Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Agumar 4 stars

Paseo Reina Cristina, 7, Retiro, 28014 Madrid, Spain

#253 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3839 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor state of the floor corridors,smell of cigarettes in corridors due to absence of proper ventilation, thus it does not look like 4 star hotel at all. We stayed there for 4 day but bedsheets were not changed.

    Clean nice room, breakfast was good variety of choice,about 15 min walk to shopping centre and 5 min to underground

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a lot of nice restaurants within a short walking distance.

    Hotel restaurant was a very pleasant surprise. Breakfast items changed each day. Close to train station, botanical gardens, park and Prado.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dark because of the dark furniture and poor lighting.

    It's a very convenient location. Close to Retiro park and Atocha station. Eating around the area is much cheaper. Central Madrid is walkable from there. The shower was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Agumar is in a great location not far from the Prado and Botanic gardens and also a 5 minute walk from the station which is handy for those travelling by train.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Easy walk from the main rail station and the large popular park near the hotel. All tourist areas of the city are an easy walk and the position of the hotel allows you to explore the old city and new city areas, shopping, squares and resturants. The local train service is excellent for its service upto El Escorial and a high speed 40 minute trip to Toledo. Excellent hotel and staff and large buffet breakfast to suit all tastes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internal room very little natural light. This room should not be charged at 4star price. The bar closed at 11pm and you were sent to finish your drink in the lobby. By noon the next day the glasses were still not cleared away.No

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff weren’t particularly friendly or helpful. Also we asked for two twin bedded rooms on booking (we were a group of 4 - 2 male and 2 female friends) and also on early arrival. We were given double bedded rooms which we then had to change!

    Comfy beds with crisp white cotton sheets. Good breakfast selection. Great location within walking distance of Atocha station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for three night. We have left our three luggage and two backpacks to hotel front for about 4 hours after check-out. But We found to be have my wife's pink handbag in backpak stolen when we took our luggage and backpack.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were hard.

    The location is excellent, and easy walk from Atochi train station, the Retiro, the Prado and the Reina Sophia. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction blocking entrance; slow elevators; room with 25 year old decor; and being charged 40 euros for one night parking since it was “two days.”

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant/cafe attached to the hotel is not recommended, the food was nowhere near acceptable and the staff were not friendly.

    Breakfast was excellent, food very fresh and tasty. Reception staff very helpful. Near to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located 5-7 minutes of walk from main train station. Staff members are very helpful and welcome people. Good breakfast. Room was clean and equipped with everything you may need. As we stayed only overnight, can not found any negative moments.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints

    Excellent breakfasts Room good with big comfortable bed and lovely soft towels Reception staff were most helpful in regards to helping with directions and general assistance . Will certainly come back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Décor of rooms and hotel lobby very dated. Good breakfast. Hotel lobby very gloomy - brown! The noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. Doors banging. Staff at Reception Desk not welcoming at all.

    Good breakfast. Convenient location, close to Atocha train station and art galleries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't particularly quiet, we could hear people from other rooms practically as if they were in our room.

    Good location, staff was fine, the room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    TV in the rooms did not receive the major football events of the day we had to go down to the restaurant and bar to watch the game

    Comfort of the room and the friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road outside the front of the hotel is busy, with traffic all night. Not too obtrusive, but not really tranquil! The neighbourhood has a lot of bars/cafes/restaurants, plenty of choices and is not very touristy.

    Desk staff were very helpful, printing out Check-in forms for trip home. Room was comfortable. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy, could not sleep well specially for those who like to week up late, because after 8 AM you will not be able to sleep because of the noise in next room and room service who Rr serving other rooms, The walls are thin you can hear lots what is happening in next room The price is highly expensive compare to the type and equality that you will get, Will never come again to this hotel or recommend it

    Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if we could have stayed at the Agumar longer.

    ultra clean! Dark lined curtains and plush bedding made for luxurious sleep! Staff has perfectmix of professionalism/friendliness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Random noises coming from bathroom, rooms weren’t soundproof and there seemed to always be a lot of men working at reception but all talking instead of offering to help until they are asked

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of an upgrade. Rooms very dark. Restaurant food and decor need attention.

    good buffet breakfast. Good location for Atocha station and museums. Retiro Park very close.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is a little poor, no slipper, coffee maker or toothbrush ... and the security guard in the evening never smile or say hello to us... what a manner ... also, dirty sofa

    They have good place to deposit our luggage when we are check out and still need somewhere to put it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the same price I could have booked in better hotels. I paid higher with the expectation of getting a good room. What I got was only worth half the price. I could have got similar rooms, in three star hotels or even hostals for a much better price. The room was old and tired looking. This hotel certainly cannot be classified as a four star hotel, they should reconsider classification as three star.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were nice but one of the young receptionists was not very friendly, quite dismissive in fact, when we were checking in. Tiny elevators that can probably only fit in 4 people max at a time. So better request to have room on the 2nd floor so it'll be easier to use the stairs.

    Great location near the train station and metro station for Line 1 (which is along the same line to Sol, etc. for shopping area). Good bedroom size and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This should not be a 4 star hotel. At most it is 3 star. The basics are there but we saw 3 star hotels that from the outside looked superior.

    The expected amenities were there (except for Kleenex). Close to the train station (less than 10 minutes).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant looks like a canteen, plastic chairs, so didn't eat

    Great location very close to the bus station easy for getting from and to the airport. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a single and got a room with 2 tiny single beds. This was not what I thought I booked. Why do hotel staff continue to put single persons in rooms with 2 single beds? I was not able to sleep comfortably. Also, the noise level between rooms was very noticeable. I could hear everything next door: conversations, showers, etc. (I could even smell what they ate.) This noise as well as the uncomfortable bed kept me awake both nights. Therefore, I did not have a restful experience, one of the the main points of a hotel stay.

    Great location. Close to Atocha and walking distance to museums. Very clean bathroom and generally clean space. The front desk staff were very courteous and assisted me by bringing my lost luggage to my room. I had a strange experience in the dining room, trying to purchase coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My pet hate - the one available socket was nowhere near the mirror which made it very difficult to use hair straighteners. It's quite noisy - you can easily hear sounds from the room next door and the traffic outside. The bar was a real let-down - they only had one bottle of beer in stock at 7pm on Saturday night. The reception staff were not that friendly, in fact two of them were so busy talking to each other, I was totally ignored when I went to reception to check out (and there were no other customers in sight).

    Comfortable bed, good temperature controls, nice to have both a bath and a shower in the bathroom. Basic toiletries were provided - shower gel and shampoo - but no body lotion or conditioner. Breakfast was above average for a buffet. It's a short walk to the nearest Metro station so easy enough to get around the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic breakfast buffet with wide selection of food offered. Room and shower were nice, clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful. Great location in Madrid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I was happy with everything.

    The room we got was spacious & very clean. The decor is dated, but that didn't really matter to us. We just wanted a clean & comfortable place to sleep. The service was always very good. The best thing about this hotel is the location. Location: Its conveniently located close to the Atocha train station. This made it easy to go on day trips (to El Escorial, catch the c3 train & it's the last stop - it was about €15 return for 2 adults). Walking distance to Retiro Park & Regina Sofia gallery. About 30min walk to the centre - otherwise catch bus 32 to Benavente. The bus stop is about 50m walk outside the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was too warm and I was unable to activate the air conditioning - I think that the system was set to only allow heating. Perfect for the Spanish, but not so much for northern Europeans!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had trouble with Wifi, but no one else did so it may have just been my carrier. Tea/coffee making facility in the room would have been welcomed.

    Good location. We enjoyed walking through Retiro park most days and still close to centre. Close to the 3 big museum/galleries - Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisz and Reina Sofia. Cafe and bar friendly, and very handy. Breakfast offered a huge array, was well stocked and never too busy. Staff always available and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor soundproofing with corridor and next rooms and street (earplugs are a must if you want to sleep)...poor lightingin bathroom, heater in bathroom not working, bad pressure of water in shower, broken hand shower...the location is not interesting for tourists: is far outside of the heart of Madrid's shopping and sightseeing places and the nearest metro station is 500 meters away...no kettle in the room...there is no lift to the last floor and you will struggle with luggage, very bad window view (roof of the building) 

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a surprise that no in-room irons are provided but nevertheless my emergency needs were met at a small extra cost.

    Quality hotel for a reasonable price in a great position in my favourite city. Classically polite and professional reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choices for breakfast was underwhelming. Could improve with variety each morning. Coffee machine worked well.

    The hotel was clean and close to the Atocha station and museum of modern art. Receptionists could communicate with English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad WiFi signal and noisy. You could hear everything that happened in the other rooms. I was a little surprised that this hotel has 4 stars. The rooms were clean but very basic.

    Nice, king size bed. They have gluten free bread af the breakfast buffet, which was tasteful! Supermarket and subway station were close. We took the train from Atocha Renfe (the station closes to the hotel) to Toledo, which is a really nice connection!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the sound isolation sucks.... we could hear the showers, the toilets flushes of the other guests. however we got so much tired during the day that this was not an issue.

    the stay was simply great! we have rented a scooter (the rental company is just 2 steps away) and we have visited the entire city in the scooter! Madris is so beautiful and underated. i enjoyed my stay and Algumar is great for ptoximity with Atocha station easy to reach the airport and the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything seems old: a refurbishing could change the general aspect of the hotel. The bed and the soundproofing within the room should definetely be improved.

    The best about this accomodation is without any doubts its location, very convenient if you are arriving by train or using it for one-day visits to surroundings. Room size and staff attention were excellent too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea & coffee in the room we were right outside the maids station so was woking up really early every morning . wall must be really thin could hear the other room flushing the toilet at night

    The Lady in the bar was the most helpful & nice person we dealt with on our trip

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large triple room. Comfortable beds. Bathroom very spacious. Hotel spotlessly clean. Less than 5 mins walk from Atocha station. Prado was about 10 mins away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needs refurbishing. Old carpets and curtains. Isolation between rooms very poor. My room was very dark (views to a tiny walled patio)

    Pleasant staff. Easy access to train station with direct connection to Airport. Easy access to Metro station with direct line to city center /Sol and Gran Via. I got a good rate for a single room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the breakfast area wi-fi did not work or signal was very poor (not everyday, but 2 times)

    Great location very close to Atocha station. I incredibly grateful for the staff of my hotel - I lost my wrist watch in the hotel while leaving the hotel, and the watch was found by the staff and returned to me! Great and big hotel, recommend it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is not quite at night, staff starts cleaning early in the morning and you can hear everything

    Location is really good, close to metro, light train and train

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior is dated. We had a non-smoking room, but the furniture was marked with old burn spots from sigarettes.

    The breakfast was a buffet, and there was enough choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedroom was far too hot and we couldn't alter the temperature. One of the ceiling lights was broken and eventually got mended only it broke again.

    We didn't go to the restaurants. We ate in the hotel. The first night's dinner was excellent and it gradually got worse and worse which was very disappointing. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are one meal in the cafe and did not rate it highly. Breakfast in the breakfast room made up for this.

    Great breakfast buffet offered each morning--not included in price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    don't like the breakfast. No fresh orange juice and ham soso. Few variety and poor quality. the receptionist cold and slow, no smiles back to u at all. arrogant and wierd.

    the hotel gave us a big room w/ 3 beds. Surprise! it is spacious and comfortable. the location is about 8 min to railway station and subway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the poor choice of deserts in the dinner menue :)

    Very close to Central train station Atocha Madrid but still my room was very quiet as I requested. Checked out at night leaving the hotel in the morning. Very fast and profesional checkout by a senior reception man. Great service!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room view was not good. Looking inside the building. goo

    Room and bathroom were spacious and beds were comfortable. breakfast was ok. Not in the heart of the city but good location close to train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window of our room was facing the inside of various other buildings, so we basically were seeing pipes and at times a smell of gas was coming inside.

    Very clean, cozy, close to Retiro Park and the train station, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee tasted strange like it had sugar in it. Breakfast cereal choice needs unsweetened muesli added to choice.

    Location, bed, room, staff, general facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lack of sound proofing

    spent 2 nights at the Agumar: I chose it for its location near the station (5mins walk) and its price. It's good value for money and comfortable. the walls are not very thick and I got woken up one very early morning by inconsiderate neighbours. The staff is very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really needs updating, very old fashioned decor - but clean and well maintained.

    Handy for Atocha Station and the Prado. Away from touristy ares which is both positive and negative, but bus at door if you want to go Plaza Mayor- takes about 15-20 mins depending on traffic.Good choice of fruit, cereals and hot food at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worse coffee we have had - tried from two machines have up on third day and had tea Please get a nespresso or make manually.

    Location approximately 5 minutes to main station. 15 minutes walk to Prado. Nice old hotel ambience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi could be a bit faster though. I was getting 5mbps down and 1mbps up speeds- I would expect a 4 star hotel to do better. Otherwise this is my only gripe

    The rooms were superb, quality everywhere. Everything you need is there and the mini fridge was fully stocked. The aircon was also great, very quiet & kept the room fresh throughout.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike at all

    The hotel was only 200 yards from the Madrid Atocha Railway station. It was pretty close to the Retiro Park and not very far from the Prado Gallery. The metro station was close and easy to get into the centre of the city. The breakfast was a large choice and very good. There is also a small restaurant in the hotel for dinners etc. The bedroom was well kept and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground car park - far too narrow to get in and out of the lower area. Lift - far too slow. Electronics needs to be reprogrammed.

    Location. Staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a little dark.

    The room was very spacious, the bathroom was also spacious and very clean. The check-in was very quick and efficient which I loved after a long train ride.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was located above the street making it too noisy to have the window open at night. I also thought the hotel food was poor quality and expensive.

    Great location to museums, park, and train station. It was very clean and comfortable. The neighborhood felt safe. There was a grocery store and s place to get pedicures on the same street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly dated appearance but this assisted in creating the relaxed ambiance.

    Professionally managed and well run hotel with good old-fashioned values. Comprehensive breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a little bit old style and it needs a refurbishment. When you first enter the room you feel a smell like old furniture, although after you open the window it disappears. The bathroom does not have a ventilating system or window to recirculate and refresh the air; after you take a shower the water accumulates in the middle of the bathroom with no possibility to drain it, you need to use a towel to clean it. The room does not have a carpet on the floor, this making it a little bit noisy from upstairs.

    The location of hotel is near to one of the biggest parks of Madrid, Prado museum and Atocha Renfe metro station, which is quite nice. The room is comfortable and clean and the reception personal was friendly and ready to help you. There are several stores and one supermarket close to the hotel. Overall it was a nice holiday at this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, I could hear all the noises from next door rooms.. TV, chats and everything else!!

    VERY friendly staff, I had to print out my train ticket very early in the morning and the person in the reception (unfortunately I forgot the name) was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    4 star hotel should not ask for deposit to use safety box in the room.

    Hotel is in a great location, within walking distance from Atocha. Room was spacious enough, clean, with nice amenities. Staff was friendly and helpful, and room service excellent. Overall, good property for midterm stay in the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air Condition worked well -- almost too well -- at it blew directly onto the left-hand bed. The second twin bed was not affected. Nice duvet, however, somewhat solved the problem. Breakfast seemed expensive but we ate a typical Spanish breakfast at a café near Museo Reina Sofia.

    Room 715 was huge and included a very long desk for our computer, a comfortable lounge chair, and double bench for luggage (why is luggage so often overlooked in hotel rooms???). The bed was wonderful. Location from Atocha Renfe/Metro station is a convenient 7-minute walk. Also walking distance to Museo Reina Sofia, Prado, and Thyssen-Boromisza. Good value and perfect for our one-night stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls between rooms are thin. One could hear what people are talking about.

    Had a quiet twin room (they also have rooms with queen size beds) located in the backside of the building. Only noise was from people next doors. Located near to Atocha metro and train station for a day trip to e.g. Toledo with high speed trains Ave. Within walking distance to museum Reina Sofía, Prado Museum, botanical garden and Retiro park. Besides wifi in the hotel they have an Internet corner with 2 computers and I could print entrance tickets there to avoid entrance queues. Great variety at breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't really fault anything. Wifi wasn't the strongest at times but wasn't an issue for us.

    Good location close to Atocha train station, with metro close by. Very comfortable beds, clean rooms good shower etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of communication problem. I asked to keep my backpack in the hotel for a few hours upon checkout. The staff at the reception said "porter is coming" so i waited. Half an hour later, i asked the staff "is the porter coming?" and he just pointed at the door. I wasn't sure what to do, so i left with my backpack. Except for that, I totally love my stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room tiny. No chair. Fridge blocked way round bed. Walls did not stop noise from next door. No kettle. Fire escape at one end of corridor only. I wonder if 4 star rating is correct. Poor value at price I paid. Cheaper deals on day of arrival. I asked for a room on the lowest floor possible, because I have concerns about fire safety in Spanish hotels. I would not have accepted a room on the 5th floor.

    Staff friendly Smoke alarm

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the triple room was a bit expensive.

    Service was excellent. Breakfast buffet was very nice with hot and cold items, fresh fruit , breads, cereals, meats and cheeses. Altogether European!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. I had booked a different night than I actually needed. When I tried to change the date I was told the hotel was sold out for the date. I then went back to booking.com to find another hotel for the night I needed and found there was availability. With the hope that when I arrived the manager would allow me a refund of the original booking, I decided to book the night I needed. When I arrived I discussed my situation with the staff member who checked me in. He was quite rude and was very reluctant to provide me with the managers name and contact information to discus my situation. I do take responsibility for not booking a room that didn't offer changes, but, my request to change my booking by 2 nights was met lies and rudeness. If I myself needing a hotel near the Atocha train station in Madrid again I will definitely fboom my stay at one of the many other conveniently located hotels.

    Location near the Atpcha Madrid train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom is clean but dated.

    Functional room layout. Cleanliness and quiet. A supermarket in 200m.A few cafe in 400 m where I can have churos y cafe con leche.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a room which costs €160 a night as an Indian I think 2 bottles of water should be complimentary on a daily basis at that price. But it wasn't the case. There was no kettle to heat water or to make some coffee. We had carried some ready to eat packs and made the same using the our own induction plate. we requested was for two empty plates & two wine glasses. They said they couldn't provide the same. It wasnt languge barrier . They simply said they cannot do it. Did i feel I got my money's worth? Not really.

    Location to Atocha Station is pretty good. Hotel is neat clean and prim. Overall the place has a crisp corporate image. Not really the couples kind. We asked them to clear the mini bar so we could store milk cheese and some stuff which they did.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a little bid old. Personnel could be more friendly. Internet connection is provided in an old way(password fliers).

    Location is really good. Close to the main center (20 mins nice walk to Gran Via) with a nice walking way. Comfortable bed and clean room and bathroom. Room had a nice small balcony. Optimal place to stay in Madrid without big expectations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During working on desk for the second person there is no place to move. It would be better to put the desk closer to corner/balcony. All three elevators work independently - the first free elevator don't come without pushing the relevant button. There is a noisy café just in front of the hotel.

    Location - all major things within walking distance: bus stop - 2 min., metro - 5 min., train station - 10 min, Prado and Renia Sofia Museums - 20 min., many cafes/restaurants and shops nearby. Breakfast - almost excellent, just sausages and boiled eggs should be added. Room design - simple, good combination of colors.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we booked non smoking room but the room was smell of tabacco then hotel offer to change the room for us but room size was smaller. feel not comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Agumar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: