Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Afán de Rivera 2 stars

Afán de Rivera, 4, 23400 Úbeda, Spain

#4 of 14 hotels in Úbeda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 302 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traditional & beautiful hotel with great charm, well located for everything and easy to find. Parking nearby. Really welcoming and very helpful Fabulous breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We where greeted by the owner who gave us loads of useful information . The breakfast was the best we have had after travelling for many years in Spain .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning made our room a bit stuffy but it's a rustic building so we did not mind

    Breakfast. Lovely cakes and overall selection Smack in the middle of town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What’s not to like — it was the best.

    An amazing example of old world charm in a unique building. Value for money was also tops, though the experience alone was worth the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the charm of this romantic boutique hotel, the owner and staff, the lovely breakfast, the location, and the attention to detail that makes this little inn very special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, this is our second visit to this hotel and it was as good as we remembered it from our first visit. When we are in the area again we will certainly stay there.

    The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choices. Wonderful crepes and homemade preserves served by very pleasant attentive staff. One of the best buffet breakfasts we know of. Hotel is located in the old part of Ubeda but is a very short walk to the shopping area and more modern part. It is located a short drive from Baeza which is another lovely historical town and well worth visiting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything we didn't like

    Warm welcome; good advice on free parking nearby; Delightful old refurbished building: the most delicious breakfast of all the hotels we experienced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little difficult to find.

    Jorge was an amazing host, friendly and informative. The breakfast was fantastic as was the historic lodging. The shower and the amenities in the bathroom were the best we've had so far on our trip. I would highly recommend this place, particularly for the value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our host loved to play Rod Stewart very loud in the morning...

    The property is old and full of character, like our host who is absolutely charming. You literally step out into the old town, very close to the main square. Our room was very comfortable - old fashioned but cosy. Bathroom modern with good shower pressure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only the lack of window in our room

    The hotel itself was 500 years old and full of atmosphere with beautiful artefacts and decoration. The room was very pretty but unfortunately did not have a window so we had to use the aircon all the time - not a big problem but something we don't usually do. Breakfast was wonderful with mostly home made produce - great variety and plenty of it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable, characterful, hotel, very well situated in centre of Ubeda. Good breakfast featuring local produce. Helpful owner. Value and recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was an amazing spread of local food. The hotel is in an old mansion, with decorations that match the period, very charming. The staff was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and places to see all marked on a map. The old city is very small and everything is in walking distance. Parking was free in a public lot about 2 minutes from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect,can't find a negative

    This small hotel was exceptional, and a highlight in our trip around Spain. The room was lovely with everything you could possibly need. Lovely ambience, great host ( Jorge) and amazing breakfast. Beautiful old town to explore

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old buildings have their quirks; rooms facing the street can be noisy. But we enjoyed the ambience, the decor, the helpful staff, and would absolutely stay again.

    Charming small family-run hotel in very old building, in the heart of the monumental district. The breakfast was outstanding. A special spot, reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems at all.

    Fantastic location.Fantastic Spanish breakfast fit for the King and Queen. Jorge the owner and his wife are lovely hosts.. This is the 4th time back to the hotel.. Will be back again next year.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be quite nice to have a nightcap at a bar, but there isnt one.

    fabulous building, lovely breakfast if you like cold meat and cheese etc. it was just what we had hoped for

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    some parking constraints. not too bad

    beautiful hotel with excelent hospitalety in english, delicious breakfast and very good location. if you are looking to shorten the long drive from Madrid to Granada Ubeda is the town and Hotel Afán de Rivera is the place .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was not to our liking. In early February the room was very cold and took four hours to heat up, then had to be turned off as the AC unit blew almost directly down at the bedhead causing dry-eye. The hairdryer was not in the room and had to be collected from the reception which unfortunately was not manned at that time when required.

    Atmospheric old building in a good quiet location. Staff very friendly. Spacious period room with contrasting well appointed bathroom with bath. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The breakfast schedule is definitely not adequate, only starting at 9:30... I get it is a local habit, and the breakfast has fresh and homemade products, but 930 means you "lose" your morning waiting for a breakfast. That makes does not make the hotel a good option if you would want to come to Ubeda as a base for the surrounding area (hiking in the local natural parcs, Granada, etc). Other Spanish guests were also annoyed with that during our stay.

    - The hotel is in a historical landmark right in the center of the city, amazing décor - Free parking options nearby - Very friendly owner - Great breakfast, with lots of spanish local specialities - The hotel as more of a B&B feeling, few rooms and small place

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI worked in the hotel but unfortunately not in our room... Good to know: Not directory related to the hotel service/offer, but public parking isn't easy. We were there in the w-end and lots of people from around come to Ubeda town.. lots of cars and Ltd parkingslots, narrow streets, .. Quite a challenge, but doable. Small cars have great advantage over big ones in this.

    Breakfast quality and selection was outstanding, great variety of spanish products and homemade specialties. Superb Location : less than a minute from the historical centre. Overall decoration of the hotel is like an medieval castle. Romantic stylish bedroom. We appreciated hospitality of the hotel owner family.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic breakfast. A huge variety of embutidos and cheese. Homemade chocolate cake and the traditional churros. Everyone were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit dated.

    Breakfast was incredible - the best we had in Andalusia

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel,historical tasteful and characterful. Excellent host.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t terribly comfortable.

    Excellent breakfast . Great location, very quaint property and owner!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really couldn't fault it...

    Great location. Wonderful breakfast. Friendly staff who spoke nice clear Spanish.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fabulous breakfast :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room, staff, and food were great. Wish we could have stayed more than one night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room. Extremely friendly owners. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress on pull-out sofa was thin.

    Excellent breakfast included in the price of the room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noisy guests who returned at 2 a.m.!

    Breakfast was a foodie's delight! The owner explained, in Spanish, what some of the taste treats were, where they originated, and happily fetched more of one of the specials. On top of which we were given the beautiful room with the four-poster bed. Wonderful!!

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Very clean , perfect breakfast , quiet room , nest to facilties and nature . 20 minutts to walk from bus stacion . Very friendly staff . And the owner himself made us sandwiches and fruit for the journey home ( because we lost the last days breakfast . Delicious red pepper jam 😍

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was generally good, but there were some issues with it dropping. Room with skylights which couldn't be opened, so no fresh air; not really a problem when I was there, as it was a cold night. An over-enthusiastic cockerel somewhere nearby started crowing in the small hours!

    Small and very friendly family-run place in quiet side street in central location. Very clean and comfortable, with bathtub. Good breakfast. Good heating on chilly night.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The accommodation was atmospheric as well as comfortable, the host was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was probably the culinary highlight of our two-month visit to Spain.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Certainly, this was the best overnight stay we had during our journey through Andalucia's medival heritage. This small hotel set in an antique building and decorated in great style was everything you could wish for to make an already great experience in Ubeda really memorable. And the breakfast was out of this world - the best we have had in all our recent travels. The staff was great, giving excellent advice where to go and where to eat. Certainly we will stay here again should we return to Ubeda one day.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were comfortable to sleep in but a bit unstable for sitting on.

    The staff, Jorge and Lorenzo, were very enthusiastic, welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was the best we have had on our travels in Spain. There was a lot of in house made products that were delicious.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing not to like

    Exquisite small hotel beautifully run by the charming and welcoming Jorge Pla. The glorious sights of Ubeda are on your doorstep and glorious doesn't come close in describing the wonders of this small Rennaissance jewel.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wifi was limited only to the downstairs breakfast area and entrance.

    The breakfast was excellent. The hotel was beautifully decorated. I arrived during the Ubeda medieval festival; an evening of knights, acrobatic dancers, archery, lutes and artistic market stalls was complemented by the hotel's own classical atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The most delightful medieval hotel keeping all its charm but with modern facilities. Run by a most dapper older gentleman. With breakfast, a spectacular feast of local and homemade delicacies, in the old wine cellar

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    gets mighty hot between 1 and 5 PM

    great location in the old walled city, tucked down a narrow medieval street, great restaurants within walking distance, the owner and his wife were nothing short of excellent hosts

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    On our delayed and late arrival our host offered a warm welcome, provided informed tips for the Easter programme of events. varied places to eat out and other local attractions. He and his small team provided an amazing breakfast to start each day and an overall excellent service. Highly recommended, this hotel helped to make Ubeda the highlight of our holiday.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the weather!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    the Manager/owner was wonderful, he was extremely pleasant and took a lot of care in helping us find the best and most interesting places in Úbeda. Now the Breakfast.... We have never experienced such a wide choice of gourmet Spanish meats and cleverly sourced local produce. The Room....was furnished in an old classical style to complement the buildings origins, the en suite, however, was totally modern, and the provided toiletries were of superior quality.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not a critique, but an information: parking may be difficult and some way from the house.

    Very friendly host providing lots of information. His English is not good, but he speaks French rather well. Excellent location very Close to main square. Beautiful old house, very well decorated. I had a nice and quiet room with skylights. Good bed. Modern bathroom. Excellent breakfast with a variety of homemade delicacies.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The whole stay was very comfortable. Bed very comfortable. Delicious breakfast in the morning, beautifully presented. Parking not a problem, we parked three minutes a way and walked. It is an old city, expect to walk.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Best hotel, in my opinion, in Ubeda. Extra nice, friendly older gentleman greeted us. Parking was nearby and easy. Breakfast was good with lots of personal attention. Small, friendly hotel and owner.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was perfect for walking to all sights. The staff was most welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Skylight and air conditioning but no window in bedroom so no fresh air

    Fabulous breakfast in beautiful room

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Gorgeous hotel, wonderful host , quite special .

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noise from temporary roadworks

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place itself, the location & the exceptional service.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner of Hotel Afán de Ribera have is excellent above on places to eat in Úbeda. This was one of our favorite experiences during our vacation.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike. Everything was very good.

    The welcome was very good. The breakfast was excellent buffet with local produce.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad

    Excellent accomodation in a beautifully restored building. And Jorje the host was outstanding

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find a place to park a car near the hotel.

    Nice atmosphere. Good location. Good breakfest.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    With great enthusiasm the owner provided me with excellent advise and information! I wished to see it all!

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the hotelkeeper was most friendly and gave us good tips to eat and visit things.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Hotel Afán de Rivera traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: