Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel A Tafona do Peregrino 2 stars

Rua Virxe da Cerca, 7, 15703 Santiago de Compostela, Spain

#44 of 75 hotels in Santiago de Compostela

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 369 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Room was nice, clean, and cool;
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit pricy and internet signal was sporadic. Staff explained they had very good internet but the stone walls interfered with the signal.

    Room was nice, clean, and cool; staff was helpful. Neat stone wall feature in room. Bathroom included a tub too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Outstanding hotel, a very well priced and extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding hotel, a very well priced and extremely comfortable place to relax after a long camino. Great sized bathroom, relaxing feel throughout and close to all the major sites without the noise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs in our room leading down to the wardrobe were dangerous in the dark.

    Very nice breakfast and the staff packed us a breakfast to take to the aeroporto. Rooms were large and airy. The stairs in our room on the first floor were, however, a bit dangerous in the dark. Location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.1
    Alburgue would have been cheaper and cleaner.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom. The alburgues were cleaner and more updated. Mold on bathroom tiles Gross. No toilet roll holder. Otherwise facility fine. No place to have a quick bite, coffee or beer. Full in house restaurant for fancy meals only.

    After staying in alburgues for 5 weeks it was great to have a private room with own washroom. Quiet. Good location to Camino

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Ideal for visiting Santiago cathedral and historic area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Small hotel just outside the historic pedestrianised centre of Santiago. Easy walking access to cathedral and all sights. Thick stone walls. Shutters. Quiet and nicely decorated. Staff went out their way to provide Gluten Free breakfast and snacks. Long term parking available close by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Santiago de Compostela is an amazing town this hotel serves you well in terms of location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little details that need repair like cracked tiles and a strange cubicle contraption that was almost impossible to get in in room 104. (Apparently the best room)

    Location is fab! Easy by car -there's parking nearby but it's expensive. Nice decor and kept clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, staff very friendly, preference was for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, staff very friendly, preference was for a room with balcony and was not available on first night but changed us the following day for a double with balcony with no fuss, 2 minute walk to market, bars and restaurants,while still being a very quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was very noisy when you turned over

    We needed a hotel with 3 beds for one night in historic part of Santiago as we had walked to Finisteterre and were on route to Madrid. Great hotel near market. We were given suite with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Comfortable, good facilities and relax inng stay. Unexpected treat to end our Camino Portugues.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.9
    I was very convient location to the old town of Santiago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wanted a bath and the bathroom had no sink stopper. Due to the language barrier we had trouble with the request for one. It came down to the problem with overflow water in a old building which I appreciate once I understood the reluctance to give me a stopper. I did get a stopper and had a bath as that is one reason I wanted a room after staying in albergues.

    I was very convient location to the old town of Santiago. It was very quite and in a old buiding but with modern conviences.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked all.

    We arrived at the hotel and even the check in was at 12 o clock, we arrive at 9 and they gave us a room so we could settle down . The room we had booked was in the first floor but as we asked to have the room at 9 they gave us one in the ground floor. The room and the bathroom were good value, a bit dark (but it was our choice asking for the room at 9). The best thing of the hotel is her receptionist, Maria de la O. She helped us with everything and very friendly. The breakfast was ok and the location is great because it is closed to main attractions but not en the middle so it s not noisy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    A gem! Great value! Staff were caring, professional, and helpful. Great place for for pilgrims!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I can suggest to make it a better stay.

    It was a very quiet time of year, mid-November, and not many people coming. Despite this when we came in everyone was very friendly and professional. The owner/staff really went out of their way to provide a quiet room as I requested, and was it ever nice! We were so surprised by how nice it was for the price! My friend and I were Peregrinas doing the Camino Portuguese. We had stayed at other very nice places in Santiago before, but this one was great. Tried to get a booking for another night a little later, but it was either closed for the season or full. Right opposite the famous market, and a five to ten minute walk to the cathedral. A bus stop is right outside, connecting one quickly to the central bus station. In the morning the owner brought in fresh croissants for our breakfast, to offer along with an assortment of all sorts of other Fruits, cheeses, meats, fresh orange juice, excellent coffee and tea. Great place! He really went out of his way to make it the best! My friend and I were super impressed by his attitude.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.6
    It was on a direct bus route to the university hospital.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink faucet in the bathroom ran water from its middle. It didn't hurt anything but the sound was annoying.

    It was on a direct bus route to the university hospital. That is not why we chose it originally but it was a great thing in the end. It was a lovely room - too bad the hospitalized one of us never saw it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Design, friendly, excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar to socialise in

    Design, friendly, excellent value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not varied enough

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent! Comfy beds and cosy room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Had the potential to be a great place to stay just needed a little work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed a good overhaul- door didn't close properly, the floor tiles were broken and the bath had no plug

    Close to the old city

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Lovely staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, good location. We got an attic room which meant i kept hitting my head on the beams.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    I slept staff were nice decent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty dark inside kinda cave like

    Soundproof good night dleep

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    modern converted hotel, friendly staff, nice room & good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    modern converted hotel, friendly staff, nice room & good location..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.0
    Camino Pilgrim
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was off the breakfast room and over the restaurant so was a little noisy

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    They were very friendly, excelent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everithing was good

    They were very friendly, excelent service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    The location was good and hotel very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was good and hotel very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Superb 2 nights stay. This hotel should be star rated more!!
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was amazing, the room, the staff, breakfast and cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.6
    The most comfy beds we had had in weeks...!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath was difficult to run because of fixed shower glass.

    Great big comfy beds and a full sized bath

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    The Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good, but could have had more options.

    The Location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    great place to stay in Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, it was fine as it was

    Beautiful boutique hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    6.7
    Staff was friendly, the building was well restored (old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was "just enough". Room was a bit small although nice and comfortable. Apart from 5 places and a load/unload area, the nearest parking available is at least 500m away.

    Staff was friendly, the building was well restored (old building but very nice and pretty instalations). Location is nice, 700m from the historical area.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    10
    Very attractively refurbished small hotel with lift and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very attractively refurbished small hotel with lift and automatic minuterie to get to a comfortable and not too small room. Reasonably good breakfast included in the price. Particularly helpful member of staff produced Google Map for me to locate my next hotel in Madrid.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    7.9
    Stayed in 6 hotels in 7 days.
    • Couple

    Stayed in 6 hotels in 7 days. Cannot separate this one from the others. Since all were good or very good, answers are generic and thus are not specific to any particular one.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.3
    We loved the little balcony just outside the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Why the administration considered that climbing over the toilet to get into the shower is beyond us! Get rid of the bidet, please, and relocate the toilet. Lighting in the room was purposely dark. Not good for those of us who wanted to see! This hotel controls the settings on the electronics. There's a small change of settings allowed when using the aircon, etc. Breakfast was nicely provided. It was typically loaded with foods that are detrimental to one's good health. Some fruit was available.

    We loved the little balcony just outside the room. Thankfully we had a room that faced the side alley. Rooms on the main road would have been so noisy.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.3
    The location is excellent - in the fringes of the old town...
    • Solo traveller

    One very small thing. Bathroom is lovely. There is a proper shower screen around the bath which is preferable to those awful plastic things. But because it wraps all the way around - if having a bath makes it difficult to access the hot and cold taps.

    The location is excellent - in the fringes of the old town by the market. Short walk to old and new town which is good and also useful for airport bus from Plaza Gallicia. Pleasant room with a balcony. Very comfortable. Good bathroom with nice shower and bath. I would def recommend.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Excellent location to visit the historic places in Santiago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location to visit the historic places in Santiago. Very inexpensive laundry service and incredible helpful staff. Public parking relatively close with a discount for hotel guesses

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.5
    The hotel room was beautiful and right next to the square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathrooms were not up to scratch! Our shower head was broken, the hair dryer was average and kept overheating and there was mould through the tiles. Plenty of towels though!!

    The hotel room was beautiful and right next to the square where a bonfire for the San Juan festival was happening!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    5.4
    Unfortunately, our first night of booking we could not make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unfortunately, our first night of booking we could not make due to a delayed finish on the Camino - my mother got hurt on our last day and we did not finish on time. We stayed two more nights and were hoping because of our situation the we not be charged the night we could not stay but still were.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    9.6
    We had a large room with a spacious terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows were rather poor quality. The restaurant wasn't always open - but it was great when it was!

    We had a large room with a spacious terrace. Carved granite around the doors and windows gave the room a lovely solid and authentic feel. The beds were amazing.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    4.6
    Cleanliness of bathroom, mold in shower walls and ceiling,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness of bathroom, mold in shower walls and ceiling, exhaust fan not functioning, bad odor.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    10
    Great spacious rooms and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great spacious rooms and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    Excellent staff, very friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls were a bit thin...

    Excellent staff, very friendly people. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Really nice room, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be nice to have a wider range of fresh produce for breakfast.

    Really nice room, comfortable bed. Really nice helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrace. Stone interior walls.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    8.8
    Location, friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, friendly

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: