Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ibersol Alay 4 stars

Puerto Marina, Avenida Alay 5, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain

#17 of 26 hotels in Benalmádena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1613 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyed and will book only this Hotel again & again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staffs weren't that friendly. Depended on each personality.

    Location. Room with the marina & ocean view as we requested and paid for. All none smoking rooms but were allowed to smoke on balcony was important to us.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    3.8
    Not much space around the pool area although there was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much space around the pool area although there was a grassed area away from the pool. Only booked bed and breakfast but food was never hot on the buffet and constantly empty so you had to ask for more to be put out. Air con in room was very noisy meaning if you couldn't run it if you wanted any sleep! On a positive the location was ideal. Hotel seemed to have a lot of golfers who use it so would probably suit them better.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our stay there is nothing I would have changed.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. Hotel was clean and comfortable. We had breakfast included, which had a wide variety to suit eveyone in our group.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.3
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that I got on the 2nd floor faced dining area so pretty noisy and no any view. Also, the airconditioner was so so load that you couldn’t use it while sleeping. What is more, pretty much noise from cars passing by. Very small balcony, no place to hang wet beach clothes. If you wanna use the bigger swimming pool that depends to the hotel, you must pay for sunbeds, very strange policy.

    The reception stuff was extremelly helpful while checking in, answering questions and checking out. Great location, close the the beach, Puerto Marina and a big supermarket.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    2.5
    Never seen a dirtier hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was one of the worst experiences in our life. Our room was so dirty. We arrived and went to room. There were women's hair everywhere, there was dust everywhere. I have never seen even a 2 star hotel that is so dirty. We go down ask the cleaning lady to clean. We went for lunch after hour come back, the room is still dirty. The lady says she will call again. OK. Again no one cleans. Now it's 2 hours we cannot go to room. Third time the lady cleans the apartment. Still we had black women hair in bathroom, the sheets had also black hair and what looked like boogers from the nose. So dirty, no apologies nothing.

    Nothing. The place was dirty.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay for my hen weekend. Wouldn’t return though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upstairs bar opens on the evening and the poolside opens at 11.00 so if you arnt breakfast customers I wouldn’t count on getting a drink because both vending machines were broke!

    Comfy beds and a nice airy fresh looking hotel overall.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were too small and tired. Bathrooms need completely re done. Bedrooms need painted. Communal areas tired and too basic. Pool area poor. Grass needs cut. Old sun beds. Dog poo on grass near pool!!

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel with modern clean spacious rooms. Brilliant location; so close to the marina and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large spacious rooms with balcony and sea view. Rooms cleaned and towels changed daily. The location was perfect for the marina and promenade/beach. Mini train stop is right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.6
    Not 4* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 4* hotel at any stretch of the imagination. Room dirty and run down. No towel service for sunbeds. No tea/coffee station in the room. Old, flat pillows on the bed. Air conditioning unit in room sounded like a plane! Breakfast average. For £150 a night I expect better and have had much better, in Spain and across Europe! I honestly don’t know how it has 4 stars?

    Location good. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    The property was comfortable and in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was very basic and not a lot of sun exposure, as it was in the corner. The handles off on the bath were loose as was the, handle bar for the towel on the outside the bath.

    The property was comfortable and in a great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, a minutes walk from the marina and the beach. Room was spacious and very clean, and breakfast buffet had lots of choice. Everything was great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    Location is wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t the best welcome I have had from the receptionist at night and I booked a sea view and ended up looking at the building next door. The pool area is small and hard to get a chair around the pool and parking is expensive as you can find cheaper outside the hotel

    Location is wonderful Close to all amenities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    The larger swimming pools needs an overhaul but better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The larger swimming pools needs an overhaul but better general maintenance would improve it in the meantime. The other swimming pool however was well kept and we used that one instead.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Very modern, clean and staff were very friendly.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't the best and was far too busy. Room was lovely but there where scuff marks on the wall which couldve been painted over, and there was no tea or coffee available in room.

    Very modern, clean and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel at the Marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly couldn’t find fault with it.

    Friendly staff with nice clean rooms and nice bathroom. Lovely sea view. Plenty of activities. Two lovely pools and plenty of sun beds. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    Majorly disappointing
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hole in bathroom ceiling above shower feeling like an intrusion on privacy as light fitting was missing Broken patio door handle which came off into my hand Scratched up light fittings and and a hole in the wall Hairs in the bathroom sink, generally grubby bathroom Dirty skirting boards Charging guests 2 euro a sun lounger. The pool was shared with surrounding complexes like self cateringvappartments giving us security fears and no sun beds on check in time Took credit card details for pool bar tab etc, got to pool bar to be told cash only. Frankfurters or tinned sausage no bacon at breakfast Egg was scrambled just about edible Pure O.J was illuminous it was packed full of artificial colour and preservatives No mention of our room complaints at check out.

    Receptionist on check in was friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice location, quite relaxing stay. I would book again.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Over worked staff. Some people are on all day. Lots of pressure on staff in the food and drinks area.

    location is just right. Beach is a little walk away. Quite hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect hotel in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a double but had 2 singles pushed together. They were very comfy though!

    The location of the hotel was ideal. The staff were lovely. The hotel smelt constantly of air freshener & cleanliness - it was modern & really lovely. Breakfast was delicious. The pool areas were great. Pool bar was cheap. Loved it here! We were upgraded to a sea view just because they had one available also.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.8
    The cleanliness of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two power cuts in two days no running water for showers and no explanation or updates. Door to room damaged as well as toilet cistern broken and handrail broken in bathroom Everything was an extra!

    The cleanliness of the room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.6
    I reserved parking in the hotel grounds and it was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved parking in the hotel grounds and it was a nightmare to get in and had to explain to different staff on several occassions. Very irritating!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Alay Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the bed could be a little more comfortable and maybe a kettle & iron Probably being to critical on what is a lovely hotel with a very nice roof bar to watch the sun go down while sipping on your drink

    It is a great location just 2 minutes from the beach & marina The food was fantastic a taste of all countries

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice stay rooms need updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit sparce drinks machine out of order for two days so couldnt get any cold drinks and the only other one in the hotel had no bottles of water in.

    The hotel was nice and clean the food was delicious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Once you got your bearings in the hotel it is a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed a little more cleaning. Shower head was very dirty. Bed runner cover on reverse side was muddy.

    Once you got your bearings in the hotel it is a lovely hotel. But I think a few more sign posts are needed for directions to dinning area etc,etc. I also noticed and myself that people did not know which buttons to use in lift .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location for the marina & the beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking cost £15 euros per day which wasn’t made clear when booking.

    Great location for the marina & the beaches. Had an excellent room considering it was a last minute booking. Staff extremely friendly and nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    There wasn’t a lot of atmosphere around the pool and there...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t a lot of atmosphere around the pool and there wasn’t a lot of beds. You are allowed to use the pool over at the alay apartments also so that was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel very very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel very very clean! Lovely friendly staff great views. We went for our honeymoon and to celebrate my birthday and was just perfect. Brilliant location within walking distance of everything. Plenty of choices to eat and things to do!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of dirty marks up the walls, like coke or coffee? Floors didn’t seem to get swept in the room.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a great view of the sea and surrounding area from our room. Close to everything from the hotel. Beach, marina and restaurants just a short walk away. Although we didn’t use them as we went to the beach mostly there always seemed to be sun beds available at the hotel. Nice little bar across the hotel car park, English owner offering a simple English menu including breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Very quite hotel no real entertment in hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and great cleaning crew.

    Poor pool facilities and very poor signage to relaxation area. Bar very basic with no atmosphere around bar or hotel. Hotel very clean and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    A good holiday will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After it’s recent refurb it’s now a very modern relaxing Hotel in a fantastic location Restaurant could have more choice gets sameish longer you stay staff 100%

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Suites and sea view rooms are very lovely bright and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is €10-€15 Euro per day after already paying an extra €300 for a room upgrade, for us it was not very good value for our money.

    Suites and sea view rooms are very lovely bright and the view over the sea is gorgeous. 2 min walk to the beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Conveniently located modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The larger pool area charged for sun beds which you don’t expect when staying in the hotel. However the staff were friendly and helpful, the pool area was well looked after with a lifeguard. Also they often bought out small tapas with drinks ordered. Some of the rooms are on high floors so best to request a lower floor if preferred.

    Clean modern hotel in good location central for the marina and beach. Light bright rooms, two pool areas and hotel bar. Independent bar also next door is popular with golfers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was amazed by the hotel it beat my expectations. Would defiantly go back it's in a great location as well. Pool is small and sun beds were taken quickly but the room was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Modern, clean hotel - very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think paying 12 euros for the safe in our room was a bit much considering most 4 star hotels would provide this as a matter of course.

    Clean, fresh hotel. Room was modern, clean and light with small balcony overlooking the marina. Quiet at night and very efficient air con. Two pools, one of which is quite small and very few sunbeds. The second pool is much nicer but you do have to pay 2 euros per sunbed but then you were supplied with a comfortable sunbed topper/mattress which made them far superior. It was worth the extra to be by the nicer pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The depth of the pol for inexperienced swimmers It would be nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in room and some information on dining at lunch/dinner And if I want to be very picky some of the bath towels provided were very small

    Spotlessslly clean, fantastic location, very comfortable room , no mad rush for sunbeds, overall very relaxing place to stay Also the fact you could rent the beach towels was very handy I would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and relaxing which was exactly what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking we selected "all inclusive" however when we got there we were told they operated full board therefore our drinks were not included which was a little frustrating but there is a supermarket across from the hotel which has everything you could need.

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Food was excellent! A wide variety at breakfast, lunch and dinner and this was changed every day. It is across the road (literally) from the marina which is exceptionally handy for going out and coming home, particularly at later times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Basic entertainment, singer and piano, if your a family with young kids, possible not the hotel I would select, entertainment and other facilities limited.

    Great location, refurb on the hotel excellent, very clean, modern with bright finishes, you would think this old hotel is brand new. Great super size large TV display screen for the world cup in central courtyard area, nice touch, if you like your footy. Sea view room if you can, beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Hidden charges
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A deposit for the use of the Iron was required. The security safe was €3 per day to use and your goods are still not covered if stolen by an intruder. We also had to pay to sit on the sun lounger beside the pool. A nice hotel, but a lot of hidden charges in my opinion.

    Location, close to supermarket and beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music playing at the pool was not relaxing. Put me off using the garden loungers. Went to beach instead.

    Perfect location to The Marina, the beach and 24 hour square. Rooms lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    I loved my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well managed. I was given a quiet room which i had asked for. Wonderful sea view. Very near seafront. All staff from reception, cleaners, dining room were friendly and helpful. Excellent hotel. Also, dining room well managed. I’ve stayed in good hotel nearby where dining room squashed and restrictive over seating. Much pleasanter here

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Room not as good as last time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed here for one night before and again on this visit for one night. I was told I had been upgraded (free) this time but the room was no where near as nice as the last time I visited. It was the lovekybroom I went back for but was disappointed this time.

    Good choice at breakfast Friendly check in late at night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant overall stay just needs regular maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time we stayed here and our room on the first visit needed painting so I was disappointed to find the room on the second visit was worse with pen marks over the walls Also in September we sunbathed on a terrace area with double comfy beds overlooking the sea but when we went to check it out this time they had moved them and they were dirty and the are only got cleaned at the weekend for the locals coming to hire it as a pair of socks and peanuts had been left lying for a few days Some of the games machines were out of order the whole week so overall a noticeable difference in 9 months

    Location superb and lovely view over the marina hotel amenities good Value for money if you book well in advance and great for people who like to walk as you are situated within Benalmádena and Torremolinos

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff must have a ‘serve one person at a time’ policy, even though there was up to 6 staff at any one time which was quite frustrating

    Loved the location, perfect for what we needed. We stayed here before the refurb and they have done a great job!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location! BUT STAFF NEED TO BE MORE FRIENDLY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    RECEPTION STAFF RUDE AND RESTAURANT STAFF RUDE TOO AT BREAKFAST. NO ONE EXPLAINED ANYTHING AND WE WERE PUSHED IN A CORNER.

    GREAT LOCATION TO PORT AND NIGHTLIFE..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    relaxing and refreshing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only one person serving in American bar who had to make coffees as well as serve drink which results in very slow service through no fault of bar tender. Should have at least two working there or stop serving coffee early

    Comfortable modern interior, incredible view in high 9th floor sea view room. Breakfast had something for all tastes although dining room very busy at times. Room cleaned daily and towels changed. Close to Marina, bars and restraunts

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    Not very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very modern, too much space very under furnished, no where near enough sun loungers for clientele,no tea or coffee facilities in room

    Location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On couple occasions housekeeper forgot to put towels in, but again this was rectified immediately.

    Friendly and very helpful staff. Reception and Restaurant staff cheerful and approachable. Location of hotel was excellent, just 5 minute walk to the beach. Spacious and tidy rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    view from the balcony, location, modern interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    there were cigarette buts in bidet that smelled. Paid for breakfast but as I had to check out the previous night because of change of my travel plans they refused to change it for dinner even not for additional charge nor did they give me any breakfast box to take away.

    view from the balcony, location, modern interior

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Short 2night stay but it was good as our expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch serving by the pool was a bit slow even for drinks.

    We loved our room with balcony and sea view. Pool was nice. Jacuzzi and steam bath we didn't get to try. Buffet was good although breakfast should vary from day to day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Girly long weekend,will definitely be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Myself and a friend were staying in a lovely room but the air conditioning didn't work correctly so it meant it became very hot to sleep in. The fridge also wasn't at all cold so we had bought lots of water which unfortunately didn't cool us down. This was not the same as the pool! Granted I do not like cold water however I did hear a few people saying just how cold it was,after testing with my feet and legs dangling away they were absolutely right...numbing is a good word.

    The bright and airy entrance way continues throughout the hotel. Chic styling and light coloured floors made it feel very open and clean but not clinical. Bright colours used in chairs and little panels of wallpaper also helped brighten up the area. The lift was fully functioning and didn't take an age to get anywhere. Room was great size and had a lovely sea view balcony which was nice to sit at in the evening or even late afternoon. The shower in the room although it looked old was really powerful and didn't change temperature without you realising. The pool/lounger areas were great,there were enough seats for you to choose between sitting right by the pool or on a grassy area closer to the toilet and the pool bar. We were there at the beginning of May so possibly at peak times it might get difficult to find somewhere. Drinks were not overly expensive and neither was the pool bar for food. Very close to the marina area where you could go for a lovely meal or a drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Perfect break
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to marina, beach, bars and restaurants. Offered option of early breakfast if requested in advance the evening before. Offered complimentary luggage storage and courtesy room for shower etc later on the day of check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    No air con !!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con not switched on ! We were offered free breakfast to make up for it but declined as we prefer to eat a late brunch. Blonde female receptionist quite rude about it, said it wasn’t on yet but her manager said they’d got technical issues with it. Either way we could only get hot air blowing in the room so had a fan given to us and kept the balcony door open all night. Mngr waived our 30€ parking charge as compensation but another guy tried to make us pay when left. Very disappointing altogether, it’s clearly a cost issue. We usually stay in smaller family run b and bs and for a good reason .

    Close to marina and only 15 mins from airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Friendly staff, good breakfast and dinner selection each morning and night, which changed daily for dinner. Room was clean and of a decent size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was terrible! Only worked in reception. Staff weren’t very friendly Room wasn’t very clean- black fluff behind bathroom door when we arrived... still there when we left. Crisps appeared on our floor on 2nd last day... we never had any crisps in the room???

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Loved the location near the Marina and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom with difficult to manage shower over bath would be much easier with just a walkin shower option

    Loved the location near the Marina and shops. We had a sea view balcony which was fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    A nice hotel in a great location and amazing breakfast, not sure it is worthy of a 4 star rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel cleanliness needs improvement. I had to call the maid back to our room on check in to give us towels and to clean the bedroom surfaces as they still had food etc on them from the previous person. The toilets adjacent to the pool were filthy and had quite often run out of paper. My last attempt at using these facilities had me giving up and going next door to the gents which I could also not use.

    The stay overall was a pleasant stay, the rooms were comfortable and the staff pleasant. The buffet style breakfast was really nice with plenty of fresh food to choose from, brilliant value for money. The location was great just across the road from the marina which had a choice of restaurants and bars. The staff were good and very accommodating with our luggage and use of a hospitality room before we left.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Almost directly on the Marina of Benalmadena. Lovely hotel, room was a good size, bed was comfortable, towels changed on a daily basis and bedding changed after the first two night (this was a three night stay). Breakfast was varied and plentiful as was lunch and dinner, self service which allowed you to see what there was on offer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, very clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow was a little hard for me although my friend slept like a log. Didn't use the pool as it was too cold but it was small and in a corner (not able to sunbathe directly around it)...but the beach is literally across the road and there was lots of room for sunbathing on various terraces.

    Great location right on the marina. Rooms were very clean although not massive. We paid for a sea view which was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    excellent hotel centrally located with spotless rooms and great views. Stayed Bed and Breakfast and great varied selection. Lots of sunbathing facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Will not be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really hard bed, No service, noisy road and noisy renovation in the property next to the hotel. we had order Cava and frusits when we arrived. It was not in the room. TO light and white walls. A hospital. Will not be back.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Air conditioning not available before May - we were not aware!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is advertised as having air conditioning, however this is only available from the month of May. We were not aware of this and so during our stay, one evening it was very warm and difficult to sleep. It was only when my partner when down to reception at 2am to enquire why our air conditioner was not working that we found out that it was only available from May. This would have effected our decision making when choosing a hotel.

    Value for money when we included breakfast with our stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We had no complaints with this property at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no complaints with this property at all It's location is spot on, We walked every day either to Torromalenos then the other way to Benalmadena. The marina is lovely day or night . We will be returning to your Hotel again hopefully soon. Thanks to you all ,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice rooms, good breakfast, nice solarium and pool area.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi a bit unstable. The entertainment in the bar area was a bit to loud.

    Nice rooms, good breakfast, nice solarium and pool area. Very nice to have a small fridge in the room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice but could do with a few improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely cold pool, unable to use, boiling hot room, no aircon, WiFi very poor, for a 4 star these things at this time of year need to be addressed.

    Very clean, excellent location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like about the property, but beware it didn't cost the price I was quoted on booking.com it cost me £100 more than what I was quoted so it's a variable price depending on the exchange rate apparently.

    The property is in an amazing location well looked after and the only hotel in the area that lights up so you'll never get lost.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Ok hotel in a good location definately not a 4 star basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel very basic bed very uncomfortable. Drain smell reported to reception who said they were going to come and look no one ever arrived. Paid for a sea view got a partial sea view with a complete view of another apartment block. Air con not switched on requested as rooms were red hot on a night but told this was not possible

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    Slightly disappointed this time. Preferred my last visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No warning that a double bed definitely wasn’t available. Two single beds out together was very uncomfortable. Felt the room rates was far too high. Completely opposite this time compared to my stay in February which I LOVED.

    Breakfast was nice. Variety of options. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing i disliked. It was all lovely

    Fantastic view (room 1258) . Super location central for walking around both Benalmedena, the marina and Torremolinos. Lovely friendly staff. Whole hotel is fresh, clean and modern. Breakfast very good. We moved hotels after 1 night elsewhere and very glad we did as we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Alay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel , good for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing on for kids at all during the day , it was Easter holidays so I was expecting a mini club or kids activities but absolutely nothing . There was a singer in the bar at night but that was adult orientated

    The lobby and bar areas are beautifully decorated, pool was small for size of hotel . Food was lovely .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous Easter break at a lovely hotel in a very easy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was too cold.

    The buffet selection was very good and there were plenty of tables and staff were very attentive. The cleaning was very thorough and staff very friendly. The view was fantastic but the extra cost for the view was excessive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    We had a beautiful sea facing room,,the staff were so nice and helpfull too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have to be very picky to say i didnt like anything,,a great experience we had.

    Absolutely everything,,,a wonderfull hotel,,so close to everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant but needs cold air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    End of March and a hot spell. The hotel does not allow air conditioning until 1 April. The bedroom was hot, the dining room was hot.Not good. Even the Spanish we spoke to said it was very warm In certain places. Needs rectifying.

    Very nice Staff excellent location and car parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    My circumstances changed so I was alone for the holiday, but felt comfortable, and we'll catered for
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like other than the hotel food quality was not up to much. But I was on a room only basis so I didn't have to eat in.

    Exactly what I asked for, at an excellent price. Staff where more than accommodating. Terrace faced the sea and had lovely views. Used room service so no idea of restaurant but food not good. Generally though, I was impressed and would stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were here last year and will most definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only very minor problem I had was with the lifts. The modern call digital button was sometimes hard to operate. I don't know if this can be rectified but if staying here book a lower floor room so you can climb the stairs!

    Hotel was very central for a 5 night stay and breakfast was excellent, fantastic choice of food. Spotlessly clean and staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Hotel was nice and athmosphier was bueno.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Cleaning was very good and nice service in baar. Chilling area was suitable and good idea. Check out was fast and especially fast reaction of reception was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.3
    When the hotel was refurbished they should have replaced the bathrooms and not cut corners
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs to be updated, the hotel has had a partial refurbishment but done cheaply and it shows with the finishes

    Great location to the marina, nice reception, basic room but old bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: