobby. The staff were not quite helpful. The guy helped to arrange the taxi tried to help the taxi driver to rip off the guests. I saw the cleaner use the towel on the bathroom floor as tea towel on the cup i handed to him. He used it in my bathroom and I went over to ask him a question and happened to see it . He was a bit panicked. From then on I never used their cups again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Perfect for ashtrays
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is clear that the hotel is past its best days, nowadays it needs a full refurbishment and also a change in management. In my view, there are various negative aspects: Location: although the hotel is very close to the pyramids (so the view is great) it is also located by an extremely busy junction so it is very noisy and the air pollution is terrible. Dirty: there was a food tray left for many hours in the corridor, the carpets/walls have stains. There are probably too few employees so they cannot cope with the work. Leak: the bathroom had a leak coming from the roof so the bathroom floor was constantly wet. Restaurants: staff does not speak any other language rather than Arabic (it was a nightmare even to ask for basic things such as "orange juice", "spoon", "fork", etc. I ended up using a photo dictionary to show things I needed (also in other areas in the city) No WiFi: the only WiFi connection is very precarious and only works (when it does) by the reception so the reception area is always packed with people desperately trying to get some signal. Smell: by far this was the worst. By some really stupid idea, the hotel authorises smoking inside so the whole reception area is littered with bins and ashtrays and it stinks cigarette. If you need to use the WiFi, you will be forced to sit/stand near someone smoking. The employees (from the shops/taxi stand inside also smoke) and the tourists (mostly Chinese) smoke very heavily so if you are a non-smoker, you will end up feeling like you've become an ashtray. There are two restaurants close enough so it is very likely you will be eating and smoking passively. If you go to the cafe by the reception, it is 100% chance you will smoke passively. This is totally unacceptable!!!

    The location is fantastic, it is very close to the pyramids - I could see two of them from my window as well as from the swimming pool area and the bar at the top of the hotel. Note this can also be a negative point - if you want to visit the other locations, there is no real public transport and as Cairo is a big city, you will end up spending 40 min or more just to get to the city centre. Restaurants: the food was very good. The swimming pool looked nice, especially at night, but I didn't use it. I found the pollution smell in the area quite bad. To be honest, these are the only positive aspects of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    Location , was very close to pyraminds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We expected in 5star hotel the room would be more clean. We requested in our booking for double bed and finally gave us room with 2 single beds. Check in took us too much time, about 20-25 mins for two rooms, although we were the alone in the reception that time.

    Location , was very close to pyraminds. Breakfast was very good and full.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    3.8
    To be honest nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel employees isnt organize The Maid is worse we left some clothes for Iron fill out the paper work and nothing happen also inside the have no iron Make me very upset I had to go with dinner with my friends with out iron my clothes

    To be honest nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.3
    Worst hotel - Dirty, smell cigarette everywhere and not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst hotel ever. People smoke everywhere. Whether ur in the lobby or the restaurant, the hotel allow the guest to smoke everywhere. The room even smell cigarette. The staff are not that nice, especially in the spa staff. I dont find the hotel safe. Security doesn’t check properly.

    The location was good as its close to the pyramids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    I had a very comfortable stay with many good things. Helpful front desk but slow to make repairs to
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing really wrong with the hotel. It catered to large tour groups so it was very busy at breakfast and then almost deserted during the day. This meant there was little to do in the way of activities. This can be good or not depending on your tastes. Service in the restaurants was sometimes a bit slow . Because not a lot of people ate in the restaurants at lunch and dinner they did not have a lot of staff.

    No they were not. The view of the pyramids was a bonus. The pool area was very nice and the rooms were good and comfortable. Being able to order a la carte meals and eat anywhere was really good and no extra service charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Decent property and location - not a friendly hotel though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got a fairly frosty welcome when we checked in - the person who checked us in also didn't think it was necessary to give us directions to the room and let us fend for ourselves. The building is not high-rise - the building site probably had foundations of a pyramid that the Mercure group decided to reuse, so it was somewhat a labyrinth of corridors and doors that was difficult to find your room in. Got to our room eventually - was a clean room, neat bathroom. Not too many lights in the room, so not bright. TV and phone didn't work, had to request the reception repeatedly to fix these. Room service was ok - breakfast at Romeo and Juliet was a difficult affair, since they did not replenish the dishes. Also, I could not get the plug points to charge up my phone. Wifi at the reception was pretty bad - I had better wifi in Luxor and Aswan than in Cairo

    We got into the hotel at about 2 pm - right at check-in time. Location was good - you can see the pyramids from the pool and the sky bridges on the property. Breakfast Day 1 was good - lots of options - eggs, falafels, lots of breads, beans, pastries, juice - good spread. The guys at security were very friendly and helpful, and made up for the grumpy folks at the reception. There are shops in the reception that had some nice souvenirs for a pretty penny.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.3
    The bed was comfortable , the location was very suitable for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was extremely far from the exit and entrance , bathroom draining was blocked , shower was leaking , floor was not clean , the smell of the room was very bad

    The bed was comfortable , the location was very suitable for me

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    3.3
    It was tolerable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mosquitoes inside the hotel, no internet in the room, toiletries missing, unmaintained room, especially the shower room. The front desk staff, not helpful when you reported something. Phone not working, not enough light in the room, lamp shade not available.

    Souvenir shops inside the hotel and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    This is not a 5* hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feels old, multiples issues in the bathroom. The Air dryer i got could kill someone, and if you shower, the places floods (old joint)

    Nice rooms, working spa, comfortable, very good price overall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    A good start and end to a trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I spent my first and last night of my 14 day trip here, with the last day spent mooching around the hotel waiting for my late afternoon airport transfer. The spa is well worth a visit!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    4.2
    It was ok. We hardly Durand time in the hotel instead we went back to our original hotel in Giza
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I disliked the room being so far away. I’d ask for a change in room they said it will take 2-4 hours which I’d think it was crazy. I paid for the Pyramid view and my view wasn’t as it was on the picture. I also disliked that none of the rooms have complementary WiFi. We live in a world where internet is part of us so not having it was very uncomfortable.

    We liked our bar tender. He was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    3.3
    not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charges are ridiculous, you will end up paying so much even for few minutes of early check in and check out, rude staff in the reception and bell boys, everything needs s refresh button in this hotel.

    Extra charges are ridiculous, you will end up paying so much even for few minutes of early check in and check out, rude staff in the reception and bell boys, everything needs s refresh button in this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.4
    Someone of staff come to our room without all, try open door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone of staff come to our room without all, try open door. it was very lucky I didn’t sleep. I was in shock, my husband too. Take care for yourself in this hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.0
    Too close to the pyramides
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no internet in the room, only in hall. Even though, the internet in the hall is too weak. Air conditioner doesn't work well.

    Too close to the pyramides

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.8
    Not to my expectations for my birthday; some staff were nice but overall not a great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt like the front desk was not very helpful at all to any of my concerns or questions. I stayed there for 3 nights and requested for early check in and when I arrived my room was not ready nor could they give me a time frame when it would be ready. We did not check in till almost 4 pm and when we did I noticed that one my room card they had crossed out and changed my room a few times. The next night at 11:30PM 2 males tried to break down the door to get into the room that they clearly had key access to since it did unlock the door but because we had the chain lock on the door they couldn't get all the way in the room. When we informed them we were in the room and it was ours the man continued to try and force his way in to the point of breaking off some on the wall frame and plaster until he finally left. We called down to the front desk immediately after it happened and they did nothing about it. They just said that it was not a usual thing to happen, which made me feel like they really did not care about their guest safety. They did not have any management come speak to us or even check on us the next day to ensure our safety. I already had issues with a lost bag from the airport and now this happening at the hotel did not make my stay any better. The next day after yet again feeling ignored when going down to the front desk to ask for assistance with my lost luggage claim I had to request to speak to a manager about the attempted break in the previous night and to my surprise he knew NOTHING about it! And when I told him in detail what happened and showed him the plaster still on the floor in smaller pieces now resulting from a attempted clean up he looked shocked and again stated that that was not a common thing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    4.2
    The staff at the restaurant serving breakfast were very kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a 5 stars hotel, we expected something more fancy. The hotel was not renovated and there is no lift to reach the rooms (other than service lift). It took us around 10 minutes to reach our room, and none of the reception staff informed us that there was a shortcut way. We chose the hotel as it is walking distance from the pyramids and to avoid the traffic in Cairo, however when we reached we realized that walking was not the best option as the area is too crowded, and as there are no other touristic areas in the area other than the pyramids, we were stuck in traffic while moving around Cairo.

    The staff at the restaurant serving breakfast were very kind and helpful. The second day I wanted to eat a cheese which I tried the day before, but it was not on the buffet, still one waiter got me some from the kitchen, which I really appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    3.8
    Extremly dirty in the room and everywhere in the hotel.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremly dirty in the room and everywhere in the hotel. There in no more 2* for this hotel.therebly dirty and not professional place.i would never go back there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Four star hotel with five star facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had such a great time which made us change our booking for our last 4 days in Cairo from another hotel to mercure. Good experience. Clean room with all the facilities, specially heating. Comfy beds. Clean bathroom. Great room service. Friendly staff. And the breakfast was nice as well with a lot of variety. Would totally recommend it to people.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    I liked the Breakfast and the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn´t like the smoke smell everywhere in the hotel. People has been smoking in the lounge restaurant, places that it is not window. So everywhere smells cigarettes. Also the staff hotel can not recommend any tourist guide or program. If they recommend they will give you the expensive choices. Please try do not take the taxi as well, because the prices will be so expensive. The good choice is UBER (pretty reliable).

    I liked the Breakfast and the pool. The room is ok, but it needs some renovation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    3.8
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel organizes weddings and parties outside in the garden, and they do not control the volume of music. During our stay there was a wedding with such a loud disco type of music the entire night

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    2.9
    Extremely disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no WiFi in the rooms, only 1 outlet to plug in your phone, no international calls from your room. The bathroom tile was old and there were mold spots. When checking I️ to my room there was a hotel guest dirty room service plates literally in front of my door. They say a hotel shuttle is available on the site but it is not the case it’s a limo service for $45 USD. The breakfast buffet food is not good at all.

    The size of the room and bathroom was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    4.6
    Was nt bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurants around or shops , too far from Cairo city , hotel needs improve its standard and cleanliness , need change all the furniture and need improve food quality

    Just place is closer to pyramids

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.0
    Reasonable hotel, don’t expect much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast: they don’t have brewed coffee, only instant one. Other than that, food was not tasty. The place was overcrowded and messed up, huge queues, cutleries missing. I didn’t like the breakfast. Hotel is located in Giza, which is close to the pyramids but it’s a very poor and dirty area, if I go again to Cairo I would rather to stay closer to Nilo River or downtown.

    The room is ok, bed is confortable whereas a bit small. Hotel is located very near to the pyramids.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    4.6
    Terrible experience. Wouldnt recommend this place to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checking in was slow and the reception staff kept talking to other customers. We were tired from our long flight and arrived at 9 pm ++ so we were ready to lie on our bed. It took us almost 30 minutes just to get our key. Then they didnt even call the bell boy to get our bags and didnt even show us where our room is. When we asked he kept pointing his finger at some random direction. Therefore it took us another 15 minutes (and we got lost) to reach our room. NO WIFI at room is ridiculous especially seeing that most of the customers are travellers who need internet. The breakfast was very bad and not much option. Services were slow and some of the customers resorted in taking forks and knives from other tables. Then when we came back from our trip and wanted to take our luggage (we gave the bags to the reception for storage and the guy said he will take care of it, but only then I realized he didnt put it in the storage room, instead he put it at the counter since morning.), the reception guy which was different from the morning guy was hesitant in giving us our bags. We were late and need to catch our train but the guy refused to give us our bags which was right behind the counter. He kept saying that the bell captain will handle us but nobody came. I was so mad as we we were in a rush but he kept refusing. I asked him to cross check our pasport with the bags as both bags have our bag tags with our full name and details, but he still refused to do so. After raising my voice and 20 minutes of waiting, the bell captain came and checked my passport with the bag in 10 seconds. He called us a taxi which came in 2 minutes and fortunately we managed to catch the train on time.

    The bell captain was helpful in settling our bags and calling us taxi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    Good room, good location and at a good price but let down by a lot of small detail.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast disappointing and tables not set. Both mornings spoons had to be washed up whilst the cereal went soggy. Lots of little things, like the TV not working and obviously had not been, difficult to get a taxi etc indicating poor management unlike Luxor. Same system, different results.

    Room was good, King Size Bed, Own patio and garden, comfortable chairs etc. Internet in reception area v good which had been a problem elsewhere except their much better sister hotel in Luxor which is why I chose the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.0
    Needs an update!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are big but many things in the room need to be fixed, cleaned, or replaced. The breakfast is not what you expect in a 5-star hotel: Bad coffee, limited choice of bread and meat platters. On the day we checked-out we were not allowed to use the swimming pool anymore, however our flight back home was late in the evening. After speaking to the manager this issue was being solved.

    This former 5-star hotel really needs an update! The staff has the best intentions, but are not professional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    3.8
    Very rude staff , poor management, I can't believe that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude staff and very bad reception, DO NOT GO THERE! It's not a 5 stars hotel, pay another 15 dollars and go to a decent 5 stars hotel

    Very rude staff , poor management, I can't believe that it's a 5 stars hotel , nothing good, nothing at all, food sucks, swimming pool is a sewage! Reception do not pick the phone, they lie, and they say anything to make you shut up and they never do anything for you !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    Warning don't risk going
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ..really complicated to reach now after the traffic new redir cation, not a single sign to the way to the hotel. The front disc are really not tactful, -partly rude- except ms Ghada but she cannot run it all. The prices were really high compared to bookings prices and that's why they were un welcoming and aroused fo the slightest detail to cancel our room which exactly happened.

    the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    A great place to retreat after a noisy busy day visiting the pyramids or the great Cairo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service at the swimming pool was a bit slow.

    Nice garden, large clean rooms with comfortable beds. View on the pyramids from the top bar. Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast with a very good assortment of tasty fresh products.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent hotel. Perfect location and view. Rooms very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough lights in the room so got a bit dark but ok. Breakfast and dinner could be better for vegetarians. Otherwise big selection of food. Could have more outside seating.

    Excellent location. Bed was very comfortable. Room view of pyramids was perfect. Service of staff were great! Pool was amazing! Rooftop cafe was wonderful. Excellent shisha and view!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.4
    The greenery and outdoors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool experience was very negative. The pool guard was not professional urging customers to leave early 1 and a half our before sunset. He was returning towels back and packing them as clean ones. There was a shortage of pool umbrellas and chaise long and the guard did not want to release any of the chairs or umbrellas that were available in the store. I never witness such a mediocre pool management. The yellow/white striped pool towels wet and dirty before even touching them. Stay away from the pool. I would not only consider the worker responsible but also the hotel management that allows such a mediocre service.

    The greenery and outdoors.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    8.8
    Nice Hotel for a short stay . It worth what I paid.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Parking has no direct access or short cut to the Hotel .

    The Front desk stuff are so friendly and helpful. The Location of the hotel. The room is very specious & has all what I need .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    2.5
    so unsatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    well. I really don't know where to start. the front office with their treatment. they act like they are the boss or you are of no value. they don't help you with anything. they let you carry the bag to your room. they don't distribute rooms fairly. as i'm Egyptian, they gave me a normal room but gave a big room with free wi fi to my Spanish friend. they don't allow you to bring any food to the hotel. no problem but the charge you big amount of money for everything. smell of the room is bad. i guess they don't clean the carpets. the location is so far from everything in cairo and giza. they claim they have a pyramid view. my room saw residential neighborhood. nothing was special. no entertainment and angry faces.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.3
    Good value for money as it is a very good location, but cleanliness is very bad and room is very old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, attention from staff, quality of the shower and acoustics in the room, very noisy!!

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Unforgettable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. The staff were welcoming, helpful and attentive. The location was great, we could see the pyramids from our room, wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    Accepted
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should consider some renovation of the rooms to make it more value for money

    Good location and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Suite with 2 connected rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Problem with safe, Room view was very bad, internet was very slow

    Location is good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    the garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi was terrible!...

    the garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was booked at $199.20 but when l got to the hotel they demanded $258 , l strongly feel cheated of my money

    the meals were excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.0
    little run down, could do with some overhaulling carpets etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    little run down, could do with some overhaulling carpets etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel have very good location, service also very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not enough

    The hotel have very good location, service also very good and the room is very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.8
    Taxi service very poor
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Taxi service very poor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    I liked the view of the Pyramids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the surroundings. No chance to walk out to meet the local or go to a restaurant alone.

    I liked the view of the Pyramids.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.3
    Furniture and accessories
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet and reception staff

    Furniture and accessories

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel is deteriorating. nice structure but not maintained.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.6
    Coud be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel is not well maintained, old furniture in bad conditions. Staffs without knowledge and services below expectation.

    location is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Outside Pool wasn’t cleaned
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside Pool wasn’t cleaned The currency exchange doesn’t have large money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Just to sleep ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, quality very poor WiFi terrible only in the lobby and very week.

    Some maintenance problems but they fixed fast. Location next to pyramids

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.0
    Great option for the pyramids..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lacked a bit of atmosphere, bar empty

    Great pool - good choice of rooms. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    It was really nice
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from Cairo

    The view and the weather

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures are not up to date, the food horrible. WiFi only on the lobby.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    The receptionists were all very professional and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The receptionists were all very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.2
    Breakfast items was too poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too dark

    Breakfast items was too poor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Generally good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location The restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    It was a wonderful experience, and will go back again and tell friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no WiFi connection in the rooms, only in the lobby. It was too difficult to download.

    Lovely food, with various choices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    2.9
    The worst
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.5
    Space, size of bed, shower and bath in the suite room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue with the TV,

    Space, size of bed, shower and bath in the suite room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.7
    Great location near the pyramids, but far away from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean

    Good service and breakfast buffett was also very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.4
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptiionist

    View

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    6.3
    A medium level experience I would not repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean, super noisy

    I really liked the roof where one can eat while lookI got at pyramids

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.9
    Good experince
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location , nice view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.8
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    Hotel is close to the pyramids.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Pyramid View
    • Stayed 19 nights

    Probably the worst mercure i've been in. Everyting looks dirty.

    Hotel is close to the pyramids.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    First time in Cairo. Really loved the hotel. Felt safe, well fed, looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing :)

    Location, staff, food was wonderful .

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: