Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Room Mate Carla 4 stars

Mallorca, 288, Eixample, 08037 Barcelona, Spain

#63 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2461 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the hotel lobby seemed a bit dark and enclosed for my liking. The room was fine. Generally clean although it could be cleaner (for example the shower) The bed was slightly uncomfortable. Nothing too bad to say other than I thought the quality of the hotel should have been better for the price they asked for.

    The location was good. The staff were friendly. We had a terrace with our room!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Design, staff were kind and friendly, location, cleanliness,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had twin beds instead of a double despite requesting a double in advance.

    Design, staff were kind and friendly, location, cleanliness, price, one of the best showers ever.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff was friendly and efficient, clean, spacious rooms & comfortable beds. Great location and a very safe area to walk around at night, excellent bars and restaurants all 10 mins walk from the hotel (our favourite was a local tapas restaurant called La Pepitas) would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Very good location, almost everything within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, almost everything within walking distance. Very helpful staff at the front desk, gave us loads of wonderful recommendations on things to do and restaurants to go. One of my many concerns when considering accommodation in Barcelona was safety, and the area where this hotel is located is safe and clean. Perfect experience! Will definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.5
    Highly recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a little noise from the main lobby late every night but that was probably due to the room's location being near the front lobby.

    The staff were very friendly, everything was very clean and professional. The room was well stocked and was very comfortable. A great location!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Staff was pleasant, answered all our questions with more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting out of elevator lighting is too dim can be a little brighter

    Staff was pleasant, answered all our questions with more information. Great location walking distance to all major attractions. Feeling lazy, don't want to venture too far...Restaurant Cor caliu across the street, delicious food and wine. Tapas looked delicious from the table next to us 😂.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was wonderful, a feeling of luxury (doorman as well!) at a reasonable price (though not if you are on a tight budget). The staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant. We took the breakfast buffet and were given a discount for taking it on all 4 days of our stay, and it was so worth it! beautifully presented with enough choice, tasty and a great way to set off for a day of sight seeing. The location was great, not slap bang in the middle of everything, 3 blocks from Gracia Street where there is a metro station and a stop for the hop on hop off busses, and a few blocks from La Sagrada Familia. The room (we upgraded to a room with small balcony) was lovely, the bed was very comfortable, bathroom was really nice, with lovely complimentary toiletries. On our last day we were flying at night so we left our cases in the store room and last couple of hours we hung out it their sitting area (not the front lobby, at the back with a small exterior sitting area as well as interior) until it was time to leave. I definitely give this hotel a very big LIKE!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Very clean, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish I would have had a better view. I thought that it said city view, but I was looking across a very small space at other rooms, so I was unable to leave the drapes and doors open very little.

    The staff was very friendly and very helpful. I wanted tickets to Sagrada Familia and Parc Guell and even though both were very limited they were able to get them. The room was very clean and conveniently located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Very good hotel, very near of the hotspots of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing that i didn't like at all. well done crew.

    The breakfast it was amazing, every single attendant was very smiley and ready to help, ofering help or taxi or even an opinion in the city places to eat ou party.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff. Inner courtyard view was dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double bed in the standard room was not very long and wide, we were not comfortable. Inner courtyard view can hardly be called a view - it's just a narrow well with almost no daylight. The special handle in the shower (for easier access in a wheel-chair) was very big and couldn't be put aside, so it blocked half the shower. Glass bathroom door didn't fully close so no private feeling when using it. Sound-profing from the corridor was poor.

    Modern design of the room and public areas. Room was big, with high ceilings. Kettle and fridge (minibar) in the room. Bathrobes (provided upon request). Nice shower. Pleasant neighbourhood, 15 min walk to Sagrada Familia. Carrefour Express and several metro stations are only a couple blocks away. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Good Location for Short Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. Not tiny and we were more than comfortable, but it was on the small size, but this wasn't a big deal. One of the doorman needs to learn to smile!

    Room was clean and comfortable and the bath was a good size for a good soak after the long, flight from Australia. Most of the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Amazing staff & great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the biggest fan of having an open bathroom. Maybe it was just the room we stayed in but my personal preference would be to have this closed off (but maybe I’m just a prude).

    I really liked the little complimentary extras that they added in the bathrooms. The room was a very good size and quite. The price was incredible and represented excellent value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    The best 10 days in Barcelona! ♥️
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    NOTHING! However, you rely on Wi-Fi to do your business, you may have a few issues as it is slow/spotty. The neighbourhood is safe, and busy at the corners where the restaurants are, but if you are uncomfortable walking in the dark, this may not be the right place for you as it is in a dimly-lit area.

    THE HOTEL - is in a great location, about 7-10 min walk to the main shopping street, Passeig de Gracia. It is also a 15-20 minute scenic walk to major attractions like Segrada, Casa de les Punxes, Casa Batllo and La Pedrera. A bit longer if you want to walk to Placa Catalunya, La Rambla or the Gothic Quarter, but easily access by bus (bus stop is around the corner). But we like walking. THE ROOM - was very clean and new, with very comfortable beds, pillows and blankets. There is hardwood, but also a carpet around the bed which made things cozy. There is a variety of in-room snacks available and a fridge with beverages if you choose to purchase. THE BATHROOM - was very clean, too. No need to bring bath toiletries - Room Mate has their own signature bath, gel, shampoo, conditioner and lotion that I used everyday. I LOVED IT and will definitely miss it! STAFF - are amazing! The first week, I got a personalized welcome note with some candy - a lovely touch and I knew straightaway they were going to take care of us. The second week, another note with more candy! And on our last night, they gave us a note and gifted us with some really cool luggage tags which I will DEFINITELY be using on our next trip. My son also got a cool pen and mini-notebook (like a Moleskin) which was super nice. We also had someone greeting us at the door and at the front desk. THE BUFFET BREAKFAST - was also amazing. They have all the staples like eggs, meat, fruit, cheese, etc. as well as a variety of delicious pastries and sweets - which my son LOVED everyday. Coffee, tea, milk (and cereal), plus a variety of juices is also available. It is WELL WORTH adding the extra cost to your daily stay. Be sure to ask for it BEFOREHAND for the discount, otherwise, you'll pay a la carte pricing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the property was excellent for access to the main streets It was comfortable & clean. All staff were friendly, courteous & professional. We did have an issue with the air conditioning in our room but it was swiftly resolved. Reception staff were extremely helpful & bar staff made amazing cocktails.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Perfec, professional and welcome personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe commercial in elevator, weather report will be enough ;)

    Perfec, professional and welcome personal. Really nice and modern room. Small welcome gifts was perfect. Room was perfectly clean up every day, towels etc. Perfect location near to Sagrada familia and Casa Batllo.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Perfect staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highly recommended!!!

    Very clean rooms!!! Peaceful and nights, we even left the windows opened to enjoy the fresh air!) Welcoming and friendly stuff, when we checked-in we found out a surprise desert in the room, we were very pleased by such attention! Close to different metro station! 10 min on foot to Sagrada

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was great.

    Lovely hotel! Good spot where you can wander down La Rambla & to the port, but away from some of the tourist trap areas! Loved there is a little gym available too!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Good location, modern, kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much places to eat/supermarket opened at late night

    Good location, modern, kind staff. When we left the room we were in a hurry so we forgot our pijamas and other stuff. When we realized we sent an email to the hotel and they kept everything until we picked them up 2 weeks later. It’s nice to receive such a good gesture.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Magnifique !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On ne voulais plus partir 👍🏻

    All was real WONDERFUL Hôtel just amazing We are so happy for this séjour MUCHAS GRACIAS PARA TODO WE WILL CÔME BACK Bravo !!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Super clean and comfortable room . Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. City wifi for free was fantastic- thank you for a terrific 5 days.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Really modern, stylish, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor details, not an awful lot of storage/shelf space in bathroom, was difficult to get all toiletries out between two of us. Also a shame the bar wasn’t busier, was a lovely space but was completely dead every time we went past which didn’t entice us to use.

    Really modern, stylish, comfortable. Staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. Peaceful clean and good location. Highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay. I only hope there is availability next time I visit Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At check-in I felt pressure to upgrade, which wasn't good. The brand video playing on repeat in the lift is just annoying. Minor stuff though.

    For me a hotel is all about the bedroom and the location; this one wins on both. This hotel is modern in a appearance and 'persona', with very relaxed and helpful staff and modern vibrant furniture and decoration - it feels relaxed, it feels really good. The location is near to Passeig Gracia, with is ideal for transfers to the airport, but also for getting around whilst in Barcelona. The location also makes many of the sights accessible just by walking and it is a great area to eat, drink and relax - nicely away from the nonsense of Las Ramblas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Liked it a lot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast selection was excellent. Hotel was air conditioned throughout and very clean. Decor was cool! Easy walking distance to main thoroughfares, really close to Sagrada Familia. Close to bus and metro stops making travel very cheap and easy. We discovered lots of nice eateries and craft beer places nearby too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent place, very friendly staff, the location is great just a 3 minute walk from Paseo de Gracia and 5 minutes to La Pedrera. Super clean, the breakfast was also very good. Highly recommended hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room looked out into other rooms/apartments and that made the room dark with no natural sunlight.

    The staff were lovely and helpful, the breakfast was amazing. The room was clean and a decent size. The location was perfect, very central.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Everything else was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad position of aircondition.. It was above bathroom...

    Everything else was excellent!!! Ramon at reception was very helpful and friendly.. He explains to us everything!! +1 to ramon. 👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. We paid 8 euro per person per night. Coffee, hot water, hot milk all was cold, little variety for buffet.

    Fantastic Hotel. Check-in was great. Our plane was late and we did late checkin. Old man at reception greeted us so nice and friendly. Our room was upgraded without any cost. Room was very clean and bright. Cleaning service was very good. Bathroom facilities, kettle, tea water, dryer, air conditioner, tv everything was good quality. Location is great. We are very satisfied

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic location in the Eixample area just a couple of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had, which was by no fault of the hotel, was that guests above us were flicking their cigarette butts off their terrace and into ours. Not only is this incredibly dangerous but totally inconsiderate to other guests and the environment. The team at RMC tried to deal with this quickly upon informing them.

    Fantastic location in the Eixample area just a couple of streets from Passeig de Gracia. The staff were just lovely. We had a 5 night stay and on 3 occasions we came home to cute little letters with goodies! It’s the little things that make all the difference! The hotel has all you need for a city stay. The rooms are large considering the location and we had a fabulous big terrace to enjoy also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel, fantastic breakfasts and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The washroom did not have a lot of hooks to hang towels or your clothes. The colours of the hallway were black and dark blue. This made it difficult to see.

    The rooms were very clean, staff was accommodating and friendly. Breakfasts were fantastic. Hotel was a short 10 minute walk from the city centre. Close to sites, shopping and tasty restaurants. There was one great restaurant a couple of doors away from the hotel, I believe its name was Muscleria. Great mussels and a fantastic price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    The room was very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    The room was very clean and comfortable. It had a nice terrace with a view of the Sagrada Familia. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Very clean, modern hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just slightly to far from the beach to walk really! Not bad if you don’t mind walking places!

    Very clean, modern hotel! Great air con and always very helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    The hotel is super modern without been uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is super modern without been uncomfortable. It’s really a beautiful property. The staff was supper friendly and accommodating. The little things, from a great bartender at the lobby bar to a very helpful concierge. I have been to Barcelona many times, I will stay here from now on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff is so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lock in the bathroom

    The staff is so friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is amazing. The hotel is very close to main areas and exclusive shopping streets. The rooms are always clean and the breakfast is very rich

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    First stay in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place wasn't spotlessly clean as advertised. There were a few stray hairs in the bathroom and the shower wasn't as clean as it should be. I spotted several stains and scum on the walls and the glass separator of the bathtub.

    The place is extremely comfortable and they went the extra mile with our special requests. Breakfast was really good, the eggs were delicious! We would have appreciated a larger selection of savory items though. However there was frech fruit and juices every day which was amazing! There's a bus that takes you straight to the beach!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel, great location but a bit overpriced for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was alone but had booked a double room and the hotel put me in a room with two single beds by default despite not asking me my preference. This was a bit annoying. But the staff at reception at least arranged for the housekeeping to push the beds together and put a big cover over both beds so that I did not fall in between them - and this was appreciated. I was not a big fan of the shower in the bathroom, it was a bit weak and there was no holder/shelf to place the soap/shampoo. Value of money was ok, not brilliant - I have stayed in much better hotels for cheaper cost - but having said that Barcelona hotels do generally seem to be expensive.

    The staff on reception and in the bar/restaurant were friendly. The bedroom itself was very large, comfortable and clean with a good solid bed. The breakfast was decent, good enough selection of food items and not over priced. The little balcony in the room was quite nice and allowed me to open the window and have a coffee in the morning air. The location of the hotel is really good, close to a main shopping street with lots of bars, restaurants and shops close by in the neighbourhood. Was easy to get to and from the hotel to the airport. They had an iron and ironing board which they let me use which was great. There was gym facilities but I did not use them. Had no major issues while staying there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bar/restaurant is open for breakfast and then closes until 5. It would have been nice to get a drink or a snack from there in the afternoon but we got around it. It has a gym which is a good thing but it did not have much equipment. The location was good but not necessarily in the area we wanted. We had no problem walking to other areas or hopping in a cab.

    Helpful staff! Room was very comfortable, clean and had a great view from the balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Delightful front desk staff greeting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t use complimentary cocktails as bar was not staffed. Room was outside of elevator (308). People next door partied on balcony all night. Started at midnight, ended around 5 am....It was loud and rude. I departed at 6 am, Did not stay for breakfast.

    Delightful front desk staff greeting! Helpful and welcoming. Room was pretty, bright and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the pillows were a bit too big (too high)- both of them.

    The rooms were spacious and clean, beds were comfortable and the people at the reception were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Good but not excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, I asked to switch it but was refused. The shower door was not closing properly so the floor was flooded after every shower. In general - the hotel is presented as a 4-star hotel, but based on my experience with other hotels I stayed in, I wouldn't rate it as a 4-star.

    The hotel is clean and the location is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Random game, you may get a 4* room, or a more expensive 2* room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More expensive rooms may actually be worse than the cheap ones, it's a random game. I got a perfect room for my 1st night, then the superior and way more expensive room (for the rest of my stay) was like from a cheap 2* hotel. I had to ask to be downgraded to a cheap room (while still paying for the expensive one) in order to have: - a balcony with a nice view to a street instead of to a window view to a wall; - modern furniture, nice decorations instead of dull and dated stuff. But still, couldn't get the same quality (as from my 1st night) but got a room where the sink was not in the bathroom but in the room. Don't understand how that can be 4* and not 2.

    Very nicely decorated, good breakfast, good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    There's no direct relationship between the rate and room quality
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive and cheap rooms are random quality, do not reflect the price, a more expensive room is not necessarily better: - 1st night: a cheap 2-single-beds-next-to-another room was perfect, modern, with a balcony facing gorgeous Barcelona building facades; - rest of the nights: the larger, expensive double room had a view to a wall and was completely dull, with dated furniture, like from a cheap hotel; - so I had to ask to let me stay in a cheaper room while paying for the expensive one only to get better quality. As my original cheap room wasn't available anymore, I got another cheap one (while paying for the expensive) with perfect view, modern furniture, but with the bathroom sink not in the bathroom but in the room. Yes, like in a hostel. Anyway, this was still way, way better than the expensive room I paid (and had to move from).

    Nice location, most rooms are very nice, breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay . Very comfortable rooms and the staff was very friendly . Will deftasty ray
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly I cannot think of anything I didn't like ....

    The breakfast was excellent and at a great price .. The staff was very friendly and helpful .. The girls at the front desk were very nice .. Overall an excellent place to stay and will stay here the next time in Barcelona ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Great breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hallways were painted black and had black carpets. You have to feel your way along the wall to find your room. It was very discomfiting. The lobby was also very dark blue. It was hard to navigate without stumbling. We wouldn't stay again.

    Great breakfast; friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Great stay in a funky hotel - amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls leading to the rooms were black, so it was a bit too dark but other than that, it was a funky and great hotel

    Such an ultra cool modern hotel. Loved the decor, vibe, staff, breakfast (their bacon just melted in your mouth- yum!) and the location was superb!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Really good place to stay. if ever in Barc. i will stay there
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the TV in room is absolutely useless! all good channels are in spanish.

    Great location. amazing breakfast!!! and VERY quiet sleep (i had top floor room)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    A gem of a hotel in Barcelona - will definitely be staying...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some of the rooms can be quite small.

    A gem of a hotel in Barcelona - will definitely be staying there if I return. Staff are exceptional from the receptionists to the breakfast staff and especially the nighttime barmaid. Very funky furnishings and an excellent bar menu. Its the staff and the small touches at this hotel that make it truly stand out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    very small room .. they took 5 euro deposit for the adapter which is inappropriate since they already registered my credit card and they can deduct it if I don't return the adapter back

    Excellent location .. Good breakfast .. helpful staff .. almost 20 mins walk to Rambla St.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The basic rooms were quite small but this is not unusual for city hotels

    Great location if you want to explore Barcelona. 10 min walk to the Basilica, magic fountain and top of La Rambla and similar to the gothic quarter. It cost us less than 10 Euro to get to the beach/marina. We paid for the Bus Touristic which was a great way to see all of the outskirts and judge where things were but remember the buses only go in one direction so not quite as 'hop on, hop off' as we perhaps realised. The hotel is very dark but we liked it's quirkiness. The smell when you walk in is amazing! Staff were very helpful and the rooms are functional (we stayed in a basic room which was small - if we went again we would go for a slightly bigger room but it was not a major problem). Great choice at breakfast even during the week when the hotel was quiet. We would definitely go back to Barcelona and definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall would be happy to recommend and come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking out we had a misunderstanding and our taxi wasn’t called. Tall young bearded man assisted other guests but not us.

    Staff. Paula was awesome. Girl on reception was great too but can’t remember her name.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Clean room and accommodating staff. Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room air conditioner was not working properly and so we were extremely uncomfortable in the night when the temp got very high. The bed cover was a down quilt which made the night unbearable. The staff tried fixing it but we found it was freezing until about 10PM and then the whole unit shut off and it became so uncomfortably warm we could not sleep.

    Breakfast was excellent and accommodations were very nice. The staff was extremely nice and helpful, especially Maria. We felt very comfortable and the information she provided was very helpful and accurate (directions, costs, etc.)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent budget hotel, helpful staff, very clean and great cocktails!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish TV had English films

    We were given a bigger room just because we had to wait an extra 45min. Shower was wonderful bed comfortable tea coffee making facilities appreciated. The room was cleaned to a very high standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent staff and hotel , but room with balcony not worth the extra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paid 25 euros extra per night for a room upgrade with a balcony, however the actual room was much smaller than a normal room. Only complaint really.

    Staff were excellent and could not do enough for you. Breakfast was extensive and good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    85 EUR/night is value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is great per se, however the street gets blocked by the police and manifestants as the hotel is located close to the offices of Spanish Government in Barcelona.

    85 EUR/night is value for money. The room was fantastic and oh we had a full-size balcony with a table and chairs!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in a great neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is a bit small but more than adequate for a short stay and there wasn't much of a view through the window.

    Staff were very nice and accommodating, we were allowed to stay in the room an extra half an hour at check out and they offered to keep our bags in the lobby. The location is very nice without being in a very busy touristy area, about 5 minute walk to La Pedrera and 20 min walk to Sagrada.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Best birthday ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault anything about the hotel, staff or our stay there.

    Excellent hotel, Erika on reception was very good and Paula at the bar makes some amazing cocktails. Both are a credit to the company and we would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location for a lovely city break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom didn't look as nice as the rest of the room, I guess that explains why there are no pics of it here on booking.com under these two accommodation types mentioned below. Shaving mirror was positioned very low and it was impossible to adjust it to some other height. Hotel offers their pricey transfer services, but they also suggest you to take a much cheaper regular taxi/transfer from Barcelona Airport or a metro.

    Excellent location, between two metro stations: Diagonal and Verdaguer from where you can go anywhere in Barcelona. Beds were comfortable, breakfast was good and the room looked very recently renovated to an extremely high standard. We were also upgraded to Twin rooms with balconies although we have booked regular Twin room. It was a nice gesture, but those rooms were a bit smaller than the ones we have originally booked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded my expectations, very nice funky hotel with great facilities, lovely rooms, tasty breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The scent in the hotel lobby, staff friendliness, quality of the breakfast buffet, bed comfort, selection of toiletries, selection of minibar, decoration, space in the room and high ceiling (junior suite), balcony

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    The localisation is perfect, close to multiple bus station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traitor service was late, really difficult to reach and note warm enough When it arrived.

    The localisation is perfect, close to multiple bus station and in the center of the city. Close to the casa mila and batllo. The breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Great service & value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were extremely friendly and super helpful, cannot fault the service at all! Was offered an upgraded room for minimum cost, which turned out to be a great idea. Room was spotless, much roomier than our original one and extremely comfortable. Hotel was also in a great location, close to a number of different metro stops and also within a short walking distance of a lot of sights. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    a welcoming and loverly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    the hotel is on a very busy road, the cleaning of the room was fine for the time they have but not 10/10 and on arrival you get a small bottle of water but that's it they do not replace this, it would be nice to have a free bottle every day

    comfy bed with a good mattress the breakfast had a good choice and served from 7am to 12am staff were very helpful and if you needed anything or information they would find out for you and ring up for you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    The welcome was extremely professional and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was extremely professional and the room was ready for us. We updated our accommodation for an extra fee and were not disappointed with the space and comfort.Being English we certainly enjoy having tea making facilities especially after a busy day sightseeing.Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Overall a really good experience at Room Mate Carla,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very leaky sink tap which flooded the counter every morning while we were using it, so that should of been picked up before we arrived and although there was a good selection of toiletries we were only given one shampoo per room freshen and having a partner with long hair that one small sachet really doesn't go far! More shampoo a two less big bars of soap would be ideal! I wouldn't of thought people would go through three bars of soap for a long weekend city break... but who knows! We rang reception for a little more shampoo but had to prompt them again an hour later to bring more to our room.

    Really nice spacious room, and the breakfast selection was really good too. A little pricey though,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very happy with hotel! Room and bathroom were super clean and comfortable, the staff were really friendly and breakfast was good too. Will make sure to return here next time!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff but needs to improve on professionality. The check-in and check-out took a bit long. We were satisfied with the bathroom, it was clean; but not spotless clean.

    The hotel is directly in the heart of Barcelona, close to most of the sightseeing spots. Close to the hotel there is also a bus station with very good bus connection. We had a room with balcony to the street. The room was cozy and sound proof. Barely anything was heard from the street although it was quite a busy one. Plenty restaurants in the neighbourhood and the bar downstairs is a plus if you want to enjoy the street view from the balcony. Overall it was very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect. I will recommend it as a first choice. It was a pleasure to stay in this hotel. Staff was wonderful, breakfast with a lot of choice, very clean, excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Great value hotel in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior décor of the hotel is all black which we didn't love but the rooms are bright and airy.

    Lovely comfortable beds and clean rooms. Shower was very powerful and staff were helpful. There are a few nice restaurants around the hotel too if you don't fancy going back down into town to eat in the evening.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    I recommend this hotel for everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    I recommend this hotel for everyone.don’t waste your money for 5 star hotels.we paid 500 euro for 5 nights for 3 person and get 5 star cleanliness!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    Good location, helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms,slient place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was weak

    Rooms were comfortable and clean. Staff(especially reception) were very helpful and kindly.The location was very good. However, breakfast was bad. No variety for breakfast and the cheeses are the worst that I have ever eaten.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff but not 4 star standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pokey balcony with view of people’s washing.Silly bathroom door.Socket in bathroom loose for hairdryer.no Uk tv at all. Breakfast poor for a 4star hotel.Corridors to rooms too dark.

    Clean room.nice large comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Location is good, 10-15mints walk to the city center, lots...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is good, 10-15mints walk to the city center, lots of good restaurants in the surrounding areas. Staffs are friendly, room is clean and comfortable with spacious space.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Positives far outweigh the negatives - would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little too hot and I couldn't work out how to change temperature. Disappointing they do not loan plugs to convert to European voltage - most hotels let you do this via a deposit system.

    great breakfast, friendly staff who spoke multiple languages, location perfect for the main downtown attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.8
    barcelona is a beautiful city, the hotel staff made this trip and everything that went wrong better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we thought the hotel was much closer to monuments that were in fact long walks away, therefore we sometimes after a long day had to catch taxis that were a long way back .The hotel had no restaurant in which you could call and get room service. you had to call another restaurant outside the hotel, in which you were then charged for that phonecall. The rooms looked nicer online, so infact i was quiet dissapointed with that. I am a huge roommate chain fan and this hotel dissapointed my expectations.

    the staff were VERY friendly and helpful, they guided us during our stay at the hotel, answered any quieres we had with a smile and recommended restaurants that they thought were good, which we then tried and definitely agreed with!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic, fab location, felt very safe and will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t really suggest improvement.

    The rooms were amazing, the shower was powerful, hot and spacious. The pillows were so comfy. The staff were very helpful indeed. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    surprisingly good location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we didnt get a refill of the schampoo and soaps.

    super helpful staff, gave us great recommendations of restaurants in the neighbourhood. location was excellent. the lobby had a strong smell of perfume wich made me nervous about the room (i have allergies) but the room hade none of that. the perfumated lobby seemed to be standard, most stores also had a thick perfume right in the entrance. overall very happy with our choice of hotell ! first time in barcelona, enjoyed it very much. will come back again this spring !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, modern designed rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. Yummy breakfast with an extended glutenfree selection. Great location to main landmarks.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Room Mate Carla traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: