Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Akelarre 1 stars

Avda. San Marcos, 37 B, 15891 San Marcos, Spain

#1 of 1 hotels in San Marcos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 289 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great and the people are so nice! They even did my laundry for me and folded it with such care. The only drawback is that the bar is only a bar and does not serve food, but not a big deal since there are restaurants nearby. This was the perfect place to stop and rest so I was fresh rolling into Santiago the next morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs barked in the yard out back at night. Staff refused to give me a bag of ice for my foot. This is the only place that was not helpful about providing ice when asked. Hard to relax here.

    This was our last stop on the Camino. The room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the hotel's fault but another guest was watching TV very loudly until 1.30 in the morning which seems odd at an airport hotel

    Easy for the airport. Restaurant across the road was brilliant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The included breakfast did not start until 800, which is late for a Pilgrim. We left way before that to complete our Camino.

    Great location to rest up and tackle the last few km into Santiago. Immaculate room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a 10 min drive from the airport. I reached Santiago airport at 10 and i was at the hotel by 10:30 including car rental. The location of this place is outstanding. The walls are thin, which seems to be a problem with all hotels in this class. I am a light sleeper and could still sleep from 1 AM to 9 AM. The person running the hotel in the night was nice. There is no AC so i opened the windows for some time and the room was quite chilled! For a night, I would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man at the desk tried to overcharge us and was not friendly. The bed was uncomfortable. The hotel was very old and needs updating.

    I had a place to sleep on the Camino.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast , gotta expect only bread and jam on the continent though

    24/7 reception, perfect for 1 am checkin after late flight arrival. nice room, quiet, ensuite good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to get dressed to walk across the road for dinner.

    Location (on the Camino, a short 6km from the end of the Camino). Helpful staff. No road noise. Bright, modern large airy rooms. Good wifi. I would book earlier the next time for a single room. A better option for the last night before Santiago than Monto de Gozo.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Very friendly staff, clean comfortable room.. I should never hesitate to visit this property again although it is in the middle of nowhere and far from everything except a cosy restaurant/bar just opposite Akelarre - Walking distance (5 km.) from Santiago de Compostela.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed here to make the last leg of the camino into Santiago a very short one. Perfect location for that. Clean, comfortable room, and nice bathtub to soak in after long day on the trail.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good shower with tub. Nice room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fairly large and very comfortable bed. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not in City centre, but a good location because i could walk from airport to this hotel. It is in a lovely little village

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt serve evening meals

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed for vacation!!

    Good location and very clean, quiet room! Good restaurant and bars nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very comfortable room with big beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barking dogs on property

    Clean spacious room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was underwhelming for the price relative to the rest of the area

    Needed a hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient location a few kilometers from airport. On a bus route from airport, arriving around midnight local time

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room, not much to choose from for breakfast: croissant, coffee and orange juice. It was a nice place to stay before my walk into Santiago.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or breakfast available till 8am Hard pillow. Noisy hwy if on street side

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan or air conditioning

    Near Camino trail

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very kind stuff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I deally situated for Santiago airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean hotel with friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was on a busy road, no food or drinks were available there, advertised garden for use turned out to be for the owners use only.

    Hotel was clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Welcome sight after long day

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worked perfect for our last night walking the Camino. We went in to Santiago in the morning with only a 5 km walk.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good location, in the middle of nowhere, no stafffat night, deepcracks in the walls, felt unsafe

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in the morning.

    Good location on the Camino. Good. restaurant across the street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are thin and the noise from people on hallway required ear plugs.

    The breakfast buffet was the best I have seen in Spain.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not tooany businesses within walking distance.

    A perfect spot to take a break before finishing the Camino! Great Wi-Fi connectivity.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a one night stay, we were very comfortable. We were looking for something with free parking a bit out of the city. This hotel fitted the bill. There was a good bus service right outside the door to the city centre. Breakfast was simple, but all we needed. The owners were super friendly and assisted with all our needs.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No dining facilities in hotel although there were good eating facilities close by.

    Spotless clean and very comfortable bed room. First class bathroom with both shower and bath and very hot water.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Light sleepers and those accustomed to quiet may struggle here. The open stairway and marble floor create an echo for voices that could be disturbing to guests in rooms at the top of the stairs (like us). It's on a somewhat busy road, so open windows at night will let in the noise until late. Bring earplugs.

    Location was halfway between the airport and the city, which we wanted due to our late arrival. There is a recent restaurant with local feel, right across the street. Just wanted a basic hotel to sleep in on our way through the area, and this hotel was just that.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much choice for breakfast.

    A comfortable and clean room. We stayed here for easy access to the airport the next day. Good value.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    expensive breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast

    Loved candles to make it warm and inviting

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff very polite and always available, room always clean and very comfortable. Nice hotel, also includes a bar in the ground floor.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Group

    Signage lacking. Not visible from el Camino and we passed it and had to backtrack.

    Clean and met our needs for one night.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Desk staff helpful

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: