Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ágora Spa & Resort 4 stars

Huerto,8, 12598 Peñíscola, Spain

#29 of 34 hotels in Peñíscola

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1102 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Paid WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    It was a great short break with the family in a well located hotel with excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it is wonderful to have the facilty of a spa, I could not believe I had to pay €10 for what was described as a Children´s Spa. It was a shallow pool with cold water, a slide and some water spraying. It is designed only for the youngest of children and should be freely available to guests - it is not worth charging for.

    The room was very comfortable and spacious, especially with the larger balcony. The reception area of the hotel was airy and peaceful and the pools were great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location near to centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a huge hotel but seemed to be ok. The rooms at the back had no view. Breakfast was chaos with a Butlins feel. Queues for everything but food ok.

    The location was great near to beach,, restaurants and Peniscola walled town. The bar waa ok and the rooms clean and comfy. Parking was secure underground. .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    A good hotel in a good location would of loved to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying for parking. A very old and small TV.

    A good choice of food dinner and breakfast. The rooms were enormous 2 double double bed rooms and lounge kitchen 2 bath rooms. Very light and airy. One minuet to the beach and 10 minuets to the castle which is worth a visit for the views alone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is in good location for seeing Peñíscola.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in good location for seeing Peñíscola. We had a level 7 room with sea view (1706) we paid €60 extra for the view but was well worth it. Clean hotel and very comfortable beds. The breakfast catered for all tastes and there was plenty to go around. The spa is worth a visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    The staff were all very friendly, helpful and hard working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay this time was in April (after Easter) and it was just too busy and too noisy. The "Lounge Bar" is more like a children's play area and I would not recommend it. The "hot" food in the restaurant is tepid at best and I would suggest the installation of microwave ovens would improve the situation.

    The staff were all very friendly, helpful and hard working. The location of the property is perfect for visiting the castle and the old town. We would certainly stay again in October when it is quieter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location in Peniscola, just a minute back off the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pedestrian exit in car park to the lift up to the hotel was a little gloomy. The indoor swimming pool was an extra 20 euros for adults, 10 euros for kids which I thought was a bit cheeky as the hotel boosts an indoor and outdoor pool for guests but the outdoor pool was closed until July. (We went in March).

    Great location in Peniscola, just a minute back off the beach. The hotel has a big driveway so you can pull up and get out, check in and then hop back in your car and drive down to their secure underground car park. There is a big family cafe and entertainment room with a ball pit for toddlers, air hockey etc that stays open late with disco. The breakfast was included and offered a lot of choice, even soya milk for cereal!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast was nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was nothing special. A huge buffet - yes, but the quality of the food was not very good. We travelled two adults with no kids. I would not book the hotel again but might recommend it for familys. Lots of activities for children.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.8
    No return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably no maintenance since it was build... Totally touristic place. Breakfest was like on a production line in a factory quality was also medium. I would not go there again.

    Friendly staff at the front desk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Excellent position for visiting the old town and castle with secure parking and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The minibar in the room produced far too much heat and should perhaps have been placed in a larger space.

    Very friendly and helpful staff and the buffet dinner and breakfast were excellent. There was even a microwave in case anything was not as hot as it should be. Also, we spent one evening watching the onsite entertainment, a singer, and it was very good. The position of the hotel was perfect for visiting the old town and the castle with the onsite parking being safe and secure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    Modern hotel, good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking too expensive Staff not always very friendly We booked a junior suite as we wanted a kitchnette, however, there were no plates, utensils, cups etc which makes the kitchnette a waste of time! Finally after 2requests, 6 hours later we were given a few bits for the kitchnette. It seems our request was strange! So we had tea in wine glasses. I think all rooms have small fridge so would suggest there is no point spending extra money on a kitchnette which wasn’t really usable If you have a room near the service area is it noisey

    Breakfast had a good choice Bed was comfortable Spa treatments with cristina very good Rooms clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.4
    Stinks with soap!
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They wash everything with the soap that smells awfully. Even if we kept the airconditioner on and windows open all the time, my clothes that was not washed yet still smells with it 2 days after checking out. The soap obviously does not help to remove cirtain stains as well. We tried to tip a maid and have written a note in Spanish (with google translate) not to use that soap, but it did not work. Booked only one night at first for 60 Euros. We did not know they upgraded a room at first, so when we asked for another night the receptionist has just charged us a 100 Euros. Had to change the room the day after. The fridge in the standard room was barely cool... Did not save fruits for 2 days. You would ask why we stayed there for 5 nights in the end - we were tired because of a 3 weeks journey across Europe and noticed already that the quality of the hotels in the south of Europe is very poor lately.

    If it would not stink with soap so much and would be a bit cleaner, would be just ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    We could get our room an hour before check-in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Indoor pool is not working in the summer. Restaurant is totally not prepared for vegetarians.

    We could get our room an hour before check-in time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    I'm not going back if possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Crowdy

    Clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Breakfastsystem not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfastsystem not good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Magnificent views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee machine. Wi-Fi not great.

    Magnificent views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall very good, a few things let it down like above and room and parking card did not work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The queue to check out, in total it took over 2 hours, then they tried to charge me more for checking out late!!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was poor, overall the hotel was not as good as I expected - more like a three star.

    Live music in the evening

    Stayed in April 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.9
    The breakfast buffet was delicious and had many options for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast buffet was delicious and had many options for everyone to choose from. We didn't use the pool but the water looked clean and the pool area was large to hold many guests.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    5.8
    The receptionist was rude and unhellpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The receptionist was rude and unhellpful. I called the previous day to cancel because I had had a skiing accident that day but that was t an option. So we travelled to the hotel with my crutches and leg in plaster, there was no help. The room was right at the end of the corridor, we asked for a room closer to the lift, or wheelchair or any type of assistance but she was rude and unhelpful. So I had to hop all the way around the hotel and the restaurant is pretty far away to get too!!! Not impressed!!

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    10
    A really lovely hotel very much like Far East ones in its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No internet in room,you could get it in the reception. Car parking is expensive at 14 euro per night but is very secure and indoors,good when you have a car load of UK shopping.

    A really lovely hotel very much like Far East ones in its open layout,lovely view of the coast from our fifth floor and the little extra we paid for our room proved worth while.The bonus was an English breakfast option.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    Huge bed, clean room, great breakfast, awesome swimming pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Huge bed, clean room, great breakfast, awesome swimming pool in a fantastic location.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: