Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alborán Algeciras 3 stars

Álamos, s/n, Colonia San Miguel, 11205 Algeciras, Spain

#6 of 20 hotels in Algeciras

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 571 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    The friendly staff was very helpful with the checkin and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The airco smelled like wet dog. Probably the previous visitor had its pet on the room. That is not a nice smell to stay in. The first pictures of the hotel page showed completed renovated rooms, unfortunately only our bathroom was renewed yet. Kind of misleading!

    The friendly staff was very helpful with the checkin and the free parking was also a big benefit. The new bathroom was just absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Good, over all
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is at the outskirts of the city which made taking breakfast out very difficult. Breakfast is not very varied. We ate the same thing for three straight days.

    Even though we got a room with separate beds, it was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    The room was a good size, and easily big enough to store our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road outside was very busy, and crossing on foot involved a lengthy detour. The hotel itself is not very suited to pedestrian access - the pavement in the hotel is blocked by big trees. They wouldn't give us any jamon in the cafe, which seemed surprising given it was on the menu and a jamon running out shouldn't exactly take you by surprise. We asked for a double bed, but got two singles.

    The room was a good size, and easily big enough to store our two bikes. Breakfast in the cafe was very good. The little toast, salmorejo and jamon starters were a highlight of a pretty decent meal in the restaurant. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    excellent stay , just to relax after a tiring transfer from Morocco !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was excellent , especially. as I had asked for a room on the ground floor because of my dog . The restaurant was as good as last year, when I stayed there, and the staff was really helpful - I met the same head waiter as last summer , and he even remembered my preferences for wine .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    When we arrived we were given a ticket for free tapas and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was cold and greasy. Felt hurried in the restaurant at evening meal.

    When we arrived we were given a ticket for free tapas and a drink each at lunchtime. This was very unexpected and a really nice welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Great, would definitely recommend and will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crossing the main road was a little tricky as two big islands and a few side roads so had to be very wary of cars etc. Noise from main roads could put you off plus location, but don’t let it!!

    The room we were in 124, 1st floor corner overlooking pool and hills. The pool area was spacious, plenty of beds and umbrellas, The staff were very friendly, hotel very clean, room was lovely. The cafeteria was great, food and drinks all day from 8am until 11.30 pm, could have breakfast if didn’t want the buffet breakfast option, we did both. Out side seating on poolside patio was nice, sat played cards whilst having snacks and drinks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    my son his girlfriend and myself enjoyed staying at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we liked everything

    my son his girlfriend and myself enjoyed staying at the hotel and found the young man on re ception was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed it immensely.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great to have coffee and tea making facilities in the bedroom.

    The shower was really good. The balcony was an additional bonus we did not expect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location for us as near to family & friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location for us as near to family & friends. Easy bus ride into town from outside the hotel and reasonable priced cab back. Quick to get onto major routes to all the beautiful Andalusian towns we wanted to visit. Spacious car park

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and well informed staff speaking good English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit noisy at times due to location near a busy main road and a roundabout.

    Friendly and well informed staff speaking good English. Well located to make a day trip to Gibraltar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.5
    A good inexpensive hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Additional charge for Pets excessive and very limited parking

    Hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. The rooms were a good size but there was no tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast was inexpensive but this was reflected in the quality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Comfortble and good value for money. Hotel architecture is attractive inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Comfortable and attractive inside. Rooms good if a little small. Staff generally helpful. Breakfast a little disappointing but given price was good value for money. Overall pleased with this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Staff were super friendly and helpful we asked for some cold...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise, it is not a good idea to go to this hotel on a weekend, as they have a party room and an open area where people talk and party, and there is so much noise which doesn't seem to have a time limit. We have stayed many times over a weekend, and it has been so noisy, no hope of sleep : o(( this time the noise did not stop before 2am ... not good for travellers who needed to be up around 7am.

    Staff were super friendly and helpful we asked for some cold food in our room as we were going to be late, and it was there for us

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location near the port of Algeciras.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds would be more comfortable if they had topper mattresses. Also, on arrival we had to ask for toilet paper and soap as it hadn't been refilled. Another annoying thing was that the TV was unplugged and it took staff some time to figure out why it couldn't be switched on.

    Great location near the port of Algeciras. Very clean rooms and friendly staff. Will defintely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Extremely helpful staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to really complain about. Breakfast was a bit limited...

    Extremely helpful staff ! A good quality- price ratio. Efficient air conditioning. A good one- night stop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    Staff was really great, amazing I would say and one of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thin cardboard walls combined with noisy, rude and drunk (in a lot of cases) tourists make it very hard to have a restful night. Not to blame the hotel management and staff, but just not acceptable to provide accommodation like this. Breakfast is really very basic for the price charged.

    Staff was really great, amazing I would say and one of the few good things we have experienced. Parking is just outside and easy to drive in and out of town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.8
    very good starting point for Gibraltar, Tarifa, and...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant staff slow and unfriendly air conditioning humming noise all night refurbishing work ongoing - but the new pool area will be nice

    very good starting point for Gibraltar, Tarifa, and Algeciras centre reception staff competent and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's no tea/coffee in the room, and in the morning the only coffee served at breakfast

    The staff was very friendly, the room was spacious and had a balcony to enjoy the beautiful view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Very comfortable stay for overnight !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had liked to swim, but there is no pool - just the beach in a short distance , and for a short stay overnight I prefer the pool ;

    Th staff was very friendly, the service for dinner was good, and there was a big choice of food and wine. I stayed in the patio, excellent location to admire the Andalusian style of the house .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    good location for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom floor left our feet black underneath! Glass topped tables in bar area where full of breadcrumbs - a deep clean is required!

    Very friendly staff, good food in restaurant. Great value for money. Good location for touring around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.5
    Great first stop in Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood is surrounded by a busy road, car dealers and the like. It would be a hard place to stay without a car./

    We drove to this hotel from Morocco, using the ferry from Ceuta to get there. It was a safe and affordable hotel from which to explore Gibraltar and get our bearings before our European road trip. The triple room was reasonably sized and worked for us. I can imagine staying here in the future, particularly when the pool and kitchen are completed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During our stay, it was a weekend, there were graduation celebrations at the hotel. So, there were lots of people, party noise in the night and parking was an issue. I had to go quite far to park the car. Restaurant was not the best (both dinner and breakfast) Beach is far away. Not easy to walk. But there is a parking lot by the beach, easy to drive and park.

    The staff were polite and friendly. There was a misunderstanding in the restaurant (charged wrong bill), but the reception handled it well. Nice building. It does not have that boring hotel look. Close to main road. Easy to find and travel. Free wi-fi and parking. Price Gazpacho

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    The private parking for motorcyle, the locatian near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems that people smoke in the rooms and the smell remains there. For people that do not smoke it is not nice. The breakfast it is not very good..

    The private parking for motorcyle, the locatian near the Algeciras Port and the staff. They are all very nice!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.8
    Decent, well-run hotel with a friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The safe did not work in our room.

    Even though the hotel is next to a major highway, our room was quiet. It was clean, comfortable and functional, with a particularly nice (recently renovated) bathroom. Wifi is very good, parking is free and the staff is very kind and helpful (we needed to have a few pages printed, they immediately helped). The bar is pleasant and reasonably priced, we were even given a voucher for free tapas on our first night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    6.3
    Staff was very helpful, and parking was easy and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are very thin, we could hear everything our neighbors were saying. The rooms and facilities are quite old.

    Staff was very helpful, and parking was easy and convenient. The patio and public spaces are old fashioned, but very nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent kick off spot for driving to Gibraltar with free parking Great hotel with big rooms with balconies, excellent service and over all great facilities The reception was super helpful and alerted us to a deal for dinner and breakfast which was so good we did it again our second night

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    The hotel is right beside the highway somis easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right beside the highway somis easy to find. There is free parking onsite. The gentleman who checked us in and out was very friendly and spoke English. Our room was very comfortable and quiet despite facing the highway. The staff in their onsite restaurant were very good and the food was tasty and reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet is complete with fruit, eggs, meats, cheeses and pastris. We would go back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    romatic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a bit poor for the price, but it was nice to take it in the patio.

    It is a very romantic hotel and it has kind of a luxury restaurant for dinner. The room is spacious, the bed big and comfortable. The bathroom is modern and clean. Staff is very nice. We had a room with a nice terrace - with view to the parking. Free parking right at the hotel door.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice lokation really nice pool not far away from the beach
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice lokation really nice pool not far away from the beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    The cleanliness of the rooms and the helpful staff at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the rooms and the helpful staff at the reception

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Very unfriendly Barman.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unfriendly Barman. Grouchy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location and visually pleasing building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The facilities and courtyard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Great for visiting gibralter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barman

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast choice was limited and bland.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful pool area. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Easy to book great staff great food nice pool will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and spacious great food good prices friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was nice and clean
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waitet svc a bit slow

    The hotel was nice and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy at night from time to time

    Convenient. Excellent staff. All necessary facilities. Large rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Anji
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    The style

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Good welcome and Great location to explore Andalusia & Gib !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good welcome and Great location to explore Andalusia & Gib ! We were given rooms not facing the nearby motorway and it was quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Quaint clean with friendly staff and Moroccan feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Friendly staff Quaint hotel with Moroccan flavour Newly installed swimming pool a plus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    The parking facilities were excellent
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking facilities were excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    Convenient with a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not all that great.

    Big rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Would go back in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A transfer service to the town

    Easy to find, staff happy and helpful, food and drinks excellent and reasonably priced

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting into the car parkn

    All was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    convenient parkibg, clean rooms,friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite poor breakfast offer.

    convenient parkibg, clean rooms,friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staf by check in.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, very poor.

    Friendly staf by check in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    comfortable, reasonable for the money but left a little disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reform work going on, pool not yet completed

    comfortable and clean, good food at reasonable prices, amazing staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit out of the way of central Algecerias

    Spacious rooms, very comfortable, and clean. Well mannered and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Friendly, comfortable and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Staff extremely helpful and friendly, especially receptionists. Very comfortable beds, very quiet bedrooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    free parking, easy to find, friendly receptionist (free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    free parking, easy to find, friendly receptionist (free printing facilities)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.1
    There was a strong smell of sewerage in room on this stay.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strong smell of sewerage in room on this stay...but we were moved to another room when I reported it

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Excellent for visiting Gibraltar and Morocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of drains in bathroom. Noisy roundabout opposite

    Didnt eat at the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    10
    Nice place for rest and good access anywhere by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice environment and architecture. Cozy lobbies.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.3
    Good value and a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel under renovation so was noisy at times.

    Location and value for money. Desk staff very helpful and so was the restaurant girls

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice place if you like hard beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were extremely hard

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Algeciras
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thought they charged a lot for the dog

    Very good friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.1
    Very cosy hotel, with free parking and great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle in room, and they should do something with the residual smell of smoke everywhere.

    Very cosy hotel, with free parking and great staff!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.9
    The place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service in restaurant was spotty. But food was very good.

    Very nice front desk staff. Very helpful with suggested trip to Morocco.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff Comfy bed Good food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.6
    We just booked for one night after visiting Gibraltar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing not to like !

    We just booked for one night after visiting Gibraltar. We did not expect too much as it was near the main road BUT it was brilliant :~) Big, clean, comfy, free tapa;s with our wine. The lobby staff were very helpful and we did not hear any traffic at all!We were there in March so the terrace and outside areas were not really in use yet, but looked lovely

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    7.5
    It was fine for an overnight stay, convenient to Gibraltar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The walls were very thin, so in the morning I heard everything in the adjacent room and about 4 different alarm clocks go off. The breakfast was below average with orange juice from a machine that tasted more like an artificial orange drink.

    It was fine for an overnight stay, convenient to Gibraltar. Very close to the highway and free parking.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    8.3
    It was very clean and comfortable and nice size bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The elevator to the second floor scared me a little bit because it was very shaky and making something thumping noises and I think the beds could've been a little softer but the pillows were good

    It was very clean and comfortable and nice size bathroom

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    5.0
    Reception staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast poor especially the reconstituted orange juice. Bar staff either absent or inattentive. Food in cafeteria poor quality and cold on arrival.

    Reception staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    7.1
    The room was spacious enough for 3 and had good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was being refurbished at the time. The floors could have been cleaner. The sound carried between the rooms. The hotel is on the outskirts, meaning a bus ride is essential to get into town if you don't have a car.

    The room was spacious enough for 3 and had good facilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful e.g. giving advice about buses and getting the safe fixed when we found it was faulty. The hotel is next to the bus stop and the buses are frequent and cheap.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    4.6
    I liked that pets were allowed in the premises
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff weren't very helpful, they were actually quite rude making us wait at reception since she was having a personal conversation, also we asked for a double bed but instead we got a room with two single beds which we had to move together it being quite difficult since there was a lamp that couldn't be disconnected from the socket positioned in the middle of both beds. The bed sheets had a very unusual stain. We were supposed to stay for 5 days but instead we left the next day after the check in. Very disappointed

    I liked that pets were allowed in the premises

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    9.6
    l'hôtel était excellent, tout en Algeciras, est la ville...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    l'hôtel était excellent, tout en Algeciras, est la ville commerciale, il est l'emplacement idéal pour visiter les environs. el hotel era excelente, mientras Algeciras, es la ciudad comercial, es la ubicación ideal para visitar los alrededores. the hotel was excellent, whilst Algeciras, is commecial city, it is ideal locaton for visiting surrounding area

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    10
    Although the hotel isn't in the centre of the town, its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not exactly 'bad', but although we opted for the good value 6€ buffet breakfast and admit that we don't benefit from meats, being veg/pescatarian we do expect to have real fruit juice/or from concentrate rather than the diluted sweetened cordial and poor decaff coffee which was provided. Given the good standards of everything else this seems very short-sighted. We'll just go for bar options in future.

    Although the hotel isn't in the centre of the town, its excellently located for guests staying to explore the town and then catch a ferry. It benefits too from being easy to access from the main road unlike other hotels which would need more contorted negotiation of the narrow one-way streets and pedestrian areas of the town; we were very thankful for that. Similarly the free parking is very accessible. The building has been designed to mirror the central open air patio style of many spanish casas. There are lots of public corner areas with comfortable seating and a sense of relaxing space overall. There's a purpose designed lift for guests with reduced mobility. Our room was spacious with very comfortable beds and spare pillows. The Reception staff could not have been more pleasant, welcoming facilitative and helpful, stunningly so! We were advised about the best way of getting to the ferry to Ceuta i.e. by taxi for around 7€ and also a means of parking the car; that not only saved us time and money but an inevitable amount of stress doing it ourselves as the approach to the ferry terminal is a maze for the uninitiated. One receptionist even came outside to explain to the taxi driver exactly where we needed to be. All that was certainly 'beyond the call of duty' and very much appreciated - so much so that we have booked to stay a further night on our return from Ceuta. Very recommendable and probably describable as 'affordable luxury'.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    9.2
    Staff were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You are right beside a busy highway. You have to have a car. That being said noise wasn't an issue. Would definitely stay again

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. Gave us maps and excellent directions to town. Rooms were nice. We also had a balcony!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    8.8
    A comfortable hotel with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A comfortable hotel with very friendly staff. Not a picturesque location, but an ideal and value for money base to explore surrounding area which is stunning.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    8.8
    Stayed one night in mid-October, 2015.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Driving from Gibraltar the hotel is a bit tricky to find and make the turn onto the street where the hotel is located. We missed it twice and had to double back. The main highway from Gibraltar comes to a "T" intersection immediately before the hotel, which is to the right a very-very short distance from the intersection. Review Google Maps before arriving to get a handle on the distance from the split to the hotel's street. There is a frontage road before the "T", which would make for easier access, but it is difficult to identify especially in the rain or after dark.

    Stayed one night in mid-October, 2015. The staff was superb. All were friendly, cheerfull,assisting and accommodating. They helped us get our cell phone GPS working again properly after we had apparently fat-fingered a wrong key. A staff member also stood in the rain to help us back out safely from one of their covered parking spaces. Parking was free with a relatively large private lot. Hotel was within easy driving distance of Gibraltar. Exterior and interior were attractive as was our room. Our interior room, which overlooked a patio, was quiet and large enough to accommodate 2 each hold and carry-on bags without having to step over or around anything. The ensuite bathroom was a comfortabe size and clean. Air-conditioning was available, which is not always the case in many hotels in Spain in October. The breakfast buffet was in a large attractive room with views of a patio. We do not know the price of the breakfast as it was included in our very resonable daily rate. It had a decent variety of items, including meats, cheeses, breads, pastries, fruits and cereals. We did not request anything from the kitchen so we cannot comment on what other items might be available on request. Two smaller sized elevators, but adequate for two people with 4 bags. The place must have a good reputation locally as there was a business conference, perhaps 50 people, taking place the morning of our departure. Good quality for the money.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.9
    Nice clean room with a bath which was an unexpected bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was at the front of the hotel so very noisy traffic and not good for light sleepers. Recommend you ask for a room at the back if you prefer quiet.

    Nice clean room with a bath which was an unexpected bonus. Had dinner in the cafe rather than the restaurant and it was good value tasty and fresh. Rather slow service as the barman/waiter had to deal with serving both.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.5
    We stayed here overnight before catching the ferry from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the food was okay but could have been better and in the evening people went to bed and did not have a drink at the bar - think the hotel had mainly business people

    We stayed here overnight before catching the ferry from Cadiz so it was very convenient, and good value for money. The hotel had lovely ambience and nice size rooms. It was also a 5 minute car ride to a very lovely beach

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.9
    Staff were very helpful, facilities were great for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately there was a wedding on when we stayed and so whilst we were trying to have a few quiet drinks it was a little noisy

    Staff were very helpful, facilities were great for the price.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.8
    The staff were incredibly helpful and polite and friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The restaurant dinner was not that great but the breakfast buffet was terrific.

    The staff were incredibly helpful and polite and friendly, except for one gentleman in the restaurant who seemed upset whenever we made a request. He was rude to us, but we forgive him.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.6
    Reception concierges Cristobal and Cesar were among the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception concierges Cristobal and Cesar were among the friendliest and most helpful we found in Spain. Delightful individuals with fine command of english language. The hotel was excellent and the hotel resturant fare was very good. Hotel is located mere 100 meters from the main route to Tarifa. Very convenient for ferry travelers using the Tarifa ferry. Beautiful, scenic 1/2 hour drive to ferry port in Tarifa.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: