Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor 5 stars

Corniche El Nile, East bank, Luxor, Egypt

#5 of 42 hotels in Luxor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 329 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Location, breakfast very good, staff excellent
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an old hotels that’s lost a little of its shine, yet still behaves as though it’s a grand european hotel.

    Location, breakfast very good, staff excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Upscale stay at historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not the fault of the hotel but please do be careful once you step outside hotel with Taxi's and other potential touts outside since the hotel is next to the corniche and Luxor temple. I had an issue with a Taxi driver going to airport with the agreed price, which I did not fall for, just be strong and affirmative.

    Our room was upgraded and it was excellent with view of Nile. The hotel is very big, historic with a nice garden and excellent pool. Food at the hotel was excellent, Breakfast is very diverse, Lunch is simple but tasty and Dinner was excellent with different dining options. Staff were all excellent and very attentive, they even allowed us to use a spare room since we had a late departure. We used the lounge to view World Cup games.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Simply the best in Luxor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Simply the best in Luxor. The service was great, dinner at the garden was very romantic and huge in proportion. Breakfast was quiet and with lots of choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beer and wine were occasionally served warm. The music was a bit repetitive.

    The hotel is very beautiful - ( old winter palace). The staff is excellent - thank you very much to Mohamed Ahmed at the reception desk who always had a smile and a solution to any issues brought to his attention. The staff at the pool and the restaurant for the breakfast and bbq were very good too. The gardeners need a medal for such a beautiful well maintained garden. We have travelled extensively and stayed at many 4-5 star hotels but our stay at the Sofitel winter palace was one of the best and most memorable and I really think credit has to be given to the staff who made us feel so welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn’t working at out arrival. A couple of hours later was restored but still working slow (as almost the whole country).

    Historical building, great staff. Delicious breakfast and french restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Grande dame
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C in room could not keep up with 45° outdoor temperatures. Staff at times could be too attentive - checking every two minutes to see if I needed anything at breakfast.

    Elegant building and grounds (though showing some wear in places); room had a beautiful balcony with Nile views; friendly helpful staff for whom nothing was a problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    it was the most luxurious and amazing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing could have been better !

    it was the most luxurious and amazing place to stay. everything from the wonderful breakfast selection, to the helpful service to the perfect pool surrounded by beautiful gardens just made this the perfect holiday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    MAGNIFIQUE!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Leaving the hotel..:( we wanted to stay more..

    We had a "MAGNIFIQUE" experience during our stay in the Winter Palance Luxor. We loved almost everything! The breakfast buffet at La Corniche, the endless surprises everytime we enter our room, the splendid garden, the luxurious interior, etc. but what we loved the most is their staff. Keep it up, guys!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    The dinner in the garden was wonderful, and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner in the garden was wonderful, and the breakfast was great considering both the food and the restaurant itself. Rooms are comfy and clean, but I expected a better nile view, but I hardly saw it. Food and coffee were great, especially the desserts! Superb!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Winter Palace is a timeless classy lady
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What I did not like is of little significance, like the slow Wi-Fi.

    Winter Palace is a timeless classy lady, like Nefertari. It spoils the guest by its location, staff, restaurants, gardens, views and more. The big bonus is the proximity of the Theban sites. It was a perfect stay, however, a short one. After getting a feel for the place my wife wondered why we had not come for a two-week holiday to Luxor rather than combine it with Hurghada. To my joy, she wants to return, soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Very professional and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very professional and helpful staff. A taxi driver overcharged me seriously for a drive to the airport. I complained about this at reception desk. The hotel staff caught the taxi driver a bit later and made him pay back the overcharge. That's what I call being dedicated to guests. Wonderful location. Great swimming people. Stunning garden, but above all wonderful staff. The stay in the hotel is an absolute recommendation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Perfect place for exploring Luxor and relaxing at the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    This is the perfect place for your time in Luxor. It is easy to walk to luxor temple, the market area and restaurants. After your tours you can relax in an amazing park and pool area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    A hotel with a long history and good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hotel with a long history and good facilities. The furniture in the room looks atmospheric and luxurious. Especially with its exquisite gardens and excellent location, I do not regret choosing this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Great Stay at one of the worlds Great Hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is great, but the paint is chipping and peeling, the plaster is broken and the tiles are cracked, fixtures broken and furniture worn. BUT, it is better than almost every other hotel in Egypt. But with all that said. it's still a great place to stay. Oh, one more thing, Who the heck decided to paint that beautiful WHITE building, the Winter Palace BROWN??? Holy Cow, that was stupid!

    I liked almost everything. This is one of the worlds great hotels, but the place is showing its age. Take a clue from the Cataract and bring it on home! You have a great hotel, don't let it go the way of most of the great English Colonial building in Egypt. That would be a crime.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel...and an even better head concierge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The best concierge service I have ever experienced - Eslam Mohammed - provided an experience to myself and my family that was unforgettable - we are sure to return soon!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay, and would love to stay there again - if we are ever in Luxor again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the breakfast, but would like a small selection of gluten-free breads. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We loved the ambiance of the hotel, and the gardens were truly wonderful and relaxing to wander round. The hotel is well situated for boats, Luxor temple, and "tourist" souk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    A taste of old world luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely atmospheric old hotel with original antique furnishings, big bedrooms with high ceilings, but excellent modern facilities. Huge garden, lovely pool, beautiful food .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    Not Perfect But A Lovely Stay and A Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The guys hawking horse carriage rides, taxis and feluccas on the sidewalks and riverside walk across from the hotel are annoying and really detract from the nice location.

    The garden, pool and poolside dining were lovely. The main building is in need of attention but is still beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.7
    Never to forget in my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 1 night

    After check in ,we went shopping. And leave my room key in reception. When we came back, the staff asked me what pay for other person payment.( I missed what I booked rooms for ones. And the staff asked the other person payment). OK ,that was no problem. But when I required the hotel's staff back my room key and I got my credit card, they rejected. It's inconceivable for international hotel.

    靠近尼罗河,进入酒店之后感觉和外面世界完全不同

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location and the outdoor area is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a little old and dingy. The elevator kept getting stuck between floors. Needs major renovations.

    The location and the outdoor area is fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.0
    Definitely not a 4 Star. Maybe a 2 star. But heard there is nothing better than this in Luxor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Before I entered the hotel, I knew this was not going to be good. The carpet on the steps leading up to the entrance was in a very bad condition; not something I was expecting at a Sofitel. When I entered the hotel I was taken aback with the condition of the lobby. Yes it is a old hotel and supposed to have the old charm. There was some old charm in the architecture but it was dirty and not well kept. The maintenance was horrible. It felt like I stepped into a cheap motel. When we were making it to the rooms, the hallway carpets and the carpets in the room were so dirty that me and my wife were not comfortable to walk barefoot in the room. Even though the bathroom was pretty decent size, the bathtub was weird in that it was rounded in the bottom and not flat. Therefore, it was not easy to stand. I felt like I was about to slip and fall down in the tub. Oh, there was a shower curtain that went around the front and the side which was nice; no water on the floor. In addition to the terrible condition of the hotel itself, the service was also horrible. I called the front desk to extend my stay and the guy said he would call me back after checking the room rates. He never did. Called again after couple of hours. Same thing. Never called back. Same thing with the concierge. I called to make train reservations to Cairo The guy said he would check the train schedule and call back. Never did. Next morning, I called to get my bill ready before I went down as I was running late for the airport. When I went down to front desk 30 mins later, of course my bill was not ready and I had to wait more than 5 mins for the guy to figure everything out and another 5 mins to run my credit card. The guy had to try 3 different card readers as they were not working. Horrible, horrible, horrible. Oh by the way, there is another restaurant called 1881 (or 1661?) at this hotel and it has a dress code - a tie and jacket are required.

    The gardens and the pool was wonderful. The food was also great at the pool side restaurant and the one inside where breakfast is served. The restaurant staff were well trained and were pretty good. The breakfast buffet was pretty good. The location was right across from the Nile and within 2 minute walk to Luxor Temple.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    I redeemed miles for my stay. Overall, it was a pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms in the older building are a bit outdated; could use more outlets, better bathroom lighting.

    The property is well kept, pretty, and relaxing. Lovely garden atmosphere, nice pool and lounging area. The decor of the hotel is classic, nice bar and restaurant. Friendly and helpful staff. Convenient area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Old style charm and elegance,shame about a few guests who loved to upset guests wit( their loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot, only comment was not enough hangers in wardrobe or places to put clothes, we stayed eight nights so found it lacking space.

    Food excellent ! But it is five star hotel so hence five star prices be warned.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Start your Nile cruise to Aswan with an exclamation point!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a perfect stay.

    The atmosphere is hard to beat — the elegance of the architecture, perfectly decorated and maintained. To climb the stairway and walk the halls is to feel as if one has gone back in time. We received a free upgrade with a balcony overlooking the back garden. Service was first-rate. We would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    Apart from the above, we had an a lovely holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)Attempting to give me a room with a widow rather than a balcony as I booked. 2)As good as the hotel is, the harassment infront of it from taxi drivers, horse drawn carriage drivers and fluka owners was extremely off putting. Made us fearful of leaving the hotel to run that gauntlet 😔😡

    Very polite, extremely helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Very unique experience, the Victorian style of the building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King or Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a little slow.

    Very unique experience, the Victorian style of the building has great atmosphere. The staff were extremely helpful and upgrades our room to a suite. We loved our experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Great experience, close to airport, historic hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great experience, close to airport, historic hotel, breakfast included and excellent buffet. personnel was very polite and acomodated all our requests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hospitality was beyond compare. From the moment I checked in I felt as if I had come home.The owners are gracious, generous hosts. The entire hotel is decorated with a beautiful collection of art.Rooms are very spacious with a very clean bathroom and a balcony with an amazing view.Very helpful and professional staff and i would like to say thanks a lot to Mr Mohamed Salah for everything he did for us and the great attitude, always smiling and helpful really you are lucky to have such an amazing guy like him Thanks again and we will be back soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Strongly recommended both because of the facilities and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent but what made a difference was the professionalism and friendliness of the staff, especially of the reception, who helped us enjoy every single minute at the property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Old world charm still exists, with enough of the modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King or Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They wanted to charge an extra $50 for a roll-away bed for a child, but the rate booked was for two adults and two children so I took that to mean that suitable beds for that combination was included in the rate. Manager relented. We also got a bit bored of the food offerings after two full days, but at least what was on offer was very good.

    Old world charm still exists, with enough of the modern creature comforts to keep a young family content and comfortable. Various friends had all said the Winter Palace was the boy place to stay in Luxor and although I can't compare to other hotels, we were very happy and will stay there again on our next trip. Our seven year old thought it was the best hotel ever. Excellent location walking distance to Luxor Temple and the Mummification museum. Staff were excellent. I hope they see more tourism in the coming months and years.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Great value for money, combines relaxation with proximity to the most important sights of Luxor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have no complaints whatsoever.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient, close to Luxor temple and the center. The great park which belongs to the hotel and the big pool are wonderful to relax after sightseeing. The rooms are spacious, equipped with very comfy beds and free wifi. A large breakfast buffet with an enormous variety and choice of Western and Egyptian food will make your day. If you look for a hotel with atmosphere this is the place to go.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    The staff were so helpful and extremely professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were so helpful and extremely professional. Superb view. Very Close to the important archaeological sites. Historical significance was so obvious in every inch. The landscapes are extremely romantic...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Wonderfully relllll
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need an upgrade in a hotel of this value. Although comfortable they are rather shabby and dated.

    Situation wonderful. Beautiful gardens and impressive public rooms. Excellent service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    We had a wonderful stay at the Old Winter palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very charming and has fully kept its historical atmosphere. The location of the hotel was perfect (next to the Luxor temple), the rooms are well equipped and comfortable, the room service was excellent and the staff professional. The restauration offering could be improved at lunchtime.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    The best hotel experience of our lives. We would love to go back one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front of the building could have benefitted from some re-decoration / re-paint, but this was not in the hands of the owners.

    This hotel was simply the best my wife and I have stayed in, ever. I would commend the staff above all. Clearly the place is managed superbly. Every single member of staff was highly motivated to make our stay (celebrating my wife's 50th) truly memorable. It was obvious they had all been told to make decisions as individuals and they were all so proud of the place. It was beautiful (building / grounds / swimming pool), classy, without being stuffy or over- formal. Top marks!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    It is a real treat to stay in such a famous old hotel that has retained all its character.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is perfect here.

    I love the historical ambience offered here and took the chance to view the rooms once occupied by Howard Carter, Lord Carnarven and the royal suite of King Farouk. I hope one day to stay in one of these very special rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Short stay but very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool closes sharp at sunset. After all day of sightseeing in Luxor in 47 degree heat up to 5 pm, would have been nice to be able to enjoy the pool and relax in the area a little longer. For a 5 star hotel, they need to introduce more wine selection ( from local egyptian wineries) to the dinner menu.

    Great Hotel, very professional staff at reception. This property was a winter palace turned into hotel. They upgraded us to King Faroukh room with original furniture. Even though it is a little old/dated, very clean and was so exciting to sleep in the beautiful room that King used to sleep in. Lovely pool & garden. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, unbelievably efficient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was amazing. I can't wait to come back.

    Friendly staff, unbelievably efficient! I felt like Cleopatra in this hotel! One of the best levels of service I have seen in my life. The facilities were very comfortable, clean, pretty, very well taken care of. Food was good, lots of options for breakfast. The garden and the pool were amazing too!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Old world luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is surrounded by very harrassing taxi and horse-cart drivers.

    Luxurious old world style. Staff very professional and friendly. Premium products in the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Luxury in Luxor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room with Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Winter Palace is an historical building beautifully outfitted. Comfortable, grand and interesting. The gardens are a pleasure in a country that has few green spaces. The staff were helpful, happy and good at their work. A relaxing place after the heat and the Temple and Tomb highlights of Egypt. Thank you to all the staff at the Winter Palace Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    If you have stayed at the Winter Palace, then do it!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been better.

    I have a property in El-Boghdady and have visited the pool restaurant and Piano Bar on numerous occasions, however this is the first time I have stayed at the Winter Palace. After a very busy three weeks of moving properties, I fancied some chill out time relaxing after my husband returned to England as I am staying on for another two weeks. The relaxation I certainly achieved and thoroughly enjoyed. The things I particularly enjoyed were the fantast breakfast, my lovely room and the attentiveness and politeness of the staff who were also friendly. I have a friend visiting from England next week and so I shall be paying you another visit! I have also instructed my husband that we will be spending Christmas at the Winter Palace! I will be back in early November and saying until mid January, so that will be a nice break in between. Only one small downside: the shower was not as good as mine at home. But back on the upside again, I was able to check out five hours after I should have done for which I am extremely grateful. Thanks you all for a fantastic stay!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that could have used improvement was the shower situation. The shower head wasn't great and I never could seem to get the temperature I wanted. I don't mean for this to be a complaint because everything really was great.

    Elegant property with world class service. I loved walking around the gardens at night. Special recognition goes to head concierge Mohamed Ali for exceeding expectations to get some items back to me that I left in the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.8
    Magic old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What we did not like was that there was not a non smoking area around the pool, in the bar, in the lounge. The culture of endless hassling in the streets. We understand it is not the Hotels fault.

    Staff, food, ambience, history, gardens, pool, location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King or Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I have now stayed at the Sofitel winter palace for over 8 nights in the last months. It is by far one of the greatest hotels I have ever stayed at. The thing that makes this hotel so special are the staff - Everyone is incredibly friendly & professional. From the porters, front desk, security, cleaning and to lounge staff - they all work together to make this one of the greatest accommodation experiences you can hav Anytime I have had a problem or question - it has been fixed immediately. It is always with great excitement that I come back to visit this hotel as I now feel like it is a second home, an the staff as my second family.The corporation should take great pride in this property and its staff- and other hotels can learn a lot of lessons from this great hotel. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this great hotel! It is also very well situated in a fantastic location. The food is always incredible, and the rooms are clean and in perfect order. In days I can not think of a single fault - truly incredible.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    One of The Best in Luxor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The room was huge with a good balcony facing the garden. The feel of the hotel is like an old world charm. Even the bellboys and the housekeeping were always there for you to ask for anything that you might need.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Memorable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just beware of the horse carriage people.

    Memorable stay! Felt like royals!Thanks to Ms Randa for the free upgrade.Restaurant 1886 was really classy ,excellent & value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice garden, let down by some poor staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were rude and unhelpful. Our booking was lost and it took several hours to get into our room. Toilet blocked several times during our stay.

    Beautiful gardens, some staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    3.8
    Warning needed from staff if you want to sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My family and I were two rooms (363) away from the antique elevator and didn't notice until we had arrived back from a long day of sight seeing, that the constant noise and loud knocking, banging and humming of the lift would keep us up all night. I can't imagine how the person/persons in the room immediately adjacent to the lift could stay. This unfortunately brought down the whole experiance as we had a full day and needed to wake at 3:30am for a hot air ballon ride... as you can imagine the following day was very tough without a good nights sleep!

    The history of this property was the major draw and of course that does not disappoint, however the facility could use some touching up and overall attention to detail when it comes cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    The history and luxury combined make this a fantastic hotel in Luxor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing- we were upgraded to an incredible garden room with a balcony and made to feel like royalty our whole visit. We were on 5 day tour and this was the highlight of our trip- so relaxing and great to feel pampered. The most incredible aspect of this hotel is the history.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    4.2
    How is thus a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyting is poor. This should not be rated a 5 star hotel. The rooms where dirty, the tub was dirty. We tested if they clean the hotel room properly by putting a used matchstick on the sink, it stayed there for 2 days. Under the bed seems to have never been vaccumed. The mugs we used to drink tea where left there unwashed for 2 days. The food was terrible in the hotel and most of the facilties are empty. The staff was nice but untrained and not professional.

    The hotel as historic building and its location is great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    10
    A lifetime dream came true
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent and friendly service by the staff upon arrival as well as departure. We also got upgraded to a royal suite which made our stay unforgettable!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended in Luxor - the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was flawless, no bad review

    I stayed for one night, got sick on the day of check in and the hotel was very helpful to assist me get the necessary medication. Next day breakfast was outstanding, the best I had in a long time in Egypt hotels, service is so special and warm

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    the heritage of this lovely hotel makes it a must and all the staff know their job ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the pool!!! When in Luxor you just have to see all the amazing sights but to come back to this beautiful pool in a lovely garden is like stepping into paradise

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    From arrival to departure it was a pleasurable experience at the Winter Palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to change in this great hotel

    It was a wonderful experience, friendly and very helpful staff. Charming hotel with patina yet modern and well kept. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    A great place to remember an earlier time in Luxor.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast got a little old after a week, not much variation. The hotel is due for some serious renovations ... now approaching shabby chic.

    Can not have better location in Luxor, hotel is full of atmosphere and history, good value at this time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.8
    Pleasure to be there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom

    It.was a plesure to be there..amazing Hotel...with a famous History....the furniture was beautiful and the garden unbelivable...bed was comfortable but the bathroom Not Really Clean.. Breakfast dont.know.where to Start.and.where.to.end...fantasric

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.3
    Excellent and friendly service.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent and friendly service. Best fresh lobster with fantastic risotto I have ever eaten. Very good restaurant. The location especially the green garden is fantastic. Everyone tried his best for a happy stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    8.8
    A Palace overlooking the River Nile
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Built in 1886 and once the Egyptian royal family winter palace this hotel has the faded charm and glamour you would expect. Overlooking the Nile at the front and with beautiful gardens at the rear it is, for me, a wonderful place to stay in Luxor. My room, 225, was spacious and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the gardens. This meant that the room was nice and quiet - although if you have the windows open the cruise ships can be heard hooting as they arrive and depart in the wee small hours.... I used Luxor as a base for exploring the area and stayed at the Sofitel Winter Palace for 5 nights as there is so much to see around here. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide choice and freshly prepared eggs to your liking. Eating in the evening meant trying to figure out which restaurant would be open - but at least I didn't have to worry about any anachronistic dress-codes. The staff are nice and friendly and the gardens are lovely but I got the feeling the hotel has seen better days. The hotel was nowhere near full during my stay, which added to the slightly low-key atmosphere. The hotel does need a major refurbishment to bring it up to modern standards - unlikely to happen while tourist numbers remain low - but it was nice to wander around and take in the history, the fading glamour and enjoy its undeniable charm.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    6.3
    The building itself is wonderful, and the location great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were rarely accommodating (other than the receptionists, who were great) and most facilities could not really be used. Some examples provided here: There is a huge garden with a couple of bars/restaurants, which were always empty. The reason being that during the day, tables were mainly provided in the shade (not possible to move them to the sun). During the evening it was cold, there was no lighting, no blankets or warmers (no possible to obtain any). The breakfast was great, but it was forbidden to take coffee or milk back to the room. The restaurant (French/European) was really bad. A poor immitation of European food.

    The building itself is wonderful, and the location great (next to Luxor temple and by the river). Badly needs refurbishing, but that is not necessarily negative if you enjoy shabby chic.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Feel a little like Royalty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms

    Great location - over the road from the River Nile and around the corner from the magnificent Luxor Temple. Delicious breakfast buffet and wonderful service from all staff. The pool area and gardens are beautiful. Loved the old fashioned style and glamour of this 130 year old palace.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.2
    A dream vacation at the Sofitel Winter Palace Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King or Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been modernized slightly, other than that, everything was great.

    The staff was excellent -- very friendly and attentive. The atmosphere was fantastic. The breakfast buffet was also very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    Relaxing, historical, sunny. You will never forget that Luxor is the oldest all over the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not updating the price rate on booking it will make some problem because if I went direct to the hotel it had be less than I booked through booking. Booking Team Please put system to be sure that your rate will be better than direct contract with the hotel. All the prices in Egypt need update and care that you have rate for local people and other origin. Booking.com must serve Egyptians, they are more than 60% of the Egyptian market. Hopefully to have a good feedback.

    For the people who likes the Culture and ancient civilization. It will be the best experience in your life

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    What a awesome welcome by Mohammed from the Reception!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not think of anything ;-)

    What a awesome welcome by Mohammed from the Reception!!! He made our night by setting up a table on the terras instead of the restaurant what i requested so greatly. My husband had his birthday and a cake and a birthday song was brought to us after dinner. So great! I for sure come back soon!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    8.8
    Splendid view over the Nile an outdated charm between queen Victoria and Agatha Christie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the carpet in the room had old stain marks. One can feel it used to be a palace. Now is a nice old fashion hotel.

    Excellent bed. Professional, helpful and kind staff. Beautiful gardens, swimming pool and balcony in the room with Nile view. Everyone is doing his best: concierge, reception, pool, bars, desk staff ...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    An amazing visit to Luxor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The depressed tourism economy is a hard burden for the hardworking Egyptians.

    Breakfast was abundant, diverse, and delicious! Beds were wonderfully comfortable! Staff was always very helpful! The antiquities in the area are beyond compare!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.1
    Glad it was only 3 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden costs and hotel has a shower inside bathtub. That hotel must be rated 3 star because the bedrooms are the size of regular 3 star bedrooms in South Africa! Overrated!

    For R3000 a night which was initially R2000 a night and there were hidden costs we didn't know about, at R3000 a nice night there was no breakfast included. The dinner meal were supper expensive and not filling! We paid on average R500 pp for a not filling dinner. Depressing and disappointing!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    Good location very near to Nile river, big room with clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The crew asked us to pay in dollars while it's finally paid by Egyptian pounds

    Good location very near to Nile river, big room with clean facilities. An old hotel with a long history. Maybe it's the best in Luxor

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.9
    I loved the location on the bank of the Nile and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very grand but in need of an update and a cleaning. The glass chandeliers were dusty as was the whole hotel. It felt a bit rundown. I did however love the grandness of the hotel.

    I loved the location on the bank of the Nile and close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Excellent staff very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    More variety in food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety in food. Especially in Vegetarian food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Classic/Vintage luxurious experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Taxi drivers and scammers attack you as soon as you leave the hotel :D

    Classic/Vintage luxurious experience

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    It was a paradise in Luxor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn’t the best

    It was a paradise in Luxor. Beautiful old world charm, fabulous food, great service and lovely gardens

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Historical charm in the heart of Luxor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A historical hotel that has kept it's charm in a great location next to Nile and Luxor temple.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Hotels don't come better than this when it comes to upholding fine tradition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King or Twin Room with Nile View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues.

    First class service. Fabulous facilities. Great food. Top class in all areas. Perfect relaxing stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: