Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ABaC Restaurant Hotel Barcelona GL Monumento 5 stars

Avenida Tibidabo, 1, Sarrià-St. Gervasi, 08022 Barcelona, Spain

#106 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 122 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel guest service seemed less important than the food and our suite maintained a constant temperature of 150 degrees, fine for a slow cooked chicken.

    The front desk staff and unique layout were both warm and memorable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was high design and very beautiful, but the shower floor was slippery.

    With only 15 rooms, the service is highly personalized. Maybe the best bed I ever slept in with black out curtains made for a restful night. Loved the elegant neighborhood. Staff was superior in every respect. Generous and delicious breakfast, not to be missed. We appreciated all the extra touches like the comfortable chaise, the make up mirror, and the lovely view of the garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looks nice in the pictures with the big windows but in reality it is surrounded by wooden bars that make it feel like a cage. windows give on the street so if the curtains are open everyone can see you, especially with the tourist bus stopping right in front of the room. There was dust in the room and the corridor was only cleaned once when we were there (a week). There is a big plasma tv in the room but no channel in English, so we only watched youtube videos. the staff was cold and made us feel unwelcome every day. even if we stayed a week and even if the hotel was empty, they didn't know our name and we had twice the reception staff looking at us and asking what we were doing there and if we were staying at the hotel! each time we said "seriously?!". we think that because this is one of the most famous restaurants in Barcelona they care more about the restaurant guests than the hotel ones. one evening, we went to the lounge and the staff told us "we dont serve food and we have no drinks menu" when i asked if we can have a drink he said "what do you want and we will prepare it" then his colleague came with a drink menu! we later saw them distributing food and understood that the lounge is used for the starters of the restaurant tasting menu and as we were not going to the restaurant we disturbed their service and were not welcome! after 2 days we asked if we can cancel the rest of the stay but they said that even if we had a free cancellation rate that is only applicable if we cancel before a week and that we would need to pay for the rest of the days anyway as it's the hotel policy so not negotiable. so we finished our stay there feeling trapped in prison and were shocked that no one asked us not even once why we thought about leaving and how was our experience. even when we checked out they didnt ask for any feedback, which confirmed that they didnt care!

    The room size was bigger than average Barcelona rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the aperitifs were not to my taste but all part of the a la carte experience

    The hotel was excellent with little extras like chocolate on pillow. Staff were welcoming and nothing was a problem for them. Knowledgeable and friendly. The meal was an experience and enhanced the family occasion which was my husbands 60th birthday.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We paid extra for a room with a private terrace but the terrace is anything but private. There are windows overlooking the terrace from all angles, there is a public walkway with a bench directly opposite the terrace and a direct view from a bus stop where open top hop on hop off tour buses stop every few minutes. We didn't use the sun loungers on our terrace because of this. This was described as a quiet location but it's right next to a busy and noisy main road and junction. Again, we didn't use the terrace to relax because of this and I had to shut the terrace door at night because the traffic sounds woke me up. We had read reviews of the restaurant and splashed out on a tasting menu with wine pairing. This was beyond disappointing. The food was so bad that we felt we were forcing ourselves to eat it out of politeness and on some of the courses we just couldn't finish it at all. The menu is very fish dominated. I love fish but the taste of the fish here was strong and pungent. For example the first course came with a soup of plankton. The extreme fishiness of the plankton was so overpowering that that's all i could taste for the next 3 courses. Then the corn tacos had such an extreme saltiness it tasted like someone had dropped the top off the salt when they were preparing it. I could go on. As a general rule i prefer not to feel like i'm gagging when eating a meal. On the plus side the wine pairings were awesome - I think it was this fact alone that got me through the meal. And the presentation of the food was very nicely done. The quality of service at the hotel was varied. The lady who checked us in was very accommodating, friendly and professional. But when we ordered room service and dealt with someone else we asked for a drink and were told "No, just take something from the mini bar" which wasn't very helpful as this didn't have the drink we wanted.

    In general the service was great, the room was beautiful, the bed was so comfortable, the rain forest shower was incredibly relaxing, the two way mirrors were fun, the water left your skin feel really soft, the wine at the restaurant was outstanding, the room service food was tasty (including a wonderful gormet breakfast) and the chocolate truffles were delicious. The hotel is well placed for getting into the mountains and there are good and easy transport connections to central Barcelona. Overall, a very nice romantic experience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Room with terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A very attractive garden offering peace and tranquility in the city. Helpful staff and a fantastic meal in the restaurant. The taste of the food was amongst the best ever eaten.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spa was a little small and it only has one room to change.

    The room was excellent, clean and luxurious as one should expect from this hotel level, the breakfast was also really good, the Spa was good to relax for a few hours. The most amazing thing is nature coming in through the big windows and the quietness of the neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the people is outstanding, the restaurant a world class experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not a thing

    position away from the busy centre friendly and helpful staff comfort +++ a very stylish small luxury Hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don't want a Michelin dinner every night you are limited other than go out to dine

    Very quite, room great and fresh breakfast excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurante y Spa

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night

    late for check in

    nice hotel relax and quite

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers are a bit awkward.

    We love the ABaC this was our 2nd stay and will return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is well

    Location Scurty Parking Staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This may be a 2 Michelin stars restaurant but this is definitely not a 5 stars hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Attic Suite (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Restaurant outstanding

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, room, staff very profisional

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Away from the busy downtown but not too far

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Attic Suite (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic small boutique hotel. Amazing restaurant. Great staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The socket in our room was not working

    The staff was very corteous

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location gave a nice secluded feeling

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room (1 or 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything! amazing hotel! highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is a bit far from city center which costs about 10 euros each way.. If you want to go to the lobby you will need to go through the kitchen which I think isn't a good thing.. Other than this everything was amazing

    The Attic suite was amazing.. It's on the rooftop floor witha huge terrace.. Also all glass windows which is just perfect.. The breakfast was included in the room rate and it is up to you to have it downstairs or in your room.. The staff were friendly and great.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wanted a room with balcony as stated in my booking got a room without they wanted 300$ extra per night to upgrade me and I was paying 300$ a night. I offered a 100$. They didn't seem to care.

    Breakfast gourmet hotel in excellent shape

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Massage therapy booking confused/confusing which led to me countering a slightly chalenging/confrontational behaviour of the receptionist on the day. You have to walk through the working kitchen to get to and from rooms - which is good to see but means that youre confronted by strong fish stock smells at all times... Prolonged fire alarm sounded twice around 3am on first night. No explanation from staff the following day or apology.

    Rooms very nice; architecture very modern. Food at the high end of the spectrum. Menu adjusted for my vegetarian partner. Breakfasts strong (have eggs parmentier if you stay, its stunning); tasting menu had some high notes and some flat notes.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa very disappointing as jacuzzi water lukewarm and steam room also cold

    Very clean and most of staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts included in price were excellent!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Family with young children

    the Internet was free but slow otherwise everything was wonderful

    The room is big and lots of Windows with very nice garden view The breakfast very good I enjoyed my stay very much

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Regrettable that hotel guests can not always go into the restaurant. In the 5 evenings, there was only one evening free.

    Great food, top location, very good service, we loved it. Situated at the bottom of Tibbidabo so you can go by foot everywhere in the city. Restaurant is world class.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    In-house guests cannot dine in the restaurant. Absolutely no mention is made of this when reserving the accommodation.

    The prospect of experiencing fine dining at the ABaC

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location is beautiful but a bit far by walk from the city center ... the hop off(on) bus is nearby and a taxi station + bus station.. - so it helps ...

    very comfortable bed , ac working perfectly (rare in all hotel around the world) , nice staff, fantastic breakfast in the garden - could stay all day :)

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    After 11 only limited menu and cold food for room service, also it was weird in good way that I have to enter the kitchen to take the elevator to my room,

    I liked the hotel atmosphere, exelent staff very well speaking English, and they always smiling and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is far away from all the attractions there .. The employees are not friendly at all !! Its hard even to find a good resturant in that area ! The hotel is not that good for that amount of money .. Its doesn't worth it !

    Nothing but the shower & a nice onld woman working there ..

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no faults

    amazing food, wonderful oasis, gorgeous rooms, great service - we would go back!

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property needs maintenance. Chipped paint, leaky shower and ants around the spa.

    The restaurant experience was outstanding!

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lounge bar not staffed

    Amazing food, beautiful room

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great room and good service

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nowhere in the bathroom to hang up towels to dry.

    The bedroom was lovely and well equipped. The outside terrace was lovely to eat out on.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent food , good and quiet location not far from city center. Rooms design can compare Mandarin Barcelona hotel on a very reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the staff are very good

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant for hotel guests

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent service in the hotel and restaurant. Nothing was ever too much trouble and made my stay very relaxing. Room service menu was too notch.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything!!

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: