Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of AC Hotel Palacio Universal, a Marriott Lifestyle Hotel 4 stars

Canovas del Castillo, 28, 36202 Vigo, Spain

#16 of 40 hotels in Vigo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 609 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay on the Camino Portuguese Coastal route
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic lounge so no atmosphere

    Very good location and a great modernisation of a classic hotel. our room had large windows overlooking the Cruise berth. Convenient for bars and restaurants, and for the Camino route. Decent minibar and bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Sub-standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was bland and over-priced. The bed was very uncomfortable. The noise from the road was so loud neither of us slept. There was one, tiny bottle of drinking water for us to share and one small bar of soap, no lotion. This may sound "nit-picky" but for the cost of the room and what we have come to expect from Marriott, we were very disappointed. We initially planned to stay 2 nights but canceled the 2nd and will likely not book with Marriott in the future.

    The staff were great, very helpful and polite. Visually, the lobby and restaurant were nice. The location, for our purpose - which was to take a ferry to Isle Cies - was fantastic. The room decor was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Staff courteous and professional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet Wi-Fi signal not so good The work around the hotel on the pavements / roads could be noisy in the morning

    Staff courteous and professional Good quality food at breakfast buffet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice ,clean , new hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better. No hot meal. And the bed are terrible. Was asking for king size but unfortunately we had 2 beds. The beds were constantly moving, they were not fixed between each other.

    The hotel situated quite good. In front there is parking. Not far away Mercado da Piedra. And shopping center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    I was told my card would only be held as booking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told my card would only be held as booking confirmation and to pay in local currency at the property but they took money from my card. Bit of a hassle having lots of euros to then transfer back and the exchange rate wasn't good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    An old building beautifully decorated with modern style
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that they enter my credit card information into their systems. I am not sure if this is the convention. I had a discussion with the lady in the reception about that.

    The location is great, as is the hotel building. It is very well decorated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel in great location. We arrived very early Saturday morning and the same receptionist was on duty on check in & check out. She was very pleasant and friendly. Our room was a corner room on the 3rd floor which was very comfortable with lovely view out over the port, all in all we could not fault anything in our one night stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Very relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small. Arrived early Sunday morning so decided to have an early dinner and return to Hotel to have a drink,. Hotel has no bar or service on Sunday evenings/nights, .I work in tourism and travel around Spain and never had this experience in a **** hotel on a Sunday night.

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    We asked for non smoking rooms however one of our 3 rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for non smoking rooms however one of our 3 rooms badly smelt of smoke . The hotel said they had no other room available for the night and although they put in a machine to help solve the problem , it didn't.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    What a surprise -- Vigo was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at four different A C Hotels (A Coruna, Santiago de Compostela, Vigo, and Madrid (Carlton) -- the young lady at reception -- Moira (?) -- was the most dedicated, friendly, and efficient of all of the staff that we encountered.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Don't take a car here
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, room and facility is great

    Hotel is easy to find.. parking just to drop bags off is a NIGHTMARE.. then it's a km walk to a parking lot that costs an arm and a leg and is so close to the one that offers a discount for staying at the hotel that it's impossible without local knowledge to know which is which..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    A hotel without a bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More sockets in rooms for charging phones, ipads etc. Always like to keep phone close @ night but on charge - this wasn't possible for both of us. No actually "bar or lounge" in this hotel. You could sit in reception area and they would bring you a drink but no atmosphere. They are missing some good revenue by the lack of a bar. When we were there a lot of Belgians were staying for the Genk V Vigo football match and they would have spent alot of time in the bar - if there had been one!

    Great Location. Nice comfortable bedrooms with wood effect flooring - Very Clean. Great breakfast selection

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    6.3
    The staff is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is just so so, only several bread and coffee. It's so simple. They don't provide parking, it's not convenient. Can not find wifi code in your room.

    The staff is good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    7.1
    Short Stay Business Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check out personel was not so kind. I did provide my company details via booking.com for invoice request but info was missing at check out desk.

    Location & Value for Money

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Lovely foreshore location overlooking a large port and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely foreshore location overlooking a large port and waterfront square. Close to good food and shopping.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable room with really good bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room with really good bed. Breakfast was expensive but good. Location cannot be better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and modern hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and modern hotel. Spacious rooms. Beautiful view to Club Nautico and river.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was different of other ACs (e.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was different of other ACs (e.g AC Malaga Palacio). Didn’t have a bottle of water of courtesy The bed has wheels and moves a lot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada

    En general , todo

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Lovely building, fabulous position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy and very hot in the room... Heating system not working...been reported to staff.

    Position good, staff very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the pillows a little too soft

    The bed was very comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    The bed was very comfortable and it was a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wished I had the view of the ocean.

    Location is great. The room was very cleaned.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    The room was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were sad we did not have a kettle in the room.

    The room was very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    Reasonably good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The TV did not have any English TV channels. Only Spanish channels.

    Very good location. Easy access to public transport & restaurents.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.0
    It was extremely noisy, we could not sleep at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely noisy, we could not sleep at all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    5 floor very cramped and roof making funny noises
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 floor very cramped and roof making funny noises Cleaning ladies stood by my bed in the morning not even knocked on the door

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Smart business and leisure hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good sound proofing and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Ideal location for exploring Vigo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noise from the street during the night and no tea making facilities.

    Friendly, helpful staff and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very good 😊 location food pleasant staff very good stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful property in beautiful city. Great location. Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property near everything. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff are so helpful, the room was so comfortable & everywhere was very clean. The hotel has a very calming atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.3
    Best internet connection i have ever experienced in hotels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are bit noisy.

    Best internet connection i have ever experienced in hotels. Clean and simple.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    6.3
    Very central for the ferry to Cies and old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor value

    Very central for the ferry to Cies and old town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.3
    Wheelchair accessible room was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wheelchair accessible room was very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    3.3
    Two Nights in Hell
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Useless air conditioning Noisy location Small room Shower accessibility and basin design Pitiful breafast

    Leaving

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.6
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was getting 3 rooms renovated when we arrived and we returned on our first day to extremely loud drilling. Once i informed reception they moved us to a room the other side of the hotel, which was great. The gym is quite small with only 3 pieces of equipment but works for a quick workout.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was great as it was right beside the port , which was great as we took a boat trip to the islands. The hotel is a few mins from the old town which has loads of great places to eat and drink. We didn't eat in the hotel as there were so many places to eat within a few mins from the hotel and were a lot cheaper.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    8.8
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very helpful. We missed the breakfast because we'd driven up form Portugal and forgotten to put our watches forward by 1 hour. But they were able to provide for us in the lounge.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    7.1
    The quality and and ambiance of the breakfast experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is NO bar. The Monday - Friday "bar" consists in telling reception that you're at the lobby and would like a drink and then reception calls and an employee comes and offers to serve you. There's NO such service over the weekend. Also, a 4 star hotel with NO porter service at all!

    The quality and and ambiance of the breakfast experience.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    8.8
    Everything was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit of help with luggage would be nice specially when the see you struggling with your cases. Otherwise full marks.

    Everything was very good. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    7.1
    The location and the room was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No direct parking at the hotel. The reception speaks only poor English. We requested an paid parking space with the booking, but nobody take a notice on that.

    The location and the room was good.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    6.3
    Design and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The first floor is to noise because the street traffic, it sounds the Cars driving in the bedroom. For the price expect a better breakfast, what I usually say a hotel breakfast. The wifi it's to slow or unable to send it receive. For sure I have lots of best hotels in Portugal for the same or lower prices

    Design and location

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    This is a fabulous hotel in a quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a fabulous hotel in a quiet area. There is a beautiful beach about 500m straight ahead from the hotel and a beautiful town 500m right of the hotel. The staff are very friendly and the facilities are 1st class.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    8.3
    Noise due to room nearby elevator
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noise due to room nearby elevator

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    10
    Location is good, close to the old city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is good, close to the old city center. Clean and nice room .

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.9
    Other than the music in the halls it was a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They play music in the halls all day that you can hear in the rooms.

    Other than the music in the halls it was a good hotel.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: