Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of VP El Madroño This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

General Diaz Porlier, 101, Salamanca, 28006 Madrid, Spain

#51 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2522 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    8.8
    Great big rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service is average. The rest very good as value for money.

    Great big rooms. Location super good . Close to All attractions . Good breakfast for 10,99 if you ask before .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    6.7
    Big confortable clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficulty in communication in english with the staff. Very noisy air conditioner. Breakfast is served on the basement. Not much amenities.

    Big confortable clean room. Rich breakfast. Very close to metro station (Diego de Leon).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    They made my stay very easy and comfortable!
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was big and very comfortable, everything clean and nice, it made me feel like home. The personel were very nice too. The location was very good, close to the center, the neighborhood very nice, a lot of restaurants and shops!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.2
    High quality accommodation
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing of significance to criticize.

    I particularly liked the kitchenette facilities - which meant that food could be bought from local supermarkets if desired. The hygiene standards were very high and the beds very comfortable. The layout of the room was also most pleasant and welcoming. I would have no hesitation in recommending this property and would, most definitely, consider staying here again if visiting Madrid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Excellent for City Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints at all

    Large modern comfortable rooms, which are clean and well maintained. Staff are very efficient and helpful at all times. Located close to Metro stop so perfect for sight seeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Great location, asthetics, clean, professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We could hear somewhat (muffled) our connecting room (which was our family) but not too desturbing.

    Very professional Bilingual (English/Spanish) staff. Level of cleanliness was excellent with extra amenities (slippers, etc.) were just the icing! Thanks for everything, I will be back and recommend to others!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    8.8
    We are satisfied with this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sound of ventilation is a little noisy. But it is manageable.

    The room is spacious. There is a kitchen inside the room, so we can prepare the meal ourselves comfortably.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.1
    Decent stay - not in the best location and a bit tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn’t in the most happening location - a bit on the edge of more interesting areas. Room furnishings / bathroom fitting etc were also a bit tired.

    Staff friendly, room comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    We stay here often and love the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioning seems to have changed in the classic room, was noisy and didn't cool the room very well. We mentioned this at checkout. I'm sure the staff will look into it.

    We stay here often and love the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    10
    Great hotel ideally situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at breakfast on our leaving day were , less courteous , less organised and the quality and attention to detail with the food was sloppy !

    Everything else

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended comfortable hotel offering good value in a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect!

    Reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived early morning (as advised) and after a short wait we were given early access to our room. This gave us the afternoon for sightseeing! The room was very large at 35 sq. m. and had a wonderful , comfortable bed and a bright and spacious bathroom with a good shower. Located close to the Avenida de America train station and to the main bus station for buses going out of Madrid ?(We were travelling onwards to Burgos). It is also close to the Metro (Diego de Leon). Nice area to walk around. We were also able to travel from the Diego de Leon station into the Old City to the Opera train station , close to the Palace and the Cathedral. We felt that we got good value at VP Madrono and the hotel greatly exceeded our expectations. We were returning to Madrid two weeks afterwards and when we were leaving we were disappointed to learn that the hotel was booked out on date of our next visit . Probably not surprising as we were so impressed by the hotel! We will book VP Madrono well in advance the next time that we plan to visit Madrid!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.5
    Bed was very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stepping in and out of bath to have a shower could be dangerous for some! There was a coffee machine, but no coffee, not even instant coffee!

    Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.9
    We stayed at Deluxe Triple room, on the 1 floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The noise in the corridor and from the adjacent rooms...but this is the problem in most of the hotels, I'm afraid. The coffee machine in the room was awful, and no tea-sugar - other stuff at all. The toilette - shower corner was a bit strange, but we somehow did not mind it that much. The windows overlook the creche or some kind of baby club so if you do not like the shouts it might be a nuisance in the morning. But if you leave the room at 10 you will not notice.

    We stayed at Deluxe Triple room, on the 1 floor. Very close to Diego De Leon Metro, though we took long walks to the centre and only took a metro back. Several supermarkets in walking distance. And lots of cafes-restaurants in the quartier. We were satisfied with breakfast: the fruits were tasty and the variety was great, all sorts of eggs, cheese, ham, confiserie, a special corner for the small ones; but the tea from the tea bags not to my liking. My husband enjoyed his coffee. The double bed was big and comfy, the curtains were enough to hide all the light coming from the window so we had a nice sleep. The window overlooked the garden with old nice trees.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    9.2
    Good choice. But not for families with strollers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For travelers with strollers the Location could be somewhat challenging. Because the metro stations do not have elevators but too many stairs. In general most of the metro stations in Madrid Are not suited for people with strollers/ wheelchair as most of them have a lot of stairs and no elevators except for the some main stations. Otherwise you’re Well connected to the center and other areas. In case it matters to bathrooms have a glass door (not transparent) which could not be locked. The ventilation of the bathroom I was in our room not really functional.

    Spacious rooms with a small kitchen. Modern clean bathrooms. Very clean rooms. Nice friendly staff. Good breakfast. Room service offers food of good quality for reasonable Preis. Few various restaurants pharmacies and grocery stores around. Various connections with busses and metros Metro line 4 about: 250 meter. Line 5 (direct to the center) and 6 around: 400 meter

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent. Would not hesitate to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We do not eat a large breakfast so the charge for breakfast for us was excessive. A sliding scale would be a great innovation.

    A good size room with a small but good kitchenette.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel and location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We would have preferred a kettle to a coffee machine.

    We liked the big room, which was very clean and modern. Excellent location for the USA Embassy which was the purpose of our visit and 2 minutes walk from the metro, so great for getting to and from the airport. The breakfast was fantastic. Hot and cold choices, too much to chose from. Lots of bars and restaurants close by and a short metro ride to the center of madrid for shopping and sightseeing. We would definitely stay here again. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.2
    In a nice area, away from the very busy city center. Still very convenient with 3 Metro lines nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like!

    Very spacious room, with kitchenette. Overlooking the rear garden and very quiet. Excellent breakfast. Convenient for both getting into the city center and to the Convention Center (and airport) by Metro

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay but could be improved!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, great that you have your own kitchenette but there is nothing, not even the minimum like soluble coffee or tea, cream and sugar to take an early hot drink at the room. Also, the breakfast is not included on the price, which is not cheap.

    The room was really spacious, with a lot of natural light and extremely clean. Staff really nice and professional. Nice to have courtesy water and sodas for the first day... The location is good, you are in the center of Madrid, but the "center" is big ... if you are visiting Madrid and want to stay really close to the main museums and touristic attractions, you might want to look for something closer to the Plaza Mayor or the Palacio Real... but if you like walking, you can walk and enjoy the city while you get to the center center...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    6.7
    You get what you pay for. A clean, non elegant, well located place in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was like ‘mama bear’ bed in goldilock story...too soft...,the pillows awful. No a/c and had to open the window to sleep. No room service.

    Good location, 10 blocks more or less from Serrano Street. Good price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.5
    spacious room and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is spacius and have a simple kitchen. Quiet and have a lovely garden. Close to Diego de Leon metro. The decor of the reception is a bit outdated but the roons are renovated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast catered for everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kitchenette supplied with coffee maker, cookery etc but no actual tea or coffee. Travellers don't usually carry supplies.

    Breakfast catered for everyone. All ages and dietary requirements.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were not that comfortable. The rooms were apparently sound proofed but they clearly were not. You could hear everything outside the door, upstairs and of course from outside. The bath water was either extremely hot or cold, it was difficult to find a comfortable temperature. The description states that there is air conditioning in the rooms. On my first day the room was really hot. I tried to reduce the temperature (eventually to 5 degrees!) but the room would just get hotter and hotter. When I went to reception they said that in winter the AC only gives hot air. This was in April and 20 degrees outside. I'm not sure when their winter ends. Also the room ket card needed activating each day, which I was not made aware of beforehand. On the second day I was told that I needed to pay the balance of the whole stay to have the card reactivated. I would not have minded this, but again this was not explained when checking in.

    The hotel is quite close to the metro station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    9.6
    Delighted to have found this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent hotel with a very big room and a fantastic garden in the back. Situated in a nice residential area with plenty of restaurants, shops and bars around. I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room heating system was difficult to use (or I just didn't know how to use it)

    Everything. Very peaceful, great rooms, very clean and wonderful bathrooms etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.2
    Second visit to wonderful hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room at the front wasn't quite as nice as the one I had last year overlooking garden, which had a much better, walk-in shower. Kitchenette still not well-equipped; no sharp knives, washing up liquid or tea towel.

    This is my second visit to this hotel, chosen for its great location in lovely Salamanca district, near Metro station and within very cheap and easy access of airport. (No. 200 bus). Rooms are huge with very comfortable beds, large bathroom and kitchenette with microwave, hotplates and fridge. Staff very helpful and friendly. There is a pretty garden at the rear and several supermarkets, bakeries and greengrocers nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    8.8
    it was comfortable........very friendly staff. delicious breakfast.sp[acious room view.......
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all was perfect but compare to location and being old apartmenthotel room rate should not exceed 100euros all inclusive including bfast...............................on any day....................

    rooms spacious excellent breakfast excellent reception service excellent view from room excellent. location ok only room rate compare to location was expensive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cleaning service started too early (already noise around 08.00), there is no dishwasher or dishes detergent although the rooms have kitchen plates and crockery, the toilet should have new brushes and room deodorant, wifi was quite slow at times, staff at breakfast speaks poor English, room soundproofing is very poor (I could easily hear my neighbors although they did not speak loudly)

    Friendly and helpful staff, spacious room, excellent breakfast, cleaning service, very good location (close to means of transportation and easy to reach from airport), swift and very easy check-in procedures

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    8.8
    Great value of money for one night in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is a little bit old.

    Room is huge compares most of the hotels in Spain. Staffs are really friendly and helpful, helped us to book the restaurant and get a taxi. Public garage next door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    7.9
    Modern and clean hotel, with lovely breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overhot during the night, without any visible thermostat to change heating setting

    Delicious breakfast... lots of choice and lovely fresh fruit. Good service to cook hot food to order. really appreciated the Nespresso machine. Lovely hot shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    9.6
    The room is large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be better if the door of the bathroom is not glass, which would be more sound proof.

    The room is large. Breakfast is good. This stay is fantastic! We had a baby with us. We feel very convenient at this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    10
    Ideal accommodation. 10/10
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Spacious. Very clean. Great value. Good location. Modern. Welcoming and friendly staff. perfect for a short stay in Madrid. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    7.9
    Good for business.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom had glass doors. Although this may be trendy, it really annoys me, as bathrooms and toilets, for obvious reasons, should be synonyms of privacy.

    Good breakfast, good bed, good location (really close to the Diego de Leon subway station, with easy access to downton Madrid).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.2
    Clean and large room and very comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Soundproofing of room could be a little better. Could hear TV from next room, and some noise from the street below (we were on 5th floor, over looking main street)

    Clean and large room and very comfy bed. The breakfast is fantastic, and very good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    10
    Luxurious, Affordable, Squeaky Clean!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that I only spent 1 night. Would loved to have spent many more!

    I was upgraded to their best suite on the 6th floor (top floor), after requesting an early check-in as well, making it a great start to my trip! So I must commend the staff for that. The room was squeaky clean, very spacious and had more than enough facilities. It had a mini kitchen with a hob and a sink, the bed was comfortable and had a lovely painting behind it, the window was large allowing a lot of natural light to come in and there was a little seating area as well. The bathroom was clean and everything was provided. The buffet breakfast was very good offering a good selection. I had a 5 star experience! For the price paid, it was insanely good value due to the upgrade. For me the location was perfect as it was next to the Melior business park where I had work and there is public transport available easily.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    9.6
    Short but pleasurable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small but perfectly formed hotel close to amenities. Well proportioned room thoughtfully equipped for guest comfort. Very helpful staff. Great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    Great city hotel with ease of access, helpful staff and nice facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to say on this area.

    A lovely hotel with a very helpful staff. We tracked as a family and the place worked quite well. I would recommend highly!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    9.2
    we will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom is organised in a strange way, especially the bathtub. breakfast area is difficult to reach.

    The beds are very comfortable, very clean place. Lots of amenities. Desk staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    9.2
    Very spacious nice neat room, friendly people, location...
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was chilly , even after temperature was raised at system at my request. It would have been an absolutely perfect stay if not for that

    Very spacious nice neat room, friendly people, location close to 2 metro stations and IE business school, overall stay was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    8.3
    good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a large part of the floor in the building, corridors and rooms are in marble like stone. with an average only sound isolation WITHIN the building it makes it very noisy, particularly in the early morning when the room next door is cleaned up by someone wearing noisy heels.

    good quality establishment on all levels extra large rooms and no noise from the street

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    5.8
    there better hotel in Madrid
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom and toilet doors extremely hard to open. Toilet seat broken. Damage tile in bedroom floor. Heating which would not turn down bellow 25 degrees. Reception staff suggested to open window which turns off the heating completely. The suggestion re: door problem was leave them open.

    The cleaner

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    8.3
    Very Comfortable, great location and reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower door doesnt completely cover entire shower which led to water being all over the floor. Also, lobby furniture and decor could use an upgrade.

    The beds are big and comfy. So are the pillows. Bathroom was also a comfortable size.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    9.6
    We stayed in the hotel 4 nights.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1.We heard very well TV from another room, even when they tried to put the volume down. Also sometimes it was very noisy outside in the night in the street because of cars ( l guess it was car for taking a rubbish). 2.About kitchen - it could be great to have a normal knife for food and a cleaning stuff for dishes. Really, I can clean dishes by my self and for me it is OK, but because we do not have anything we just put dirty dishes in the sink and wait for a cleaning staff. 3.We had a problem with Wi-Fi twice during two days - only one of us can use it.

    We stayed in the hotel 4 nights. Perfect location - very close to the metro station ( Diego de León) and to the center. You can find supermarkets Dia and Carrefour Express not so far the hotel. Kind staff. The room was clean. We like our room a lot because it looks like a private flat - you have a kitchen plus sofa and table, where you can eat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    8.8
    Great value. Not the best location in town. Near the airport and easy to access downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was advertised the room included breakfast but at the moment of checking in we realized it was not. Nevertheless, what we paid for it was well deserved

    Great value, excellent room and bathroom. Ample, well furnished and pristine cleanness. Charming and polite staff. A bit difficult to get a reservation. Discreet elegance. One of the best well kept secrets of Madrid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Metro connection from/to the airport - only 45 minutes from hotel to the departure gate! Excellent still quiet location. Well equipped modern rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in quiet Salamanca neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The handles on the glass bathroom doors. Too small.

    We are not big breakfast people ; we want only coffee as soon as we get up so the kitchenette with coffee machine and even filters is perfect for us, plus all the other kitchen facilities. The reception staff was wonderful and helped us with advice and printing tickets and passes. Excellent bathroom lighting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    8.3
    Really great hotel large comfy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't a bar in the hotel But it didn't really matter as bars close by

    Lovely big room with settee and mini kitchen Great how it was hidden behind wardrobe doors Nice bathroom Fab breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    7.5
    Nice, reasonably large rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nearly unusable internet, especially at night when there were more people in the hotel. Wifi couldn't handle the load. Poor choice for a business traveler.

    Nice, reasonably large rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    10
    We had a pleasant stay at this hotel, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative point is that the bath shower need to be fixed.

    Overall we had a pleasant stay at this hotel. The room is spacious, bathroom is very clean. breakfast is very good and variety of selection, staff even help me to fill my water bottle with hot water. Reception is nice too, provide my useful information.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    7.9
    A comfortable and safe place which gave a sense of spanish culture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The smell of cooking in the corridor on some evenings.

    The reception area was appealing and open. The hotel had a mix of international visitors and also catered for conferences. The room was quite comfortable with a very compact kitchen. It overlooked the garden area and kindergarten which was fairly quiet. Breakfast was very good with an excellent variety of food, hot food was available on request. The area around the hotel had plenty of bars and restaurants full of locals. It was possible to walk to the centre in about 50 minutes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent hotel room, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One Waiter at breakfast is inadequate. Had to wait for him to set up a table when we got there in the first morning. Then had to wait for a refill of the coffee cups, glasses and then fruit.

    Large room with kitchenette. Well appointed, good finishes. Hotel's location is far enough from the noisier city centre but only a few stops away from the closest metro station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    9.6
    The room was very large, the size of a small apartment.
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative remark I would have is that the bathtub was a bit old and could be replaced. Just to be clear, it was very clean, but looked old and thus could be perceived by some guests as not being clean.

    The room was very large, the size of a small apartment. Bed was very comfortable. It had also an ample desk. The bathroom was also very large. Breakfast was also really good and full of options. The fact that drinks in the minibar were free of charge was also greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent room and service, also easy to get taxi
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast bit boring, same menu everyday and vegetables was not vary.

    Big room, modern, with cooking set like apartment and clean. Service was excellent and very easy to get the taxi through reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    10
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great value. Huge room by Europe standards, room had amazing small hidden cooktop, kitchen sink and microwave along with dishes and flatware. Great because all restaurants nearby are very touristy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    9.2
    Maybe the best quality / price ratio in Madrid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the location is pretty central, is not right in the heart of Madrid. You still have to walk for around 45 minutes (or take the public transportation) to get to where the touristic attractions are.

    Excellent hotel in Madrid, exceeded my expectations. The rooms are very large and all the amenities are pretty new and good quality. The beds are very comfortable, there even is a couch in the room, the minibar items are free (drinks / water) ... all for a pretty good price, too! I would definitely stay here again the next time I travel to Madrid.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel for business trip. Recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of details: - The door covering the kitchen in the room was stuck. Almost impossible to open and reach some parts. - The sink in the bathroom has modern design but not efficient. There is not enough space to wash your hands in that sink because you will be hitting the edge...

    Excellent location for business trip; close to Intercambiador Av. América (5 min walking), but far enough to avoid noise. Breakfast is superb from variety point of view; it would be better if also included quality products (cheap bakery, not tasty embutido). Staff will also prepare hot dishes. Recommended in any case. Generally speaking, supportive and helpful staff. Very nice room; huge and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.6
    Amazing value for money!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the restaurant seemed closed, but it may be just during August period..

    There were complimentary drinks in the mini bar, but not limited to water: meaning you had 2 waters, 2 cans of coca cola & 2 cans of tonic water. That really made my day, because we were really thirsty after the 40 degrees Celsius outside, and the hotel complimentary water is never enough. Oh! and they have Great beds & an Amazing Pillow Menu

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very nice hotel with great staff. Breakfast was delicious and it's a very nice neighborhood. Easy connection to the city center. Very good stay! Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    10
    Never had breakfast at the hotel, as I'm a light eater.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 24 nights

    Really nothing! I do wish there was an open cafeteria, but there are plenty of eateries nearby.

    Never had breakfast at the hotel, as I'm a light eater. The bed's quality (mattress, sheets, pillows) makes for a delightful night's rest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    10
    Outstanding service! The first hotel to get 10 review points from me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    She said everything was perfect. I asked her again, like no complaints? not even minor? She said no. I was surprised and now I am jealous. I never got that evaluation.

    My wife is very happy with the hotel. Making her happy is not so easy. So you get 10 out of 10 ;)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    10
    Great hotel and location.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For us there was nothing that we did not like.Perhaps a box of tissues in the room was the only thing missing.

    The room was huge with lots of facilities.The bed was really comfy and the bathroom was excellent.The air conditioning was a godsend and worked well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    10
    Very comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was perfect for my needs.

    The room was very large, it had a refrigerator, coffee maker, dishes, microwave. It was a very clean room and the beds & pillows were extremely comfortable. The most comfortable room I have ever stayed in all the European cities I have traveled to.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    9.6
    An exceptionally comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a deluxe double room and it was very spacious & comfortable. The beds were very luxurious with high quality bedding & pillows. The black-out curtains were ideal as we were in Madrid for a festival & they allowed us to sleep on after some very late nights! The shower was also fab! Both the reception & housekeeping staff were very good at their jobs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel, super rooms, comfy bed, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Free tea and coffee in the rooms! Although there were plenty of complimentary drinks in the fridge!

    Breakfast was super, rooms were huge, views were great, staff were lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    8.3
    The room is very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is very spacious. I had a room facing the street, yet it was still very quiet. Location is one block away from the subway station, which is a short ride into the center of Madrid. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable very clean, well positioned and priced.
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful, but would like more friendly interface. Very cold ambiance. Hotels I have stayed at before in Madrid at the same rate, made s feel very much at home with assistance to our room and showing us the facilities.

    No cafeteria available Room service available but choice on menu not very exciting Arriving in the afternoon a cake and coffee or tea is always nice to have with out having to go out Kindly charged my phone for me as I left my charging cable at home Rooms are really spacious and has a kettle and kitchenette which really is a bonus. I will make use of this when I next travel to your hotel. Beds were super comfortable Really impressed with the modern fresh styling

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I still don't understand, why they offer a coffee maker but do not offer the coffee to make it with. They told us we would have to buy our own bag of ground coffee! All the other 6 hotels we stayed in for Spain and Portugal all offered coffee in the room. We did not eat breakfast at this hotel, it was too expensive and there are plenty of places to buy breakfast just down from the hotel.

    I love that the staff were so accommodating, Juan Carlos was especially helpful in directing us to the Metro and relaying directions of how to get back. He also allowed us to check in early, very accommodating! The location was excellent, a beautiful safe neighborhood with lots of shopping and delicious restaurants, and easy to get to the various locations in Barcelona.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    7.1
    Easy location in a decent neighborhood, though quite a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy location in a decent neighborhood, though quite a few train stops from anything you may want to see. It was definitely quiet, and seemed like a place for business travelers. WIFI was pretty slow at times.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    8.8
    Nice Neighborhood and Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I din't like the bathroom door was crystal, so if you turn on the light, the whole room would be lighted.

    I liked the rooms were lage and clean with confortable beds, blackout courtains and the buffet breakfast had a lot of options, includings eggs any style you preferred and about 8 ingredients to choose .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    2.5
    This place sucks if you are a nonsmoker
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    These are more like apartments, some people may like them... there was a kitchen in the room they gave me and room was huge. I requested a non-smoking room and they gave me a room that smelled like smoke. I went and told them about it... they went and sprayed the room with perfume. I'm allergic to both perfume and smoke. Should have just gone to some other hotel and cut my losses.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Love ❤️ this hotel. Have stayed there 4 times now and everything is fantastic. The rooms are wonderful, the staff is very accommodating to your needs. Would go back tomorrow. For me is the best place to stay in Madrid. The metro is at the corner and the noise is far away. Love it !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    8.3
    Good stay for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No international tv channels, bad internet connection

    Very clean and spacious room, friendly staff, quiet hotel, well equipped kitchen, very close to the underground station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2017

    10
    Great location; well-designed, reasonably price hotel near museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom looked beautiful but getting in and out of the tub/shower was somewhat challenging even for someone fully mobile.

    Newly renovated rooms, very well designed. Super comfortable mattress and bedding. Lovely gardens. Staff was extremely helpful and there was always someone who spoke English at the front desk. Room had concealed full kitchen facilities with tableware, cookware and automatic coffee maker. Location was steps from subway and walking distance to major art museums.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    9.6
    When I booked this hotel is didn't expect it to be as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that was really annoying is the NOISE. You can hear everything in the bedroom and when I say everything is everything...

    When I booked this hotel is didn't expect it to be as good inews the fact that it is really posh from outside and inside. This is a great value hotel it is amazing we love the kitchen facility , the bathroom and the space in the bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel with a beautiful garden in a quiet area close to excellent public transport facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room unbearably hot when I arrived in the evening. Kitchen equipment could do with improving, i.e. some washing up liquid and tea towel would have been useful. Also the corkscrew provided was useless!

    I came primarily to Madrid to attend a concert at the Auditorio Nacional and chose this hotel for its close proximity. The location was also excellent for the Diego de Leon Metro and the bus station at Avenida de America for the bus to and from airport. Room was large with small kitchen area and lovely bathroom which had an excellent shower. Beautiful, peaceful garden. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful week in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing interesting in the absolute vicinity but still only 7-10 min walking distance from the heart of Salamanca's shopping district!

    Huge room,huge bed,huge bathroom. 2 min walking distance from metro station Diego de leon. Friendly staff. Very nice breakfast, not included in price though. Good hotel choice! Easy airport access with public transport. Madrid rocks!

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse VP El Madroño Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: