Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Renaissance Barcelona Hotel 5 stars

Pau Clarís, 122, Eixample, 08009 Barcelona, Spain

#469 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 76 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

  • Paid WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was not accommodating on arrival. Check-in Staff member required a 500 euro hold on a separate credit card in case of damages to the room. I could have just rented a two bed room rather than two separate rooms, but the staff member checking me in refused to explain. I found out just how small the rooms were only after I rented them. I ended up spending over 1000 euro for two nights on probably the smallest rooms I've ever stayed in my life and probably could have just stayed anywhere else in Barcelona and would have been more comfortable. The rooms were definitely older and the foundation must have settled at some point because the bathroom door no longer completely shut. The windows above to rails on the first floor balcony were sealed in place with what felt like only the caulk, maybe a single screw in the corners, but it was definitely succumbing to the wear of time..

    Great view on rooftop restaurant, too bad the staff was missing for the first 30 minutes.. The external bar also closes early extremely early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    intricate work light system. (Map needed for the headlight to work) it took time to figure it out.

    Large shower ultra white room. good TV programs. comfortable bed. lots of coffee in the room. A friendly, Cheerful and helpful staff large swimming pool Modern design

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not book rooms with buffet breakfast but were charged for buffet breakfast for one day in our final bill. We mentioned it to the front desk and they fixed the mistake. I recommend checking the final bill.

    Central location to shopping centers, sightseeing and lots of bars and restaurants. Front desk staff and doormen very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool. I called many times around midnight to order food but no one answered!!! Cannot be 5-star hotel!!

    Friendly staff. Clean and modern.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge was insulting when we were asking for directions and mode of transportation. She said, "you can walk to the gothic district from here. Don't need to take a taxi. If you cannot walk to the gothic district from here, you have no business walking around." She has no idea what my health issues are and she shouldn't be so insulting! Also, the a/c didn't work at first. Yes it was us who didn't understand how to use it. It took them awhile to come to turn it on.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath tap was spoilt and difficult to adjust the hot water temperature , I encountered this in my own room , same as my colleague and my extended dates room . Please have your technician check all these 3 rooms, 910 , 112, 117.

    I like the friendly and helpful staff , thumbs up !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff noise too early in morning. Seemed exceptionally noisy over other like hotel properties.

    Excellent staff, comfortable rooms, roof top terrace, and good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ventilation

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was mediocre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small for 2 people. No space for luggage. Poor selection of English tv.

    Friendly staff, clean facility, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting too long for checking in. Room is small even we upgrade. Not easy communication.

    The friendly bartender on 1 floor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, attitude, for sure not a 5 star hotel! Only the price!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for wifi

    Staff and location perfect!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be improved. Rooms are very small for the price

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very cold bedrooms, heating set too low Impossible to turn it up

    The situation of hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have water as compliments or chocolates .

    Good breakfast option , loved shuttle service to airport.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant had limited menu. Food was good but not enough tables.

    Lovely hotel with short walk to La Sagrada Familia. Helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is far too expensive

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    somewhat pricey

    room was great staff very friendly and helpful breakfast good location is good

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just an overall great experience! Wonderful staff.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked Executive Room for 5 nights and we got very small room with a small windows to the interior of the hotel. Hotel staff admitted that we got it because we booked through Booing.Com. The day after when they realized that we won't give up they moved us to a bit better room BUT noisy and with a tiny bathroom we decided to give up!!!!!!!

    Great location Friendly Concierge Services

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    we booked for double room and it was alreay very expensive but when we enter the Hotel we asked for twin bed and they chared us 60 Euro more why did I have to pay 60 euro more ???? they said they that they upgarated our room but it was just a old standart room I paid because I had no other option I am very surprise that booking is working.com such as this Hotel!!!!! should not !

    only location

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the worse 5* hotels we've ever lived!!! everywhere dust! i.e. between phone buttons and wardrobe shelves!!! walls are so thin that we could hear neighbors sneezing! shaving mirror was teared off! and so on!!! chek-in with Mr. Tim took 20min (no line just us)!!!! next morning check-out 15min! Taxi came in 20min! (it was Sunday morning! and so on!!!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On closer examination of our room I noticed that there was a large amount of mould in and around the joints / corners of our standard room. My wife was suffering with constant coughing and sneezing and the mould was the reason. I took photos and immediately went to reception to speak with the manager. They immediately changed our room and upgraded us to a superior room which was slightly larger. They also included free b'fast for the 3 days we were there and no charge for our dry cleaning. They did turn out bad experience around and although inconvenient to change rooms assisted with the move as well. Service recovery was well done.

    Location is excellent. 1 street off main high end retail shopping street and 5 mins. walk to main la placa.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Small rooms and booked for 2 adults and they provide only 1 small bottle of water - mini bar is empty and they fill it upon request !! Very strange for a "5" star hotel

    The location

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room and small bed it's not enough for two persons, and the staffs they were not friendly even more the one who was always standing near the door in evening time , and there's nobody will take your luggage from the taxi when you are coming for check in, I don't know why it's five stars? !

    Cleaning,location

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Platinum Elite member was certainly no advantage unlike all other Marriotts we have Stayed at Only plus the really did have was the location and that's all Staff were only average and certainly never give you a welcome when you arrive only exception that I would say was the young Lady Navigator rooms were never checked in afternoon Ito see if you require any towels etc I did notice they were changing some rooms but not ours I just thought we were pushed to the end room and that's that

    Bed was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    We had an excellent stay at this hotel, upon arrival we realised we had booked a double bed rather than a twin but the lady on reception realised we would of preferred seperate beds so upgraded is to a twin room for free, they provided complimentary cava and chocolates on our first night and the cocktails in the bar were fantastic! We also used the gym facilities which we found really good for a small space they had plenty to choose from! I would most definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Barcelona!

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too narrow beds No slippers, no shower cap, no robes. We had to ask for everything and wait. Sometimes they forgot to bring what we asked for.

    Location Breakfast Restaurant waiter Soft bed Shampagne &chocolate

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff went that extra mile to make you feel comfortable, they were only too happy to help and we really enjoyed everything about our stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very small & breakfast was very disappointing

    Great staff very friendly and couldn't have done more for us, great location and very clean

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms need upgrading

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy rooms. Old hotel that needs renovation. Expensive parking (38€ a night...).

    Location is great

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are too small although I lived in executive room.

    Location was good; staff also is too nice.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms need a complete renovation. Certainly is not a 5 star hotel! Staff is arrogant and not very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is excellent. The bar was welcoming and had delicious drinks.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    LOCATION & VALUE

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was awful. Hot water suddenly changed to cold one, which changed to very hot and then cold. It was repeated.

    Staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    Staff not friendly Wifi is not free Very limited items in Mini bar

    Location

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It took a little longer that usual to clean up my room

    The warm welcome I received from the staff

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They upgraded our room and gave us a room on a higher floor.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfast same menu every morning

    Location and staff

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower could have been better, inconsistent temperature

    Bed, V Comfortable, Pleasant Bar, Room was upgraded with free Wifi

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendlyness of the staff and the location of the hotel

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: