Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alcázar de la Reina 4 stars

Hermana Concepción Orellana, 2, 41410 Carmona, Spain

#2 of 16 hotels in Carmona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 871 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    I would thoroughly recommend a visit to Carmona and a stay at this hotel. It is excellent,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sharing the pool area with the pigeons was a put off. I was impressed with the steps that the staff were taking to deal with the pigeons but I think they need a kite shaped like a bird of prey hovering over the pool area.

    The staff were kind and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be warmed - Driving to the hotel's basement parking is hair-raising. Glad we have a small rental car. A lot of pigeons near the swimming pool, so there were dumps around the pool

    A very comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff; a good size of swimming pool to cool off on a hot day; Tapas at the restaurants are tasty; breakfast offers a variety of good with fresh fruits

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Memorable stay in Carmona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike except for lack of courtesy tray in room.

    Beautiful building, clean and attractive room, very helpful and friendly staff and good position in Carmona. This is second time I have stayed in this hotel and will continue to do so when I return to stay in lovely Carmona.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed it immensely and have already booked to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels were a little sub standard for such a nice hotel, a little on the thin side, but this didn't detract from our enjoyment.

    Very comfortable one night stay in a superior room with a beautiful view across the plains at the front of the hotel. The hotel is in a great location, staff very friendly and helpful. We would happily recommend. There is a parking garage which you can use for 11 euros per day but there are a few free spaces in front of the hotel and we managed to get one of these...just don't rely on it as they get snapped up quickly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location,salt water pool, good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location,salt water pool, good facilities. Great Irish pub attached and fabulous Spanish restaurant. A little noisy at night with people from the pub but nothing too bad!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, friendly hotel with a good location in an interesting, attractive town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the hotel from the motorway can be fun. Best to come off at the motorway exit east (nearest to Cordoba and go up through the town gate nearest to the Parador) otherwise you can get a bit lost going round town! The underground car park is a bit tricky to manoeuvre into especially with a large hire car. Hotel restaurant staff were a bit abrupt but food is reasonable.

    Friendly and helpful reception staff. Pleasant historic style buildings. Good location as a stop off point between Cordoba and Seville. Good breakfast. Easy access to Carmona town centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Worth Finding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to find by car due to the location and one way streets with sporadic signs to the hotel. Breakfast was nothing special and getting a drink or coffee mid afternoon was not straight forward.

    Location on the edge of the old quarter with brilliant views from the front across the countryside. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice rooms, very nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast of poor quality, only good thing was the fresh orange juice but the rest was really not appealing. Had to ask for hot milk, very limited choice of yogurt and fruits. Only canned jam and tomato sauce and worse of all, the breakfast takes place in a blind room which is really a pity in such nice surroundings. Doesn’t worth the price they ask for, better take a tostada in a local bar!!

    Nice rooms, very nice view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel but not much in area quite exspensive to get to main part by taxi 50 euro each way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the fact their was no kettle in room so annoying.one girl blond in restaurant not too friendly took my plate before I even finished how rude.

    The room was lovely bed extremely comfortable.lovely view pool area.hotel was lovely and clean nice furnishings.staff at reception lovely and girls at breakfast lovely too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    WiFi very awkward process - never got it to operate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi very awkward process - never got it to operate Request (agreed with reception) for hot water in the morning to make tea defeated the restaurant who thought I needed breakfast (it didn't arrive).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not much choice for dinner; OK if you only stay a couple of nights.

    Very quiet hotel and location, smiling efficient staff, incredibly comfortable mattress. Wonderful view from my room at the front of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Well located historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking and we had to park in secure underground public car park outside the walls and about a 15 minute walk from the hotel and cost 18 euros for less than 24 hours.

    It is a beautiful building located within the walls of the town. The standard room was a reasonable size and had a four poster bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely, good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was only ever one available parking space at the front of the hotel, if we were lucky, which, in a very old town with extremely narrow streets was a bit frustrating. It put us off taking the car out in case we couldn't park when we came back. (I think you could pay per day to put the car in a garage.)

    We found the hotel very appealing in its presentation. Incredible views from the front. Also, we happened to need medical help during our stay, and member of staff Melissa deserves a mention for her assistance. She was great, thankyou.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV with a few international stations (English) would be a bonus. WiFi weak when not in the hotel lobby.

    Breakfast was really good. Staff friendly. Good location. Relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    A real gem in Carmona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives.

    The most beautifully decorated hotel I have ever seen. The furniture in rhe room, especially the comfortable armchair. It was my Mum's favourite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Good size room, large bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel feels a little faded which does have some charm of course. Very noisy in the corridors - lots of marble, so sound carries into the bedrooms. Breakfast room in the basement, rather dark and functional.

    Good size room, large bathroom. Good tapas in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Its a beautifull hotel but they have to do some work inside.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room at streetside and noisy inside you hear everything from the neighbours.

    Its a beautifull hotel but they have to do some work inside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    A comfortable and relaxing stay in a great location. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Room was large with a beautiful view. We enjoyed delicious reasonably priced tapas at lunchtime beside the pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    4.6
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No help with bags to the room, little information given about the city. Cold room, dated en-suite, poor breakfast (under-cooked bacon, dried up cakes, diy juice, all at an extra charge), no English tv channels, irish pub attached closed on Friday and Saturday night, worn carpet on stairs+loose stair rod. Parking again at an extra charge. If you're staying in Carmona try the Parador.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    The staff were nice and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was awful, stale bread, hard cheese and no staff!! A lady came when we were finished and offered hot food but it was too late 9.00am, we needed to leave to catch our plane. we were travelling with two small children and I felt that there needs to be a snack menu of some sort as the restaurant opens very late at 8pm

    The staff were nice and friendly mini bar well stocked very impressive hotel and location dinner was great, steak gorgeous

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the hotel restaurant. This lacked atmosphere and the food at evening dinner was average. Service was poor. My main course arrived while my partner was still part way through his starter. Shame as it let down what would otherwise have been a brilliant stay.

    Fantastic location in a quaint cobbled street with stunning views across the countryside from outside the hotel. Just a 5 minute walk into the town square with a selection of bars and restaurants. Pay parking is worth it for security and because there is very little public parking nearby. Lovely room, big bathroom, quiet, warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    A beautiful and stunning place to stay with a lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not there longer and could linger over breakfast and the poor weather

    The fantastic location. the bath, the view from the room, furnishings in the communal areas, the fact that the cooked breakfast was made to order. The breakfast spread was outstanding. You opened breakfast early for us so we could catch flight

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Brilliant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Beautiful hotel, great position as it is right in the historic area. Parking is good, covered and only €11.00 per night. The tapas in the bar are excellent. Several bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay & would like to come there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We would have appreciated a bar in the hotel where we could have had a pre-dinner drink or cup of coffee. There is a bar in the restaurant but it is not very obvious where it is.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.9
    Only warrents a good 3* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found dinner very disappointing as it was a cold room with cool food. We asked for very well done pork but it came with pink flesh. WiFi was not available on all devices.

    Very central to historical buildings and area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Style, pleasure, a perfect hotel to enjoy the delights of a visit to a heritage town of distinction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything met with our expectations.

    Warm welcome, spacious bedroom , equally spacious bathroom . Standard of cleanliness, good ambience, exceeded our expectations . Location of the hotel perfect enabling ease of wandering the ancient streets, all well cared for, the residents have to be very mindful of their responsibility for the heritage entrusted to them. In all a charming opportunity to imagine life in past ages, whilst having the perfect modern hotel providing all the facilities. Breakfast buffet style, off reed a wide range of choice, with attentive caring hosts to tend for every need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    A great hotel in a perfect location for exploring old town Carmona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even out of season parking for vehicles that can't fit in their underground car park is very limited.

    Superb location from which to explore Carmona. Lovely communal areas and extremely helpful staff. This was my 2nd visit and I will be back again next year.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation in a historic town with great eating options nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Plenty of space in bedroom, friendly staff, very good breakfast options (loads of fruit available) pleasant public areas including around pool. Quiet area around hotel but very close to the historic centre of Carmona. The town itself is historically very interesting with good museums.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent traditional hotel with great staff and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shame about the pigeons around the pool area. we did swim in the pool to cool down but was not very inviting to do so.

    nice historic hotel,quiet location within walking distance of town center. all staff very friendly and helpful.breakfast was really good with a varied selection. would return and recommend to others.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Carmona is a gem of a place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Liked everything. Carmona was a delightful surprise: far nicer & morte interesting than we expected.

    Delightful hotel in large old house: whther it belonged to the/a queen (as implied by the name) is unknown. Staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Rsetaurant was pleasant. Carmona town is beautiful, wiith fascinating history going back to Broinze Age, & town's info office offer excellent free tours lasting 2h30m.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attentiveness - very laid back and casual about timings Parking - good that it exists but difficult access and cannot be booked, despite what it says on website. Pigeons around pool area - would not want to swim there

    Location Comfortable beds Excellent tapas in nice courtyard setting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hotel in a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room near the streat, in the night it was a little bit noisy from the street.

    Beautiful hotel, super nice staff,very good location in town, just a few minutes walk to the center.super breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Perfect would recommend the hotel to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    The coffee in the room was great. The bed was the best we slept in for the whole holiday The restaurant served the best pate and the best anchovies The staff were friendly and helpful Breakfast was really good, with a varied selection of foods

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money and a nice stay (would have been excellent without the pigeons)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The main bad issue were the loads of pigeons that invaded the pool area making the surrounds and the pool pretty soiled - must get the pool skimmers working to keep feathers etc. from the surface and stop them coming down. Made relaxing around the pool not so good and put us off a bit . Must add that this was a pretty big item but really the only problem we found - so easy to sort

    lovely location in the old part of town plenty to see in the town and some good restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Wish we had stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A lovely hotel, comfortable and welcoming. Good food, an excellent pool, the only regret is that we didn't stay there longer instead of moving on to Cordoba.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    Interesting alternative to staying in Seville
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel lacked a 'buzz' a bit soul-less. Also item left in bedroom was not found so could not be fowarded.

    Very large room, splendid location, helpful reception staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel only a short walk from the centre of Carmona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was at 2pm onwards. We arrived shortly after 2pm but we had to wait for almost an hour before our room was ready.

    The view over the plains was exceptional. There is private parking nearby, either outdoor or underground - both for an additional fee. Carmona is a nice town with some Roman interest (the necropolis). The hotel has a nice Irish bar appended to it but it was closed when we were there but there is also a very well stocked Spanish bar too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.8
    You need a sense of humour and adventure to stay here - definitely not business friendly
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extraordinary hotel. It has a pub - that doesn't serve food and closed at 8pm. We had to move to the terrace. We moved to terrace and ordered wine, fine, we then asked for tapas with the wine - couldn't have that where we were sitting, had to move 5 meters down under a canopy with 'restaurant' tables.None if it made any sense. Waiting staff are also extraordinary, either very over the top, or rather irritable. Internet was down so only internet in the lobby, and that was too slow to achieve much. No temperature dial in room, so all you could have on was full blast, medium or low, but no way of controlling the actual temperature. This made sleep difficult.

    Reception staff were very helpful. Nice view from Juliet Balcony. Large bed and very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing stay, but.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We wanted to relax at the pool during the afternoon of the second day. The restaurant had been hired out for a first communion celebration and the children, 30 of them, had the use of the pool eventually taking over it. The hotel had not given prior notice of this event and that the children would be entitled to use the pool. We had to eventually retire to our rooms as it was very noisy and uncomfortable not after making a complaint about the situation in the pool area to reception.

    Had gluten free food available for breakfast and at the hotel's restaurant. Quite enjoyed El Tabanco (hotel's restaurant), value for money and very good tapas.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    A fine palace hotel with good views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food good but not exceptional for the price. Some difficulty finding the hotel at the end of labyrinthine streets.

    Fine view from the room; nice furniture; reproduction Picasso drawings on the corridors.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.3
    Great Location in a lovely, old Andalusian town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food and service in the hotel restaurant were very poor. Room/ bathroom renovation is required, at least for the room in we stayed at (109).

    Great Location in a lovely, old Andalusian town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.5
    Helpful staff, clean and tidy accomodation, great breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access instructions to the hotel. Don't follow sat nav through the old cobbled town streets unless you have access to the Harry Potter Knight bus!!!! More reversing done than forward driving!! A better approach is from the east of the town following the route to the Parador Hotel (off the Cordoba road - turn at Ermita Nuestra Senora de Gracia). Only got this information when we got to the hotel!! Also on Sunday evening be warned, all the eateries seemed to shut down at 6.00pm - even the hotel restaurant, so make sure you've eaten before this.

    Helpful staff, clean and tidy accomodation, great breakfasts. Easy to walk into the old town and explore for a day. Also, a good bus connection to Seville from the town centre (Paseo del Estatuto) service M124 and only 2.85euros one way single fare - would have cost more to drive in and park and have been far more stressful. Make sure you get to bus stop at San Barnardo bus station at least 10mins before scheduled departure time - our bus left 5 mins earlier than it should!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    10
    Room very well appointed and decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very well appointed and decorated. Breakfast very pleasant in large, attractive basement room with eggs cooked to order. Dinner in hotel's tavern was superb. Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful, charming hotel but needs a nudge towards the 21st century
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food (dinner) was very basic and unimaginative with little attention to detail, for example the hot steak and tuna were both served on cold dishes in December. The Wifi barely worked, most sites were inaccessible and it was therefore not possible to print out boarding cards

    Lovely decor, location, outdoor seating areas. Pleasant, helpful staff. An authentically Southern Spanish jewel of a hotel with beautiful views over the surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    8.3
    A stunning hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking can be difficult. No tea / coffee making facilities

    Just a stunning hotel with superb lounge areas. Easy walk into Carmona. Has its own great Tapas bar!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is easily accessible by car and a short walk to the town centre. Our room overlooking the pool was very quiet and spacious. The beds were comfortable and extra long. There was a good choice for the buffet breakfast. The receptionist spoke good English and was very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.0
    My wife's Birthday could have started better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a superior room as was given room 230 which is next to the cleaners station, overlooking the road, very uncomfortable bed, and in dire need of updating and no wifi signal. The lady receptionist was very curt on checking in and when we asked for tea for our room just pointed us to the Irish bar, this was a very cold and empty place, not where you could enjoy a cup of tea. We had bay no 6. in the underground carpark, this cost 11 euros a day. Two cars parked each side of us, this made it very difficult to get out of the bay, there is wall behind I have a VW Golf and it took a considerable amount of maneuvering, a larger car would find it impossible

    We complained about the room, and a very helpful receptionist named Salvador moved us to room 225. This room overlooked the central courtyard, so very quiet, a very comfortable bed and fittings which I would call a superior room, which I had booked originally.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly female receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room. Door in reception area / lounge to the courtyard was open all night. Lots of noise from reception area so that we had to close the window at night ☹️️. No airco so hot.

    Very friendly female receptionist. Good location. Parking facilities (paid).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    8.8
    Delightful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head needed cleaning, Irish pub not open in evening, wifi basic non secure type

    Swimming pool area beautiful, lounges stately, proximity to town centre.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    A very warm welcome to a really magical hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff. Efficient kind and helpful especially Jesus and Salvador at reception. Comfortable bed and super water pressure. Food delicious no request too small.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    3.8
    Just a tired, dirty hotel with lazy staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived by car and had to get a male receptionist to come outside and tell us where to park. He told us to bring the luggage in and walked off empty handed. We checked in to be told to walk up ten steps and take a lift to our floor, no assistance. The lift needed to be condemned. The corridor carpets were filthy as was the swimming pool. Our room described as a junior suite was a bedroom as it had no seating area but one chair at least it was reasonably clean. Breakfast was a fiasco and we then struggled again with our cases, the ladies even refusing to get in the lift even though we were on the third floor. Just a dreadful tired hotel with lousy staff

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.8
    Very good hotel in a fabulous town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit crushed and only one coffee machine working made for a big queue

    Carmona is a beautiful town and Alcazar has a very quiet position on what would have been the outer wall of the town.Our room was a junior suite and very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.9
    The location is good and the room was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wi-fi is terrible and rarely worked. The staff were mostly helpful and friendly although there was one very grumpy and borderline rude woman on reception who booked us in!

    The location is good and the room was very comfortable. We didn't have breakfast but enjoyed one evening meal in the restaurant where the food was good and reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    6.0
    Free WiFi ? It's free yes but does not work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is one of the best in Carmona mainly because there is not much competition. My visit was affected detrimentally by the lack of a reliable WiFi and the attitude of staff to this problem. When you book a hotel and it states FREE WIFI and don't get it then how can a customer receive some satisfaction?

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.5
    Great value, good location, restaurant could use a makeover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant meals were very disappointing . They need more basic food preparation, not using frozen and store bought products. We gave up eating there due to the poor food standard. The only disappointing meals in all our travels in Spain.

    An under rated historic town. We used it as a six day base for daily regional travel. Hotel is an old stately home, at lovely setting, with swimming pool. Large room, with good air con and panoramic views. Great value for money. We have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    The room is convenient and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had problems finding the hotel by car through all those narrow streets. We should have accessed the hotel from Parador. It was noisy for a long time during the night because of some teenagers in front of the hotel.

    The room is convenient and spacious. Carmona is a pretty town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    A nice day in Carmona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a 4 stars hotel restaurant I would expect an Emglish menu or at least a waiter that can speak Emglish. All the rest was perfect.

    The location is perfect, right in the centre of Carmona and the hotel is gorgeous. The room is big, clean, nice and comfortable. I also liked the terrace and the pool. The hotel has a private parking, but you have to pay for it. We also ate at the hotel restaurant and the tapas were good. I surely recommend it if you need a hotel in Carmona.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    All facility's in the hotel were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All facility's in the hotel were excellent. Really good breakfast hot& cold choice. Carmona is a nice little town with easy access to Seville& Cordoba.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    We thought it was overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thought it was overpriced. Excellent hotel however.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Good location in a lovely historical town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location to historical town. Pool nice to have too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is extra 6 euros per night and 70 m from the hotel

    Natural orange juice in the breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Very happy with this place. BUT don't get there after dark if you a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moveable shower head would have been great.

    Parking, closeness to most things. Quite, great tapas and bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionists very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and comfortable. Really helpful staff . Great at any time of the year

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.8
    Ok but would not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room when we arrived, rattly heating vents that never really warmed up the room&bathroom and disturbed our sleep.

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location great staff lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location great staff lovely food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Large spaces and wonderful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't open our windows to enjoy the view over the roofs.

    You can walk into town and the view of the valley is incredible.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Quietness and “historical feel”.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has seen better days (faded glory).

    Quietness and “historical feel”. Large bed and good views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.9
    Very agreeable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a real problem. Dinner was average.

    Very good lunchtime Tapas. Decor and ambiance good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Friendly clean and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room on ground floor no 105

    Friendly staff great tapas

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    The room was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very bad in room

    The room was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    2 nights enough to,see everything loved the tour bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Foam pillows

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Great!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Waiting to be served in Tapas Bar - slow service

    Reception staff were particularly helpful & efficient - went the extra step.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    After some hectic touring, the hotel was an oasis of old-world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no complaints

    Old style elegance, with modern conveniences

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alcázar de la Reina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: