Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Globales Acuario 2 stars

Parque de las Flores, 35, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Spain

#102 of 108 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 474 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    6.2

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    3.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn’t recommend, unless you’re desperately on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not restocked - if you came later there was nothing left. Beds were uncomfortable. Sheets and towels were not changed, they were just folded and put back. Soap not replaced in the sink, started using our shower gel to wash our hands. Staff seemed disinterested in guests, just did their job.

    The price was low for the stay - but you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Overall, a good hotel for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Time limit on free wifi, the seafront windows didn't close tightly, so the cold february wind blew in.

    Great value hotel (booked last minute), with friendly staff and clean and comfy rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    2.9
    Never again and will not recommend this place to my friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff was rude and arrogant i did not feel welcome at all! I spent 8 days and they did not clear my room or bathroom. I found cockroch in my shower!!!!! Disgusting! I told the receptionist and he said ok i will tell the cleaner! Not even say sorry or apology.. the bed is very very uncomfortable. Very!!! The breakfast was same every single day! After third day i stopped eat there.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    We had halfboard and the food was great, the stuff is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is hard, it could be DBL not only TWIN

    We had halfboard and the food was great, the stuff is very kind and helpful! Only the beds were realy hard and the room was a bit small, but it was worth the money...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    4.2
    Better skip this one
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel have few buildings, probably with different quality. Our room was dirty, smelling, with big, BIG cockroaches. Every single thing in the room was really outdated. No views. No privacy - every sound in the hotel was like in our room. Breakfast was acceptable - nothing special, same for 3 days. The diner was fail. Very few things, very bad quality. Only one kind of meat with unknown origin. So bad cooked that you can't understand what are you eating. Waiters was too lazy to gather the food after diner ends, but very agile and precise to chase guests if they are late.

    24 hours reception. Possibility to free parking around the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    6.3
    Mediocre, but food saved everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 511 is increadibly small, and we couldn't even open our windows, because there was sunbathing space and there were always some people, so no privacy. Also there were ants in our room. It's 1.5 km to the beach, but getting back from there was difficult, because you go up the steep mountain. Also they changed coffee machines on the last days, but coffee then became terrible

    Very good breakfast and dinner, much space for sunbathing, pool inside. Also they learned from earlier feedback and there was soap, shampoo and clean towels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was very good, hotel and swimming pool as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shoulde be wifi in whole hotel for everybody !

    Breakfast was very good, hotel and swimming pool as well. Unfortunately wi-fi only in "wifi zone" where also was very low.. If you wasnt to use in your room you must pay 6e per day. I rather go to restaurant use free wifi and save this money for a meal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.9
    It is good to stay for one night for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the window is to the wall or to your neighbor room..

    The price related with other prices in Tenerife island was very low - only 32 Eur for two persons per night and the tasty breakfast (especially different muffins, cookies, pies, corn flakes and fruits)! (the other things as in usual hotel like eggs, sausages, cheese...) is also included in this price!!! The area near the hotel is calm and relaxing. There is not a long walk to the beautiful coast lines and beaches. It is good hotel to stay for one night for sure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.1
    Buffet breakfast, clean room with TV and relatively long...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Instant coffee was terrible (in Spain "instant coffee" sounds like a bad joke). Most of hotel guests at that day were Spanish teenagers without parental guidance - it was much too noisy.

    Buffet breakfast, clean room with TV and relatively long bathtube (bit unusual in 2* hotels in Spain)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.9
    Good price for a medium quality hotel in a nice surrounding
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms look like in the 60s. Wi-fi did not work (8 minutes to load yahoo.com and still not working). Iron to rent for 1 day! (3 euros) and was old and not good working (should have been provided with an ironing table). No floor cleaning / towel change for a stay-over (3 days) although we ask the maid to skip our room the first day. In the breakfast room, there is a lot of noise from dish/glass washer, dishes are put away on a dirty cart right in the room, posters with vegetables on the walls like in a cheap supermarket. I had to skip 3 dishes on the stack before finding a proper clean one for breakfast.

    The waiter Alin (Romanian) and the receptionist (with Moroccan name) were adorable, nice smile, they make you feel like home. Nice small-size pool and relaxing facilities. Old mattress was changed within 5 minutes with a new one, when we complained about the bad sleep. Prices are generally low. Good view around. Apples and candies to serve for free at the reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    2.5
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was terrible couldn't even get a cold drink during the day as everything was closed

    Food was poor made me I'll the room was infested with ants and dirty the baby's cot was ripped and in poor condition

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.9
    Stay was absolutely fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely clean however somehow there were some little worms in my sandwich in the morning. I don't think is necessarily cleaner but owner should put something in place to get rid of those , this didn't really bother me as I'm not scared and I know it happens even at home but it can be treated with some specific chemicals etc.

    Staff is friendlly , location bit on the hill I would say but taxi is cheap to get everywhere so it was still worthy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    8.3
    Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Only one thing - rather expensive wi-fi. Better to buy a local sim-card

    Was staying in Acuario for three times, and always totally satisfied. Very helpful and polite personnel, good breakfasts, great views on Teide or ocean. The hotel is situated on the hill, for some people it can be a bit difficult to get there. But I've never taken a car and used this opportunity to do fitness :) Recommend the hotel for non-fastidious people who do not want to overpay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    5.0
    It's ok if you're happy with average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dirty, the staff were unable to provide an iron for 2 days and 2 nights :( The room spelt bad and so did the restaurant. Not much parking available

    The location was ok (if you have a car) The only positive experience from staff was buying a Loro Parque ticket from reception.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    6.7
    Good price and quality ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Loud sounds in the morning, you can hear everything from other rooms. Doors slamming. Free internet is impossibly slow and normal speed is way too expensive. Ants crawling in the room.

    Rooms were tidied every day. Nice pool and view in the common balcony.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    5.8
    Fair price for standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small rooms without privacy (carboard walls?). Everything was cleaned (bleach smell). Good enough for this very very low price (30 euros double room).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same breakfast every day is boring )

    Price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast fantastic. Room basic but clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    3.3
    only location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only location is good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at night but that was other guests.

    Nice building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    2.5
    Never again worst hotel I’ve stayed at
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little box no room for clothes no sockets

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking place hard to find.

    Clean room, fully equipped, soundproofed, overlooking the mountains, rich and varied breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    It was very clean, the food was great, excellent value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet you have only 30 minutes per day.

    It was very clean, the food was great, excellent value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.3
    Great exprience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room hasn't Wifi service

    There are many beautiful flowers on the street around the hotel!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    5.8
    The hotel personal was amasing all of them.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel personal was amasing all of them.Alin.isreal.femin.all was good and helpsom! Thanks guys

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use with Balcony
    • Stayed 29 nights

    Overpriced wifi

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    5.0
    Paperthin walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paperthin walls

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No free wifi!

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Great little hotel with fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We spent a great time here. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast and dinner was fantastic. Best value for money! Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Very respectful, helpful and positive personnel;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Single Use with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very respectful, helpful and positive personnel; good breakfasts and dinners; good ratio of price and quality

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    5.4
    Nice view from the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room needs some refurbish, cleanliness is poor, no free wifi only 30 mins in the so called business centre. The one you can buy is only for one device, not transfereable to other. Bit of a walk from everything, dining area overcrowded, need to wait for table, often running out of stuff. Food basic budget food.

    Nice view from the street. The evening receptionist very kind and helpful. Although no parking for the hotel, not hard to find place.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    8.3
    - nice room with the terrace, where you can enjoy your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - internet only for 30 min/day on the 3rd floor;

    - nice room with the terrace, where you can enjoy your dinner or breakfast; - clean pool on the third floor; - recreation zones; - relatively close to the city center - helpful staff in the kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    6.3
    Overall good hotel for its price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I really hate their internet policy. Internet on Tenerife is almost everywhere for free but here you will get only 30 minutes and after that you need to pay. Free wifi is only accessible in one room, if you want wifi in your room you need to pay. We had our room with continental type of breakfast. It was fine but it really need some variety, almost every day was the same. Be careful when you pay for your room. When I played with credit card nobody asked me if I want to be charged in Euro or Czech crowns, and of course I was charged in Czech crowns and they have really really really bad exchange rate. In bank you wil get 1 Euro for 27 CZK but here 1 Euro means 30 CZK so overall i played for my room almost 25 Euro more than I should. Unfortunately I did not noticed that after 16 hours of travelling, but this is my fault, anyway be careful.

    Overall good hotel for its price. It is not meant to stay there really long, but just as starting place for young people who use this hotel as starting point it is fine. Location is really OK and even parking with car is really not so horrible as I read here. Swimming pool is really fine addition, but if you will use this hotel as starting point only you will never use it because after 18:00 it is not allowed to swim there.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    9.2
    The Mainstream Car-Hire firms are a bargain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had two mobiles, and a netbook with me. Couldn't get Wi-fi to work, at all. Tarff of 15 Euros for it, in a dedicated small wi-fi room on the 2nd floor, still didn't work! Fortunately the Internet Cafes' near the sea-front, are unbelievably cheap, especially the one staffed by a young Chinese couple!The walk from the sea to the hotel, is a good 25 minutes for a fit person, up a steep hill. Taxis are only 3.5 Euros, though. The mainstream car-hire places are bargain-priced, reliable,(22 Euros each, for two of us, for two days, 44 Euros altogether, fully inclusive, no messing with CDW, Fully inclusive!) We hired a Chevvy, VW are 10-15 Euros dearer. Petrol is about £2.20/gallon,.

    The Mainstream Car-Hire firms are a bargain! You need to hire a car to see the island's beauties. Don't use one-car operations, that advertise in little shops. You pay the shopkeeper 12 Euros as a commission! then the uncompetitive hire, itself! Where German tourists and residents transact, there is a no-nonsense, exemplary car-hire facility.That's so, in Puerto de la Cruz. But only use the main ones on the free recommended Car-Hire print-out, from the Information Centre, on the sea front! Went up Mount Teide, 9000 ft, then funicular railway up, to where it's a bit cold! 27 Euros to do the funicular, but if you want to walk the last 600 or 700 ft to the summit,(12600 ft) it becomes 43 Euros! But well worth the price, having spent money and miles to get there. Highest land-based place I've ever been. Walking is easy, if you don't smoke, only two moments of breathlessness.Lava is uneven, sharp, WEAR ANKLE-SUPPORTING BOOTS! Went dolphin watching, too, festive food+drink deal, on our boat, though Mal-de-Mer afflicted some fellow-travellers! That hotel has great food, plenty of it, daily room-service, and my stuff stayed where I left it. It's a secure place, met marvellous new friends, there. Australian, Swedish, Spanish and German. A superb value place, only marred by it's high elevation, relative to where-it's-at, in Puerto de la Cruz' Centre, down, on the shoreline. Many guests, warm sunshine, no rain during my stay, and a cooling breeze, day and night! I'll visit this hotel, again!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.6
    I was really surprised what we got for the price: cozy and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bad internet but I was quite happy to get rid of hanging on the net at my vacation.

    I was really surprised what we got for the price: cozy and nice room for 2 with breakfast cheaper then a bed in a hostel. The room was really comfortable, small but nice clean bath, great bed and view to the see, nice balcony. The hotel has small pool, nice stuff ready to help, good food (although as a vegetarian you would have a bit smaller choice but it worked totally fine for us).

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    4.2
    Breakfast was ok, pool was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was dirty, full of ants and one day we found a cockroach on our bathroom. Room was not like described on booking, when we complained the recepcionist said that that's what you get for paying cheap. Well that was very expensive for what we got,and you don't say that for you guests! Very bad Internet connection.

    Breakfast was ok, pool was ok. Location is nice for getting in and out of the city.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    7.9
    Little out of town so quiet, reasonably easy to park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    Little out of town so quiet, reasonably easy to park. Room clean, tidy and comfortable. Hotel appeared clean and reception staff helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    7.5
    The room was clean, staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor facilities in room. Lack of kettle or fridge.

    The room was clean, staff friendly. A very basic hotel, matching the price. We only stayed two nights to see Loro Park. Bed is surprisingly comfy but no facilities in room eg. no kettle, fridge etc... Ok, but wouldn't recommend for families with infants. Luckily we've taken our own kettle (alarmed by the price) to prepare baby food. Iron is €3/day. TV is free if pay €10 deposit for remote. Overall not a too bad experience but definitely not a luxurious accomodation at all.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    5.8
    The price - with the low-value euro, just £200 for two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that we arrived to a dirty room and that we needed to make five requests for remediation in 24 hours before action was taken. The fact that there was no lamp beside the beds.

    The price - with the low-value euro, just £200 for two. Fairly quiet.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    8.8
    The stuff is friendly, the hotel is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would prefer a double bed instead of two singles side by side. The free internet is only 30 minutes/day and can be accessed only from the wifi zone and not from the rooms.

    The stuff is friendly, the hotel is nice. The breakfast is good. In general, good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    4.2
    The bed had beautiful fine quality sheets and was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    When I booked, the information given by the hotel on the booking.com website was that wifi was available and free of charge. On arrival I learned that in fact there is only 30 mins free wifi per day - after that you pay. I have notified Booking.com of this and hope this will be made clear on the website in future. I booked a 'special deal' room so wasn't expecting the minute and smelly room I was allocated on the 5th floor, whose only window is completely overlooked by anyone using the terrace (#511 - avoid it!) I requested a change of room and was given one on the 6th floor that was just as tiny and shabby, but did not, at least, smell bad (drains). I felt that it represented poor value - even at the price of €27 a night I was paying. If 'special deals' aim to sell rooms that are actually of a lesser standard than their described accommodation, some indication of this should be given by the hotel. I cancelled the remainder of my 4 day reservation (mainly because I needed genuinely free wifi) and moved to 4dreams hotel in the town centre, which for only €7 a night more offered vastly better value - a very spacious and modern room with good facilities - and perfect free, unlimited wifi throughout the hotel.

    The bed had beautiful fine quality sheets and was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    6.3
    Pool and having wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Been woken by party

    Pool and having wifi

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    4.6
    cheap at this season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Noisy from the neighbor and moan form next door the whole night....

    cheap at this season. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    6.3
    Nice location, quiet, friendly staff, breakfast ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic accomodation, small and not the cleanest of rooms, quite chilly at night (in February)

    Nice location, quiet, friendly staff, breakfast ok

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Globales Acuario traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: