Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Abando 4 stars

Colón de Larreategui, 9, 48001 Bilbao, Spain

#26 of 47 hotels in Bilbao

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2769 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Pricey, but you are central. Not for car drivers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast, which we paid extra for, was the worst in the whole two weeks away. Also, if you're travelling with your car, parking in the street is just not on. 2€ for two hours, then move the vehicle ,so we used their garage (pay again). All in all, this turned out to be a very expensive b&b stopover €220! You get the impression it's really a place aimed at people on business (meetings going on in all corners) so their expense accounts pay! Apart from location, for the holiday traveller, not much to recommend it.

    The hotel is very central and well placed for The Guggenheim and Gran Via. The room was fine and very clean. Have to say, the staff were extremely pleasant..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Definitely recommend
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing was annoid: I was with my collegues, we used bath blankets, wich were the identic. there was not any additional place for their drying. And staff took them to one place every day. We could not recognize whom blanket where was .

    The breakfast was very good and full of good cofee and fresh fruits. The bed was very comfortable. Sabrina is very frendly and nice. The Hotel location is excellent!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Quiet and clean hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room window had no view except to look out onto a wall and the window of the next door room.

    Quiet and clean hotel. Good air conditioning and excellent free WiFi. Helpful staff. The location is excellent close to tram and metro stations. Safe neighborhood. Many coffee shops nearby

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    A good hotel if staff were more polite and handled problems in a more professional way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waken up from my sleep at 1:30am by the sound of dripping water. Found water dripping from ceiling lamp. Tried to call reception but the extension number given was incorrect. Had to get dressed and went down to the reception to seek help. What annoyed me most was the poor attitude of the staff (at night shift and in the morning around 10:30am)in handling the matter. They seemed to consider the problem was mine, not theirs, and didn't bother to offer one word of apology on behalf of the hotel.

    The hotel is well located with good cafe and tapas bars nearby. Easy walk to the river, old town and Guggenheim Museum. The ladies at the reception when we checked in, and in the afternoon on 11 September were nice and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent choice for a fantastic town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were staying at a room where the window opens to an enclosed area, 2 metres from an office building were we could see people working. Also when we kept the windows open in the morning you could smell of the kitchen.

    Excellent location, in the centre of Bilbao, in the most beautiful part of the city. Lots of places to enjoy tapas just around the corner. Very close to the Old City, also to the metro and 10 minutes walking to Guggenheim. Also very close to nice shops and a big El Corte Ingles. The room was very comfortable and clean. The bath was very spacious. We did not had the breakfast in the hotel as we preferred to chose from the various restaurant around the hotel, which were fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Large, bright and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, bright and comfortable room. Nice bed and pillows. Very clean. Great location, near metro and main street, Gran Vía. There are many high quality restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    No view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view. We were staying at a room where the window opens to an enclosed area. Also the neighboring room was smoking inside his room which we could smell the smoke from our room if we kept the windows open.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit so-so regarding english speaking staff. No white wine in the mini bar & only possible to buy a full bottle in the reception :/. Am allergic to the red dito.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location, but a fairly average experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, quite stuffy and soundproofing was poor: below the standard I would expect of a four star hotel.

    Good central location with easy access to all main sights, transport connections, new and old town, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight problem with the shower on the first morning. But sorted quickly.

    Nice large room with choice of pillows. Very large bathroom too. Quick check in and out. Location of hotel is excellent for access to train station and old town. Funicular railway and Guggenheim museum also within a reasonable walk. Lots of bars and restaurants within a minutes walk within lively street.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay at the Abando, despite the minor shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi internet speed varied from average to useless. We did hear our neighbors above and beside us at times which was surprising. It was impossible to get large mugs or a teapot.

    The room was clean, well appointed and a good size. The location is fanatastic, near the main station and a tram stop, as well as a lovely park and numerous restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Convenient stay in an overrated hotel. Good for one night - in and out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is tight and inconvenient. The lifts fit 2 people max with language. The place just doesn't look nor feel 4 star, including the reception staff (total lack of personal warmth).

    Great location for an on-foot exploration of Bilbao.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Large comfortable room and beds great shower great location...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Large comfortable room and beds great shower great location close to old and new part of Bilboa loads of restaurants and bars close by close to public transport

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air con was quite weak, took a long time to cool down and then not cool enough for me, personal preference though.

    Comfy beds, clean modern hotel, nice shower, great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location, but it’s an overrated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very average, nothing spectacular. The selection was poor and the staff didn’t bother replenishing the food when it was running out. The eggs looked over cooked and were cold. If you get up early and have breakfast at 7am I am sure is different, if you go by 8:30 is all pretty much finished even when they say the service will run until 11am so I wouldn’t recomend booking breakfast. You will be better off going to the Market in the old town where there is plenty to choose from and it’s lovely there. The noise was also a bit problematic on the 6th floor if facing the street. Even with the soundproof windows you could hear a lot of noise. I think overall is not terrible but definitely is more like a three stars rather than a 4 stars hotel.

    The location is great. It’s near the old town and it takes 15 minutes to walk to the Guggenheim. Its location near the river is a bonus. If you want good tapas go to Calle Diputación is like 5 mins walk and that’s where the locals eat their tapas so it’s great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Well positioned,Smart hotel with comfortable bed and great bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about.

    Location of the hotel is perfect - about 15 minute walk along the river to the Guggenheim , and in the opposite direction about 15 mins into the old town . Lots of great restaurants and bars around- ask the staff re the street of bars.The rooms were a decent size,with desk and chair . Bathroom v good . decor was very nice and the hotel seemed quiet and discreet .We would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great. Close to shopping, hop-on hop-off bus and the train station. Very convenient. The room was large and bed very comfortable. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location, very nice and clean apartment
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not very spacious, the beds were on small wheels and moved every time I turned in my bed.

    Value for money is ok, the rooms are not very spacious, the bathroom on the other side is. The location is perfect though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent..just around the corner from shops and tapas bars (café Iruña Ledesma etc.). Professional staff..comfy beds and stylish rooms. Very good value for money wouldn't hesitate to repeat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay. Only downside was front of house personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The daytime reception staff were quite unfriendly and dismissive. Not what I expected from a 4star hotel!!

    The ambiance and location were perfect. The bedroom was lovely and beds very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and a terrific shower. The night time reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    An older facade, but excellently modernised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    An older facade, but excellently modernised. Great location with attached private car park. Comfortable, well equipped rooms. Really convenient both to the town & to the ferry port.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    It was everything you’d expect of a 4 star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to ensure air conditioning is working OR put top sheet on bed as sleeping was uncomfortable! No English TV channels although advertised on Channel list.

    It was everything you’d expect of a 4 star hotel! Rooms including bathrooms were very spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Everything was fine until the last night when the shower got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Everything was fine until the last night when the shower got plugged and the bathroom innundated. Was going to leave ear,y next morning, asked if i could use the shower in another room, only if I moved rooms, inpractical given suitcases etc. Location fantastic, a block from Ledesma street and three blocks from RENFE train station. Lasy who seems to head up reception during the day truly excellent and extremely he,pful and nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Funky and down-to-earth part of Spain on the rise. Friendly and pretty city with good transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    For English guests would be nice to have satchets of coffee and tea and milk. It seems the local custom is no milk. Since you have jugs in room. Loved Bilbao!

    Lovely rooms great service and location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Location was great
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a window but could not see the sky. Room was very noisy. If the guest next door or above used water you would wake up. Bathroom had some maintenance issues

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, comfortable room, excellent breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit dusty, particularly under the bed.

    Excellent breakfasts. Choice of a few hot items. Excellent fruits, pastries, breads, meats and cheeses. Multiple coffee machines with excellent hot beverages.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Location is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very bad: dirty, uncomfortable (small shower, WC in wrong spot) Not even a complementary bottle of water for the price of the room paid... quite surprising

    Location is very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    A good option for Bilbao Center Stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was ridiculous to see that they charge for sleepers for a 4* star hotel. I have been traveling all around the world for many years. I have stayed even some small pensions, and I have never seen an entity charging for sleepers.

    The location was excellent, just at the heart of the city. The room was renovated and reasonably equipped with necessary stuff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    This really works for a city break in Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking too pricey.

    The location, an easy walk to the Guggenheim, along the riverside, and into the old town, is excellent. Standard befits a four star, interestingly there were some very inexpensive offers for breakfast or other snack but parking at the hotel is pricey (€21 a night). Would stay here again. The area around the hotel is lovely with small gardens opposite and shopping streets, the wonderful Cafe Iruna is literally seconds from the entrance (turn left on leaving) and beyond are a good selection of bars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    All in all a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning although it was working was not very good at all and the room was very warm.

    The location is excellent and the hotel is very clean. The beds were comfy and the rooms well decorated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful room and fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the morning. There is bad acoustic isolation in the door and we heart every noise of the cleaning staff in the aisle.

    The rooms are very nice decorated The location is perfect (without car)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing our stay was perfect here.

    The room was comfortable and clean and the location was excellent. Very close to the train station and walking distance to all amenities. Lots of restaurants nearby. The breakfast was decent and the best freshly squeezed orange juice I have ever had! Will definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.7
    THIS HOTEL NEEDS TO SORT OUT THE ABOVE PROBLEMS.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpet in the room was filthy. The single room is too small and window too high and you could not see out. It was like a prison cell design. Not nice at all for such a highly graded and expensive hotel. Lot of noise in the night, shower noise from other rooms very loud and the noise of the lift kept me awake.

    The Staff and the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    We will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was ideally located for the old town, the river and of course the Guggenheim. The walk to the Guggenheim was about 2k, 20 minutes along the banks of the river. Tourist Information around the corner. Plenty of choice for food in the evening. Hotel was excellent, with a bargain light breakfast for a couple of euros

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in a lovely city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent location near several restaurants and pintxo bars and within easy walking distance of all museums and other sights. Also near a major metro station if you don't like walking. The breakfast was good with excellent coffee, hot and cold food, fruit, cereal, yogurt, a very good selection of juices and a spacious breakfast room. Comfortable beds and very clean large bathrooms. Absolutely would stay here again if we find ourselves in this lovely city once more!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic. Would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little overpriced. The hot plate didn't keep the eggs and bacon warm. Practically cold. But lots of lovely fruit cold meats and cheese.

    Central location to old and new town. Everything you need within walking distance. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Hotel room very modern, huge room with comfy beds, bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast at 18 euros a bit expensive although they do offer of cheaper option of coffee and pastry

    Hotel room very modern, huge room with comfy beds, bathroom was spotless and very nice. Hotel in a great position with lots of bars

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Museum break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was large and clean. The staff were excellent and the location was perfect for local bars, the old quarter and all the museums were within easy walking distance. We stayed at either end of a week and I must admit the Friday night was a lot livelier in the hotel than the previous Sunday but we had a quiet undisturbed sleep on both nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    The location was great and within walking distance of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great and within walking distance of the Guggenheim and the Old Town. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and modern. Staff are friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Was there for 4 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was there for 4 nights. Towels weren’t changed, even when put on the floor. The doors close very loudly, which is disturbing if other guests are inconsiderate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    It is really close to the a road where you can find nice and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was al little bit dark, not only because the window is small but the furniture are based on dark colours.

    It is really close to the a road where you can find nice and good bars and Tapas. Close to metro and to the old city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    This is a well located more expensive hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a well located more expensive hotel. My room was quite small. Wifi was good. Facilities were good. Parking is nice but expensive. I did not eat breakfast. The young woman at the desk was friendly and helpful with excellent English.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    Didnt meet my expectations and wouldnt book to stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at check-in felt unwelcoming. Room flooring needs replaced. Noise from corridor and other rooms on the 6th floor where the single rooms are located

    Great Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Japsigh loves this hotel in this amazing city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top floor rooms noisy because evil Bond villain lives in the penthouse.

    Great location and the facilities couldn't be better. Very nice to have the use of the underground garage. Staff very friendly, they couldn't do enough to make the stay perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location near Guggenheim and pintxos bars
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear everything happening in the corridor. Food is a bit pricy especially the breakfast for 17eur. But in general satisfied by my stay.

    The location is very good, next to metro station Abando, close to the city centre and most of the attractions. The front desk was really helpful and accommodated for my very late arrival at check in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.9
    good clean hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a large firm double which was fine, but let down by the fact it had a plastic sheet under the sheets covering the mattress, which was rippled and made the bed slightly uncomfortable and rustles when you move about, have never had this in any Hotel in the past including this one although it was a few years ago we last stayed here. Insulation from outside noise was superb but between rooms not so good. Some one in the room next door was a loud snorer.

    Good location between the old and new town areas, close to railway stations and many good cafes and bars. The room was clean an big enough with a good bathroom seperate from bedroom, good shower and quality bathroom products. Kettle in room with two cups on a tray was a nice bonus, many Hotels don't have this in a standard room, nice large double bed and good wi-fi. Quick check in and really nice friendly lady who checked us out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and a good night sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is excellent, probably the best thing about this hotel: right in the middle of town, very good area and very safe. The staff at the hotel are pleasant. The rooms are nice and clean. We had two rooms on the 2nd and 6th floor and the view from both was an internal patio but that didn’t bother us as we were not looking for views, just good location and a good night sleep which is what you get in this hotel. We had a car and they had no problem us using the parking before check in and pass check out. Breakfast was not included so I cannot rate it. However, there is a delicious cake shop with very nice coffee literally 1 minute walking from the door. Right beside it there is a crepe place with coffee available which I was told by locals is very nice too. There are also lots of bars where you can have breakfast and lunch so you will be spoil for selection. Overall we were very happy with our stay at this hotel and we would definitely go back to it again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.8
    Good location, quiet and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No windows in our room.

    Great central location. Clean and comfortable. Excellent value glass of wine and pintxo for €2.50. Rooms are fine, bed comfortable. Everything works!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    The room was comfortable. Cleaning ladies were kind and helpful. Not impressed with reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was looking forward to using the sauna however on both days it was locked and not in use. Despite speaking to a staff member on reception about this who said they would get the sauna door unlocked, this wasn't done.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was advertised that there is sauna in the hotel. We tried to check it out and it turned out they meant a hot shower cabin in the gym on the 7th floor, but there is no sauna - this was a bit of a disappointment as we were hoping for sauna after a rainy day.

    Location is great, walking distance from Old Town. There are a lot of nice pincho bars right next to the hotel! The room was small, but clean, everything worked fine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent, great location, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very good, but a bit more warmth would have been great

    Did not opt for breakfast as it was too expensive. Did not use the restaurant or cafeteria either. The room was very good and comfortable, a complimentary kettle was provided as requested during the booking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Perfect location, not more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls like paper. We heard evrrything from the next room. Beds rolled, because they had wheels. Shower box is very narrow, approx. 60 cm. Breakfast is expensive, better to choose little bars or coffee houses in the neighborhood. Staff at the front desk wasn't friendly, they didn't smile.

    Perfect location, modern, spacoius room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.7
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aside from the cleaning staff, none of the staff appeared to be overally happy to have guests there. Simply not what I expected from a four star hotel in terms of service. The gym had good equipment but there is no way to disinfect the equipment once you are done and the treadmill had visible sweat stains all over the top of it. The sink was abnormally low in the bathroom and splashed water on us when we were washing our hands.

    The location of this hotel is amazing. It is exactly where you want to be in Bilbao. The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. The rooms were pretty clean. The hallways and inside of the hotel were quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location, good in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room was a bit cramped. Noisy outside but probably due to celebrations for National Day, October 12. Breakfast buffet expensive.

    Good location close to Downtown and Guggenheim, etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location, need to improve the equipment in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I missed a shaving accessories I used to have in 4 stars hotel and also the slippers and the shoe care kit. In fact, those are details but in another 4 stars hotels in Bilbao it's a natural thing. But in general, I was satisfied.

    Excellent location, right in the city center, very close to Guggenheim Museum. The room was clean and spacious. Very easy to park the car in the underground and for good price if you compare with other facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Hotel within walking distance of several Bilbao sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I didn't like about the property: Mold on the grout in the shower! No sound proofing of the walls or doors. You can hear all the activity in the hallway and in the rooms next door.

    What I liked about Hotel Abando: The location - near shopping area, cafes, train station, restaurants, and walking distance to landmarks. The room - spacious, beds were comfortable. Plenty of toiletries. Breakfast - a good selection of breakfast foods. Although, the cost can be prohibitive for some budgets. There are a lot of cafes nearby that cost less. Parking - available in the hotel garage.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Liked the hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On leaving, after having a wonderful stay! The old man on reception spoiled it all with his rude attitude and appalling behaviour! He even shouted at me when I asked where about the taxi! The other staff looked at him with disgust! I am not sure what was his problem with me ! As I am always polite and even spoke to him in Spanish! When so many young people need jobs in Spain, it maybe a good idea to put him behind the scenes as he clearly had no customer service skills! His facial expressions were so uncomfortable for us! I even said there is no need to shout at me! I travel a lot and have found people to both polite and rude! But he ruined our experience! Awful behaviour!

    On arriving the reception staff were amazing and very friendly! We liked the room and comfortable beds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Doors slam so you always hear all other guests coming and going. The shower was not properly cleaned before my arrival, but was cleaned after the first night.

    Very comfortable and well located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.8
    Convenient for last minute one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast low quality, fresh fruit over ripe and not much of it. Breakfast room too small and very crowded. Coffee not very good. My room had a window on a narrow ventilation shaft (looking into other rooms) --- do they give you the worst room because you book through booking.com? Extra charges for everything --- 17 euros for breakfast, 20 euros for parking. A bit smoky, very touristy. Staff not terribly helpful and do not speak much English. I needed help finding the rental car place and then parking and getting out of the parking. It was given, but minimumally. Window latch was broken and it was a security issue --- I called reception several times and let it ring a long time before somebody answered.

    Good location. Close to rail station for pick up rental car. Comfortable room, bed, towels. WIFI good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    The room was very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    it could have been better if i was given a room with a double bed rather than 2 single beds. The receptionist did not even try to get me the room of my choice.

    The room was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Very happy with this accommodation and Bilbao was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel suited me perfectly for many reasons. Arriving late by train, it was a short 5 minute walk to the hotel from the station. But it was also so well located for the old part of the city as well as the museums, river and other attractions. The room was modern and clean and as I had requested a quiet room, it didn't have a great view but it was quiet, which was more important for me. The staff very friendly and helpful as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location, good furnishings, very good value - would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff (particularly male) very grumpy to the point of being rude. Lady very helpful. Shower screen ineffective - no matter how it was positioned floor got swamped Sink cracked

    Location perfect or old and new town Fittings in the room for storage very good Bed very comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    A god value and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mr Happy on reception could have been more helpful, especially with regards to the location and opening hours of local laundries

    A god value and comfortable hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Location is excellent , very central , between old town and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a little small & clautrophobic - no external view . ok for a very short 2 night stay.

    Location is excellent , very central , between old town and Guggenheim, and city centre. Lots of cafes & bars around. Metro station just on next st

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad reception to baby twins - refused to give us a second cot. Claimed it was a triple room when it was obviously a double room with an extra bed in it . Not very big.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice placing, but medium value for money (for 4 stars)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Personal don't speak English, most of administrators looks and work like security. Not friendly, but do all correct. Second surprise - noise at the evening. Trough window you will hear horrible squeak that ends only after 10 PM.

    Very clear and well equiped hotel. Great placing - few minutes from railway station and public transport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.0
    Ok inky there for 12 hrs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Onkybspwnt one night but room was not well equipped. Did have kettle but no teaspoons abd only 3 teabags no coffee. Bathroom a bit dated in need of an update but bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    I enjoyed the city rather than the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would not stay in this hotel again because of unhelpfulness of reception staff.

    The hotel was well located and within walking distance of main attractions, and thanks to the cleaning staff the room was clean, so it served its purpose for me. However room was noisy due to insufficient soundproofing between rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.8
    6th floor should be much cheaper
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room on 6th floor was very small and a tiny elevated window a lot of noise from th corridor (no sound proofing ) The price of the room was too expensive for this tiny noisy room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    2.5
    Do not go, not worthy and bad experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Room tiny, staff not interested in guests, not holiday friendly, poor room with tiny window. Beds are a disaster with matresses totally old and beds have wheels that cannot be stopped so they start moving during the night. Air conditioning works bad. Internet connection very slow, dont try to stream a movie, it will never work.

    Nothing, very expensive for the por quality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    great location, efficient staff,clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff on arrival could have been a bit friendlier,they were polite but a bit cold,

    The towels, the bed. To be able to leave our luggage after vacating the room.the staff were friendlier on the departure day.great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Good central location, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was non-smoking, but there was a distinct smell of tobacco smoke, so we needed to ventilate the room well.

    Good location, within walking distance of restaurants and sights. Very helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location, nice room but dreadful view. Reception staff are so miserable. Very clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very miserable. I asked a few questions but felt awkward asking. No smiling when you arrive which made it unfriendly.

    The location is great. Easy to walk to the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Great centrally located hotel and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    Nice hotel in a central location. Quite easy to get to with secure parking. Comfortable room. Great value for money. I will stay there again when next in Bilbao

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    Served it's purpose for one night of lodging but I would look for another hotel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expecting a higher class of hotel than what the pictures and reviews stated, having returned from Hotel Maria Christina in San Sebastian which is opulent. This hotel served it's purpose which was one night of lodging. But I would compare it to a Four Points by Sheraton at best in terms of ambience and furniture. Room was dark and very small (not a problem for one night) and the shower was extremely tight. AC wasn't really working so it made the room quite hot and the walls are thin. I will not stay here again as I like to travel with more comfort and higher class of service. However, this hotel definitely works for those on a budget or don't mind staying one or two nights to sleep.

    Hotel is very clean and the bed was comfortable. Location is excellent. You can easily walk everywhere. There is a great Brewery called Basquery about 500 meters or so from the hotel. Highly recommend eating there. Check out the NY Times review on Bilbao as I followed their recommendation for 36 hours in Bilbao; did everything in 24 hours but for the Gugg and skipped the large meals in favour of Pinxtos. Great shopping as well - check out Ikks general store for boutique clothes (loved everything in the store but couldn't buy much as the smallest size they have is 36). Highly recommend taking the Bus from Bilbao to San Sebastian. You can catch it from the airport or Bilbao Bus Terminal.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: