Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of A Maquia

Laño, 17, 36994 Samieira, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in Samieira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 257 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    I'm a local, and I am definetely coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very very friendly, funny and welcoming. The views were amazing and breakfast was to die for. We had such a good time at La Maquia. We are definetely coming back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful house in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    A Maquia is a lovely house that overlooks the sea. The housekeeper, Sara, is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. She has a good command of English. Our room was warm, cosy and decorated to a high standard. The property is easy to find and has good parking. The breakfast, including coffee, was very good. We highly recommend this property and only wish we had been able to stay there for more than one night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    This is a wonderful family run establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not really negative, just an explanation. An older couple traveling with us had trouble getting into the deep bathtub in the suite, but our room had a walk in shower; so be sure to tell them your needs. I think they have something for everyone.

    This is a wonderful family run establishment. They are super friendly and have worked hard to make the interior and exterior design excellent for resting and relaxing. The breakfast was great, good coffee, many choices, lots of fresh fruit. Rooms are good (suite very neat!), great beds and linens. Parking right on the property. And it's just a short walk right down to the beach. 100% recommended stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Delightful staff, homelike hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no where to put suit cases. Yes, plenty of closets but not functional. The air conditioning was broken one night which was unbearable (August trip). Don't expect a gratis in Spain.

    Originally, there were going to be 2 guests but last minute changes happened and there were 3. Staff accommodated and we had a a nice room. The hotel looks and feels like a home, spacious property with sea view. Easy to find, great parking and a staff worth keeping freinds. We were not charged the extra person, we were treated like family, nice personal touches at breakfast if you ask. Overalll, this local is rife with treasures other cities cannot match. A gem find.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Great relaxing hotel, beautiful grounds, extremely helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance for location is very easy to miss

    Staff was very helpful with all our questions, they went out of their way with giving us breakfast before the schedule time, we had an early train to catch. Wish we would of stayed at least a second night

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Outstanding place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Outstanding place. Very well located in quiet and cosy area. Very clean room and superb bathroom. Spacy building, very nicely decorated. Clean pool good for kids. I really regret that we spent only 3 nights there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Mi casa es tu casa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner was super-friendly and went out of her way to make us welcome. She even did my washing for me as Spain doesn't seem to have launderettes or self-service facilities in hotels. It was real luxury to come out of our room straight on to the sunbeds on the grass by the pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    The biggest and most pleasant surprise was the beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The biggest and most pleasant surprise was the beautiful walking/running path down along the beach. We loved it! PS Also very close to Pepe Vieria Restaurant... A MUST TRY in this region...!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent views over the ria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best thing the views, after the room decoration and excellent bed. The personnel very helpful, we had a extremely pleasant stay. Nice walk to the coast!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the rest

    Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Awesome place, great location and kind family-run high quality rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the suite. My stay was for one night as I was passing through. I wished I'd stayed so much longer

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Great property with a very obliging hostess in Rosie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great property with a very obliging hostess in Rosie. Would be more than happy to make a return visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    thanks a lot for the hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    thanks a lot for the hospitality. we felt as home. the pool is perfect for swimmers!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy road

    Friendly, the view. Everything was perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rosalia who works there is a true fairy. Dreams become true there! SPECTACULAR! MUCHISSIMAS GRACIAS!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Rosi was very helpful! Beautifull location!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    All the staff were excellent - very friendly and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All the staff were excellent - very friendly and very efficient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    9.6
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Great breakfast. Great room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    9.6
    Great staff, they will tell you everything you need to know...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything perfect !

    Great staff, they will tell you everything you need to know an visit (no need to plan), very appreciated their concern about you having a good time, they ware really that nice! - magnificent view from our big room. - great breakfast, most everything was home made. - good location if you have a car -free Parking

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    The friendly staff, who try to do everything to help you and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were very unlucky with the weather!

    The friendly staff, who try to do everything to help you and to fulfil any requests you may have. Bring a lead to plug your phone/ mp3 into the music system that has speakers in the ceiling, including the in bathroom! 24 hour access to the pool. Lovely short walk to pretty beaches.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.5
    Really friendly staff - so welcoming and could not do enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was very little choice of restaurants in the surrounding areas and not much to do in bad weather. The pool was too cold to swim in and there was no hairdryer in the room. Internet connection was terrible.

    Really friendly staff - so welcoming and could not do enough. Great location for small intimate beaches and perfect in the warm weather. Room and hotel were spacious and well presented. Beautiful view from top balcony.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Exceptional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Exceptional staff

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    10
    We were really well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were really well looked after. Spacious rooms, excellent buffet breakfast, just a short walk from the beach.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    Wonderful place, wonderful people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful place, wonderful people.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.6
    The position and the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The position and the view

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Browse A Maquia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: