Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abalú Boutique & Design Hotel 3 stars

Pez, 19, Madrid City Centre, 28004 Madrid, Spain

#240 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 780 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    We will come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel updraded our room to a suite and it was really amazing. The location is in the center, very welcoming staff, and nice facilities in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    The price is too high for what the hotel is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel positions to be unique and with unique attitude. However as this is my second stay here the room which i received was simply boring. No special features but at a high cost.

    Small elements of original design

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    If I visited Madrid again I'd choose this hotel. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast - a set menu given to you which was unfortunate as I was with a vegetarian and meat was placed in front of her. The answer - state what you don't like before they serve.

    The best value for money property I've found for any city break. The staff were exceptional, the room had a great rain shower, strong aircon and a ceiling fan as an alternative. 5 minute walk from nearest metro, 15 minute walk to the centre of Madrid. Perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    I was impressed by this little hotel in calle Pez.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was impressed by this little hotel in calle Pez. The photos already looked great but it was better than expected plus a very good price for the quality provided in the centre of Madrid. The room was compact but really well designed. In the morning we even found a complementary bottle of water and muffins. I would definitely go back, as I also love the area and very close to the tube (Noviciado/Plaza de España)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel, tasteful and in a very trendy neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect hotel, tasteful and in a very trendy neighborhood. The crew is very polite, kind and helpful. Nearby the center but much cheaper better restaurants, pubs and funny shops. Modern and hip!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    The complementary morning snack bag every morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room looked so old, was stained and gave the impression of being dirty. The walls are thin, i could hear people in the next room talking until very late hours which was not bery comfortable, had to wear ear plugs.

    The complementary morning snack bag every morning. Location is excellent. Bed is comfortable Staff was nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Best location especially in the city, everything around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything location, sounded by shopping, restaurant, events, park, walking distance. Awesome location

    Best location especially in the city, everything around the hotel 😀👍🏼👍🏼

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfy short stay in great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower head could do with a means of supporting it - you have to hold it yourself. Room was very 'compact' - could do with a bit more storage space to hang up clothes etc. My partner didn't like the stain on the floor, but I am sure that the carpet had been cleaned, but unfortunately, it hadn't been possible to remove it.

    Very comfy bed. Accomodating and helpful staff. Room cleaned every day with clean towels, shampoo etc. Water and mini doughnuts gratis each day Great location for the City. Lots of good restaurants and bars nearby. Metro is close too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    A very pleasant break at a comfortable, friendly hotel in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was the same every day, with little choice, which got a bit boring. Would have liked a kettle in the room.

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stretching the definition to call this a boutique hotel. Niggly things not working properly, shower, electronic door key, internet.

    Location. 24 hour desk. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast that was good value at€7.50. Room quiet, even though it overlooked street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Lovely Designed rooms, cute hotel but did run into a few issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't have a phone in the room, which we did ask for many times but no success. Also the safe wasn't working asked many times for someone to have a look but no joy. Also the water in the shower was warm but not hot this was irritating seeing you have a lovely big bath but simply can't use as water not warm enough.

    The room was spacious and lovely design room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Great room size and the bathroom with the walk in shower was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room size and the bathroom with the walk in shower was fantastic! Could not have asked for a better experience and we absolutely loved the little goodie bag with a water bottle and mini pastries every morning!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Funky hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little tired in places, the step up to the bathroom was loose and the wall strip light was flickering like a strobe light. The shower didn't have hot water in the afternoon but it was ok in the morning.

    Great location in the trendy area of Madrid called Malasaña. Hotel had really frienly and helpful staff that helped me find places to see in the city. I had room 005 which had a cool design and comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Junior Suite was amazing, it was well equipped (speakers and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not as sound-proof as it was in the description, the noises from above and from outside through the window were audible. Suggestion: you should give bathrobes for Junior suites with jacuzzi.

    Junior Suite was amazing, it was well equipped (speakers and subwoofer, apple TV, smart TV, projector - for additional cost), complementary morning gift every day (churros and water), jacuzzi for 2 people, close to Carrefour (10 steps from the lobby), nice location, close to the main Walking street

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice staff, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from the window. The plastic under the sheets protecting the bed was not comfortable.

    Nice staff. Lovely room with jacuzzi. Nice size of the room, it was clean and comfortable. We got upgraded to a suite - bigger than we paid for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    Good stay and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good. Same breakfast for three days. Not worth the price. Service could be better and quick resolution would be appreciated

    Rooms and design were good. Good looking bathroom. Reception desk was helpful. Overall liked it except the breakfast due Limited options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    We had a jacuzzi in our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was really bad. The attitude of the employees should be better. Misleading information - everyone tells you different things. There was no thermostats in our room so our neighbor was controlling the temperature in his room and our room too.the room is only cleaned every 3 days and that includes fresh towels.

    We had a jacuzzi in our room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Great weekend in Madrid, accommodation was the lowest point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelt very strong of smoke - we had to open the balcony doors at all times to try and circulate the air. The place looks a little tired aswell, the pictures aren't really reflective of the hotel. Its extremely overpriced unfortunately.

    The location was fantastic, some really nice bars and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel in central Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff was very friendly! The suite was very nice and well designed! They offer baggage storage! Central Madrid location, close to Chueca neighbourhood! Recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi is a bit slow at times.

    Amazing location. Walking distance from Gran Via, metro stations, supermarkets, bars and restaurants. Rooms were very comfy with a bed fluffy as a dream and very clean room. Very friendly staff at the reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Style and location at a great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing sounds from adjacent rooms was a bit loud.

    Taste of local wine upon arrival, delivery of bottled water and breakfast snack each morning, smart design choices, good location to bars and restaurants with good train access

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Location - Hotel Decor is very cool and the treat left on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi wasn’t that clean and the rubber stopper wouldn’t stay in place making it difficult filling with water.

    Location - Hotel Decor is very cool and the treat left on our door step was a good surprise as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff, location, clean room, comfortable bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear some noise from rooms next door

    Friendly staff, location, clean room, comfortable bed, design furniture, insulating windows - no noise from the street

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.4
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small double bed with very thin mattress by today's standards. Shower and sink are unusually inside the bedroom. .Shower splashes out onto carpet as fixed head arrangement so messy and impractical if you don't want to get your hair wet. Overall small and cramped room not good value compared to other hotels we've stayed at nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    3.8
    If you like quirky boutique hotels, this is for you.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room smelled funny, not enough outlets in the room, the shower ran out of hot water, the room didn't make any sense the way it was set up.

    The location was central and close to lots of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Stunning little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The actual rooms are very small and so is the bar/breakfast area.

    The hotel was beautiful and in a fantastic location. Very clean and looked after.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Hala Madrid ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls of the room was not good isolated so we could hear the old man next door snoring all night.

    The location was good. Close to the subway(Metro) and close to the famous street Gran Via. The rooms was good and clean. Didn't try the breakfast becuse of the prise (7.5 €), there are a lot of places to eat good breakfast just nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    The hotel is in a great location close to the metro and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While not a huge negative, the room layout (wherein the sink and shower are in the main bedroom with the toilet is in a separate room) wouldnt be for everyone but was tolerable for two nights.

    The hotel is in a great location close to the metro and therefore easy to get to all the attractions. The area doesnt look great by day but comes alive at night so give it a chance. The room was small but comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    overall a good value for the price.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark rooms. Dusty. didnt use the coffee machine in room due to dust. Smaller room than we Canadians are used to.

    Good value. Amazing Flamenco show just a block down the street. new teadro theatre. Good places to eat close by: goika grill, la mucca for terrace. reception staff we great! helped us plan our days. computer available for use too upstairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    The room was small and the bathroom facilities (shower,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and the bathroom facilities (shower, toilet, sink) were distributed inside the small bedroom thereby excluding any chance of privacy and, for example, where I would have appreciated a desk, there was a sink!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Very nice boutique hotel for really good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room wasn't big but there was enough space to invite a guest and sit together. The location of the hotel was very good, we were able to visit Madrid attractions just by foot. The staff was very helpful and patient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Be realistic in your expectations and you won't have reasons to be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    World is not perfect in generally - why to search negative in Abalu Boutique & Design Hotel?

    Non-standard design of all rooms (we could compaire). Very comfortable location of the hotel. Good ratio value-money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Bizarre rooms to experience Madrid differently.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our booking promised us extra long bed but the bed was so short my feet were hanging off the edge at all times. There was absolutely no natural daylight in the room (004) and that with added glass doors to the corridor made the room feel like some sort of mausoleum/fish tank.

    The location of Abalu hotel was just perfect. It's so close to the central Gran Via but at the same time tucked away from the big crowds. We had 004 'suite' which had a nice walk-in shower and an interesting design.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.8
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I cannot definitely recommend this hotel: the room I was assigned was really small, did not have any hangers for the towels, place to put the toiletries in the shower, and not even a trash bin!! when I asked for a change just after checking in, they told me the day after I could get move to a different room and I should ask for it around 2pm after they cleaned the rooms. When I showed up next day, there was another person in reception who told me I should have asked for it at 12pm so I should wait another day and besides to pay extra for the new room! I complained about the bad communication and the fact that I had now to pay more when the day before I had been said something different. I remarked the fact that I didn't even have hangers for the towels and they told me I should look better, what made me stop the conversation and leave. A few minutes later, the director of the hotel came to my room and told me he had been told the situation and that if I was not happy I could leave the hotel??? (on a weekend where there were not any availability in Madrid)...after talking and showing him that my room didn't have the hangers he arranged with maintenance to set them up...this is after 48h in the hotel and having to argue with 3 different people. So definitely not the kind of service you would expect...a shame

    Good location, walking distance to everywhere in the center. Bed is comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    A excellent hotel in downtown Madrid, strongly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the hotel lobby bar, a bit strange

    Excellent location, restaurants around the hotel are all excellent, staffs in the hotel are very friendly and helpful, hotel room was very clean & tidy. The size of the hotel room is fairly large compare to others.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Value for money and location with quirkiness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had no complaints, for the price I paid.

    Loved the uniqueness of the hotels design, the room is amazing and had everything in it. The location is excellent, with a Metro station within a few minuets walk and the local bars and restaurants are very lively and good value, with the main city centre also only a few minuets walk away. The room has good air conditioning and a lovely propeller ceiling fan. There is a coffee machine, fridge and safe in the room. The breakfast is adequate and good quality so I had no complaints.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Staff were very friendly and accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No actual air conditioning in the room as advertised. Fan only. Breakfast options limited and over priced.

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating Great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.3
    Good Location, very close to the Gran via st.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is very strange, the shower is at the entrance of the room – very not privet. We upgrade to a bigger room + porch, but the room was still small and the porch was not available since the air condition was there The WIFI was very poor Breakfast served from 09:00 (how come?) and the breakfast was very humble and not justifies the price (7.5€ per person) you can get coffee + sandwich outside in a better price (less then 4€) We had a plumbing problem in the shower that was not fixed while our staying. The best thing in this Hotel is his location and price (we paid 490$ for 4 nights)

    Good Location, very close to the Gran via st.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    We were upgraded for free so our room had jacuzzi bath and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded for free so our room had jacuzzi bath and shower. Pull down projector screen etc. Only stayed one night so didn't use there. Hotel within walking distance to all attractions and staff will provide a map and directions. Recommend San Miguel market for tapas and drinks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Location perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really, this hotel exceeded our expectations

    Great location! Staff very helpful! We arrived by motorbike so could park on pavement next to hotel and we got a welcome drink of champagne which was great. Room size larger than expected and very quirky. Breakfast adequate. Good value for money per night in Madrid

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Waiting 40min for the breakfast. This IS a long time but it was a holiday so everything was closed, so it could be the reason. This fact didn't change my good opinion about the place :)

    Design and the location are fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    Lovely boutique hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly welcome. Staff helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Good central location but on quieter street just away from the main hustle of the centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    A treat in the centre of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The design of the hotel might not be completely our thing, but it didn't stop us enjoying our stay here;)

    The staff of this hotel offers exceptional service. Perfect hotel to enjoy Madrid to the fullest: room had everything we needed and more.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed, not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size was really small. Photos on website look deceiving. I like the location but I think there are better hotels in the city for the price I was charged. It feels like booking.com creates this hype on there website for availability and prices. When I checked the hotel on the day I arrived in Madrid, the room was available at 65 euros.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.8
    Nice hotel, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not enough toilet paper. Finishing touches could be improved a lot i.e paint peeling at edges. Nothing too big though.

    Had suite outside little patio. Good size rooms. Very comfy queen size bed. New towels every day. Décor nice and quirky. Overall good value for money - stayed 4 nights. Nice quiet street.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to point out something negative, the only one would be the access with vehicles to arrive at the hotel

    Friendly staff, comfortable mattress and pillows and for sure its superb location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    7.9
    Great location but the hotel itself was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel looks stylish from the photos but it was quite disappointing when I arrived. It feels quite cheap, the rooms aren't maintained to a good standard and the walls are very thin.

    The location is great, very central, such a good neighborhood. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    6.7
    Great location and staff, problems with the jacuzzi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had consistent problems with the bath/ jacuzzi in our room ,which we had paid extra for. I am hoping to hear that I will be refunded

    Responsive staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    10
    Great Spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was too small and the mirrors were a bit excessive throughout the room but these were minor issues.

    I liked the design of the bathrooms with a big jacuzzi bathtub and a lovely shower head. The bed was so comfy and I didn't hear any noises from other guests. The location made everything easy to walk to or else to get the metro.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    5.4
    Location was good, all about walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air cerculation, the room was remaining humid and the smell of mold because there is no fen in the room to remove moisture and steam from the shower, because shower is in the room.

    Location was good, all about walking distance Room was not bad

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny impractical room -no hangers -too many mirrors -commode and nightstand without place inside. But the worst was: -terrible bathtub, it took water some minutes to disappear inside, was almost impossible to take shower. This fact has destroyed impression of whole the room.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.9
    Centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Beds are a bit small (+/- 1m90 in length)

    -Close to metro. -<30 mins to airport by metro - within walking distance of main attractions - Neighbourhood with many bars and restaurants - Nice rooms, clean and tidy

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    Everything it has to offer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wall of the room a bit thin, you can sometimes hear your next door neighbor. Too many mirrors in the room (but maybe part of the concept of boutique hotel)

    Super soft bed! Nearby convenient stores. Metro red and yellow nice is near. Walking distance to Gran Via street. Staff is kind enough to keep one small bag for me for couple of days as I'm traveling to other cities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Great location in lower Malasaña, Walk to everywhere in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor was a bit over the top, the room was like something out of A Clockwork Orange. Lots of black and white and multifaceted mirrors plus wallpaper with a weird face with huge eyelashes staring out over the bed. Poor lighting in bathroom made it hard to see when shaving. Hot water temp and pressure very low in the afternoon when apparently other guests were bathing simultaneously. More than a few women's hairs on the floor. The in-room phone was broken.

    Great location in lower Malasaña, Walk to everywhere in the center city, Never had to use the Metro. Lots of great places to eat/drink very nearby. Very nice staff. Good bar service. Good wifi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    Location and style
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was hit or miss for me. Also, I booked a balcony room only to find the balcony was obstructed by an a/c unit. I was very grateful to have the a/c because of the heat, but a bit sad not to be able to fully appreciate the balcony.

    The location is perfect. Malasana was a fun neighborhood and we were able to walk to many things, and for the things we couldn't, we were very near the metro. Staff were helpful and friendly, the hotel is small but very well done. The room service was excellent, the room was comfortable and the shower was hot! As the hotel was small and the street narrow, I was really worried about noise being an issue but it was quiet and pleasant!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    Great place to stay in Madrid :)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit small

    The staff was very friendly. Wifi was working really well as i needed it for work. I loved the design of the rooms and the hotel itselft

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Stunning Hotel, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The whole place!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Nice clean boutique hotel , nice staff , close to to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean boutique hotel , nice staff , close to to everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    It was re
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was re ally slow

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice boutique hotel few meters away from Gran Via , if u are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice boutique hotel few meters away from Gran Via , if u are honeymooners ask for room 006 , it’s like a private suite with a private enterance

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    OK room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    OK room. Quiet. Only there for one night. Staff arranged for taxi to airport in the morning, and recommended great local restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice boutique hotel (but with tiny bathroom)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny and very uncomfortable, breakfast poor choice

    Nice room, small boutique hotel, good area, courteous staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good. Staff were welcoming. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Location, comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    None
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gorgeous interior design, posh details, value for money, and excellent service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast everyday same.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast everyday same.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location. Great design. Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking space is not easy to find. Parking garage is far away and expensive.

    Roomy, beautiful design, good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    The staff is friendly and very helpful, any request was...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is friendly and very helpful, any request was attended with extra care and kindness, thanks a lot!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, cosy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower head a bit wobbly in the bathroom, nothing dramatic though.

    Excellent location, cosy hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Love it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, staff, room and style.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    3.3
    Worst experience in my whole trip to Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst experience in my whole trip to Spain

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.8
    Altough the great location; we wont repeat in thus hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small for two people and the bed was specially small and tight. Ther carpet was old and dusty.

    Great location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    2.5
    Very bad old cigarettes smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad old cigarettes smell. Only hot water for one bath. Rest of the time cold water.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant stay, could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, very bad view from the room, little info from reception

    The location, the cleaner was very good

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Abalú Boutique & Design Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: