Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection 5 stars

Zurbano, 36, Chamberí, 28010 Madrid, Spain

#38 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 175 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were disturbed at night by a noisy upstairs guest- this situation did detract from our stay bit.

    Excellent location for this hotel, also friendly helpful staff. The room we stayed in was well serviced and very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the absence of a pool when we booked would be a problem but it's such a great location - you genuinely feel in splendid isolation!

    Staff were fantastic... excellent service!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the service at the bar and for breakfast was a little slow.. I didn't mind being on vacation but it was indeed a lengthy process to get the check :)

    Beautiful property a little out of the most touristy area, which for us was a big plus. A lot of character, charming decor and attention to details, very nice staff. The rooms and bathrooms are recently renovated in a clean and modern style.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and this place was appalling. The staff was unfriendly, they unilaterally decided to charge us for staying later than our check out time without informing us and were obnoxious about it. For the hospitality industry, they need to get lessons on behaviours. We ordered course wise breakfast and instead of bringing us each course one at a time - all courses were brought together and we were told that because a large table (of six people) had placed an order - ours would be delayed by 45 mins. Staff were not well versed with any tourist activity and were not were forthcoming or helpful.

    Old world charm

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    restaurant: perfect service, good-quality food, outstanding (historical) ambiance, relaxing atmosphere. we really enjoyed staff's friendliness and kindness.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    What would have been better is another 2 days after my 5 days of business to relax and enjoy this premier location.

    Incredible service available on demand. Instead of a range of offerings, just pick up the phone and ask. Taxi and Uber plentiful. and reasonable, but you can actually walk too Plaza Major. Remarkable large unique rooms to the highest contemporary standard. Here, every room is custom, so no possibility of a standard hotel room--everything to the very highest standard of linen, towel, soap, turndown, extra. service, quiet insulated space, proper A/C heat, shoes shined, pressing at a moment's notice, like staying in an antique house renovated and furnished to the standard of World of Interiors or Architectural Digest. Makes the Ritz look like an also-ran at an arresting price point. And Marriott points to boot!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No swimming pool. Bicycles are only for an entire day rent.

    The building can't be nicer, same for the interior design of common areas and rooms. Staff are all very friendly and willing to help at every moment. I was allowed to do a late check out without previous notice. Location is perfect. Same for beds. Amazing experience, I stayed there for 5 nights. RECOMMENDED

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is stunning. The location is perfect, not too far but not in the middle of the action. It smells of old class and precious wood. The staff is lovely, knowledgeable, helpful. The rooms are ultra clean. And very warm. The food (we only had breakfast) is fresh and homy. We loved it. And hope to be back soon.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    as our room was on the top floor , the bathroom had an awkward shape and no view at all ( two very small, high windows)

    the hotel is a nice old palacete. good,breakfast on the terrace and the best location in Madrid

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check in time

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room very small. But after 2 nights they changed it.

    Pleople very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    overprice for breakfast

    walking distance to luxury shopping area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small

    Location , friendly n helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful building. Excellent location. Impeccable service and amability.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything in an excellent hotel and location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We absolutely loved our stay even though it was very short. For sure we would go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    Beautiful garden

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No little mat to step out on from the bed.

    Yes

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all is good from minute step the Hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable beds Excellent bathrooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best location in Madrid. Amazing garden. Historical building

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really nitpicking here: Bar is a bit quiet, very relaxed but not a buzzing atmosphere if you like that type of evening entertainment

    Great service, amazing rooms/building and lovely attitude to make sure your stay is perfect

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perhaps somewhere to sit/lie just to relax in the sun would have been nice. They did have a garden but set up more for lunch/eating than relaxing in the sun.

    Staff were all excellent, we were very well looked after.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No free parking.

    Room was very spacious, facilities were outstanding and the authenticity of the hotel was very well preserved through a classical to modern transition. There are multiple dining areas and a bar, each is like an art museum. Staff were very hospitable and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The indoor swimming pool was very cold and the hammam was not working.

    The hotel is simply amazing. Located in a very nice district and with a superb attention.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found the staff to be extraordinarily helpful with suggestions, reservations and ticket. The neighborhood is stylish, close to center but peaceful and quiet. The hotel is luxe.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Neighborhood was nice but for a tourist travelling, I'd recommend either staying close to the sights or close to the La Latina neighborhood instead (We stayed in two properties while in Madrid. We liked the balance of the two different spots but if I were visiting and only staying in one hotel, I wouldn't have chosen this one).

    Beautiful property in historic palace. First class service.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    this is probably the third time I've stayed at this hotel and I am never disappointed. I like that it is in a civilised, residential neighbourhood similar to So Ken and the Upper East side. it's far enough from shopping, restaurants, museums and parks to be quiet but near enough to walk to all that. the staff and decor also make you feel like you are staying at a chic, rich friend's home. Valentino had a party here so it has to be perfect!

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stunning room

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good location,gorgeous decoration and friendly clerk

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food in the bar was beyond awful. Completely inedible steak, cold soggy chips. I left it and ate bread

    The room was superb

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The best hotel ever

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    we likes everything and this is our second stay

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    costs of breakfast

    Rooms and service

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly stuff, nice location, comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    after staying there a few times the receptionist knew what I would have liked in a room and gave me a smaller but more efficient room than before

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice and clean hotel. Very charming

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not a lot of rooms were available. Wifi was not free

    The hotel is a local hotel. You feel the warmth and history of Madrid.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bulding design, room size, cleanliness, room service and the interior design

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Facilities

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location a bit far

    Was an amazing hotel amazing facilities and classic/modern design

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: