Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Ritz-Carlton, Abama 5 stars

Carretera General Tenerife, 47, 38687 Guía de Isora, Spain

#2 of 10 hotels in Guía de Isora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 628 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.0
    Crazy expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We need to wait 1 hour after the check in time because they didnt have the room ready. They charge 280 €/ day and 1 hour is around 18€...when we acces to the room the ground was full of bleach and they enter into the room without our permit 1 hour after us...i dont know why...prices are exagerated high inside(8 € a beer in one pool, 6€ same beer in another pool)...

    Pools, plants,bed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing bubble - you wouldn’t believe you were on Tenerife
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa Deluxe Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the laundry service and one of top was ruined, however, to the hotels credit as soon as I raised the issue they refunded us the full value of the top off our bill. A few times we called the buggy service in the evening and it didn’t turn up which was a bit annoying as we were in the villas at the bottom of a very steep hill - not so fun to walk up in heels. But not a deal breaker.

    The properly was by far the most beautiful I’ve seen on any of the Canary Islands. I have to say I wasn’t overly excited about the prospect of going to Tenerife but needed a bit of guaranteed good weather, but this property was just as much luxury as other Ritz-Carlton properties we’ve stayed in in other countries. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much to ask. The spa was exception and I found both treatments I had exceptional relaxing. The food at all the restaurants was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Little paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Bedroom Suite with Resort View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Well maintained resort, with beautiful beach and very good food. I was there due to my friends wedding and it could have not been any better. Highly recommend if you’re looking for a perfect venue for your party. I have also used a spa and that was amazing as well. I hope to visit again very soon

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.3
    High value on service with English speaking staff all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The premises entrance wasn't as classy as expected. Plastic cups at the infinity pool, a bit of a shame. Such and certain other details made it feel less of a 5 star hotel than expected. Unnecessary high prices on everything and on many upgrades (even for high speed internet).

    High value on service with English speaking staff all around. Room (and everywhere else) was very clean. Beautiful views from the room (although advertised as sea view, that was a bit of a stretch). The gym is excellent. Favourite place must be the infinity pool.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Golf course and a beautiful beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very children friendly. We paid extra for Villa and should have an opportunity to eat breakfasts in El Mirador but children cannot enter. Breakfast at the Veranda- nothing special. Defo not a standard of the Ritz. Cleaning-> a few times we had cleaning issues, one day they forgot to clean the room.

    Golf course and a beautiful beach. It’s a big resort but we had a lot of privacy. Pool service- excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Hotel for super luxurious vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa Deluxe Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel for super luxurious vacation. The pools and the beach are spectacular. The staff is pampering with towels and fruit all the time. It's a paradise.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.2
    The hotel, including furniture and similar, definitely lacks the usual Ritz-Carlton standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Way too many young children running around making noise. Breakfast feels like in a poor all-inclusive hotel.

    I liked the restaurants and the golf course.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Very very peaceful and plenty of space
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa Deluxe Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late checkin isnt good ie 3 pm Property is large Main hotel is ok but rooms further down much better with quiet pool areas

    Restaurant staff.. el Mirador Liftman Godfrey Buggies! All staff are very nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Amazing hotel, fantastic staff, didn't want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Because the hotel is in quite a remote location, you generally eat at the hotel restaurants. Although a great choice, the prices are quite steep so be prepared for this. On average, for 2 of us, we probably spent on average €75-100 per meal including a drink each.

    Service from staff is exceptional. The hotel is beautifully built and the rooms are all of a good size. Breakfast buffet was delicious with plenty of choice including unlimited supplies of Iberico Jamon! The pools are fantastic. If you're not travelling with children, I would stay clear of the main pool and instead head to the pool by the El Mirado as it's far more peaceful. The beach is also great and easy access with the train running every 15 mins from main reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Best hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great , maybe as a suggestion more baggies to drive on the street from the beach to the hotel :)

    Great hospitality from the first to the last day from all employees. Great room service , acomondation (we were upgradeted with vila room) , nature ... resturants were great but the best thing was the adults pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect relaxing holiday in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tagor` Villa Adult Only, Deluxe Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Having stayed twice before at the Ritz Carlton Abama (in the Tagor Villas), we knew what to expect and this stay did not disappoint. The Tagor Villas are located in a quiet area of the hotel and the private pool for villa residents is lovely. Christian looks after everyone with great attention. Lots of restaurants within the hotel to choose from, which is just as well as there is nowhere to walk out to. San Juan is a 5 minute taxi ride and there are lots of bars and restaurants here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    4.6
    Kids club was adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surrounded by banana plants so the flies are ridiculous. Every night at dinner. Every where. Room are ok. The villa suite wasn’t good. Dripping water in the toilet system kept everyone awake at night. I had another room for our child carer which was adequate. Breakfast was fine. The cost of the food ridiculous - tomato sauce and pasta for kids £15!!!

    Kids club was adequate. Has lost it edge and charm over the years.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel and beach topped off by amazing service all round!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From pre arrival welcome emails, followed by welcome gifts to excellent service throughout our stay at the hotel, its restaurants, the spa, the kids club.. you really are treated like a vip, even after you have checked out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Abama private beach club for swimming and snorkeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Abama private beach club for swimming and snorkeling. Free valet parking service with fully integrated reservation. Good location possibly the most scenic and beautiful route driving access to Teide mountain park which might seems very extraterrestrial planet. Best taste restaurant Txoko to experience the traditional Spanish nice meat of Tomahawk beef with Dry Aged 45 days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps if I visited again ,I’d book a villa room- as I would probably prefer a quiet atmosphere around the villa pools. The main pool isn’t busy by usual hotel standards, and is lovely with great service,but is a family pool, and it was the beginning of the school holidays-/9 all about personal preference . My son is 16, and we couldn’t use the adults only pool- for over 18’s only.

    From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The real excellence here is the staff- they are so good. The restaurants- we ate at 4, were all terrific- really good standard of food. The rooms are spacious and well equipped- with a lovely outside terrace and great sea views over to La Gomera. I will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Bliss, didn't leave the hotel for a week!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a conference on at the time, there was considerable noise and disruption but the hotel manager kindly moved us to a much quieter, luxurious room.

    AMAZING Restaurants!! The villa's a beautiful, spacious and quiet. Would fully recommend paying the extra.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful classy hotel with first class service food and drink rather pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet chaotic but is was half term. Recommend they should have an adults only breakfast area .

    Beautiful room and view, lovely staff. Mirador restaurant fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    A perfect luxury stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - An Indoor Pool is something we really missed. Due to the weather we experienced during our trip, beach and outdoor pools were a bit cold for a swim. - Ritz Abama serves unlimited bottled water during the stay, but considering me and my partner like to keep well hydrated : It was sometimes a task to always ring up housekeeping requesting for more bottled water, especially during night. Though they were always ready for service! - I was told Tenerife's water was not suitable for drinking off the tap and hence the bottles were provided. As a suggestion, a small water dispenser in each room would save on a lot of hassle for the guests and staff.

    - The Ambience and Lobby had a welcoming feel. - Staff were very courteous and always went an extra mile to assist you. - We were staying in the Deluxe room with Resort view which had an amazing decor, plus it was overlooking the lounge with access to some beautiful jazz music! - The housekeeping staff was very warm and specially like the lady who used to come with her cart to refresh the utility stock in the evenings. - The honour bar was well stocked and the complementary coffee and tea had good options, a Nespresso was something i liked the most. - Access to the beach was very smooth - Train rides, Golf Karts and The direct elevator! - In room dining was as good as the service in one the Ritz In-House restaurants. - We visited tenerife during third week of May and water will still cold to have a plunge. **Tip - Perfect time to visit the Abama beach is during the sunset as its west facing..and waters & pools at Ritz get warm during the day, making it perfect for an evening swim!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The number of families staying with young children but I guess it has become very popular with that market sector

    We have stayed at the abama for many years and it always meets our expectations

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Disappointed about possibility to book the restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Disappointed about possibility to book the restaurants. It happened that we had to eat outside the resort because we could not obtain a table for diner. This should not happen in an excellent resort. You should expand your dining facilities or have a buffet of last resort if all restaurants are booked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Towels, sun lounger cushions, and sun screens/umbrellas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Towels, sun lounger cushions, and sun screens/umbrellas all looking a bit tatty. For the sake of a few €k this could easily be fixed, but it makes a lasting impression. Also, needs an extra restaurant to cope with demand. I would suggest a asian fusion as "meat and fries" get a bit boring after a week. Need something spicy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Very relaxing particullarly as we are now getting older!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The breakfast fresh fruit was not as good as normal.

    The room we had was superb.The restaurants were good .The staff were excellent.It is the third time we have been and it has not let us down .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice but probably wouldn’t return as it’s only really the location that makes this hotel special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s too expensive for what it is. There are not enough staff or facilities for the number of people when the hotel is fully booked, making getting a table for lunch or a sun lounger stressful, with queuing and being told there was no space all the time. Check in was late also and The rooms were always being cleaned late (about 4/5).

    Beautiful scenery. Large well appointed rooms with plenty of space. Good walks and a great private beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Incredible place - a real luxury holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train around the resort could be a little more frequent as was often too full to get on

    The staff went above and beyond to ensure guests happiness at all times. The resort itself it absolutely stunning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    The Abama has something for everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tagor` Villa Adult Only, Deluxe Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    My husband and I stayed in the Adult Only Tagor Villas which were superb. Our daughter, son in law and 2 grandchildren were in the main building, and the facilities in both areas are first class.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel and facilities. Restaurants very good, but very pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to some detail in service and housekeeping. We had to ask for replacement shampoo which hadn’t been topped up during room servicing.

    Very comfy bed, spacious junior suite, good tea and coffee facilities in room, decent shower and water pressure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.7
    Our bedroom was a very good size , the terrace was also a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The size of the hotel ,very impersonal ,and the management very young ,we felt lacked experience. We were vey surprised when we arrived that a lot of the restaurants were closed maybe for onr or two nights which we found very strange as prior to our arrival we had not been informed. The cleaning staff were very good and customer services were excellent and were very helpful . We would not go to The Abama Hotel again

    Our bedroom was a very good size , the terrace was also a good size but we had no view as the palm branches were so large they blocked the view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous holiday. Not sure we will return for fear of another corporate event spoiling our vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main concern was the arrival of a very large corporate party. They were noisy, intrusive and ruined the atmosphere in the hotel. The adult only pool is beautiful but somewhat cramped for sunbathers. The double beds for sunbathing were not popular and more space could be created with singles.

    Staff very helpful and without exception extremely welcoming and friendly.The lifts to the restaurants and golf course always readily available. Restaurants all very good although found the Japanese a little pretentious and very expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    The service was fantastic from the moment we arrived to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to book the restaurants so far in advance and all the flies by the pool

    The service was fantastic from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The bed was extremely comfortable. The buffet breakfast had a good choice albeit was a bit chaotic. Txoko restaurant was delicious and very good re quality/price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel with fab restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception did not have enough experienced staff on duty at times which caused hold ups . We had to wait for one and a half hours for room keys in wet bathing costumes. Also watch out for hidden VAT charges.

    Beautiful hotel with fab restaurants

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    We really enjoyed our stay and will return. The upper rooms in the villas have far more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa Deluxe Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the bedroom was very poor. There were no overhead lights at all, only in the corridor outside the bathroom. The pool was very cold indeed for swimming. Commented on not only by ourselves but all who were using it. We had villa room 257.

    There was a choice of seven restaurants so to ask "how was the restaurant" is not relevant without being more specific. Some we liked better than others though we specifically like "Txoco". It was small, reasonably priced with a good atmosphere and exceptional staff. The gardens were lovely and beautifully maintained. Potential guests should know that they only get an electric cart with a suite, and that there is a good deal of uphill walking if you are in the villas and do not have a cart.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, be wary of cancellation policy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We tried to change the date of our stay to the following weekend as there was a weather alert for extremely bad weather issued two days before traveling. The hotel politely declined the change of date, due to its policy and informed us that the cancellation fee would be charged, thus making us pay double i.e the night we wouldn’t stay and the night we would stay the following weekend. We decided to travel. Considering that the authorities were advising the population to stay indoors and the hotel forced us to travel to the island. I think it was in extremely poor taste that the hotel wanted to charge the cancellation fee, knowing the reason why ( adverse weather conditions) and that we were simply asking for a change of date. May I add that we had booked with a normal tariff, not a discounted one or a special promo. I found it disappointing that a hotel of this category would put money over guests welfare.

    Excellent service and very nice staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    The Hotel is lovely but just not for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Being told I had to book restaurants for the duration of our stay on Check In. Breakfast is a nightmare.

    THe hotel was clean with good facilities and most of the staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    The dream holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only niggle we have is over half board. If this is offered it should at least be sufficient to ensure a quality meal rather than having to choose the least expensive items on the menu. Often the value 50€ for HB was insufficient to cover a 3 course meal. Also, getting a reservation for dinner can be difficult in the restaurant one prefers for that nignt.

    The standard of service was the best we have experienced. The staff were so attentive in every way and went the extra mile to ensure we felt relaxed and satisfied. Everything about the hotel was exceptional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    I enjoyed the tennis lessons and if I played golf then the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the check-in experience. Standing at the desk and having to be charged up front for my stay on my credit card : felt unnecessarily intimidating and uncomfortable. Could have been a more 5 * check in where you sit at a table and they take the time to explain where everything is. Hotel is a bit dark. Not enough tea and milk in the room mini bar!!

    I enjoyed the tennis lessons and if I played golf then the course looked great. Lovely comfortable room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massage was overpriced and not great. Book golf clubs in advance as we weren’t advised if the choice and were left with the wrong choice.

    Staff were fab and bed was large and comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Splendid destination for a break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction works along the nine first holes

    Splendid gardens and view Excellent room Several heated pools Multiple choices for meals Spanish restaurant delicious food Beautiful golf course

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Great restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it was off season they closed the jazzclub and some restaurants were not open all day.

    Great restaurants. Adult only pool area. Beautiful area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    Great facilities and stuff, horrible food and half board system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food. I had rotten watermelon on the first day. The choice of food is unacceptable, low quality, no fresh juices. I regret i have chosen half board stay. The food quality and half board supply and organization left me mad.

    Everything except food and half board system. I paid a lot but was left hungry - this is unacceptable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is very beautiful and the staff were very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We took the shuttle bus to a nearby mall unfortunately the bus never came back to pick up us at the scheduled time. So we ended up waiting for a long time and had to call a taxi back to the hotel.

    The hotel is very beautiful and the staff were very helpful and friendly, it is very thoughtful of them to address all their guests by their last name in all of their restaurants. Unfortunately, I think many of their staff thought we are from Korea so always always say hello in Korean which was a little strange.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    A perfect weekend escape from London where everything is thought of for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was the most comfortable Ive ever slept in. Every night I was out like a light and slept straight through the night (which I hadnt done in ages). The room was always immaculate and the staff were a dream. I have raved about my stay to anyone and everyone who would listen. Perhaps Im just not used to 5 star accommodations but it was just an exceptional stay. If i ever felt the desire for a quick weekend away again I would happily return. Bonus points for a tremendous breakfast that was included in the price of our stay, and the two meals we had at the onsite restaurants were delicious and the portions bountiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Fruits and water offered by the pool. Excellent restaurants. Beautiful garden and all the green plants were adorable, because outside the hotels usually, you will not see so much greenery.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Very mixed. We shall not be coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cigarette ends on the balcony flower bead. Took over 1 hour to get our luggage after check in (we arrived at 12.30 so they have had the luggage for over 3 hours. When our luggage was taken from the car, our aloe Vera creams were taken bit never arrived in our room. We asked the bell boy to check and he said he would but no one ever got back to us. We asked for a buggy to take us from the "el mirador" pool to reception. This was confirmed but 20 minutes later no one came and no update was given so we walked. All in all a beautiful hotel but I fail to have experienced 5 star service.

    Excellent room and facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Excellent venue, staff outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 1 Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more rubbish bins in room and bathroom also lighting not good for reading

    The staff were excellent, some exceptional. Made a huge difference to our enjoyment of the holiday. We really liked our room and the property and gardens were in very good order. The restuarants also very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Very nice short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be a much easier way of booking the restaurants rather than queuing for a single person on the lobby, eg an online site - would be very simple to set up.

    The look and feel, the facilities. Lovely views and nice pools, food and beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    100/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I stayed at the Abama for 4 days 3 nights for our honeymoon. As soon as we hopped out of our taxi and stood out front the reception doors we were treated like we were royalty. The doorman took our bags straight away. The resort itself is absolutely beautiful. Great pools to swim and sun bathe(family or adult only pool) the private beach where you caught the gondola or bus down. The service we received from the staff was hands down the best we have ever been treated. Pool people we sooo friendly and sooo welcoming. They did anything you asked. We ate at 20/20 for 2 nights and TXOKO for our last and the servers were exceptional. Rodigo was our server at 20/20. He was awesome. From matching our wine with our meals, to always making sure our drinks were topped up. He also gave us free champagne and chocolates to celebrate our honeymoon. He was a real delight and made our nights that much more special. We also had the seafood platter for our starter and steaks for dinner..(both nights it was that good!!) Nicolas at TXOKO treated us in the same way. Always making sure we were ok and topping our drinks. Came over with free champagne to celebrate our honeymoon again. So friendly and so accommodating, plus the lamb shank with creamy mash potatoes and it was the best lamb shank we had ever had in our lives!!! Everyday we went to the beach, and every day GodFrey instantly made us happier with his contagious smile. He was the gondola operator. He was always so cheerful and happy. He definitely brings great value to the resort. I’ll never forget him. The Ritz-Carlton Abama resort was by far the best holiday to date. It’ll be hard to top this else where. We will be back, and we so can’t wait. If there was a rating out of 10 (10 being the best) I’d give it 100!!! It’s that dreamy!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    6.7
    The facilities and the size of the hotel are great,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel beach is small and open to the public so it was crowded most of the time. TFN airport is about an hour away and a 100 Euro taxi ride.

    The facilities and the size of the hotel are great, considering there isn't much else to do on the island unless you are hiking the volcano. We tried most of the restaurants in the hotel and they were all quite good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.3
    Even though the beach and steps to the beach(used almost...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa Deluxe Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the beach and steps to the beach(used almost solely by Abama guests) are not hotel property the hotel should keep these areas clean from cigarette butts, litter etc I watched hotel staff sweeping butts and litter on to the beach. Path ways around the hotel gardens are littered with cigarette butts stuffed into the soil , even outside the Mitchellin Star restaurants. Very little effort by a manager would tidy this. This was our 5th stay at the Abama and our most disappointing, the mini bar took two days and several phone calls ( all of which took forever to answer ) to obtain a few beers, the coffee pods and ample drinking water had to be requested daily. 780euro a night prt room deserves better!! One other thing I must point out and have done in the past, it usually takes over 20minutes from being shown to your table , ordering a drink or a bottle of wine until it arrives . Each restaurant is the same!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant break to recharge our batteries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wine list at the Mirador was extortionate. Better value at the Italian Restaurant. Restaurants can be booked from a desk in the lobby, but the girl at the desk told us there was limited availability meaning we had to have a very late meal on our first night. When we got there the restaurant was empty and we soon learned it was much better to book directly with the restaurant.

    The grounds were extensive and well kept. There was easy walking. The lower pool by the Mirador Restaurant was particularly attractive and staff very helpful and food good. The housekeeping service for our room was excellent please thank the team for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    We got upgraded to a Junior suite due to the unavailability...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bellmen lost our bag as soon as we walked into the hotel even though we arrived in a big family group and everyone else got their bags delivered to their room in proper time. (Turned out they sent my bag to my brothers room, who was arriving at night and hadn't checked in yet!) Very very pricey when it comes to a lot of food/beverage selection Beach was a public beach Checkin took ages to complete as there is just too much information to be given out about the resort, which I felt can be condensed

    We got upgraded to a Junior suite due to the unavailability of standard rooms as their was a wedding happening during our stay. Room was breathtaking. Pools were nice Staff were helpful Many selections of good food within the hotel restaurants Free water and Nespresso machine - refilled daily

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall we greatly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the facility gives high priority for adults (strictly above 18). There are strict rules prevent under 18 to access swimming pools so for example a 17 year old kid needs to swim in a pool for small kids. Also After I paid the bill, which I often do before leaving the room they shut off the power supply in the room (and it was before check out time). That was a very bad final note to excellent stay.

    Excellent location, beautiful beach, very good service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hotel experience, best staff ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More frequent train to the infinity pool and beach or electric vehicles for visitors would be great

    Simply the best staff EVER at EVERY single post. It is them, that make the incredible hotel what it is.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Amazing quality holiday time of my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like to leave the hotel 😓

    We loved everything it's a stanning complex resort with privet beach and lovely summing pools, Wolfer ever single penne 😜

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Overall an amazing property but a bit far from everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff at breakfast Food is over priced - paying £22 for boiled rice and mashed potatoes and a bit of tomato sauce for my 2 year old is a bit silly!

    The property is amazing. Heated pool for kids Breakfast very good and staff really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic staff and experience makes this hotel a Fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach was crowded in certain times. A secund Family pool would be perfect

    Friendly staff, welcoming ambient, great food and good facility. The overall experience was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Just a dream.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was poor quality. No music. I would rated as a 3 stars maximum. I felt as like in 3 star beach. I did not felt as in a 5+ star like the rest of the resort. I guess it could be vert easily changed by investing some funds in it.

    I felt amazing. It's like a dream. I loved everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel, service suiffered over Easter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service was consistently poor. Staff did not seem to take accountability and it made the break a lot more stressful than you would expect!

    Restaurants were great, rooms really spacious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel with a great service
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great service, one of the very few hotels in the world where staffs are always smiling and calls me by my name (almost everywhere that's really something that i appreciate a lot and says a lot about the customer service) . Great breakfast, all swimming pools are at 20° 22°, it is nice. the beach is small but very nice but the water is very cold at 10°. I must say that i was surprised by the quality of the boutiques inside, they really have great brands. Restaurants are top level tried the MB which is modern, the Japanese restaurant is awesome and the steakhouse is great. The gym inside is nice and the Spa is great really at the entrance they have staff to inform you about all activities (Volcano is amazing, you have to go see it but be aware as it is cold up there 3° at the top and a lot of wind) it is really a great hotel and the service is one the best i have ever experienced

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Great 5 Star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No walking away from property

    8 good restaurants and own beach but secluded from everything else. We did some guided tours (HostTenerife - Gregory exceptional!) but you can stay on site for everything. Most expensive on the island but it's the Ritz. We loved MB tasting dinner w wine pairing!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel with fabulous restaurants and a fabulous spa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could only buy soft drinks from the bar or mini bar. It would be nice if you could buy some from the hotel shop also. This though was a minor annoyance as overall the hotel was fabulous.

    The food in ALL the restaurants in the hotel was consistently outstanding. The spa was stunning and the beautician who did my facial was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.8
    Should have stuck with Sensatori
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tagor` Villa, Adults Only, Deluxe Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food cold over priced horribly long wait for breakfast staff unfriendly and appeared stressed Shops in hotel closed at night

    Grounds well kept, extra large balcony, comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.0
    Easter break - April 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa Deluxe Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Room: -room had a damp/mouldy smell. Unfortunately, it could not been aired properly, as it was on the ground floor in one of the villas, with sliding doors to the outside. In that sense, a room with a balcony would have been better for fresh air access Restaurant by the main pool: -restaurant by the main pool (where we normally had breakfast) was full of flies, very unhygienic. The flies were also at the tables, making breakfast experience highly annoying. - tea at breakfast was always cold, even after numerous requests for "hot water" to the restaurant staff. Also, hot drinks would always arrive just a bit too late, more towards the end of the meal. This restaurant does not seem to be able to cope with "high season" very well. - breakfast buffet on high tables that children could not reach independently, not very children-friendly Main pool: - not enough sunbeds by the main pool, so people would occupy as early as possible. If you were more than 30 min away from your sunbed, your sunbed would be given to someone else - very stressful. - also most sunbeds were in very close proximity to each other

    Room: - good size - large wardrobe Train: - runs from the reception to the beach with stops along the way Staff: - friendly staff who are trying to do their best in a hotel with miscalculated pool occupancy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Thought when booked that it was a little expensive, but was well worth the expense.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not find anything to fault.

    The eggs were cooked to your request. The beds were very comfortable, and the bedrooms had everything that you could possibly need. The pool towels were plentiful, and the pool beds large and comfortable. In all could not fault a thing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Depends on your buget expensive but worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance I would have to walk luckily I was given a buggy cart key and could use any buggies available a big plus as I am over 70

    Food was superb at MB Restaurant also the service was very professional it truly is a 2 Star Michelin restaurant and a big thank you to Martin the main man for making us so welcome

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    The staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cost of drinks were excessive with wine at 10 euros a glass. The hotel was full on the last four days and we couldn't get a dinner reservation at a sensible time.

    The staff were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.2
    Great resort with almost everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff really tried to do their best, but sometimes we had to wait longer than you would expect at such a hotel

    Great resort offering almost everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    4.2
    High price/Low quality....but is there any better in this area ?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location: surrounded by ugly banana plantation spoiling the coast and the view with concrete and nest. Nothing around if you want to escape from the hotel. Facilities: looks like hotel from the 80's, artificial river going through the hotel, fake arabic style, turquoise painted pool looking cheap. Fits with mass tourism taste from this region. Price: never paid so much (480 €/night) for such a poor quality Food: 2 star michelin serving very standard dishes ...mashed potatoe and steak (wagyu but still...). Other restaurants to be avoided. Got sick after eating octopus at the pool restaurant. Heated pool: cold, could not swim as outside was chilly too. Spa: need to pay 20 € EXTRA to be able to swim..in a very small place. Careful as reception is selling you the spa as a water circuit, so you would think that the place is huge... Bad organisation: only 2 person at reception to do the check out, causing queues. Another queue is created because they park the car for you and you need to ask to get your car each time you go out. If you want to eat at the japanase restaurant, you need to take a special shuttle...and wait for it. Same thing applies if you want to go to the beach (that is FAR from the hotel by the way), you need to take the train that goes ...every 30 mn ! Staff: almost all the staff there is dutch. So be ready to be served and helped in an artificial (unefficient ) manner and always "according to the policy". The warmth and hospitality of spain is lost here. Cleanness: cigaret buts stayed for 4 days at the entrance of our building and never got picked up...the hotel is so big, no wonder it is a struggle to insure cleanness everywhere...

    Breakast Japanese restaurant 1 star Spa is nice and clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Just short of wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa Deluxe Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast experience was poor. Moving about the hotel is not easy - is there a lift from the lobby to the main pool level?

    Beautiful location, our room overlooking the sea, the pools and txoko restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.5
    Amazing views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Reception staff were unhelpful We didn't feel very welcomed Information for the local area and what we could do during the day on the island was difficult to find. We did ask but were referred to a screen rather than chatting it over. We were not told about booking meals for the evenings so one evening we went without as the restaurants were booked up. The meal reservations member of staff was very unhelpful. There was not a cheaper meal option if you didn't want to spend so much money every evening

    The bed was very comfortable So many swimming pools access to beach was great Breakfasts were amazing with great views

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Eternal spring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wife doesn't work in the room.

    Great location, and arthitecture. The staf is perfect and always smiling. The food is extraordinary. 5*L experience.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    Luxury golf with every convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing not to like except it is expensive. There are good restaurants in the hotel and the nearby town has some great (and cheaper) places to eat.

    I liked the unusual architecture and the naturally ventilated corridors. The whole thing feels like a moorish palace but with every modern convenience available. Breakfast was superb, bedrooms and beds great. Rooms quiet

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    Loved everything about it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When I left the receptionist forgot to organize the luggage to be at reception area while I had booked it the evening before and reminded reception the same morning that my daughter and I had to take a taxi to the airport. We waited for our luggage for over 35 minutes. That was stressful and I would have brought the luggage outside myself had I knew it would take so long. Everything else was amazing. Raffaella

    Loved our the service was always friendly and attentive

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    8.3
    An excellent site with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A heated, probably indoor, pool would make a difference. It was too cold to swim outside. Coffee was abysmal. I was in a quandary about tipping: some pre-holiday advice on this issue would have been helpful.

    Breakfasts were excellent, apart from the truly awful coffee. The site generally. My wife liked the adults only pool, tho' too cold to swim in. The golf course is a challenge, but fun nonetheless. The TSOXO (spelling?) Restaurant - brilliant staff, and good food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.9
    Luxurious and kid friendly but isolated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1 Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in rooms was a bit dark. Meals and wine were expensive (in comparison to hotel Bahia del Duque). No evening entertainment. Guests seemed a bit at a loss in the evenings. Swimming pools were freezing. Why charge for some of the fitness classes? Worst bit - charging for wifi. Thought the foyer declarations were a bit cheap and naff. Breakfast needs to see fresh veg juices. More healthier options. The President butter packets are naff. Did not like the queue at main breakfast room but too many flies at the the Verona site.

    The rooms were modern and comfortable. The beds and linen were a highlight. Good to have an espresso machine in the room as well as Asprey products. The grounds and gardens are stunning. The quality of the food is high. The free kids buffet was well received.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    we were expecting a quiet relaxing hotel stay but the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe or Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    we were expecting a quiet relaxing hotel stay but the hotel was full of children who were at times very noisy also lots of children in the adults only areas found it difficult to relax .Hotel should let clients know that the hotel is more family focused rather than couple based .

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: