Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Windsor Hotel Cairo 3 stars

19 Alfi Str., Cairo, Egypt

#69 of 173 hotels in Cairo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 96 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    4.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very disappointing. Coffee, dry cake, a carton of orange juice and a tiny apple. The bedrooms and hotel in general are dirty and in need of a major update to look presentable.

    This was a cheap hotel and enabled us to budget our money while in Cairo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shower and toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely dignified little hotel .... full of character. A lived- in hotel that takes you back in time .... nothing artificial or clinical about it. Great staff and very central .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, whilst inclusive, is about as bad as it gets. This is despite numerous similar negative reviews and the fact that lunch and evening meals are fine. A serious inconvenience currently affecting the hotel is the major subway construction immediately next door which makes sleeping through the night difficult.

    Unique idiosyncratic hotel with very helpful staff (particularly Samir). Full of history and character, eg ancient elevator and switchboard. Furnishings are seemingly largely unchanged in significantly more than half a century. Very good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hey...you can make a list of these, but the hotel is an old classic..If you just want comfort go over to the big hotels on the Nile, but if one of the things you travel for is to experience the "culture" This hotel will help put you in touch. Maybe try both. Let the staff help you set up your trip.

    When you step outside the door you are in contact with Egypt today---and contrary to popular opinion it is very safe--some of the friendliest people in the world live in Egypt and they will go out of their way to help you. Yes, they are hungry and they will hassel you a bit, but if you say--NO Please, it WILL stop. Help these people just a little and they will do almost anything to help you. We stayed in one of the best hotels, over on the Nile and it was great, but this old hotel is also great for a different reason. Maybe the best thing to see in Cairo is Cairo...yes the Pyramids are there, but the city is also great. If you want see antiquities...Luxor and Abu Simbel---are unequalled.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with shower and toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    BEDs terrible- springs virtually non existent so had been covered with a board/old door. 2 single beds in my room both like this so put both mattresses on top of each other on the better of the 2 beds. VERY noisy mosques every night- 5 am and again at 5.30 am AND drilling all night for the new underground next door (night shift). also VERY smokey in the lounge/bar with no windows open. coming from smoke free New Zealand this was horrible. Bad tempered waitress at breakfast. Very poor limited breakfast. not even a boiled egg.

    atmosphere and history. charming propriator

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise coming from outside due to the street works

    The Windsor is located in the very center of Cairo. This hotel is an old lady. We can feel the atmosphere of the old times. The bar is an aosis for travelers and the staff very kind. They were very helpful during my days there and they really care. At the end, Samir brought me back to the airport. If I come back to cairo, that will be at the Windsor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was poor quality and inadequate.

    The unchanged and beautiful atmosphere and furnishings of a Cairo from another era. The owner was extremely helpful, polite and present at several times of the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Windsor could be so much better. Rooms are very dusty, mosquitos in evidence, very slow hot water and meagre breakfast, enen though served with kindness. Just having unchipped cups and a selection of fruit would be good. At the moment (not the hotel's fault) there is nightlong noise from work on nearby new metro. And a creepy presence on the staircase. All a pity since this is very atmospheric and some TLC would make a big difference.

    The bar is an oasis of elegance. Delightful to take a beer in the evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shower and toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water was not always hot.

    It's a special place. It was built in 1893 and has many original features, like the original elevator. If you're looking for a place with character then this is it. But it doesn't have all the modern conveniences.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located on a bit of a dodgy street and taxis will have a difficult time locating it. The exterior is a little grungy but once you get past that, the hotel is furnished with some wonderful antiques.

    The staff were very helpful and the room was spotless. Surprisingly quiet since we were located in the middle of Cairo. A bit faded but a lot of old world charm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not for tourists used to all the mod cons of modern hotels

    Old colonial style hotel, a memento to the long gone days of British rule and empire. Going down in style, just like Britain itself😉 Unique hand-operated elevator, friendly staff and a real bar! Samir the receptionist will help you with all your questions

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't receive the room I booked, it was way smaller. No bathroom amenities. Construction site next door so very noice all night. Hotel booked me a taxi to the airport and dropped me on a wrong terminal and we are talking for Cairo airport.

    Nice old fashion room with antique furniture feeling you were sleeping in different century. Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is really very old and altho I like the idea that they still have the manual elevator/lift, it actually gave me the creeps since I was alone; breakfast included is ridiculously mediocre- just toast and coffee and some kind of hot beverage with short noodles (I forgot what it's called locally but I anyway didn't like it personally) and a piece of (over-ripe) guava fruit; I also overheard from the other table where the guy complained that the coffee cup he was given still has a lipstick smudge on it (ew!); the hotel really needs to improve on cleanliness in the restaurant (it's not that bad in the room I must say altho the bathroom was also really old)

    definitely a hotel to check out if only for curiosity's sake with its rich history including being a hotel featured in the classic film 'Around the World in 80 Days'. aside from that tho, I wouldn't recommend it especially if you're alone. It could get very creepy at times because of how old the hotel is.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Windsor is an oasis in downtown; old style, colonial building, lovely neighborhood, memories.. It would have been perfect if the renovations are completed, bathroom has a better shape, etc. But in any case, I won't stay anywhere else in Cairo!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome ambiance! It was like being inside a 1940s adventure movie. Just riding the old fashioned elevator up and down will linger in my memory as one of the great moments of my trip to Egypt. The staff are friendly and passionate about their heritage. A stay at the Windsor is a trip back to a more elegant era of foreign travel. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I love the place in all. Air conditioning is old and somewhat noisy, and street noise make me recommend to find rooms leading on the quieter alley. Earplugs a must in the big city anyways.

    I love this vintage unique hotel and hope it wil remain for a long time in Cairo. Yes, it is very very old fashioned, and you don't want to stay there if you are looking for standardized things. Churchill could very well be around the corner and the man-operated lift in itself is worth the visit. Beds are comfortable, all is spotless clean, bathroom old style and works fine too, and staff is fantastically friendly and helpful, they really mean it when they say 'this is your home'. I will definitively come back. 2 metro stops away from National Museum, plenty of small eats around, and.. the country is now SAFE!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shower and toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was adequate, but average. Some local cheese or felafel rather than packet jam and white toast would be great.

    So the wi-fi is patchy, the stairwell is dark, and the hot water takes an age to work, but it's all part of the experience of staying at this piece of living history. The family owners are really lovely, and the Barrel Bar is a great place to relax over a drink or meal if you don't feel like going out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shower and toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast could be a little better (though the coffee was quite good). Shampoo would be nice in addition to soap in the bathroom.

    The staff is great and makes you feel comfortable and takes care of your needs. The place is historic - it feels like going back in time, and a lot of the staff has been there years. The location is central, easy to get to almost everything, and in a lively neighborhood. The bar is also a nice place to relax in the evening.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    mosquitos, they really need to get rid of the mosquitos. Place has huge potential. Bar is amazing. Either they fix some small things like improve the breakfast/help get rid of mosquitos etc and drop their prices - or give the place a proper make over. Also lighting needs to be improved. Warmer yellow lighting would go a long way to improve atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windsor, Cairo, is one of a handful of unique hotel-institutions in The Middle East. And that is of course why travellers interested in REAL history pay the little extra money to stay there. It is one of a dwindling number of old hotels with character in the world...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apparently mosquito's are quite attracted to me, when I mentioned this the hotel porter kindly sourced a small auto raid machine. The breakfast is perhaps more like what an Egyptian might have so wasn't quite what I expected. The hotel is in a fantastic location however the cairo traffic can be a little relentless which is part of the experience!

    The Windsor hotel is a hotel with lots of character and charm. The staff can be trusted and are very helpful. It's not a hotel like any others and the staff actually care that you have a good time in egypt. One of the best parts of my trip was an excellent trip to the pyramids by Samir Fayek who works with the hotel. He provided an excellent driver and an amazing tour guide who really looked after me. One of the best days holiday I've ever had! The bar area is excellent and has a great feel to it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shower and toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast not good at all, better to eat outside, plus they open late and not stick with the time frame they put. The rooms in the back are cold, not sunny and noisy.

    I like the location, the bar and the staff in it. The history behind the hotel. Give you the feeling of 50,s.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was cold and as well the hotel quite old.

    The old atmosphere had something where you can feeling that was a bit magic at that time. But now the status of the Hotel is not more like that.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room has dirty table cloths and knifes. Hot water takes a while until it reaches upper floor.

    Great atmosphere and very nice people. Best location downtown for business.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was not worth getting up for & no choice, just plonked down on your table of choice. The coffee was tasteless, toast only slices of warmed up white bread accompanied by the usual ubiquitous jam in tiny plastic containers & an equally tiny packaged slab of processed soft cheese plus a piece of fruit that more often than not was an unripe orange. Only received hot water in the bathroom after a few nights of complaining & when it was apparent that the hotel had more guests to justify ramping up the boiler. Wifi only worked in the main 'bar room'.

    A Hotel with real character, untouched for decades, historically interesting and a wonderful large 'bar room', manned by friendly staff. Comfortable seating for in-expensive eating, drinking, meeting up with friends or just chilling out, also popular with young Caireans so good for people watching or further communication. Well positioned in terms of getting around Cairo being very close to the downtown Ataba metro station which is a hub for different lines. Easy walking distance from the Nile, Tahrir & Talaat Harb Squares.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facility. It takes almost 40-50 mins to supply hot water. Even if I have a good mood to wait, I can't stand for wasting water. Others is fine. But hot water supply is a big problem no matter how many excuse I got from the reception.

    History of the hotel. This is a site worth to visit.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was doubled-charged on my bill. They have a credit card machine that looks as if it's 30 years old, and they ran my card twice (with no receipt coming out the first time). I contacted the hotel about getting a refund nine days ago, and still no money has been redeposited into my account. The Egyptian pound has since plummeted, and the hotel's attitude towards this is "Oh, well." Moreover, the hotel has refused to refund the $7.60 international transaction fee I was charged. Absolutely unacceptable customer service. Nine days after my stay has ended, and I'm still out over $250 USD. Despite advertising that they accept credit cards, be sure to pay these people in cash.

    Location is nice, service staff is friendly, hotel vibe is cool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shower and toilet
    • Stayed 6 nights

    hotel is on the edge of falling apart, barely adequate. Location, while near city centre was slummy. High pressure sales from manager for tours

    Staff was very nice. Breakfast was nice. Location, near city centre, quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible historical hotel. Wonderful furniture in rooms and an old fashioned telephone exchange that still works.we stayed in the same room as Micheal Palin. They filmed some of Around a the World in 80 Days there. Oldest working lift in the world. You must go before it disapeares! Lovely staff and barrel room bar a walk back in time. Faded grandeur. Wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shower and toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value classic turn of the century hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful organising tours. Great value as a budget hotel. Right in the heart of Cairo Down Town area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shower and toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The authenticity and craftsmanship of the building and the lovely courteous staff and owners keep me coming back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy!! Work outside hole night!

    Lounghe was very nice! Good Staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the old world look and the location just tucked behind a busy street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Little older place, suited our needs, poor breakfast, different type of hotel. We enjoyed it, however may not be for everyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vintage property

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shower and toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty

    Museum piece

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is broken, including AC.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is 100 years old and all facilities are very run down, elevator is a challenge, wifi didn't work

    staff was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise.

    Shabby chic old fashioned hotel. Lovely staff. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Einrichtung old fashion

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice historical hotel in Cairo Downtown

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit long in the tooth

    Great old historic hotel, nice bar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    History and staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is showing its age.

    The staff and location were great. Head to the roof if you can for a nice vantage point.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Samir Fayak's tour organisation was outstanding value, and the guide was first class.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cairo

    The esthetic

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with shower and toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. I am a female solo traveller and I loved it at this hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negatives.

    Windsor Hotel was one of the most charming hotels we ever stayed at. The rooms were clean and well kept, with lovely, matching antique furniture. All the staff, with no exception were extremely kind and helpful. All our extra requests were catered to. The owner of the hotel even came to our table at breakfast, and asked if all was in order. This is definitely the place I will stay in if I ever return to Cairo. Excellent location, near to main streets and a tube stop.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a bit overrated... just because it is old, can not justify the USD 70 we paid. Book it for one night, but not more. And it is a bit noisy and can have mosquitos.

    The building has some history ... especially the elevator and the bar. Yes, it has some atmosphere (but some defaults as well).

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Front office staff seemed not aware of our arrival. Hence, request for the 2 rooms to be near each other was not accommodated. Payment via credit card needs to me made in the office at upper floor.

    Very English and historic building. Feels in the 50s when using the 'traditional" elevator. Value for money

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel needs serious renovation. The beds are uncomfortable, the plumbing and bathrooms are terrible; easy things to fix would be the shocking broken shutters and torn and inadequate curtains. It is a noisy area so at least the curtains and shutters would help. We slept not at all.

    A grand old structure from the bygone colonial era, glorious high ceilings, ornate antique furniture, large windows, a brilliant and comfortable bar, central location.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooftop terrace extremely poor/non existent. Beds not the best. Breakfast pretty poor.

    We loved the bar and the evening bar staff were excellent. Food was nice. Main reason for staying is the hotels atmosphere. Front desk very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too pricy for what you get; other places nearby much cheaper. I'm offended by some of the stuff and I think they were inappropriate and gnarly; I did hear some of the staff cursing customers in Arabic after they are gone; I ordered lemon juice with sugar, 2 minutes later a guy ordered his without, she served him mine and he returned it, so she pretended the lemon juice was just made and not the returned one even though I sow everything. Also breakfast was bad, I got: stale bread, bad coffee, 1 little thing of butter, 1 little thing of jam, 1 fruit, small box juice, and all served with an attitude. If I want anything else, I need to order it and pay 3 times more than anywhere else. Even tho I was mandated to pay for breakfast, I didn't eat the following days and I just walked to a restaurant nearby 😡

    I do like how old is the building (with modern bathrooms).

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our TV only received Arabic channels; it would have been nice to have US/European channels. But we spent more time reading about Egypt, so maybe it was a good thing after all.

    Not a luxury hotel, but the location is great if you like to walk and see the real Cairo. Retains some of the spirit and charm of Cairo from its British colonial period. Many neighborhood tea shops just outside serving delicious mint tea.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast is a bit basic, but frankly it's also very cheap, and the coffee is good. The wifi is a bit dodgy in the rooms but perfectly usable for checking emails etc.

    This is an excellent budget option. The value for money is very good indeed, and the room I was given was really charming. This is the hotel to choose if you're after an old-school colonial ambience. It's ideally located for the busy Talat Harb area, two metro stations, Khan Al Khalili, etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful -- for example, the first room i was put in had a faulty AC, so they moved me in the morning, and upgraded my room -- and the bar is really fabulous. All in all a dreamy place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything is really bad. the photos in the site don´t show how bad this place actually is. Very dirty and totally worn-out. Staff completely unprofessional and trying to charge more than expected. room is very very hot because the air conditioner barely work although very noisy. free wifi very slow. the worst "hotel" we stayed in egypt, not worth 5€, better to avoid.

    nothing, it was a dirty and shabby hole.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room full of mosquitoes, dusty and a bit dirty. Breakfast was sub-standard. For the amount of money we paid, in Cairo, we expected something better.

    The decor. Bar. The elevator. The ancient telephone system.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wires hanging from the bottom of the elevator. The switchboard like what was used in laugh in. Cobwebs in all corners. Extremely uncomfortable bed. Hot water that never really got hot.

    If you were traveling on a budget. A single male And just need a place to sleep. It's great for you

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel has great historic atmosphere at an excellent price. Felt like the sort of place Indiana Jones or T.E. Lawrence would stay in. Really friendly/helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    First room had an insect problem, but this was quickly sorted out, and in a professional manner.

    Staff very helpful Historic hotel Good location, close to Cairo metro. Bar

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the staff can be a bit terse Beds are a bit uncomfortable Wifi could be improved

    Great character Fantastic bar Some of the staff are really nice Rooms clean and renovated rooms ar enice

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything - it is a wonderful old building with interesting history, owners, staff, and guests. The menu is simple and the food delicious. The beer is well chilled.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing - it was perfect!

    Absolutely everything - it is welcoming, it is unique, it is warm, it is like staying with friends you know very well. Completely different to the beige, impersonal horror-chain hotels one encounters everywhere. I didn't want to leave!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Building can be dark, but it adds to the experience.

    The staff were fantastic and friendly, location is great, and the rooms are spacious with high ceilings

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The ambience and old world character added to an enjoyable stay in Cairo, something you don’t get in big chain hotels.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    MOSQUITIOS IN ROOM

    NOSTALGIC 1930 ATMOSPHERE WAS WONDERFUL

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty with very poor beds.

    Staff is friendly good location Great elevator!

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is ideal and the buildings history is encapsulating. Wael was a fantastic host at the restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed the food.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i love the quirky vintage charm of this hotel and its location in downtown cairo

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old world charme.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quirkiness of the building. The still functioning lift has to be seen to be believed. The great barrel bar. The very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very poor hot shower, have to wait for 10 mins for the hot water comes out. the bed is not so comfortable.

    location and large room

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wonderful, unique historical character

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing I can think of.

    Everything. It's my favorite hotel in Cairo. Full of charm and character. Both staff and owner are exceptionally friendly.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unique, historic and full of character. This is an absolute one-off in an increasingly bland and 'globalised' world.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Windsor Hotel Cairo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: