Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Abel Victoriano

San Bernardo, 55, Madrid City Centre, 28015 Madrid, Spain

#20 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2320 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was central to everything, it was clean, comfortable with small touches to the room, tea and coffee facilities, toiletries etc. The staff were all very helpful and welcoming, recommending places to visit and eat. I would definitely stay here again should i find myself back in madrid!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is located in centro. The room was exactly as described in the pictures. It was a pleasant experience. There are many cafes and restaurants around the place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some problems with the wifi, had to ask the staff twice to reset it and then it finally worked! They were very attentive with the issue.

    We only stayed here for one night because we had a flight back home the next day, the place was nice and gave us a room really far from reception which was good for rest but gave us a little trouble with the wifi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room walls are a little thin and you can hear others. Not a big issue tho, nights were quiet.

    Location is fantastic. A lot of eating and drinking places at short walking distance. Funky neighbourhood. 2 steps from the metro and walking distance from royal palace and the gran via.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Calle de San Bernardo could be too noisy even during the night.

    Super close to Noviciado metro station. Breakfast (croissant, coffee, orange juice) is enough to start your day with something in your stomach. Also it's available till 12 which is really good if you want to live a Spanish lifestyle. There's a small shop across the street and nearby restaurants are good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Stayed for 4 nights. Conveniently located near the metro station. Good value for money. In room hot water heater provided to make coffee/tea which was a big plus. Overall very comfortable stay. I would definitely stay at this property again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast I wouldn’t recommend taking. It is served in the bar just next to the hotel & is not very special:)

    Very clean & comfortable room!! Friendly staff! Area is amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and immensely helpful hosts. They pointed me to great restaurants and wonderful sites well within walking distance. Seems to be easily accessible by multiple metro lines.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    if your neighbours snore you might hear it 😁

    Very clean place! nice welcoming staff, good location, shops, cafes and theathes around. good location and service for this price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and it had a very strong kitchen smell from one of the restaurants downstairs. To be fair it was less smelly during the night

    Good location, helpful stuff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When other rooms ran their taps for washing and showers it was quite noisy Window over looked bed sheets that had been washed and were being dried.

    Breakfast arrangements worked well with neighboring cafes Fresh towels provided each day and room cleaned thoroughly. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great location for visiting Madrid and metro station nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our first visit to Madrid- and an excellent pick of Hotel right in midst of the capital- huge variety of cafes restaurants shops and cultural locations all around us. Metro good to use after a little learning!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    It’s a very convenient area with only one minute from the metro station. The staff are very nice and helpful. The hostel is very close to the city Centre and it’s to get access to wherever you want to go

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -small bathroom -noisy street -they gave us a voucher for the breakfast at a cafeteria who served one croissant, coffee and juice

    -near the metro -nice staff -clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overpriced for what it was. The bathroom was extremely small. Breakfast was terrible, lacking in options and hardly filling. Don't select this property because you get breakfast. Breakfast is a cup of coffee and a croissant.

    Good location. Room was a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in wasn't until 2:00 pm, would have liked to check in earlier

    great location. comfortable room/bed. room looked like photos online. breakfast included in the price at cafe downstairs. nice view onto Calle San Bernardo.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as I was on my own and didn't need any assistance.

    Location is excellent; Madrid centre within walking distance. Metro is 100m from the door so communication is very good. Staff first class and very helpful. Bars and restaurants are close to the hostal which helped as there are no dining facilities. Nightlife in abundance and bars are busy all the time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Located close to underground and Grand Via. No street noise in room. Though noise from other guests easy to hear. Room very small and bed was a reasonably budget variety. Room furnishings below par.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no wardrobe in the room, wifi bit slow. Breakfast at cafeteria downstairs, entrance from the street. They offered croissant, a tea or coffee and orange juice, not very tasty.

    Staff was kind, good value for money. Good location, walking distance to the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was noisy (heater and people in the hall). Breakfast was not good.

    Fine and comfortable rooms. Nice bathroom and super kind staff. Would definitely book with them again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a perfect stay. I wouldn't change anything.

    The hotel exceeded my expectations. The location exceeded my expectations and the staff were super, super helpful and friendly. The restaurants outside the hotel even served wholewheat croissants. My room had a balcony. It was a truly awesome stay in this very special hotel. I would like to thank all the staff especially Julia for their exceptional kindness. I give this hotel in Madrid 10 out of 10.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything, how easy it was to check in and check out. This was my 2nd time staying with them and it was as good as the first time, it is a good place for the amount of money you pay. Also, the place is walking distance from the metro station, and touristic attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was all good!

    Really friendly helpful staff, good location, cosy room which had a bottle of cava and rose petals in the bed when we arrived as it was Valentine's day! Would definitely stay again. Julia on the front desk was particularly helpful. Nice little gin bar just around corner too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfortable. It squeaked and the fitted bed sheet would come off when you moved. You could also hear water running all night. We couldn't figure out where it was coming from, but it was annoying and wasteful.

    The staff was really friendly and the location of the hostal was very close to several points of interest. Upon arrival they gave us some sparkling wine and little chocolates, very thoughtful. The room was prettily decorated, as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect!

    The location is really great, it’s close to everything! In the same block you have great restaurants, like “Bar La Gloria” (traditional Spanish one in a very very cozy place) and in the same street you have “Luna Rossa” (best pizza ever) between many others. Our rooms was very quite too! We would like to tks the staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in an old beautiful building and located right in the city center, from there one needs between 5 to 30 min walk to all attractions, shopping areas, restaurants, etc. The room itself was wonderful with a nice veranda and bathroom. The personal were kind and helpful. I can only recommend this place and would certainly go back if ever in Madrid again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't present, the reservation was made for my parents and they loved it. They said everything was wonderful. I can imagine that the attention to them and the details impressed them much, because they didn't expect to find a small bottle of champagne in their room and towels made like swans. :) Thanks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing ist that as it is really central and the spanish walls are not constructed to keep noise away, it might be a bit loud for those with a light sleep - so just make sure you take earplugs

    The room was beautiful, small but really useful, clean and comfortable. The service was great, they took their time to introduce me to the city map and what I should visit. As it is really close to Gran Vía I would recommend just to walk around the city, but the next Metrostation is really close too. I'll definetly recommend it to my visitors as I am moving to madrid soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great!

    I stayed in a double and very spacious room. The hostel staff is amazing! There is a russian speaking girl that hepled me a lot. Thank you very much! The heating system works well. The hostel has a great central location, but I haven't heard any noise during the night. It's easy to get around and visit a lot of places. When I will be back, I will stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is a little tight, but overall the space is well arranged with a sink outside.

    The staff was very nice and the room was very confortable and clean. Breakfast is at a cafe next to the hotel that had many options of bakery and toast. The room was very warm (good, because we travelled in December) and we had a nice little balcony. We even got a little bottle of champagne as a welcome gift!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had two balconies overlooking a quiet back street. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was perfect. Located in an area with many cafes, tapas bars, cervesarias and little mercados. Friendly helpful staff in a very cool old building. I loved every minute of my stay here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If anything - and I'm being very nitpicky here - the Internet cut out a few times, but the connection was immediately restored. The hostal doesn't obviously announce itself as a hostal from outside, so don't expect to see a sign from the street - we told the taxi driver the number and he dropped us off at the door, which has a small sign by the doorbells.

    The best thing was definitely how friendly and helpful staff were. We received complimentary bubbly and chocolates on arrival, which was a lovely surprise. And we all loved the towel swans on the bed! The rooms were quiet (and you could close the shutters to achieve almost complete darkness), even though the hostal is in a busy area with several cafés, bars, and shops nearby. Noviciado metro station is right next door, and Gran Via and Plaza de España are less than a 10 minute walk away. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Madrid.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You can easily hear noise from inside the hotel so if someone is blow drying their hair at 6am... you will hear it

    Nice room, good breakfast from cafe nearby (croissant, coffee and juice), couldn't hear noise from street at all, great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very friendly. Beds were comfortable and shower had nice water pressure! Breakfast was provided and it was okay....just a pastry and coffee/tea and juice. Staff reserved a taxi for us when it was time to leave since it was early in the morning and it was much appreciated!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior room (no windows to the street) not only is a bit scarce on light, also is hard to keep ventilated as there was an unpleasant smell when the window was opened for too long. This said, it wasn’t that much of a problem, and had the advantage of nearly-total silence at night.

    Very good location, pleasant and well-sized room, good bathroom, clean facilities, easy to access and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Fair price / value accommodations. The breakfast was OK, but not 24h/day (if you go early in the morning the Cafes are no open). Helping staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is great, staff very friendly and helpful, Iulia is a very nice person and she speaks Russian as well. Rooms are cleaned every day carefully. There are lots of cafes and restaurants in the vicinity of the hostel and you have an easy access to Gran Via and other central streets of Madrid. There is a underground near the hostel. Linen is very clean, beds are very well sized and mattresses are soft and great. The hostel can arrange an airport transport for 30 Euros which was very helpful as we had big suitcases. I would definitely recommend it to other visitors.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel room is cosy and the staff is welcoming and friendly. The bed is super comfortable and the hotel is easy to be reached by the tube. It's right in the city center. Great deal!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi wasn't great, especially at night.

    I thought this was a great place to stay, spotlessly clean and quiet despite being so close to the centre of town. Rooms are small but great design means you have everything you need. I plan to stay here again :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise. All the noises from the street can be heard during night. Should have better windows against noise (laminated...).

    Nice clean room. We did not take the breakfast, so don't know about it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The staff (really good service) - The flexibility. We asked for a quiet room, the first one was not as quiet as we needed (even if it was one of the more quiet) and so they change us to another room without any problem the next day since this room was free again. - The location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I paid for accommodation with cash on arrival but noticed when banking online today that my account was charged a further 45euro which I should be refunded as I already paid in full.

    Julia in reception very helpful providing assistance with tourist information and directions. She let me leave luggage at property until I could check in and also when I checked out so that I didn't have to carry luggage around all day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. I really liked the location and the accessibility to so many areas close by. I very much liked the view, the street life outside, all the sights in the area as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing

    We had an absolute ly fabulous time! Was such a wonderful stay! We felt like we were in a beautiful hotel! Great location! Clean and smelt beautiful and lovely and staff was super sweet and helpful! They really went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful and pleasant time! They offered us water bottles when we came and a place to leave our luggage and was truly lovely! I have so much to say in short and incredible stay and deff the best place to stay in Madrid! Great price too and such easy and quick checking so smooth really amazing!!! Best place ever!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a nice hostal with friendly staff. Perfect location. 5-10 minutes walking away from the mayor sights. Plus there's a metro next door. Don't expect to much of the room, it's good but small. All was clean and the bed is good. Breakfast is nothing special, you've to go to a cafe next door. You'll get some coffee, juice and a bakery. Can recommend this place for a few days. You'll get value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything I didn't like.

    The location was fantastic, being only a few minutes walk from the Gran Via, and in the lovely barrio of Malasana. The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable room with a little balcony onto the street. Friendly staff. Cafes and restaurants nearby. A short walk to Gran Via. A metro stop at the door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    40 to 45 Celcius weather and not being told of Air Conditioning for first 2 nights was not appreciated Found it by accident.

    the air conditioner once accidentally found

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    The staff was very helpful. They greeted us with bottles of cava and handy tourist maps. Location is exceptional as the subway is a 3 minute walk. Markets and eateries nearby. Very safe. The room is clean, bright and is about the size of a New York hotel room--fine for two. A good price as well. No complaints. I hope to visit again, and I'll gladly stay there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to get informed before reach the hotel. I was driving the car but get information after arrival, the parking was 5 minutes distance from the hotel.

    Good location. Near the center of Madrid. You may reach subway station in a minute. We rented two rooms for my family of four. Room was nice and well air-conditioned. They provided discounted parking pass.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish there had been a small desk, as I always travel with my laptop and sometimes have to work a bit. The bathroom was quite modern and clean. Having said that, I'm not a very big fan of "harmonica" type bathroom doors, as they don't provide the necessary privacy inside (ours - even when closed - had a small crack through which you could see what the person using the bathroom was doing, if you wanted to). Otherwise it was really OK.

    The hostel is located very close to the vibrant heart of the city - we mainly walked to places such as Parque de el Retiro or Plaza Mayor. As for the room itself - it overlooked a fairly busy street with partygoers roaming at night (but we didn't mind that). The lady at the reception was very firendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs attention. The shelf was too close to the sinkamd some of the towels were too hard. It would be nice to have a safe amd fridge in the room as well.

    Very friendly staff who were helpful - the sweets were really nice. Good position to the metro and Gran Via

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It wasn't possible to use AC as it was blowing to strong. So we kept it switched off and the window opened instead. But that wasn't a good solution as there was a lot of smells from surrounding cafes/restaurants.

    Nice location, very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the vibrant heart of Madrid. I always go there for business, I found in this hotel the best quality/price relationship ever. I will certainly come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Both breakfast options were really nice but La Concha was our favorite place. The location is very close to the station Noviciado and Plaza de Espana. Air condition worked great. The room was very calm (with window closed).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little noisy since we had a little balcony on the main street but nothing that had ruined our stay

    Everything has been great. Nice room, nice staff, very good price/quality ratio. Very close to three different metro stations (lines 1,2,3,10) and near by bars, restaurant and supermarkets. The Gran Via is 5 min walking as well as Plaza de España

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room which would have been nice also a safe would have been useful however the building was very secure and I felt very safe.

    The staff at the hotel were amazing:) friendly and helpful! Nothing was too much trouble, they provided everything we needed. Loved it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and well located (central and safe area). Thick glasses in the windows guarantee silence inside the room. The staff is absolutely supportive. It's an excellent choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not buy the breakfast ticket. I would next time.

    Located near metro in Novicaiado on street San Bernardo. Very clean & comforable bed/room. Quite and easy to get around by metro or walking. Stuff was very helpful in directions & maps. Would stay here again. I stayed in a single room that was very nice. Price was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great, check in was a breeze and extremely thorough and helpful. Everything was just as expected. The swan towels on the bed were a cute touch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The double room was described as 'compact' which was accurate so we were expecting the room to be small with toilet/shower small so it was well described. Very nice touch to have complimentary bottle of Cava each on arrival! Staff very helpful and friendly and accommodation very clean. Excellent location and building had lots of character. Would recommend to others.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly I can't remember anything that I didn't like.

    This hotel was great! We were even offered wine when we arrived, which was a very nice touch. Yes, the towels are folded like swans and that is awesome. Location was great, we couldn't hear the noise from the street when the window was closed. Our room was marked as small, but the size was totally not an issue, I didn't feel it was small at all. Everything was very cleaned, AC worked well, wifi was very good. Very close to the metro and easy to walk to a lot of tourist areas including Plaza Mayor or Puerta del Sol.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was well equipped and comfortable. The staff,especially the young bearded man were very friendly and helpful. The breskfast in the bar was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is "room" for improvement: - The towels aren't soft nor plush. They need fabric softener or new towels. - For a tall guy, the bathroom was a little cramped. - There's some room in the fridge, but no kitchen nor laundry facilities on site. - The bed was a little soft for me, but I'm a big guy.

    For the price, it is an excellent private room with bathroom: - The location and staff are great. - The AC worked great and it was good to have a small balcony - It was easy to air out the room with the balcony door open - There is a great laundry place 5 minutes walk away - Included breakfast is convenient at 2 different cafes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the metro and Gran Via, central location is perfect for touring. Room is small by American standards but it was comfortable for my cousin and I. Staff is extremely friendly. Would stay again on my next trip to Madrid.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location for my needs. Calle del Pez offered many great restaurant and bar options. Enjoyed the area's character and vibe. Lulia at the reception was very kind and accommodating. Great experience throughout.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped up hotel with narrow passage small bathrooms

    Location was great close to Gran via and a lot of restaurants and cafes around the place Also very close to the metro Spacious and comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the water stream which is a bit low, but it might be a city or a building problems so i cant say that it made too bad of a stay, just took more time to shower.

    The hostal is great in every level, really really liked it, there is a metro right downstairs. The crew is so nice, the place is really welcoming, we really enjoyed! In madrid, imo, you dont need a good placing hotel, just near a metro

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit small but cheap!

    Price for the great location Easy to walk anywhere from here Local nightlife and great restaurants just up the road. Great staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi doesn't work for more than 5 minutes at a time. Fairly noisy if Windows face the road. Ask for one onto the courtyard maybe.

    Great location. Clean and modern. Good breakfast at bar next door. The area to the east is full of lanes, quirky shops and local bars.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to a station with a kettle for tea or coffee, for late evening or early morning, would have been a nice plus. Though Iulia did obtain a kettle for me to borrow for my room on the second day.

    The location was excellent for walking, and connecting to public transportation. I was in a single room with one double bed. It was charming and comfortable. Iulia at reception was extremely nice and helpful. The voucher for breakfast at the corner cafe was a nice bonus. It was a great value compared to some nearby accommodations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was in a cafe next to the hotel. You only get one croissant and two drinks. If I knew the breakfast was so minimalistic, I would have booked another hotel. The road was busy, you could hear the traffic in the room.

    Beds were good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small walk through bathroom, with folding plastic door that doesn't close very well. Small and noisy bed.

    Good location, easy access to subway. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to really complain about. Only an observation: Heavy on the Ikea furnishings and the room could use a touch of fresh paint. But these cosmetic details didn't detract from the comfort I experienced while staying at Hostal Abel Victoriano.

    Requested a quiet room with a balcony and Liulia fulfilled my request. The room was comfortable and did not disappoint. I slept very well-probably got the best sleep of my trip here. Awesome water pressure in the shower. The hostal is located a few steps away from the Noviciado Metro stop, 7 mins. walk to Gran Via and you can take either take the metro to or walk to most other attractions, i.e. Puerta del Sol, Plaza San Miguel, Cine Princesa, Museo del Prado y El Retiro, etc. Cris Cafe is a great spot on the corner for breakfast, coffee and snacks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a temporary issue with the front door of the building. But it was because some guest broke the key inside and it should be fixed within few days. The hussle was at night to get in.

    It is better than some hotels and definitely worth the money. 100%, friendly staff, always ready to help, comfortable and very clean room, perfect location, and easy access.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal Abel Victoriano traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: