Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alameda Palace This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Paseo de la Estación, 1, 37004 Salamanca, Spain

#7 of 49 hotels in Salamanca

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2556 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    10
    Super modern and super comfortable for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small swimming pool. But a very small negative

    Super modern and super comfortable for the price. Very easy to get into the sites and food and a drink. Easy fron tg bus station and a 12min walk to the train. Only slight negative is the swimming pool was super tiny. Basically a dipping pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    5.4
    Good food but !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not sure what it is with these hotels but the reception staff are not friendly. As hotel guests we believe car parking should be free. Room was small. The hotel restaurant was empty when we arrived 815 pm and shortly after this woman arrived and then started speaking on FaceTime to China in a fairly loud manner. We complained to the head and only waiter who asked her to reduce her volume - no success but what do you expect from these rude people? We would normally have left the restaurant but the food was excellent just spoiled by an inconsiderate imbecile.

    Restaurant staff and food quality excellent. Hotel location excellent for us as we could walk into the main town and leave for motorway access fairly easily.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds very hard, asked for a room near lift as I have a problem with hip they gave me a disabled room as far away as I could get from lift

    Close proximity to city rooms very large

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.8
    Large, spotless rooms, luxurious bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fridge did not work. Would have liked kettle/cups to be able to make a drink in the morning. (brought own tea/ coffee)

    Large, spotless rooms, luxurious bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Loved our stay in Porto at the Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not drop luggage at hotel, street to busy. Had to park underground and walk a block over cobblestones back to hotel.

    View, room, beds, and bar. Staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    8.3
    Everything about hotel very nice apart from breakfast which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything about hotel very nice apart from breakfast which was terrible. Very little choice, what there was not very appetising and restaurant space far too big for small number of people. For quality of rest of hotel, need to improve this part of offering.

    Everything about hotel very nice apart from breakfast which was terrible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.3
    Elegant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s is only one thing we would suggest to improve: the quality of the coffee at the breakfast

    Elegant hotel The hotel in classic style is charming and has a good position, either when you start with your car or when you need a city bus. It takes you 15 minutes by foot to reach the Plaza Major.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    4.2
    Definitely is not a 5 start degree.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely is not a 5 start degree.We have forgoten a belt with 50 euro , they dont wont to deliver it by post ,and advice me a transport company to do that and give me a link. I follow the advice but the transport return it again to the hotel because is forbidden to sent any money . Very dissapointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.1
    Expected better from a 5* hotel but the price was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    should have been cleaner and general maintenance in the bedroom.

    The hotel front looks great and the staff were ok. The bedroom was not that great. Stains on the floor, mirror hanging on one screw in the bathroom, out of the I think 12 lights in the ceiling only 3 worked, broken or disabled wire / switch next to the bath and no tea/coffee in the room which as a traveller is appreciated. Parking was fine. We had breakfast around the corner for a fraction of the price the hotel charges.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Welcoming and helpful reception-Rooms and facilities vast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to bid the hotek farewll at the end of our stay

    Welcoming and helpful reception-Rooms and facilities vast and better than most by a long way and location could not be better plus they park your car!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    2.9
    Disappointing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower has molds, the floor planks are loose and squeaky throughout the room, the room temperature was extremely hot and was told to open the window. Rude receptionist. The rate we saw on internet is deceiving. This is NOT 4 or R STAR HOTEL, it is more likely 3 star hotel!!! Refrigerator did not work.

    Breakfast is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel All staff except female check in check out staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reception staff where not hospitable. It felt if though they found us an inconvenience.

    The room was nice and bathroom. The restaurant was nice on the 07th floor. The lobby area coffee area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    We loved the hotel and would have no hesitaion in recommending it, location is perfect, Staff Brill
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been better?

    The staff were excellent and full of local knowledge and very helpful. We ate breakfast there 2 days out of the 4, but we didnt rate the breakfast, it was only modest. The room was very comfortable and with a wonderful refreshing shower We will be back??

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    8.3
    For a highly rated hotel I expected breakfast to be better.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a highly rated hotel I expected breakfast to be better. It was alright but nothing special. There wasn’t a great variety of different options available But it was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    7.1
    Nothing could spoil a stay in gorgeous Salamanca and this hotel was fine, esp if you have a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is very dated-lots of marble and gilt everywhere and hideous brown furniture. Bathrooms old fashioned, and the place felt a bit unloved.

    Very convenient parking-valet parking under the hotel at 15 euros a day. Nice big room -and very quiet as we were right at the back on 4th floor. A short walk into town and near Calle Van Dyck-great for tapas

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    7.9
    Good value but bathrooms need attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower attachment faulty. Also bath plug didn't work. When asked about Palm Sunday procession held on day of arrival - a very big event in Salamanca - the receptionist knew nothing about it.

    Lobby

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    4.5
    will not stay again in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is dated, but nice. The stuff is not friendly, includes additional costs without the warning. A little delay of checkout (5 min)time is charged, even when the room has no check in the very day. A very rood gentleman will not allow you to enter the elevator with aplastic bag, only the suitcase. They will wake you up at night to ask for the car keys. 5 star refers only to suit rooms, and you will be reminded of that verbally and with the absence of sleepers and robes.

    breakfast room service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    10
    A good overnighter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Jacuzzi could be free! 16 euros a bit steep!

    Lovely room and spectacular marble bathroom with spa type shower! Very nice breakfast, underground garage, on a busy street but with lovely views over a park. Gorgeous large foyer area. Nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    8.8
    Apart from the he weak wifi this hotel is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad wifi. On some days the towels placed in the room were worn and threadbare.

    Spacious room, comfortable beds. Responsive staff (we had a triple but the third bed was an uncomfortable sofa bed; when we asked for it to be changed the staff immediately took care if it and added an extra "normal" bed to the room).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    8.5
    Very enjoyable as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needed more comfortable seating in the lounge area,Seats were too low and other patrons removed some seats to make theirs higher and more comfortable!

    location,ease of parking,lovely room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    10
    A real occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - excellent!

    Beautiful hotel located in the heart of Salamanca. This 5 star hotel is incredible value! If you like " how hotels used to be presented and run" this is a must visit hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    absolutely lovely hotel with fantastic service
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was emergency stop on way to uk. What a great pick. Amazing looking place fantastic service and great value for money. Thank you for doing lovely job

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    9.2
    Salamanca a perfect stay for seeing the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike.

    Excellent location for visiting old part of city. If travelling by car safe secure parking. Lovely room with good facilities. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    6.7
    A hotel with tired charm, no spa or pool but in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No 'bed turn down service' in the evening. No air conditioning in the bedroom. Access to underground car park a nightmare. Just let the valet do it.

    Large bedroom and old fashioned feel to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, beautifully furnished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel with a surprisingly large room. Room came with a lounge area and a lovely bedroom area all with very nice furnishings. Breakfast was excellent with everything you would want. Location was Good, close enough to old town and cathedral. Parking was charged for but secure in their basement - car was parked for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    9.6
    Easily found and much to enjoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything exceeded expectation.

    Close to the railway station, close to the old town the hotel is not only convenient but luxuriously appointed. I would describe it as as old fashioned European luxury. I enjoyed my stay enormously.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    9.6
    City centre luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Central location with secure on-site underground car park, essential in a city where on street parking is limited. A genuine 4 star hotel with ever attentive staff always ready to assist.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    9.2
    Luxurious and very fancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is polite, but they don't try to do whatever they can to help tge guests when there are specific issues. Also we were 2 families, each with 2 adults and 2 kids, we had to book 2 rooms, as the order was for max 1 child in each room. But when we came, the rooms are definitely good for 2 kids, so 1 room wasn't occupied and was booked and paid for nothing. They wouldn't cancel it.

    Luxurious more than you can imagine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    4.6
    very disappointing experience for a 5* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    customer service was poor, abrasive attitude on arrival. too many pieces of chipped crockery in dining room for a 5* hotel. being asked to vacate sun deck at 6pm without information prior to warn you. refusal to replace broken fridge in room

    cooked breakfast ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    9.6
    A very good hotel with quiet large roomsl. I can't comment on the food as we always ate out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 'elegance' comes with the price of looking a little tired in places.

    The hotel was decorated and furnished from an earlier time, elegant, no mdf in here. The bathroom of the room featured whirlpool bath and muti jet sprayers with the toilet area separated by sliding glass partitions. A ten minute stroll to the Plaza Major and the Cathederal district.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant hotel very well located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast still really bad, 2 types of bread, really difficult to eat, must be from the day before... Lots of sweets.... bad coffee and no healthy food besides fruit. I only have fat cheese and butter to put in the bread.... (don't eat meat) The worst is that before it was on the 7th floor, you could even eat outside with an excellent view. Now it's on the first floor, in a really sad room...

    Very pleasant hotel very well located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    10
    The hotel is very nice.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is very nice. Location is perfect. Facilities great. The only remark, the pool was not heated, it was very cold for my grand daughter who is three. Other than that it was an enjoyable experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    10
    The best place to stay in Salamanca, beautiful with rooftop restaurant, bar, swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing we did not like.

    This is a beautiful hotel with a great staff, large rooms, beautiful lobby bar, across the street from historic town, walking distance to train station. Good breakfast is served in roof top terrace with million dollar view. This should be 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    8.8
    Not a 5 star breakfast, not much variety and not much...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a 5 star breakfast, not much variety and not much healthy options. Plus, there was such a confusion during the breakfast, with all people grabbing food like crazy, not a good experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a short stay , but the hotel is in excellent location ,the rooms are spacious & clean , the staff are very friendly , specially Raul . Will definitely come back on my next visit . Thanks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    7.5
    Good price for a 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower-over complicated, why cant we just have one that works instead of needing a degree in physics to make it work!. The dust on the skirting boards in the room - hadn't been cleaned for some time. Bed was too small

    valet parking, porter service. opulent decor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely ornate hotel geat housekeeping. Parking can be a pain if busy and is expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool a bit small but still fun for a dip if you get it to yourself

    Location/ beds/bathroom/staff all great 2nd time staying here for a week and still good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    3.8
    Not ok even if price of the room was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very old style hotel with the bad surprise of dirty linen and towles. Furthermore, parking too expensive for the city and location of the hotel that is not in the hystoric center

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    8.5
    A good hotel for a quick visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The underground car park had heating/air on vents that hung down restricting the height in many places making parking tricky. The gym had very few machines in working order, very poor.

    Excellent position with easy walking access to the centre. The staff were helpful, the room comfortable and the breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    8.8
    Would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No additional bedding except top sheets and bedspreads (although there was a large blanket stored top of wardrobe). A little more comfort supplied to made bed would have been appreciated

    Lovely big room and bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money. We would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The roof top pool could be improved to be more inviting with better facilities.

    Great location within easy walking to the Plaza Mayor. Clean, good size room. Valet parking on site was very convenient and reasonably priced at €16.50 per day. The traditional style of decor and furnishings may not be to everyone choice but was OK for us

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modern and luxurious the hotel is located very near the centre of Salamanca. It´s spacious rooms are elegantly decorated with antique-style furniture and have a charming marble bathroom. There is a small swimming pool on the rooftop. There is also an excelent parking with valet service at a small extra charge. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    4.2
    Will never go again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor Receptionist, no smile when we check in! No details or explanation from her! Poor breakfast; scrambled egg burn, worst coffee in Spain! Boiled rice on the breakfast table with nothing to go with! Services like 1970s!! A 5star joke!!

    swimming pool - we were all by ourselves because whole place are mess!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    8.8
    A touch of Luxury....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, this hotel should have been perfect - my only criticism is that the sheets and towels are of better quality.

    The grand marble lobby which is very impressive. Very good size room for 3 people and the bathroom is very modern and the shower not to be missed! The 7th floor overlooking the cathedral which is lit at night time, is a place to have your drinks. The bar man and the waiter service was very excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    3.8
    Horrible and false marketing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool an absolute joke; fitness centre horrible with unsafe equipment; breakfast disgusting and bed so uncomfortable and small we could not sleep! This hotel is a horrible choice based on misrepresentation of their property and should be banned from booking.com

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some fittings in the room were a bit older and worn but did not cause a massive inconvenience

    Great value for money for a 5 star hotel. Beautiful decor and within close walking distance to restaurants, tourist attractions, etc

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    7.1
    Very good value but numerous niggles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The girl who greeted us at reception was quite surly and reluctant to speak English (I know we were in Spain but had already established her EN was better than my ES) although the girl who checked is out was much nicer; separate beds for my wife and I not ideal; air conditioning was either on or off with no control; valet parking only option, which was good service but obviously reasonably expensive

    Location very good; overall very nice hotel - especially for the money paid - and the communal areas/bathroom were extremely nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    8.8
    I'd definitely stay here again but would want a more comfortable bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very bad wifi in rooms (but great in lobby). Mattresses sagging and rather uncomfortable. Pillows very thin.

    Great location, lovely hotel with good facilities. Very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    9.6
    Good nights sleep in Salamanca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That the night light by the main door could not be put off.

    The bed was enormous. Hard mattress just to our liking so we slept soundly. Bathroom took our breath away. This is a reference we can give for room 616.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    9.6
    easy access by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very easy to find if you are driving. The city has yellow signs that help you with directions. We walked to the main tourist sites, only a 10 minute walk. The hotel has a terrace with great city views. The room was very comfortable, and the bathroom very big. The hotel has a regal feel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    9.2
    A great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only slight fault is the walls are a little thin we were woken every morning by the cleaners out on the corridor and in the adjoining rooms

    The location was great. Walking distance from everything. The Hotel itself is Lovely!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    10
    Great access to town and efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's all good!

    A very nice and well appointed room. Easy for access to the town centre. Parking garage was an important factor for us, the underground garage was excellent with the valet taking good care of our car.The multi lingual staff at reception were most helpful and very efficient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some small areas of mould in the bathroom.

    Large room with safe. Car was parked by hotel so stress free. Excellent location for sightseeing. Everything was within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    10
    Golden Salamanca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/a

    Excellent location near to Salamanca's many historic attractions. Room was large with big bathroom and all facilities. Only 5/10 min walk to the lively Plaza Mayor (bars & restaurants). Parking easy as the hotel arranged it for me and reception staff (no actually all staff throughout our stay) were incredibly helpful. Breakfast was fine and the roof top pool appreciated in the very hot climate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    7.5
    Great decor, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complimentary tea, coffee or mineral water. Vast room, but only waste-paper bin in the bathroom. Small swimming pool had high-tide marks like an uncleaned bath.

    Magnificent furniture, marble and mirrors decor, enormous room included sofa and two armchairs,as well as two televisions and standard 5-star furnishings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel near train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I couldn't completely shut the curtains to keep the light out at night. Also, the bed had a plastic lined mattress protector that I ended up pulling off as it was noisy and uncomfortable. Fixing these little things would make it great instead of just good.

    I loved the big room and all the facilities in it - cable TV, A/C, safe and equipped bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    8.3
    Regal rooms and nice location but dated facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool, breakfast room and lobby felt very dated and somewhat shabby and in need of a facelift, especially the pool.

    Rooms were decorated in a regal style, nice location and easy, affordable valet parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    7.1
    Desk staff very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was very poor. Understaffed. Neither of the two coffee machines worked and the staff did not know how to fix them. Food quality was very poor and not replenished in a timely manner. Waste of money.

    Desk staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms very nice. Location excellent. Breakfast was a horrible experience. Had a very small, sporadically staffed bar in the afternoon and evening, but didn't really seem interested in serving anyone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous hotel in Salamanca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More smiley staff at reception would have been nice. However could not fault their efficiency which was excellent.

    Fabulous hotel . Could not fault it at all. Rooms enormous and certainly as good as , if not better than , anything we have ever stayed in. We were very , very impressed and would recommend to anyone travelling to Salamanca. Only slight down was swimming pool closed , which during middle of May was slightly surprising bearing in mind that the temperature during some of our stay was 28 degrees.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the money you pay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Main point: this hotel is not worth the money you pay! It looks like somebody thought that to have a 5-star hotel you must have wooden and marble floor and a lot of golden frames and furniture, and that would do the trick. Unfortunately, it is not the case. The hotel is clean (and I would expect so at this price point), the personnel kind and helpful, and it is nicely located on the way to the station - but fundamentally all perks stop here. The rooms are comfortable but there are quite a few quirks that I would not expect in what is considered a luxury hotel. First, the wooden floor in the room had a couple of wood tiles coming off and creating a possible hazard if you were walking barefoot or just with socks. Second, the bed linen was so arranged that to get into the bed I had to basically undo also the linen on the mattress making the entire bed as already lived in. And, feeling cold, I had to recover a 60s looking blanket from the wardrobe, one of those hairy/velvety ones so common with grandma. Finally, only one pillow per bed was supplied, a long and thin affair that made any reading in bed rather uncomfortable. Again, at this price point I would expect nice duvet linen and at least a couple of pillows. Third, the bathroom was bizarre, all in marble and with (in theory) a clever separation between sinks/shower and the toilet/bidet areas but it was done in plain glass so that if somebody was on the toilet the other person in the bathroom would still have full view… The shower was an interesting device with a kind of plasticky spa/massage part that did not stand up to the expectations (not enough pressure). The final touch was a set of run of the mill looking amenities that you could have expected from any Spanish hostal or a 2-star place (and obviously much cheaper). Do not throw away your money on this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    4.2
    Not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We read the information before booking which said that the swimming pool was closed and so we expected this, what we did not expect was the fact that the terrace was also closed and as the weather was pretty good there was absolutely nowhere to sit outside and enjoy it. We asked re the terrace and we had the reply that the pool was closed so the terrace was closed also. This hotel is all marble and it has absolutely no feel whatsover to it. So very very disappointed with this booking AND THEREFORE WE COULD NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES RECOMMEND IT to any other visitors. One other thing was on our booking it did say no prepayment was required but on checking our bank account the day before we arrived a days payment was taken. """". causing all sorts of problems for us on paying.

    Not too much really.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2017

    9.6
    Would highly recommend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Underground car park had one very tricky bend.

    Large room, beautifully furnished with a separate lounge area and very comfy bed. Excellent breakfast. Great location within easy walking distance from Plaza Mayor and Cathedral

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2017

    9.2
    Luxury & a friendly reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows too thin & unsupportive for our taste. No tea or coffee making facilities - as so often in Spain. But some competitors can offer it! Underground car park has tight access.

    Luxury furnishings, an abundance of mirrors, & an excellent walk-in shower in our accesible room. Staff very helpful & welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2017

    8.3
    The room was spacious and the bathroom was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The response to an enquiry over the phone regarding restaurants open over Christmas was very unhelpful.

    The room was spacious and the bathroom was great. The booking was on offer at a very good rate so very good value.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation! Wonderful price!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing....I liked everything about the place.

    The bed was very comfy, and the room was regal! Maybe because it was winter, but the price for what we got was excellent! I haven't ever stayed in a five-star hotel for such a reasonable price. Very well-located and very, very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2016

    4.6
    Not a 5 star at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sofa Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is very cold. The breakfast is poor and almost continental. The only hot thing was the omelette and coffee, no changes at all. We travelled with kids, 7 and 1 year for Christmas holidays. There was no chance to make a hot biberon for the baby neither at night nor in the early morning. There is no kettle in the room to get hot tea, milk etc. So when one of the kids began to have cough we could not even give him a hot milk with honey at night because everything is logically closed. For the little one we had to warm the bottles of milk in the sink. Because he can wake up at 3 or 4 at night. So I don't think it is a 5-star hotel at all. As for the adults there are no even slippers and bathrobe and all this in winter when outside is 5 degrees and clouds. It is the native town of my husband and really was very disappointing for both of us.

    Only the location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2016

    9.2
    Next to historical centre and shopping área, garage on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Garage a bit expensive (16 EUR), shower columns are old and outdated and should be replaced.

    Next to historical centre and shopping área, garage on premises. Ample rooms, comfortable bed. Good wifi. Classical deco but very well maintained.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location, just next to the Old Town and shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gym is very basic, and no weights. Shower taps outdated.

    Excellent location, just next to the Old Town and shopping street, but still fully and easily accessible by car. Parking on premises. Big room. Nice staff. Good wifi. Plenty of electrical plugs.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2016

    5.8
    Dark rooms, overpriced, unhappy staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dark, small room and paid triple towhat I normally pay, as I stay here twice a year, needed the room on that date. Asked for a twin room, as staying with my mother, but got a double! Both of us were really unhappy with the room. Won't stay here again unless I have to. Staff don't seem to be happy.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2016

    7.9
    Underground parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lounge/bar understaffed - had to wait 15 minutes to get a drink because the one person on duty was to and fro the kitchen getting coffee.

    Underground parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2016

    7.5
    Located on the outskirts of old town with easy access to the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs urgently a renewal - you are back in the eighties upon entrance. Furniture and bathroom need an identical renewal. Breakfast is limited and low quality specially for a 5* star hotel. Staff at the breakfast room need training.

    Located on the outskirts of old town with easy access to the major historical sites. Large room but with a strange distribution of space (very long but narrow).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2016

    6.3
    Convenient hotel with some minuses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in costed 25 minutes; slow and not enough staff when a bus is checking in; personnel not always friendly; breakfast simple

    Elegant hotel, nice roof terrace, though very small and cold pool

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2016

    9.6
    great place for sighting, lovely food and fab room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    car parking rather difficult they take your car and park it but our is a righthand drive and it was very tightcorners and bends .

    great place for sighting, lovely food and fab room and lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2016

    7.5
    Good Central Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old fashioned décor. Shower badly maintained. Bathroom could be cleaner. Very difficult hotel to find as the name is blazened at top floor level but cannot be seem from a passing car. Underground parking is available for a price but the 'parking tunnel' is frightening IF you wish to avoid scratching your car..BUT hotel staff are willing to do this on your behalf.--Recommended !

    Situated in the centre of town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    5.4
    Excellent location - but staff hard presses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All staff were short on smiles each interaction had them answering the phone, calling other staff over, always multi tasking and this made me feel like an nuisance. Many rooms overlook central dining area and into other rooms.

    The rooms were large, furniture appropriate, location was excellent for sightseeing. Breakfast served on 7th floor with views of city.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alameda Palace Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: